Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Universe Home Services

4.7

(438) Verified Reviews

Founded 1954 • With Angi since January 2006

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Licensed
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Phone Number

Address

3782 Merrick Rd

Seaford, NY 11783

https://www.universehomeservices.com/

Description

Since 1954, Universe Home Services has been proudly serving the Nassau County community and customers throughout the entire region. With Universe Home Services, one call solves it all! Their highly trained technicians offer everything from heating and air conditioning to plumbing to appliance repair and electrical services on Long Island and beyond. Whether you’re dealing with an inefficient heating system, a noisy air conditioner, clogged toilet, broken dishwasher, or outdated electrical service panel, you can get the fast, affordable service you need with Universe Home Services. They go above and beyond to ensure that you’re completely satisfied with the quality of their work, offering service guarantees and parts and labor guarantees on new HVAC installations. As a family owned and operated company, Universe Home Services believes in top-quality customer service. They always treat you and your property with respect, working quickly, cleanly, and efficiently to minimize your inconvenience and leave your home in pristine condition. With more than 60 years of experience under their belt, and a commitment to unmatched quality, honesty, and expertise, Universe Home Services is the trusted name for heating, air conditioning, electrical, plumbing, and appliance repair on Long Island and beyond! Call today!...

Verified Reviews

4.7

(438) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

354

4

35

3

13

2

9

1

27

Rating Details

Price

4.3

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

appliance repair (285)HVAC Companies (167)plumbers (88)water heaters (38)electrician (19)small appliance repair (14)drain cleaning (12)gas leak repair (7)large appliances (4)well & water pump repair (4)generator service (2)chimney repair (1)
Showing 1-10 of 438 reviews
5.0

04/05/2022


andrew A.

They did a very good Job. Excellent service and very quick

Description of Work
upgrade electric panel

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/08/2021

Service Provider Response

We are so thankful that you took the time out to let us know how pleased you're electrical service. Our team appreciates every bit of feedback because it means we are meeting our goals of providing an exceptional experience to every customer. We are happy that we could be of assistance and look forward to being there for you again.
3.0

12/03/2021


Kasheen C.

The work is fine but the price is expensive

Description of Work
Airconditioning unit installation

Category appliance repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/10/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for leaving this review. We are so glad to hear that the installation work met your standards. Universe Home Services is always working to offer the best project rates and we do ask you to reach out to us if you have any questions regarding your bill. We thank you so much for choosing us and are here for you anytime.
5.0

08/28/2021


Ron K.

the entire process from estimate to installation went very well. I found everyone at the company helpful and friendly. The price was good and installation went well. I've had the mini-splits running for 3 days now and the whole family is very happy.

Description of Work
Had minisplit a/c units installed

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/25/2021

Service Provider Response

Good morning.... Thank you for your very positive review, it is truly appreciated.
1.0

01/12/2021


Charles M.

Buyer beware!!! They charge you $249 service fee to show up after 5pm and when they arrive they tell you the tech support for your manufacturer is not available until business hours the next business day. They return the next business day to tell you the part needed is not in stock and it will take a few days to arrive. Who has 2-3 days to wait at 30-35 degrees with no heat or hot water???? I went to a local plumbing supply company and brought the required part sealed in a box from the manufacturer, but Universe refused to install. I advised I would take responsibility for the part, they still refused to install leaving me with no heat... (maybe because there is no markup available when customer supplies the part?....I offered to pay a markup just to get heat in the house, they still refused). They claimed the job would cost $1,500. The required part was $75. Check out Sullivan Plumbing and Heating in Massapequa. They did the same job with my part for 20% of the price quoted by Universe Home Services. Mr. Sullivan is an honest plumber who does great work.

Description of Work
Navian Combination Heater/Hot Water repair- valve needed replacment

Category appliance repair,heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $249

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 12/05/2020

Service Provider Response

I am sorry you were unhappy, but as we explained to you, we do not install parts that do not come from the manufacturer, we do not install customer supplied parts as we have no idea if they are new, used or refurbished. All of our repairs come with a full one year warranty on parts and labor.... Thank you.
5.0

01/11/2021


Michael D.

Excellent response, clear and concise explanation of what required to be done. Very courteous. Work completed very quickly and neatly. Excellent experience and I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Heater stack vent and pressure valve not allowing heater to work properly

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/23/2020

Service Provider Response

Good afternoon.... We are so very pleased with your review, we work hard to make sure all of our customers are satisfied with the work. In fact it is one of our core values.
5.0

10/28/2020


Michael H.

Universe Home Services was great. They did Pipe installation for us

Description of Work
Pipe installation

Category appliance repair

Cost $180

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/24/2020

Service Provider Response

Good morning sir.... we are delighted that you are happy with the work we did for you. Just to let you know besides plumbing we also do Heating, AC, Electrical, Appliances and Home Filtration.... Again, thank you.....
1.0

10/06/2020


Danny O.

FALSE ADVERTISING!!!!!!!!! They say they offer services to all of Nassau County send out advertisements but do not offer technicians to repair appliances don't waist your time.

Description of Work
Requested Appliance Repair

Category small appliance repair

Work Completed On 10/06/2020

Service Provider Response

Good afternoon.... We do offer our services to Nassau County, but we do limit the areas for appliances. The representative advised you of this and I am sorry you are upset.
1.0

09/21/2020


David D.

I didn't even get the courtesy of a response to my inquiry.

Description of Work
Microwave oven repair

Category small appliance repair

Work Completed On 09/21/2020

Service Provider Response

I do not see any requests from you, when did you send this in?
5.0

09/02/2020


Richard L.

Since this was an emergency (we were concerned that the pipe might crack with no support) we went with Universe as that was the first company we contacted. The service manager (Tommy) sent over a tech (Nick) within 2 hours. Nick proceeded to remove 20ft of old pipe and replaced with new PVC and new support straps. The job took about 5 hours including the assessment and cleanup. The service was performed very professionally. We did pay $2,700, which we feel was a quite high for 5 hours of work. But, since we didn't get competing bids we can't complain.

Description of Work
Waste line straps snapped causing cast iron pipe to seriously sag.

Category appliance repair,plumbing

Cost $2,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/02/2020

Service Provider Response

Good morning... Thank you for your kind words, we take pride in the work that we perform. I forwarded your message to Tommy to get in touch with you, I know he sent you an email since he could not reach you by phone. Again, thank you.
3.0

07/19/2020


Arlene L.

It’s still having same problem and he needs to come back

Description of Work
Washing machine didn’t spin

Category appliance repair

Cost $264

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/19/2020

Service Provider Response

I am sorry you are having an issue, please call into the office to make an appointment... Thank you

Services Offered

Air conditioning repair & installation, heating repair & installation, HVAC maintenance, appliance repairs, general plumbing, drain cleaning, fixture plumbing, water filtration systems, water heater installation & repair, electrical services, bathroom & kitchen electrical remodeling

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
No
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
Senior Discount
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
No

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Universe Home Services

How is Universe Home Services overall rated?

Universe Home Services is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

What days are Universe Home Services open?

Universe Home Services is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

What payment options does Universe Home Services provide

Universe Home Services accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

Does Universe Home Services offer free estimates?

No, Universe Home Services does not offer free project estimates.

Does Universe Home Services offer eco-friendly accreditations?

Yes, Universe Home Services offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Does Universe Home Services offer emergency services?

Yes, Universe Home Services offers emergency services.

Are warranties offered by Universe Home Services?

No, Universe Home Services does not offer warranties.

What services does Universe Home Services offer?

Universe Home Services offers the following services: Air conditioning repair & installation, heating repair & installation, HVAC maintenance, appliance repairs, general plumbing, drain cleaning, fixture plumbing, water filtration systems, water heater installation & repair, electrical services, bathroom & kitchen electrical remodeling