Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

AQUAMAID POOL TECHS

Founded 1987 • With Angi since February 2004

2.9

(20) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4615 Martin St

Fort Worth, TX 76119

Description

.Lance Jones started Aquamaid Pool Techs in Arlington, Texas in 1987. Lance's vision of providing the ultimate in customer satisfaction enabled Aquamaid to expand rapidly to become a pool service company with a fleet of 10 support trucks by 2000. The early 90's ushered in an era of computer controls, new sanitation techniques, and an unprecedented growth in the swimming pool industry. Aquamaid has always remained resolute and diligent in their efforts. As a result, the company focused primarily on services for commercial and residential. Emphasis was placed initially on the chemical service business and later expanded to include equipment repairs, pool remodeling, and warranty work. Cost controls, customer service enhancements, and an aggressive effort to recruit the most qualified personnel in the industry has enabled Aquamaid to continue to prosper while providing superior and reliable swimming pool services. Since 1992, Aquamaid has experienced an average growth in revenue in excess of 20% per year. Aquamaid's personnel, equipment and technology remains on the cutting edge of the swimming pool industry, and the company's growth remains steady and well managed. Aquamaid continues to position itself to serve customers well into the new millennium. Aquamaid works with the area's finest builders, provides authorized warranty repairs for most manufactures and home warranty policies. “We’re large enough to handle anything, and small enough to care.” Call l us today and see the Aquamaid difference. ...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/16/2022


Robbie V.

They were professional, the service in providing the quote is okay.

Description of Work
They sent me a quote.

Category pool cleaners

1.0

07/28/2021


Randy D.

Where do I start… we contracted in March & still not done! The job is being poorly constructed by contractors who are half doing the job! This company has very poor costumer service! They never return phone calls & never finish what they start! Contractors show up unannounced not knowing what to do. Poor or no instructions on what to do on resurfaced pool. The owner is the only one who can answer any questions about what’s going on & he never calls back or show up when he says he will. I think you can see were this is going. If you need a renovation or a new pool & don’t mind any of these things & more… feel free to contract them! NEVER AGAIN!!! P.S. Do not take this review for granted!!!

Description of Work
Pool renovation

Category decks, remodeling

1.0

03/09/2021


CHAD G.

I usually do not write bad reviews, due to the impact of covid and the economy and what impact it has on a business. However, I am at my last option here with this company and willing to take this down if they make things right. I had a pool pump installed less than 3 years ago and it's under warranty. I had called this company Feb 12 prior to the freeze/storm and they came out to take a look at my pool pump. The tech that came out said it needs replaced and it's under warranty. The company dropped the ball and it's been nearly a month since then and I have called them at least 4 times since then. The last time I spoke with them the owner yelled at me over the phone and swore/vulgar at me. I told him I did not lose power and your tech came out before the storm. This is a very unprofessional company and I do not recommend them at all.

Description of Work
Pool pump replacement under warranty

Category pool cleaners

5.0

10/11/2017


Lisa H.

Great! Lance (owner) was on the job almost every day and was always available by text whenever we had any questions. He did a great job of giving us options and let us know the price difference between them. He was very flexible and made changes for us when we decided we wanted to upgrade to a quieter pump. Our pool is beautiful!

Description of Work
Built a new pool (and deck)

Category decks, plastering, pool cleaners

1.0

07/12/2017


Tim C.

Okay, I've used Aquamaid for a long time. First, they provided weekly cleaning and chemicals for over a year. At first, it was great, but the pool tech left the company, and the service went to CRAP! A different tech every 2 weeks or so, all complaining about how little they made, trying to earn money on the side. I can't blame the guys, but still very unprofessional. Then, in Oct 2015, I needed a new pool pump, it was replaced and worked great. Around the same time I needed a new pool light, so I upgraded to a color changing LED light, which was expensive, but worked well, for a while. Within the last 6 weeks, the pool motor went out AGAIN after a year and a half. I called Aquamaid back, they came out and replaced my motor, still didn't work. They told me I needed a new control unit to turn the pool on. I bought one, had my brother who is an electrician install it, still didn't work. After investigation, he found that they didn't even HOOK UP the motor to electricity. Long story short- it's running now, but my NEW pool company told me it wasn't even a new motor!!! I found this out when my new company came by to investigate the broken pool light. The cause of the pool light issue? Low quality cabling from the light to the fuse box, also they didn't seal the light very well. ANOTHER repair to pay for. Very long story short, I wouldn't give Aquamaid a single penny for any work to be done, and this is coming from a long time customer.

Description of Work
Pool motor replaced (x2)- $550 each Light replaced- $800 Weekly service- $40 weekly

Category pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

We replaced Mr. [Member Name Removed] motor for 495 back in 10/15. Mr. [Member Name Removed] called us out to look at the motor because he said it had stopped working. When we diagnosed the system we told him we WOULD NOT REPLACE the motor because his timer was out. We suggested that he use a Intermatic pool timer instead of a sprinkler timer. He said no; that he would have his brother who is an electrician replace the timer. He then informed us after a new sprinkler timer was installed by his brother the motor did not work still. We came back out and explained the motor was still not receiving power and did not want to get into the electrical work preformed by his brother. We will not replace items if we can not verify if they work. Mr. [Member Name Removed] is mistaken in thinking that he paid us for a second motor. We only replaced a motor in 2015. That motor did not have power going to it. The timer had failed and would not complete the connection. After the new sprinkler timer was installed we returned and stated the motor was still not getting any power. In fact we refunded Mr. [Member Name Removed] service fee on this last visit because we did not want to proceed with any repairs that we could not stand behind. I'm glad Mr. [Member Name Removed] found someone comfortable enough to work with his sprinkler timer installed by his brother.
1.0

07/12/2015


Mark B.

I cannot get anyone to respond to me when I leave a message. VERY unprofessional.

Description of Work
It's more what the provider DID NOT do. Needed a bypass return on my spa heater. 3 different people have come out to do SOME kind of work on it and it STILL isn't working right. The last person to work on it put it on but now the bypass leaks when the pool filter pump is running. How am I supposed to use my pool if it cannot be cleaned by the filter system?!

Category pool cleaners

1.0

04/06/2014


lori T.

I can't stress strongly enough that anyone wanting a new pool or replastering an existing one should stay away from Mr. Jones and Aquamaid Pool Techs. His company replastered our swimming pool 5 years ago. After that day, they never returned for the contracted pool startup and instructions to us on what to do next. The plaster dust adhered and hardened so that it could not be removed (you can even see footprints in it). Our "dark" pool is now permanently white. There are cracks all over the steps and ledge, as well as round white circles that another contractor has told us indicates hollow spaces (could be why our pool is now losing water). There are raised rough patches that just look like blobs of hardened plaster. His employees even broke our pool light and he replaced it with one that does not fit, leaving gaps for little fingers to get stuck in. In Mr. Jones' reply to my BBB complaint, he stated "Well everything in Mrs. Tuckers is true. There are a fell (sic) things that where (sic) left out." There were many, many vital steps that were left out that were the direct and sole cause of the problems we incurred. Mr. Jones has repeatedly admitted responsibility for them, both verbally and in writing. I have many emails and text messages from Mr. Jones scheduling a time to come out to replaster but they have never shown up. Five years later, we still have not seen the man and we will now have to spend several thousand more dollars to fix the disaster that Aquamaid Pool Techs made of our pool.

Description of Work
We contracted with Lance Jones/Aquamaid Pool Techs to replaster our pool with a dark plaster.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

11/07/2013


Maria A.

These guys were great! After having a horrible experience with another pool company who appeared not do want to do their job (I only assume it may be because home insurance payments are not appealing) these guys came and did a thorough evaluation of the problem. They found out that in fact it is an above ground equipment leak and will talk to the home insurance so that I can have this problem fixed. They really made it easy for the home owners since they take care of dealing with the insurance as well. Love these guys.

Description of Work
Second opinion on pool equipment leak

Category pool cleaners

4.0

03/11/2013


Allen M.

I contacted them as I noticed that my pool needed water every day, and that the level kept going down below the skimmers. They had me try a couple of different things (changing which pool inlets were used, turning off the skimmers, etc.), which took a few days to test and determine none of thos worked. They then came out and performed a leak detection, found the leak under my deck, and provided an estimate (up to $1500). Having had this work done before, several years ago, I knew what was involved and that the estimate was "in the ballpark", so agreed to have them do the repairs. Unforturnately, the weather interferred (it got COLD), so the work had to be postponed. A few days later, they were able to come out and do the repairs. Due to the fact that the leaking portion of the pipe was relatively close to the surface, it cost much less than estimated, for which I was profoundly thankful! The good: The work was done very well; I was pleased with the final price. The bad: The testing they had me do used a lot of water, causing my water bill to jump about 50% for that month. They didn't get back to me very quickly when I reported the initial problem.

Description of Work
Performed leak detection for pool. Once identified, repaired the leaking pipe and tested.

Category pool cleaners

1.0

10/10/2012


Larry S.

Problems mounted as they gradually considered my business a foregone conclusion and no longer worth any effort to maintain. I should have dumped them much earlier. Their staff stole my credit card information twice over a 2 year period. They were the only provider with the information on that card when my card was compromised. Of course they claimed they had the "highest level of security. Pishtosh! Twice?? I had to cancel the automatic deduction and go to a check payment to stop the theft. An add-on rate for "energy costs" was added without my prior consent for many months. Holidays when service was not provided was not credited. I paid for their vacation days when service was not provided. The final straw was when, after an improperly completed service call, I had to ask them to fix (they failed to punch a button on an outside panel to turn the system back on after removing the system for the service) they demanded a full month's service amount to punch said button, and I was impertently informed by the company's owner that if I were experienced in pool repair I should have been able to fix this myself, and that it was a great inconvenience for them to call them out. You should never consider this company for this commonly available type of service.

Description of Work
This company provided pool cleaning and repair services each month for a number of years at about $150 per month

Category pool cleaners

1.0

08/30/2012


rudy T.

This is the most dishonest company I've ever dealt with. Long story short, they resurfaced my pool left a leak that they denied was their fault and even started charging me to find the leak. When they couldn't find it, I had to call a leak detection expert, and he found the leak within 15 minutes. And of course the leak was found to be part of the resurface work that Aquamaid performed. I contacted Mike Conover (the Aquamaid rep in charge of my resurface) about the finding and he agreed the leak was Aquamaid's fault and responsibity and Lance (the owner) said they would reimburse me the expenses. (I have a copy of that email) That's the last contact I had with them. They stopped replying to emails and would not return phone calls. In August, I wrote a Angies List review rating them with poor marks in responsiveness and responsibility. My lawyer finally was able to contact them and Aquamaid agreed that if I removed the negative comments, they would reimburse my expenses for the leak they caused. In December, I updated the Angies List comments as agreed upon. Quess what? I've not heard from them since. I've called, sent emails. All unresponded to. I would have more respect for them had they just said, "No." Why the need to lie and lie again? That just prove their unprofessionalism. Keep your money Lance. But I hope everyone looking for a pool company reads my story and takes my warning. Do Not Use Aquamaid. There are much better pool companies out there. Do your self a favor and call someone else.

Description of Work
I had this company resurface my pool and spa.

Category plastering, pool cleaners

5.0

04/22/2012


REBECCA M.

CAME OUT WHEN THEY SAID THEY WOULD, GOT JOB FINISHED IN ONE DAY. WOULD DEFINITELY HIRE AGAIN. TECH'S NAME WAS ALEX.

Description of Work
INSTALLED NEW POOL PUMP, TIMER. RE DESIGNED PIPES LIFTING PUMP HIGHER OFF GROUND AND PLACED SLABS UNDER NEW PUMP. LEFT AREA EXTREMELY CLEAN!!!!

Category pool cleaners

5.0

08/03/2011


Tammy S.

The job had several different items. We got a phone call the day before telling us what was going to happen next and when to expect someone there. They had said it would take up to three weeks. They were done in 8 days. Gave us a refresher pool school and called us afer we had already paid them just to make sure we didn't have any more questions. They did offer their pool service, but my son needs a job at least till he goes to college.

Description of Work
We had several pool companies out to give us bids on remodel work for the pool and to upgrade our pool equipment. Aquamaid was the only one that took the time to explain the differnt plasters they do. All the workers were courtious, knowegible, and clean. I would recogmend them highly. We installed a new pump and filter, replastered the pool with a beutiful blue colored quartz plaster, and tile and stone coping.

Category pool cleaners

1.0

05/18/2011


Dana D.

Not well. Three weeks of inconsistent communication, not showing up when they stated they would, not returning phone call messages are not acceptable. While the pool pump was finally fixed I am still not sure if the ground wire that was cut and re-rigged differently has an effect on the system.

Description of Work
I have American Home Shield Warranty so when my pool pump was not working properly I contacted AHS to request a service call. They selected Aquamaid. I was contacted within 2 business days by the company and they scheduled a technician to come out to repair the pump. The technician called and reported to me he would need to order a part to repair the pump. The technician returned to my home to repair the pump but evidently discovered another part was needed so when I called to inquire (Aquamaid did not initiate a phone call to inform me of the issue) the secretary said the technician reported they would need to get a different part. During this time frame there were 2 different times I was told by Aquamaid staff that a technician would be at my home at a certain window of time. Each time they never showed up and I had no contact from Aquamaid explaining why. At some point during the work being done on the pump a ground wire was cut by the technician. Once the pump was "fixed" the technician called me to say when I got home from work I could turn on the pump. I did and it ran 3 -4 minutes before stopping. I immediately called AHS to request a call back since the pump was not working properly. AHS sent another request but I did not hear anything from Aquamaid. I called on a Monday morning and spoke with one of the staff who said she had received my voice message and she would need to contact the technician to see when they were coming back out to finish the job. By Wednesday of the same week I still had not heard anything from Aquamaid. I again called AHS asking to escalate the situation to a supervisor. On Thursday when still nothing was heard from Aquamaid, I again called AHS and when I spoke with a supervisor they said they were suprised because they had talked with the owner directly who said he would be out on Thursday to fix things. The AHS supervisor was also suprised Aquamaid had not contacted me to let know they were coming out. By Friday AHS contacted me to say their regional relationship manager had been in contact with Aquamaid and I should be hearing from them. I did receive a call from Lance Jones who introduced himself as the owner. He was curt on the phone and said they had a misunderstanding and wanted to know what I wanted done. I explained the situation and asked him to fix the pool pump. When I arrived home from work that evening I turned on the pool pump and it worked. The cut ground wire had been rigged to the pump and the remaining end of the cut wire still laying on the ground was left leading to the pool heater. A couple pieces of trash (box of a part and what looks like a part that had been replaced) were left on the ground. I did not find any invoice or record of work done and have requested to have record sent.

Category pool cleaners, remodeling

1.0

10/02/2009


Michael U.

After 4 service trips, numerous phone calls (they did not return our phone calls for over 2 weeks) and $436 later, our heater still does not work correctly. We decided not to pay the last bill because the services were not rendered and to get their attention. Rather than call us to resolve it, they turned a $136 bill over to a collection agency. I had to pay it or risk a mechanics lien being placed on my house. In my opinion, they must be in VERY bad shape to take these measures over $136.

Description of Work
We engaged Aquamaid to fix out pool/spa heater.

Category pool cleaners

1.0

10/27/2008


Sally S.

Terrible service - they sent out a young technician Joey who came four times to my property and was unable to fix any of the problems. They made me pay a USD 75 call out fee and wanted me to pay USD 65 for repairs not done. I called the manager Lance Jones out to my property and explained to him what his technician had not done and he agreed to refund me the USD 75 and to tear up the invoice for the further USD 65 they were asking for. They have still not returned my USD75. I then found out from my agent that the company had been out to my property with the previous owner and had "fixed " the heater.

Description of Work
I requested that they fix my pool heater, pool lights and pool computer. They did not manage to do any of these repairs.

Category pool cleaners

4.0

08/17/2005


HAO V N.

HAD TO WAIT FOUR DAYS FOR THE DE FILTER TO BE SHIPPED FROM SUPPLIER TO AQUAMAID. I HAD TO CALL AQUAMAID TO GET THAT INFORMATION INSTEAD OF THEM NOTIFYING ME. THE INSTALLATION TECHNICIANS WERE PROMPT AND COMPETENT. THE COST WAS VERY COMPETITIVE.

Description of Work
REPLACED SAND FILTER WITH A 48 SQ. FT. DE FILTER.

Category pool cleaners

5.0

10/29/2004


NATALIE B.

JOB WAS DONE PROFESSIONALLY AND WELL.

Description of Work
REPLACED CIRCUIT BOARD IN POOL.

Category pool cleaners

4.0

03/31/2004


Timothy J.

SERVICEMAN WAS VERY POLITE AND ON TIME, ALSO GAVE ME PRICE FOR REPLACEMENT OF UNIT.

Description of Work
CHECKED HEATER AND GAVE ESTIMATE ON REPAIRS.

Category pool cleaners

4.0

02/10/2004


WILLIAM Z.

I HAD SOME SERVICE ISSUES WITH THE PRODUCT. WE GOT A BIT OF A RUN AROUND, BUT IN THE END THEY HONORED THEIR COMMITMENT AND WENT THE EXTRA MILE TO MAKE US HAPPY.

Description of Work
PURCHASE AND INSTALLATION OF POOL CLEANER.

Category pool cleaners

    Other local Pros in your area

    Gaspard Quality Construction Remodeling LLC

    We specialize in all phases of remodeling for your home, business, bathrooms, kitchens, flooring, fence repairs and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Reno Addicts

    We have industry experience since the 1990's and we have been in business since 2009. We specialize in all phases of remodeling for your home, business, bathrooms, kitchens, finishing basements, and more! We strive to make the customers visions realities with a very professional and courteous job! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Tru Blu Pool Renovations

    Tru Blu has been one of the largest pool renovators serving the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex for 28 years! We DO NOT service pools, build pools, or sell retail like many other companies. We are a “Tru” renovation specialist, specializing in new plastering, tile and rock work, and deck resurfacing and pouring. Pool renovations is not one of the things we do, it is the only thing we do. Tru Blu is family owned and operated. You will have the owner's personal cell phone number should you need anything before, during or years after the job is completed. We offer quality work at a reasonable price. Why call a jack of all trades when you can have a specialist? Call now for a free estimate.  

    General Remodeling
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Warranties
    Manufacturers warranty

    Services Offered

    full service pool company

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about AQUAMAID POOL TECHS

    How is AQUAMAID POOL TECHS overall rated?

    AQUAMAID POOL TECHS is currently rated 2.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are AQUAMAID POOL TECHS open?

    AQUAMAID POOL TECHS is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    What payment options does AQUAMAID POOL TECHS provide

    AQUAMAID POOL TECHS accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does AQUAMAID POOL TECHS offer free estimates?

    No, AQUAMAID POOL TECHS does not offer free project estimates.

    Does AQUAMAID POOL TECHS offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, AQUAMAID POOL TECHS does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does AQUAMAID POOL TECHS offer a senior discount?

    No, AQUAMAID POOL TECHS does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by AQUAMAID POOL TECHS?

    No, AQUAMAID POOL TECHS does not offer warranties.

    What services does AQUAMAID POOL TECHS offer?

    AQUAMAID POOL TECHS offers the following services: full service pool company