Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Crane Heating & Air Conditioning Co

Founded 1953 • With Angi since November 2002

4.7

(47) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

24 Clay St.

Cincinnati, OH 45217

Description

Locally owned and operated for over 60 years. Free Comfort System evaluations and estimates. 24 hour service for existing systems...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

06/21/2018


Ed D.

Unit was working prior to service and now less than 6 hours later the unit is no longer functioning. We attempted to contact Crane through their answering service but they would not return this evening and refused our request to talk to them directly.

Description of Work
Preventative maintenance, cleaning, and service of air conditioning unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Dear Mr. [Member Name Removed], You are 100% correct that the high voltage disconnect was, mistakenly, not reattached after the initial service the first day. Our office manager/dispatcher takes the after hours calls from the answering service. I am told she had to take her young son to the hospital emergency room that evening She asked the answering service to "hold all calls" while she was there. There is no question that we should have diverted emergency calls to someone else. For that we are sorry. She also tells me that we were there, first thing in the morning the next day and that there was no charge for either call, which is the right thing to do. If you are willing, do me a favor and call me directly in October, to set up a free furnace cleaning. Thank you and once again, we are sorry for the inconvenience. Jim Lohbeck 513-641-4700
5.0

02/18/2018


Jen R.

The technician found the issue and replaced the part in a very timely manner to get our heat working again.

Description of Work
Furnace needed a part fixed.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind words Mrs. [Member Name Removed]. We are glad we could help you over that holiday weekend. Have a happy and comfortable new year!
5.0

12/11/2017


Iain C.

Responsive, professional installers and quality installation

Description of Work
New high efficiency furnace

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the positive review [Member Name Removed]. As you know, venting your new furnace was a real challenge. We are always up for a challenge. I will let Bob and Will know that you were pleased. Enjoy your new furnace and have a comfortable winter.
5.0

10/28/2017


George H.

Removal of old system, and Installation of the new system was done in a very professional manner. Crew was very experienced and courtious.

Description of Work
Replaced our existing Heating & Air System with a duel fuel high efficiency Bryant system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the kind review [Member Name Removed]. It was a pleasure to work with you on this project. I will make sure my installation technicians get the word that you were very pleased. Enjoy your new system.
5.0

09/03/2017


David O.

We own a larger home and had been having a number of issues with the AC. Crane's staff diagnosed the different issues and recommended and installed corrective measures to resolve.

Description of Work
Installation of a new AC unit and coil w/ insulation wrap and expanded ventilation.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

I want to thank you for the positive review [Member Name Removed]. There were some challenges down in the lower level and I am glad we could solve your airflow problems. We look forward to keeping you comfortable for years to come.
2.0

06/09/2017


Franklin N.

I have used this provider for a number of years without issue. Price has always been reasonable and until this year, the service had always been punctual and professional. However, this year's maintenance was a different story. I had previously scheduled maintenance service on May 31st, but on the day prior, I was informed the service call would need to be rescheduled. Further, the best date they could offer was June 9th. Fast-forward to June 9th, and a mere two hours before the scheduled time, I was called again and informed that the service would need to be rescheduled, and now the best date they could offer was June 19th. I informed the representative that this was not acceptable, and that I would be seeking service from a different provider.

Description of Work
Standard maintenance on central air conditioning and heating unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Good morning Mr. [Member Name Removed]. I just spoke to our service manager about your situation. First, although it seems to be too little/ too late at this point, we are very sorry for the situation. We pride ourselves on our service. As you mentioned in your review, we have provided punctual and professional service for you for years. Air conditioners tend to show their weakness and break down when it gets very hot outside. One of the problems in our industry is having a finite pool of talented technicians. I am very proud and grateful for the talented group that we have. We have to make tough decisions on where to send the techs. Sometimes, it is at the cost of rerouting them from a previously scheduled cleaning appointments, to emergency "no cooling" appointments. We would do the same for you, if that makes you feel better. Clearly, this was the case with your scheduled appointment. In an effort to get back in your good graces, I would like to offer you $50 off on your fall or 2017 furnace cleaning. Please call our office and ask for Michelle or Jim and we will make it happen. Have a great summer!
5.0

11/09/2016


No M.

No issues w/ anyone or any thing. Every one was prompt, knowledgeable & professional.

Description of Work
Put in new heating & air conditioning heat pump.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

I remember this Hybrid Heat system. The 2-speed heat pump matched with the 2-stage, variable speed furnace saves a lot of money on your energy bill. It will also keep you comfortable for years to come. Thanks for the kind words. Enjoy!
5.0

09/22/2016


Betty H.

Bill, Bob, Will, all men involved, were great!

Description of Work
New furnace, liner etc.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the positive feedback [Member Name Removed]! I will make sure to let the guys know you were happy. They have a free lunch in their future; on me. Have a great summer.
5.0

08/18/2016


Robert S.

Crane employees arrived on time and completed the furnace installation in a timely manner. Solved our problem to our complete satisfaction!

Description of Work
Gas furnace replaced.

Category gas leak repair

Service Provider Response

Outstanding Mr. [Member Name Removed]. We genuinely appreciate your business and the kind words. We are glad you are comfortable.
5.0

05/27/2016


Tom C.

Workers were prompt, capable and tidy.

Description of Work
Installed new A/C.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

We are glad we could make you happy Mr. [Member Name Removed]. Also, thank you for taking the time to rate us on Angie's list. We love feedback here at Crane Htg & Air. I will pass along your kind words to the installing technicians.
5.0

04/04/2016


Cynthia H.

The installers Bill and Bob were excellent! They were knowledgeable about the equipment and the manufacturer's specifications for proper installation. Following the installation, thorough teaching regarding the HVAC operation was provided to the customer by the provider. The installers, Bill and Bob, were personable, courteous, respectful and professional throughout the 3 day installation process and above all, I felt they were trustworthy and honest in answering my questions .

Description of Work
The provider installed one Bryant 96% gas furnace with 2 stage heat and variable speed blower with one Bryant Puron four ton + 14 SEER single speed air conditioner. Prior to the installation, the provider removed and disposed of existing equipment.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind words [Removed Member Name]. Your home, as a converted barn, is very unique and beautiful. The Bob and Bill, along with Jim, could not stop talking about how nice your home turned out. As very experienced home comfort specialists, those three love a challenge. Thank you for entrusting Crane Heating and Air Conditioning with your project. Have a comfortable summer!
5.0

06/30/2015


Donna G.

The appointment was made on the first call and service was set up to start within about an hour of when I called. John (service technician) arrived on schedule and diagnosed the problem very quickly. He installed the new starting capacitor and got the unit running. He checked the thermostat operation, checked the power draw of the heat exchanger fan and checked the indoor heating-air conditioning unit as well. He worked efficiently, was courteous and friendly. The whole experience was excellent and without issues. We wouldn't hesitate to use the company again.

Description of Work
The service technician replaced the motor starting capacitor on the heat exchanger unit of our failed air conditioner and checked the overall health of the air conditioner once it was up and running again.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words. We are glad that you are comfortable again. I will make sure John knows that you are happy. He's a good man and we are lucky to have him. Call us any time. Have a good summer.
5.0

05/18/2015


Kathleen S.

Provided quick service when our air conditioning system stopped working and applied the charge for repair to the new installation when we decided to replace the system.

Description of Work
Replaced air conditioning unit

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[member's name removed] I just want to thank you for your business. I am glad we could jump on your project so quickly, during the first hat snap of the year. We genuinely appreciate the kind words and taking your time to get on Angie's List for a review. Enjoy your new 2-speed air conditioning system. May it bring quiet, cool comfort for years to come.
5.0

05/13/2015


Amit M.

I went with Crane Heating & Cooling as they had installed the unit in the home when it was built (if you can't trust the initial contractor who can you trust?). Two years ago they replaced the capacitor on our outside A/C unit. Their promptness, professionalism, and reasonable price is the reason we called them again when we had this problem. The technicians arrived promptly and began working immediately. At first they replaced the coils and then the outside unit. Everything was up and running by noon. They cleaned up and then we had a walkthrough to show all the work that was done. The work was excellent and because of the great experience I'll call them again in the future for any further maintenance on the HVAC unit.

Description of Work
Our A/C was not cooling, so we called them initially and one of their techs came out to diagnose the problem. After he was able to pinpoint there was a leak as a result of a crack in the coils he provided us different options to pursue at which point we decided to replace the cooling coils and the outside A/C unit as it was the most cost effective option. Within 2 days they were able to come, replace the coils and the outside unit with all the connecting lines and took the old hardware.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for entrusting us with your project. We love to hear good reviews from our customers. I will make sure that our service technicians know that you were pleased. Have a good summer.
5.0

11/11/2014


Judy S.

During the annual check of my furnace in the fall, the technician ? not from Crane ? discovered that the furnace was leaking carbon monoxide. The repair cost was $900, too much to put into a 16 year-old furnace. Crane was one of 3 companies called to provide estimates to replace the furnace. John was very professional, knowledgeable and able to explain the options available to replace the furnace. He was also willing to give estimates for replacing the furnace with a mid-range furnace like the one that went bad and with a high-efficiency furnace. The price quoted wasn?t the highest or lowest bid, but seemed to be the best value for the money. And the estimate included the new direct venting that would be needed for a high-efficiency furnace. Bill, Bob and Clayton arrived on time on the day scheduled to begin the installation. They were professional, courteous and got right to work getting the old furnace out and the new one installed. When they discovered that the drain for the old furnace was too small for the new one, they were very willing to work with me to find the best solution to fixing the problem. At the end of the day, they left the work area amazingly neat and clean and I really appreciated their efforts to disrupt my home as little as possible. They arrived on time the next day and finished the installation by lunch time, including reinstalling the humidifier and an excellent explanation of how the new thermostat worked. The new high-efficiency furnace is working perfectly and is much quieter than the old one. It a real pleasure to work with a company that takes as much care of my home as they would with their own.

Description of Work
Removed old non-working furnace and replaced with new high-efficiency furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

We are glad to hear that you were pleased with our staff, [member name removed]. More importantly, we are glad you are warm and comfortable. At the next staff meeting, I will make sure to pass along your positive report. We have a very good crew that takes great pride in their work. Thanks for noticing and taking the time to write a review.
5.0

09/29/2014


JOHN O.

They are fine to work with. I had a problem with the furnace one time and they came right out to fix it. They give good suggestions when needed and their prices are reasonable.

Description of Work
They do the annual service for my furnace unit and they have replaced the unit in the past.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words Mr. (member name removed). We aim to please.
5.0

08/26/2014


Gary A.

Did a thorough, good, and quick job in a professional manner. Cleaned up after self. Didn't waste his time or my time.

Description of Work
Checked A/C system and distribution system. Cleaned and PM'd

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words [member name removed]. We appreciate your business. If you prefer a certain service technician in the future, please let us know when you call. We aim to please.
4.0

08/20/2014


John S.

The workers that come out are very nice, courteous and professional. They did a good job fixing the problem.

Description of Work
They came out to fix the knocking sound that was a result of the initial installation.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review. I know there was a "pinging" sound in one of the duct runs, due to expansion and contraction. For some reason, they tend to happen at night, so they are tough to figure out. Thank you for your patience. We look forward to serving you, at your new home, for years to come.
5.0

06/02/2014


Carol R.

They always call to remind you that you need to schedule for your service contract, so it is easy to keep track of. I think their professionalism is good.

Description of Work
We used Crane Heating & Air Conditioning Co. They come out every fall, and every spring. The last time, they installed a new air conditioner.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words [member name removed]. I will be sharing your comments with the whole team here at Crane. Our folks work hard to make sure our customers are comfortable, all year long. Have a good summer!
5.0

04/11/2014


Colleen F.

It went great I will use this company again without a discount

Description of Work
He Arrived early with all his equipment He was friendly and consistent in his cleaning He pointed out irregularities

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words [Member name removed]. Please keep us in mind in the future. Have a good summer!
5.0

04/01/2014


James W.

My overall experience with them was very good. They have been servicing my account for years. Their cost is a very modest cost. They are a prompt service and they have qualified technicians. I have been using them for probably 20 years and I trust them.

Description of Work
I use Crane Heating & Air Conditioning Co., to do a clean and shack for me, in which they just make sure that my furnace is operational and see if anything needs to be cleaned.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the positive review Jim. As you know, we aim to please. We hope everything works out well for you in your new home. If you need anything in the future, you know where to find us.
5.0

02/05/2014


Linda T.

We called in the height of the cold snap as our furnace had a part that was going bad and the price was not worth putting into an old furnace. The salesman came the next day, took into account the sort of furnace we were looking for and did not try to push us into frills that we did not want. We were scheduled for installation the next week (as folks were without heat, and we were not) but we were to be pushed to the top of the list if our heat went out. Installers came within 15 minutes of promised time and worked straight through until job done, except for a 20 minute lunch break. They were professional and courteous. The price was nearly $1000 less than the next closest competitor for the same furnace to be installed. It works well and we are pleased with the furnace and the service.

Description of Work
Install new furnace and replace cold air return.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your feedback [member name removed]. We appreciate you entrusting us with your project and we also appreciate your patience and understanding with being re-scheduled to accommodate our "no heat" calls. Enjoy your new furnace and thanks for calling!
5.0

01/22/2014


Randy B.

Our heat pump system began to fail this winter. We called Crane and a leading competitor in our area give opinions to repair or replace. Both companies recommended it was time to replace our aging system. Crane's estimate was far below the competition; as expected. A small army of employees arrived a couple days later. They completed the work over two days, while ensuring we had heat overnight. All employees were very professional and diligent in completing all work needed. They gave honest opinions and recommendations for maintaining our new system and properly heating our home.

Description of Work
Installed new heat pump system in our condo, replacing interior and exterior units. Also replaced the thermostat and humidifier with new units.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for sharing your positive review [member name removed]. I love to hear customer feedback; it's the only way we can get better. I will make sure your kind words are shared with our installation technicians. This winter has been very cold, so it has been testing every heating system out there. Since you were running on electric heat for the last few months, you should start seeing some serious savings with your new comfort system.
5.0

01/14/2014


Roy T.

Installed a new furnace, air conditioning unit and humidifier. They were very responsive and professional and I was very pleased with the job. I've used them for many years and have always been pleased with the quality of their work.

Description of Work
New Furnace and Air Conditioner

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words (Member name removed). We are glad to hear that you and your family are comfortable. Even after 60 years in the business of, a kind word from a customer never gets old. I will let the rest of our team know that you were pleased. If you have any questions or need anything else, don't hesitate to give us a call.
5.0

07/31/2013


Todd H.

It was a positive experience. They are reliable; there were some issues with the work that they did originally and they came back and kept on trying to rectify it and they did resolve it. I thought they were good and reliable, and knew what they were talking about.

Description of Work
We've used Crane Heating & Air Conditioning.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words [member name removed]. I'm glad everything is working well now. As we discussed on my last visit, things happen from time-to-time with mechanical equipment. We take pride in our response to any issues that come up and making sure you are happy. Have a good day and enjoy your new system.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Schneller Knochelmann Plumbing Heating Air

    For 88 years, we have served the heating, air conditioning and plumbing needs of Greater Cincinnati and Northern Kentucky. We are one of the oldest continuously operating service firms in the area. Our owner is Kris Knochelmann, who's family has been in the business for over 40 years. Our staff of experienced, licensed, NATE certified technicians are able to offer fair pricing, quality workmanship, and unique testing of your heating and air conditioning system. Ask about our lifetime warranty. It could be the last furnace or air conditioner you ever buy. Experience award winning service, where we treat you like family.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Schneller Knochelmann Plumbing Heating Air  on Angi
    Jacobs Mechanical, Inc.

    Jacobs Mechanical is a family owned business that has been serving the greater Cincinnati HVAC industry since 1922. For nearly a century Jacobs (formerly B&J Jacobs Company) has developed a reputation as one of the leading HVAC/sheet metal contractors in the region. We’ve performed work on projects large and small, all the while honing our skills across a variety of disciplines. From fabrication to installation, welding, air/water balancing, and beyond. Our residential department was developed to fulfill the needs outside of our commercial and industrial markets. Our skilled technicians are trained in all of the latest industry practices, and can overcome virtually any problem quickly and correctly. Our in-house fabrication shop allows us to avoid unnecessary additional costs associated with outsourcing, and ensures quicker response times for our raw material needs. We offer 24-hour emergency service availability, flexible financing options, and free estimates. Whether you have an emergency repair after hours, are looking to upgrade your home’s HVAC system, or just want to have seasonal service – Jacobs Mechanical should be your preferred contractor of choice.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Reupert Heating & Air Conditioning

    Reupert Heating is a family owned and operated business serving the entire Tri-state for 65 years. Reupert Heating has a NATE certified service department, to ensure you get the best possible service and installation. Reupert offers both residential and commercial installation and service and Reupert Heating operates 24 hours a day to ensure to comfort and safety of your family. With their Four Seasons Guarantee Reupert Heating will install your new system and ensure its operation or refund your money!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Reupert Heating & Air Conditioning on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Comfort System Evaluations, installations, & repairs on furnaces, heat pumps, A/C, air humidifiers/cleaners and geothermal systems. We service all makes and models.

    Services Not Offered

    Residential or commercial plumbing services.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Crane Heating & Air Conditioning Co

    How is Crane Heating & Air Conditioning Co overall rated?

    Crane Heating & Air Conditioning Co is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Crane Heating & Air Conditioning Co open?

    Crane Heating & Air Conditioning Co is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Crane Heating & Air Conditioning Co provide

    Crane Heating & Air Conditioning Co accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available

    Does Crane Heating & Air Conditioning Co offer free estimates?

    Yes, Crane Heating & Air Conditioning Co offers free project estimates.

    Does Crane Heating & Air Conditioning Co offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Crane Heating & Air Conditioning Co offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Crane Heating & Air Conditioning Co offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Crane Heating & Air Conditioning Co offers a 5% senior discount.

    Does Crane Heating & Air Conditioning Co offer emergency services?

    Yes, Crane Heating & Air Conditioning Co offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Crane Heating & Air Conditioning Co?

    Yes, Crane Heating & Air Conditioning Co offers warranties.

    What services does Crane Heating & Air Conditioning Co offer?

    Crane Heating & Air Conditioning Co offers the following services: Comfort System Evaluations, installations, & repairs on furnaces, heat pumps, A/C, air humidifiers/cleaners and geothermal systems. We service all makes and models.

    Are there any services Crane Heating & Air Conditioning Co does not offer?

    Residential or commercial plumbing services.