Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Founded 1997 • With Angi since June 2010

Founded in 1997, InterHome Technologies, Inc., the corporate entity under which RC WATT operates, has the Corporate Vision: Provide clients with innovative home technologies that improve their quality of life. RC WATT builds on the Vision with the Mission: Provide clients with "Reliable Convenient Power" using onsite power systems. Today's homeowner seeks our permanently installed, backup offerings, because they want the benefits of having power restored automatically, in seconds, when millions of other people in the U.S., lose power each week. Today's home is more than the family hub - it is for many the work place, and for others - a place to convalesce. Home office and medical equipment need electricity. While electricity was a luxury a hundred years ago; today electricity is essential to our way of life. Centrally produced power, certainly a great value, comes with the limitations of reliability inherit with miles of wires and other infrastructure. Please carefully consider the question: When is a good time to lose power? Utility power outages are unpredictable. Given the affordability of today's onsite power systems, the quality solutions we provide enable our clients to enjoy the best of both models. DBA- International Home Security, InterHome Tech Inc, Watt Security

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
ask for details
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
no
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Licensed
Trade License Number
PA016477
Trade License Locale
Pennsylvania
Trade License Authority
Pennsylvania: Home Improvement Contractors
Trade License Expiration
07/01/2023
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

5.0

(29) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 29 reviews
Matt M.
5.0
06/11/2019
Clean work, very professional, super impressed with the process from beginning to end! Would highly recommend to anybody looking for a generator. Only regret is not calling them sooner!
Description of Work
Complete house generator.
Category
generator service
Edward P.
5.0
04/02/2019
The whole process was extremely smooth. RC Watt provided us with a very professional analysis of our power consumption profile, described several different options; and provided a thorough estimate. The installation required a building permit as well as an upgrade to our existing natural gas meter. RC Watt assisted in getting all of these details taken care of with no difficulty. The installation happened as scheduled with a very professional crew. The whole experience was beyond our expectations. I would recommend RC Watt for your standby generator and automatic transfer switch needs without reservation.
Description of Work
Replace an 18-year old, partial home, standby generator with a new whole-home standby generator
Category
generator service
Craig S.
5.0
10/13/2018
Bob Watt came and explained the entire process and cost. The Installers showed up on time and completed the work, cleaned up and stayed until all was working and the process understood.
Description of Work
Installation of a Generac Generator
Category
generator service
Robert P.
5.0
08/27/2018
RC Watt, is a great company to work with, very professional and knowledgeable.
Description of Work
We had a Generator installed
Category
generator service
aaron M.
5.0
07/13/2018
The entire process was seamless including the initial visit inspection, subsequent delivery of the unit, prep work performed by the plumbing sub-contractor and final installation by RC Watt. Everyone was attentive and professional. Would use again and would highly recommend.
Description of Work
Installation of a Whole House Generator
Category
generator service
David G.
5.0
01/10/2018
From start to finish RCWatt was professional, knowledgeable, friendly, and efficient. There was no high sales pressure. RCWatt arrived on time, assessed my individual situation, inspected the inside and outside of my house to determine the best site for installation, and presented options for me based on what we discussed. He explained every aspect in detail and answered each and every question to my satisfaction. I approved the options to update my 35 year old electrical service and panel at a discount as well as the addition of full house surge protection. The generator was installed within 30 days of my acceptance. The technicians were very professional and friendly and stayed on the job that day until it was finished! The areas they worked within were as clean when they left as when they arrived. Matt was very knowledgeable and gave great instructions on the generator's use following it's installation. I highly recommend RCWatt and would choose this firm again.
Description of Work
Generac 22 kw Air-Cooled Generator with full house surge protection and electrical service update
Category
generator service
marian M.
5.0
11/02/2017
I would highly recamend rc watt they were very friendly,knowledgeable,very professionable and very mindful of my house laid down drop cloth when they were going in and out of the cellar I would high recamend them
Description of Work
obtained a new generac
Category
generator service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words. It was a delight to work for you.
Joseph H.
5.0
07/21/2017
From consultation to project completion the entire process was flawless.
Description of Work
Consultation, design and implementation of a home emergency power system.
Category
generator service
GEORGE P.
5.0
04/28/2017
Sales call was thorough and professional. Very pleased with the dealer RC Watt and the team of professionals that handled the installation. They took great care to address our concerns and to ensure that we understood the operation and maintenance of the generator.
Description of Work
Installation of Generac 22kW home backup generator.
Category
generator service
George L.
5.0
03/31/2017
Very pleasant and professional service people. Did an excellent job, and everything was done as described and when they said it would be. This company did a great job, and I would recommend them to anyone thinking about a generator or any other electrical work.
Description of Work
Installed Generac standby generator.
Category
Amy S.
5.0
02/23/2017
Excellent! Professional work. Did everything possible to do a great job and made sure I was satisfied.
Description of Work
Whole house generator.
Category
generator service

Service Provider Response

We appreciate the kind words and the opportunity to be of service. Thank you.
J. I.
5.0
12/04/2016
No complaints
Description of Work
Replacement of automatic standby generator (including transfer switch and connections)
Category
generator service

Service Provider Response

We appreciate the kind words and the opportunity to be of service. Thank you.
nick P.
5.0
07/04/2016
everything went very well. had it install in one day.
Description of Work
they set everything up that had to be done.
Category
generator service

Service Provider Response

We appreciate the kind words and the opportunity to be of service. Thank you.
Donald L.
5.0
04/14/2016
Project went well, on time and within budget. RC Watt and his team did a great job with the entire installation. The original job took around 4 days to complete (original generator) and the safety connections for generator. The 2nd visit was to install a new set of wires, breaker box and switches and certified electrical conduit that certified by Moon Township. The installation of the conduit, breaker box and wires took about a full working day. The team did a walk through of the entire installation, and did a great job replacing all the dirt and properly graded the land area so that the water would drain away from the generator and the house. The team is so professional and very approachable throughout the job. They were always very accommodating to answer all my questions, and provided great customer service. I would highly recommend this team to install your backup generator and to inspect key electrical boxes and connections. I am pleased with the high quality of the generator unit, and all the other electrical devices, wiring and conduits that were utilized by the RC Watt company. Price very competitive based on the work effort that was required for this job. This is a very focused hard working team that cares about the quality of the products and services that they sell. Please note that the team did manual excavation of the trenches during cold weather conditions, and had to fight through unforgiving clay dirt, bricks and rock.
Description of Work
RC Watt (Bob Watt) company did outstanding job on the installation. The original job was to install a backup generator with all the appropriate safety connections. During the job, RC Watt and his team identified a water issue in the electrical conduit that runs between two parts of my home, and that the main connection that runs into my main breaker box contained significant amount of water. After through inspection, RC Watt recommended a new solution to run the main connection line above grade and to replace and install a certified electric conduit that is used to protect electrical lines underground. RC Watt does a very thorough job surveying and inspecting the site prior to the work. Throughout the site inspection RC Watt utilized digital photography to identify specific locations for the wiring and the generator. RC Watt did a very thorough job explaining all the details of a generator and the overall operation and installation steps. Throughout the job, the project team continued to provide ongoing communication and provided me backup power during various electrical outages that allowed me to continue my computer work. Also, RC Watt completed a very detailed application to Moon Township (electrical application) with all the necessary supporting digital photography and information. At the end of the job the team did a walk through with me on all installation and did simulation tests of power outages in order to have me test the back-up unit.
Category
generator service
Sandra R.
5.0
02/20/2016
Initial contact was with Bob Watt (Owner) to do a home assessment for the proper generator size and to understand power usage in the home. Bob was excellent to deal with, very personable and professional. He explained the assessment process and answered all questions I had at the time. I made the decision to go with RC WATT so the next step was to schedule the installation. Being February in Pittsburgh I figured it would be a month or so before the installation date but I was contacted with the next week to schedule the installation....I didn't expect that good of turnaround so I was very pleased. The installation was scheduled for a Friday and the RC WATT crew (Matt, Barry, and Matt) showed up on time. The whole crew was professional and went to work immediately. Matt went over some initial details with me and double checked what was previously discussed with Bob to make sure we were all on the same page. The installation involved electrical and mechanical work which required the utility power to be disconnected for a time but the time was minimized to about an hour which was great so we were not inconvenienced at all. I was very impressed with the building of the pad where the generator would sit. It involved digging and leveling of the ground and installation of treated timbers to ensure the site would be level and stable. It exceeded my expectations. The area around the pad was cleaned up and looked like nothing was disturbed except now there was a pad. I was also pleased with them identifying AND fixing a grounding issue that apparently existed in a breaker panel that I was not aware of. After all the equipment was installed Matt walked me thorough the operation of the generator, the transfer panel and the power management features and made sure my questions were answered. Then he did a power outage test to demonstrate what to expect with the timing of the generator kicking on and the priority and timing of the appliances we have included in the power management scheme. It all worked flawlessly. To close things out I had a few questions about the warranties and available Maintenance Agreement which Matt answered. The areas inside the house where the panels were installed were cleaned up and you couldn't tell any mess was ever made. These guys did an excellent job and it was a pleasure dealing with them. There reputation is well deserved.
Description of Work
Installed a full home backup generator (including preparation of pad for the unit), transfer switch, surge protectors, and configured power management.
Category
generator service
Doug Y.
5.0
06/30/2015
Net @ westmoreland home show. Very nice job- very professionally;would highly recommended !
Description of Work
Installed generator.
Category
generator service
LAURA C.
5.0
10/17/2014
The project went very well. Prior to deciding to hire RC Watt, we had researched home generators and got two other bids. RC Watt was the second bid. We were very impressed with each person we dealt with in this company. The lead technician also does the sales calls. He does not come across cocky or pushy. He did a thorough assessment of our power needs for our house and right then and there on a tablet was able to show us the model generator that would be recommended for our house and needs. This was of course after checking our service panel and seeing where our utility lines entered the house. He took his time and answered all our questions. His bid was the first and only one that suggested the exterior transfer switch right up front. We had a proposal right then and there. We were also impressed that the lead technician is an electrical engineer by trade so he was knowledgeable. We obtained one more bid from another company following RC Watt. The other company's process was much different and much less professional and less high tech. Also, the other company's estimate was much higher to do what looked like the same scope of work but with extra charges for just about every differing aspect from the norm. As a result, we clarified the proposal further with RC Watt to make sure we were understanding their scope and their responsibilities in relation to the contract and we pretty much found that it was right on par with what it should be. Not only would they be doing quality work that was per code, their proposed process seemed much more streamlined and appropriate. We had extensive communication with the company owner in addition to the lead tech during this stage by phone and then by email. Totally professional. As a result, we chose to sign with RC Watt and we were not disappointed. On the day of installation, they arrived exactly when they said they would. There were at least 4-5 men on the job for most of it and it went very smoothly. We were also lucky that the weather held up that day too. In working on the interior service panel, the lead tech found some issues with our wiring and fixed them to code without adding an extra charge on to the bill. He explained what he found and the problems that could have occurred. He had taken photos with his smart phone to show us. After the installation was complete, the job site was cleaned up and the lead tech went over procedures with the generator with us. He explained and demonstrated how to access the generator engine and how to access the outdoor transfer switch. He did a demo of a mock power failure and the generator fired up just fine. Following this, he reviewed the optional service agreement and the choice of plans. Again, he wasn't pushy, but still provided the information that we needed. We decided to sign up for the 2 year agreement plan as it was a better price overall. Overall, a top notch, professional company. Every step of this process was this way. Even after the job when I thought of some more questions, I'd email my questions to either the company president or the lead tech and they'd get back to us right away with clear and concise responses. I would not hesitate to recommend them highly to anyone considering installing a home generator system.
Description of Work
Installed a 16KW whole house standby emergency generator with exterior transfer switch, cold weather kit. Connected to nearby natural gas line.
Category
generator service
Andy M.
5.0
03/25/2014
Mr. Watt and his crew showed up on time and completed all work in a timely and professional manner. The install went seamlessly and the equipment works great. We have had several power outages, and the generator fires up and is providing power to the whole house within seconds.
Description of Work
Generator install
Category
Charles B.
5.0
03/19/2014
RC WATT (tradename for InterHome Tech., Inc.) picked up our generator and brought it back, after they fixed it. You can't get much better than that. When they brought the generator back, they didn't even bother me. They put it in our shed for us and left. They didn't even make me come out there or anything. I liked that.
Description of Work
They repaired our generator.
Category
generator service
JILL Z.
5.0
02/23/2014
Bob watt was referred to us to delivery and install our home generator. Lots of drilling and electrical work needed to be done. The 2 men were on time, worked from 8:30am till the job was done at 6:30pm. Took 1/2 hr for their lunch. Cleaned the work from the job and ran the generator before leaving.
Description of Work
Delivery and installation of a generac home generator.
Category
generator service
Claire S.
5.0
10/14/2013
They put it were we wanted it. Every Sunday it does go off just to be sure that it is working correctly. We are elderly and have some medical devices that we need so the power going out was always a concern for us and it no longer is. The service was incredible. They were quick, quiet, respectful, and delivered what they promised. We also got a service agreement with them. It was one of the best companies I have ever dealt with. I would recommend them to anyone.
Description of Work
They installed a Full House Generator.
Category
generator service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the opportunity to be of service and for taking time to review us. Our company is growing to meet the needs for onsite power in the region and it was a joy to do work for you and your husband.
Robert B.
5.0
08/08/2013
There was a problem on day one with the provider being unable to complete the job in one day due to problems beyond his control. This was communicated to me before they showed up to start working. They showed at the time they said they would. We did a walk about explaining what was going where and how it would be done. At this time I scheduled the time for the completion of the job. Everything from my point of view went fine. They laid down drop cloths from the garage to the basement door so there was no dirt tracked into the house. Any time there was a decision to be made they asked for my opinion. At the end of the day they took pictures of the work and cleaned up any mess. The following day I received a call from the owner explaining he was not happy with some of the work and it would be redone when they came over to finish the installation. Once again they showed up on time and the owner explained why the work needed to be redone to his and my satisfaction. Once everything was hooked, up they tested the system several times. The tests showed a problem with the air conditioner which they resolved by replacing a part in the air conditioner at no cost to me. They cleaned up all the mess before they left and made sure that I knew how the system worked and answered any questions I had. Once again pictures were taken of the work done. Do to the problems with this job the owner offer me a free 1 year maintenance agreement on the generator. This is one contractor who keeps in touch with his customers. He is very responsive to emails and follows up with phone calls. I like the workmanship that was done on the job and the crew was very friendly, courteous and informative.
Description of Work
The provider installed a power generator for the house.
Category
generator service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your comments (Member name removed). It was a joy to be of service to you! Bob Watt
Robert T.
5.0
08/05/2013
It went very well as indicated by my ratings above. Would recommend his company.
Description of Work
Installed a whoe house generation unit.
Category
generator service

Service Provider Response

Thank you (removed member name) for your comments. We appreciated the opportunity to be of service. Bob Watt
Cheryl S.
5.0
10/20/2012
It was a very good experience. They had to install a seperate breaker panel to ensure that if there are any issues, it is able to properly switch and keep us up and running without problem. They were very prompt and communicated very well. There is only a 10-15 second delay between power going out and the natural gas generator turning on.
Description of Work
They installed a 10KW-natural gas generator for us.
Category
generator service

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member name removed] for your review of our company. It was a joy to be of service to you and your husband. Bob, President RC WATT.
George B.
5.0
09/14/2012
Very professional, they do an excellent job.
Description of Work
They installed a whole house backup generator.
Category
generator service

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your kind words [member name removed]. It was a joy to be of service to you and your wife. Bob, President, RC WATT.

Phone

Address

7505 Diane Ave

North Huntingdon, PA 15642

Service Categories

Other Information

Services offered

Standby generators - Professional Sales, Installation & Service. Pressure Washer Sales.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
PayPal
Financing Available

FAQ

RC WATT is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

RC WATT is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

RC WATT accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available

Ask RC WATT for details on free project estimates.

No, RC WATT does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, RC WATT does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, RC WATT offers emergency services.

Yes, RC WATT offers warranties.

RC WATT offers the following services: Standby generators - Professional Sales, Installation & Service. Pressure Washer Sales.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Cory Cleaning Svc Inc

4.0

(38)

Angi Certified

Cory Cleaning Svc Inc

Cory Services Inc. has been in business for over 30 years servicing Pittsburgh and surrounding areas of solid residential and commercial experience behind us. Cory Services Inc. is recognized as professional, dependable, and thorough. Our mission is to provide you with the quality service you deserve.  

h2oTEKS Ltd.

5.0

(31)

Angi Certified

h2oTEKS Ltd.

Since 1997 providing professional window cleaning, pressure washing, and gutter cleaning. Service provided to both commercial and residential customers.