Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Klotzbach Custom Builders & Remodelers

Founded 2002 • With Angi since February 2006

4.0

(16) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4486 W. 220th Street

Fairview Park, OH 44126

Description

If you are looking for a professional and reliable remodeling company to complete work on your home, you came to the right place. Klotzbach Custom Builders is ready to offer you the extraordinary custom design, quality craftsmanship, and superior service homeowners deserve. Our commitment to

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

07/31/2017


Donna S.

You have to work around their schedule to get an appointment for an estimate.he then shows up at your house spend five minutes with you hands up his propaganda package and you never hear from him or see him again save your time go somewhere else

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Like to start by saying we never met with the Mrs., but we did mee t with the Mr. He asked us to do a partial job, he wanted to work with us to in his words " save him money." We would not agree to that since we state l licensed and we woulkd be held accountable for any work he may have done. Apparently quality is not whgat he is looking for, it's cost. I am sure he found out that professional contractor's will not risk their licenses or reputations so that someone can save a few dollars. I apologize it this offends him but it's life. If he would like to slander this company for being professional and looking out for all concerned, so be it. It just proved that we made the right choice by choosing not to work for this couple. If anyone who has read this review is interested in reading what our company is really like t o work with, please read some of our past reviews where we have actually done work for the homeowners. We cannot control what people may fraudulently write about us, but we can control the quality of the perople we work for and the quality of or staff and products. My apologies to everyone who had to suffer through this ridiculous review. Social medi a is just becoming a [Member Information Removed] for pe ople to slander others from the saferty of their homes. I'm sure some will find this response inappropriate but it's the truth. Once again my apologies.
5.0

04/23/2016


michael M.

First I would like to thank steve klotzbach an his crew for making us feel very comfortable with them in our home for the I'mprovements that they were doing to our kitchen , his crew was very respectful courteous when they left everyday the house was clean an neat . I would highly recommend them to do future home improvements . thank you five stars to steve an your crew *****

Description of Work
completely gut the whole kitchen , new drywall cabinets ceiling fans can lights flooring an tiles can lite switches counter tops sink an back splash .

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the timne to tell others about us and our work. It was a pleasure working with you
5.0

04/23/2016


brian R.

Went great. Excellent customer care. Tons of options. We love our kitchen.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time tyo respond and tell others about us. It was a pleasure working with you.
5.0

04/23/2016


Michael G.

I had my kitchen remodeled in the experience that I had with the company was excellent steve was so polite and easy to work with the workers that came to my home were respectful and did a fantastic job with my kitchen the work was done in my budget and on time.

Description of Work
I had my kitchen remodeled in December exactly what I wanted!!

Category home remodeling

1.0

04/06/2015


Ava K.

There were so many problems with this project, it would be impossible to provide all the details here. The contract said 8-10 weeks, however, substantial completion took over 4 months. The master bath shower (tile, fixtures and glass enclosure) took over 2 months. There were so many problems with the shower tile work that three-quarters of the shower walls had to be torn out, down to studs,and started over. As a result, the waterproof membrane on the shower walls may be substantially compromised and cause problems in the future. The project, which started early last August (it is now April), has not actually been totally finished. Klotzbach has tried to charge us additional money, over the cost of the contract, which we are not responsible for. We have made every payment on time. However, because we refuse to pay these additional charges, he will not send sub-contractors in to fix problems. Klotzbach also says he will not warranty anything unless we pay the additional money. Over the course of the project, we also received calls from sub-contractors who Klotzbach did not pay. We have had to hire a lawyer for advice and to protect us from liens and from Klotzbach. I would never recommend Klotzbach Custom Builders and Remodelers, under any circumstances, for any job.

Description of Work
Tear out and remodel of master bathroom; Added a new bathroom in the basement

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Klotzbach Custom Builders is sorry to read that this customer remains unsatisfied with our work. First, Klotzbach Custom Builders adamantly denies the allegation that we failed to pay our subcontractors. All obligations to our subcontractors were satisfied on this contract as well as all other projects we construct. Secondly, we encourage everyone who hires us, or any contractor, to carefully review and understand the written contract before signing. The written contract provides important information regarding the consequences of changes and how unexpected issues or differences will be addressed. Klotzbach Custom Builders insists on a written contract for all projects. Klotzbach Custom Builders will work with you to ensure we have a shared understanding of the contract terms before signing the contract. When you hire Klotzbach Custom Builders, you can be assured that we will uphold all of our obligations as defined in the written contract.
2.0

05/27/2014


Cindy R.

Company began demolition before the custom made vanity and shelving unit were delivered. Remodel took 12+ weeks and much of the time was waiting for custom made vanity. During this 3 month time period, the bathroom was marginally functional. Custom made vanity arrived and was too large for room. Contractor demanded to move toilet to accommodate the vanity that was too large, rather than getting custom made vanity that fits. In checking options to move the toilet, contractor caused toilet to leak through and into the half bathroom below, on main floor of the house. Result of toilet leak is damage to ceiling, light fixture, wall and floor of the half bath on main floor. Granite counter top installed with 3 holes drilled, although faucet selected 3 months ago only needs 1 hole drilled. Tub fixtures installed, but the drain and handle were not replaced, so mismatched fixtures in shower. Pictures of all are attached. UPDATE on August 13, 2014. Work is still not completed, so the remodel is now at 27+ weeks. Company is waiting for appropriately sized custom vanity and granite countertop. Repairs to the half bath on first floor have not taken place yet, with no explaination as to why. Pictures of how bathroom looks at this time are attached.

Description of Work
Klotzbach was hired for a total bathroom remodeling job on full bath. Company was recommended by friend who had kitchen remodeled. Bath remodel included everything new, except tub, which was to be refinished. New floor, walls, lights, toilet, vanity, sink, faucets.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Klotzbach Custom Builders is very sorry that this customer was unhappy with our services. We but everything we do in writing, but sometimes that just isn't adequate. The special order cabinets couldd not be order until after demolition because they were to be recessed into structure masonry wall. The homeowner was well aware of this fact and approved the fact that it would be best to see what was inside the wall prior to ordering to ensure the cabinetry was ordered correctly. They were made clear that this would extend the length of the project. The homeowner also provide us with specifications for the vanity cabinet. WE informed them that plumbing would need to be adjusted to provide them with the style cabinet she provided us in a picture. She also provided the width in her picture as well as approved the drawings for the cabinetry prior to ordering. While waiting for the cabinetry, we finished the bathroom per the specifications agreed to by both parties. The homeowner made selections for all fixtures, tiles, trim paint colors etc. The bathtub was to be refinished so we did not want to replace the overflow until after refinishing due to the fact the the chemicals used in refinishing the tub would damage the finish of the new drain and overflow. The picture provided, was taken prior to refinishing the tub. We did set the toilet in the remodeled bathroom while waiting for the cabinetry to arrive. We installed the new unit to the existing location and flange. The toilet did leak shortly there after. Upon inspection, it was determined that the existing plumbing was faulty and needed to be repaired. The homeowner had a family friend repair the plumbing. The plumbing as to be replaced by us when we altered the location of the flange to center the toilet properly on the wall with the cabinet. We also set a pedestal sink with faucet and mirror so they had a fully functional bathroom while waiting for these special order items to arrive. Cabinetry arrives and we proceed to finish project. Homeowner decides that she does not want the toilet flange altered since she paid someone to repair it. Without altering flange as specified, cabinet would not work. The cabinet had to be altered. The granite top was ordered to fit the larger cabinet, it had to be re-ordered. The faucet ordered for the larger sink had to be re-order because the sink was made smaller, hence the picture below. The cabinetry arrived early April and after the changes made we finished the project up late April, not August. The balance of the pictures below were taken prior to us finishing and completing a punch list as require by our contract. I can guarantee that the project was finished correctly and as specified in the agreed upon contract. We agreed to make the changes for the homeowner in order to finish the project. We are sorry that this homeowner was dis-satisfied with the service she feels she was provided. We were in constant contact with her husband throughout the entire project. We were confident that the husband was very clear on what the plan was and what they agreed to. The pictures below show the project as it progressed, but does not give an accurate accounting of the circumstances that occurred. If there were pictures provided showing the finished project I'm sure that you would see that that final project was of the highest quality.
3.0

10/30/2013


Dave D.

Owner of the company came to my house to quote a price to remodel my kitchen. The owner was nice but I can tell he was upset I had no interest using him as a "middle man" for my granite countertops, cabinets and tile floor. I received the estimate about two weeks later and wasn't impressed with his quote. It was about triple the price from what my other 4 contractors quoted me. I wasn't impressed with the company.

Description of Work
Owner came to my home and gave me an estimate to remodel my kitchen.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

We were called to [Member Name Removed] home and asked to provide him with an estimate. [Member Name Removed] knowing we are a general contractor explained that he wanted to provide the materials for the project and we would provide the labor. He was informed that with us, that would not be possible but we would provide him an all inclusive proposal to complete the work he required. Knowing the line of work [Member Name Removed] is in, I would have believed he would know the difference between a handyman and a General Contractor. General contractors are much more experienced, knowledgeable, insured and professional than your everyday handyman, hence the price difference. Your average General Contractor will not warranty materials provided by others. Certain quality standards are also expected when hiring a General contractor and this cannot be achieved by installing sub-standard or material provided by others. We appreciate [Member Name Removed]'s review of our company and we hope everyone reading understand the difference between Klotzbach Custom Builders and a handyman. We can guarantee our services as well as warrant them..
4.0

06/15/2012


Linda B.

Steve Klotzbach was professional as were most of his workers. In my opinion one worker was not very professional, nor punctual which I related to Steve. As for the others they were courteous, respectful, and knowledgeable. The work they did was quality work,and the price fit into my budget for the job. It took approximately 10-12 weeks to complete the job which was within the projected time. However, things really slowed down after the first 3-4 weeks, and I would have liked them to move along quicker. This was my first large construction project so I really don't really know if that's how projects usually go.

Description of Work
I had a master bath added onto the second level of my home off of my bedroom, over an existing sunroom.

Category remodeling

4.0

07/22/2011


Sebastiano S.

Overall it went pretty well. When I went to visit Steve in North Olmsted, he showed me a lot of samples of different flooring, baseboards, and paint swatches. After picking out the materials for the bathroom, I gave him the non-refundable downpayment of $500. Shortly thereafter he called me to schedule the remodel. It took roughly 4 days to complete all tasks (I was very pleased they got everything done in 4 days!!). Since the work was done during the week while I was at work, I gave Steve a key so that his crew could get into my place. Even though I received a $500 Angie's List discount from Steve, I still think I overpaid for the work (example. $125 to buy 3 door hinges and a doorknob and replace on the bathroom door), but I'm still pleased with the work. A bit more attention to the cleanup after the remodel would've been nice (ex. the bathroom door is located between my bed room and hallway and some paint splashes were on the carpet when the bathroom door was painted, a small paint chip on the hallway wall next to the bathroom entrance that wasn't there before the remodel, gray paint splashes on the bathroom floor from the painting of the bathroom walls), but these were very small items that I took care of so it wasn't a big deal. I definitely wouldn't let those things deter anyone from using Klotzbach Builders.

Description of Work
I live in a one bedroom apartment-style condo and I wanted the bathroom remodeled. The bathroom is very tiny, roughly 33 square feet (74 inches length x 57 inches width)...The work that was done: new toilet, new vanity, replace walls around bathtub and re-tile walls, new flooring and baseboards, skim coat walls, paint walls and ceiling, replace bathroom exhaust fan, replace bathroom door hinges and knob, hang bathroom mirror and medicine chest. In addition to the bathroom, I needed a few other things done such as install two ceiling fans (bedroom and living room), repair condo entrance door to allow it to close properly (there was no charge).. They also hauled away the old toilet, vanity, flooring, etc. It was nice too that they left the remainder of the gray bathroom paint in case I ever need to touch up the walls.

Category drywall, handyman service, remodeling, home remodeling

4.0

05/06/2011


Matthew W.

We do not choose Klotzbach Builders for our project.

Description of Work
We received an estimate from Steve for a kitchen remodel - gutting three walls, everything new in the k itchen, refinishing fireplace, new sliders and windows. His proposal was VERY thorough and he worked hard to meet or come under budget for us. His company will be one that we look to call for estimates in the future. Selection of a contractor for this process was a very close/difficult decision.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

4.0

08/30/2010


Daniel K.

Of the three people who we had out for an estimate, he just seemed to be the most prepared.

Description of Work
Klotzbach Custom Builders & Remodelers remodeled our kitchen in 2007.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

08/22/2010


Lori F.

We had several people look at the situation and provide quotes. None had a reasonable solution, in fact some were just going to order new cabinet boxes at a very high cost. Klotzbach came in accessed the issue and quickly and effectively raised the cabinets. The work was very good as was their professionalism. My wife and I are looking at more extensive remodels in the house and will definatly have Klotzbach come in to quote the job.

Description of Work
We purchased a new home and the space allowed for the refridgerator (surrounded by cabinets) would not accomodate our new stainless steel fridge.

Category custom cabinets, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

12/01/2008


Lori F.

The process was very simple. Steve came out and gave us a quote. We were not able to be there so my mom was actually there when he gave us the quote. He arrived on time and provided a good level of detail so that we were able to make our decision. They were able to come to our house within a week to complete the work. Stan showed up as we planned at 9:00AM. He was right on time which allowed me to leave and make it to work. Before I left he said he would call when he was almost done, which he did. Our kitchen was perfectly cleaned and the work he did was fantastic. Other than the fact that our refrigerator now fits there was no way of telling that work had been done in the kitchen on the cabinets. This was a very positive experience and we have and will continue to pass along their name to friends and family.

Description of Work
We recently purchased a home and upon moving in discovered our refrigerator was too tall to fit in the slot underneath the cabinets. Stan was able to raise the cabinets up and our refrigerator fits perfectly.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

09/14/2007


Anthony M.

Very good I interviewed 3 other contractors who inspected the site. Steve at Klutzback was professional, and came prepared delivered as promised.

Description of Work
Repair work to electrical system, plumbing, drywall, cabinetry, exterior masonry, Ivy tile to "abused" condo.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, masonry, remodeling

1.0

09/06/2006


ADAM D.

I was taken for $1000. We agreed that the addition would be $40000 then he said he needed $1000 deposit to make plans. After the check cleared he said that the addition would be $63000 because of Hurricane Katrina. Long story short I asked for my money back and he said that it was non-refundable. A lot of waisted time. Don't sign anything or give him any money until you see work getting done. Oh yeah, the only plans I got from him were the same drawings I made, put into his computer. I could not even submit them to the city without a lot of extra work.

Description of Work
Addition to my house.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

THE MEMBER WAS PROVIDED WITH PRELIMINARY PLANS AND A PRELIMINARY ESTIMATE FOR REVIEW. WE WERE ASKED TO FINALIZE THESE PLANS AND WENT INTO AN ESTIMATE & DESIGN CONTRACT. THE ESTIMATE & DESIGN CONTRACT INCLUDES AMONG OTHER THINGS, FOUR HOURS OF PROJECT DESIGN CONSULTATIONS, PREPARATION OF FLOOR PLANS AND ELEVATIONS, AND SPECIFICATIONS. THE CONTRACT PRICE, IN THIS CASE $1,000, DEPENDS ON THE LEVEL OF DIFFICULTY FOR THE PROJECT. THE TERMS INCLUDE THAT THE DEPOSIT IS NON-REFUNDABLE BUT IS DEDUCTED FROM THE TOTAL PROJECT COST WHEN A REMODELING CONSTRUCTION CONTRACT IS ENTERED. THE MEMBER AGREED TO THESE TERMS AND SIGNED THE ESTIMATE & DESIGN CONTRACT. WE PREPARED THE PLANS FOR THE MEMBER HOWEVER THEY WANTED SUBSTANTIAL CHANGES THAT INCREASED THE COST OF THE PROJECT. AFTER SEVERAL MEETINGS WITH THE MEMBER MAKING CHANGES ON DESIGNS THAT WE CREATED, THEY FINALLY CHOSE THE MORE EXPENSIVE PLAN. AS WE PREPARED TO FINALIZE THE PLANS AND WAITED FOR A PLOT PLAN FROM THE MEMBER, THEY ADVISED US THEY LONGER WANTED TO GO FORWARD WITH THE PROJECT AND ASKED FOR A REFUND FOR THE $1,000 DEPOSIT. WE PROVIDED THE MEMBER WITH FAR BEYOND THE TERMS OF THE ESTIMATE & DESIGN CONTRACT AND WELL OVER FOUR HOURS OF CONSULTATIONS. WE STAND BY THOSE TERMS. WE EVEN OFFERED TO PROVIDE HIM WITH THE FINAL PLANS, WHICH TO DATE, HAVE NOT YET BEEN SEEN BY THE MEMBER.
5.0

02/21/2006


MARYANNE M.

We were very pleased with the quality of work. Very professional staff. The entire process was great. The quality of work and materials is excellent. Would highly recommend.

Description of Work
Addition to our home. Added laundry room, mud room and expanded existing kitchen.

Category remodeling, home builders, home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Chimney Guys Ohio

    Check our website for current promotions. All major credit cards accepted. Sub contracting not an option. We won't show up for another company, and only WE will show up to do work on your home. No surprises.  

    Angi Certified

    Manges Electric Co.

    With over 35 years experience we are a full service electrical company. Fully insured and licensed as a master electrician. We handle all types of electrical work and specialize in panel and service upgrades as well as nob and tube wiring. We provide free in home estimates. Let us take care of your electrical needs!  

    Angi Certified

    Pompeii's Plumbing, Sewer & Drain

    As a family owned, full service, repair, replacement, remodel and installation plumbing contractor, Pompeii’s has been in business since 1941, serving both residential and commercial markets for 77 years now. We pride ourselves in having a highly experienced and qualified staff, quality products and competitive pricing. All service technicians are fully qualified and trained to repair your problems arriving in service trucks that are fully stocked and digitally dispatched for rapid response. Our large fleet of service vehicles offers you reliable, same day and 24 hour emergency service in Lorain, Cuyahoga, Medina counties and surrounding cities. Estimates are free for new equipment. We are only one call away 440-937-6006 to schedule an appointment today. We love helping our customers and hope we can help you.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Additions, basements, bathrooms, kitchens, interior & exterior remodeling, custom carpentry, designing & building, new construction, itemized specifications, computerized plans, handymen services, electrical & plumbing.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Klotzbach Custom Builders & Remodelers

    How is Klotzbach Custom Builders & Remodelers overall rated?

    Klotzbach Custom Builders & Remodelers is currently rated 4.1 overall out of 5.

    What days are Klotzbach Custom Builders & Remodelers open?

    Klotzbach Custom Builders & Remodelers is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does Klotzbach Custom Builders & Remodelers provide

    Klotzbach Custom Builders & Remodelers accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Klotzbach Custom Builders & Remodelers offer free estimates?

    Yes, Klotzbach Custom Builders & Remodelers offers free project estimates.

    Does Klotzbach Custom Builders & Remodelers offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Klotzbach Custom Builders & Remodelers offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Klotzbach Custom Builders & Remodelers offer a senior discount?

    No, Klotzbach Custom Builders & Remodelers does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Klotzbach Custom Builders & Remodelers?

    No, Klotzbach Custom Builders & Remodelers does not offer warranties.

    What services does Klotzbach Custom Builders & Remodelers offer?

    Klotzbach Custom Builders & Remodelers offers the following services: Additions, basements, bathrooms, kitchens, interior & exterior remodeling, custom carpentry, designing & building, new construction, itemized specifications, computerized plans, handymen services, electrical & plumbing.