Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

The Spa Wholesaler

Founded 2008 • With Angi since February 2012

4.7

(22) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1801 5th Ave

Watervliet, NY 12189

Description

Welcome to the Spa Wholesaler. Our goal is to provide our customers with the best quality hot tub at the lowest possible price. We understand when shopping for a new hot tub every place you go will tell you the tubs they sell are the best. What sets us apart, is that we have every major brand hot

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Bruce M.
5.0
02/11/2023
Good friendly delivery. Informative
Description of Work
Delivery of hot tub
Category
pool cleaners
Daniel M.
5.0
08/25/2020
Very knowledgeable & honest. A friend recommended them & they did not disappoint. Even though Jeff has been very busy with sales, he took the time to answer all of our questions in a timely fashion. I would recommend them to anybody thinking of purchasing a hot tub.
Description of Work
Spa purchase
Category
pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to put up a review. If you need anything you can reach me anytime at 518-470-3535. Thanks Mark
Mike S.
4.0
02/10/2017
Purchased a new Hot Tub, cover and cover lifter from Spa Wholesaler for $7,000. Within a few days I noticed water spitting onto the main circuit board from an unattached tube behind the main access panel. I called the owner who said it should just stop on it's own (?) or I can plug it, so I fixed it myself since water and electronics don't mix very well. Soon after I noticed one of the 4 LED's for the cup holders was barely lit. Called owner again and he said it's probably just out of alignment, he'll deal with it in the spring. Ok, not a problem. If it's something as simple as that, I can fix that too. Now a couple of weeks ago (approximately 3 mos after the tub was installed) I'm outside and see one of the straps for the cover sitting on the deck after it had fallen off. Mind you, I don't have the locks installed for the straps and have no need to touch them or pull on them, but after a recent wind storm, I thought it would be a good idea at some point in the future to attach them as the cover blew open during this storm, so having all 4 corner straps would be helpful.. Well, now I have one missing strap off the cover which appears to be a stitching defect from the factory. It was only held on by 3 or 4 stitches and the thread looks to have broke, so during the 3 mos of my ownership it slowly unthreaded itself and fell off. I called Mark, again, who asked that I send him pictures, but he immediately started to tell me he thinks "they (whoever he gets his covers from) won't do anything about it, but I still have 3 straps so that should be good enough". As I recollect, I bought the cover from YOU, yet he starts blaming 'them'. I sent him all the pictures showing the flaw, and I called him several times afterwards, each time getting an excuse or promise to get back to me, and he never calling back. I gave him ample opportunity to make this right, but my patience has run out and am tired of excuses and not returning my calls. This company does not stand behind their product and I've had enough, hence this review. Also, something else to highly consider if you want to purchase a hot tub. When we ordered the tub, I wanted the optional "full foam insulation" to save electricity since the internal piping without this foam is basically just behind the thin cabinet walls and my prior hot tub had full foam. My wife and I were talked (conned) into not getting the full foam as it's 'not necessary' per Mark. Well, now during the winter when we turn on the jets or it cycles for heat, the first burst of water that comes out is very cold, and I'm certain it would have been helpful with cost in the long run to have full foam since every hot tub forum I've researched recommended 'full foam' to save electric, esp in our cold northeast climate. Our electric bills are CONSIDERABLY higher, especially in comparison to our previous hot tub that had the full foam insulation, which we owned when electric was higher priced then it is now. Having owned a prior hot tub with full foam to compare to, it definitely is a cost savings, especially over the long run. It makes sense now why he 'recommended' no foam. It's because when there are issues with his product, and I've had 3 so far, 2 of which needed work inside the cabinet, it makes his job easier to make the repairs during warranty..... or shall I say.... will make your job easier since he seems to just want to tell you over the phone how to fix the issues that arise so he don't have to do anything!! In conclusion, once this place gets your money..... don't expect much more from them if you have problems! So.....I hope you have your Spa Repair Handbook handy, because you'll be doing the work, just like me, and/or watching things fall apart with nothing but excuses and false promises to return your calls by this sub-standard company. ************* Update, 5/19/2017. Mark has made good on his promise to replace my cover, as well as address another new LED lighting issue the tub ended up having etc, but all in all, the issues have all been resolved, and I'm satisfied with the service, but wish the LED lights (approximately 2/3 the tub lighting) failed in a matter of months after installation on my Marquis E660 tub. Mark ordered all new lights and reran them in, which was a difficult job, but Mark did it its all set.
Description of Work
Purchased a new hot tub and accessories. Several issues presented themselves and owner is not very receptive to resolution, and the last issue with my cover falling apart and the owner side stepping a resolution, leaves me no choice but to write a review for a substandard product that he does not stand behind.
Category
pool cleaners, swimming pools

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] thank you for the review. I will address all issues that you brought up in this review. In may be a little long but I have to be thorough. First off you called me in regards to a small tube that was dripping water on the spa pack or circuit board. I like always answered and took the call. This was accurate except it did not drip water on the board. All spa packs in all tubs are sealed and water tight because water does not mix well with electronics as you correctly stated. There is a small 3/[Member Information Removed] tube in a hot tub for an ozone. Usually it comes with a cap on it. Sometimes the cap falls off in shipping. This tube is spooled up in a circle several times so even if the cap falls off no water will come out. Sometimes a little water gets in this tube in shipping and could come out on the first start up but will stop. Customer called and I talked with him in regards to this. Easy fix and customer was all set. Customer said no problem that he would cap it. A week or so later the customer called again and as always I took the call and he stated that one of the lights was a little dimmer than the other lights. Now the light does work but it appears that it is a little dimmer than the rest of the LED lights. Did not seem like a huge problem so I told him the light may have dropped down a little bit or perhaps it was not positioned correctly to begin with. I told the customer I could stop out once the weather got a little warmer. We agreed that once the weather broke that he would give me a call and I would come out. This tub has over 20 LED lights so if I was to come out I would check the position of all lights since I'm making a trip out anyways. I would have to get in all 4 sides of the tub to do this. This is much easier to do once the weather gets a little warmer. I didn't think it was a major issue since after all the light was working. The customer also stated that he was handy and could easily take care of it. Again I have no problem coming out to check this but I would like to inspect all lights so I don't have to make another trip at another time because of perhaps another dim light. Lastly the customer called a week or so later with the cover issue. He mentioned that I blamed the manufacturer. He is absolutely correct. I couldn't take responsibility for the stitching coming loose. If I made the cover and if I stitched it together with my own two hands then I would accept full responsibility. I didn't so I'm sorry but it is not my fault. I will add that amazingly this is the first time I've had a stitching issue with a cover in the twelve years I've been in business but the customer is correct that the stitching came loose. So anyways the customer called and again I took the call and he explained the issue. I told him that usually the cover manufacturer does not cover damage to a cover. Keep in mind when it comes to a cover most issues are due to abuse that I see all the time. For example a customer will call because a cover fell in the tub and broke. Usually ends up being that ice fell off the roof and onto the cover breaking it. Or perhaps somebody sat on it and the foam broke. Not covered under warranty. This is not the case with this tub but that is an example why in most cases the cover would not be covered under warranty. Now that I have seen the pictures of the stitching it certainly looks like a defect which I expect the manufacturer to take care of. When the customer sent me the original pictures they were not as clear so I told him to send me more. He did and they were a little closer up and much better. I told the customer that I would forward these to the manufacturer which I did. I have not heard back from them yet but now that this review is a reminder I will follow up with them on Monday when they open and see what can be done. If they do not cover it, which they really should, then I will. Next shipment of tubs I receive I'll have an extra cover put on and I'll stop out and swap them. I will just use yours for display in my showroom. You can use that one through winter then once the weather breaks I'll swap them and do a complete overall check on the tub. The customer also stated that I said to him that he still has 3 straps and that should be good enough. Absolutely did not say that in that way to the customer. I said he still had 3 straps and that should hold until I take care of the issue. Or the customer could put a little weight on the one corner to hold that side down until the problem is resolved. Bottom line is I can't stop and stitch it on site since I'm not a part time seamstress. I can't duct tape or glue it. What else am I to tell the customer to do until the manufacturer addresses the issue. The customer stated in the review that the cover is falling apart. Keep in mind that the cover works and closes. It's just missing one strap. That is it, so he can still use it. It still opens and closes like a brand new cover. It's not like it doesn't work. Ok now for the full foam issue. First off I don't care what the internet says about full foam like you stated. There are just as many sites on line that discourages it. You said that every site you went on recommended that you should go with full foam. I have a hard time believing that since I just went on line and unfortunately several sites that push full foam are owned by spa manufacturers like Hot Springs, Sundance etc. These sites aren't honest. They are pushing the full foam because that's the only way they make their spas. Not to get to technical but let's look at Hot Springs for example. They will tell you full foam is the best. They have to tell you that because it's the only way they make their spas. What they don't tell you is that they use 3lb structure foam to support the spa because it's not reinforced with fiberglass like the brands I sell. The shell is very thin and they use this foam to support all the seats. Do yourself a favor and click on this link to see the truth http://hottubspatips.com/hot-tub-insulation-smoke-and-mirrors-best-hot-tubs/ Here are two paragraphs off this website right below. I just copied and pasted so I did not write them. Funny thing is it's pretty much what I told you when you came in. Keep in mind I can order my spas anyway I want to. If full foam was the best way to go I would just order them all that way. It's not the best way to go so I discourage it. Spa Insulation: So with all of the different types of insulation, the most important of all seems to be neglected. The spa cover provides the most protection from heat escaping out the top of the spa. As heat rises, it will try to escape out any opening in the spa cabinet but especially out the top. A good hard cover is essential, especially in colder climates. The cover should also be tapered which means it is higher in the middle than on the sides in order for rain and melting snow and ice to run off. Practical Concerns of Various Insulation Types: Well if the most important component to keeping hot tub electrical consumption down is the hard cover, then what are the possible side effects and cons to the various other insulation types? Simply put, fully foamed spas are a nightmare to repair in the case there should ever be a leak. Ask any service tech out there about the hours they will need to spend scraping a pile of foam out and even having to stand the spa upright to access things from the bottom. This is a huge negative for that type of insulation. You must then really buy into the fact that you will save a bundle on electricity if you fully foam the spa, but this debate has been going on for over 20 years and the full foamers have yet to produce unbiased test results that prove it. If it were the undisputed superior way of building spas, everybody would be doing it that way. I service all brands of tubs so I will let everyone know what I tell my customers. The customer mentioned that he was conned into not getting the full foam. This is just a flat out lie. I don't con anyone and anyone who reads this please look at all our reviews on Google, Angie's list, Facebook, Yelp etc. There are 100's of reviews and you will certainly get a sense of our impeccable service. Anyways here is what I tell all of my customers. I tell them I can order the tub full foamed but I wouldn't because if it ever leaks which every tub will at some point it will cost way more in labor to fix it. It is a nightmare to dig out all the foam to make a repair. I tell people that if they want to save on their home heat bill this winter they may insulate the attic more but they probably won't insulate the basement more. Heat rises, the cover is where 90 percent of the heat loss is. Common sense right? I also tell everyone that instead of paying 100 bucks to have it spray foamed they would be better off to buy a couple rolls of R-13 insulation and stuff it in the cabinet. This way if you ever need to do a repair you can pull it out of your way and make the repair in much less time. Makes sense right? I try to give my customers common sense advice that will save them money down the road. So being accused of conning someone I take personally. I don't con anyone. I just give honest advice that makes sense. Also I have one of my competitor's tubs on display that I showed the customer before he purchased from me. It was a fully foamed tub. A prior customer paid 13,000 for it seven years ago from a local retail store. It leaked and they called the local store. Here is what they were told. We are sorry but we can't fix it out at your house because we can't dig through all the foam in your yard. The local store told them they could pick it up for 1000.00 and then estimated 2000.00 more for the repair. Long story short this customer bought a new tub from me and absolutely did not want full foam. Now [Member Name Removed] in this review states that I recommended that he gets no foam. He is absolutely wrong. I never ever recommend no foam. In fact all my tubs are partial foam. Funny thing is his tub has about 5 inches of foam sprayed on the entire shell. It has a lot of foam in it. So much that Marquis the maker of the tub even puts 2 vents on the front panel so the pumps can breathe. If they didn't then the pumps would burn out because of all the foam put inside the tub. So again the no foam comments make absolutely no sense at all to me. His tub is partial foam. I have pictures ready to attach at the end of my response as long as it allows me too. [Member Name Removed] you should have seen all the foam when you took off the side. Hopefully I can attach pictures because I just took pictures of the tub you purchased and it will show everything. In any case even though I'm frustrated with the review and to be honest I think you are a jerk for referring to me as a con man I will take care of your issues. I understand that you are frustrated because you have had a few minor issues with your new tub. No excuses, you shouldn't have any issues but sometimes it happens. In any case I will take care of it and I will provide better service than anyone else would. My phone is on 24/7 so if you ever have any issues just call as I nearly always answer. I apologize for the inconvenience but I will follow up with you this week once I hear from the manufacturer. I do have to add that I fully understand your frustration but I'm always easy to get a hold of and I've taken several calls and text messages from you. I just really take exception to some of the accusations you made in this review. Again you stated that after the tube and light issue that we were good. Then after the cover issue we went from good, to me being a con man and a sub-standard company. Hopefully some of the stuff you said was just out of frustration because in no way do I ever mislead a customer on anything. This is the same reason why only the two owners here are the only ones who sell the tubs. We don't hire salespeople like the other stores because they will do high pressure and usually the salesperson will just tell you what he thinks you want to hear just to get a sale. We don't do any of that and it is what sets us apart from everyone else. In conclusion you had a prior tub before you purchased this one from us. There must have been a reason why you purchased your second tub from us. You obviously trusted us when you made the purchase. I can only promise that after these issues are taken care of that you will in due time, realize that you purchasing a hot tub from us was a good decision. Thanks for your time and I'll talk to you this week. Update: I spoke to the manufacturer today and this is a copy of the email they sent. Also I texted you pictures of all the foam in your spa since I was not able to attach pictures here on Angie's list. If you need anything or have any questions you can reach me anytime at 518-470-3535, Thanks
Gary C.
5.0
07/23/2016
It went very well. Mark was professional the whole time. After setting everything up and putting it all back together, he took the time to explain what we needed to do to keep it up and running and answered all of our questions. Even with the late time, he didn't try to rush out. I will not hesitate to call him again with any questions. I would definitely recommend him for anyone who needs help with their hot tub.
Description of Work
Hot tub had a leak at the motor elbow joint. Very hard to find but Mark was persistent and finally found it. After removing the pump, he took it back to his shop, fixed the leak and tested it before returning it. Due to the extremely hot weather, he waited til later in the evening on a Friday night to replace the pump, check everything was working and reset all the controls. It was close to 9:45 PM when he was finished.
Category
pool cleaners
Angela C.
5.0
06/28/2016
unknown
Description of Work
Spa opening and part ordering. He did a great job.
Category
pool cleaners
Catherine A.
5.0
01/01/2016
unknown
Category
pool cleaners
Angela C.
5.0
12/25/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Spa Wholesaler is great! He winterized our tub and did a great job.
Category
pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thanks again [Member Name Removed] for the nice review. Call me anytime if you need anything. Happy Holidays.
Pavneet M.
5.0
12/03/2015
unknown
Description of Work
One of the Pumps on my Master Spa stopped working. Mark diagnosed the Electrical problem, took out the Circuit Board that was malfunctioning and sent it for repair. Two weeks later he reinstalled the repaired Circuit Board to put the Spa back in service. He also changed some O-rings that had started to leak due to excessive heat near the Heater as the water was not circulating when the pump was out. |Mark was very professional during the whole process and was prompt in coming home when he promised. I will certainly use Mark's services again if necessary.
Category
pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the nice review. If you ever need anything you can reach me anytime. Thanks again. Mark
Maura G.
5.0
11/30/2015
The service provider was very responsive even on a weekend. Helped us out tremendously.
Description of Work
Helped us fix our hot tub.
Category
pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the review and call me anytime if you ever need anything.
chris B.
5.0
11/09/2015
Mark and his guys were fantastic. Could not ask for a more professional and knowledgeable crew. Makes up for the Tropicana watch fiasco.
Description of Work
cleaned hot tub
Category
pool cleaners
Kevin S.
5.0
06/02/2015
did what he said he would do and did it on time.
Description of Work
repaired water pump
Category
pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the review and call us anytime if you ever need anything. Thanks again
Angela C.
5.0
05/07/2015
unknown
Description of Work
A little history: we have been through the wringer with spa techs. Our last tech, Mike of Spa Angel, blew us off a lot, and actually claimed that he was "tired of rescuing" us when our tub failed. But the last straw was that this past winter as he never showed up to close the tub. Needless to say, we had a battery of issues this spring -- do not ever use Spa Angel. Our of desperation we turned to Angiel's List and found Mark, owner of The Spa Wholesaler. We were relieved to know that Mark is the polar opposite of our previous experiences with spa techs. He's not just considerate and professional, but our tub was humming like new after Mark opened her for the season. I expect we'll be seeing a lot of Mark in the future because dealing with Mark was hassle free. After one visit I can easily determine that he's an effective professional. He even called to say he was stuck in traffic and running "exactly 41 minutes late according to GPS." That blew my mind. It was refreshing to deal with a vendor who is considerate. If for any reason I feel he is just sticking around for a good review and his quality dips, I'll make sure to write a prompt update.
Category
pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the nice review. Call me anytime if you ever have any questions. Enjoy the hot tub and if you need us to order that new cover just give me a call with the measurement and I'll get it ordered right away. Thanks again.
kelly G.
4.0
12/18/2014
unknown
Description of Work
They repaired crack in hot tub and winterized it!
Category
pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the nice review. Now in the spring I would recommend that you add some extra fiberglass to the bottom of the tub. Saratoga Spas unfortunately do not use any fiberglass so the shell is very thin. I have some of the fiberglass so if you decide to do it yourself just let me know and I'll give you some. You can also bring the pump in and if for some reason the wet end is cracked I have several of those used and if you need one, again I will just give you one. Again thanks for the review and if you ever need anything call me anytime.
Joan F.
5.0
10/31/2014
I called The Spa Wholesaler on Wednesday and spoke to Mark. He told me they service all brands of hot tubs, not just what they sell. He explained how they winterize, and gave me a price for the service. He said he'd call me the beginning of next week to set up an appointment. Mark called me the next day to let me know the serviceman, Jim, would be calling to set up an appointment. Jim called within the hour and we set up an appointment for the next day, Friday. He said if he was delayed he would call. Jim arrived on time, explained what he was going to do, and showed me what I would have to do to start it up in the spring. He was very knowledgeable about my model of hot tub and made some suggestions of minor work to be done in the spring. (replace worn O rings., etc) I was very pleased with the service provided, the price was more than reasonable, as previously when I had a technician out for service, the service call alone was over $100. I highly recommend The Spa Wholesaler to anyone needing service, no matter what brand of hot tub.
Description of Work
Since I'm not going to be here most of the winter, for the first time I had to winterize my hot tub.
Category
pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the great review. We really appreciate it and look forward to being there for all your hot tub needs. Next year when your ready to open it call us if you have any questions. Thanks again
Jean D.
5.0
06/28/2014
unknown
Category
pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member name removed] for the A rating. We really appreciate it. Like always don't hesitate to call us if you ever need anything. Thanks again and enjoy the hot tub.
John C.
4.0
06/23/2014
.
Description of Work
.
Category
pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed] thank you for the review. I noticed you gave us a B rating and please let us know what we could have done more to earn an A. Customer service is the most important thing to us. Anyways I hope you are enjoying the hot tub. If you ever need anything please do not hesitate to give us a call at 518-273-SPAS(7727). You can reach us anytime 7 days a week. Thanks again.
Jeanne A.
5.0
05/11/2014
After doing thorough research with most, if not all the retailers in the area, Mark gave us not only the best deal with the best quality, but also tons of knowledge for being a first-time owner, which makes them, in our opinion, the absolute go-to guys in the entire area for hot tubs and hot tub service. We absolutely love our new spa and will spread the word to everyone we know about the Spa Wholesaler as the only guys to check out for new tubs and tub maintenance / repair. These guys are the best.
Description of Work
Provided expert knowledge, selling, service, and installation to first time buyers of a spa tub and how to properly maintain one.
Category
pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the nice review. I realize when customers come in, it takes a little longer because we explain much more than the typical salesperson at the local stores. I see many reviews online similar to yours and I am so grateful that people really appreciate what we do. We don't just try to get a quick sale. Instead we try to provide you with the knowledge you need to make an informed decision. This is why we have all the other brands in the Capital District on display. This way you can physically see the differences between all the brands. It is what sets us apart, and is the main reason why we sell more hot tubs and swim spas than anyone in the area. Again we sincerely thank you for the review and if you ever need anything don't hesitate to give us a call. Enjoy the new hot tub.
Cheryl C.
5.0
04/22/2014
unknown
Description of Work
The Spa Wholesaler bailed me out of a very bad situation with another vendor. Mark and Jeff repaired a broken swim spa for me, They stored it and they delivered it to me in working order. I will never buy from anyone else!
Category
pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thanks again [member name removed] we really appreciate it. Call us if you ever need anything.
allan C.
5.0
04/15/2014
I've had 2 Hot Springs Hot Tubs that have been very reliable for over 15 years. When I shopped to replace my Hot Springs on Central Ave, I was shocked by their prices. Even their smaller tubs were very expensive. I got the impression that they would make at least $3000 over their cost. There is no bargaining with sales people and their service is leaving messages on someones voice mail with a lengthy wait. The Spa Wholesaler is GREAT! When you call, the owners will pick up and will talk to you! You will make an appointment and receive honest useful information about many brands of spas they sell without BS! They make a profit on every sale for sure, but their margins are very, very, low. Mark H was very informative is much more than a salesman. He was very transparent giving us lots of choices while deciding which brand and model to chose from. Very much appreciated seeing his dealer cost for any Hot Tub including what could be ordered with just the options you want. He came up with a deal on a high end HT (Marquis brand) that was comparable to Hot Springs and saved me about $3000. Their showroom in Watervliet is pretty "utilitarian" but you will be glad they pass the savings on to you. If you want to pick up some nice (expensive) patio furniture, see the guys on Central ave. If you want to buy the best spa for the best price see The Spa Wolesaler.
Description of Work
Delivered and installed new Hot Tub and took my 8 year old Hot Tub in trade.
Category
pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] thank you so much for the great review. We love it when customers really appreciate our honesty. We never want to be like the sales people at the retail stores. Or worse yet the sales people at those so called home show, expo, or hot tub blow out sales. We do things different and we always will. We actually recommended a smaller less expensive tub for you and most sales people would never do that. It is what sets us apart and the main reason why we sell more hot tubs than anyone in the capital district. Thank you again for purchasing a hot tub from us. You can reach us anytime if you have any questions at all. We would also like to point out that because of customers like you this is our best April in 8 years and we are only halfway through the month. Word of mouth is really getting out there. Thanks again and enjoy the new hot tub.
Cheryl C.
5.0
04/28/2013
Contacting Mark Harbour has been the only positive part of my entire experience. I don't know what I would have done if not for his assistance.
Description of Work
I purchased a swim spa on line that was to be delivered "curbside". After numerous delays the spa was to be delivered in January. I called Mark Harbour, The Spa Wholesaler and asked if he would take delivery for me and then deliver and install the spa in my yard. Mark has been wonderful! He suggested that he also test the spa for me prior to delivery which has been a saving grace. After waiting four months for the spa to arrive the spa leaked all over the floor and would not hold water. If that had happened in my backyard in January it would have been an even bigger disaster. My whole experience with this swim spa has been a nightmare but Mark has been my saving grace. Mark has been my advocate with the company from which I purchased the spa. He has advised me along the way and has made repairs to the spa without additional compensation. He had no obligation to do any of that. I knew of Mark because I had purchased a hot tub from him 7 years ago and he should have been my first call this time around too. The Spa Wholesaler's prices are very reasonable and the service is extrodinary. I cannot say enough good things about Mark Harbour, The Spa Wholesaler!
Category
pool cleaners, swimming pools
Gretchen G.
5.0
04/10/2013
I read the negative review below and I cannot fathom what kind of witchery this lady practices. I started speaking with Mark about a month and a half ago regarding a hot tub. I know he doesn't have a storefront like some of the pool stores around here, but he was referred by a friend who purchased a hot tub from him and he absolutely loves it. No surprise, my friend Chris was referred from one of his friends. Mark seemed to know as much about hot tubs as there is to know. I'm skeptical by nature, so after I met him I went and researched hot tubs and everything he said was right on the money. I also checked out reviews for his competitors tubs and saw the pitfalls by cutting corners. Mark's hot tubs don't cut corners. I didn't buy from Mark right away and I told him as much at our first meeting. He never put the pressure play on and answered my (numerous calls and questions for the next few weeks). Three weeks later I bought the tub and his partner Jeff came to deliver it. Jeff is a cool cucumber and knew his way in and out of the tub. What more can I say, the tub looks great, works great, and feels great. Jeff did a great job. Over the past 5 weeks, I called Mark 13 times. He answered the phone- every. single. time. One time was at 9:30 pm on a Monday night. You can go to a storefront and lay out $6000 for the same tub I got and 1) not get the same level of service; 2) not get the same quality pool. Don't blame me when your shell cracks after 3 years. I'm pretty sure mine won't, but even if it does, I've got a 12 year warranty on it. Check your warranty. If I was as cold hearted as some other un-mentioned reviewer, I would tell Mark the tub was broken just because after speaking with him so much, I know he would replace it with a better tub at no cost. His commitment to his profession surpasses most others in a sales industry. THANKS MARK AND JEFF!
Description of Work
1. Information and consulting regarding hot tubs in general. 2. Purchase and installation of a hot tub.
Category
pool cleaners, swimming pools

Service Provider Response

Wow. I could not ask for a better review. Thank you so much. We really, really apprecite it. I have many reviews on my facebook page but most of my customers are not members here and cannot leave feedback. If anyone would like to see more reviews you can go to facebook and type in the spa wholesaler. You can also go to google and type in the spa wholesaler and you'll see some more. We realize we do not have the best location but we do have a huge showroom. We have about 15 different models on display with about 4 different tubs running. We also realize that wherever you go everybody is going to tell you that the tubs they sell are the best. So we have all the competitors tubs on display. This way you can compare them to each other. Nobody else does this. Once again thank you for the great review. If you need anything don't hesitate, you can call us anytime.
Donna O.
1.0
02/15/2012
The Spa Wholesaler company is actually two guys mostly on cell phones working out of a dingy warehouse in Watervliet that was only staffed by appointment. I should have done more research. They seemed nice and knowledgeable and the price seemed great so I spent over $6000 (that was a lot of money for me) on a decent 4-6 person Raindance Cascade hot tub. I loved it at first, but when I found a crack and chunk missing under one of the headrests only a few months after delivery I wanted it replaced or at least repaired. They dropped the tub when they delivered it, so I am not sure if this was related or not. Ultimately, after more than a year of emails and calls that seemed to only spur unfulfilled outcomes, I contacted the manufacturer and reported my issues. Only then did the Spa Wholesaler finally contact me and offer to provide a replacement tub. The problem is that the replacement tub is smaller and a different brand, which seemed to be significantly less quality and motor seems far less powered. The first tub is was a therapeutic pleasure for my back, this one feels like someone blowing bubbles, there is just no power to it. I can not help but feel the owner used their knowledge of spas against my uneducated spa knowledge and they gave me a lesser spa and took away my quality used spa and left me with little if any alternatives for a true resolution. The price was great, if you want to roll the dice and risk using them it is up to you, but I would personally never use them again after such terrible service; the chasing after them for months, being misled, personally it was just not worth it for me. I would prefer to deal with someone I can trust and obtain real service and know I am obtaining a quality product from start to finish.
Description of Work
I purchased a Raindance Cascade hot tub. I loved it at first, but when I found a crack and chunk missing under one of the headrests only a few months after delivery I wanted it replaced or at least repaired. They dropped the tub pretty hard when they delivered it, so I am not sure if this was related or not. I spent over a year chasing the owners for a resolution, but am completely dissatisfied with the cheaper, low quality replacement tub they provided after a year of begging for resolution.
Category
pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

Ok first off, I believe the customer is always right except in this case. When the hot tub was delivered it was never dropped hard. Also the tub is completely checked before we leave the site. If the tub was damaged a customer would contact us right away or at least I would think so. Instead the member is leaving out the fact that it took her almost a year to call me to complain about a chip in the acrylic. This chip was actually on the top of the spa which you would see pretty quick. Now I honestly don't know what happened during the better part of the year. When I did finally recieve a call from the member I went out to look at the damage. It looked like somebody dropped something on the top of the spa. Perhaps a hammer or bowling ball, I will never know. If I was your average hot tub store I would of said sorry but you should not have waited a year to call me for damage that was done on delivery. To make a long story short it would have taken a few more weeks to get an acrylic repair guy out to fix the tub. Instead I offered the customer a brand new spa with a longer warranty. Now just so everyone knows, nobody, and I mean nobody in the hot tub industry would have done this just to make a customer happy. Especially after the better part of a year went by. Before the customer decided on the new tub I had her come back in, and she got to sit in a dry one for comfort and also see one run so she could feel the pressure. I gave her the option of having her old tub fixed or could have a brand new one which was basically the same tub but with all the new upgrades and a lot more jets. She was very happy with the new tub. She got to see and feel the pressure of the new tub before she decided on it. It is very puzzling to me to read this review especially since the customer has never called once to complain about the new tub. When I replaced her old tub all the pillows were destroyed, not from us, but from the customer. She also received all new pillows on the new spa, so again the customer made out like a bandit and was never charged a penny. This review just goes to show you no matter how hard you try, you can't please everyone. I actually hope the next tub see buys is from one of the retail stores in the area and then she can really see what customer service is really like. I have several thousand tubs of mine in the area. If you were to call I can give out references. Also you can google us and see other reviews. If anyone has any questions they can call us anytime.

    Other local Pros in your area

    CARIBBEAN POOLS & SPAS

    DBA: ROTTERDAM SWIMMING POOL CENTER INC.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Pool & spa sales, construction, installation & repairs. Hot Tub Repair - All Brands

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about The Spa Wholesaler

    How is The Spa Wholesaler overall rated?

    The Spa Wholesaler is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are The Spa Wholesaler open?

    The Spa Wholesaler is open:

    Sunday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    What payment options does The Spa Wholesaler provide

    The Spa Wholesaler accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

    Does The Spa Wholesaler offer free estimates?

    Yes, The Spa Wholesaler offers free project estimates.

    Does The Spa Wholesaler offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, The Spa Wholesaler offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does The Spa Wholesaler offer a senior discount?

    No, The Spa Wholesaler does not offer a senior discount.

    Does The Spa Wholesaler offer emergency services?

    Yes, The Spa Wholesaler offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by The Spa Wholesaler?

    Yes, The Spa Wholesaler offers warranties.

    What services does The Spa Wholesaler offer?

    The Spa Wholesaler offers the following services: Pool & spa sales, construction, installation & repairs. Hot Tub Repair - All Brands