Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

JYJR Contracting LLC

Founded 2009 • With Angi since May 2014

4.3

(65) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

732 Melon Terrace

Philadelphia, PA 19123

Description

For all of your repair and renovation needs we offer only licecensed and insured professionals on our staff backround checked for your secureity for a quality job at a reasonable price call JYJR new construction and renovation specialists or e mail us at jyjrcontracting@gmail.com your one stop shop licenced electrician on staff...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

04/29/2016


Kenyon H.

I had some damage done to our toilet and ceiling, the ceiling spot being about 10 x 10. The toilet was an easy fix, only about $100 overall for the repairs. But when he went to look at the portion of the ceiling he gave me a final estimate of $1100. That means he wants to charge me $1000 to repair a small portion of my ceiling.

Description of Work
He came to do an estimate and his prices were extremely high.

Category drywall, plumbing

5.0

03/20/2016


Tony L.

They are great people, would use again as they are honest and take the time to educate the consumer.

Description of Work
Checked out two of the light switches to be rewired of which only one was able to be rewired (not the electrician's fault since it was how the house originally wired). Educated me on why replacing my current Honeywell thermostat with a Nest will actually cost more in the long run. I ultimately decided against the replacement. Steve and his associate then helped me replace my doorbell.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your honest and competent review. We look forward to working with you in any future needs you have.

5.0

03/07/2016


Mary K L.

Very good. Contractor professional.

Description of Work
install motion detector light over garage. Review and check operation with home owner

Category electrician, lighting

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your generous review and hope we can continue to provide you with quality service

5.0

01/01/2016


catherine R.

Joe is great! He is very trustworthy and professional. He is always on time and more importantly, on budget. He takes pride in his work and makes sure his job is done perfectly. We first used him via a Big Deal on Angie's list - it was for electrical work. I was home when he and Vern did the work and they were professional and did a great job. While he was there I told him I had a bunch of handyman work and he said he would be happy to come back. He came back and I walked him through the small handyman stuff (new faucet, hang a flagpole from the 2nd story window, fix a door etc). He provided an estimate at a very reasonable rate and came back the next week. About a month later, i had an emergency, I had a washer installed and the installer didn't have the right equipment to change out an old valve - I had loads of laundry and couldn't wait the weeks the installer told me I had to wait, so i called Joe. I took pictures of the valves sent it to Joe and he came within 2 hours to install - ON A FRIDAY AFTERNOON! He did not inflate the rate because of the emergency, just told me that he knew i was in a bind and wanted to help. He is not only a great contractor, but a great person! Joe and Vern rock! Finally, I asked Joe to come back and weatherproof my outside garage door opener - - it's a big unit hanging in our driveway. A piece of the old weatherproof wood fell on top of our car and broke the windshield, so we needed Joe to build a new weatherproofing 'box'- Joe was very creative on the design and even used roofing materials to make sure his design wouldn't fall down for decades! I highly recommend Joe for your big projects and small. He is very professional and provides fair rates.

Description of Work
I have used Joe on multiple occasions and he is now our go-to contractor. i met Joe from a Big Deal, it was for electrical work - he put in a few outlets in my basement and behind my tv. I then asked him to come back and fix my garage door opener unit - it's an outside unit and we needed him to protect it from the weather - he did a great job. We also use him for the little stuff that we ust don't have time to do - re-hung our deck door, hung a flag pole about 20 feet in the air.....he does big and small jobs and charges appropriately based on the work he is doing.

Category electrician, garage doors, handyman service, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to review the work that our company has done for you at your home. It makes it easier to take pride in ones work when those that hire us allow us the freedom to do so. When it comes to the more difficult and untimely task it's our pleasure to help out the best we can.

5.0

12/29/2015


Paul P.

It went fantastically well. JYJR were on time, on budget, and did a great job. The basement was a mess. Truly a mess. Walls down, dust everywhere, we couldn't even go down there. Today it has a storage room, a utility closet, a full 3 piece bathroom with stand up tiled shower, and a living room "man cave". JYJR did it all from paint to electrical, tile, plumbing (which included installing a pump), drywall, and flooring. Joe and his crew are friendly and great at their jobs. Would highly recommend and will use them again in a heartbeat. Honest, hardworking, and take pride in their work.

Description of Work
JYJR did a full basement renovation with 3 piece bath.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

This was an adventure I'll never forget. It came out great. The clients design aspect really brought out our talents. The working together brought about a spectacular finished product

5.0

12/29/2015


Debra D.

Joe was persistent in contacting me and even came out on a Sunday as our schedules couldn't hook up. He brought a co-worker and the job was completed efficiently. They cleaned up after themselves as well. Yes I would definitely use again!

Description of Work
New outlets and a dimmer switch.

Category electrician, lighting

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review and I hope to help you in the future.

5.0

12/29/2015


Alysea M.

This was my second time working with Joe and he continues to do great work. He responds quickly, takes time to come up with multiple solutions and most importantly - works with my budget. I trust Joe with my home and I highly recommend him and his team. They are professional, friendly and respectful of time and budgets. I will continue to use JYJR Contracting as I upgrade my home.

Description of Work
- installed a new sewage pipe and upgraded other plumbing in my 100+ year old row home. As soon as he saw more damage, he called me and told me the cost and he estimated accurately. - framed out and drywalled my basement, new baseboards - moved my washer and dryer and installed new electric, water lines, and vent - installed new lighting fixtures and electrical boxes in kitchen and basement - install new water supply to kitchen fridge - added extra support to basement steps

Category drywall, electrician, lighting, plumbing, woodworking

Service Provider Response

It was great working with you again and i wish you all the best

4.0

12/15/2015


Vanessa B.

They did have to come back for the shaking. He did it quickly. He gave me a date and he came out on the day that he said. It was about a week. I needed the doorbell and I had him run the line through the whole house. I needed the doorbell done. It was something extra for the doorbell. He did his job and did it well. One of the fans was shaking and he came right out to fix it. They were quick and he was on time.

Description of Work
JYJR Contracting installed a ceiling fan and did my doorbell. It was a big deal purchase.

Category electrician

1.0

12/14/2015


Yi W.

This is the worst experience I have ever had. Worst Contractor I have ever met. Asked for money, took the money away, and told us he does not want to continue the job he should have done per contract, and disappeared! If you could not do the job, communicate to us, and please do not ask for the money, and deposit the check. Once you get paid, you are supposed to complete the job per the contract. This is very unprofessional. How can people trust you in the future?? Terrible!!! Very very bad experience. Do not go to him, he can just take your money away, and do not get the job done!!!!

Description of Work
renovation

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

We didn't just take this clients money. This client want a job done in center city Philadelphia with no permits and no L & I inspection. They bounced 2 straight checks causing mistrust and a timing nightmare. When you do a job in Center City Philadelphia you can't waste time and that's what this client did. 2 weeks in a row my employees didn't know what was going on and I was doing damage control to my checking account and my vendors that I ordered materials with. Worse experience of my life. I've never had a client cause such damage to their own job and not take any responsibility financially or morally. They refused to pay for cost over run from unseen problems and all the fees from bouncing those checks. So we decided at JYJR Contracting LLC to part ways with this client before we get in over our heads.

5.0

09/17/2015


Stephanie J.

Some work is still incomplete but I did not have all of the necessary supplies for completion. The work that he did looks ok. Joe is very professional, courteous and accommodating. I feel a sense of sincerity and honesty in dealing with him. I wish more contractors were this way.

Description of Work
Minor updates in my daughter's bathroom. The updates included installation of a new shower curtain rod, shower head, vanity lighting, medicine cabinet, hanging of shelves and towel bars.

Category electrician, handyman service, lighting, plumbing, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. You are very pleasant to work for and look forward to helping you with your future home improvement projects.

5.0

09/02/2015


Garth R.

Joe Yost delivers once again. I called Joe Monday night explaining my issue (new car I want to purchase won't fit in garage due to loft stairs being too big). Joe was able to schedule the appointment for next day, come do the job, and what a success. Most importantly he he CLEANED UP ALL THE DEBRIS. The garage looked cleaner after Joe was done than before he came. This might be the biggest testimony thought to my ongoing experience with Joe. This is the first time I've had Joe come where neither me nor my wife could be home. I felt completely confident giving Joe access to our garage (remote keypad entry) without us being home. It's so good to have a contractor I trust enough to handle things without us being there. Joe not only does good work, but he's as honest as they come. He'll continue to get business from us as we need it.

Description of Work
Needed wooden stairs in garage that lead to loft to be reduced to fit newer, larger car in garage.

Category woodworking

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review and we look forward to help you with future projects

5.0

08/10/2015


David B.

Good. Steve and his helper Dan were very polite and kept us informed of what they were doing and made sure we were satisfied with the work. Steve even fixed a few things that he saw that i did not ask for so i appreciate that.

Description of Work
Installed a chandelier, replaced two exterior light fixtures, corrected wiring on various switches

Category electrician, lighting

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and your review

2.0

08/08/2015


Vera R.

He was pretty terrible. Did not show on time. Had to be called and rescheduled. Finally arrived, but was a total mess. Left dirt all over the place. The offer was for $250 worth of work for around $150. What we got was far less than $150 worth of work. This guy refused to look at anything more than the wiring in the stair light - he told us there would be an extra cost for looking at anything else. His total time in the house was around 20-30 minutes. A really good electrician costs around $20-$50/hr, so I estimate that I got $10-$25 worth of work from him + his travel cost. For $250, I had assumed I would have a minimum of 2 hours and up to 8 hours of his time in my house. This was a terrible deal from a very unprofessional individual. His attitude and appearance were also very unprofessional. I would never recommend these services to anybody.

Description of Work
Fixed a hall light

Category electrician, lighting

Service Provider Response

The address i worked at was a rental ir flip property she was doing ! The light in hall was apart when i got there as was the upstairs switch and 3 gang switches at bottom of the steps !! I had to put all of them back together properly all was miswired as well as the box that wasnt properly secured !! And was there over 1 1/2 hrs of steady working ! She refused to replace the hall light as i recommended and then told me to repair the cieling fan in dining rm ! I told her it would be at least $100 more because i had to take the fan apart !! And if the box wasnt the correct one i would have to replace that also ! She didnt want to spend anything more no matter what !! The house was rewired and everything was new ! I told her to call the other electrician back because there were unsafe conditions that needed to be looked at ! Or i would do it for a fee !! And she refused !! I didnt see any permits or inspections on premises ! So i have to assume by the quality of the work that she had unlicensed persons wire and renovate her property add then wanted us to repair everything !! At no additional cost to her !! I should report it to L and I . Also billable hours for electricians start at $75 an hour I pay my employees $25-$45 an hour as a business.

1.0

07/27/2015


Joy P.

Disappointed and hoping Angie's List can help make this a better experience for me.

Description of Work
Nothing -- we were unable to schedule a date amenable to both parties. Joe initially said he'd give me a refund. Never got it.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

This member bought her deal in January and the ask for a refund in July. The problem is when someone one buys s deal Angie's List takes a pretty big percentage and she expected me to pay her back the full amount. Sorry but all refunds must be done through Angie's List and they Have a time sensitive policy . Thank you for trying to ruin my reputation because you couldn't make up your mind 6 months after you purchased your deal.

3.0

07/21/2015


Eleanor K.

When I called to set up the appointment (on Monday 7/6), the person who answered the phone said "yeh". I asked if this was JYJR Electrical and he said yes. I explained that I had just contracted for electrical service and wanted to set up an appointment. He told me he couldn't do that since Angie's List hadn't contacted him. I explained I had been told to call him when I finished speaking to AL. He said he would call me back. Didn't hear from him again until an e-mail on Thursday (7/9) saying "the app was down for a few days" and he would call me the next day to set up an appointment. Never heard from him again until someone else call me on Sunday 7/12 to see what my schedule was for this week. I said I was pretty open and he said he would be here sometime before Wednesday (7/15). He did call me today and said he would be here within 30 minutes and he did arrive in that time. Light finally got installed. I did notice today that on the coupon from Angie's List that it says you may need to wait up to a month for an appointment. Had I seen that originally, I would have selected someone else. All in all, I felt they were not very interested in customer satisfaction and it was a hit and miss kind of thing, or maybe not a big enough job. Would not call them again. It served my purpose for this item but would not want them for any significant work.

Description of Work
Replace a motion detector light in my back yard.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Sometimes when dealing with other we have to ask ourselves, what kind of day they maybe having? The point of our company is to Suply you the customer with the service you need and pay for. We are sure you received the work you paid for and we caused no harm to anyone? So I always wonder why people give us bad reviews and try to keep us from pay our bills and staying in business. When they received the service that they paid for and we caused no harm on our end? Why must customers try to cause harm on their end?

4.0

07/07/2015


Keith D.

It turned out just fine. They were pretty timely and did the work pretty quickly. It was fine.

Description of Work
I purchased a big deal for JYJR Contracting LLC. They installed a ceiling fan for us. They fixed a dimmer switch in one of our lights.

Category electrician, handyman service, ceiling fans

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review and business

4.0

06/16/2015


John K.

It got a little expensive. The deal was supposed to be $125 for $250 worth of work. They wound up charging me another $350 on top of that. I was not too happy about that, but they did the work so I had to pay for it. They are electrical contractors. They did the job and were in and out in, maybe, an hour and 15 minutes so it really was not that long. They were not under any pressure to get to here; there was no problem with when they got here. The workers were fine, polite, neat and got the job done. They were working outside for about half an hour in the pouring rain. My advice to others is that they should be a price upfront for the work they had to do. They worked for less than 90 minutes. I am not sure what it costs for an electrical contractor on an hourly basis for labor but $250 for 90 minute's work seems like that is what the top of what I should pay. I paid $125 so I should get my money's worth. The additional $350 really threw me for a loop. So far everything works.

Description of Work
They basically installed two outlets, one for a garbage disposal and one for a dishwasher. They also installed some lights around my garage.

Category electrician, lighting

Service Provider Response

We do our best to give you the quality work you deserve. Thank you for your feedback.

1.0

05/20/2015


Tom S.

The job is done well. I didn't like the price. I made a mistake; I should have checked the price beforehand. They charged an awful price for a little job. It was an exorbitant price. I paid a hundred dollars for 250 dollars’ worth of their work. He came out with 900 dollars at the beginning; took off 250 dollars and end up to 650. The whole thing took about an hour. I'm quite happy with the work, I think the work is fine but I'm not happy with the overall price.

Description of Work
They put two extension new outlets and one in for the refrigerator. They had to come into the breaker box.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

We ran 3 dedicated 20 amp lines for him and straightened out his wireing in the panel !! He was charged $300 per dedicated line and it took 2 men 2 1/2 hrs plus material... He was treated very fair and given a price that he agreed on before i touched anything !! Just because we are quicker and more efficient and prepared !! Does that mean we should charge less than everyone else ???

5.0

05/19/2015


Garth R.

Moved in to a new house that was a complete gut renovation by a pair of contractors. On day 2 living there it was discovered that the pipes in the guest shower were not glued/connected properly and water was running all over kitchen below when the shower was in use. I reached out to Joe this morning having used him at my previous house (756 S Harshaw St). Even though my this house is considerably further away from Center City, Joe not only agreed to do the work he made time to come out today. Joe and his assistant showed up and quickly identified the problem. Joe pointed out that the pipes were never glued properly and we should be aware of other instances of this considering the whole house was gut renovated. Joe was prompt (showed up right on time with when he said he would be here), professional, and clean (I can't stand contractors that trudge dirt into my house). I think one of the best compliments I can give Joe is that I have no problem having him go to work on my house when my wife is there but I'm not. Joe is always polite, friendly, and above all else honest. I wish I knew a mechanic as reliable as Joe.

Description of Work
Joe came and fixed leaking shower pipes that were causing water to run all over the kitchen below.

Category electrician, handyman service, plumbing, remodeling

Service Provider Response

Alway a pleasure to work for a realistic client. Thank you for the review

5.0

05/13/2015


Myra L.

There was miscommunication on the date of the appointment which did annoy me. He had responded to the request for service via phone call the day after I made the request and paid for a special on Angie's List. I heard him say he could not do next Saturday but would do the following Sunday (3rd) in the afternoon. I sent him a text on the morning of the 3rd and he indicated that I was to have called him during the week to confirm. That was not what I had heard. He indicated that he would do it the next morning. I said fine. In the meantime my husband rescheduled a podiatrist appt that morning for him to arrive by 11. According to my husband he arrived after 12. Once he got there, the work was done professionally. I am a stickler for punctuality. So I gave him a C for punctuality. And, expect notification if a vendor is going to be more than 15 minutes late. Yes I would use him again

Description of Work
Fixed phone jack and replaced powder room exhaust fan

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. We are working each week to get better organized. We are one of the best in our respected trades but are not very good at organization of those talents. We are getting better each month.

3.0

04/27/2015


Dianne M.

Angie's asks for all the details so here are all the details. This was not a good contractor experience for me. I took advantage of a Big Deal offering 8 hrs of handyman services, or 2 guys for 4 hrs, for $200. I explained to Joseph that it was my crazy busy time at work and that there was really no good time for me to take off. But the deal had to be completed by a certain time, so just tell me when is good for him and I would just have to make it good for me. After having to juggle a lot of things around to be able to take the day off he texted me at 8:30 the night before and said that he would not be able to make it and we would have to reschedule. Now I had to go into work on my scheduled day off and jump through about a million more hoops to schedule another day off. I was very upset but it was what it was. He said they would arrive "around 11:00". They arrived more like 11:30, but that was fine, no big deal. I explained what I wanted done and they got to work. They finished up just a little before the 4 hrs were up, and they also took a break during that time, which I didn't really think should have been on my dime for a 4 hour job, but I didn't make an issue of it. I asked Joe to hang brackets for a curtain rod to go across the sliding glass doors before they left, which he was happy to do. He installed the bracket on the right side, and as he was about to drill the first hole for the left side I realized that he was not using anchors. I stopped him just before he drilled and he did put anchors in, but he never put them in the side that he already finished. Stupidly, I just wasn't thinking and let him go along his way when he was done. Needless to say when I went to hang the rod a couple nights later the screws on the side without anchors came right out. I did not think this was worth having to ask Joe to come back. My brother did it for me when he came over that weekend to do some electrical work. When he finished he checked to be sure that his anchors were going to hold up and they were solid. My niece came over one evening to pick up some stuff that she had stored at my house. She helped me hang the curtain rod, me on the side where Joe put the anchors in, and her on the side where my brother put them in. Her side was fine, but when I put the rod in the bracket on my side the screws immediately started to come out. We had to take it back down and I got a screwdriver to tighten the screws, but all they did was turn and turn and turn in the anchors. Both of them. I don't know what causes that, whether the wrong size anchors were used for the screws or what. That would be my only guess. Still, I didn't think it worth having Joe come back, and intended to ask my brother again to do the fix. But as my niece was leaving with her packages something scratched her arm as she passed through the basement doorway. A paneling nail was sticking about 1/8 inch out of the trim. The 2 of us went around the room and found several more nails that were not driven all the way in. Now between nails sticking out and the curtain rod brackets, I did feel that I needed Joe to come back. My niece and I put little pieces of masking tape over all the protruding nails, and I stuck a pencil eraser over the one in the doorway so no one else would get hurt. When I called Joe he was nice about it and agreed to come back and make it right in an evening so that I would not have to lose more time from work. We arranged for him to come at 6:00 the following Monday. Well 6:00 came and went and along with it went my patience. He called me at 7:30 but I could not pick up as I was driving at breakneck speed to get to where I was supposed to be at 7:00. He left a voice mail apologizing for not showing up and asking to reschedule. I don't think so. The proper thing to do is to call at the time that you know that you are not going to be able to make the appointment, not call an hour and a half later and say sorry I stood you up after you sat there waiting for me instead of doing what you are supposed to be doing! With an insanely busy job and running back and forth to tend to my elderly disabled mother in addition to having all of her business and my own business to take care of, time is at a premium. I have precious little of it, and I had reached my limit of rescheduling. I did not return his call and my brother had to take more time out of his own busy schedule to come over and fix everything. When Joe arrived at my house and I explained what I wanted him to do, he told me that he would normally charge $1200-$1400 dollars for that job. In addition to the nails sticking out and using no anchors on one side and the wrong anchors on the other side, there was a mitered corner that didn't line up and one that didn't even come together. For $200 I can't honestly say that I didn't get my money's worth. I probably would not have even gotten anyone else to come out for a $200 job. But if I had paid $1200-$1400 for that job we would have been in court. I do understand that he was not making any money on the job, especially having to pay an assistant., but I would have thought that reputation would have been worth as much as the money, if not more. That is really what Angie's List is all about. After all, you never know if some day I might want to remodel my kitchen or bath, or a neighbor might be looking for someone to do a deck, or a sunroom, or whatever. But I feel that because this contractor was not making any money on this job, that he did not do his best work, at least I hope it was not his best work. As my brother says of a lot of contractors, "quick, cheap, and easy." For the money I paid and for my basement, which is a little used room, that is all well and good, but when I am looking for a contractor again I will certainly have to look elsewhere. This experience was very disappointing and not one that I would ever want to repeat.

Description of Work
Install customer provided paneling trim in basement and hang brackets for curtain rod.

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

The biggest problem with this BIG DEAL is that the people that purchase it expect you to perform the task that "they think should take 4hrs" which in reality, this job was a 8hr job. Also as soon as we walk in the door we are told that there is no money for any extra time. Now if this happened occasionally on these types of jobs I would do it for free. But it seems the BIG DEAL client always wants more then they pay for. They also never have any more money for overages. That is why after only 2 months of running this BIG DEAL I cancelled it. Out of approximately 20 clients only 1 wanted to pay the money it cost to do things right. So I can honestly say that I would not and could not do a job for the type of client that is not will to pay for a proper job. We have numerous repeat clients and the work we do for them last decades and I can give you a list of 100 clients that will tell you I garuntee my work for decades if they are willing to pay for a proper job. P.S. Paneling is 1/8" thick plywood that unless backed up by a thicker wood will never hold any screw or anchor. So no matter what you do the screws will always pullout and they don't make anchors for paneling. Maybe if you allowed me to take the time to do it right then this would not of been a problem

5.0

04/20/2015


catherine R.

Joseph and team are VERY professional, curteous and timely. I would recommend he and his team for electric or general contracting work. He kept the work space very clean and double and triple checked his work and made sure I was happy - which I was. I 100% recommend Joseph and his team.

Description of Work
I bought a Deal which was $100 for $249 worth of electrical services. Joseph spent about 4 hours here installing 2 electrical outlets in my basement, adding an outlet behind my TV and few other things. Definitely worth it. After he finished the electrical work, i had him come back again to do some general contractor work including: fix electic on my roof deck and the backyard, fixed the stucco around my backdoor, fixed a light fixture on my deck, installed a flagpole on my front wall, replace the backyard hose faucet. Lots of little things that really add up. He brought a team of 3 to get the work done.

Category electrician, lighting

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your business and review. We've been taking a beating lately with the reviews and it's good to get some positive feed back from an awesome client:)

1.0

04/13/2015


Donald P.

I bought the $100 for $249 worth of electrical services Angie's List Deal. We arranged for Steve to come to my house Friday April 10 at noon. He arrived a little after 1:00, saying there was a lot of traffic on I-95, and that he couldn't find parking, so he was using a no parking zone. I had said in the email when I bought the deal that the main job I wanted was the relocation of two light fixtures that were out of my reach at the top of tall winding stairwells (I had purchased a chandelier to take the place of one of the lights, but I wanted the current fixture to be removed and the chandelier to be placed in a position where I could reach it). I told Steve I had a priority list for the Deal; after the light relocation, I wanted him to fix my doorbell, determine why my telephone always has a lot of static when it rains, and fix the switch for the light in the lower stairwell so that I could turn it on at the bottom of the stairs and turn it off at the top of the stairs (this is the way my light in the upper stairwell works). He said that the cost would be $950, minus the $250 Deal, so I would pay him $700. I immediately started to narrow the scope of the project because I didn't want to spend anywhere near that much. I acknowledged that the lights were in difficult positions, and we talked about various options regarding running the wiring. We decided to leave the wiring where it was and put the base of the chandelier where the current fixture was, and then use the chandelier chain to position it where I could reach it. Steve agreed the cost would be reduced substantially by doing it this way. I then said maybe we should forget about the other parts of the project, but he said they were minor jobs, so I might as well have them all done. It turned out that the chandelier did not have a chain, so he would need to go to Home Depot to buy one. He also determined that the doorbell should just be replaced, so he would also buy a doorbell there. Regarding the telephone problem, he just went into my backyard and said that he thinks the line and the box that I share with my neighbor are probably just getting wet when it rains, and Verizon would be responsible for taking care of that. Steve went to Home Depot, bought the chain and swag kit for the chandelier and also a doorbell, and returned after about a half hour. I told him that I just wanted him to change the bulb for the fixture in the upper stairwell so I could use it, and I would buy another chandelier so that the same fix being used for the lower stairwell would be used for the upper stairwell. He said he would go ahead and change the bulb, and it would cost $175 for him to come back and hang the chandelier when I had purchased it. Steve then began to do the work. Although I do not feel comfortable reaching the light fixtures, this presented no problem to Steve. He placed the base of his ladder on one of the stairs and leaned the top of the ladder against the wall. He assembled the chandelier, removed the current fixture and put the base of the chandelier there, attached the swag to the ceiling, and hung the chandelier. He replaced the doorbell and fixed the switch. These last two jobs took less than fifteen minutes each. He said he would put his ladder in his truck and write up the invoice. This was about 3:20, so he had been at my house for a little over two hours, including the half hour he spent at Home Depot. The invoice he presented to me was for $675! He subtracted $250 for the Angie's Deal, and wanted a check for $425. I said that seemed very high for two hours' work. He said it's expensive to run a business in the city, that he charges $175 just to come out and install one light fixture. He said he has to have insurance, he has to pay his helpers, etc. I said the helper didn't even come in. He said the helper had to stay with the truck and watch it. He agreed to knock another $25 off, making the total $650, so I owed $400. I said I would have to say in my Angie's List review that I thought his price was too high; he said he was sorry I felt that way, and I wrote the check for $400. I have no problem with Steve's work. I think he's a very good electrician. He easily managed using the ladder to reach the fixtures. But if the cost for installing a light fixture is $175, how did we end up with a charge for $650, when all he did was install one fixture (no rewiring was necessary since we decided to use a chain for the chandelier), replace a doorbell, fix the switch, and change a light bulb? He himself described these last three jobs as minor. I agree that it's expensive to run a business in the city, but $300 an hour?! I think it should all have been done based on the Angie's Deal for $249 in electrical work, with extra for the chain, swag kit, and doorbell he bought, and maybe something for a little additional time. Doesn't it make you think of "bait and switch"? *********** Here's my answer to your Response: Yes, my overall experience comes out to an F when the overcharging is so egregious. I actually tried to open a case for resolution against you when I filed my review, but Angie's List said they won't open a case based solely on price. Good workmanship is important, of course, but it has to be pretty darned good to warrant this kind of overcharging. What level of workmanship is needed to install a light fixture and a new doorbell, fix a switch, and change a light bulb? True, I hear the bell when someone rings it, and, yes, the light bulb comes on when I turn the switch. But $650 for two hours of work (a half hour of which was spent at Home Depot, purchasing a chain for the fixture and a doorbell kit)?! Most doctors and lawyers don't earn $300 an hour. I'm a retired accountant, and I didn't earn that much, even when the level of my workmanship was such that I added the numbers correctly.Your Deal said it could be used to install light fixtures. Well, that's what Steve did. He said the other jobs were minor, so I should go ahead and have them all done. So how did they end up being worth $650? If I sound angry, it's because I feel as if I've been robbed of several hundred dollars. You have a Deal out there now for two hours of electrical labor for $300. So why did my two hours end up being billed at $650? Oh, right, good workmanship. You should add a sentence to your Deals, telling people that it'll cost twice as much if they want "good workmanship." When I told Steve I thought his charge was way too high, he said he charges $175 just to come out and install a light fixture. All right, so why are you charging me $650? He said he would charge $175 to come back to install a second light fixture (instead of just changing the bulb). All right, so if that's the charge for installing a light fixture, why are you charging me $650? Have you spoken to Steve about this? I can't believe he could look you in the eye and say with a straight face that what he did was worth $650. I think you owe me a refund of $300.

Description of Work
Replaced a light fixture and doorbell, fixed a switch, and changed a light bulb.

Category electrician, handyman service, lighting, plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your very detailed review. As a business owner we understand that it takes a lot to give your customers what they want and try to meet their standards. In all Fairness I guess what your saying here is cost is more important then good workmanship, since you gave us an A for quality, B for responsiveness, B for punctuality, Afor Professionalism and F for Price. Which in your overall experience comes out to an F? Again which appreciate your business and hope that maybe we can help you again with your needs in a quality, reponsive, punctual, proffessional but less expensive manner.

5.0

02/10/2015


Barbara M.

JYJR Contracting did an excellent job. Joseph Yost was great to work with and very thorough in explaining costs and services. Joseph and Mike, his assistant, were professional, efficient, on time, very responsive, and easily resolved a potential problem with the new fixtures I had purchased. I will hire them again as needed, and highly recommend their services.

Description of Work
Replaced 3 kitchen light fixtures, replaced wall switch, replaced GFCI outlet, and checked out another outlet.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the honest review. It was our pleasure to give you the service you deserve.

5.0

02/10/2015


Tina C.

Joseph was very punctual in calling to set a date as soon as the offer was purchased. He arrived on time, looked at the projects and got right to work. He ensured that any mess was cleaned up. I had the top of an old mantle for years that I wanted hung. I had asked others to do this for me and it seemed to be perplexing. Joseph had a solution and now it's on my wall! I did have a problem with the washing machine (he replaced the faucets) after he left. I called Joseph and he told me what the possible problem was. He was willing to come back out and fix it. I'm am going to try and fix it myself--need to pull out the washing machine.

Description of Work
I had purchased a special offer for 8 hours of Handyman services for $200. After the offer was purchased, I was told that the 8 hours was really 2 men for 4 hours--Joseph and his helper. In reality it was 4 hours of work because both men worked on the same projects. I was okay with that because I didn't really have a full day of work to be done. The most complicated job was installing a ceiling fan. It may have been better for me to just pay the hourly rate; however, I'm just happy that the work is done.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your honest review. This was a gift to your sister. If I remember correctly and when I was told that, I thought that was an awesome Christmas present to give a family member. Thanks again

    Other local Pros in your area

    TJ Blue Contracting LLC

    We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in remodeling services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

    Boyermah Electronics

    Boyermah electronics services LLC. is locally owned and operated by qualified professionals who foremost interest is providing quality services to it's clients.  

    Tom Natalini Sr & Son Inc

    As a family masonry company, with multiple trucks on the road, a talented team of masons and over 6,000 projects completed, Natalini and Son have established themselves as one of the most trusted masonry and brick companies in the Philadelphia, PA area. Owner operated with 38 years of knowledge and know how to get the job done right. We are a team of 5 employees and use no subs. We are not a cookie cutter company so cost is determined by the job. We do not have travel charges. Please contact directly through email.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Carpentry. Plumbing. Electrical. Tile. Sheet rock. Spackling. Paint. Garge Doors, Doors, Handyman. Lighting.

    Services Not Offered

    Masonry. Roofing. (we are partnered with American Masonry for Masonry and G & C Roofing for all our roofing needs)

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about JYJR Contracting LLC

    How is JYJR Contracting LLC overall rated?

    JYJR Contracting LLC is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are JYJR Contracting LLC open?

    JYJR Contracting LLC is open:

    Sunday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does JYJR Contracting LLC provide

    JYJR Contracting LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal

    Does JYJR Contracting LLC offer free estimates?

    No, JYJR Contracting LLC does not offer free project estimates.

    Does JYJR Contracting LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, JYJR Contracting LLC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does JYJR Contracting LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, JYJR Contracting LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Does JYJR Contracting LLC offer emergency services?

    Yes, JYJR Contracting LLC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by JYJR Contracting LLC?

    No, JYJR Contracting LLC does not offer warranties.

    What services does JYJR Contracting LLC offer?

    JYJR Contracting LLC offers the following services: Carpentry. Plumbing. Electrical. Tile. Sheet rock. Spackling. Paint. Garge Doors, Doors, Handyman. Lighting.

    Are there any services JYJR Contracting LLC does not offer?

    Masonry. Roofing. (we are partnered with American Masonry for Masonry and G & C Roofing for all our roofing needs)