Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Mold Inspection Sciences of Austin

4.8

(35) Verified Reviews

Founded 2001 • With Angi since June 2010

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Licensed
Trade License Number
ACO1001
Trade License Locale
Texas
Trade License Authority
Texas: General
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

2512 S Interstate 35 110

Austin, TX 78704

http://www.austinmoldinspectors.com

Description

Mold Inspection Sciences of Austin is an environmental assessment, and consulting company focused on mold and asbestos. Water intrusion and microbial growth can pose a variety of issues and concerns for property owners and building inhabitants. Our goal is to help our clients understand, document, and remedy water intrusion and mold-related issues. Mold Inspection Sciences Texas is not in the mold remediation or mold removal business - our services are strictly consulting in nature. We have licensed Mold Assessment Consultants and licensed Asbestos Consultants on staff. We do not use subcontractors. We carry $1,000,000 worth of General Liability Insurance, and all our consultants are covered by $1,000,000 of Professional Errors and Omissions Insurance. We have the highest standards in the business and thus perform no remediation, no abatement or construction. You can be assured that there will be NO CONFLICTS OF INTEREST when you put your trust in Mold Inspection Sciences. Additional phones - (210) 764-3172, (210) 807-9985, (512) 351-7201, (512) 961-4411. Additional DBA - Mold Inspection Sciences Texas Inc. TX Mold Assessment Company, License No. AC01001 TX Asbestos Consulting Agency, License No. 100433. Looking for More Advice on Mold, Allergy, and Air Quality Impacting Your Family, Home, or Business? Listen in to The Secret Life of Mold Podcast Now Streaming On: Apple: https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-secret-life-of-mold-mold-inspection-radio/id1459902004 Google: https://www.google.com/podcasts?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9hbmNob3IuZm0vcy9hNWU5ZDQwL3BvZGNhc3QvcnNz Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/1J1M4djZa41ICtMR0kCcMl Stitcher: https://www.stitcher.com/podcast/mold-inspection-sciences/the-secret-life-of-mold...

Verified Reviews

4.8

(35) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

30

4

4

3

1

2

0

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.2

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

mold removal (35)home inspection (6)
Showing 1-25 of 35 reviews
5.0

11/15/2021


Dimi C.

Considering purchase of home with active plumbing leaks and so far the mold inspection has proven to be very useful. Still waiting for our sample analysis and report. But I am very confident in the thoroughness of our inspector’s process. He was extremely meticulous and also helped us decide on what samples to take. Strategic sampling is important - for keeping cost down (each sample is $125) and in getting an accurate impression of what the situation is in the building. This company has lots of great videos on their YouTube channel to better educate yourself about mold, inspection, testing, etc Additional Information Edit: Rick Weir did a mold inspection for me recently. He was extremely meticulous, and also very practical regarding sampling. The report I got back was very useful. and I got a follow up phone call to make sure I understood the report! I will definitely call Rick at Mold Inspection Sciences again, if I need to do any more mold inspections.

Description of Work
Mold inspection

Category home inspection,mold removal

Cost $490

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/12/2021

5.0

02/09/2021


Martin C.

The work was performed well. Efficient scheduling, the work was carried out and report delivered very professionally, with good explanation.

Description of Work
Check house for mold presence

Category mold removal

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/29/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your experience with us! It was a pleasure working with you, please let us know if we can be of service in the future!
5.0

12/18/2020


Marian V.

MSI team did a great job for me. Very professional, educated and responsive. Rick completed the protocol and two inspections.

Description of Work
Mold testing and help identify water leaks.

Category home inspection,mold removal

Cost $3,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/18/2020

Service Provider Response

We really appreciate your business and also helping to share the word about how fantastic Rick is! (We think he's pretty fantastic as well)
5.0

10/23/2018


William P.

It was very professional. They did an outstanding job. They were here on time and explained everything they were doing and will be sending me an inspection report tomorrow and will follow up with a phone call. I was blown away by their professionalism.

Description of Work
Mold testing in garage and bedroom.

Category mold removal

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/18/2018

5.0

04/17/2018


Jeff W.

Well worth it for the peace of mind and knowledge that all mold issues related to water damage were taken care of! Had a fridge water leak that ruined wood floors, custom cabinets and walls/baseboards and caused mold growth behind cabinets and in wall. Dominick, the technician who did the testing, was very professional and knowledgeable. Mold Inspection Sciences provides detailed reports and takes multiple samples from various locations. I had them do testing before I hired a separate remediation company to remove walls/cabinetry/flooring/etc. Mold Inspection Sciences also writes up all of the remediation guidelines so that the remediation company can follow those in regards to things like what area to build containment around to ensure no mold is spread to other areas of the house. Then after remediation was done I had Mold Inspection Sciences perform another round of tests to make sure everything was clear. What really impressed me about the company and Dominick in particular was that he was willing to come out and be there when the insurance company was trying to do everything possible in their power to NOT cover accidental water damage. I had Dominick and his expertise there to "call BS" on alot of the things the insurance adjuster was trying to claim regarding the water damage and mold. This led to the insurance company deciding to cover everything and prevented having to battle with them to get the claim approved. Many thanks to Dominick for his help. Also, Mold Inspection Sciences provides a list of Remediation companies. I researched those on the list plus other ones. I ended up going with one on their list, ServiceMaster Restoration by All Pro (Jeff Wyble, owner) and was very happy with their work too. Definitely do not hesitate to go with Mold Inspection Sciences and I would ask for Dominick if you do go with them. Yes, you will spend a little bit of money as the tests aren't cheap, but it is well worth it knowing that you won't have additional mold issues down the road due to improper remediation.

Description of Work
Mold Testing (for water damage)

Category mold removal

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/19/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking time to write this review! We strive to take care of every one of our clients, and your satisfaction is our primary goal. Thank you for your business.
5.0

04/04/2018


Eric B.

Well, the guy explained everything and was very professional.

Description of Work
Mold Testing / Air Testing

Category mold removal

Cost $350

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/15/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Member Name Removed]! We truly appreciate your business.
4.0

09/30/2017


Jeff M.

Company was prompt and professional. I believe they tend to overcharge for sampling ($90 each). And they strongly suggested several samples including a baseline. Testing takes a week or so. Abatement costs more. One area came back as black mold but they would have to charge more to determine if it was the bad black mold or not. Found out I could treat the area myself due to its small size.

Description of Work
Moved into a new house and had a couple of areas that were suspicious. Needed mold testing.

Category mold removal

Cost $750

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 07/26/2017

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], We are happy that you were able to remediate your problem. We work hard to be upfront about our pricing with our clients. We explain to all of our customers that our charge includes a fee for the systematic inspection of the residence. We also explain that in the event we discover evidence of potential mold contamination during an inspection, we recommend a number of samples to determine the location and type of any mold. Following this explanation, and before we begin an inspection, we require our customers to sign a written contract stating those terms. We have a written contract describing these terms that you signed before we began work in your home. We are sorry that you now feel strongly that this pricing was inappropriate. Regarding our schedule, we provide our reports to our clients within 3 business days in almost all circumstances. Your inspection was on a Tuesday and your report was emailed to you that Friday. We also explain to our clients on the phone, in person and on our website that, in Texas, licensed mold inspectors cannot also provide remediation services. The separation of duties prevents a conflict of interest and allows us to make recommendations that are in our client's best interest, not in the best interest of a remediation contractor. Please feel free to contact our office with any further questions regarding your inspection. Regards, Nathan General Manager
4.0

05/03/2017


Donna P.

Quite well, and when we had a complaint, the owner was responsive, understanding and helpful.

Description of Work
Mold inspection

Category mold removal

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/03/2017

5.0

04/13/2017


William P.

They did an outstanding, thorough job. The inspectors name was Patrick Praysner, he spent two hours and was exceptionally detailed and responsive to all of my questions.

Description of Work
They did a mold assesment.

Category mold removal

Cost $518

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/06/2017

5.0

01/30/2017


Rhiannon B.

These guys were awesome- I really can't say enough about how awesome Mold Inspection Sciences of Texas was. Super communicative from the start- Heidi, Ben, Dominick, and Shavoya were always in contact with me through the whole process, even as things got more complicated with the rain and the seller. While they couldn't get the inspection done as soon as I wanted them to (I needed over the weekend, we called on a Friday, they came on Tuesday) they got me in as soon as they could. On the day that the inspection was scheduled it was raining and had been raining, and one of the issues with the home was the pooling of water underneath the house and the debris in the crawlspace. Dominick and Ben went above and beyond to make sure they got the inspection done as thoroughly as they could given the condition and the weather. I actually was really grateful that all that rain was present during my option period and my inspections since it gave me an opportunity to see the house in some extreme weather and I was able to negotiate some of these issues with the seller. I was under a lot of stress at this point, with the inspections, the seller, the option period and everything, and they handled my anxiety calmly and professionally and I felt like went above and beyond what they had to do, especially since I was all wound up about everything. Dominick did a very thorough job and not only took 5 samples but discovered a few areas of wet that we didn't know about from the original inspection (including an active leak from the outside and a leak under a sink that we didn't know about). Ben followed up promptly and took the time to explain things really clearly. I am a first-time home buyer and don't really have any idea of what I am doing, and he talked me through the inspection results and how to prevent mold in the future. After the fact, my seller didn't exactly handle the information in a timely manner and I had some concerns about the place not being properly dried out and the potential for mold growing in the house with the wet spots the home inspector and mold inspector found. Ben spoke to me to about the situation and then worked with the seller to figure out how to best approach the situation. While I'm not walking in with the level of confidence I hoped to have around the mold report due to the seller not drying out the house appropriately, that is no fault of Mold Inspection Sciences of Texas. Overall, I am very glad I got this inspection and was very impressed with their professionalism and the results of the inspection (albeit not completely at peace due to other circumstances and the amount of money I invested in achieving that peace of mind). Thank you!

Description of Work
I decided to get an additional Mold Inspection on top of my home inspection because I was purchasing an older home (1930) that was moved to the property in 2011 and sat vacant for a while until it was remodeled, so I felt that I wanted to be sure that the air quality and mold levels were safe for me and my pug.

Category home inspection,mold removal

Cost $890

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/03/2017

5.0

01/26/2017


Gerald C.

Two days later, we received a very detailed report with the test results performed by an independent lab complete with pictures of all areas via an e-mail. Then, over the phone, technician David from Mold Inspection Sciences explained and broke down the results in a manner which was understandable to me which included the levels and types of molds that were found. David also explained possible actions we might take concerning the findings. David invited me to call back anytime for any questions we may have in the future. With these results and a consultation of a construction professional, turns out the installation of the new roof we had installed seven years ago wasn't exactly the best job. It leaks. Aside from that, there are a few areas not caused by the roofing company or associated with the roof where moisture is intruding. There is one door frame and an outside electrical box that can be fixed. Also, there is one area behind a toilet that may have a problem, I hope it's not in the slab. Still looking into that. Some problems found were visible but others weren't. The special moisture meters and the expertise of the technician uncovered some things we wouldn't have found out otherwise. We wouldn't have found this out without the inspection. All said and done, I would urge anyone buying a used or even new property to have these people come out before you sign. I paid just over $1100 for their services and independent lab tests. Seems like a lot, but maybe not. Probably save you a lot in the long run not to mention peace of mind. Glad we called them for their services.

Description of Work
The arriving technician, Rick, was very thorough and left no stone upturned. He did a complete home inspection to evaluate any possible overall mold presence along with specific areas where mold might be. Performed were surface tests at various sights throughout the home via a moisture sensitive meter. Also performed was one swab sample from a visible mold appearance at the peak of a cathedral ceiling. Also were six air samples taken at key areas in the home where mold might be expected. Pictures were taken at all areas of the house to record any visible water stains at areas such as ceilings, walls, window sills, cracks in or missing caulking, patio cement where it meets the house, slope of landscaping where water runoff may tend to pool near the foundation. Throughout his testing, he explained what he was doing during the entire time so that we had a thorough understanding of the procedure. While on sight, Rick treated our property with respect as though it might be his own. He explained they are not associated with any construction company. They are an independent test only company.

Category home inspection,mold removal

Cost $1,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/26/2017

5.0

01/13/2017


PHIL A.

The inspector was prompt, courteous, and knowledgeable. Much to our relief, there was no attempt to "up-sell" us on other services. We got a detailed inspection and report, and that made us happy. We like the idea of dealing with an independent inspector rather than a company that makes its money doing mold "remediation".. that would be like calling a termite fumigating company for a termite inspection. You KNOW they are going to find something.

Description of Work
mold inspection

Category mold removal

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2016

5.0

10/25/2016


Kay G.

John was on time, neat in appearance courteous, friendly, professional and explained in detail the extent of services.

Description of Work
Mold inspection on house and garage apt.

Category mold removal

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/14/2016

5.0

06/15/2016


Jo Ann H.

Nathan explained that his company is not a mold remediation company, but rather a mold inspection company. So no conflict of interest, which is one reason we hired them. He went through every possible step of the process with us, along with the prices for each step. He told us the degree of moisture he found all over the three areas we asked him to check. (He checked them outside the house first, then inside.) He even asked to see the rest of the house, to make sure we weren't missing something (we weren't). When it was obvious the water intrusion was all under windows, he gave suggestions (after we asked him) about what to do about the lousy caulking job that had been done on them. He assured us that there would be mold behind our 100% wet MDF baseboards, which had been wet for months, and saved us the money we would have had to pay for a lab to test there. He never assumed we'd be following up on the problems he pointed out, although we will. He never "recruited" us for more work. He was extremely knowledgeable and happy to explain just about anything.

Description of Work
Nathan checked out the places in our house where we've had water intrusion, measured how wet the walls were, and took air samples to see whether mold is affecting our air inside the house.

Category mold removal

Cost $450

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/14/2016

5.0

03/11/2016


bradley C.

The inspector arrived right on time and was extremely polite and professional. He performed all the test in a timely manner and offered to take samples of one spot that could have potential mold. There was no sales pitch or pressure, noting but educational advise and a factual representation of his inspection. Again, he was extremely polite and professional... a refreshing change from other contractors that I have dealt with through the years.

Description of Work
Performed a comprehensive mold inspection of all surfaces in the home for $315 and took samples and tested them for an additional $285.

Category mold removal

Cost $600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/26/2016

5.0

08/28/2015


Julie K.

Nathan showed up on time and as instructed (my property is a little confusing). He was professional, friendly and thorough, and explained everything he did during the testing. After we received the results he was helpful and responsive. Overall, the company made a potentially bad experience as pleasant as possible.

Description of Work
Tested for mold in several places in my home.

Category mold removal

Cost $800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/15/2015

5.0

04/15/2015


Mrinal B.

Provider was on time and meticulous. Couple of areas were suspected and they were tested. got results (negative) in time for 10-day window on contract. Liked that they did not have a remediation service

Description of Work
Examine existing home for mold prior to purchase

Category mold removal

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/11/2012

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your business. Please keep us in mind if you need our services again. Best Regards, Tina Yaeger, Office Manager
5.0

03/09/2015


Linda P.

Arrived on time, got report out asap, professional, courteous

Description of Work
Swab test, full diagnostic test.

Category mold removal

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/19/2015

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your business. Please keep us in mind if you need our services again. Best Regards, Tina Yaeger, Office Manager
5.0

02/26/2015


Michael W.

Great. Rich was punctual, extremely professional, and explained the process to me patiently from start to finish.

Description of Work
Surveyed new house for the presence of mold. Conducted tests.

Category mold removal

Cost $800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/06/2015

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member name removed], Thank you for your review! We appreciate your business. Please keep us in mind if you need our services again. Best Regards, Tina Yaeger, Office Manager
5.0

02/26/2015


Michael G.

On time, thorough and professional. The services are expensive but in line with competitors. Everything went smoothly and I would definitely recommend.

Description of Work
Full home mold inspection and an air sample of one bedroom.

Category home inspection,mold removal

Cost $515

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/13/2015

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your business. Please keep us in mind if you need our services again. Best Regards, Tina Yaeger, Office Manager
5.0

02/23/2015


Kenneth W.

Was on time, cordial, thorough and ideally priced.

Description of Work
Mold inspection and testing

Category mold removal

Cost $625

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/05/2015

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member name removed], Thank you for your review! We appreciate your business. Please keep us in mind if you need our services again. Best Regards, Tina Yaeger, Office Manager
5.0

02/15/2015


William B.

Excellent. High degree of professionalism and explained everything they did and why. Company followed up with professional detailed report and findings. I have used this company on two residential properties and would recommend to anyone requiring these type services.

Description of Work
Provided detailed inspection of residential property for mold and provided report findings

Category mold removal

Cost $1,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/29/2015