Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Airfast Heating & Cooling

Founded 1995 • With Angi since May 1998

3.6

(49) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1701 Eastgate Pkwy

Columbus, OH 43230

Description

Heating & Air conditioning Company servicing residential and commercial customers in central Ohio area since 1995

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Shannon J.
5.0
12/09/2022
I had a great experience with Airfast Heating & Cooling!! I would definitely recommend this company for all of your HVAC and appliance servicing and repairs. They were friendly, punctual, honest and fair. I would trust them with any work I need done in the future!
Description of Work
My water heater needed to be replaced.
Category
water heater repair
Charles A.
1.0
07/27/2021
Airfast was sent out by E.S.P. and it was a disaster from the start. They didn't call me at all for two days and I finally called them and got an answering machine. No response for two more days so I called my warranty company and they notified them that I had not been contacted. They finally sent a technician to my house. The person they sent out did not check anything, only went by what I told him I thought the problem APPEARED to be. He did not touch the machine and wrote in the work performed column that I needed a control board and a door gasket. I asked him how he knew what the problem was without doing any troubleshooting. He told me that he takes the paperwork back to the company and they contact the warranty provider to authorize the repairs. I asked him again how did he know what parts are needed for the repairs since he didn't check the machine at all. He told me that he was a HVAC technician and that Airfast would send out a washing machine mechanic with the parts. He asked me for my co-pay ($15) and I told him that I would pay it when the technician came out to do the repairs because we don't even know for sure what the problem is since he didn't troubleshoot the machine. It could be the control board, a switch, a loose wire or a multitude of other problems and you can't look at a machine and magically know what the problem is for sure. He didn't even run it through a cycle, so there is no way he could know for certain what the problem(s) might be. He put on my paper that I didn't want to pay my co-pay and I wrote on the bill "until the problem is fixed". I never received a follow up call so I called back to the company a couple of days later and asked the person on the phone to speak with a supervisor. She told me that she was the office manager. I explained the situation and all she kept saying was that I had to pay my co-pay because a technician came to my house. She kept saying that she could refer me to another company and I finally took her up on it because she didn't care about getting my machine fixed, only that I needed to pay that stupid little $15 and I told her I'm not paying it until you tell me what is wrong with my machine. Bad attitude, bad customer service, and definitely a bad technician who did absolutely nothing to ascertain what the problem was with my washer. I would NEVER recommend this company to anybody and I plan on making a complaint with the BBB.
Description of Work
Repair Maytag washing machine
Category
appliance repair
Shirley J.
5.0
07/20/2017
It went very well. What I liked about it was that the man who did the repair, Doug, when he showed me the parts he took out and showed me the new parts going in - he explained what had happened to my machine instead of just blowing me off. Sometimes companies aren't very nice to older people; they'll take advantage. I've been ripped off several times. But I felt they were very open and upfront with me.
Description of Work
Repaired dryer
Category
appliance repair

Service Provider Response

we are greatly appritiated your respond and rated us at NA but if you would please rate us AAA that will be wonderfull, thank you again
Dan M.
5.0
07/10/2017
It went great. They did a great job. They showed up on time, explained everything that they were doing and were very courteous and professional.
Description of Work
They did a full heating and air conditioning tune up and check for the ac and furnace.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Devryn H.
5.0
07/10/2017
They were really sweet about everything and they didn't take that long.
Description of Work
Our air conditioning was down and they came out to fix it.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Dan U.
1.0
07/08/2017
STAY AWAY! Our home warranty company dispatched Airfast to repair the smaller of our two AC units. Airfast was easy to schedule at first and seemed to repair the unit by filling with new fluids. However, within 24 hours, I noticed that the fan on our larger AC unit failed to restart. Airfast visited again and repaired the fan. Nevertheless, our home failed to cool. Airfast came back out the following week and diagnosed that the condensers on the large unit required repair and that they would be out "that Friday" to replace the condensers. I also received a call confirming that the appointment to replace would be on Friday. I took Friday off of work. Friday came and went-no show and no call to reschedule. Meanwhile, the first AC unit went out again over that weekend. I called on Monday and the receptionist advised that I would receive a call-back by Tuesday am. No call-back. This went on for a week with my calling the next am and being told that I would be called the following am. I finally reached someone the next Friday where I was told that they had just ordered the compressors and would install the following week- after the Fourth of July holiday. I explained that was unacceptable as they had told us the installation would occur the week before. Additonally, we had received notice from our home warranty that Airfast was listing the job as completed. The Airfast rep hung up on me. I called back and was immediately hung up on again. By the time I called my home warranty company, Airfast had reached them through the vendor line and cancelled the job. In summary, Airfast failed to fix the first unit but charged me $300.00. When Airfast restarted the system, they failed to note that the fan on the second unit (which sits right next to the first unit) didn't start, which burnt out the compressors. Airfast then failed to note that the compressors were out when they attempted to repair the fan motor. I then waited an additional week and a half where they didn't even move on the file. Three weeks in June without AC. Airfast didn't fix the first issue, and damaged the second AC unit which required total replacement (@ $3,000). I had to take four days off work to deal with the company, then a week and a half of headaches with their so-called customer service. Meanwhile, the second company we used fixed the problems immediately. This company is tragically awful.
Description of Work
Air Conditioning
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Olga V.
5.0
07/07/2017
Airfast has changed our entire air conditioning unit, our heaters, and our water tank. They never arrived late, and the quality of their work was fantastic. Wonderful costumer service, they are very easily reachable. They did a great job and completely cleaned up when they were done. Fantastic service not to mention a very reasonable price. Would highly recommend Airfast!
Description of Work
Change air conditioning unit, heater, and water tank
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Dave R.
5.0
06/29/2017
I couldnt say enough about how well and detailed Dave and Glen did on my system install. Very detailed and professional those two were. They also gave me lots of knowledge about how the systems work.
Description of Work
New Heat pump and Air Handler install
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Jason M.
1.0
06/23/2017
I've never written a review of any product or company, so the fact that I'm writing this one should say something. This is hands down the worst company I've ever experienced in my life, and I've seen my share of terrible customer service. They took a month (and three missed appointments) to conclude that they misdiagnosed the problem, installed the wrong part and couldn't complete the service. They also failed to report to my home warranty company that they collected and deposited a service fee, forcing me to produce a canceled check to prove their incompetence. Bottom line, AirFast is anything but fast, reliable or honest. Don't say you weren't warned.
Description of Work
Air Conditioner repair
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
BRITTANEY M.
5.0
06/23/2017
great , I had my a/c and furnace checked out , the tech was very good explaining what he was doing
Description of Work
a/c check out
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
bonita P.
2.0
06/22/2017
On May 31st a technician came and assessed the appliances I needed fixed. No tools just looked at them, paid the $75 for the Warranty and said he would send the repairs to the warranty company. The next week I called the warranty company and they had not received the work order yet. Thursday called the company and the woman put me on hold. Said she found the work order and would put it in right now. Needed parts. Called again and finally got a answer to when someone would come fix the appliances. She gave us an appt. It was cancelled on the day they were suppose to come and do the repairs and rescheduled for another week. Three weeks from the initial , the repair individual called and said he was running late. So from 9-12 we waited, call came after 12. He took the dryer apart and changed the belt. Took the Microwave apart and changed out the part he thought was wrong with it. The microwave still did not cook when he was leaving he said he was going to put a report that the microwave could not be fixed and left. I called the warranty company no such report was received. Called the company, the woman said he wasn't at your home on wed. I said he was you rescheduled, put on hold. When she came back on I was told they hadn't gotten to it yet and If she has to keep answering the phone then she can't follow through with the work orders. She called me back and told me that she had sent the report to the Warranty company and that I would have to contact them and don't call us again. No work order was received and 4 weeks no microwave. The woman at that office is rude and seriously in over her head. The repair man was nice enough, but really. He did fix my dryer. If the warranty asked me to call them again for any repairs , I would decline.
Description of Work
Microwave and dryer needed repairs.
Category
appliance repair
Amy D.
5.0
06/15/2017
Larry and all the staff from Airfast Heating and Cooling were outstanding. From the initial call I made to the repair. They were always so professional and followed through with every expectation! This work was done through our home warranty but I'll be calling them for every hvac repair we may encounter. Larry came out 2x. The first to assess the problem and the 2nd to replace our ac unit. He was very knowledgeable, kind and descriptive!! Great job
Description of Work
Our air conditioning unit outside went out
Category
appliance repair, heating & air conditioning/hvac
ELLIOTT T.
1.0
06/05/2017
Airfast representative showed up and did a check of my AC system. Found that the damper motors needed to be replaced as the system was stuck completely open. Indicated I would get a phone call back from Airfast once parts came in. After a week I called Airfast and no one got back to me....I called 2x and spoke with Kate in the office. She indicated on a Friday morning that she would call me back. I left phone messages Friday eve and over the weekend as well as an email over the weekend. No reply. I finally called back on Monday afternoon and was put on hold by Kate. She then got back to me and indicated that my American Home Shield Warranty had been notified that Airfast doesn't work on dampers....but for some reason AHS has no record of it. I asked her why we didn't get this information last week when I called and she indicated that they had too many calls and couldn't call me back. BUT, that it was my warranty company's responsibility to call me back, not Airfast. I paid $75 to airfast...got diagnosed but absolutely no service. And, like the other's listed here on Angies list....I couldn't feel more negatively about their follow through. I would never use them again. It took two weeks to find out that they weren't going to service my house after waiting days for them to show up in the first place.
Description of Work
Repair Air Dampers on my HVAC system
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Gary S.
4.0
05/26/2017
The tech I'd identified a electrical problem with some kind of electrical Relay in the a.c. unit
Description of Work
A normal tune up on my air conditioner
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Shelley C.
4.0
05/26/2017
The technician that arrived at my home was very knowledgeable in what he was doing and explained things very well as he went along. I was very happy with the service I received.
Description of Work
Air conditioner repair
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Lesa G.
5.0
05/26/2017
It went great!!! My air conditioner is working again!!
Description of Work
Last month I went to turn my air conditioner on and it wasn't working. I called Airfast Heating & Cooling because I had heard such good things about them. Shelley and the young man with her were professional and friendly. They had my air conditioner up and running in no time. I would recommend them to anyone. Thanks Airfast!!!
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Lisa H.
1.0
06/24/2016
The technician arrived within the time frame I was quoted. Even called to say he was on his way. Stated that his report would be turned in on Friday, 6/17, since it was 5 p.m. on Thursday. Warranty company has been telling me that Airfast will submit the work by the end of the day. Five days later I'm still waiting. I have paid my deductible to Airfast. They have just started fixing appliances. I hope anyone needing furnace repair in the middle of winter or air conditioner repair in the middle of a hear wave uses someone else.
Description of Work
Service call through my home warranty company
Category
appliance repair
Andrew L.
1.0
02/12/2016
My 2nd floor furnace was only working sporadically and the warranty company sent Air Fast to fix the issue. They came out and shut off the furnace completely. Said they would be back the next day when they had a new flame sensor... 4 more days passed with me calling them multiple times a day and I couldn't get a hold of anyone. My heat was completely out in half my house and it was <20 degrees outside. Finally when they said they were coming back they mentioned it could be a more significant issue with a control panel and ordering the panel was the delay. They sent out a service manager on the next visit and he said they actually didn't order the panel and he thought it was the sensor. Air fast replace the sensor and the problem returned within a week and a half. These guys are terrible. Stay away.
Description of Work
Furnace Repair
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Adam H.
4.0
01/20/2014
After Home Guard tried contacting other heating companies on a Saturday morning for an emergency service AirFast reponded quickly and sent someone right out. The guy that came was polite and well informed. He was able to find the problem and communicate it with me. He told me he had it working for the time but needed a new motor and couldn't get one until Monday when the office opened. I didn't have to follow up, he took care of everything and was true to his word and came on Monday to replace the motor. His boss was a little short with me when I didn't answer my phone and took 5 minutes to call him back but the serviceman was more than nice to make up for it.
Description of Work
Home Guard contacted them to fix our furnace.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
MICHAEL P.
4.0
02/28/2013
Airfast identified that the furnace needed to be replaced and reported that to First American. Airfast was prompt, timely and professional with their service call.
Description of Work
We had First American Home Buyers Protection Corp insuring our home including the HVAC system. Airfast was the contractor they sent when we reported a problem with our furnace.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
MICHAEL P.
4.0
07/18/2012
Our AC unit quit working during the on's and off's of the recent electrical outage. We use a home warranty company to insurance against systems failures. Airfast called back promptly and a tech was came out next day. To repair, parts needed to be ordered and shipped in. There was confusion between office staff and tech and then communication problems between office staff and me. I needed to make repeated calls to find out the status of repair. We have a 75 year old asthmatic in the house and since the weather was HOT we needed to make constant plans to deal with the heat. It took 10 days between the diagnose and actual repair, I'm not sure the repair could have been accomplished any quicker since parts had to be ordered. Possibly office staff, understaffed. Tech's were great! One time, called ahead. Stayed until repair was correct. Puncuality and professionalism grades were do to office staff.
Description of Work
AC unit quit working. The fan on the compressor needed to be replaced.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Sue B.
4.0
10/11/2011
They installed an new thermostat and and blower. I felt that the price may have been a little high but I don't know that for a fact. The first thermostat was defective so they had to come out and replace it. They did the second service for free. If I had to do it again I would probably use a different company.
Description of Work
Installed blower and new thermostat
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Greg K.
1.0
06/25/2009
AirFast was contacted by my home warranty company because my heat wasn't working late this winter. They sent a tech out who tested the unit and told me that the "pressure on both sides of the valve were equal" and repairs needed to be made. He suggested using my emergency heat unit it was replaced. The next day, it was still cold, so thinking that my emergency heat was broke, they were sent out again. This time a different tech came out, rewired the second of the two heater strips in my air handler. This was a normal "manufacturer's setting" and was easily fixed. The heat improved and I waited a week w/o contact until I called to check on the status. I was told that someone needed to come back out to get the model/serial # of my unit so the repair could be made. As if the 1st tech didn't think to get that info when he 1st came out. A couple of weeks w/o contact went by and I called again. I spoke to a lady who told me that "the man in charge of warranty claims was out" and that he would return my call. A week went by, w/o contact, so I called again. A man told me that "the woman who handles warranty claims was out" and would return my call. A month of this goes by and I called to speak to the owner, Alex. He told me that they had no record of the original visit, only the call about the emergency heat. I told him that know nothing about HVAC so how would I know about "valve pressures" and why would my emergency heat been on in the first place. He asked if I had a copy of the service paperwork or the name of the tech. I had never received any paperwork on any of the visits and didn't make a point of it to memorize any of the tech's names. He said there was nothing he could do it I had no paperwork and told me to have another work order put in by my warrant company. After all of this time, my policy had expired. I called the warranty company, their records showed AirFast only made a claim to rewire the heater strips and all calls from the insurance company were never returned. Without any paperwork, I was told they could do nothing. I called AirFast again, and Alex blamed the insurance company and said he would send someone out and make the repair at cost. The tech came out and copied the model/serial # (they were supposed to already have this info), as if they already knew what the problem was, because normally wouldn't a company want to verify what part needs repaired? The tech's name was Sean and he didn't give me any paperwork either. He did mention there was a "high turnover rate at this company" when I explained my situation. Amazing, the lack of accountability when it's convenient. Two day's later, Alex calls back (wow! what prompt service) to tell me that they no longer make parts for my unit and gave me a quote on replacing the entire system. Imagine that!! I checked they profile w/ the Better Business Bureau and they are rated "F" w/ comments like, "failure to return calls", etc
Description of Work
No work performed.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
SUSAN C.
4.0
01/26/2009
Everything has been good. We have used them several times and they have done a good job. The last time they were here, however, they tried to sell us an air conditioner and gave us prices, but we couldn't find the company online so we did not go with them.
Description of Work
They came out and recharged the air conditioner.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
JAMES D.
5.0
08/25/2008
I originally dealt with this company when they were assigned to repair my A/C compressor unit by my home warranty company. I was impressed by them, so when it came time for our annual pre-summer A/C maintenance, I hired them. As before, the staff were professional, efficient and friendly.
Description of Work
Basic A/C checkup and maintenance.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    Plant Masonry

    Family owned. Additional contact name - Jerry Plant. Additional email - jerryplant@plantmasonry.com.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Water Heaters Now, Inc.

    Water Heaters Now! WHN WE SPECIALIZE IN REPLACING WATER HEATERS THE SAME DAY WHILE REPAIRING WHENEVER POSSIBLE. WHN offers Rheem water heater tanks but deals in all major brands of tank style water heaters. We are also a Rinnai TANKLESS dealer. WHN is locally owned and operated. WHN has been in the water heater repair and replacement business for over 15 years. We offer free estimates usually within 15 minutes. If you order by 2 PM, your water heater will be replaced the same day. Call, text, or email for a free quote within 15 minutes.  

    Angi Certified

    J & J Construction and Redesign

    We are a locally owned and operated company that values honesty and integrity and treats your home as if it were our own. We offer a variety of general contractor home improvement services that are customizable to each individual project. We specialize in remodels, but also offer a wide range of expertise for a variety of other projects. We pride ourselves on the quality of our work as well as our commitment to outstanding results. We look forward to building lasting relationships and guarantee your satisfaction. Pleas call us anytime day or night we can help you with any problem that may happen. We can be reached at call or text any time JEREMY 614-795-1850 JASON 614-816-3710. Thank you for the opportunity to work for you!  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Central Heating & Cooling, Air Conditioning, Heat Pump, Air Duct Cleaning, Humidifier, Duct Work & Commercial Roof Top Equipment. Fuel Oil, Geothermal, Water Heaters, PTAC Units, Ice Machines, Coolers, Freezers.

    Services Not Offered

    Boilers, Chillers & Window Air Conditioners.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Airfast Heating & Cooling

    How is Airfast Heating & Cooling overall rated?

    Airfast Heating & Cooling is currently rated 3.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Airfast Heating & Cooling open?

    Airfast Heating & Cooling is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    What payment options does Airfast Heating & Cooling provide

    Airfast Heating & Cooling accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Airfast Heating & Cooling offer free estimates?

    Yes, Airfast Heating & Cooling offers free project estimates.

    Does Airfast Heating & Cooling offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Airfast Heating & Cooling does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Airfast Heating & Cooling offer a senior discount?

    No, Airfast Heating & Cooling does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Airfast Heating & Cooling offer emergency services?

    Yes, Airfast Heating & Cooling offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Airfast Heating & Cooling?

    No, Airfast Heating & Cooling does not offer warranties.

    What services does Airfast Heating & Cooling offer?

    Airfast Heating & Cooling offers the following services: Central Heating & Cooling, Air Conditioning, Heat Pump, Air Duct Cleaning, Humidifier, Duct Work & Commercial Roof Top Equipment. Fuel Oil, Geothermal, Water Heaters, PTAC Units, Ice Machines, Coolers, Freezers.

    Are there any services Airfast Heating & Cooling does not offer?

    Boilers, Chillers & Window Air Conditioners.