Hydra Basement Waterproofing

About

Founded 2005 • With Angi since November 2005

Hydra provides honest and expert information on any basement or crawl space problem you may be experiencing. If a problem does not exist we will tell you, and if it does we will provide a fair estimate for repair. Our services include basement waterproofing, foundation repair with our very own

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Veteran Owned & OperatedVeteran Owned & Operated
Se Habla EspañolSe Habla Español
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

5.0

(274) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

269

4

5

3

0

2

0

1

0

Rating Details

Price

5.0

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

basement waterproofing (247)well & water pump repair (50)drain pipe installation (31)concrete repair (30)plumbers (27)foundation repair (21)excavating (12)structural engineering (11)gutter repair (7)air duct cleaning (2)basement remodeling (1)egress window (1)
Showing 1-25 of 274 reviews
5.0

12/03/2021


KENNETH AND RACHEL C.

Excellent! They were very hard workers. To avoid tracking through our house they did most work through a basement window. They reviewed the project with me prior to starting. Then Jack hammered out the entire perimeter of the basement, removed the debris which was a lot through the window, laid the waterproof drainage pipe, made a sump pump pit and installed pump, extended its drain out to the street, added concrete which they brought in through the window, over the drain. Very neat considering the work done and it has worked excellent for the past 5 months. No water seepage at all. They also braced one crawl space wall with 8 braces. Also well done. They did extras like spray mold mitigation in the crawl space and basement space which really worked to rid the mildew smell. They hauled out some wood that was in the way. They rolled out plastic on our upstairs floors each of the 3 days that they worked. They consulted with me during the project so I fully understood the work being done and they took into consideration any suggestion I had. I am very pleased.

Description of Work
basement waterproofing and wall bracing

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $12,350

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/11/2021

5.0

03/10/2021


JEAN S.

Wonderful!! 30 minutes to replace sump pump. That is..... truck arrived, replaced sump pump and drove away. Cleaned up which is appreciated. Explained work. Excellent customer service!! One of a few contractors that doesn't make me nervous when in my house.

Description of Work
Replace sump pump

Category concrete repair, wells

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/10/2021

Images

Review for Hydra Basement Waterproofing - Whieldon ln, Etna, OH - 39240130

Service Provider Response

We are happy to know you are pleased [Member Name Removed]. Thank you for sharing!
5.0

11/18/2020


Helen L.

Hydra replaced an old faulty waterproofing system that had left us with a ton of mold in our basement. The Hydra team was excellent, and went above and beyond to make sure that all the mold was treated. They were also far less expensive than competing quotes.

Description of Work
Basement waterproofing

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/18/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

09/18/2020


Sharon K.

I heard about Hydra through a friend who enthusiastically recommended them to me, and now at the tail end of my waterproofing and sump pump installation I am writing a review to give my own enthusiastic recommendation. The team has been on time every day, very respectful, clean and thorough. Pricing is very reasonable and it is clear that they really care about their customers and about the quality of their work.

Description of Work
Waterproofing system/Sump pump installed

Category air duct cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/18/2020

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] we appreciate the stellar review!
5.0

05/26/2020


Kim D.

Mom had work done by them in her crawl space because of wetness in 2006. They installed two sump pumps. Since then one has been replaced in 2016. Mom called today because she heard loud sound. They responded the same day and there was no charge. Always very responsive, polite and very fair.

Description of Work
Checking the operation of sump pump at my mothers home

Category wells

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/26/2020

Service Provider Response

Great to hear, satisfaction is our priority! Thank you for taking the time to share [Member Name Removed].
5.0

03/21/2020


Mark K.

Noe was very professional .,Raul ,Ray ,Luis , and Josh did a great job. We had over 3 inches of rain in the last 36 hours and I was very worried about the crawl space leaking. I checked every inch of the crawl space and not one drop. This crew did an EXCELLENT job. !!Thanks to the owner Pat, Noe and the entire crew. If you need crawl space or basement waterproofing done this is the company to hire.

Description of Work
2500 ft crawl space was leaking and had a lot of water .

Category basement waterproofing, wells, drain pipe

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/15/2020

Service Provider Response

We greatly appreciate the review [Member Name Removed],great to hear you are DRY!
5.0

03/20/2020


Donna H.

Fantastic. Hydra came in and recommended we put in a perimeter drain and new sump pump. Their quote was considerably lower than other companies yet their professionalism and quality was superb. They performed the work on time and on budget. The work was performed 18 months ago, and last night we got 5 inches of rain in our area. All our neighbors have flooded basements, but ours is dry and cozy. Can’t recommend them enough.

Description of Work
We had a wet basement in a 100 year old house. We needed to remedy

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/03/2018

Service Provider Response

Great to hear [Member Name Removed],thank you for taking time to share!
5.0

10/16/2019


Amy A.

Hydra were excellent from beginning to end! We bought a home with partial foundation repair in place and a waterproofing system that wasn't working as well as we wanted it to (all from another company). After hiring an independent structural engineer to inspect the foundation work, we knew we needed more support. Hydra came out to look at our space and made suggestions on how we could support the foundation long term - and their suggestions matched that of the engineer's without Hydra having seen the report. This was evidence to me that Hyrda knew what they were doing. They also inspected the waterproofing system, sump pump, and exterior drains and did not charge us for items that we did not need. Hydra was careful, thorough, thoughtful, and kind and explained everything at each step of the process. They completed the work quickly and cleaned up the space beautifully. Pat, Noe, Miguel, and the team were professional and helpful. The price was excellent too - thousands less than what other companies have quoted!

Description of Work
foundation support & basement waterproofing

Category basement waterproofing, foundation repair

Cost $8,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/09/2019

5.0

10/15/2019


Michael G.

Absolutely the best home service repair job in years. This was a small job but they went above and beyond in their attention to detail and correcting another service providers poor quality off work (at no additional charge). Most of repair was under ground. The service team made a point of showing me the repaired drains and connections before they were covered with dirt. You learn more about the quality of work when a service provider does a small job. I would highly recommend Hydra.

Description of Work
Repair Drain Pipe

Category basement waterproofing, drain pipe

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2019

5.0

08/10/2019


Diane H.

Hydra did a fantastic job from start to finish. Noe and his team were punctual and completed the job within the agreed time and budget. The clean up was superb and the team very professional. Within days of the job we experienced two heavy rainfalls and the drain performed perfectly. Thank again to Noe and Hydra Basement Waterproofing and Structural Repair! I highly recommend this firm! Al Hunter Harrison West Neighborhood

Description of Work
Installation of linear patio drain and additional patio concrete work

Category concrete repair, drain pipe

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/10/2019

5.0

06/20/2019


PATRICIA J.

From the first contact with Hydra to the completion of the work, everyone associated with the company has been professional, responsive, and efficient. I had a small water leak problem at the base of my basement steps and along an adjacent basement wall. It occurred only during periods of very heavy rainfall and has been the only area of the basement with a water issue. Due to the problem originating under the stairs, it was difficult to identify the source and an appropriate solution. Two other companies came out before Hydra and offered a full basement drainage system with sump pump. When Noe came out to assess the problem, he was the only one of the three companies who was willing to take time to determine the source of the problem. With my permission, he removed the bottom step which revealed water bubbling from the cinderblock . He proposed a sump pump and interior drains on that wall and walls in the adjacent furnace room. I later had this partial drain system confirmed by an independent party as an appropriate solution since other areas of the basement are not showing water leakage. Since most of my basement is finished, I was very relieved that a full drain system was not needed at this time. The team that completed the work was incredibly neat and went above what I expected in a couple ways. When they dug a trench to the street for the new pipe that would carry water pumped out by the sump pump, they covered the pipe with the sod they had preserved when digging the pump line. In addition, they preserved the carpeting that covered the basement steps. I did not expect this because they had to remove several stairs to get to the wall under the stairs where the water originated. When the project was done, they put the carpeting back on the stairs; you can not tell that it had ever been disturbed. All members of the project team are personable, willing to answer questions and efficient in their work. Noe walked me through everything that had been done upon completion, asked if I was satisfied and has indicated I can contact him if I have more questions later. I've also spoken to Pat Kirby the company's owner before and after completion of the project. It is clear to me that integrity, honesty, and good customer service are guiding principles of everyone on the Hydra team. I am so grateful to the person who referred me to this company!

Description of Work
Interior drains in basement were installed along with sump pump and battery back up.

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $4,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/19/2019

5.0

03/21/2019


ALICE W T.

They performed the work promptly as soon as the weather permitted and work was done to my satisfaction.

Description of Work
New exterior drainage pipeline from gutter downspouts to get water away from my backyard

Category drain pipe

Cost $2,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/08/2019

5.0

01/20/2019


melissa M.

Sorry can't remember the cost but know it was significantly less than a few other companies we contacted. It's been ~a year and we haven't had one single problem with water or our sump pump they installed. they were great to work with

Description of Work
waterproofed our basement

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

01/05/2019


tyler C.

Pat, Noe and entire hydra crew were amazing!!! Pat was great with estimate process and gave me options based on my budget and specific needs around protecting our investments into redoing the basement. The actual work of installing the waterproofing, sump pump and exterior drainage was minimally disruptive and quickly done. I also had two i-beams installed due to some wall shifting that was discovered. A few weeks after they left I noticed a small wet spot in the basement that I texted Noe a picture of and they quickly came back and resolved at no additional cost! Would highly recommend to anyone who has water issues in their basement!

Description of Work
Water in basement due to clogged downspout and overall inadequate basement drainage original to the house from the 1950’s.

Category concrete repair, gutter repair, basement waterproofing, wells, drain pipe, structural engineer, foundation repair

Cost $6,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/25/2018

5.0

12/24/2018


hal K.

Hydra did a wonderful job for us. Pat Kirby, the owner, provided great guidance as we determined solutions for our problems. They changed around their schedule to accommodate our timing, which we appreciated. The Hydra team worked quickly and professionally plus cleaned up after their work. Things we pointed out were done immediately with no problem or nickel and diming. Noe who oversees production was responsive and pleasant. Another thing that impressed me was the crew: they were polite and friendly, energetic and had a positive attitude about the work, their coworkers and Noe. I have no doubts they will respond immediately if any pop up in the future. No reservations in recommending them!

Description of Work
Basement Waterproofing and Crawl Space Encapsulation

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/10/2018

5.0

12/06/2018


kae D.

Thank goodness for Pat, Noey, and the whole team! Our basement was destroyed...in three different ways, and it took a lot of time and determination, but Pat and his team restored the basement to perfectly, bone, dry. I got a new sump pump with backup, a whole new floor poured, and the myriad ways water was coming into my basement stopped. The Hydra folks were kind, they were helpful, they were polite. I got their name from a neighborhood discussion forum, and am so happy to recommend them on that forum, here, and anywhere. Thanks, guys!

Description of Work
Basement needed rescued from flooding

Category concrete repair, basement waterproofing, wells

Cost $1,750

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2018

5.0

11/28/2018


Linda W.

Extremely well. Very happy with the results.

Description of Work
Encapsulating crawl space

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/22/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

11/27/2018


jayne L.

First of all, let me start by saying Hydra Basement Waterproofing Co and Pat Kirby are the best!! We were very concerned when we found cracks in our basement walls and before knowing about Hydra Basement Waterproofing, we called one local basement company and they came out to do a free inspection. They made sure that both my husband and I would be home which I thought was a bit strange. They were extremely pushy and really scared us to get us under contract that night and said the price was only “good” if we signed a contract that evening for a very expensive waterproofing system. My husband and I had never felt pressure like that and were very stressed out over it. Then I started reading negative reviews about that company and found that our experience was very similar, but I won’t go into anymore details about them, except that a couple of days later, the owner came out to our house and offered a lower price still trying to get our business even though we had made it clear that we were not interested. And now most importantly, I would like to tell you about the wonderful experience we had with Pat Kirby, the owner of Hydra Basement Waterproofing! Our son knew Pat personally thru a business connection and highly recommended him for his good reputation, many years of experience, and honesty, so we decided to give him a try. He came to our house and went through every part of our basement (which the other company did not because they were too focused on getting our money), and patiently answered all of our questions and then some. He was very nice, knowledgeable and professional. He made you feel that he was here to help us and offered his honest opinion in diagnosing our problems with absolutely no pressure whatsoever. Based on his honesty, we were not made to feel any sense of emergency to enact a plan, because our problems weren’t quite as serious as we were first made to believe, and we will surely call him again when we need to. In the meantime we have peace about our situation and know what to look for in the future. It is for these and many other reasons that we wholeheartedly highly recommend Hydra Basement Waterproofing and Pat Kirby! Our experience with him was extraordinary!

Description of Work
We had noticed some new cracking in basement walls within the last couple of months of extremely rainy weather. However, we fortunately have never had any water or moisture in our basement during the 17 years we have lived in this house.

Category basement waterproofing, foundation repair

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

11/16/2018


DOUGLAS R.

This is the second job we've used Hyrda for and continue to be very pleased with their work. The production manager, Noe, spent a good amount of time looking at our issue and talked us through what was needed to fix it. The work crew arrived on time and were friendly and professional. They did an excellent job cleaning up when they were done. I have and will continue to recommend Hydra for waterproofing and basement work.

Description of Work
French drain installed along the side of our home. Additional wall guards installed in basement.

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $2,350

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/25/2018

5.0

08/14/2018


Ronald B.

Rick and his crew did a great job. Rick is very conscientious, and he was able to minimize the damage to the paneling. They put up plastic barriers to help control the dust from jackhammering the existing concrete. Also, cleaned up nicely.

Description of Work
Added 18 feet of waterproofing to existing system

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $1,620

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/31/2018

5.0

08/14/2018


Richard H.

We had estimates as high as $13,000 to run a trench half way around the basement to a sump pit and pump. By looking at the foundation walls outside at grade, the estimator from Hydra figured that our water problem stemmed from cracks in the concrete wall and they could treat those individually and end the leaking at a fraction of the cost of other foundation contractors. They cut out the drywall from floor to grade level a couple of feet on each side of the cracks.and opened a small area of the floor slab to allow the water to get to the drain tile below the floor then installed a heavy plastic sheet material to contain any water coming in the cracks..After checking the water control, they patched the floor slab. The entire project took only about 4 hours. We will get a separate contractor to repair the drywall and paint.

Description of Work
We had a couple of cracks in the foundation walls that leaked into our finished basement after a heavy rain.

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $1,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/26/2018

5.0

06/07/2018


James H.

Noe was our point of contact throughout the project. Noe performed the initial proposal/estimate, and helped guide us through the process. From the get-go, it was clear that Noe takes a feeling of personal responsibility over each project, and takes customer service very seriously. While several other contractors were only interested in talking about installing a perimeter drain, Noe looked at the situation holistically and identified that the addition of a grate drain in the sidewalk on the side of our house would be another good investment to assist with water that pooled there during rainstorms. The team of workers from Hydra was professional, coming when they said they would, covering everything in the basement with plastic to keep the dust off, as well as our floors on the main level, and cleaning up at the end of each day. The workers were responsive to our requests, and Noe continually checked in with us to make sure everything was matching what we expected. When we did have questions or requests, they were glad to make adjustments. The total work we had done was: Installation of 104 feet of interior drain pipe around basement perimeter, Installation of sump pit, sump pump pump, backup-battery Installation of grate drain in exterior sidewalk Running new drain lines from front of house to curb Installation of basement Egress Window

Description of Work
Basement Waterproofing & Grate Drain Installation, Egress Window

Category egress windows, basement waterproofing

Cost $13,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/06/2018