Exact Solar

About

Founded 2005 • With Angi since November 2007

Based in Yardley, Pennsylvania, Exact Solar has helped thousands of your neighbors in the Greater Philadelphia area go solar over the past 15 years. Known as subject-matter experts not only on all types of solar energy systems, but also more broadly on battery and other clean energy technologies and policies, we stay on top of the latest trends and technology advancements so our customers can be sure they're getting the right system for their home or business, using top quality components, and installed by our own, skilled and caring employee installers. We provide complete turn-key installations and take care of everything from engineering to permitting to post-installation inspections and final state incentive paperwork. Our customers reduce or even eliminate their electric bills, insulate themselves from rising utility rates, and start saving money right away. Come join our Exact Solar family. Power your Property, Free your Wallet, and Save the Planet! ...

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Se Habla EspañolSe Habla Español
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+17 more images

Verified Reviews

4.9

(89) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

83

4

4

3

1

2

0

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

solar companies (89)electrician (17)plumbers (8)water heaters (6)pool cleaning (4)
Showing 1-25 of 89 reviews
5.0

10/23/2021


Mrs. Jay M.

Excellent from start to finish and in pricing

Description of Work
Installed solar panels

Category solar panels

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/24/2019

5.0

11/26/2020


Lynne J.

Everything was excellent. They were very nice to deal with, and got the job done when they said they would. What's been even better is the ongoing customer service. They have always been very prompt in responding to my phone calls and emails, and have been cheerful, helpful and proactive in resolving my issues and questions, even issues caused by my own negligence.

Description of Work
installation of a photo-voltaic solar panel system and related equipment

Category electrician, solar panels

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/22/2020

5.0

10/20/2020


Josh B.

I am very happy we chose Exact Solar for our solar installation. I got several quotes (several via EnergySage). I ultimately chose Exact Solar primarily because of their reputation, especially after I spoke with several people who used Exact Solar for their solar installation. Choosing the right installer is about getting the installation done right and having the same high level of service after the installation is complete. This is why I chose Exact Solar. It's somewhat analogous to buying a car where you're required to service the vehicle at the dealership where you bought it. You should be really happy with the dealership. The entire process of quote, contract signing, scheduling and install was smooth and professional. The installation team was great. On the second morning of the install, my car battery was dead and the guys gave me a jump right away. Post installation, Exact Solar responded to my numerous questions promptly and professionally (and I had many, many questions). And they facilitated the process of signing me up with an SREC broker. Our solar production is already ahead of forecast. We're still in our first year and our production so far is ~11% above our estimated production for the entire first year.

Description of Work
Solar Panel Installation

Category electrician, solar panels

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/02/2020

5.0

10/19/2020


BRANDON Q.

I was referred to ExactSolar from a friend of mine who is extremely knowledgeable about the solar industry and he insisted that there was no better company in our area than ExactSolar. After meeting with and receiving quotes from four different companies, I decided that ExactSolar was the correct choice hands down. From the moment I contacted Dara, she has been nothing short of courteous, patient, knowledgeable, and extremely helpful in working with clients to determine the best solar system fit for each individual property. Dara and I started the process of planning my solar project in January 2020, and even through a pandemic, Dara was always quick to respond to an email, text, or answer a phone call for the many questions I posed throughout the entire process. Where other companies seemed to send mere salesman interested only in selling and doing so as quickly as possible, ExactSolar allows you the ability to deal with the actual owner (Dara Bortman) who patiently guided me in decision making from start to finish and set realistic expectations from the very beginning so I know exactly what I was going to get. On installation day, Nick and his team couldn't have been more friendly and professional. He kindly explained the process before, during, and after installation. ExactSolar is an honest and elite company with markedly impressive ownership and employees and are exceptionally highly recommended!! -BQ

Description of Work
Residential Solar Panel System

Category electrician, solar panels

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/19/2020

5.0

07/02/2020


Glenda R.

New to the Philly area, I needed advice on what solar installer to contract with. I met with Meenal Ravel, an advocate and educator with a group called Solarize Southeast PA. Among other services, they vet solar installers each year and Exact Solar was consistently one of the best. I was already aware of Exact Solar because they are listed in several national industry groups. Contracting with Exact Solar seemed a logical choice for installing a 30 panel, 9.9 kWp system on our garage roof. I reviewed my emails with Exact Solar co-owners Mark and Dara, over the months during the lead-up to the 2019 installation, and saw a long list of my questions and their answers. They always responded to my many questions promptly and accurately. Dara put together estimates of the system’s output, the point at which the system would pay for its own installation (11 years). Any questions I had that had to do with system performance or the National Electrical Code went to Mark or to Vlad, a master electrician who designs each of the systems and is operations manager. Installation of a solar array is an impressive series of steps. Early on, Jackson, a technician, came out with a device to measure sun and shade on the garage roof. He determined that a black walnut tree would interfere substantially with system performance. After I had the tree removed Jackson came back and re-measured the surroundings for a go-ahead. Jackson showed me how his instruments can infer the extent of sunlight every day of the year based on a single day’s several measurements. His measurements provide the basis of Dara’s long-term cost and payback estimates. Exact Solar presently has two installer teams, both reporting to Vlad. My sense is that management and the installers respect each other and work well together. My team was headed by Nick who is also outstanding to work with. He, along with Jeremy, a crew member, always “did the right thing”. Like running a very long power cable from my detached garage to the house. Running a very long cable means fewer wire-nut connections, and less chance of failure over time. But it’s cheaper and easier to link together shorter, leftover lengths of cable. When they were installing exterior conduit, Nick would confer with me where to put them so they’d be less noticeable. If Nick had any question about the system’s design, he’d call Vlad without hesitation. Vlad is a natural teacher, soft spoken, thoughtful and expert. Exact Solar has a culture of safety. Much of the time crews are on roofs and ladders, inherently dangerous places to work, and keeping workers safe is where everything starts at Exact Solar. The crew worked carefully, methodically, and cooperatively, without rushing. For Mark, Dara, Jackson, Vlad, Nick and Jeremy, bringing solar power to our communities is a passion, a mission in life, and a commitment to a viable future and not simply a business. If I had a chance to do this install over again, I would not change a thing. The system works perfectly, the design was correct, and the install was skilled and careful and oddly enough, it’s fun to monitor it. I feel I have, with Exact Solar’s help, contributed to the sustainability of our community.

Description of Work
30 panel solar array installed

Category electrician, solar panels

Cost $32,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/23/2019

5.0

05/25/2020


JIM M.

We had our solar array installed in December 2019. Exact Solar's team, for sales, project management, installation, was superb in every way. They worked through absolutely brutal weather conditions to get our installation done on time and on budget. We've now got a solar array generating power for us and two EV chargers in our garage, and a battery backup running our well pump, septic pump, fridge, basement freezer, internet, and a few other outlets for lights/charging. We had a short power outage here last week and the battery backup kicked in instantaneously. No noise or smell, just quiet, clean, power. Best of all? My electric bill for April 2020? *negative* 78 dollars.

Description of Work
solar array installation, with two EV chargers and a battery backup

Category electrician, solar panels

Cost $39,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/27/2019

5.0

04/27/2020


Henry S.

Exact Solar and the Bortman’s installed solar panels for me on both a previous house and my current house. The panels turned my poolS from the cold poolS that no one wanted to go in, to the fun warm pools all summer with no marginal cost to heat. They did a free solar study from google earth to determine if my house and pool were good candidates for the panels, answered every question and installed them as advertised on time and on budget.

Description of Work
Solar panels

Category plumbing, pool cleaners, water heater repair, solar panels

Cost $8,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2017

Service Provider Response

Thanks, [Member Name Removed]! So glad you have a warm, fun pool now! :-)
5.0

02/06/2020


Debra M.

Exact Solar is the best from estimates and configuration to engineering, permitting, and installation. Project management was excellent. Exact Solar is great at answering all questions and making the process easy. There was a top notch team approach. We also really like the on-line monitoring system and appreciate the customer support and the help getting SRECs set up.

Description of Work
Solar panel installation

Category solar panels

Cost $34,740

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/11/2019

5.0

09/30/2019


Stephen H.

I got quotes from 2 other vendors. Felt most comfortable going with Exact Solar. They gave me contact information for a customer that they had recently done both pool heating and photovoltaic solar systems. I went to see the quality of their work and ended up going with Exact for my pool heating - still deliberating on doing photovoltaic at this point in time, but would almost certainly use Exact if and when I decide to pull the trigger on that.

Description of Work
Solar Pool Heating System

Category plumbing, water heater repair, solar panels

Cost $7,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/10/2018

Images

Review for Exact Solar - 24 N BRYN MAWR AVE, Bryn Mawr, PA - 38140759
5.0

08/10/2018


Dora W.

I selected ExactSolar for my residential rooftop solar installation after a 3-year process. In 2016, after observing the market trends on and off for a year, I contacted 3 companies - a large national organization, a mid-size, local company (ExactSolar) and a very small local company. For all 3 outfits I went through on-site quoting and extensive conversation on financing, lead time, customer support and product selection. That was in 2016, and the timing wasn’t right for me. This year, 2018, with the price at about $2.50/watt and the tax credit tapering off after 2019, I was ready to purchase. ExactSolar won my contract for several reasons: competence and experience in the business, project management, customer support, timeliness of response and attention to details. Furthermore, I had a somewhat complicated situation: I needed a new roof, and then prior to that, I needed to take down a working roof-mounted solar thermal hot water system, and then have the same hot water system put back on the roof and functioning again after the photovoltaic solar install. I also needed to upgrade my main electrical panel to 200 Amps. And ExactSolar was able to take care of all that along with installing and tying the PV solar to the grid. Long story short, everything went off seamlessly. Dara (co-owner of ExactSolar) was a tremendous resource in helping me select and afford a 42-panel system that would reduce my electric bill by 80%. Mark (owner of ExactSolar) was amazing in getting my solar thermal hot water system down and then up again in perfect working order. The entire installation crew was conscientious, communicated well with each other, paid attention to the aesthetics (panels were lined up symmetrically with respect to the roof edges and a nice color-coordinated skirt for each section was installed), and attention to safety (harnesses were worn whenever they got on the roof). I really appreciated Vlad’s meticulous cable management - all lines were anchored and securely contained in weather-proof metal casing and positioned in the right places where there is ample room for servicing and monitoring. Throughout the entire multi-step process, the office staff was great with follow-through with the paperwork, and mapping out for me the next steps to come. I’m very satisfied with how the project turned out; it’s a big investment for me and I’m so glad I chose ExactSolar to handle it!

Description of Work
13 kW Grid-tied, roof-mounted solar panels

Category electrician, solar panels

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/10/2018

5.0

05/13/2018


Prashant A.

Exact Solar is the best. I signed up with Exact Solar last summer (2017) after obtaining quotes from several installers in Pennington area through Energy Sage and meeting with them. Exact's quote was among the best with straight-forward numbers and no hidden costs. Dara was especially helpful during the vetting stage. She answered all my questions and provided insights into SREC pricing and long term trends (which many installers don't). This also convinced me to apply for the excellent solar loan from PSE&G which basically reduced my out of pocket expense to 1% of the overall cost and guaranteed the loan repayment through stable SREC prices over 10 years. Dara also agreed to install LG all black panels instead of the regular panels at no additional cost. I had concerns about roof leaks but Dara explained how the new flanges prevent roof leaks and on top of that she provided a 10 year warranty. During the installation time, Mark was absolutely awesome. He helped with the solar loan paperwork, ensured that all permits were obtained without any issues and installation was done on time. The system has been working perfectly for the last several months, the PSE&G loan came through and electricity bills are down to $2.42 (the mandatory grid connection charge). He also ensured that the latest model of Solar Edge inverter was installed which is more efficient and smaller than the old models. Overall, I am extremely pleased with Exact Solar. They are professional, courteous and trustworthy. I wish them continued success in the future.

Description of Work
Solar Panels

Category solar panels

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/31/2017

5.0

05/13/2018


Prashant A.

Exact Solar is the best. I signed up with Exact Solar last summer (2017) after obtaining quotes from several installers in Pennington area through Energy Sage and meeting with them. Exact's quote was among the best with straight-forward numbers and no hidden costs. Dara was especially helpful during the vetting stage. She answered all my questions and provided insights into SREC pricing and long term trends (which many installers don't). This also convinced me to apply for the excellent solar loan from PSE&G which basically reduced my out of pocket expense to 1% of the overall cost and guaranteed the loan repayment through stable SREC prices over 10 years. Dara also agreed to install LG all black panels instead of the regular panels at no additional cost. I had concerns about roof leaks but Dara explained how the new flanges prevent roof leaks and on top of that she provided a 10 year warranty. During the installation time, Mark was absolutely awesome. He helped with the solar loan paperwork, ensured that all permits were obtained without any issues and installation was done on time. The system has been working perfectly for the last several months, the PSE&G loan came through and electricity bills are down to $2.42 (the mandatory grid connection charge). He also ensured that the latest model of Solar Edge inverter was installed which is more efficient and smaller than the old models. Overall, I am extremely pleased with Exact Solar. They are professional, courteous and trustworthy. I wish them continued success in the future.

Description of Work
Solar Panels

Category solar panels

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/31/2017

5.0

04/15/2018


David S.

When we bought a new home in Pennington, the very best decision we made was hiring Exact Solar to install panels on our roof. In the beginning, they went over all the options - pros/cons which allowed us to make a decision which was best for us. We installed an 11KwH system -- Exact Solar completed all the paperwork, permits, net metering application with PSEG. It was smooth and painless on our end - the workers who installed the panels were all extremely nice and professional. One more thing that sets Exact Solar apart -- when we signed the contract we were told that the system would produce about 10MwH per year -- numbers that we counted on to make solar a sound financial decision. As we hit the 5 month mark of solar, I realized that the panels were under producing and we would fall below the 10MwH. Exact Solar came out, did a shade analysis and ran numbers -- they also determined that the system would produce around 7-8MwH as there was more shade than they anticipated on the roof. They held to their word and immediately set to work on making it right -- they developed a plan to move panels, add an additional panel and even paid to cut down and remove a neighbors tree that was casting a lot of shade on the roof (and was also a danger to the neighbors roof). This was all at a significant additional expense to them -- we have went from producing around 30-35KwH in June to producing 50+KwH in mid-March. A significant improvement which should have us exceed 10MwH for the year. This a family owned company that truly stands behind their work -- you will not be disappointed. Mark and Dara (Owners) are both fantastic and very responsive -- Don Kane was our solar rep/sales person and he was great, knowledgeable and responsive as well. You just don't see companies who are so passionate about what they do and at the same time stand behind their work. If you are considering Solar, I cannot recommend Exact Solar enough!

Description of Work
Solar Panel Install

Category solar panels

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/14/2017

1.0

12/01/2017


Susan C.

It didn’t. They never responded to our requests for a consultation.

Description of Work
Interested in a complete solar energy installation.

Category solar panels

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed] - I'm so sorry but we have no record of ever being contacted by you either through the Angie's List portal, by phone, or by email. I've checked with everyone on our team who might have gotten an incoming phone call or email and your name and address are nowhere in our records. I'd love to help you though, if you're still in need of a consultation. Please confirm for me that you're commenting for the correct company. We are committed to providing consistently excellent customer service. Thanks!
5.0

09/03/2017


Rich T.

I chose Exact Solar because of its high ratings; I was not disappointed. Their installers were terrific, friendly, and capable, and I can't wait to see my lower electric bills from PECO! The photo shows the first two KwH we generated on the morning of day 1.

Description of Work
We installed a full solar-energy system (22 panels on our roof) for my Main Line home.

Category electrician, solar panels

Cost $26,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/31/2017

5.0

07/14/2017


Nathan M.

The installation from start to finish went extremely well. I would continue to recommend Exact Solar for future work

Description of Work
Exact Solar installed a 5.4 kW 20-panel solar PV system on our roof in our Mt. Airy, PA home

Category electrician, solar panels

Cost $16,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/17/2017

5.0

05/25/2017


Tom C.

Couldn't have gone any better. Price was exactly what I was quoted. They even fronted me the tax exemption until I got my refund. Even with a cloudy spring, I am on track to gain the SREC number I was quoted. Any time I have a question, a text or email is rapidly responded to. I have recommended them to anyone in my area thinking about solar panels.

Description of Work
Solar Panels installed at my home

Category solar panels

Cost $20

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/25/2017

5.0

04/04/2017


Bruce P.

Everything was fantastic. Everything was explained to me in advance; questions I had before and after install were answered thoroughly in a way I could understand; they helped me get set up with SREC payments as well as hooking me in to the (very large) tax benefits. A few of my questions required follow-up visits (nothing wrong with the system; just things I wanted to understand better) and these were made courteously and promptly. I have been immensely pleased with every aspects of working with their team. I am currently commissioning further work, and it's going just as well this time.

Description of Work
Installed large solar array on rooftop, wired in to utility tie-in, set up battery back-up

Category electrician, solar panels

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/04/2017

5.0

03/06/2017


Patricia H.

Extremely well. Before we even signed a contract, Mark Bortman from Exact Solar consulted us in every detail about how the system would function, and what improvements to our roof would be needed to support the system. They designed our system to fit our roof perfectly so it looks like it is supposed to be there. His team was punctual, polite, and efficient and left no mess upon completion of their work. We would highly recommend Exact Solar to anyone considering going solar.

Description of Work
Solar roof installation

Category solar panels

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/02/2017

Images

Review for Exact Solar - 24 N BRYN MAWR AVE, Bryn Mawr, PA - 34566891
5.0

12/29/2016


Adam C.

They worked with me every step of the way and treated me like a real priority. Their up-front communication about all the costs and complexities of solar and ability to just answer all my questions for an hour (plus a zillion emails) really made them stand out. Also they did a great job accommodating our home's difficult and getting a special crane to use with our tall roof.

Description of Work
Installation of solar panel array on my rowhome.

Category electrician, solar panels

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/09/2016

5.0

12/28/2016


Keith A.

The estimate was first compiled via satellite photos , And then Mark came out to measure the roof & Dara came out to go over the final estimate. A full ROI proposition was presented and I understood everything that was involved in the process. Exact Solar took care of building permits and all paperwork and subsequent visits by PECO to approve and install their meter. PECO is a bit backed up in our area so the Final meter installation took over a Month after the installation of the whole system. Mark came out and explained all the outdoor fixtures near my electrical meters and their operation. I have already seen a marked decrease in my electrical costs and have referred people to this company. I'm very satisfied with my decision to use them. I'm anticipating close to a $6500 tax rebate as well.

Description of Work
I had a 6.44 kilowatt Grid Tied, Roof Mounted Solar system , Solar Edge P300 optimizers, Solar Edge SE 600 Inverter, AC disconnect , PV Production meter, & an additional meter Required by PECO installed.

Category electrician, solar panels

Cost $21,574

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/12/2016

Images

Review for Exact Solar - 24 N BRYN MAWR AVE, Bryn Mawr, PA - 34192474

+2 More

5.0

09/27/2016


Nancy O.

When I needed help with my solar panels, I found that the company that had installed them was out of business. I called several other companies, but they either didn't respond, said they were too busy, or made me wait several weeks for an appointment and then didn't come out. Thank goodness that I finally found Exact Solar! With one phone call, Sarah was able to get my solar panels working perfectly again and didn't even charge me for her time, even though I wasn't one of their regular customers. I'm so glad that I found them, and it's a huge relief to know that I have someone to call on for any future maintenance or service issues. Having a good experience with your solar installation is important, but it's equally valuable to know that the company you choose will be available if you need help later on. If I were installing a new system today, I'd feel comfortable depending on Exact Solar!

Description of Work
Provided help with solar production issues

Category solar panels

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/26/2016