Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Weil/Thoman Moving & Storage

Founded 1891 • With Angi since April 2010

4.5

(21) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5151 Fischer Place

St Bernard, OH 45217

Description

Founded in 1891 and incorporated in 1925, Weil-Thoman Moving & Storage is the oldest, family-owned moving company in Cincinnati, Ohio. www.http://weilthomanmovers.com Over 60 years of combined experience in the industry and the expertise to facilitate virtually any type of move, tempered with a courteous, knowledgeable staff; from first call to last load delivered. We utilize a professional moving staff and offer state of the art security, fire & climate controlled systems in our 93,000 square foot warehouse in St. Bernard/Cincinnati, Ohio. Weil-Thoman Moving & Storage has had the priviledge of working with some of the best clients in the Tri-State Area including Proctor & Gamble business/office moves, "P&Ger" residential relocations, Wells-Fargo, Tri-Health, and many others. Weil-Thoman has had the honor of delivering voting equipment for all Hamilton County, Ohio polling/voting locations for many, many years through our partnership with the Board of Elections of Hamilton County. Residential services are charged by the hour for a complete crew with a 4-hour minimum plus a trip/travel fee which is determined based on mileage/location, etc. We offer full-service packing, materials and services. Commercial services are offered at various rates, depending on the services required. Estimates are scheduled at your convenience, and always provided free-of-charge....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/14/2017


Donna B.

Our move with Weil/Thoman was so much better than expected. My husband and I hadn't moved in 35 years. From the first meeting with Joe we knew we were in the right hands. Diane the office manager and Joe communicated well before and after the move. The team of Dale, Mike, Randy and Robert were professional, efficient, careful with every item and a pleasure to work with. They made this move easy and actually fun. They finished earlier than planned and actually adjusted the rate we owed. We highly recommend Weil/Thoman and we would definitely use them when we move again in 35 years.

Description of Work
Moving from our home to a condo in town.

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Mr. & Mrs. [Member Name Removed]: It was a pleasure to work with such great people. Thank you for the kind words and good luck in your new home! We will see you in 35 years :) Diana
5.0

07/26/2017


Robert L.

From the owner (Joe Thoman), to the office staff (Diane) to the pros that moved us (Randy, Mike), these folks are true professionals. The interstate move was estimated efficiently and fairly, the logistics/timing were like clockwork and all of our belongings arrived in excellent condition (including no wear/tear on the house)! Randy and Mike are respectful, hard working movers who take pride in doing an excellent job. We have made several moves (including international) and the Weil/Thoman team is as good as it gets! We would definitely use them again and can highly recommend them to others.

Description of Work
Have made two household moves with Weil and Thoman. First was a local Cincinnati move, second was interstate from Cincinnati to North Carolina.

Category moving companies

5.0

06/30/2017


Anne B.

There were four parts to our move and all went exceptionally well. 1) Joe, the owner, came to our home and gave a very detailed estimate on timing and weight (which turned out to be exceptionally on point). We opted to pack ourselves to save some money, and he was extremely helpful about recommending how to pack certain items and prepare for the move. 2) Move out day. The movers were so on time, they were early. They made sure to wrap and pack EVERY item in our home beyond our expectations, and we have seen zero damage to any items so far in unpacking. 3) Storage. One of the main reasons we hired Weil Thoman is because, for storage, we knew that our truck would be parked in the warehouse and no one would have access to it during that time. nothing was unpacked, drastically reducing the possibility of damage. 4) Move in day. We liked the team we had so much the first time, we specifically asked for them the second day and Joe was kind enough to oblige. The 4 man team u packed our entire truck in less than 4 hours. I am still shocked. They listened to our requests on room and wall placement, and made sure to put together all furniture taken apart during the move. Overall, I cannot recommend Weil Thoman enough. They are extremely reasonably priced, professional, punctual, fast, and just good people. It says something about this company that most of the employees have been there for more than a decade (at least). I will trust no one but Weil Thoman for all my upcoming moves.

Description of Work
Moving from one home to another, with 2 weeks of storage in between.

Category moving companies,storage units

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the great review! It was a pleasure to work with you as well. We will be sure to print this out and share with the Team. Good luck in your new home and don't hesitate to call us if you ever need us again.
5.0

06/05/2017


Jane R.

They were reasonably priced and on time. They packed well, but moving the items from the house to the truck they were not as careful as they should have been. Everything for the most part was fine. I had to store my furniture for a month and they stored it in the van, which was nice because we did not have to pack and then unpack and then pack again. They kept it in a heated warehouse. I found there were a couple of things I could not sell so they have an auction room that you can donate and all their profits go to a local church.

Description of Work
They stored my furniture and then moved it to my new location.

Category moving companies,storage units

Service Provider Response

Thank you the nice review. We truly appreciate your business and hope you are doing well in your new home! Diana
5.0

04/11/2017


Rachel H.

This was a very last minute call (I literally called 7 hours before I needed the table moved) and they were extremely accomodating. Since the table was being driven in and I didn't have an exact time it would be arriving, they had a crew on standby waiting for my call. When they did arrive they worked quickly and were professional and even helped me store the empty crate for the future. I would definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
Moving and uncrating a marble table.

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the wonderful review & comments! We truly appreciate the business! Diana
5.0

05/27/2016


Balaji P.

The experience overall was very good. The estimate was within 5-7% of the final total, the crew was on time both for the packing and the move, the crew members were professional in their conduct and we got everything in one piece. I would highly recommend them

Description of Work
They did partial packing and full moving

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Thank you! It was a pleasure to do business with you!
5.0

06/10/2014


Susan C.

The men showed up on time and worked very hard carrying things down to the basement and up to second and third stories.

Description of Work
Our mover hired 3 men from Weil/Thoman to help him unload our things when we moved into our apartment.

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the positive review! It was our pleasure to help you on your resent move to [member information removed]!
5.0

06/20/2012


Roger T.

They did a good job. The price was very fair. They were prompt and punctual.

Description of Work
They helped me move some furniture.

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review Member. We appreciate your business, and are pleased to have been of service to you!
5.0

03/01/2012


Gregg G.

They have been in business for over 40 years and have a proven track record. They get high ratings and I would use them again if needed.

Description of Work
I used them.

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your response, we appreciate your business and hope to have the pleasure of working with you again!
1.0

10/26/2011


Bruce P.

Thursday morning, June 2nd came and at 8:15 we called Weil-Thoman to find out where the truck was. They had told us the driver would arrive at 8 am. Edie said she would call him. After one hour we had not heard back from Edie, but at 9:15 we heard from the driver. He said he overslept but was on his way. He called back an hour later and said he was lost. Finally at 11 am he arrived - with one helper. I asked the driver if they would be able to unload us in time - he said he didn't think it was an issue. I asked him to call the office to see if they could get more help - he said he didn't need to. Let me describe the other helper. He spent 4 hours in our bathroom (three separate visits) and two hours sleeping on the lawn. He was of virtually no help. To help speed the process, instead of placing the boxes in the right rooms, I told them they could move all boxes marked basement into the garage and I would sort them later. I found out later about half of the boxes were marked boys bedroom or kitchen, however were placed in the garage as they were too lazy to place them in the right location. I even began moving boxes myself around 9 pm. At 10 pm, since they were not done, I asked them to come back the next day and I would stay in Florida and miss the family wedding. No the driver said, he needed to be back in Cincinnati for a doctor's appointment. They finished at 11:30 that night. When I say finished, they had unloaded all of the goods from the truck, but not put together most of the furniture. In fact, they did not have screwdriver or hammer. i had to dig around and find these for them. My wife and I left the next day with our house in disarray, boxes that should have been indoors in the garage and a total mess. Just an example as the quality of their work. When they put together one of our beds, i did not realize it but they only put in 7 of over 30 screws. When we sat on the bed the canopy fell down, nearly hitting my wife and causing the bed to break. During the unloading day, the driver had said since they could not delver on Friday they had to unload part of the truck in Naples Fl and reload our goods. As we began to unpack our goods, certain items and boxes were missing - no doubt left in Naples. All in all, very unprofessional. No one from Weil-Thoman ever called us at any time to apologize for the unloading. No one ever called us to apologize for the missing boxes. No one ever called us to try to figure out what happened. All calls were made by us. We waited several days when we returned to see if they would contact us. No calls/emails or notes. We came to feel that Jim Thoman never cared about our issues. Just silence from Jim. Once he had our money he was gone. Jim Thoman is a person who did not support us in our move, he avoided all of the issues and never (to this day) have we heard from Jim. Given this we would never use Weil-Thoman for any moves. Further, if asked, I would tell people there must be better choices. I would not belive Jim Thoman nor count on him to help on any move you make.

Description of Work
We had Weil-Thoman pack, load, store and deliver our household goods. They were to pack our home in Cincinnati and deliver the goods to Florida. We would not recommend them - in fact we would actively discourage people from using them. They did not live up to the agreements they had made with us and were not responsive to our needs. They were unprofessional and did not complete the work we contracted for. They agreed to pack, load, store and unload our furniture - in a move from Cincinnati to Florida. They sent 4 people to load our house. Jim Thoman told us he liked to have enough people so that they didn't need to work till late and disrupt everyone's life. It took them 3 days to load our house. This was at the end of February. Our furniture was stored at their facility and we asked them to deliver our goods once we purchased a new house. No issue, everything was running well. We called in early May and asked for our furniture to be delivered on May 27th. They told us they could not since they were short of drivers. Okay, we said, how about Tuesday, May 31. Jim said that would be tough since he hates to have drivers drive over holidays (Monday May 30 was Memorial Day). We understood and set the date for Wednesday June 1. We told Jim that the furniture had to be unloaded by Thursday of that week since we had to fly out of town for a family wedding on Friday. We were concerned since it took 3 days to load. Jim said, no issue - it will only take a day to unload. The Thursday before our load was to be delivered, Edie from Weil-Thoman and left a message saying they were ready for the delivery with one small change - they needed to deliver it on Friday. We told her that was impossible and Jim had promised us that there would be no issues for a Wednesday delivery. She told us Jim would call us. Jim said he had one driver who was on disability, one who had died and one had person/family issues. We asked Jim for other options such as contracting with a driver from Bekins (who they represent - or did). Jim said he could not do that. Jim called back later and told us he would get a driver to deliver us on Thursday - not perfect, not our agreement with him - but we needed to have our furniture. He said they would be done in a day.

Category moving companies

    Other local Pros in your area

    Leaders Moving & Storage Co of Cincinnati

    Super Service Award winner in 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013 and 2012. Leaders Moving & Storage of Cincinnati offers a wide range of residential and commercial moving and storage services. We have been in business for over 22 years and we have completed over 100,000 moves! Leaders is a professional moving and storage company, and we don't just use that as a catch phrase: Over half of our employees are "Master Movers", meaning that they have completed over 1,000 household moves. You are only as good as your last move. Over 80% of all our customers last year were repeat customers and referrals. This is due to the fact that we do more than just meet our customer’s expectations, we exceed them. We are one of the only moving companies that can give you a GUARANTEED move price. We give you the flexibility of controlling the price of your move. There are no hidden fees, and no nasty surprises. Our price includes all charges, mileage, tolls, drive-time, taxes, etc. You can reach us toll free at (800) 421-3029. We look forward to helping you with all your moving needs. USDOT:1237577  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    A+ Don's Movers & Hauling

    A+ Don's Moving & Hauling is a moving company out of Cincinnati, OH. Commercial and Residential. We strive to provide the best customer service possible and as a result, we have been recognized as the number 1 moving company in customer satisfaction in the city. We also boast the top rating of A+ from the Better Business Bureau, the top source for business credibility. With the wealth of information to support our statement, we can say with complete confidence say we can go the extra mile to provide a fast and affordable move for you, your family, and your business. We can move you to anywhere, because we understand that life may require a drastic change in location. No matter what the job, Don’s is here to make it a smooth transition. We take the hassle out of moving for you!  

    Big Blue Moving

    Big Blue Moving is a local and long distance moving company that serves all of Northern KY. We are locally owned and efficiently managed allowing us to pass on considerable savings to the customer! We can handle moves of all sizes both residential and commercial! We employ polite, professional and athletic men who will handle your move with care. We are a proud independent partner of Wildcat Moving in Lexington, KY so we know what it takes to be the BEST...and the BEST is what we are.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Professional packing services and materials. On truck or on van, long term and short term storage. Local and long distance relocations. Rigging, heavy and oversized loads. Office/Corporate relocations. Unique relocations. Full Service Garage. Weight Scale(open to the public).

    Services Not Offered

    self storage, truck rental

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Weil/Thoman Moving & Storage

    How is Weil/Thoman Moving & Storage overall rated?

    Weil/Thoman Moving & Storage is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Weil/Thoman Moving & Storage open?

    Weil/Thoman Moving & Storage is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Weil/Thoman Moving & Storage provide

    Weil/Thoman Moving & Storage accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does Weil/Thoman Moving & Storage offer free estimates?

    Yes, Weil/Thoman Moving & Storage offers free project estimates.

    Does Weil/Thoman Moving & Storage offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Weil/Thoman Moving & Storage does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Weil/Thoman Moving & Storage offer a senior discount?

    No, Weil/Thoman Moving & Storage does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Weil/Thoman Moving & Storage?

    No, Weil/Thoman Moving & Storage does not offer warranties.

    What services does Weil/Thoman Moving & Storage offer?

    Weil/Thoman Moving & Storage offers the following services: Professional packing services and materials. On truck or on van, long term and short term storage. Local and long distance relocations. Rigging, heavy and oversized loads. Office/Corporate relocations. Unique relocations. Full Service Garage. Weight Scale(open to the public).

    Are there any services Weil/Thoman Moving & Storage does not offer?

    self storage, truck rental