Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

JOHNNY ON THE SPOT CONTRACTING

Founded 1984 • With Angi since October 2006

4 EMPLOYEES, NO SUBS, COST IS DETERMINED BY THE JOB, NO TRAVEL CHARGE, EXTRA CHARGE FOR AFTER-HOURS SERVICE, LICENSE # CCB 53982, WA CHAMPC*031K4.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
no
Senior Discount
10%
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(16) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-16 of 16 reviews
alison S.
5.0
08/29/2017
If I could have given a rating above "A", then I would have. Johnny and his crew did a really fantastic job on my yard. I couldn't have asked for better. The price was very reasonable for what they did and the quality and workmanship was top notch. They worked hard and fast, and got the job done. And they cleaned up after themselves at the end of every day and at the end of the job. Johnny was super easy to deal with. I've had lots of compliments on their work. This is a very honest company. Highly recommended.
Description of Work
Removed a tree and old decaying retaining wall and constructed a new wall plus 5 steps going down to my basement.
Category
hauling services, lawn service, masonry, hardscaping
Michele H.
5.0
06/14/2017
Johnny really worked with me and helped me get my yard under control after things got a bit out of hand out there during my recovery from chemo. He was prompt, had the right tools for the job, and left the yard looking better than I expected for a price I could afford along with hauling. Would hire again if I need help with something else I can't handle on my own. I've included some before and after photos of the backyard with a closeup of the blackberry brambles by the shed he tackled for me. He also did my front yard.
Description of Work
Needed help taming my yard.
Category
hauling services, lawn service
Lloyd W.
5.0
12/10/2015
The work was performed very efficiently and promptly A very proffessional contractor
Description of Work
Removed brush from fence and rebuilt fence and gate Very nice job Also cleaned yard debris and hauled it off
Category
fencing, hauling services, lawn service
David K.
5.0
12/03/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Removed brush/tree trimmings.
Category
lawn service
DEBORAH C.
5.0
06/25/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Cut down bushes that the city said were obstructing a street sign; hauled away everything and even let me throw in some other brush. Nice guy.
Category
lawn service, hardscaping
Deborah S.
5.0
10/23/2014
unknown
Description of Work
I had contacted 4 other companies for fence repairs and received no response or response that they wouldn't do the job. I contacted Johnny through Angie's list and he contacted me immediately. He came out and gave me an estimate within a few days and completed repairs within a week. Very satisfied and would use him again.
Category
fencing, landscaping, lawn service, masonry, window cleaning
Barbara C.
5.0
07/30/2014
Great! We have had him several times and he always goes beyond expectations for a fair price.
Description of Work
Came to the house, loaded up all the yard junk, cleaned up the area and took it to the dump.
Category
hauling services, lawn service
Lisa R.
1.0
07/03/2014
Very unfriendly and not business like and he informed me to call someone else
Description of Work
I sent this company a message through Angie's list on July 2nd around 10 pm. I waited until 3 pm the next day to hear from them before I called the number listed. When I called I described what we had for removal from the house. I asked if he could come and give us an estimate for how much it would cost us. He informed me that he couldn't do anything until the week after next week and if I want it done sooner I should probably call someone else to do the job. The manner in which he talked and informed me to call someone else was very unfriendly and not very business like. It seemed like he did not want our business.
Category
hauling services

Service Provider Response

I am sorry that [member name removed] felt I was unfriendly and not business like, that was not my intent. I am extremely busy this time of year and get booked up quickly. I did let [member name removed] know that I would be available the following week.
Cheryl J.
5.0
05/23/2014
Johnny came and fixed my fence after one of the posts rotted and broke over the winter. He replaced the post and crossbars, but used the old fence boards to save me money, since they were still in decent condition. He was able to do the repair in one day, and he even managed to avoid all of my neighbors plants that she was concerned about saving. After he finished, he cleaned up completely, and it was like he was never there- except my fence was standing up strong and solid again. I will definitely use him again when I need more work done.
Description of Work
Fence repair.
Category
fencing, handyman service, lawn service
Rick & Phillis J.
5.0
03/25/2014
I would like to recommend Johnny on the Spot Contracting to provide your hauling and other handyman work. Johnny Miller has been helping me take care of my house and yard for the last five years. In the garden he trims my bushes every spring. Other projects he has done are bark dusting, digging out stumps, move bushes, and building a stone box for a new bed of roses. In addition to the yard, he has washed my house and repainted it. He cleans my windows every year. It is so nice to have clean windows and screens. Later this year he is going to re-mortar parts of my rock wall. I feel his work is professional. He is on time to your on your project. His work is always performed to your expectations.
Description of Work
Johnny built a stone flower box. He filled the box with compost and soil and planted the roses in the box. He removed another plant and planted more roses.
Category
handyman service, hauling services, landscaping, lawn service, masonry, window cleaning, house painters, hardscaping
Marta L.
1.0
05/31/2012
Terrible.
Description of Work
The person answering the phone sounded offended because I called and asked to get yardwork done. He asked where I got his number. This listing must be a joke!
Category
lawn service
MICHIEL H.
5.0
05/29/2008
I found this company on Angie's List. I called in the late afternoon and Mr. Miller came out the next morning and gave me a fair estimate to remove the materials on my property. I could not afford to have everything removed and negotiated with him to remove what I could afford. His bid was the best over all bid I had received so I hired him on the spot. When he had finished I found much to my surprise that he and his helper Glen had gone far and above what we had agreed on and removed all the material and at no extra additional cost to me. I got more then I was paying for and would definitely do business with this company again. I found them to be friendly, punctual, professional and highly recommend them for consideration if you are taking bids on this type of job.
Description of Work
Hauled away a large amount of debris and items that had accumulated in my yard.
Category
hauling services
ELLEN D.
5.0
10/01/2007
Job 1: These gentlemen were prompt and worked quickly. They did an excellent job and I plan to use this company again soon. Very professional and reliable. Nice folks too. Job 2: Johnny and Glen do great work. They are quick and thorough and very nice to deal with. They also show up exactly when they say they will. This is the second time we have used their services and will probably not be the last.
Description of Work
Job 1: Johnny on the Spot hauled away some heavy items for us and transported a large load of lumber from Oregon to Washington.($250.) Job 2: They helped me install an appliance and hauled a two huge loads (one of yard debris and wood and one to the dump).($265.)
Category
hauling services
chad K.
5.0
05/29/2007
Everything went well from talking about what I wanted, all the way through completion. The new fence looks great, and budget-wise it was less then other quotes. I plan on hiring him for other stuff.
Description of Work
John removed 2 chain link fences from the property, and built a great looking cider fence.
Category
fencing
DIANA D.
5.0
04/13/2007
John gets my highest rating. He is always prompt and thorough, as well as being a true gentleman. His work goes quickly and cleanly. This was my second hiring of Johnny on the Spot. (Prior to this time, his crew dismantled and hauled away a chain link fence). It will not be my last.
Description of Work
John hauled away goods that had been piling up in my garage.
Category
hauling services
YUKI C.
5.0
10/26/2006
I called Johnny and he came out that same day in the afternoon to give me an estimate. He hauled all the non-recyclable materials that day and said he would be back the next morning to clear out all the organic materials. True to his word he arrived at 9:30 am the next morning with two helpers and hauled the rest of the debris in about an hour. They were fast, reliable, efficient and courteous. My yard looked great. I was extremely pleased with the work.
Description of Work
We had miscellaneous yard debris that needed to be cleared out. Leaves, two huge piles of large branches from maple & apple tree trimmings, a few large pieces of lumber, fallen apples, dog house, old fencing material, hose cart, plastic & Terra Cotta planters.
Category
hauling services

Phone

Address

2120 NE 136TH AVE

Portland, OR 97230

Other Information

Services offered

HAULING & DELIVERY, INTERIOR & EXTERIOR DEBRIS REMOVAL & CLEAN UP, DELIVERY & PLACEMENT OF BARK-DUST, ROCK, TOPSOIL, SAND, AND BUILDING MATERIALS, HOME & YARD MAINTENANCE, PAINTING, FENCING & SMALL CONSTRUCTION PROJECTS.

Payment options

Check

FAQ

JOHNNY ON THE SPOT CONTRACTING is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

JOHNNY ON THE SPOT CONTRACTING is open:

Sunday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

JOHNNY ON THE SPOT CONTRACTING accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, JOHNNY ON THE SPOT CONTRACTING offers free project estimates.

Yes, JOHNNY ON THE SPOT CONTRACTING offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, JOHNNY ON THE SPOT CONTRACTING does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, JOHNNY ON THE SPOT CONTRACTING offers emergency services.

No, JOHNNY ON THE SPOT CONTRACTING does not offer warranties.

JOHNNY ON THE SPOT CONTRACTING offers the following services: HAULING & DELIVERY, INTERIOR & EXTERIOR DEBRIS REMOVAL & CLEAN UP, DELIVERY & PLACEMENT OF BARK-DUST, ROCK, TOPSOIL, SAND, AND BUILDING MATERIALS, HOME & YARD MAINTENANCE, PAINTING, FENCING & SMALL CONSTRUCTION PROJECTS.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Exotic Tile and Masonry

No reviews yet.

Angi Certified

Exotic Tile and Masonry

My specialty - CHIMNEY REPAIR, including firebox repair and damper replacement, loose bricks re-laying on cement mortar, tuck-pointing, flushing replacement, whole fireplace tear-down-and re-building, 10-years commercial sealing. Also, my company does: natural stone or used concrete retaining wall, concrete work, brick mailbox, steps, manufactured stone, cement stucco. Plaster (you name the color, I offer the style) bathroom glaze. I guarantee the reasonable price and outstanding quality of my company work. Licensed since 1995 owner-operated masonry company servicing Portland and surrounding areas.  

Referred Roof Cleaning is a full service roof and exterior cleaning company that has served over 2000 residential and commercial clients since 2011. We have a proprietary online bidding system that allows us to perform accurate bids of most projects remotely, saving our customers time a money. We offer a special 10% off discount to all online bids and guarantee you will receive your bid within 24 hours of your inquiry. We also offer in person estimates if that is your preference. Our company motto is "High Quality, Fair Price, Happy Customers". We follow the Platinum rule which is; "Treat others the way they want to be treated".  

Moss Solutions

No reviews yet.

Angi Certified

Moss Solutions

We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today.