Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Frew Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning Inc

Founded 1925 • With Angi since March 2004

Family owned since 1925. Additional phone - (412)-761-5711

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
ask for details
Senior Discount
5%
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.2

(55) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 55 reviews
Elizabeth W.
5.0
10/24/2017
Eric was very polite and thorough. Gave me some tips to keep furnace running smoothly. I will see him again in the Spring for an AC checkup!
Description of Work
annual furnace checkup
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Shannon W.
5.0
08/02/2017
Adam was very helpful and did a wonderful job he also like my main **** cat too he is very knowledgeable at what he does
Description of Work
dishwasher hook up
Category
plumbing
MARY R.
4.0
03/14/2017
The work was done several years ago. They were prompt in responding to my request for service. The price was well over $200 for inexpensive parts and about 1/2 hour of work. I asked why so expensive and I received a response that amounted to "too bad for you, but that's what we charge."
Description of Work
Repair/replace bathroom sink drain and stopper mechanism.
Category
plumbing
Ruth G.
4.0
03/02/2017
I had to keep calling week after week after week to check on the status. They cashed my deposit and I had to wait for 2 months for them to install a new hot water tank. Would never hire again.
Description of Work
Hot Water Tank Installation
Category
plumbing
Louise R.
5.0
08/08/2016
Have always been pleased with their work.
Description of Work
All HVAC and plumbing. Have used them for over 30 years.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the kind review and your continued patronage!!
Andrew K.
5.0
06/05/2016
It went well the service man clean and check the A.C. Also replace the filter with one we provided him. He did suggest a different type of filter which we decline because we already had one. He add 8 oz of R-22 coolant to system.
Description of Work
Check, clean and service A.C.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind review! We greatly value our customers satisfaction! Please let us know if we can assist you with any thing else and we would be happy to do so.
paula M.
5.0
06/05/2015
old water heater broke and leaked overnight. plumber arrived that afternoon and replaced unit. plumber was very nice & courteous.
Description of Work
installed new water heater, cleaned flue, installed overflow bladder, hauled away old water heater
Category
plumbing, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Frew Inc. appreciates you taking the time to supply a kind review for us!! Thanks Again and we look forward to Servicing your needs again!!!
Jane B.
5.0
06/05/2015
They did very well. I highly recommend them. They're friendliness, tthey're professionalism, they got the job done, they didn't leave a mess, they cleaned up eveything, they were done basically within an hour, and I thought their pricing is fair.
Description of Work
I had a clogged pipe so they came in, unclogged it and they put a valve in.
Category
drain cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank You for the kind remarks! We take pride in our Customer Satisfaction. We appreciate your business and look forward to servicing your plumbing and HVAC needs in the future!!
Josh F.
5.0
06/04/2015
It was good. They came after hours on an emergency and fixed the leak. They were there pretty quickly. I had all the parts on hand. They fixed it right up. I found them through Angie's List. They had pretty good reviews and they're local. We've used them on another job. I think they plumbed our laundry room.
Description of Work
They did a couple of things for us. They did an emergency leak repair.
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind review. We also greatly appreciate your business!
Jane T.
5.0
06/02/2015
They always do accurate work. I have used them for over 30 years.
Description of Work
.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank You [Member Name Removed] for your kind review. Frew Plumbing, Heating & A/C Inc thanks you greatly for your continued business for over 30 years!!
Daniel W.
5.0
06/01/2015
It was fine. They did a fine job. Everything they did has stood up through the test of time but it was definitely a while ago. They are a fine company, I would say that but it was a while ago. That was a substantial project and they did a great job. I was happy with the project.
Description of Work
That was probably eight or nine years ago. They replaced the faucets on two sinks. They changed all the galvanized steel plumbing in my basement that was leaking to copper because I have a hundred year old home.
Category
plumbing, home remodeling
Elizabeth W.
5.0
08/04/2014
I bid 3 different people. I have used them before as my plumber. They are always very reliable and they do excellent work. They were always on time. They were not the lowest bid. They were the middle of the road guy. I upgraded from what I had before so I got a decent unit. There was one little glitch but it wasn't their fault. A coil in the new air conditioner had a hole in it when they went to charge it so they had to go back and get a new coil and reinstall it in the air conditioning unit. It is a Trane. They were very professional and always answered my questions. They put up with my whining because they had to come back an extra day. I was not happy and neither was my boss because I had to take another day off for them. It was on a Friday and they said they would have to come back on Monday. They were nice and gave me an extra year of inspections. Part of their package is that you get the first year free for the furnace and air conditioning inspections. Because of my inconvenience they gave me another year for free. I checked 3 units but I went with what I knew was good service. They were very good to me. If I had a question, I would go downstairs and the guy would stop what he was doing and patiently answer my question and then he would go back to work. He didn't act like I was annoying him which I appreciated.
Description of Work
They installed a new air conditioner, new furnace and new hot water heater.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the very kind review! We look forward to working with the you in the future and helping you is any way we can. Thanks Again for your business!!
Kathryn C.
5.0
05/21/2014
They have been so accomodating! He has come out and talked with me at anytime that I have asked.
Description of Work
.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank for the kind remarks!! Frew Inc prides ourselves on customer satisfaction. We appreciate it greatly and, as always, please let us know if we can assist you in the future!!
J B.
5.0
12/14/2013
I had a contractor come in for a routine seasonal check of the furnace in the home I recently purchased. A major malfunction was detected and I needed to replace the very old unit. I knew up front that I would want at least three or four solid bids. The diagnosing tech paged a service manager who hustled out to my home to deliver an aggressive sales pitch. So "Hard Sell" was crossed off my list. I brought another in for a second opinion. Nice personable fellow, but he told me my furnace was fine, even before he scoped the unit to discover the offending defect. That seemed like a tactic to earn my trust. So "Shady" was crossed off. Having educated myself as best as I could about all the options available with newer furnaces, I then went back to the web to get smarter. I then wanted a contractor with the strongest credentials because I learned that it really makes a difference who installs your furnace. I brought in Frew, Inc. I found Jim and Michael to be very professional and thorough in answering my questions. But I still wanted to have several competitive bids. I brought in another contractor with strong credentials/certification, very nice fellow - but he convinced me that it would be next to impossible to install a high efficiency furnace without creating a byzantine layout of pipes obstructing my half bath in the basement -and even then it would be very difficult. But I appreciated that he had the integrity to recommend that I bring Frew back in to explain how they would do the job. So Jim came back, answered all the questions I had to help me decide whether to go with the 80percenter or a high efficiency. He explained how the install would be done. His subdued confidence in answering my questions convinced me that I didn't need any more bids. Frew Inc.'s bid was well aligned with the others. And when the work was completed, everything was pristine and compact. Frew Inc. had the right equipment to get the job done. Choosing my own service provider would have me shortchanged on my home warranty -but even that being the case, I would not have had any other contractor perform this work.
Description of Work
Install New Furnace
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

We appreciate the kind remarks and look forward to servicing your account in the future and continue to improve on our processes to exceed our customers expectations. Thanks Again for your patronage!!
Devin M.
3.0
10/29/2013
Was fine but expensive and I found the counsel that I should just replace the furnaces (approx 8-10 years old) not helpful Have had them do prior work and they continually expand the scope of the work and end up being more expensive than other providers. Have stopped using them
Description of Work
Fixed the furnce which would not start
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing
Kathy K.
5.0
09/12/2013
Checked gas line into house to ensure no leaked. Pressure tested gas range and gas lines.
Description of Work
Plumbing service
Category
plumbing
Thomas G.
5.0
06/21/2013
Tim and Eric installed the furnace and humidifier with no issues. Some of the duct work from my previous furnace wasn't going to fit with the new furnace, so they redid the duct work. The new duct work looked even better than the old work! Since then I have continued to use Frew twice a year to provide summer/winter routine maintenance on both the furnace and my air conditioner. Tim and Eric have both provided excellent, informative work each time one of them has come. I rated the price as a B because the quote that I received for the furnace was slightly higher than the other companies that I received quotes from. That being said, there were 2 reasons I chose Frew. The first was the level of professionalism shown by Mr. Frew when providing the initial estimate. The second was the fact that there were some concerns about whether some of the piping to the outside was going to be permissible under the covenants of my HOA, and Mr. Frew personally contacted the board of directors to explain the issues (rather than have me mess up the description in translation) and told me that I had received approval. That was going above and beyond, and if Mr. Frew was willing to do that, I didn't have any doubts that the installers would be just as professional.
Description of Work
Installed a new furnace and humidifier
Category
plumbing
Lorraine R.
5.0
03/26/2013
Overall good service but it was a bit more expensive than expected
Description of Work
Replaced hot water heating boiler and room controllers
Category
plumbing
Mark L.
5.0
12/23/2011
Excellent quality overall, from first phone contact through the follow up call the company made to make sure we were satisfied with the work. Several small jobs were completed during a single appointment, and everything was very good. Bill was the technician and was very thorough. I was not at the house during the appointment, and he called later to discuss a problem with the furnace and hot water heater. Would recommend them, and plan to use them again.
Description of Work
Removed stationary tub, inspected and cleaned furnace, and fixed leaking toilet.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair
Amy M.
3.0
09/08/2011
I contracted with Frew to replace a main gas line to a 100-year old investment property. I also hired them to replace the gas lines to the second floor apartment. This all went according to plan. The workers showed up in a timely manner, performed the work consistent with the contract and billed the contracted price. However, they recommended I install a new water line to the house. The Frew employee on the job said they could do this for cost of materials only since they had already dug a hole. I replied that I needed to know a firm cost prior to them proceeding. The owner never called me to give me a price and they continued to install a new water line. When the job was completed, they billed me approximately $2,000 for a new water line. While I communicated my shock at the price of this line, I paid the bill anyway.
Description of Work
Replace main gas service line Replace gas lines to second floor.
Category
plumbing, gas leak repair
Barbara G.
2.0
07/05/2011
The pipe was cleaned ok but the bill was for over $700- for 2 hours work. This company is a ripoff. Charged $200 for "equipment maintenance" which I refused to pay. I'll never again use this company.
Description of Work
Pressure cleaned the sewer pipe.
Category
drain cleaning
ANNE M.
5.0
06/21/2011
Always goes well...they know what they are doing...and we trust them to do the job, which they do in a very professional manner!
Description of Work
Have had heating/AC installed in two houses by Frew. Got estimates which were cheaper with coupons and promotions from others for the second house, but we did not feel that the others would provide the quality of service that we expect. The others continued to hound us to sign a contract...Frew does not do that...they stand by their professionalism. Excellent quality of materials and service. Also, continue to contract for maintenance services. Very professional and will use them again. Price might be a bit higher, but the service is worth it...
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
John S.
5.0
04/11/2011
It went great, Bill was very patient and did the work over 2 days so as not to charge overtime rates. The dishwasher did not fit exactly but Bill managed to modify the space so that it would fit without tearing up the counter. He also did a great job with fixing the crappy job that the previous owner had done on the pipes downstairs. In addition, Frew agreed to bill me later for the work.
Description of Work
They removed and hauled away an old dishwasher, re-routed the dishwasher drain, installed a new dishwasher and fixed some pipes that were installed incorrectly down in the basement.
Category
plumbing, drain cleaning
John P.
5.0
04/06/2011
The sellers realty company did everything for us, Frew showed up one day and started working, the owner of the company came out and made sure everything was going well. All and all I was very pleased with the work they did.
Description of Work
I had the sewer line redone from the house to the street. I negotiated the work into the contract when I was buying my house so it didn't cost a dime out of my pocket. The estimate was approximately 7k.
Category
excavators, plumbing, drain pipe, sewer cleaning
John S.
5.0
02/28/2011
They did a good job. Unfortunately though, this problem keeps re-occurring and I probably will eventually need to replace the furnace.
Description of Work
Frew came out and cleaned and adjusted the flame sensor on my furnace.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Phone

Address

8315 Ohio River Blvd

Pittsburgh, PA 15202

Other Information

Services offered

Plumbing, heating and cooling, kitchen & bath remodeling, water heaters and boiler systems, backflows, dye test, sewer snaking and camera,complete plumbing, heating and cooling services.

Payment options

Discover
MasterCard
Visa
Financing Available
Check

FAQ

Frew Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning Inc is currently rated 4.2 overall out of 5.

Frew Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning Inc is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

Frew Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Discover, MasterCard, Visa, Financing Available, Check

Yes, Frew Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning Inc offers free project estimates.

Yes, Frew Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Frew Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning Inc does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Frew Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning Inc offers emergency services.

No, Frew Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning Inc does not offer warranties.

Frew Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning Inc offers the following services: Plumbing, heating and cooling, kitchen & bath remodeling, water heaters and boiler systems, backflows, dye test, sewer snaking and camera,complete plumbing, heating and cooling services.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Rick Page Quality Landscaping

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Rick Page Quality Landscaping

Multiple Employees per job. Free Estimates. May contact through Email or Phone.  

Mr. Waterheater

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Mr. Waterheater

Mr. Waterheater started in 1981 installing water heaters in Pittsburgh, PA. The winning combination of better than competitive pricing and unparalleled service were used to build a successful specialty plumbing business. Expansion to other markets is the goal of this family owned business with three generations of plumbing professionals. The competitive environment in the plumbing industry combined with the public’s distrust of unscrupulous service providers are the backdrop for the development of the Mr. Waterheater brand and a better way of doing business. Mr. Waterheater is known for speed, integrity, ethics, low-cost pricing, and extraordinary customer service. Our company is run by people who understand what it takes to start a business from scratch, sell franchises of their business, and build it into a recognized and respected symbol of dependable, trusted service. Prior to owning Mr. Waterheater, the owners were successful in the plumbing industry. Family Owned & Operated. Additional DBAs - Mr Waterheater of Butler, Waterheater Inc. Award wining. Additional phones - (412) 247-1920, (412) 486-4112, (412) 882-7771, (412) 921-2080, (724) 327-6000, (724) 337-9522, (724) 836-1711, (724) 863-6080, (866) 647-8379. Award winning.  

Jays Plumbing And Excavating Llc

5.0

(11)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Jays Plumbing And Excavating Llc

With over 15 years of plumbing experience, we Specialize in gas line installation. DOT certified