Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Reading Heating & Air Conditioning

Founded 1945 • With Angi since November 2002

Award winning. Family owned & operated. Additional DBA - Reading Heating & Air Conditioning Inc.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

4.8

(99) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 99 reviews
NICK M.
5.0
01/20/2022
It was fine and all good. I would say they're in high end price but overall it was a good job.
Description of Work
They did an annual furnace check.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
NICK M.
5.0
10/10/2018
They are prompt. They have high quality knowledge and performance. Tim came before when I had my AC serviced in the year.
Description of Work
They repaired a broken part and did a seasonal cleaning and inspection for my furnace
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Kathryn M.
3.0
01/02/2018
No resolution. Troubleshooting skills poor. I had to prompt experienced been-in-the-business many years repairman to check various items as it is an intermittent problem. He made no attempt to determine what exactly was wrong, wanted to see it happen. The furnace would not turn off when reaches set temperature. My guess was the controller, which has a manufacturer diagnostic device. Repairman didn't seem to be familiar with the control or diagnostic device. There are only so many things (on the furnace) which this could have been. Through the use of an advanced multimeter & talking to experienced HVAC friend, we determined that it was the relay. The owner of furnace is aged & has leukemia & we needed a solution urgently (& this was impressed upon repairman), which we did not get from this provider.
Description of Work
Troubleshoot and fix 11 year old oil furnace.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
MARIO P.
5.0
08/21/2017
Excellent. The technician was very professional and dedicated. He performed an excellent job. Honesty was key to this. He could have sold me anything, but he was great, explaining to me what needed to be done.
Description of Work
I needed my AC units to be checked inside and out. They were not doing their job and we were at 80 inside my house.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
KELLY D.
5.0
03/21/2017
The project went very well. Very happy with the results
Description of Work
new furnace and air
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Janet M.
5.0
02/23/2017
One of their prime things is they respond right away. They respond, diagnose, and fix. The workers are very professional and informative.
Description of Work
We have used Reading Heating. They replaced the condenser the last time they came out.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
George F.
4.0
01/16/2017
They came out quickly, did the job good.
Description of Work
I had freon installed in my unit.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Valerie W.
5.0
10/17/2016
The tech was very knowledgeable when diagnosing the problem. The installers did a fantastic job.
Description of Work
A/C install
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
SCOTT F.
5.0
09/20/2016
They did good work. I would recommend them.
Description of Work
We go to Reading Heating & Air Conditioning. We used them today for AC repair.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Bobbi W.
5.0
07/26/2016
Alex, the technician, spent 4 hours working on my A/C unit which wasn't cooling. He spent at least 2 hours outside in the 90+ temperature cleaning all the accumulated debris from the unit. I can't say enough to express my gratitude for his efforts!
Description of Work
A/C not cooling and Alex diagnosed the problem, which was essentially 10+ years of neglect, resulting in a huge amount of debris. He cleaned the unit and recharged it.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Kirsten M M.
5.0
08/12/2015
AC wasn't cooling... purchased one of their diagnostic deals on Monday evening and had a message waiting for me on Tuesday morning telling me they would call me that day! Was able to schedule service exactly when I needed it, no runaround. Jeff called before he got here (as promised) and arrived right on time. Explained the problem and several options. Luckily just needed a little freon. Within 30 minutes, I'm back up and running quickly and at a reasonable price. I work for one of the largest corporations in the world, but I make it a point to support local, small businesses whenever I can, and this is exactly the reason why. I couldn't have asked for a nicer guy to come over and explain what was wrong. The $232 includes the $89 that I paid for the diagnostic. And was able to their 25% off coupon for Angie's List members! Will definitely be adding them to my favorites, and recommending them to friends and family.
Description of Work
Added freon and capped the service lines that apparently had not been capped by the previous service provider.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Lisa O.
5.0
08/02/2015
I called the day before and was able to get an appointment the next morning. Jeff was prompt and got right to work. While cleaning the system, he quickly assessed that the system's freon level was a little low (about a pound). This meant there was a small leak in the system and was the reason for the evaporator coil to sometimes begin to ice up. Jeff gave me my options for my 16 year old HVAC unit. Due to the age of my unit, I decided to go with the stop leak instead of paying to find the actual leak. The stop leak and freon were added quickly, and Jeff said we needed to let the system run continuously for an hour. I was worried because the temperature in the house was not going down and was staying at 77. He assured me that the temperature would go down in the next hour. And, sure enough about 30 minutes after he left, the temperature started going down. Now our system is working perfectly and keeping our house cool once again. Thanks, Reading Heating and Air!!
Description of Work
Cleaned and serviced heat pump and furnace, added stop leak and freon
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
JANICE R.
5.0
03/03/2015
Very well. They were here when they said they would be, were very professional, explained everything to us. We had some questions after the furnace was installed and they came back and answered all our questions. Very happy with the service.
Description of Work
Installed a new furnace and air conditioner
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
BETH M.
5.0
12/08/2014
The owner of the company called first thing Monday morning in response to a non-emergency request placed over the weekend. At the end of my rope with my previous HVAC provider, I explained to the owner that I'd had my HVAC & humidifier serviced, had the solenoid for the humidifier replaced, and had the basement covered in water twice since the replacement. He sent out a technician the same day. The technician noted that it was an usual problem, most likely a result of a piece in the Solenoid missing a bit of packing. He said it probably wasn't worth going back to the manufacturer, as they could easily point the blame to the installer...and if I asked the installer to replace it...well, it definitely wasn't worth another wet basement! I authorized Reading HVAC to go ahead and install another valve, but the technician, Jeff, said that he honestly felt that he could just use Teflon tape and it would be good as new. I was pleased with his technical skills from beginning to end, and I will say that I was even impressed when he whipped out the little "square" for reading credit cards on his smart phone. Many service providers complain about how they don't work, but he just went to town on it :) Also of note, I found out about this company when I needed to get a quote for a new furnace for one of my elderly clients. My previous "go to" company insisted that the unit was freezing up and replacement of the interior unit as well as the exterior unit was urgent. I had Reading Heating and Cooling go out and they said to keep an eye on it. They could replace just the interior unit, but considering it was working fine, just remarkably old, they quoted a price and said that the units are readily available and fairly quick to install should it become necessary.
Description of Work
Figured out in 5 minutes what the "other company" couldn't figure out in 4 trips, 40 days, and 2 soaked basement floors.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Dianne S.
5.0
10/21/2014
The serviceman Jeff explained the rattle in the pipes and showed me that they were water lines not the natural gas lines. He also checked the pressure and temperature of the system while he was at my house. I have used Reading H&C for annual maintenance on both my A/C and my furnace every year for at least the past 12 years. They do quality work and are very trustworthy, I recommend them to anyone that needs air conditioning or heat furnace work or service.
Description of Work
This service call was to stop a rattle in the pipes connected to the furnace. Turns out they were water lines and not the natural gas feed lines. The service man called before coming out and was very timely. The office scheduling for service was easy and convenient. They do quality work.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
James S.
5.0
09/28/2014
They arrived as scheduled, performed task plus found a serious control problem affecting winter heating capacity of the unit. Spent about two hours tuning and repairing system. I'm very satisfied.
Description of Work
Called and requested an check-up for heat pump.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
CONNIE H.
5.0
08/12/2014
Jeff diagnosed a problem with an old thermostat and then provided several options on replacement.
Description of Work
Diagnosed a problem with the thermostat
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
April B.
4.0
07/11/2014
My furnace was blowing cold air for a few days and I called several companies to get someone out to repair it. My main concern was getting it fixed fast so I knew there was a chance I'd end up paying more than necessary if I just went with anyone. I probably could have gotten a better price if I'd waited and compared prices, but I just wanted the heat on (this winter was ridiculously cold). I took whoever showed up first. The rep was good, didn't make idle chit chat and told me what needed done and did it promptly when I approved of the work. Furnace was blowing hot air before he left. Good work, but the price was too high in my opinion.
Description of Work
Provider came out and serviced my furnace, cleaned a few connections and got the heat back on (had been blowing cold air for a few days)
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Nancy H.
5.0
06/30/2014
I called an hour before closing on Friday. They set up an appointment for Saturday morning. There was no additional charge for weekend work. Service technician called before arrival. They were timely, and fixed the unit within an hour. Problem was a burned out contractor within the compressor. They showed us the bad part. I felt good about the fact they were able to fix it, and did not have to replace entire unit.
Description of Work
My air conditioning stopped working on one of the hotest days. They fixed the compressor.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
CAROLYN D.
5.0
06/28/2014
i have used Reading Heating & A/C since 1989 when I bought the house. When the old air conditioner died, they replaced it with a Bryant that uses Puron instead of Freon. Years later, the furnace needed to be replaced. They have replaced it and I am very pleased with their service. My heating bills went down considerably after the furnace replacement. This June, Kerry arrived on schedule and completed the job in a little over an hour. I had mentioned that the water valve to the outside faucet had dripped when I turned it on (he would be using it to wash down the air conditioner), he tightened the screw so that's no longer a problem. I'm very pleased with the service they've provided over the years. I couldn't recommend them highly enough.
Description of Work
The price shown is for an annual contract for service on both the air conditioner in the spring and furnace in the fall.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
JULIE W.
5.0
01/14/2014
I was shocked when I got the estimate. Freon R-22 has gone way up. Kerry did a great job. He did the work in a timely manner. Very courteous. My only complaint is the price of the freon. This is not a slam on Reading because I called two other companies and they are about the same price. But I gave a B for price because I don't think it is fair to mark up Freon 4-5 times the cost of it. But apparently, all in Cinci are marking up that high. I checked other cities and the price is not as high though. Reading did give me a fair price for the local market though, it's just hard to give an A because the markup seems unreasonable.
Description of Work
Troubleshoot why heat pump was not coming on. Determined there was no freon. Found leak. Fortunately it was repairable. Kerry did the repair and recharged the unit with 11 pounds of R-22 Freon. Kerry also noticed the unit was vibrating a lot and fixed a bent fan blade which reduced the vibration a lot.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
William M.
5.0
01/03/2014
Reading Heating crew did an awesome job! The team was very easy to work with through the installation. They kept everything clean and organized during the 3 days it took to complete the job. They all were very thorough. I worked with the owner, Rick Zimmer, and he did a great job identifying my existing heating and cooling issues. As a matter of fact, he was the only one who really spent the time investigating my existing duct work and furnace. Turns out, we needed dampers to help force more heating and cooling to the second floor to help with comfort. I couldn't be more pleased with the work Rick and team did to meet our HVAC requirements. It has been a month since the install was complete, and wow what a difference the new system is making. Last year, we would've needed portable heaters in our bedrooms during below 20 degree nights, but now, we are nice and toasty warm. Best of all, we have been able to turn the thermostat down compared to the old system, and still maintain better comfort throughout the house. Great work Reading Heating & Air.
Description of Work
Replaced old furnace and upgraded some ducts with dampers to increase heating and cooling to the second floor. A Humidifier was installed as well.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Denise E.
5.0
11/09/2013
Cleaned and serviced heating units (we have 2)and did a leak search on one of our a/c units....also gave quote info to fix and/or to replace if needed. Their quote to replace was quite a bit lower than the quote from another company. (but they represent different product lines but products were similar units ?)
Description of Work
I used READING HEATING AND AIR CONDITIONING
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
JULIE F.
5.0
06/25/2013
I was pleased with him. He was very responsive. He was really straightforward and very honest and said that I don’t need have to have it replaced yet.
Description of Work
I got a quote from Reading Heating & Air Conditioning to replace a heat pump.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Dianne S.
5.0
10/25/2012
In every case they have been very reliable and done preventative maintenance to keep my equipment operating in top condition at very good pricing for excellent service.
Description of Work
Recently had my natural gas furnace annual service done by Reading Heating and A/C. Also have had them repair an electric heater in a roadside shop, and do annual service on my air conditioning. They found a leak and showed me how to correct it and keep my system operating optimally.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Other local Pros in your area

Better Choice Heating & Air Conditioning

We specialize in cleaning and maintaining your cooling and heating systems. We believe in keeping the customer informed about system performance and up-to-date with regular service. Family-owned company specializing in problem solving your heating and cooling systems.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Logan A/C & Heat Services

With over 50 years of experience, Logan Services is proud to serve you in Cincinnati! Call our fast, friendly team for residential heating/cooling repair, replacement, and routine maintenance. We are #1 Volume Trane dealer in Ohio. Take advantage of our current promotions and financing options including 0% APR for 60 months on qualifying Trane systems. Estimates are FREE, and next-day installation is available on a first-come, first-served basis. Most installations usually take just one day. Check out our website to learn more about how a high-efficiency Trane system can increase the overall comfort in your home. Logan Services has recently been chosen as the top HVAC company in Northern Cincinnati by the readers of Cincy Magazine. Our company is proud to be family-owned and operated and has been in business since 1969.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

Poston Brothers Heating & Cooling

Poston Brothers will be celebrating it's 92nd Anniversary in 2021. Over the rich history of the business, Poston Brothers heartbeat and primary concentration has always been providing honest, expert HVAC services at a great price to the residences of Northern Kentucky and the surrounding areas. All work is performed by our non-commissioned Service Technicians who share our vision to serve not sell. We provide 24 Hour Service and Free Replacement Estimates.  

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Phone

Address

16 W Benson St

Cincinnati, OH 45215

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Please Inquire

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
Financing Available
American Express
Licensed
Trade License Number
OH 14372
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Reading Heating & Air Conditioning is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

Reading Heating & Air Conditioning is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 7:30 AM - 12:00 PM

Reading Heating & Air Conditioning accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available, American Express

No, Reading Heating & Air Conditioning does not offer free project estimates.

No, Reading Heating & Air Conditioning does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Reading Heating & Air Conditioning does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Reading Heating & Air Conditioning offers emergency services.

Yes, Reading Heating & Air Conditioning offers warranties.

Reading Heating & Air Conditioning offers the following services: Residential & Commercial Heating and Air Conditioning - installation, sales & repair.