Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

ACTION DOOR AND WINDOW

Founded 1954 • With Angi since November 2008

2.9

(10) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

938 LORAIN BLVD

ELYRIA, OH 44035

Description

RESIDENTIAL & COMMERCIAL DOOR & WINDOW CO.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Paul T.
1.0
12/13/2018
I hired Action Door to repair a garage door. The initial service inspection had to be rescheduled a few times because of technician availability. That was kind of annoying but understandable. A part was needed to repair the garage door. When the technician came to the house, he didn't have the part. I was told a replacement would be ordered and that they would be back soon to repair the garage door. They gave me a quote and I paid half. Then they never called me back. I tried to find out when the part would arrive and when the technician would actually be able to fix the garage. Several service promises were made and never fulfilled. I gave up after a few weeks and fixed it myself. This company is a joke.
Description of Work
Garage door repair
Category
garage doors
Zackery C.
1.0
10/17/2016
On May 23, 2016 I hired Action Door and Window to replace the springs on my garage door which had literally snapped in two. During the service, it was determined that the "carriage is bad" and needed to be replaced. Everything seemed fine with the service, the company, the follow-up and the price. It is now October 16, 2016 and it appears the carriage they replaced isn't working as it should. My garage door gets stuck on the way down and the entire rail the carriage runs on is flexed. I'm now stuck opening and closing the door manually because I can't afford to hire someone else to come fix Action Window and Door's mess, which was a $324.25 job. I haven't tried calling them because they charged me a second service call fee when I had the work done initially when they had to come back a second day because they didn't have the new carriage part in stock, so I figure they'll charge me the $40.25 fee to come out and review what wasn't done correctly. A real shame, and incredibly frustrating.
Description of Work
Replace both spring and carriage.
Category
garage doors
Pat S.
1.0
12/01/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Did not honor a coupon. Rude when I spoke to the owner to resolve this.
Category
garage doors
Madeline H.
1.0
10/11/2014
My husband slipped on the brake and the car backed into the garage door and bent it out. He called this company who quoted him $73.50 for the Emergency Service Call and told him that the repairs could run $250-$350. My husband took the verbal quote to mean that our garage door would actually be FIXED for that fee. When the service man got through bending the door for 3-5 minutes the remaining 25 minutes was spent talking, looking at the door and talking about what to expect if we replace the whole door or just 2 or 3 sections of the door. More or less, it was a call more for an estimate, not to fix the door. The technician started calculating on his papers how much time it took him to make it to our house because someone gave him the wrong address, then started estimating how long it will take him to get home. He even brought up that there may be an accident, but then mentioned that for a Saturday, there shouldn't be any rush hour traffic. I thought that this was rather strange to be talking about how long his trip would be until he mentioned that WE HAD TO PAY FOR HIS TIME FROM "PORT TO PORT"! I have used many service providers, but I have never used anybody who charges $600.00 per hour to do a 5 minute repair to re-bend the door then use the rest of the time to sell us on paying $750-$1000 for another door. I ended up telling the technician to have DAVE CAVASINI, the owner of this VERY UNPROFESSIONAL, RIP OFF COMPANY to call me. I told him that I would be willing to pay the $73.50 for the first one half hour as that is what we were quoted for the service call. This company offers a 10% coupon for service. Mention coupon and your price goes UP! OUT OF ALL OF THE COMPANIES THAT I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH AND I AM IN MY MID 50'S, THIS COMPANY WINS THE AWARD FOR THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE, PRICE GOUGING COMPANY THAT I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH! $600.00 PER HOUR TO PAY FOR SOMEONE TO GET LOST AND THEN TELL ME THAT I HAVE TO PAY HIS WAY BACK? THEN I WAS TOLD TO EXPECT TO PAY AN ADDITIONAL $750-$1000 FOR THE DOOR REPAIR? BEWARE---BEWARE------BEWARE!!!!!
Description of Work
Bent door to make it functional---took approx 3-5 minutes--WANTED TO CHARGE US $300+ or $600 PER HOUR TO DO A 5 MINUTE SERVICE CALL AND A 25 MINUTE SALES CALL! BEWARE!!!!!
Category
garage doors
Michael R.
5.0
02/06/2014
.
Description of Work
.
Category
garage doors
joseph D.
1.0
03/29/2013
Sold us a garage door and installed. After installing garage door opener didn't work. It did before they came. They left with the garage door opener not working. I called them and asked them to come out and fix it. THEY WOULDN'T! I had to fix the wire they broke. Also the springs for the door are wrong - VERY hard to close. My wife can't even do it. Don't ever use them!
Description of Work
Sold us a garage door and installed.
Category
garage doors

Service Provider Response

Hi [member name removed]! We are sorry to hear about your experience with Action Door. We are Action Door and Window in Elyria, Ohio. We are not affiliated with Action Door in Brooklyn. However, we do pride ourselves on great customer satisfaction. Please feel free to give one of our sales technicians a call to better serve you! Our service manager Mike Fagan can be reached at 440-323-4401.
ROBERT H.
4.0
07/16/2011
It was a positive experience. He came out on time and did everything the way should have been done. He was done in a few hours and they are just down the street from me. He was the cheapest of a couple of other places. They did a good job.
Description of Work
Action Door of Lorain County did work for me.
Category
garage doors
JEANIE M.
5.0
04/11/2011
They did a good job with the installation and they were able to do it while I wasn't here, which worked out pretty well. The door is excellent.
Description of Work
I bought my vinyl garage door through Action Door and they installed it.
Category
garage doors
Katherine B.
5.0
03/07/2009
They are prompt, honest and their prices are fair. They did a great job.
Description of Work
We used Action door of Loran County to fix our garage door.
Category
doors
linda R.
5.0
11/12/2008
They were able to come out and repair the garage door without trying to sell us a new one. The work was good and I would hire them again.
Description of Work
They repaired a malfunction garage door that bent and was knocked off the track.
Category
garage doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    Home Exteriors Roofing, Siding and Windows

    Fast, Affordable, & Dependable. Over 35 years in business, Family Owned and operated. We specialize in the complete exterior envelope, Windows, Siding, Roofing, Gutters and Doors. What's in your future? Maybe a new roof for your home or possibly a complete exterior makeover? Talk with one of our roofing, window or siding professionals to find the action that best fits your needs. We're happy to make some repairs to buy you some time, or make a replacement if it is needed. You want a contractor you can trust, and one who has the experience to help you make some major decisions. We will listen to your goals, desires, and help alleviate any concerns. We will walk you through the process like you were one of our family.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Smart Choice Windows & More

    At Smart Choice Windows and More, our goal is to exceed all of our customers' expectations by providing them with Quality products, Professionally Installed, at an Affordable price. From start to finish, we communicate with you throughout your home improvement process. We never take short-cuts. You receive free estimates with no pressure salesmanship. Your job is done right the first time by our service and installation teams. You can deal direct with the owner. We will exceed your expectations.  

    Angi Certified

    Rogers Overhead Door

    We offer quality and affordable garage door services.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    SERVICE/INSTALL IN THE RESIDENTIAL/COMMERCIAL/INDUSTRIAL MARKETS. PRODUCTS/SERVICES INCLUDE: RESIDENTIAL & COMMERCIAL GARAGE DOORS/OPERATORS. VINYL REPLACEMENT WINDOWS. ENTRY DOORS. COMMERCIAL STOREFRONT WINDOWS & ENTRY DOORS. HOLLOW METAL DOORS & FRAMES. COMMERCIAL DOCK EQUIPMENT. GLASS BLOCK WINDOWS

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about ACTION DOOR AND WINDOW

    How is ACTION DOOR AND WINDOW overall rated?

    ACTION DOOR AND WINDOW is currently rated 2.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are ACTION DOOR AND WINDOW open?

    ACTION DOOR AND WINDOW is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does ACTION DOOR AND WINDOW provide

    ACTION DOOR AND WINDOW accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does ACTION DOOR AND WINDOW offer free estimates?

    No, ACTION DOOR AND WINDOW does not offer free project estimates.

    Does ACTION DOOR AND WINDOW offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, ACTION DOOR AND WINDOW offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does ACTION DOOR AND WINDOW offer a senior discount?

    No, ACTION DOOR AND WINDOW does not offer a senior discount.

    Does ACTION DOOR AND WINDOW offer emergency services?

    Yes, ACTION DOOR AND WINDOW offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by ACTION DOOR AND WINDOW?

    Yes, ACTION DOOR AND WINDOW offers warranties.

    What services does ACTION DOOR AND WINDOW offer?

    ACTION DOOR AND WINDOW offers the following services: SERVICE/INSTALL IN THE RESIDENTIAL/COMMERCIAL/INDUSTRIAL MARKETS. PRODUCTS/SERVICES INCLUDE: RESIDENTIAL & COMMERCIAL GARAGE DOORS/OPERATORS. VINYL REPLACEMENT WINDOWS. ENTRY DOORS. COMMERCIAL STOREFRONT WINDOWS & ENTRY DOORS. HOLLOW METAL DOORS & FRAMES. COMMERCIAL DOCK EQUIPMENT. GLASS BLOCK WINDOWS