Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Boehmer Heating & Cooling

Founded 1933 • With Angi since January 2004

Call Boehmer Heating & Cooling for installation, replacement, repair and maintenance on HVAC systems.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
No
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.5

(75) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 75 reviews
Cindy W.
5.0
10/06/2021
They have been excellent and I would highly recommend them.
Description of Work
They service my gas boiler once a year.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]. We're grateful for the relationship over the years.
Marc Y.
5.0
12/13/2018
During annual service Boehmer technical found the boiler was no longer safe and carbon monoxide gas level in chimney was dangerously elevated. This was on a Thursday. Work to replace the 70 year old boiler for the following Monday and install a chimney liner was scheduled for the Tuesday. The installation teams showed up on time for the boiler installation; removed the old boiler and installed the new one. It took all day. They came back the next day and installed the chimney liner. They crews were really nice and really did a good job cleaning up after themselves each day. A service technician came by Wednesday to make sure the work was complete and done correctly. Installation included an electronic programmable thermostat.
Description of Work
Replaced 70-year old boiler
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for letting us take care of this for you. Great working with you. And thank you for the review.
Mary L.
5.0
04/19/2018
Excellent. A technician called within thirty minutes of my initial call that was placed after 9:00 pm to discuss the problem and walked me through how to turn off the water (leak was from either pipe or water heater). They came firrst thing the next day and replaced the water heater. Very professional and courteous.
Description of Work
Water Heater
Category
water heater repair
Mary L.
5.0
04/19/2018
Excellent These guys inspect my furnace and also installed a water heater and are great. I needed visors over flood light due to a neighbor complaint and they custom made visors and installed within a week.
Description of Work
Furnace inspection, visors on flood lights
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair
kathryn C.
2.0
10/24/2017
Boehmer sold me a replacement part for my boiler in March 2017, which did get my boiler working again. I paid $800 for a part. Even though at the time they told me that it might not fix the issue and the boiler could need replaced. I had them come back to do a maintenance Oct. 2017, only for them to tell me that my boiler is leaking carbon monoxide and is close to needing replaced. They actually suggested that it could last another year or so, as long as I didn't allow pets or small children in the basement where the boiler runs. It didn't sound safe to me and I'm not sure why they would recommend that if its not regulation and not safe. I didn't appreciate that they didn't tell me about the leak in March, after spending $800 on a part. Furthermore, they were pushing me to purchase a new boiler and to schedule within a day or two. Otherwise, they wouldn't be able to get me scheduled for another 4 weeks. Well I did my research thanks to Angie's List and went with a better company. It turns out the boiler in my home is actually too big for the house. Since I got someone that knows what they are doing they were able to measure the radiators and the square footage and give me a better price on the right sized boiler. I will not be using this company again. Very disappointed.
Description of Work
Boiler needed fixed.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Carolynn S.
5.0
10/24/2017
Very well- efficient and well explained work
Description of Work
Cleaning of boiler
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Jean K.
2.0
08/29/2017
What they did was tell us we needed a new furnace and new air conditioner. And then my husband got another company to come out, and the first company we paid them $400 and they were supposed to clean the filters and clean all four units, because we have two furnaces and two air conditioners. The second one came out and said they had not changed the filters or cleaned it or done any of that. All they did was tell us we needed new ones, and we're still using them. They may be old, but they're still running right now. So I pursued the owner until I got the money back from them, and I did get my money back. If my husband had not got that second estimator, we would not have known that we didn't have the furnace cleaned at all. Their price was expensive. They were punctual whenever they came. For professionalism, give it a B; they talked a good game.
Description of Work
We had Boehmer to come out to look at our furnaces
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for letting us know about your experience with our company. Complete satisfaction with our products and services is our goal. I see that our visit in the spring was for maintenance on your heating and cooling systems which we performed on May 3rd. Would you please contact me personally so that I may help to resolve any issues? Thank you. -Steve Boehmer
Melodie U.
5.0
08/18/2017
They show up, do their thing, and leave. If anything goes wrong, we call them and they come back. My parents used them for years and years and years. They can be a little tough on pricing. My dad figured they knew the furnace, they installed the 2nd furnace in 99 and yes it still runs beautifully. They installed this furnace in 1999 and water heater in 1999 so I guess an A. They are very prompt. They are very punctual. They are professional and they don't mind you asking them questions.
Description of Work
I had the $69 special to service my furnace tuneup.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
LINDA R.
5.0
08/01/2017
I chose them because they had a good reputation.
Description of Work
New furnace and air conditioner.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Mark C.
5.0
07/26/2017
I have a maintenance contract on my air and heating. They just come out and change the filters. I have been satisfied with them. They usually can be out the next day.
Description of Work
.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Maria K.
5.0
07/02/2017
Uncharacteristically, the work took a lot longer than the time promised. Called to complain (this was an unusually stressful day having to do with a pending funeral and arrangements) because we would have put off doing the work had we known it would take all day. Steve Boehmer and I discussed and I was impressed by his professionalism, courtesy and the final results. A good company knows how to make things right then they go wrong.
Description of Work
We have a service contract with Boehmer, which pays for labor as well as checkups for AC and heating twice a year. It is a good deal. In this case, a checkup found that a coil in the AC unit had to be replaced.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Matthew P.
4.0
06/29/2017
Really friendly people at the office. However the tech that came did not seem that interested. Did not even inspect the area or ask us what we were looking for and actually had the highest quote. The brand is their own, so not really even sure how I would do research on it. Just was not a good fit for us, but just thought I would put the quote out here.
Description of Work
Replacing Furnace and AC
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Marc Y.
5.0
06/15/2017
The cost is on an annual basis on a bi annual basis and every two years, it's $198. It's always an "A plus". We have been using them for years.
Description of Work
It was for an annual service call.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
BILL B.
5.0
10/28/2016
I have a contract with them. They are my longtime provider.
Description of Work
Boehmer Heating & Cooling came out because we had a problem with our heating and air conditioning.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Thomas S.
5.0
08/23/2016
I've never had any problems with what they've done or with the air conditioning unit/ furnace.
Description of Work
They serviced the air conditioning unit and furnace.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Thomas S.
5.0
08/23/2016
They did an excellent job. They did an excellent clean up. I've never had trouble ever since with the A.C. I'll find out about the furnace in the winter. They put their name on the appliance instead of the manufacturer's name so that in case of any problem, you can call them.
Description of Work
They replaced my furnace and air conditioning unit. The furnace was 20 years old, the A.C. unit was 15 and that was the longevity they gave to us for the appliances. I had a leak. The air conditioner was dumping water onto my furnace and condenser coil. I decided to stop having it repaired and finally have it replaced.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Kimberly W.
2.0
07/18/2016
They arrived promptly the same day during the busy time of year. The technician diagnosed a cracked drain pan and advised replacing the whole system due to the age, 10 years. I called J.A.Sauer for a second opinion before I spent all that money. Sauer's tech poured a lot of water into the drain pan which did not leak to the floor, making me wonder why Boehmer's tech did not try this simple diagnostic. And then Sauer's tech found the leak to be coming from the pump, which Boehmer's tech dismissed with a cursory check.
Description of Work
AC was leaking in basement
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Nancy S.
4.0
06/15/2016
He was on time. It was good. They did a good job.
Description of Work
I bought a new furnace and an air conditioner.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Barry A.
2.0
02/23/2016
We have had a service agreement with Boehmer for my Heating and cooling system (for the past 15 years!). The Humidifier (under the service agreement) was not working. I checked out the system myself and found that the problem was the Humidistat and I called this information into Boehmer (all I did was bypass the Humidistat and the system worked...the problem was a faulty humidistat and I told this "diagnosis" to Boehmer). The repair person came out to service it. He told us that the system was not repairable and that the entire humidifier needed to be replaced for $900.00. This is right our of a 60 Minutes expose. The problem was the Humidistat (and I even told Boehmer that when I called the repair in!) This should have been a $35-$50 repair. They were taking advantage of, what they thought was, my ignorance. I'm not ignorant...I repaired the unit by replacing the Humidistat (ordered from Amazon for $35) in about 5 minutes. I wonder how many innocent people have fallen for similar repair schemes by Boehmer. Consumer beware!
Description of Work
Boehmer was suppose to repair the Humidifier on my Heating system.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

I'm sorry that you have lost confidence with our services. We work hard to provide honest and reliable service. And we stand behind what we do with a 100% satisfaction guarantee. I do believe that our technician made an honest mistake when testing the components of your system, and that he was attempting to act in your best interest. I am aware that you have been in correspondence with our operations manager and I stand behind his offer of free maintenance visits and extension of your agreement to compensate for our error. Please let me know if there is anything I can do to help. I would love to continue our long-standing relationship. In your service. -=Steve Boehmer
David V.
5.0
01/19/2016
I contacted Boehmer Heating & Cooling regarding some firing issues with my boiler. The previous night, I had lost heat and needed someone to come out and get me back up to spec. They arrived on time, however, I was not present during the initial visit due to prior work obligations. According to my father, they quickly diagnosed the problem and placed an order for a replacement damper. The part took roughly one week to arrive and a return visit was scheduled to install. Everything went well and the damper is no longer the issue. Price could have been a little more affordable, but solid service none-the-less.
Description of Work
Replaced Boiler Damper
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Dennis S.
4.0
12/14/2015
I've used them probably three or four years in a row for furnace and air conditioning maintenance. I had the same guy come out all the time. I would give him an 'A'. He left that company and they had to send another young kid who didn't know what he was doing. That's why I'm no longer going with them.
Description of Work
I used them for furnace cleaning and tune-up.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Michael S.
2.0
08/17/2015
Final Update: 9/17 If you care to read the long saga and my thoughts start at the bottom and work up for the correct timeline and events. Company did send a refund - owner looks like he wrote a response trying to address some of the issues of the tech that came out. I have changed the review grade from an F to a D due to the refund and owner response but keeping the log of what happened to keep the other angies list users informed and be transparent when companies mess up and what steps they did to correct. In the end it was nice enough I got a refund and an apology and there's nothing else I could reasonably expect to correct the problem. I wish the tech had been more of a professional and less of a salesmen. I know they are there to make a buck but high pressure/intimidation sales techniques are a sign of a poor company (or at least a poor tech). If my wife had been the one home to handle this alone we may have been on the hook for thousands of dollars of repair work that we didn't need as she would have trusted the professional opinion. I doubt I would have gotten a refund then. Admittedly the tech was probably right as to what was wrong but I did pay him to technically diagnose the issue (like the second company) not just come make me an almost 100 dollar sales pitch based on his gut cause he thought I looked young and would blindly trust him. It also took several hours of leg work and good record keeping on my part (and angies list) to get a refund so glad its done, glad some refund was made, not real happy I had to fight so hard to get MY money back for them not doing their job. They will not get my business again. Update 9/1 after original review below: Company challenged my review and said I was mistaken - angies list staff reached out and asked me to provide proof the service occurred. I happily e-mailed back a photo copy of the receipt with date, time, company info, and a tech named Rick (or Rich his writing was sloppy). I also asked them to take down the companies response since I provided proof they were wrong in saying I was mistaken and had no records. Angie's rep told me they can't do that and that my only course of action was to update my review with new info so here I am. Best case: The company has poor record keeping (claims no records of my name or address). Worst case - they are trying to discredit a negative (but honest) review and hope the reader just thinks the customer must have screwed up. These review type sites only work if both the good and bad reviews are reported and companies are held accountable. Good companies charging fair prices have nothing to worry about. Bad companies with poor service and high pressure sales for multi thousand dollar repairs don't need your or my future business! Learn from my mistake! I will continue to update if the company ever attempts to make it right to give credit where credit is due. Original Review: Tech Rick responded quickly to a frozen line and not working A/C unit. Responsiveness was good. Other then that poor experience. Rick immediately started hard selling a replacement unit. "I can tell you want to replace it just by the look in your eye". Came to "diagnose" my unit and problem and charged 89 bucks to do it. Walked to the unit said I already know your problem is your leaking freon. His diagnoses was correct (confirmed by a second service I had to call to address the issue) However the second guy actually hooked up gauges and meters and showed me what was wrong. Rick didn't touch the unit. Literally DIDN'T touch the unit. Rick just looked at it and said it's really old and needs replaced. Guessed it was 25 years old (he was wrong it's about 16 years old). Probably told me to replace it 5-7 times over a 15 minute conversation. Hard sales technique. I asked for repair price - he just made up numbers to scare me into a replacement. Told me 500 bucks to inject the sealer/fix a flat and that the repair may only last a month or two and I would still need to replace the leaking freon level and "that could be upwards of $1500". Every conversation led to well for a little more you might as well just replace the unit type conversation. The unit is old - it may need replaced within the next 1-5 years. But second service came out, showed me what was wrong and ended up getting it sealed and freon replaced for 200 bucks total within 1 hour. Works great now. I didn't realize how bad Rick was (new home owner) until the second service came out and wasn't just trying to hard sell me into a $4,000 unit. I WOULD NEVER USE. Paid 89 bucks for him to come sales pitch me and make up repair numbers to try and scare me. Here and gone in less then 15-20 minutes.
Description of Work
Diagnose a malfunctioning A/C unit (outside)
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for responding. With the information you provided to Angies List, we were able to find the correct service address and date and find you in our records. We do have the copy of the work order for your home. I am sorry for your dissatisfaction with our service. We have a satisfaction guarantee and are sending you a refund of the diagnostic charge that you paid our technician. It appears, at the time of our visit, that the system was frozen and unable to be diagnosed until it thawed out. We should have informed you that we needed to return to complete the diagnosis. We require our technicians to provide both repair and replacement options to help homeowners make informed decisions about their comfort systems. I'm sorry it was so one-sided. We will be using this example internally to improve our communications and provide a consistent service to our customers. Thank you for letting us know how we didn't meet our standards. I apologize for your inconvenience. Please let me know if there is anything else I can do. -Steve Boehmer
Katie S.
5.0
06/30/2015
We had these guys come out and give us a quote. We then decided to use them to get our furnace and air conditioning unit replaced. J primarily helped us. He was very professional throughout the entire process, including when my husband was drilling him with a hundred questions the first time he came to our house. I appreciated that he didn't just try to sell us the most expensive item but helped us figure out what was appropriate for the size and design of our house. The guys that did the actual install were also good and cleaned up after themselves. We had 2 other quotes and the price from these guys was competitive.
Description of Work
Installed modulating furnace and two speed air conditioning unit
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Nancy S.
5.0
04/13/2015
They did what they said they were going to do and they did a good job. They encountered some difficulties with a gasoline leak and really went above and beyond to get the problem taken care of that day which was good because it was very cold outside. Their pricing is comparable to other providers.
Description of Work
We used Boehmer Heating for heating.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Annette T.
5.0
10/27/2014
They were very good, very cooperative, very helpful, and to the best of my knowledge, every thing is working very well. I haven't had any problems. I thought the cost was reasonable.We were pleased with the quality of work, things have improved since they cleaned things out and changed things out. I have signed a yearly contract with them.
Description of Work
I used Boehmer. We had some installations and repair. He did a yearly check and then we had a humidifier, and an air cleaner put in.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Phone

Address

300 Hargrove St

Pittsburgh, PA 15226

Other Information

Services offered

Emergency Service, Installations, & Preventative Maintenance of Residential & Light Commercial HVAC Systems. Home Energy Audits, Air Sealing, & Insulation. Furnaces, Air Conditioners, Heat Pumps, Water Heaters, Ductless Systems, Boilers, & Generators.

Payment options

Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Check
Financing

FAQ

Boehmer Heating & Cooling is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

Boehmer Heating & Cooling is open:

Sunday: Open All Day

Monday: Open All Day

Tuesday: Open All Day

Wednesday: Open All Day

Thursday: Open All Day

Friday: Open All Day

Saturday: Open All Day

Boehmer Heating & Cooling accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing

Yes, Boehmer Heating & Cooling offers free project estimates.

Yes, Boehmer Heating & Cooling offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Boehmer Heating & Cooling offers emergency services.

No, Boehmer Heating & Cooling does not offer warranties.

Boehmer Heating & Cooling offers the following services: Emergency Service, Installations, & Preventative Maintenance of Residential & Light Commercial HVAC Systems. Home Energy Audits, Air Sealing, & Insulation. Furnaces, Air Conditioners, Heat Pumps, Water Heaters, Ductless Systems, Boilers, & Generators.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Zwickle Plumbing

5.0

(3)

Angi Certified

Zwickle Plumbing

We specialize in plumbing services, repairs, inspections, installations, and more. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service. See the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

Insulwise Energy & Comfort Solutions

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Insulwise Energy & Comfort Solutions

At Insulwise, we focus on improving the energy efficiency & comfort of our customers homes by using a free-of-cost home energy evaluation to first determine the root of the problems you're experiencing in your home. By using infrared imaging, blower door testing (to identify air infiltration sources) and other metrics, we can better understand the nature of your homes comfort and energy efficiency issues. We then apply current-best-practice measures to air seal and re-insulate your home to achieve the results you desire!  

American Insulation Services

4.0

(25)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

American Insulation Services

American Insulation Services, LLC is a family owned and operated. We do NOT use sub-contractors. We offer incredible financing options. We also have monthly special offers.