Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Mr. Appliance of West Central Ohio

Founded 2003 • With Angi since July 2010

4.2

(35) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1210 W Robb Ave

Lima, OH 45801

Description

Mr. Appliance specializes in all major appliance repair from Whirlpool and Maytag to Sub-Zero, Viking, Bosch and everything in-between. Calling Mr. Appliance ensures: * Prompt, efficient attention * All work and parts guaranteed * A solid quote before the service begins - no surprises * Our "leave no trace" clean-up commitment * Courteous and skilled in-home service professionals * Never an over-time charge - we charge by the job, not by the hour Mr. Appliance specializes in all major appliance repair from Whirlpool and Maytag to Sub-Zero, Viking, Bosch and everything in-between. Calling Mr. Appliance ensures: * Prompt, efficient attention * All work and parts guaranteed * A solid quote before the service begins - no surprises * Our "leave no trace" clean-up commitment * Courteous and skilled in-home service professionals * Never an over-time charge - we charge by the job, not by the hour...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

03/22/2022


todd G.

Be very careful hiring this company as they are deceitful, as other reviews have stated. Viking referred them to me and I had them out for my 4.5 year old range, the bake setting was not working. The tech had no clue what was wrong so called Viking. He stood there on my home camera, with my assistant in the room and told us that it was the burning element. He then or it could be the main board. I told him he needed to figure out which it was as I was not going to pay for one part just to find out it was something else. He assured us, again on camera and witness, that if it ended up not being the first part I would not be charged for the second part and Mr. Appliance would handle that with Viking. Based on that commitment and agreement I paid $700 for the part. Mind you one of their core values is honoring agreements, keep that in mind. The next week my assistant met him at the house, which he did not show up at the planned time. He put the element in and nothing worked, then then said, "oh I didnt see that red light on the main board so that needs to be replaced now. I got on the phone with him, as my assistant recalled that this was not what he said before. I reminded him of what he said about not being responsible if they messed up and put one part in and it ended up being another. He quickly said, well Mr. Appliance can take some money off of the second part, which is another $800. Literally feel like I was set up for this, and it was the plan the entire time to get me for both parts. I told him no I was not paying for that and that I would call the Owner. I called the office and of course could not speak to the Owner, Beverly I think. I spoke to Amy, who was empathic and felt bad about what had happened. She assured me the Owner would call me, that never happen in two weeks. I have called two more time and the Owner literally will not even respond to the situation she created. Well I am not going to put up with this and being an Attorney, I know what to do. I have already spoken to management at Viking who are opening a case, given the tech is trying to blame them now. So they are involved and have asked for the part that was removed. They were to leave it and now I found out they took it and will not return it. I am also filing a complaint with their parent company, already filed and spoke to a rep from there today. Obviously will be providing this review on every site possible and am preparing my case to take them to court, where I will be asking for additional compensation for the burden and failure to assist timely. I will not drop this, this company has done this to too many people. If they respond, I will update review, but clearly they only care about scamming customers in Columbus. DO NOT USE THEM!!

Description of Work
Repair 4.5 year old Viking Range

Category appliance repair

1.0

10/19/2021


Cara T.

Lost lots of food because they thought it was one problem and turned out to be a leak that they could never locate. Waste! Won't stand by their work or diag!

Description of Work
Techs throw parts at the problem - could have replaced the entire fridge

Category appliance repair

1.0

09/29/2021


Elicia H.

We have had this company out 4 times in the last month and the washing machine still isn't fixed. We are $1000 into this and Alexis who answers the phone is the rudest person in Ohio. I highly do not recommend this company. We are in the process of retaining legal assistance, filing a complaint with the BBB and disputing our credit card because they are refusing to fix the washing machine on a day that is convenient for us. UPDATE: Small Claims court as filed today in Preble County, Oh due to no response! Pictures are included of the shape they left my washing machine in when leaving the home.

Description of Work
Washing Machine Repair

Category appliance repair

5.0

05/01/2018


Henrietta M.

It went well, except he did not have the part and had to come back. He did explain why and it is understandable they can't carry everything. I would hire him again. Checked on google, as to how much it should cost for this to be replaced, they were right on with the cost. The part has a warrenty of a year. He e-mailed receipt, never received, asked for snail mail, never received, have my credit card bill for proof. I could have done it myself after watching him, but don't have the strength.

Description of Work
Replace ice maker on refrigerator.

Category appliance repair

5.0

10/16/2017


Melissa B.

Great. Text of photo of technician and time they'd arrive before hand. Very quick and informative while there.

Description of Work
Dryer making high pitched noise and balancing of washer even though level.

Category appliance repair

5.0

03/24/2015


Michael H.

Our gas stove had suddenly stopped lighting, so we scheduled Mr Appliance to come take a look. Technician arrived within the specific timeframe, was professional and courteous. After a quick inspection, she saw that the starter needed replacing, so had to order the part and return a couple of days later to do the install. Stove has been working perfectly ever since.

Description of Work
Replaced starter on gas stove.

Category appliance repair

2.0

09/29/2014


donna M.

Not well. Our dryer is 4yrs old., and not heating ( we are only 2 people ). Told we needed thermostat and another fuse. Cost would be 379.00! Paid my bill and parts were obtained.On rethinking the high cost, decided to check into home repair. Took both parts to large Dayton parts supplier and was told only one part was faulty. Cancelled the next call and was charged a 25.00 restocking fee. Very disappointed in company, although receptionist was nice. We repaired the dryer for 120.00, plus the 79.00 initial charge, which I expect

Description of Work
assessed problem with clothes dryer

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your response. After reviewing you information I am aware that you replaced the defective part, unfortunately that was repairing only the symptom. The parts house can only tell you if something is shorted or has continuity. Many times the reason the failure occurs is because of additional parts that may be working but are out of tolerance. When those fail the entire unit needs to be looked at as a hole. The repairs quoted were based on Manufacturer specifications. I am sorry the technician was unable to properly explain to you the reason for the repair. Hopefully you were able to have the vent cleaned as this creates 80-90% of this failure. Sincerely, Mr. Appliance
4.0

06/10/2014


Angela H.

They were on-time, but the first repair did not fix the problem. They had to come back with a supervisor to complete the job.

Description of Work
Repaired refrigerator.

Category appliance repair

2.0

04/24/2014


Tim B.

Upon my initial call I expressed concern regarding the removal of the dishwasher across my wood floors, was assured protection was always used and not to be concerned. Took a day off from work to meet the technician, 15 minutes after he arrived he had the problem identified and had to order the part, scheduled follow-up call for the next week. Took another day off to meet the technician, before the work began the technician pointed out a spot on the floor, about 1/4" long that he was not to be responsible for causing, I agreed and confirmed that they would be protecting the floor, I went off to work in my home office. Approximately 45 minutes later I was called and told the repair was complete but there was an issue, when the dishwasher was removed it gouged and took a chunk out of the floor(not thrilled at this point that twice I had asked and gotten confirmation protection would be used). The technician took pictures and contacted his manager, he collected his tools, I paid the bill and off he went being told I would be contacted that day by the manager to have their "floor guy" assess and repair the damage. No contact for five days until I contacted them by email, the response was that he has been trying to contact the "floor guy". Told me he would have him contact me that day or the next, nothing. Inquired again responding to his email asking if there was an update, still nothing to date. It is now over a week since the repair with no response to the floor damage. I now have lost two personal days from work, will have to take another to accommodate the floor repairman. The only upside is that the dishwasher now works, all in all not worth the money and headache at this point.

Description of Work
Replaced the pumps

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

The customers comments are accurate. Our technicians were dispatched to diagnose and determine what was causing the problem with his dishwasher. We carry a very large inventory of parts in an attempt to repair appliances on our first visit, but this is not always possible and a return call has to be arranged in order to complete the repair. We issue a two hour time frame appointment in order to try and accommodate our customers work schedules. We cannot be held responsible for the time off required to facilitate a repair, we strive to minimize any inconvenience. We also offer the best warranty on repairs in the appliance repair industry, one year part and labor. Our technicians make every attempt to protect our customers property while doing a repair. We use floor covering mats and tool mats while doing repairs. Unfortunately accidents do happen, but our technicians identified the damage and we took responsibility. I called and spoke with Mr. Baker and informed him I was in contact with a floor repair specialist to have the floor repaired. I gave all the information to the floor company and was assured the customer would be contacted and the issue resolved. The floor company did not follow through and Mr. Baker was never contacted. I should have been more proactive in following up and I did not. When I got an email from Mr. Baker informing that he was still waiting, I immediately called a different company and made arrangements. The new company called Mr. Baker the very same day, but had to leave a voice message. I have since spoken to Sandi at the flooring company and she assured me the appointment would be made. I also have been contact with Mr. Baker and have offered a compensation for his lost work time and frustration during this event. Mr. Baker has agreed to the compensation and I believe this issue is resolved. We are still waiting for the floor repair to be done, but it should be completed shortly.
5.0

01/17/2014


Vivian K.

He was able to diagnose the problem right away. They were also very polite, neat, and cleaned up well after themselves. I was very impressed and they explained everything thoroughly to me. They also said they would come back if there were any problems.

Description of Work
They repaired the refrigerator.

Category appliance repair

5.0

11/08/2013


VICTORIA K.

We used MR APPLIANCE in Dayton. Our washing machine would not drain. We called and they were able to fit us in that same day. They explained the pricing over the phone. We would pay a service charge if we did not have them repair our washer, but one flat exact rate for the repair. The repair woman came promptly and figured out the problem in about 10 seconds. She then fixed the problem quickly and suggested we replace the hoses leading to the machine. We had never done this so replaced them. The price was very good for what we needed. i would recommend them and will use them again if I ever need anything.

Description of Work
Washing machine tub would not drain.

Category appliance repair

5.0

11/01/2013


Nicholas Z.

Overall, I was very pleased. On Monday the company confirmed my appointment via e mail and the technician sent a text message to my phone indicating he would be here very soon. He arrived within 15 minutes. Communication was excellent. He diagnosed the problem quickly, provided me an estimate and I authorized the work. The part was not available and had to be ordered and the technician thought it would be Friday before he could return with the part to complete the repair. He stated someone would call to set up the next appointment. Unfortunately, I never received any call on Thursday; but Friday morning, I checked my e mail and was surprised to see an appointment was scheduled between 7:30-9:30. I had a Dr appointment and my wife was just getting ready for a 10:00 appointment herself. I called Dr Appliance to voice my concern about making an appointment without first calling me. Obviously, something slipped through the crack. Notwithstanding the inconvenience, had it not been for a relatively straightforward repair, we would have had to re-schedule. Having said all this I would still call upon Mr Appliance in the future. Why? The technician was very prompt, courteous and professional. Before he entered the house, he put on shoe protectors to keep everything clean. He did a good job at the repair and gave us helpful hints to improve our dishwasher performance.

Description of Work
Replaced upper portion of door panel of Maytag dishwasher. Latch broke

Category appliance repair

5.0

03/22/2012


Evelyn S.

We found Mr. Appliance via an internet search and entered our zip code to find our location. The website was very informative and easy to navigate. We called and described our issue and had an appointment scheduled a few day later (I called on a Friday). They called us when the tech was in route to your house. He had an ID with a picture and drove a Mr. Appliance truck. He also brought carpet to keep the area clean. In a very short time he found the issue and gave us a few options of the type of replacement parts to be installed. (Inexpensive to expensive) He did mention other services for future consideration, but did not make a hard sell. If I was not interested he said OK He fixed the dryer quickly and cleaned up afterwards. He took time to describe what he did and insured that we were happy with the service before he left our home. He also gave us a number to call just in case we had an issue after he had gone. They did not charge a flat service call rate (like sears) and only charge for the time he was here and working. Yes it cost more that doing it yourself, but it was fare.

Description of Work
Gas dryer had stopped heating and was making strange sounds.

Category appliance repair

5.0

01/20/2012


Bill K.

They were very well at there job. They are a professional company.

Description of Work
They fixed our all in one washer and dryer. They have fixed them both. They came out quick.

Category appliance repair

5.0

01/19/2012


Gregg E.

This is my third experience with Mr. Appliance, and so far, I am very happy with them. We had a clothes dryer that was not heating and so called Mr. Appliance. They fit us into the schedule the next day, when there was a cancellation that opened up the schedule. Fred, the technician is very friendly and a great representative for Mr. Appliance. He diagnosed our problem and replaced the overheat cutoff switch. Dryer worked upon Fred's departure. However, that night we tried drying clothes, and once again, no heat. Fred returned the next day and noted that he had mistaking replaced the switch with the wrong unit. He promply fixed the mistake and apologized for the inconvienance. I really appreciate his honesty, friendly attitude and prompt service. Everyone makes a mistake sometimes. It is how you deal with correcting your mistakes that makes the difference between true professionals and hacks. Fred is a true professional.

Description of Work
Clothes dryer would not heat. High heat cutoff switch was replaced.

Category appliance repair

1.0

12/26/2011


Patrick B.

Never call this company...they are not honest.

Description of Work
My side-by-side refrigerator quit working - no cold- no freezer- right before the holidays. I found Mr. Appliance on Angies List with a very good rating. I contacted them and they quickly returned my call. A technician arrived on schedule and I paid the diagnostics fee of $69.71. The tech then told me that I would need a new compressor and that it would cost ~$650. He told me he could be back the next Monday to replace it. I told him I would think about it. That weekend, I did some research and found that compressors do not often fail -especially since the refrigerator was only 4 years old. I went behind the refrigerator, reached behind the compressor and pulled the starter out...this took less than two minutes. I picked up a new starter the next day and replaced it in less than 5 minutes. I then contacted Mr. Appliance for a refund of my bogus diagnostics fee...they did not return any of my phone calls or emails. This company is a rip-off.

Category appliance repair

5.0

12/14/2011


Matthew T.

We used them maybe about a year ago to repair my dryer. We had a bad taste with the company that we purchased our appliance from and we found out that we had to call them to get their team to call Mr Appliance to come out. Now we are siding with them to get reimbursed for it because they said that we had to do it in a timely manner. There is not really a thing in their contract that says that says that anything has to be done within a certain time frame. As far as Mr Appliance goes, the only thing would be was that when we told them that we had this other company that they should have told us that we probably need them to come back through them.

Description of Work
We use Mr Appliance for appliance repairs. The last time we used them was 2 or 3 weeks ago and they came out and looked at it and we decided against it.

Category appliance repair

5.0

10/18/2011


Gabrielle C.

They were gone in under an hour. They actually offered to let me watch while they fix it but I didn't thinking it would take forever but it just took 20 minutes.

Description of Work
I used the service of Mr Appliance in August to fix heat damage to my dryer. They replaced everything.

Category appliance repair

5.0

09/27/2011


Gregg E.

Mr. Smith had to make two trips to get this job done, because Maytag had shorted us a sufficient length of flexible vent tubing to complete the job. Mr. Smith went above and beyond by contacting American Home Shield and explaining to them that this was Maytag's fault and should not be charged to us. I greatly appreciate his doing this, as they were not listening to me. He was very professional, pleasant to talk to and went above and beyond to ensure we were satisfied. He is a great representative for Mr. Appliance.

Description of Work
Mr. Appliance technician Dana Smith installed a Gen Air down-draft range in our home. This range was a warranty replacement through American Home Shield.

Category appliance repair

5.0

07/28/2011


Daniel N.

The technician showed up on time, performed the work in a timely manner and was very professional. I would not hesitate to use this service again in the future.

Description of Work
Diagnosed and repaired maytag dryer making loud squealing noise. Replaced belt and roller bearings and installed a complete new aluminum vent system.

Category appliance repair, dryer vent cleaning

3.0

10/04/2010


Jeremy R.

I wasn?t thrilled with them. They had to come out multiple times. It is still not resolved. They dishwasher works, but they didn?t do a good job when they put it back. There were some stuff left out and the power cord was pinned to the machine. They had to come back and redo it. They still didn?t finish the sound buffer that is on the bottom. I have decided to fix the issue myself. They came out the day I called them. They came out the next day when I called them about the problem. They were very polite and nice. They put their booties on when they came into the house to avoid dirtying the floor.

Description of Work
Mr. Appliance did some work in our dishwasher about a month ago.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

At Mr. Appliance we strive to live by our "Code of Values" and treat other people the way we would like to be treated. I am sorry for the way you felt about the service. We stand behind what we do and wish you would have contacted us sooner to help resolve the issue. Please feel free to contact me so we can discuss some options. Sincerely, Dana Smith
5.0

05/18/2010


Wendy M.

Everything went very well. I had been afraid that I would have to purchase a new refrigerator so I was very happy to just pay the 69.95 service charge instead.

Description of Work
My refrigerator was making a loud rattling sound. I called Mr. Appliance on Monday afternoon and got a Tuesday appointment. The service tech was prompt. When he arrived the refrigerator was not making the sound. He waited and worked with it for about 20 minutes before the sound started. He quickly located the source and made the repair. He was also willing to wait while I cleaned the area under the refrigerator.

Category appliance repair

5.0

03/03/2009


Christine F.

On three seperate occasions I've had appliance failures (range, microwave, and washing machine). The motherboard of my range needed to be repaired. The controller on my washer was replaced. The power supply was replaced on my mircowave. The repairs were made through my home warrenty company - so I only paid the deductable each time. However, if I had to pay the full cost of repair I would be well over $1,000 by now (mostly due to parts the new motherboard along was like $300 and the washer controller was about $400).

Description of Work
On three seperate occasions I've had appliance failures (range, microwave, and washing machine). The motherboard of my range needed to be repaired. The controller on my washer was replaced. The power supply was replaced on my mircowave. Mr. Appliance has worked with my home warrenty company to make the necessary repairs. The repairmen are always professional and prompt. They wear booties inside my home to ensure that flooring is not dirtied/scuffed/soiled. They are great with my dogs and never make me feel uncomfortable to be alone in my home with them. I have always recieved excellent service from the Mr. Appliance support staff (schedulers, receptionists, etc.). I will continue to use Mr. Appliance for all my appliance repair needs.

Category appliance repair

5.0

08/15/2007


Elaine C.

Dana (Mr. Appliance, "Appliance Specialist") had unmatched customer service skills. Very professional. My husband commented watching and listening to Dana was like watching a commercial. Dana took time to check and point out potential problems outside of the washing machine in our home. We were very impressed.

Description of Work
Washing machine was only three years old and not working. Thank goodness for extended warranties. A new control board had to be installed.

Category appliance repair

4.0

06/30/2005


KRISTY F.

THE COMPANY WASNT ON TIME,BUT DID A GOOD JOB FIXING IT AND WAS VERY FRIENDLY AND RESPECTFUL.THE PRICE WAS NOT TOO MUCH AND WAS THE CHEAPEST I COULD FIND ANYWHERE ELSE.

Description of Work
A REPRESENTATIVE FROM THE COMPANY CAME TO MY HOUSE TO FIX MY FRIG. THEY HAD TO REPLACE AROUND 3 PARTS.

Category appliance repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Neli Virtual Appliance Repair

    COVID-19 SAFE VIRTUAL SERVICE. Virtually diagnose and/or repair your appliances and HVAC units today without anyone stepping foot inside your home! For $35 you can take control of your home appliance repairs and $50 heating and cooling via video chat with a certified technician when it’s convenient for you. Make an appointment today on our website. Neli's certified technicians will work with you to conduct either a diagnosis to find out what's wrong or a repair. You will use Neli’s advanced video chat technology during your appointment. Schedule your appointment today at nelihome.com or call us at (833) 876 0900!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Neli Virtual Appliance Repair on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Check
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Appliance Repair

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Mr. Appliance of West Central Ohio

    How is Mr. Appliance of West Central Ohio overall rated?

    Mr. Appliance of West Central Ohio is currently rated 4.2 overall out of 5.

    What days are Mr. Appliance of West Central Ohio open?

    Mr. Appliance of West Central Ohio is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Mr. Appliance of West Central Ohio provide

    Mr. Appliance of West Central Ohio accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Check

    Does Mr. Appliance of West Central Ohio offer free estimates?

    No, Mr. Appliance of West Central Ohio does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Mr. Appliance of West Central Ohio offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Mr. Appliance of West Central Ohio does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Mr. Appliance of West Central Ohio offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Mr. Appliance of West Central Ohio offers a 10% senior discount.

    Does Mr. Appliance of West Central Ohio offer emergency services?

    Yes, Mr. Appliance of West Central Ohio offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Mr. Appliance of West Central Ohio?

    Yes, Mr. Appliance of West Central Ohio offers warranties.

    What services does Mr. Appliance of West Central Ohio offer?

    Mr. Appliance of West Central Ohio offers the following services: Appliance Repair