The House Doctors

About

Founded 1975 • With Angi since August 2000

✨ The House Doctors : A Full Service Company - Office # 216-376-9014 & Mobile # 216-376-9014. We Are A Complete professional contracting company , in which we cover all home & commercial needs ! No subs. Cost is determined by the job. Free estimates & no travel charges. Extra charge for after-hours service. Award winning ! A family owned / operated business since 1975. Additional contact name - Robert J Vecchio Sr. Email Address ; mikehousedoc@gmail.com We do communicate via : Phone , Emails & Texting. We accept ; checks , cash , money orders , & sometimes credit cards. We sometimes will also offer financing for jobs $ 3,000.00 & above. We do offer 10% senior citizen discounts ( must request upon original estimate ). Please put your trust in us , to get your projects done professionally right ! Thank you , The House Doctors. Visit our website at : www.the-house-doctors.com...

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

Roofing, Doors, Painting - Interior & Exterior, Plumbing

+1 more images

Verified Reviews

4.5

(2616) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

1821

4

248

3

159

2

114

1

274

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.6

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.6

Read reviews by category

handyman (1387)house cleaning (197)interior painting (162)house painting (146)plastering (103)home remodeling (65)lawn & landscaping (9)hardscaping (6)basement remodeling (5)patio enclosures (5)garage building (1)drywall (344)
Showing 1-25 of 2616 reviews
5.0

07/31/2022


Vinay P.

I hired The House Doctors for a variety of projects. I had water damage from a roof leak as well as some old security systems that I wanted removed. Mike and his team did an excellent job fixing the water damage, repainting my ceiling, and all of the electrical work required for the security system removal. He also fixed a broken toilet. I'd hire him again in a heartbeat for any work I'll need done in the house. Communication was great and they did a thorough job with all of my projects.

Description of Work
Handyman/Plumbing/Ceiling Repair and Painting

Category appliance repair, electrician, handyman service, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/27/2022

5.0

06/03/2022


Sharon T.

I originally hired House Doctors to do a deep cleaning of a newly purchased home. They did an absolutely amazing job! I have hired them for regular cleaning services plus an occasional deep clean. I've been extremely happy with the service. They have been reliable, professional and accommodating. I've used their services now for several years and rely on them. Highly recommended!

Description of Work
Deep Cleaning & Regular House Cleaning Services

Category blind cleaning, house cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/03/2022

5.0

11/26/2021


Marla C.

I can't recommend House Doctors highly enough. Lori and her crew have been cleaning my house for three years and I've been 100% satisfied every time. They go out of their way to make sure your needs and requests are met and that includes fitting you into their busy schedule. I also want to mention that if you're moving or just packing things away to store in your home, House Doctors provides that service. Recently I moved and had House Doctors pack for me. This was something I couldn't handle on my own and they stepped in. Not one items was broken or chipped. Talk to Mike or Lori about the services they provide -- you won't be sorry.

Description of Work
House cleaning, packing, moving

Category handyman service, house cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/15/2021

5.0

08/23/2021


Frank A.

We love The House Doctors and use them whenever we have a home improvement project to do. Mike, the owner, is extremely responsive and really cares about the work his team does. Darrell handled the painting for all of the projects (he had done our front porch earlier, so we had confidence in his professionalism and work). We also had a large hole in the ceiling of a closet that they repaired superbly. It's like the hole didn't exist. Oh, and they installed a ceiling fan in our master bedroom with skill and ease. We can't say enough good things about the way House Doctors handles its business, and we have recommended them to friends. We recommend them to you as well.

Description of Work
We had our kitchen, living room and back deck painted/stained, along with some trim work. We also had a large hole in the ceiling of a closet that they repaired.

Category decks, drywall, electrician, plastering, deck cleaning, pressure washing, ceiling fans, house painters, interior painters

Cost $2,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/16/2021

5.0

07/01/2021


Bill S.

I was very much more than satisfied with all the work. They: Obtained all necessary supplies, did an excellent job matching the stain on the doors to the surrounding trim, showed up on time, were professional and polite and checked with me numerous times to see if I liked what they had done. The best thing I can say is that I WILL call them again for some additional projects I have in mind!

Description of Work
Elevated stone and cement patio: Repaired loose chunk of cement, two coats of waterproof paint applied and tuck pointing repaired. Woodworking: rebuilt mullions destroyed by dogs and filled gouges from dogs nails on two exterior doors. Sanded and stained inside and outside of three exterior doors. Installed new 150lb 28,500 btu window air conditioner and exterior support bracket and repositioned outlet to accommodate the orientation of the air conditioner plug. Painted wooden garage doors and trim. Also replaced/repaired rotten wood trim and caulked between the wood and brick.

Category concrete repair, electrician, handyman service, woodworking, wrought iron, house painters, doors

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2021

Service Provider Response

It was all our pleasure ,& we look forward to the next project ! Thank you , The House Doctors .
1.0

04/23/2021


Holly D.

The owner never called to schedule an appointment or called to inform me that he had chosen not to do the work.

Description of Work
porch and ceiling repair, some woodworking.

Category roof cleaning

Work Completed On 05/06/2021

Service Provider Response

Sorry we had COVID Oandemic issues at the time of this call , we stated that originally. Sorry we couldn’t help that at all. Thank you, The House Doctors.
1.0

04/06/2021


Justin K.

Overall I would say that the project started well, and much of the work is good quality. Mike started working for us back in late November, and its now April. He has basically quit the job with a lot of touchups still outstanding. Mike’s Crew (Daryl, Mark, and Matt) were constantly late, and rarely worked a full day. Their inability to show up at a reasonable time and stay more than 4 or 5 hours put the project multiple months behind. We also had to have them correct many things that they didn’t do well. Mike further has nickel and dimed us thousands of dollars for his own crew’s delays and mistakes. We have tons of texts, receipts, and more verifying this. We have security cameras all over the home that also document their hours. We’re trying to sell the home, but it’s not ready due to his inability to finish the job. We have to find another contractor to fix the poor drywall repairs to the ceiling in the family room, and touch up the kitchen cabinets they refinished. We will have to pursue legal action against Mike for incomplete work to recoup some of the costs. It’s absolutely absurd that we have had to deal with so many project delays, and that they’ve been unable to finish the drywall repairs to the ceiling. I’m completely shocked by such poor project management and the end result. We were trying to list the house for sale this month, but now have to endure further project delays to deal with the mess that Mike has left us. There’s literally so few things to finish. Besides actually fixing the drywall we spent thousands on, he still has to fix the cabinets his crew messed up, and complete a few small work items and touch ups. The cabinets do not shut properly and some are crooked. They also had to resurface them after spending weeks and leaving tons of flaws in the paint. A lot of the baseboards look bad because they didn’t caulk them. There’s countless paint touch ups. Etc. I really only think there’s a couple days worth of work for him to just send a competent crew out to fix. We’ve paid $25,000+ to Mike. It’s just sad how poorly this project has panned out. I have been helping my father update his home so it’ll sell quickly and for a profit. If Mike were just to actually finish the project we would be elated so we can just put this behind us.

Description of Work
First floor renovation

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, masonry, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, fireplaces, ceiling fans, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters, cabinet refacing

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 04/06/2021

Images

Review for The House Doctors - 1169 Golden Gate Blvd, Cleveland, OH - 39281928

+6 More

Service Provider Response

This one is beyond mind blowing & hurtful - to say the least. With out getting into the depths of this project , at this time we have to let the record know each item that was not completed since this above listed review was posted, has “ ALL “ been addressed & completed , as a matter of fact we have sign off on happiness of the complete job completion also since we returned & took care of the loose items at hand. It would have been nice ,& stand up ish , if the updated review was posted letting everyone know that we returned & took care of all the issues this customer referenced too, but that’s asking for too much. Also never was this job on any time frame limit , & nor was it billed for any hourly rate. It was always pre quoted , contracted , & completed on a fixed rate that WE ALL agreed upon. Sometimes the Truth is left out in big ways when some people aren’t meant to be happy no matter how hard you work for them. The Father was a pleasure to have worked for,& he is the actual Home owner & the one we mainly dealt w/ while into the project & upon closing it out. This we do attest. Thank you , The House Doctors !
1.0

03/31/2021


Marie R.

I had rotted wood replaced on my garage and a shingle replaced on the house. After 5 months of replacement the shingle came off. I called the company 3 times and left messages to contact me. I received no response even though their tape message states they will contact you in 24hrs. I tried to e-mail to get a response and received none. Very unprofessional to not give any response to people they did work for. Beware they will respond to do work however if the work is not correct they will ignore you. I noticed on the 1 star reviews that are similar to mine the response is the same. That response is usually I have no records of the calls. I do have records of my calls and my e-mail so come up with another response because that one is getting old.

Description of Work
Garage wood repair and replacement of house shingle

Category handyman service, roofing

Cost $918

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/06/2020

Service Provider Response

This is odd if you called during the time we were closed for the Pandemic , then we must have not received it. So for that we apologize ! Feel free to contact us now to get anything done needed. We look forward to “ ALL “ of our potential work , & are very grateful for all & specially all of our return customers that’s for certain. One thing to note also , is that when we do certain repair jobs they aren’t always guaranteed, or covered under full popetual care also. Such as this one blown off roof shingle that we threw in at no extra cost & we adored her the roof had some other issues & we would not guarantee the shingle would hold up for one day or one year , so selective hearing is an issue at times for some. We would he happy to quote to repair the main roof issues & then we would of course stand by a warranty at that point for doing ii that way. Sometimes we toss in doing small repairs at no extra cost , just being nice & professional well also sometimes they blow up on us causing us more grief & ridicule just as we have here w/ this review. Be nice to say how nice the garage came out & how much extra carpentry we ended up doing there once we opened things up & discovered a huge termite / carp. ant issue , but we aren’t seeing any mention of that on this review. To this we do attest ! Thank you , The House Doctors.
5.0

01/05/2021


Kimberley S H.

Mike Vecchio from The House Doctors is an absolute pleasure to work with. One of the few companies who actually came through with an estimate for a major rehab of my screened-in porch and other items. Mike's team (Mark and others) arrived when promised and worked on this job for several weeks until it was completed to my satisfaction. There were many facets to the job and the team was communicative throughout ensuring I was in agreement with everything they did. They even constructed a custom doggie door as part of the project! Reliable and trustworthy. I recommend The House Doctors.

Description of Work
Repair/refurbish of screened in porch, ceiling install, deck painting, light fixture install

Category drywall, electrician, lighting, remodeling, deck cleaning, house painters, sunrooms

Cost $10,825

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2020

Service Provider Response

You are an absolute pleasure to work with also , & we look forward to all of the future projects for sure ! Thank you very much , The House Doctors.
5.0

12/16/2020


Carlyle D.

I originally started with looking at concrete platform steps which needed footers that proved too expensive. The House Doctors provided me with alternate options using treated lumber and backfilling with gravel. I am very grateful to Seth and Mike for working with me to understand the challenges, come up with alternate solutions, and work within my budget. An excellent solution that ended up saving me $5000.00

Description of Work
Need to build three platform steps 3'x16', 3'x18' and 3' x 20' for the front of the house

Category decks

Cost $2,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/24/2020

Service Provider Response

It was a great pleasure working with you also. We are very happy this job ended up saving you lots of money ,& how it came out being fantastic. We look forward in all of the future jobs we will be doing with you also. Thank you , The House Doctors ! ✨
4.0

12/09/2020


DAN P.

The foreman of our project did a good job and was responsive to our requests to get things done in a professional manner. The owner of House Doctors set appointments to finish up the project after we had paid and then his men didn't show. This happened more than once. After a final walk through we paid, as indicated but over the next several days we determined the additonal cost for repairs did not justify the quality we received. I requested a 2nd walk through with the owner to make adjustments but he did not get back with me. We finally worked things out with the company and overall are satisfied with the quality of the finished project.

Description of Work
Painting in living, dining room, 3 upstairs bedrooms, entry hallway. 93 year old house needed rock lath repaired in areas on 1st floor. Wallpaper removed, livingroom, dinning room, hallway to second floor. Basement had storage area with drywall and trim built, new interior door installed as well as slatted wooden sliding doors hung.

Category drywall, plastering, wallpaper removal, stucco, interior painters, doors, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 12/02/2020

Service Provider Response

I would ask that you never contact us again , as we felt be littled & dis respected while working there , we were good enough to repair & paint multiple areas of the Homes interior etc. , but they would not let us use their rest room while there gut over 2 weeks working hard , we actually had to travel up the road to use a public store rest room. That’s was very rude we felt ,& it said a lot about the customer & how they view us contractors perhaps a suit & tie would have been able to use the rest room , need we say anymore. Thank you , The House Doctors.
1.0

12/01/2020


yvonne B.

I reached out via Angie's List for a quote, included detailed description and pictures...no response. Called two separate numbers and left voicemails...no response. Believe it or not, I then sent a detailed email with pictures....a woman called an apologized for previous lack of response and an appointment was set....no show!!! After I had cleared furniture, draperies, etc. I called the same day, left message. A woman called me back a day later and left a voicemail, apologized and said contractor had Covid and they had to reschedule his appointments....FOUR strikes, they were definitely out! I did not return the call. I hired PatchMasters, also on Angie's list. They do not have any reviews, but they are a national company and after speaking with Joseph Gilliam, who sounded very sincere, I hired them and they did a great Job!.

Description of Work
Drywall Repair

Category drywall, animal removal

Work Completed On 11/12/2020

Service Provider Response

We apologize that the two different service techs we had set up to do your project , both tested positive for the COVID , we surely woule have rescheduled doing it when the other service techs had gotten done w/ pre prior schedule jobs stops. It was the customer who declined this not us. We stand on our grads for our customers no matter what , have been since 1975 when we started our company. Thank you , The House Doctors.
3.0

11/21/2020


TOM K.

Repair to drywall was excellent but window is still leaking.

Description of Work
Fix a leaking window and repair water damage to drywall.

Category animal removal

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/21/2020

5.0

10/16/2020


Albert S.

The project went very smoothly. Chris and Joe from the House Doctors were very prompt, courteous and competent. The remodel was completed ahead of schedule and looks beautiful. I'm looking forward to working on the next project with them.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel

Category electrician, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $3,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/09/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your business & this nice review ! It was a delight in working w/ you , & making your Bath Rm. beautiful , just as you wanted it. We also look forward in the next projects coming up ,as well. Thank you , The House Doctors ! ✨
5.0

09/30/2020


louise M.

fine. He also found damage to the bricks in the chimney and repaired those.

Description of Work
clean chimney and dryer vent

Category chimney sweep, handyman service, masonry, chimney repair

Cost $480

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/29/2020

Service Provider Response

It was our pleasure in working w/ you also. We look forward to the next visit. Thank you , The House Doctors.
1.0

09/18/2020


Dustin B.

Horrendous from the get go. Initial appointment they came without any of the tools to do the range hood install. After waiting weeks for appointment they had to reschedule. Told me they'd come the next day only to call me after id taken off work to say no they need to reschedule. Wait several weeks again.. Called me day before the next appointment to say they have to reschedule again. Everytime they ask me about deck painting. I remind them its for a range hood install and fence staining. They are impossible to get a hold of and offer no help. With covid I realize delays happen but how can I trust they would do a good job when they don't even know what project they're supposed to be doing and can't even make a single appointment happen over a 2 month period. Would never use again.

Description of Work
Range hood install and fence stain

Category fencing, handyman service, home remodeling

Work Completed On 09/17/2020

Service Provider Response

This person seems to have things really mis understood , we never cancelled on them but asked to move the time frame over as the job before it changed that’s all that was. Some people can be very spiteful not nice at all. Thank you , The House Doctors.
5.0

09/13/2020


Janice F.

It was wonderful. The whole experience was very pleasant. The technician was polite and professional. He worked steadily the whole time he was here. He cleaned up after himself. He went out of his way for me because at the time I wasn't well. When we went to Home Depot to buy the supplies he went and brought me the handicapped shopping cart and taught me how to use it. At the end of the shopping he picked me up at the door. No swearing occurred. He also asked if there was anything else he could do for me so he did a few other small tasks that I couldn't do for myself at the time. So he did those for me as well. When I need work done for the house, The House Doctors are the people I call.

Description of Work
Replacement of exterior door, storm door and frame connected to the house plus new threshold.

Category handyman service, animal removal, doors

Cost $1,196

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/20/2020

Service Provider Response

You made our day w/ your beautiful review ! It’s always a great pleasure working w/ you on your projects ,& we always feel like you treat us as family. We will always be there for you in all that you need ,& that we can do anytime. Please take it slow ,& easy not to overdo it ,& know we are just a phone call away. Thank you , The House Doctors ! ✨
5.0

08/28/2020


Anna L.

Very quick, and did a really good job.

Description of Work
Gutter cleaning

Category gutter cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/28/2020

Service Provider Response

It was our pleasure , we are happy to see you keeping up on the gutter cleaning , as it’s so very important to do. We see many people neglect doing it , in which it results in having major exterior damages over time. We are here to help you w/ “ ALL “ of your Home needs interior ,& exterior - anytime ! Thank you , The House Doctors ! ✨
5.0

08/19/2020


Catherine Z.

House Doctors did a really great job. Very happy.

Description of Work
Housecleaning

Category house cleaning, animal removal

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/19/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much , it was a pleasure working w/ you also , & we look forward to the next visit ! The House Doctors. ✨
5.0

08/19/2020


Karen K.

Seth was a delight to work with, personable yet professional. He explained the work and was very meticulous. Others were brought in to help with the list of tasks.

Description of Work
Work included ceiling fan replacement, changing out other ceiling fixtures and switches, and installing a new bathroom exhaust fan. Also replaced toilets and a cut off valve in the kitchen.

Category electrician, handyman service, lighting, plumbing, ceiling fans

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/12/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much , we enjoyed working w/ you also ! The House Doctors ! ✨
5.0

08/09/2020


VIC T.

Mike was a pleasure to talk to. His crew showed up on time and took seriously our pandemic-related concerns. The quality of the work met our needs. I liked that the crew leader suggested that they take care of a smaller issue in the basement while waiting for some of their work to dry, which would otherwise be down time for them. When the pandemic clears, we have a list of small projects that need to be done, and we will give The House Doctors another call at that time.

Description of Work
Ceiling repair in utility room of basement

Category drywall, handyman service

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/24/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much , & we certainly look forward in the next phase of work also ! It was a pleasure in working w/ you ! Thank you , The House Doctors ! ✨
5.0

07/29/2020


Brad P.

Great. Mike and Matt showed up on time. They were friendly and knew just what they were doing. They built a solid wood foundation and leveled it nicely. They told me when they arrived that some of these sheds are more time consuming to assemble than people might expect and got permission to stay longer if necessary. Turned out they got it all done very quickly and efficiently. It looks great. I've used House Doctors before for work inside my home and it went well so I was glad to call them back. Another very good job. I recommend them.

Description of Work
Build a wooden foundation and assemble a smaller shed on it

Category contractors, garage builders, hardscaping

Cost $264

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/29/2020