Action Door & Property Services LLC

About

Founded 1992 • With Angi since February 2013

Family owned and operated with years of experience. We're known for our quality workmanship in everything we do! Contact us to learn how we'll help you save money while continuing to meet your desired level of excellence. Give us a call, we'll provide you with competitive quotes and advice on how to proceed with your project!...

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+1 more images

Deck (Replaced & Add-On) - Dover

Deck (Replaced & Add-On) - Dover

decks & porches2021
This customer had her entire deck replaced and added an additional add-on to the pool with all new composite decking, vinyl railing and privacy fencing all around.

Verified Reviews

4.6

(89) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

68

4

11

3

3

2

2

1

5

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.6

Read reviews by category

handyman (78)door installation (15)garage doors (12)plumbers (7)tile installation (5)interior painting (3)electrician (3)cabinet refacing (2)flooring (2)drywall (2)bathtub refinishing (2)home remodeling (1)
Showing 1-25 of 89 reviews
1.0

10/12/2021


Don H.

I have used other contractors in the past this was my worst experience. I called to schedule an estimate and they were booked out 6 to 8 weeks as of March 10 I got an estimate date first week of June the Day of the estimate I received a call if they can reschedule next week they were busy which I agreed upon. The following week they came out took detailed information on what I needed done and stated they had to draw up an estimate and will get back to me. After the third week I started calling to see where the estimate was it took them three more weeks a total of six weeks to get me an estimate and then the estimate wasn’t of the whole project I wanted done. They missed several things so then I got the second estimate which I agreed upon and they stated they will call back with a date for repairs. Second mistake I waited another four weeks before they got back to me with a date on Monday and Tuesday the end of September. They arrived on Monday and Started some of the work I was a little concerned and called Dean Martin co owner and discussed my concerns the following day they did some adjustments and by the time I got there after a four hour meeting in the morning they were gone. Two workers no more than nine hours of work and they stated they will get back to me with someone to do the drywall patching. Granted this was Tuesday no one got in touch with me until the following Wednesday when they asked if they could come in that Thursday which I was out of town. This is incredibly frustrating they are not well-managed in the Their projects. Granted the flooring was nice but the patch work was disappointing for that price entire walls should be replaced not small sections. So now I had to go ahead and hire another contractor to finish the work and the New contractor got back to me the next day. Angie recommended Action Door they were expensive however I thought that came with their work ethics and quality of work which I am far from impressed. I would not recommend this company to anyone. I just lost $4000 down payment incredible

Description of Work
Install 2 bathroom exhaust fans, replace flooring in 2 bathrooms, replace dry wall in bathrooms snd 1 wall in dining room. Seal outside bathroom window to stop leaking.

Category bathtub refinishing, drywall, flooring contractor, interior painters

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 09/28/2021

Images

Review for Action Door & Property Services LLC - 5640 York Rd, Spring Grove, PA - 39506436

+5 More

Service Provider Response

In response to this: we at action door have always taken care of our customers to the best of our ability. However some customers do not understand the amount of time things are taking to get accomplished in the current situation that our country is in. We not only have to wait for other people to get back to us in order to give an estimate as well as we can't always get the product that is needed in order to get the job done. Even now it takes weeks to get information back on estimates from suppliers who are dealing with the manufactureres just to be able to complete jobs. i am sorry that [Member Name Removed] found our work disappointing but he did not give us a chance to finish it. When he called and spoke to Dean after several tries in reaching him he agread that he would give us till the end of October to get the plasterer guy there. The day we wanted to send him out the plasterer had a family emergency and could not make it. So we made arrangements for the following week for him to come out and finish the walls as needed. but in the mean time he ([Member Name Removed]) stopped communicating with us and would not return any calls and just sent an email stating that he was done and would hire someone else to finish. But he had told Dean the owner that he would give us till the end of the month to finish. Then he went back on that and expected us to complete it in just a few days which also fell over a weekend. in the world we are living in today, much patiences is needed in both the contractors and with the clients. Sometimes things do not go as planned. We attempted to make this right and he did not follow thru with the time frame he gave us. Just remember that no one is perfect. We at Action Door take great pride in taking care of our customers and as you can see we have more satisfied customer then not. ANd we haave many return customers that love us and what we do.
1.0

09/28/2021


Greg T.

Initially they are very good. 2 weeks from now I didn't hear anything from them and the actions for the project was very poor.

Description of Work
They suppose to do sheetrock's, do some paintings, to put in some concrete paddings and small carpentry works.

Category handyman service

Work Completed On 09/28/2021

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] was wanting a lot of work done and some of that was needing concrete work. We do not specifically do larger concrete jobs and have a company that we work with that will do those things for us. But unfortunately it is a local company that is extremely busy and it is hard sometimes to get estimates when the owner is out doing the work as well. so our response is not always quick till we can hear from someone. We are sorry for the delay but with the way things are today and the times we live in this is where we are and we all need to experience more patiences in the construction industry. I hope that [Member Name Removed] has found someone to work with but if not he can feel free to contact us. I can't guarentee a quick turn around on any inquiries and or appointments. The construction industry is extremely busy all around and lots of delays with product. it is just the times we live in.
1.0

08/15/2021


Michael R.

I had a leak in a window facing the west. First arrived end of December 2020 to install repair but found ordered pieces were incorrect. Reordered pieces were again incorrect and had to order a third time. Work completed in end of June 2021. Installed repair fell off within a month. Call back to reinstall and with first heavy rain water poured in through keyhole slot that holds screen. Result of repair worse than original problem. Have contacted Renewal by Anderson three place window

Description of Work
Repair leaking Anderson Windows

Category appliance repair

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/03/2021

Service Provider Response

This is a customer who has Andersen Windows and we went out to look at the project and discovered that he needed Beading around the windows. When we ordered this the wrong stuff was sent from Andersen and then not enough was sent. But we eventually got what was needed and what was told to us it needed and that is what we did. the beading is sealed in with sealant and if it came off again then the problem is not the repair. That does not stop water from coming in in other places which i am sure is the cause of the new beading falling off. it might have taken us a while to get the corrected product but it was put on properly. We are sorry he feels this way and hope that he gets the results he needs from the new company. but if he is replacing windows then the beading was not the problem.
3.0

10/08/2020


Jonelle H.

It took a few tries to get Dean out due to running long on a prior job, once he did make it, we spent an hour making a list, taking measurements, recommending additional things that should be done. He said he'd try to get the estimate done in 48 hours. That was the last we heard so we hired another company. I don't know what the disconnect was- the office staff is lovely on the phone, Dean was very personable, seemed very capable. We just fell through the cracks of being busy i guess.

Description of Work
Multiple projects from repairing doors and lockets to providing window screens and skirting for an older mobile home.

Category handyman service, doors

Work Completed On 11/05/2020

5.0

02/13/2020


David L.

Dean flipped the hinge and reinstalled it. Now the door closes as it should.

Description of Work
Door had warped and was rubbing on door stop. Dean found that the bottom hinge had been installed upside down.

Category handyman service

Cost $100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/12/2020

5.0

10/14/2019


Janet L.

The workers were all very professional and respectful. Both jobs were completed as promised. There is much that is not standard in an old house and they were very creative in coming up with solutions to interesting problems that showed up. I will definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel and porch ceiling replacement.

Category handyman service, home remodeling

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2019

4.0

09/24/2019


DUANE J.

We decided on another contractor for much less money, but we’re very impressed with this contractor and will be reaching out to them for other services.

Description of Work
Bathroom ceramic tile

Category ceramic tile, handyman service

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/24/2019

5.0

07/28/2019


Dianne H.

It was done by a partner of Angie's List contractor who was in the area. It was done before noon the same day. It worked out for the repairman and us. Well satisfied.

Description of Work
Front door couldn't be locked, out of alignment. Blame it n the weather.

Category handyman service

Cost $100

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 07/28/2019

5.0

04/21/2019


Katie M.

This company was amazing! Both men were professional, honest, and knowledgeable. I highly recommend them, and absolutely will use them in the future.

Description of Work
Drywall and trim repair, doorbell transformer replaced, cabinet repair

Category handyman service

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/18/2019

4.0

02/23/2019


Alan and Paula W.

The work went fine. Weather delayed installation of the door since it was an external passage door.

Description of Work
Remove a window and install a door, small drywall job, run cable/telephone and move jacks

Category handyman service

Cost $4,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/23/2019

5.0

01/08/2019


Walter O.

The project took a little longer than anticipated (due to all of the rainy weather we've been having!) but I'm happy to say that the outcome FAR EXCEEDED our expectations! Dean (one of the owners) was very pleasant to work with and he definitely took our vision and used his professional expertise to run with it! The back of our house is so much more inviting and we are proud to have our guests enter now! We have some other projects in mind for the future and we definitely plan on using Action Door again!

Description of Work
We had several things done to the back of our house -- new walkways & three sets of steps; new railing; new roof; electrical work, new porch door, etc.

Category concrete repair, electrician, handyman service, roofing, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/17/2018

5.0

11/06/2018


Sharon D.

Excellent job completed by Dean. Explained why closet shelf failed and what he was going to do to ensure shelf will hold the load.

Description of Work
Replacement of Shelf

Category handyman service

Cost $100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/05/2018

2.0

08/06/2018


Gaudy e S.

Had to hire another company to fix the same problems.

Description of Work
Bathroom/Kitchen

Category handyman service

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/06/2018

Service Provider Response

We made several phone calls to come back to fix the problem and also had an appointment scheduled for a Saturday and when we called ahead that morning no one answer the phone.
5.0

06/06/2018


JON R.

Price was fair and job was done great.

Description of Work
Replacing Fascia

Category handyman service

Cost $350

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/04/2018

5.0

05/21/2018


jennifer T.

Dean and his team were very professional. They were able to come in and quickly give me an estimate and schedule the job. The job was done in a timely fashion and they gave me updates all the way. They cleaned up well and I didn't have to worry about drywall dust and materials left behind. Even stayed late to make sure the job was completed on the date promised. I will be using them again for a bathroom addition in the future. They did an amazing job and the bathroom turned out beautifully!

Description of Work
Bathroom Remodeling

Category bathtub refinishing, countertops, drywall, flooring contractor, handyman service, plumbing, interior painters

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/11/2018

5.0

05/17/2018


Fred F.

Very professional and made the best of an out of plumb shower enclosure. I would recommend them to anyone

Description of Work
Installing a shower door

Category handyman service, doors

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/27/2018

5.0

03/19/2018


Debi M.

It went wonderful. Yes, pictures are included from the bad project aka what they had to fix, to the crew making the kitchen beautiful and a delight for my family and me to really enjoy. They fixed all the bathroom faucets. They fixed two broken drawers. They took the moldy fan(pictured) and replaced it with beautiful lights I bought from IKEA. And they painted the ceiling area where the roof leak damage occurred. Will show as many photos as I can submit. Dean, Garman, and Matt were a great team and I am so glad that I found them. And I found them here through Angie's List. Pricing was done on individual projects at different interludes. Thus does not reflect entire projects costs overall. I forgot the overall costs as we were adding on projects to a fixer-upper. Yet Action Door-Dean was very amazing and priced as such for me.

Description of Work
Our kitchen ceiling needed the most attention. Dean, Matt & Garman were fantastic.

Category electrician, handyman service, lighting, ceiling fans, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/19/2020

Images

Review for Action Door & Property Services LLC - 5640 York Rd, Spring Grove, PA - 38578402

+6 More

5.0

03/07/2018


M. Colleen M.

Great! They came up with ideas that hadn't occurred to me. They put up a small decorative wall which helped to buttress the soil and the grass. Shortly after they finished their work, we held a bridal shower in the yard, to great success!

Description of Work
Landscaping of back yard.

Category handyman service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/07/2018

5.0

03/07/2018


M. Colleen M.

Excellent. I marked the price B instead of A. It was quite expensive. However, it does help to pay for itself because of the elimination of drafts. The work on the front door did likewise.

Description of Work
Installation of new back door. Work on front door and sill to close off drafts.

Category handyman service, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

01/25/2018


Kimberly T.

Dean came out and looked over the basement and was honest enough to let me know that the job needed a company designated for renovation services and that my insurance company probably had a list of contractors they work with and would even pay them directly. I appreciated the honesty and professionalism.

Description of Work
This was the second time I contacted them. I had a pipe burst & they came to look for remediation services.

Category handyman service

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/25/2018

5.0

11/06/2017


jennifer T.

They did a great job. Cleaned up after themselves and did a great job with the work. even took care of a couple little extra things.

Description of Work
Patched a huge hole in my ceiling that was left after a plumber had come out to fix a leak in the upstairs bathroom.

Category handyman service

Cost $360

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/07/2017

5.0

11/02/2017


Tracy G.

The work was excellent. They were very responsive to my needs and easy to work with. They fit me into their schedule to perform the work as quick as possible as I was about to close on my house. I would definitely use them again if needed.

Description of Work
bedroom ceiling tiles needed to be repaired/secured

Category handyman service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/14/2017