Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Gregory Rossi Plumbing & Heating

Founded 1972 • With Angi since June 2004

4.1

(35) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

9713 Glenhope Rd

Philadelphia, PA 19115

Description

License #cl10. Owner operator. No subs. Cost determined by flat rate $90.00. Ask about angie's list $25.00 off discount....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/19/2022


Andrew M.

After a previous guy from AHS did nothing, Greg came out as a second opinion. Not only did he diagnose the problem in just a few minutes, he then fixed it in the next 15. Super competent guy, look nowhere else, we'll be calling him anytime I have a problem. Would leave him six stars if it were possible.

Description of Work
Sewer ejector pump

Category plumbing, septic tank, water heater repair, wells, drain pipe, sewer cleaning, drain cleaning

1.0

03/29/2022


Michaela H.

I received Rossi as my contractor through AHS. I was told it would be $550.00 flat rate. For what exactly. First a gentleman came out to take a pic of the hot water heater. On the 18th of March they arrived with hot water tank in hand. My husband questioned the amount when they simply removed the old tank and replaced the new one. They added approximately 4 inches of new copper piping, the same amount they removed with the old tank and called it a modification. They told him either pay that amount or pay half of the cost of the tank. Surprise, the tank cost was $1,100, half of which would be $550. Then they went on to say how this particular tank was actually for someone else and they couldn't pay so we got it. When asked for the manual, they didn't have it. When I requested a warranty, they don't give them out I was told. At this point if anyone refers Gregory Rossi Heating & Plumbing run in the opposite direction please. My only saving grace is I work for a law firm.. get my drift.

Description of Work
Replace of hot water heater

Category excavators, water heater repair

1.0

12/18/2021


Lincoln F.

I scheduled a repair through my home warranty (AHS) and they came out rather quickly to assess the hot water heater. They determined that it needed an element. They were supposed to return in a few days. I find out from AHS that they sent in a quote to replace the hot water heater completely. After several conversations with their office manager/clerk and the AHS representative, we had to wait until they fix the service request before AHS could authorize the repair. I called for several days after to see if this had been done. It didn't get resolved until a week later. When they finally called to schedule a visit, they were never available whenever I was available and the guy's attitude was horrible. If I'm waiting to have hot water for over a week now, all thanks to your mistake, then there needs to be some level of scheduling accommodation. They offered no flexibility and acted as if they didn't care.

Description of Work
Fix Hot Water Heater

Category water heater repair

5.0

11/11/2021


Thomas H.

Excellent all around. The guys showed up right on time and immediately identified the issues and got to work. Helped answer all questions I had for all plumbing, more than just the issues at hand. Would 1000% recommend and will use again if needed in the future. Thank you, Tom

Description of Work
Toilet tank repair & water lines

Category plumbing

5.0

06/17/2021


Winette S.

It went very well. The company was sent by AHS and Greg was able to fix the problem in less than an hour and also unclogged the drain. He was very professional and respectful. He also wore covering for his shoes when he entered the house.

Description of Work
Leaking pipe under the bathroom sink

Category plumbing, drain pipe, drain cleaning

5.0

05/12/2020


Patricia A.

It went well. They were sent through American Home Shield. I was quite pleased with Craig and his helper.. They were in and out within about an hour and fifteen minutes.They exhibited professionalism the entire time on the job

Description of Work
Two faucet replacement (One in the basement and the other on the tub.

Category plumbing

1.0

02/13/2019


T H.

Greg was called to my home by HSA Home Warranty to repair our malfunctioning hot water heater. Since he was the second plumber in two days sent to my home by HSA, the first one not being qualified to even LOOK at my hot water heater, I asked him about the first plumber's diagnoses -- that my swimming pool, a "silently running toilet"(?), or a low operating temp (that had NEVER been changed) might be causing us to run out of hot water. A cantankerous Greg told me that none of those options even made sense. He seemed extremely annoyed to have to come to my house in bad weather. (Sorry our hot water heater didn't break at a more convenient time, Greg!) Tested both elements, wouldn't even let me finish about what had happened or what we had done about it, and pronounced it in working order if not for the low temp. (Even though he had said that didn't make sense -- still doesn't WHEN IT HASN'T CHANGED IN 6 YEARS!) When I told him that 6 years ago when it broke before, a tech pulled a corroded element out of it, said it was probably going to fail due to hard water in our home, and wished us well, I also asked if, since it's 11 years old now, it could be clogged with hard water sediment. Greg said it was possible and was walking up the stairs to leave when he said he'd ask HSA if he could replace it, but that he "didn't feel like waiting on hold anytime soon". He said someone would be in touch. I got tired of waiting for a functional hot water heater in winter, so I called HSA SIX hours later. Greg still hadn't given them his report and wouldn't answer his calls from them. A supervisor was able to get him on his emergency line and authorized the replacement pending Greg's report, that was to corroborate my story of the events -- he tested it, said it was a low temp but that it was old and it was possible it was filled with sediment causing us to run out of hot water prematurely. Greg just told him that I needed instruction in how to turn up the temp of the unit. Everybody has bad days and nobody likes to drive in bad weather, but Greg SCREWED us out of a working hot water heater because he was such a curmudgeon. I would NEVER hire this man even to take out my trash, let alone trust him with my family's safety. And I will NOT be a customer of HSA for long because they actually trust him! Meanwhile, we have an 11 year old, 80 gallon hot water heater that can't even provide enough warm water for a child's bath, and the best recommendation is to scald our children by turning up the temp. This man needs to learn to be a better HUMAN, not just a better plumber!

Description of Work
Repair or Replacement for Hot Water Heater

Category plumbing

5.0

10/23/2017


Claire & Warren H.

First, they tried a low tech, low cost fix with epoxy. If it worked fine, if not...it would require and bigger job. So the epoxy did not do the trick. So, they had to cut away the bad section of pipe and put in fittings and clips joining the pipe. No leaks since then.

Description of Work
Soil pipe in basement was leaking.

Category plumbing

5.0

06/13/2017


Jennifer S.

American Home Shield sent one plumber who found a multitude of things wrong but did not unclog the drain. They sent out Rossi and within 15 minutes I was good to go, came the same day AHS assigned him and even though it was 95 degrees out worked quickly and got the job done. Didn't find all the other issues.

Description of Work
Unblock drain

Category plumbing

5.0

10/20/2015


Sue B.

Our kitchen sink started draining VERY slowly and my husband's valiant attempt to resolve it didn't work. Our house is built on a slab (something different for us), and the kitchen sink is in a very tight corner cabinet. A home warranty came with the house, and the warranty company assigned the service request to Rossi Plumbing and Heating. We were pleasantly surprised to get a call a few hours after submitting the service request and we scheduled an appointment for first thing this morning. Ryan arrived promptly at 8:30 and took a look at the kitchen plumbing. He recommended drilling a hole in the PVC pipe to permit the use of an industrial strength snake without removing the U-joint. About 30 minutes later, the job was done, the cabinet was cleaned up, and he was on his way to the next appointment. We are happy that the home warranty covered this (it would have cost considerably more otherwise), and, if the problem ever returns, it will be much easier to work in a tight space. Good job!

Description of Work
Unclogged kitchen drain line

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

1.0

08/02/2015


sarah W.

Similar to other stories. Dispatched by home warranty co (HSA). First day was a no show. Had called around noon and said he would be there between 3 and 7. Called him around 6:30, went to voicemail. Calls me at 7:06 to say he will not be coming... really? HSA calls him and he tells them he will send someone at 9 the next day. Guy calls at 9:30, arrives and says he does not have what he needs to diagnose issue so he will need to go get different equipment and come back later. Never came back. When I finally got authorization from HSA to get another plumber, they came on site, diagnosed and remediated problem to avoid further damage all in about an hour.

Description of Work
Dispatched by HSA to diagnose and fix leak in basement.

Category plumbing

1.0

12/14/2014


Jill T.

On Nov. 25th Mr. Rossi came to our home to examine the furnace. As there was no clear indication of why the furnace kept shutting off he said he could not fix it but told me how to identify the fault code. When it shot down again the next day I called him with the code. He came out again and said he fixed it by changing out some wires. Well the furnace kept shutting itself off at random times. Multiple calls and messages to Mr. Rossi were never returned. Last week I called the warranty company to file a complaint. Suddenly someone from Rossi's company (some guy named Alex) calls and arranges to come out. He examines the furnace and says its one of 3 things, but he needs to order the parts and he'll be back the next day. Well, he never came back. Again calls into his number went straight to a voice mail. Another call to the home warranty company to file a complaint. They do get in touch with Rossi who says he's not doing it and passes the buck. Unresponsive. Unreliable. Untrustworthy. Untruthful

Description of Work
This provider was assigned to us by our home warranty company when our furnace kept shutting down.

Category plumbing

5.0

06/18/2014


Christine C.

I called Gregory Rossi Plumbing and Heating at 10:00 am on 6/18/14 and spoke to the owners assistant. I was very concerned as my water was scorching hot when I turned on the faucets in my house and I have a small child so I was hoping service could be done on the same day. To my wonderful surprise I was contacted at 12:00 pm on the same day and was met at my house about an hour later. They replaced two thermostats on my hot water heater unit in about 10 minutes. I am very pleased and will happily recommend this wonderful company to all of my friends and colleagues.

Description of Work
Replace broken thermometer on electric hot water heater.

Category plumbing

5.0

02/19/2014


Phyllis H.

Mr. Rossi is an experienced plumber that knows what he's doing. He gets in and out. I've always been satisfied with his level of service and professionalism.

Description of Work
Fixed a leak

Category plumbing

5.0

12/03/2013


Brian K.

Greg has provided me information over the phone before to help me get through some issues that saved me time from paying a professional. However, this time I needed a furnace replaced and a new tenant moving into my property in two days over the Thanksgiving holiday. Greg provided an estimate over the phone that was well below every other estimate. He understood my need to have the furnace installed as soon as possible and installed it the next business day. Excellent work, very professional. I would recommend Greg to everyone.

Description of Work
Installed a new gas furnace.

Category plumbing

5.0

09/04/2013


doug D.

Overall it went very well. I submitted a claim through my warranty program and I was told the plumber would contact me in a day or two. I waited 4 days and finally called them myself. After I called, however, they came out within a half hour. They were professional and cleared out the drain in a few minutes. They ran a cycle on my washer machine to make sure they fixed the problem correctly. The entire process was about 20 minutes.

Description of Work
I had a clog in the drain for my washing machine and it would overflow during the rinse cylce. I have to say I only paid $75 because I have a home warranty, I am not sure what they normally charge.

Category plumbing

5.0

02/12/2013


Zulfiya D.

They were on time and did a good job. The work was well done.

Description of Work
Water Heater was changed.

Category plumbing

5.0

07/10/2012


James R.

The furnace functioned well throughout the winter, and the tenent in the property was very satisfied.

Description of Work
Replace faulty part in gas furnace and readjust other parts so as to function better..

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

1.0

02/07/2012


Gaby B.

It was the worst experience with a plumbing company ever. The quality of the work was sub-par in all respects. Anything they touched they broke, including the faucet in the laundry room. They showed up dressed very poorly.

Description of Work
They were subcontracted to do the plumbing on a basement remodel, which included a full bath.

Category plumbing

5.0

09/19/2011


Benjamin O.

His name is Brent Rossi. We've been working with him since January. He is punctual, timely and very professional. He will take every opportunity to help us save money and try to fix it ourselves without having to come out. He will talk us through it on the phone to prevent us from having to pay the plumbing fee. He is our plumber from now on out.

Description of Work
We used Rossi Plumbing & Heating for plumbing work.

Category plumbing

1.0

09/13/2011


Dorothy J.

They poorly did part of the work. I offered to pay for the man's time but the owner refused since he knew I was very unhappy. I had a sink I wanted move but to accommodate a new location in the kitchen. I asked them to cut the pipe below the floor in the basement that is accessible from the house. The once the new cabinet was installed, they were going to come back and put the new pipe in where it needed to be installed. They cut the pipe off in the kitchen above the floor instead of in the basement. Then someone else had to come later to do what he did not do. They did not explain why they did it that way; he just got mad saying I was unruly and whining. They did such a poor job. He said I did not communicate well even though I took him to the basement and showed him where I wanted the pipe cut. Only took him seven minutes to do the job from the time he walked in to the time he walked out. They do not listen to the customer. They are not professional. Price was fair.

Description of Work
I used Gregory Rossi Plumbing to move the sink in the kitchen and cut a pipe in the basement then replace.

Category plumbing

5.0

01/27/2011


James R.

I have always been satisfied with his work. His prices are comparable to other tradesmen. He is reliable and responsive.

Description of Work
I have hired him for many plumbing projects. Most recently, he repaired a toilet and the main drain in my home.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

2.0

11/05/2010


Gaby B.

Greg's team did a part of the basement remodel. It seems everything they touched turned to garbage. Two hours into the job on of the plumbers, dressed in an oversized tank top dripping with sweat and smelling like last weeks sewage walk upstairs and says, "We got a problem. We need to replace the whole sewer pipe". "OK", I say, "two hours into the job and we are already over budget." The plumber an his apprentice do the rest of the work by yelling and insulting at each other, to the point we ask them to keep the noise down. Next job they do in the remodel is installing an underground sewage extractor. Two new plumbers arrive. I let them know I working upstairs and to let me know if they need anything. In the middle of a conference call they start jack hammering the concrete in the basement. I go downstairs and ask them to let me know next time they plan on using the jack hammer, since I work right upstairs. The next job on the list is to install an tankless water heater. The same plumber from day one shows up again in the same clothes and same smell. I go downtstairs to check on him to find him standing in a puddle of water. He tells me he needs to redo the connections because they are leaking. I think this may be his second week on the job to have leaking solder connections. He leaves and I go to the laundry room to find the faucet running. I go to shut it off and further find that the handle is broken. Thanks guys! Greg did send two other guys after 24 hours to fix the faucet they broke the day before. Later on while they are completing another job the A/C shuts down in 98 degree heat. I ask them to take a look at it while they are here and report that it needs freon. The next day an HVAC specialist shows up that says he is sub-contracted. Wait, on Angie's list it says no subs! He fills the freon and asks when the last time the filter was replaced in the blower. I tell him about a month and half. He says OK and leaves. That night the A/C shuts down again and the clothes dryer stops working. Why do I bring up the clothes dryer, because when they were installing the new laundry tub the shut off the gas to clothes dryer and never turned back on.

Description of Work
- Basement Remodel - Tankless water heater installation, sewer pipe fix, laundry tub replacement, A/C troubleshooting.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

5.0

12/12/2008


Genevieve M.

He was great. Good service, nice to deal with no problems.

Description of Work
He checked the radiators on the boiler for me.

Category plumbing

5.0

11/13/2008


Timothy G.

They are very good! They were professional, clean, and they got the job done right. They were very easy to work with and were very responsive.

Description of Work
They put in new lines to move the location of our washing machine.

Category plumbing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Zoom Drain

    Here at Zoom Drain, we are best known for fast response times and our ability to provide focused solutions to drain & sewer problems. From sinks, toilets and tubs to main lines and sewers, our team of drain & sewer professionals are ready to provide you with fast, expert services.  

    Philadelphia Gas & Electric Heating & Air Cond

    Philadelphia Gas & Electric Heating and Air Conditioning has more than 55 years in the HVAC business in Philadelphia, and is proud to serve eastern Montgomery County and parts of Bucks County, including: Willow Grove, Horsham, Cheltenham, Abington, & Surrounding Communities. Our main focus in the HVAC industry is service and installation of heating and air conditioning systems for both residential and commercial needs. We do the job right the first time and offer our customers a quality service satisfaction guarantee.  

    Offers by Philadelphia Gas & Electric Heating & Air Cond on Angi
    Qualitech Heating and Cooling

    Proud winners of the Angie's List Super Service Award for a third consecutive year in 2018. We are family owned and operated, properly licensed and insured, and look forwarding to assisting you in your home’s needs. We have been in business for 12 years. Customer service is paramount; we take pride in our quality and dedicated employees who will treat you, and your home, with the proper respect you deserve. We are currently offering the following specials: $400 off any heating and air conditioning system installation; $100 off any hot water heater installation (gas or electric); $50 off any repairs totaling $500 or more. Please ask us about our financing options for affordable monthly payments.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Qualitech Heating and Cooling on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    No License Required for Trade
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Plumbing & heating.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Gregory Rossi Plumbing & Heating

    How is Gregory Rossi Plumbing & Heating overall rated?

    Gregory Rossi Plumbing & Heating is currently rated 4.1 overall out of 5.

    What days are Gregory Rossi Plumbing & Heating open?

    Gregory Rossi Plumbing & Heating is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    What payment options does Gregory Rossi Plumbing & Heating provide

    Gregory Rossi Plumbing & Heating accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Gregory Rossi Plumbing & Heating offer free estimates?

    Yes, Gregory Rossi Plumbing & Heating offers free project estimates.

    Does Gregory Rossi Plumbing & Heating offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Gregory Rossi Plumbing & Heating does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Gregory Rossi Plumbing & Heating offer a senior discount?

    No, Gregory Rossi Plumbing & Heating does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Gregory Rossi Plumbing & Heating offer emergency services?

    Yes, Gregory Rossi Plumbing & Heating offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Gregory Rossi Plumbing & Heating?

    Yes, Gregory Rossi Plumbing & Heating offers warranties.

    What services does Gregory Rossi Plumbing & Heating offer?

    Gregory Rossi Plumbing & Heating offers the following services: Plumbing & heating.