Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

LEGACY REMODELING INC

Founded 1987 • With Angi since February 2004

4.5

(160) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3090 W LIBERTY AVE

Pittsburgh, PA 15216

Description

LOCAL, FAMILY OWNED & OPERATED BUSINESS SERVICING THE PITTSBURGH AREA SINCE 1987. LEGACY HAS SERVED MORE THAN 24,000 CUSTOMERS AND INSTALL MORE THAN 700 PROJECTS FOR NEW SATISFIED CUSTOMERS EACH YEAR, WE PROUDLY BOAST THAT OVER 95% OF OUR CUSTOMERS WOULD RECOMMEND US TO FRIENDS, NEIGHBORS AND RELATIVES. WE USE FACTORY TRAINED AND INSURED WORKERS FOR INSTALLATION. COST IS DETERMINED BY THE PROJECT. NO TRAVEL CHARGES OR SERVICE FEES. ADDITIONAL EMAIL: CONTACT@LEGACYREMODELING.COM. FORMERLY KNOWN AS SWING LINE HOME REMODELING....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/22/2021


Jack H.

Wonderful! Salesperson friendly and efficient. Some places we called only used certain siding. Some never called back. Legacy offered us a choice of what we wanted for a reasonable price. Work was efficient and looks great. Clean up good. Worked thru rain showers. Very happy

Description of Work
New siding on brick house

Category contractors,siding

2.0

01/22/2021


Krista F.

Took almost a full YEAR to renovate 2 bathrooms - a project that was predicted to take 6 weeks. The charged us for work that could not be done, they forgot to install critical components (like a bench seat in the shower), had to rip out the wall 3 times to get it straight, ordered the wrong parts/materials to be installed, the things they did install (cabinets) were cracked or broken, and did significant damage to the inside of our home - broke boards on our hardwood floors, pulled up the finish, etc. - that they refused to fix. And when we tried to have conversations with the rep and the owner about our concerns, we were met with nothing but hostility. Absolutely the WORST experience of my entire life.

Description of Work
Remodel Bathrooms

Category contractors,remodeling

Service Provider Response

I'm sorry to hear that you are unhappy but this review is not accurate. You weren't charged for any work that we did not perform and this job did not take nearly a year. As you know, your project ran into issues because of previous work that had been done by other companies and how the house was framed to begin with. These are things that we could not know until we started taking walls apart. Once these issues were identified, you were given the choice to cancel the agreement or to sign off on a new version of the project with a reduced price, you chose an updated version of the job and we completed that in full. You were given credits for things that could not be done which included the shower bench which was eliminated due to the redesign and downsizing of the shower. Your husband accepted a credit for this via email on March 12, 2020. With regards to the timing, we started work in Dec 2019 and stopped a few weeks later when it was determined that the framing of your home would not allow the master bath project to be done. There was nearly a month while we talked/emailed through how to proceed. Then we had to reorder materials and wait until the installer that you specifically wanted was available again. Then the pandemic happened. Despite all of that, we substantially completed your project by May 2020. Unfortunately due to supply chain issues related to the pandemic, a small number of items took significantly longer to arrive. At this point the job is done and has been done since August of 2020. We are sorry that you are not totally thrilled to have worked with Legacy. We recognize that the process of getting this done was frustrating for you, but in the end we are confident that you have two very nice new bathrooms and were charged the correct amount for them. Thank you for your business and have a safe 2021.
1.0

01/06/2020


barbara H.

Very poorly. This work was done a year ago and i have waited to review. 1) work was subcontracted out with no supervisor on site. Did not show up when expected. Did not heed to manufacturers guidelines for install. 2) Chimney stack was left unfinished. Called supervisor who did not see issue. Called owner who sent skilled worker to complete chimney stack and remove gaps after subs left. Metal Trim was pulled up and left bent up. Hardee board is not secured in an area. Caulking was poorly done and/or missed perhaps due to delay and cold temperatures.... Would not recommend them for siding work.

Description of Work
Replace cedar siding and trim with hardee board.

Category siding,replacement windows

Service Provider Response

As the owner of the business I am sorry to hear that you are unhappy with our work. While I do agree that some of the caulking work that we did needed to be better, we came back out and corrected that. With regards to the rest of your review, I do not agree. As one of very few Hardie Preferred Remodelors in Pittsburgh, we always adhere to their installation best practices. Without knowing what specifically you think we did not do correctly per the manufacturers guidelines, I cannot respond further. I can tell you that every Hardie installation we perform is turned into Hardie and they periodically audit our jobs, so we take this very seriously. The cap at the top of your chimney stack was not a part of your contract and you were not charged for us to do this. When our supervisor visited you, he explained this. You did not like this answer and you contacted me. I agreed to do if for you in the name of good customer service and in the hope that you would have positive things to say about Legacy. You got this work for free. We were not late in starting. Your contract called for an approximate start date of 10/5/18. It then says right next to that date that it is an estimated start date and that actual work will begin within 45 days. We started at the beginning of November, well within the 45 days. We could not have started any earlier because we were waiting for the Hardie material that we had ordered to be in. I explained this to your husband when he burst into our sales meeting last October demanding to know why we had not started yet. Lastly the metal trim you are referring to is the flashing for your flat roof under your deck. We did not work on that and the metal was bent up before we ever got there. Again, I am sorry that your caulking work was not done as well as it should have been, we corrected it when you pointed it out. We also went beyond the scope of our contract without charging you in order to try to have a happy customer. Please let me know if we can do anything to help you in the future.
5.0

05/05/2018


Brad H.

From the first contact to the last, Legacy Remodeling was great. They arrived on time and worked hard the whole day. They came back the next day and finished up the loose ends in a couple of hours and went over the windows. Unfortunately one of the window sashes came broken(not fault on them) and was ordered and replace very quickly. While there to replace the window sash, Bob checked the other windows to make sure we were happy with them and addressed any concerns we may have had., From the great customer service, installers, service department, everyone we have come into contact with them, I would/will hire to them again to complete the other work we need done at the house. Thank You

Description of Work
New windows

Category replacement windows

1.0

04/19/2018


John C.

Nightmare, Terrible, (pictures included) The two workers that did most of the work we’re very polite however could not communicate due to language barriers had to talk to 3rd worker that did speak English. They broke our satellite dish eye arm by throwing off old shingles, I had insurance on dish so it was replaced but no TV for a week. Shingles laying all in the yard still! some. Some Old construction materials left however they did take old aluminum to junk yard to get money, they said they use the money for gas. I gave them a $100.00 tip the first day they got to our home as a good will jesture and bought water and ice, I thought this would intice them to do a better job. The shingles we purchased we’re made by Isaiah Industries the Classic Rustic aluminum type and we paid $51,000.00 for the entire project. Legacy used a cheaper hip lineal that we did not want per salesman’s presentation but to our surprise it was in the contract we signed, our foolish mistake so read your contract well and get exacting verbiage of what each piece of roofing materials are called. The foam backer board designed so shingles won’t crush was only installed in areas known by “Me gale” so he could walk around the roof without crushing the aluminum panels that look like ceader shakes. The way the shingles we’re installed provides no way to keep water from getting under and around the hip lineal and the only reason our roof might not be leaking yet is because we purchased aqual underlayment. So pieces started falling off Just one months after installing. The original subcontractors fixed right away, then a 2nd piece fell off a couple weeks later they fixed again this time I called my insurance agent who was present and got a statement from subcontractors stating that they forgot to put calking on shingle so our insurance company said they are not responsible for bad workmanship. At this point after a 3rd piece fell off we called again requesting different subcontractors but now they wouldn’t come out from just a phone call we had to go on line and fill out a work request form. This is when the owner Jeff Moeslein got involved and we started email traffic and I printed out all of his quotes like for instance one quote we find amazing he said “he can’t understand why we are so mad because of the lifetime warranty and excuse my language but he said “s_ _ _” happens! and most of the time the customers are glad we fix the issue but you just get mad” So another piece falls off and I got Isaiah Industries involved they sent installation manuals on our shingle and they also stated that they we’re providing Legacy remodeling on instructional ways to fix the pieces that fell off so when different subcontractors came out that I requested but per owner I don’t have the right to pick and choose who comes out. So they came out and they started screwing these shingles in with roofing screws so we have screws in our shingles that weren’t designed to ba installed this way. Not to have screws placed directly in plain site on top of a textured uneven shingles directly on top with no way to stop water from entering. To date 3 separate contractors came out and each stated the shingles on the lineal hips weren’t bent or fastened correctly but they don’t want to be in the middle so they can only do what Jeff Moeslein tells them to do. Foam backing was not placed on entire roof so crushed shingles everywhere from them walking all over the roof I have videos and photos. Jeff Moeslein said that was optional that I should have purchased that extra foam. He then starts the blame game that I should have read my contract and that I walked around the roof taking photos insinuating that I crushed the shingles, he forgot I have 4 sky lights that open and that’s how I was able to take photos, and as you can see in the photos sky lights probably will leak. Also I would like to mention that we had flood lights near soffit and they cut the wires and stuffed them into the soffit. When I told the owner he said read your contract I have to hire an electrician but this was after they left so we would have to tear appart the soffit to fix this code violation and we are worried a fire may happen in these two separate areas. The owner Jeff’s Moeslein’s emails are sickening and we don’t know what to do. We find ourselves inspecting the roof everytime we go outside or when we drive by it. Jeff Moeslein said he will not replace crushed shingles and so much more I didn’t mention. We are sick. Keep in mind the old shingles in pictures we’re picked up but plants broken. Have pictures of all shingles that fell off and have all emails and voicemail of or by owner, subcontractors and salesman. and have some informative videos and many more photos. Thank you respectfully submitted.

Description of Work
New Aluminum Roof, Gutters, Soffits and facial installation of 4 sky lights I purchased

Category gutter repair,roofing,skylights,ceiling fans

Service Provider Response

Mr [Member Name Removed], your product was installed exactly as our contract called for and in line with the manufacturers instructions. I am sorry you have had a couple of shingles fall off of your roof. In line with your warranty we have been out to take care of your services promptly each time. I am not going to engage you on the rest of this, much of it is false. I appreciate your business and will be happy to take care of you under warranty should you run into any future issues. Thank you for choosing Legacy. I hope you have many years of enjoyment with the beautiful metal roof that we installed on your home.
1.0

03/02/2018


walter H.

I wanted my soffit and facia wrapped in aluminum and corner cedar boards replaced with Hardiboard. I also had 1/2 of one side of my house that needed Hardi siding to replace cedar and the side of my garage and mudroom. A window removed and framed in. And front porch cedar trim replaced. My colonial house is 3,500 sq.ft. Their estimate was $90,000!

Description of Work
soffit, facia, trim boards, siding

Category remodeling,siding

Service Provider Response

Mr [Member Name Removed], I am sorry you were unhappy with our visit to your home. Our representative never gave you a quote for the project you are describing. The price you were given was a ball park number to fully replace all of the siding on your entire home with new Hardie siding in addition to installing new soffit and fascia, closing in the window and rebuilding your porch. Unfortunately we cannot do the project he way you described and still be in line with the manufacturers installation instructions. For example if we installed Hardie siding in some places and left the other siding, the two different types of material would not match up properly due to differences in thickness. At best it would look bad and at worst it would leak. Hopefully you were able to get the work done in a way you were satisfied with. Thank you for your interest in Legacy.
5.0

01/29/2018


Deborah S.

They were very professional. I was very pleased with the installation and the quality of the windows.

Description of Work
Replacement windows

Category replacement windows

5.0

01/08/2018


Nancy O.

Excellent product, fair price, professional installation.

Description of Work
16 windows

Category replacement windows

5.0

11/15/2017


Dan D.

FANTASTIC!! from the person who answered the phone to the salesman to the person who installed the job, nothing but praise.

Description of Work
Soffit and fascia. Small gutter on back porch

Category gutter repair,siding

2.0

10/27/2017


Jim M.

Not good. Not satisfied at all. Left with bad taste and upset with whole inquiry. And behavior of company

Description of Work
Window replacement

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

We are very sorry to hear that you were not happy with the service you were given. If you would like to call our office to discuss, the owner would be more than happy to speak with you about your concerns. Unfortunately, after looking into this it seems that the primary issue was that our current promotion, which we are running in conjunction with the manufacturer of our window products, expires at the end of the month which meant you needed to make a yes or no decision in 5-6 days. While we can understand that this can be frustrating if you are not in a position to take advantage of the promotion, its not something which we control or can change. We wish you the best of luck as you work to find the right company to do work at your home and are sorry that we could not help you. Thank you for your interest in Legacy Remodeling.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Chernega Construction LLC

    Chernega Construction is a trusted family owned business based out of Lower Burrell, PA that services the surrounding Pittsburgh area. We specialize in home remodeling, new home construction, concrete work, and roof installation. If you can dream it. We can build it. For over 3 decades, we have specialized in residential construction, and commercial general contracting.  

    Michener Chimney and Masonry

    All your masonry needs from new brick, block or stonework.. Retaining walls..chimney repair..whole house repointing..lintel replacement..step cracks ..mortar matching..no job too big or small  

    Home Genius Exteriors

    ***NOW OFFERING VIRTUAL / NO-TOUCH INSPECTIONS AND ESTIMATES. We’re open for business! Home Genius Exteriors remains dedicated to our mission to give our customers A DIFFERENT EXPERIENCE. Give our team of professionals a chance to WOW you with our hassle-free inspection process, transparent pricing, perfect communication and top-rated installations. We’re not just a sales and marketing company like some of our competitors, we stand behind every project we do with a warranty you can trust! We are home improvement experts and can be your one-stop-shop solution! Home Genius also offers some of the most FLEXIBLE payment plans in the industry. Give us a chance and we’ll do everything we can to earn the right to become your CONTRACTOR FOR LIFE.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Home Genius Exteriors on Angi
    Licensed
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    EXTERIOR REMODELING, WINDOWS, SIDING (INCLUDING JAMES HARDIE), ROOFING, DOORS, GUTTER REPLACEMENT, SOFFIT, FASCIA, DECKS, PORCH AND DECK ROOFS, KITCHENS, BATHROOMS & BASEMENT REMODELING.

    Services Not Offered

    GENERAL REMODELING, PAINTING, ROOM ADDITIONS, REPAIR SERVICES, GUTTER CLEANING, BRICK REPAIR, CHIMNEY REPAIR

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about LEGACY REMODELING INC

    How is LEGACY REMODELING INC overall rated?

    LEGACY REMODELING INC is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are LEGACY REMODELING INC open?

    LEGACY REMODELING INC is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does LEGACY REMODELING INC provide

    LEGACY REMODELING INC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

    Does LEGACY REMODELING INC offer free estimates?

    Yes, LEGACY REMODELING INC offers free project estimates.

    Does LEGACY REMODELING INC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, LEGACY REMODELING INC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does LEGACY REMODELING INC offer a senior discount?

    Yes, LEGACY REMODELING INC offers a 5% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by LEGACY REMODELING INC?

    Yes, LEGACY REMODELING INC offers warranties.

    What services does LEGACY REMODELING INC offer?

    LEGACY REMODELING INC offers the following services: EXTERIOR REMODELING, WINDOWS, SIDING (INCLUDING JAMES HARDIE), ROOFING, DOORS, GUTTER REPLACEMENT, SOFFIT, FASCIA, DECKS, PORCH AND DECK ROOFS, KITCHENS, BATHROOMS & BASEMENT REMODELING.

    Are there any services LEGACY REMODELING INC does not offer?

    GENERAL REMODELING, PAINTING, ROOM ADDITIONS, REPAIR SERVICES, GUTTER CLEANING, BRICK REPAIR, CHIMNEY REPAIR