Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Handy Hubby

Founded 2001 • With Angi since June 2010

4.2

(164) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2010 N Reynolds Rd

Toledo, OH 43615

Description

Highly skilled craftsmen perform at the top of their field. We display attention to detail & we are very conscientious on every job. The owner stops by job sites regularly to maintain the quality you expect....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

03/02/2021


Ellen F.

They forgot about my first scheduled appointment and never called. I missed an entire day of work because the estimates are between 10 and 2 and they refuse to call on the way or give u a smaller window. 2nd appointment they were late I had to call again if it wasn't for a very sweet professional manager Lauralee I would have canceled especially since Brittany was so nasty about them forgetting me the 1st time. I will only schedule with Lauralee from now on im a realtor and have a ton of work and even more referrals so you would think they would give me star treatment but sadly only Lauralee does

Description of Work
Various small jobs

Category handyman service, doors

Service Provider Response

We have no record of your experience with us nor can we verify your identity in our records. We believe this review to come from a disgruntled employee with whom we had a brief working relationship. It was not a good fit. If you are a prospective customer and have any questions regarding this review, please call our office.

1.0

03/01/2021


greg L.

worst company ever I was overcharged the guys left a huge mess they had to come back 3 times and its still not right now they won't even respond!

Description of Work
Handy man service

Category drywall, handyman service, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We have no record of your experience with us nor can we verify your identity in our records. We believe this review to come from a disgruntled employee with whom we had a brief working relationship. It was not a good fit. If you are a prospective customer and have any questions regarding this review, please call our office.

5.0

02/11/2021


Teresa S.

Went very well. The guys were very professional and respectful. They were done in a timely manner and they cleaned up their mess before they left each day. Overall I was really impressed by them.

Description of Work
New Bath tub and shower put in.

Category bathtub refinishing, concrete repair, drywall, insulation, plumbing

5.0

01/22/2021


Isaiah T.

They originally built a platform/frame for our bed, which went very well.

Description of Work
Disassembled and assembled a bed and platform.

Category handyman service, Uncategorized

5.0

12/14/2020


Tonya H.

They were great recommend to anyone needing a handy man!!

Description of Work
Handymen

Category handyman service, interior painters

5.0

12/07/2020


Bobbi A.

they were very professional , they left the areas they worked very clean. Eric and his partner worked at a good pace and were very polite.

Description of Work
replace fan and masonry work on my porch

Category handyman service

5.0

11/23/2020


Lannie K.

The service was excellent as was the workmanship. I wouldn't hesitate to call them for any further projects.

Description of Work
The chimney stack had a hole in it caused by a woodpecker. The workmen patched the hole and painted the area.

Category handyman service

5.0

11/18/2020


Candice R.

As everyone was trying to locate companies for remodeling/ repairs as staying close to home during the pandemic, it was a considerable time before we could even request an estimate. We are so glad we waited. After getting several quotes, the pricing by Handy Hubby was very reasonable and the workmanship was great! By the time we scheduled, they had brought on more people and the work was able to be completed in just a day and a half after only having to wait less than a week to get on the schedule. Some companies were not even taking on any new jobs or the wait time was at least 6-8 weeks out. For the estimate as well as the work, the team showed up masked and ready to go. I cannot say the same for some others in the area. Right on time each day. Brittany in the office was also extremely friendly, knowledgable, and professional. We would definitely recommend Handy Hubby.

Description of Work
Subfloor and new flooring in upstairs bath after a leak. Subsequent damage to lower bathroom and kitchen needed repair as well.

Category drywall, basement waterproofing, home remodeling

5.0

11/07/2020


Bonnie M.

Handy Hubby Toledo recently completed remodeling our master bathroom. The process from the first day we met John, the owner, to the day our project was completed was incredibly satisfying. John frequently came by to check on everything and to see if we had any questions or concerns with how things were progressing. I was also impressed with the way the workers and subs took great care of our home while they worked. We dealt primarily with Rob who tiled the shower and painted the walls. He is dependable, trustworthy and took great pride in his work- a real professional! My husband and I highly recommend Handy Hubby and will definitely use them for future projects!

Description of Work
Remolded master bathroom

Category bathtub refinishing, ceramic tile, flooring contractor, handyman service, home remodeling

5.0

10/06/2020


Gerald G.

The owner was very cooperative and helpful. They were very patience and communicative. I'm very satisfied with the service.

Description of Work
They did kitchen remodeling. They painted the wall, ceiling, and baseboard

Category home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you!!

5.0

10/02/2020


LaFloyd S.

Carmine did the grab bar and wax ring. He was quick and effecient and on time. We are really pleased. James put up our new bath cabinet, wall light, new faucet for bath sink, and new flood light in the back yard. Both men were prompt and efficient. Price was reasonable but it was not an issue for us because we wanted to support a small business. We used Home Advisor for a project but we changed to Handy Hubby. The 2 young ladies in the office are awesome. They are prompt and courteous. Keep up the good work.

Description of Work
We needed a wax ring put under toilet, a grab bar put in the tub, a bathroom cabinet with mirror and light fixture, new faucet in bath sink, new floodlight put up in backyard.

Category handyman service, lighting, plumbing, basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the nice review, we've enjoyed working with you and look forward to any future work!

5.0

09/23/2020


Brian H.

Handy Hubby did an excellent job on our remodel projects. They were very professional and cleaned up before leaving each day. I would highly recommend hiring them for and remodeling project!

Description of Work
Remodeling - General

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you, we've enjoyed working with you!

5.0

09/23/2020


Marcie W.

I cannot say enough good things about Handy Hubby. They just completed a total bath renovation for me and the result has far exceeded my expectations. The small, full bath is exquisitely charming and is a lovely enhancement to my home. Remodeling can seem tedious, but all of the employees were courteous and efficient and very easy to have in my home. I highly recommend their services and look forward, with confidence, to some future projects.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel

Category ceramic tile, electrician, plumbing, siding, basement waterproofing, marble & granite, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for leaving us such a nice review, looking forward to ongoing and future projects!

5.0

09/16/2020


Sharmeta G.

I have always had great services with Carmine and the other workers. They recently installed new flooring in my home and it looks amazing! I highly recommend their services!!

Description of Work
New flooring

Category flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the nice review!

5.0

09/14/2020


Steven M.

We plan to have them back next year. It was nice. It was really good. They were here when they said they would be here. The owner was very helpful. He gave us some suggestions and recommendations. This was the 4th time that we have had work done by them.

Description of Work
They installed a stair case. They refinished the walls and the ceiling. They did general remodeling. They installed the carpet. They installed a ventilation fan in the bathroom.

Category carpet installation, remodeling, ceiling fans

5.0

09/11/2020


john S.

It was excellent work. He was dependable and always does good work. We are very happy with his great work and service. He will do the driveway by the end of Oct this year. He was reliable. He was like family to us now. He is a conscientious person.

Description of Work
They remodeled our kitchen and the rest of the house. They also did some siding work and fixed the drainage.

Category plumbing, remodeling, siding, home remodeling

5.0

09/09/2020


Chris K.

I would highly recommend the Handy Hubby Team. They completed an extensive remodel of your house, including a new bathroom, kitchen, carpet replacement, indoor painting, light fixture replacement and several general repairs. They were very professional, responsive and respectful throughout. We would not hesitate to use their services again for future work.

Description of Work
Remodeling

Category electrician, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters, sunrooms

5.0

10/14/2019


elizabeth M.

Excellent work. Timely communication and worked with us when scheduling became tight. Work performed during business hours each day and they left our home neat and clean each evening when they left. Finished bathroom looks even better than we thought it would. Very pleased.

Description of Work
Renovate full bath

Category handyman service, home remodeling

5.0

03/22/2018


Diane N.

It went really well. They do really good work and they've always been fair with me. I'm happy with them.

Description of Work
They installed blinds and a ceiling fan.

Category electrician, window treatments, ceiling fans

1.0

05/05/2017


Iris M.

I had been working with John at Handy Hubby for going on two (difficult) months until he finally decided to threaten to send back my check and hung up on me the day before he was apparently supposed to do the job. I needed a shower/bath replaced for my rental unit. Not a difficult job. Somehow, however, this turned into the biggest problem for John and he didn't hesitate to huff and gruff every single time I had to talk with him. He even went so far as to tell my tenants that I was a slum landlord and was violating codes because I didn't have a fan in the bathroom. The house was built in the 1940s. It, along with all older homes in Toledo, are not required to have a fan. Yet, John thought this was completely acceptable conversation to have with my tenants, who even thought it was weird. When confronted with my questioning him, he lied and said it wasn't true. It was an "assumption"?!? I asked him to keep conversation strictly between us and not to involve my tenants further for any reason. He ended by saying I was being so difficult, he might just quit the job. A couple weeks go by. Meanwhile I'm getting emails from his secretary for information I'd already spoken to John about. Not a big deal but twice I replied and neither time did they get the emails. I began receiving emails then with ??? and !!! to questions I'd answered now several times over. Texting John, I told him to please clear this up, that everything was set, I was only waiting for a start date as I'd asked for several times. I was then accused of never responding to his secretary so I had to take screen shots of my sent emails. The grand finale of this whole song and dance occurred when I then get a text from my tenant that they were by and were coming by the next day to start. I called John to figure out why I was hearing this from the tenant instead of directly from him. His attitude on the phone was belligerent and crudely disrespectful. I reminded him that I was his customer, not my tenants, and that we'd already discussed needing to keep communication between us - lest he go ahead and tell my tenant more ridiculous stories about me. He then calls me back an hour later. Tells me that I didn't get him grout. This is a huge problem. I say, well, pick up some white grout. No, no, no. Not good enough. Then I'm told that he half wants to send back my check because I'm such a bad client. After barking at me, he then hangs up. I try calling back. No answer. Currently waiting for the check to be sent back. Currently out 2 months of trying to work with this yahoo. BEWARE.

Description of Work
Bath remodel.

Category handyman service, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We originally had an appointment with the home owner, [Member Name Removed] to ascertain the details of the bathroom remodel work that she wanted. She was not at the appointment at [Member Information Removed] in [Member Information Removed]. Instead it was her tenant who met me to discuss the project (which I took as [Member Name Removed] surrogate who would describe what she wanted). The tenant assumed that we were there to price a complete bathroom remodel including removing plaster from walls and ceiling. Since, the tenant explained the landlord had promised him that she would remodel the Bathroom before he moved in to the house many months prior. I responded that my information stated that the remodel work was to be limited to only replacing the bathtub & shower surround. The tenant asked me if the black spots all over the walls and ceiling as mold, and it was, how to remedy that. I said that is looked like mold to me, and at the very least, an exhaust fan and switch should be installed. I suggested that a topical "mold kill" would probably not be sufficient to get rid of the mold, if that's what the black dotted patches on the walls & ceiling were, but the wall & ceiling coverings would have to be removed entirely. At that point, I called the homeowner who informed me for the first time that she lived in [Member Information Removed] area, and she reproached me for involving her tenant. Without going into each conversation that followed, suffice to say that it seemed that the homeowner was aggravated with my thoroughness of trying to make clear what she wanted and how she wanted it done. As one example: how removing her existing tub would affect her tiled floor. The meant multiple options: from leaving gaps in the floor where tiles would be absent to replacing the entire floor if the existing floor tiles could not be matched. [Member Name Removed] said that she would provide new tiles & grout. I agreed to install a substrate, the tiles, and grout that she provided. I put that agreement in writing. I said I would wait to start the job till all material was staged at the job site. When the tiles arrived, the grout was not there. [Member Name Removed] said that she wanted me to pick up the grout. I was reluctant to do that since there are too many color choices, and didn't want to have to redo the installation if she was not satisfied. She was upset again. I offered a couple solutions to satisfy both of us. But she still seemed upset. I said that I was feeling uncomfortable with our problems communicating. With the homeowner being out of state, sometimes difficult to contact, and often hostile, I suggested that I would return her check and that she could find someone else to do the work. She became very irate then, and somewhat abusive. She demanded the check back immediately. She stated that she was an attorney, and that she would take action if I did not return her check immediately. I sent it to her certified mail that day. The next time I heard from her was through Angie's List Reviews. She, at first signed her name as [Member Name Removed] instead of [Member Name Removed], which threw me off. That is now changed to [Member Name Removed]. These are contentious times. I do not want to do work for someone with whom it is difficult for us to be polite and respectful with each other. With electronic media slanders rampant, I find this whole "review business" too often to be misleading and unfair. Nevertheless, I am at the point where I only want to work with people who are civil, & want good quality work for their hard earned dollar.

5.0

04/17/2017


Tori H.

Great! Happy with the work and all the workers.

Description of Work
Bathroom work - New Tub/Shower and Flooring. Also added New Toilet, Sink, and Vanity.

Category flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind review, if you need any work in the Future please don't hesitate to call us.

5.0

01/09/2017


Judith D.

There was a couple things I called them back on but they came back promptly and took care of it. They did the work so we did not have to move out of our condo while it was being done. They had done it in 8 days. I thought that was very good because we didn't have any place to move out of our condo to. We weren't really inconvenienced by them being here doing the work.

Description of Work
We had two bathrooms redone. They didn't do plumbing work. They took out a bathtub and put in a shower. We didn't want the bathtub anymore. It's a bath and a half that they did. They put in two new toilets and two new sinks and new flooring. Light fixtures, that type of stuff. It was tile flooring.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure doing business with you. Looking forward to working with you on any future work you might have. Thanks again.

5.0

10/24/2016


Alaina S.

I can't say enough good things about the entire team at Handy Hubby. They just completed a full bathroom renovation for us - the experience was wonderful and the results are even better! From the initial visit, we instantly felt comfortable with John. He provided us with a comprehensive and detailed estimate within a week (which was much faster than some of the other companies we received bids from) and was willing to come over in the evening to discuss the estimate in detail with both me and my husband. He was patient with all of our questions throughout the entire experience. We never felt pressure from Handy Hubby. John also provided valuable advice as I was selecting materials and finishes. He even found us coupons for some of the big ticket items. We have been happy with every step of the remodeling process. The work was completed one week ahead of schedule, and the team was able to seamlessly manage "surprises" that were found in our older Old Orchard home. The crew kept the area extremely clean during the work and used proper barriers to ensure that dust, etc did not travel to other parts of the house. We felt 100% comfortable with the team that was working on the house when we were not there, especially because Handy Hubby doesn't use a variety of random subcontractors. The crew was extremely skilled and able to turn inspiration pictures into reality. We can't wait for our next project and are so happy to have found such a reliable and wonderful company to work with. Thanks Handy Hubby (especially John, Jack, Carmine, and Joe)!

Description of Work
Complete bathroom demo and remodel

Category contractors, ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, handyman service, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

5.0

09/19/2016


Julie M.

went well. he was on time and stayed on task.

Description of Work
Put together a computer desk and put a closet door on.

Category handyman service

5.0

05/18/2016


C E P.

The work was done expertly and without delays.

Description of Work
Handy Hubby replaced most of our deck. They did an excellent job seamlessly joining the new replaced section with the the old section of the deck.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your review. Handy Hubby appreciates your business and your comments.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Great Lakes Gutter Filters LLC

    We are a FULL SERVICE GUTTER company *gutter cleaning * 5" / 6" seamless gutter installation *Gutter repairs * Gutter Guards ( offer options and variety of guards) Exterior Maintenance Power washing / Soft washing House / Garages / Concrete driveways / Sidewalks Roof Washing / Soft wash Exterior window washing Underground Downspout drains with pop up emitter's Snow removal for residential Driveways and sidewalks ( use snow blowers and shovels ) WE DO NOT DO ANY LAWN CARE OR LANDSCAPING  

    Fine Line Paint and Design

    Precision interior and exterior painting services for your home or business. Locally woman owned and operated. I also provide wallpaper removal and drywall repair for your convenience.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    AtYourServices L.L.C

    We are a painting company who specializes in deck revivals. We are the best when it comes to washing, painting, and staining any project, especially decks and patios! Here at AtYourServices we have now been in business for over 5 years and going strong. We are a small operation that is growing everyday and we pride ourselves on having the best and fastest service in the area.  

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, Discover, Check, Visa
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Remodeling Projects - Kitchens, Bathrooms, Basements. Handyman Needs- Drywall, Plumbing, Vinyl Flooring, fixture exchanges.

    Services Not Offered

    Roofing, window installation, appliance repair, carpet installation.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Handy Hubby

    How is Handy Hubby overall rated?

    Handy Hubby is currently rated 4.2 overall out of 5.

    What days are Handy Hubby open?

    Handy Hubby is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does Handy Hubby provide

    Handy Hubby accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Discover, Check, Visa

    Does Handy Hubby offer free estimates?

    Yes, Handy Hubby offers free project estimates.

    Does Handy Hubby offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Handy Hubby offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Handy Hubby offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Handy Hubby offers a 10% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Handy Hubby?

    Yes, Handy Hubby offers warranties.

    What services does Handy Hubby offer?

    Handy Hubby offers the following services: Remodeling Projects - Kitchens, Bathrooms, Basements. Handyman Needs- Drywall, Plumbing, Vinyl Flooring, fixture exchanges.

    Are there any services Handy Hubby does not offer?

    Roofing, window installation, appliance repair, carpet installation.