Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Cameron Home Improvement Group Inc

Founded 2000 • With Angi since July 2006

4.4

(45) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1173 Pittsford-Victor Rd Ste 250-08

Pittsford, NY 14534

Description

We're a full service home improvement company having provided services to over 3,000 households. We have been awarded an "A-Plus" rating for customer service by the Better Business Bureau. Our services are delivered by experienced employees of ours.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/23/2020


Mary E H.

Crew of 7 worked 7 am (dawn) to 5 pm (dusk) in early December, hard-working & smooth working team, with foreman on site + project manager that checked in daily. Foreman checked in with me regularly as work progressed. Founder of this longtime family business came at the end to review job and receive payment. Removed old roof, replaced plywood underlayment, flashing as needed. Found source of ALL the leaks, installed flashing where it had been missing to prevent future issues. Looks GREAT!. Minor issue: quality of wood trim that had to be removed & then replaced; needs carpenter skills, not a strong part of their skill set, so I will have that upgraded in the spring.

Description of Work
Replace roof for us (very steep & complex)

Category roofing

5.0

06/26/2018


David H.

The job went well; communications with Matt, Brian, Pete were timely. The weather got in the way a bit, so the job took longer than originally planned, completely understandable. Price was very fair; the only add-ons were as discussed.

Description of Work
New Roof - tear off

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

We appreciate the kind words as well as the business. We've done a significant amount of work in your neighborhood. Thanks again.
2.0

08/14/2017


Jane V.

Roofing job was okay, Siding job okay, but window trim was terrible. The worker refused to redo work on windows and seeing that he is the only one that does this work, there was nothing they would do. The owner came out to look at job and essentially said that according to my contract the work was complete and it didn't say to the customers satisfaction. He offered a figure of money to take off and we told him that we wanted to get an estimate of how much it was going to cost us to redo their mess and wouldn't him pay until we knew what that was going to be. He expected payment that day. He eventually came up with another figure as he said he would take a lien out on us if we didn't pay. They were supposed to call us back and let us know the brand of caulking that was used for the windows, and never heard back. You would think he might want to make his customers happy for referrals, but apparently that's not the case. If you want a job done to your satisfaction, I wouldn't recommend this company.

Description of Work
Roofing & Siding

Category siding

Service Provider Response

The homeowner first contracted us to do their roof. After a positive experience in replacing their roof they contracted us for their siding. Why would they contract us to do their siding if they felt the roof replacement was just okay? Our siding installer tried to satisfy the homeowner's request but I believe that was not going to be possible. I met with them to discuss their concerns and when it was obvious that we were going to fall short of her expectations, I discounted the job $1,600. Some people you're just not going to please.
2.0

12/10/2015


Mark R.

Company did my roof as well as my neighbors. 3 days after installation we had a wind storm. My neighbor lost approx. 1/3 of his shingles and I lost approx. 10%. Between the 2 houses, there were shingles everywhere. Owner claimed that wind storm caused damage and it was an act of nature. I pointed out that of the 50+ homes in my neighborhood/tract, we were the ONLY 2 houses with shingles blown off. I had a roof inspector out, and he explained that they were installed improperly. In talking with the foreman, he also explained that the owner, Dave Cameron, had hired "young kids that had no experience in roofing." After several (over 10) phone calls and conversations, I finally got Dave to send someone out to replace the missing shingles. Dave was beyond rude, totally unprofessional. In short, a condescending jerk. Perhaps he's changed his ways, but I certainly wouldn't ever use or recommend his company for any work.

Description of Work
New roof, second layer (not a tear off).

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

You can see that this work was done in 2007. That was over 9 years ago. We use to do re-roofs (going over an existing roof) after 10[Member Information Removed]15 but we stopped doing it after because of this experience. The homeowner contacted the building inspector for the Town of Perinton and the building inspector found nothing wrong with our installation. We went back to this homeowner as well as his neighbor and installed new shingles where the shingles had blown off. We're not perfect but we always stand behind our work.
5.0

11/27/2015


Andrew S.

Very good price - professional sales people, crew chief, and crew - performed neatly on schedule and as agreed. A+ experience. I recommend them.

Description of Work
House and detached garage tear-off and re-shingle.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

We truly appreciate the kind words. Professionalism is what we strive for and we're glad that you had a positive experience with us.
5.0

06/29/2015


Joseph A.

.Everything was done as promised and on time. The work is done in an extremely professional manner and done right. I am very satisfied. Their Tech, (Shane) did an outstanding job and I would recommend Cameron roofing to anyone who needs roof work done on their house.

Description of Work
Put in Roof ridges on both the house and garage along with an outside bathroom vent and fixed some problems on the roof. They area coming back to replace a roof valley. They came back and replaced the roofing materials on the front valley on the house. They put in a new flashing boot on one of the bathroom stacks along with sealing other areas of the roof that needed to be done.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

We truly appreciate your kind words and your business. We are a full service home improvement company and would enjoy working with you on future projects.
5.0

10/16/2014


Dan & Denise C.

Received very detailed estimate and answered all of our questions. When appointment was set, they told us exactly what would be done that day. Crew arrived on time, very professional and courteous. Did an excellent job and excellent clean up. Went over everything at completion. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Removed old roof and replaced with new.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review supporting our company. Our professionalism is what sets us apart in this industry.
5.0

08/30/2014


Michelle C.

They where very efficient and very punctual , when they said what time they be here they on time. They cover up the open roof when it started to rain then after got my roof weather tight so could finish the next day .They where also real good about cleaning up at the end of each day to this day I still yet to find any nails from when they tore off my roof.

Description of Work
Complete tear of and replacement of roof

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

We appreciate the kind words and would be more than happy to help with future projects.
5.0

06/30/2014


Joshua S.

We screened half a dozen roofers before choosing Cameron. Our roof is rather large and fairly complicated. They came in with the best bid and high quality materials (GAF Timberline HD 50yr life). Also, they had a big team (~12 guys) so the work only took 3 days. Getting a new roof put on is an enormous pain in the #ss, but these guys made it tolerable. Their crew was very professional. The roof looks great. They really do a nice job from an attention to detail standpoint. They even paint all the various things that stick out of the roof (vents, pipes, etc) to match the roof, which is a nice touch. My one quibble is that there were a lot of nails left in the yard/gutters after they were done. To be fair, in reading reviews online, I've found this to be a nearly universal complaint and Cameron did run a magnetic sweeper around the yard multiple times. I guess when you pull ~10,000 nails out of a roof there's bound to be some left over. I bought a magnetic sweeper on Amazon for $20 and went around the yard myself afterwards for half an hour and problem solved. I contacted them about the gutters and they were responsive and sent someone out to further clean them. Overall, I'd give Cameron an "A" for the roof they put on. I'd probably give them a B/B+ for cleanup, but they also had the lowest bid on the job so I consider that reasonable. Bottom line, the roof looks fantastic. They did a really nice job. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them, though you might want to invest the $20 in a magnetic sweeper for afterwards. Josh, Pittsford, NY

Description of Work
New Roof

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

We truly appreciate the kind words that were used in regards to discussing the workmanship of our crew and quality of the job. The homeowner was great to work with from initial meeting and estimate to job completion. While there were some nails leftover even after doing our own magnetic cleanup/sweep, our crew did come back in a short manner to clean further. As the homeowner points out, it's very difficult to get every single one when so many are torn off. We would be more than happy to work with you again for any of your other home improvement needs. Thank you again for the great review.
5.0

06/16/2014


Lauren F.

Came on time and provided a reasonable estimate. We received estimates from 8-10 contractors and went with another one. Would definitely reach out for future needs.

Description of Work
Estimate for tear off of roof and garage

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

We thank you for reaching out to us for an estimate and reviewing our company even though you decided to go elsewhere for this particular job. Showing up on time for both the estimate and job itself is standard in every industry except ours, and that's where we take advantage. Our professionalism is what differentiates us from our competitors and we love to hear when it's acknowledged. We hope your current job went well and would love to work with you in the future on other projects.
3.0

06/06/2014


Jennifer N.

While the price was good, this service provider was very poorly response. We attempted to finalize a contract for several months, but they frequently failed to return our calls. In addition, the owner was not polite when we did make contact. After several months trying to set up an appointment to finalize the contract without success, we decided to go with another provider.

Description of Work
Gave us an estimate for a new roof.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

I don't know how to respond to this. We made numerous (in excess of 10) efforts to schedule a time to meet to discuss their project dating back to 9/16/13 (when we provided an estimate) and they constantly rescheduled or cancelled. I can document over 6 times where they neither responded to our email or our voicemail message. They finally scheduled an appointment to meet with us on a Friday night at 7:00pm to facilitate the contract and I was met by there father only to tell us neither husband or wife were home and he offered his deepest apology. We made numerous attempts after the "No-show" and still no response. Keep in mind I've done work for more than 5 neighbors of theirs and I still get many referals. I know they contracted with someone else and it's probably best it worked out that way. Some customers/prospective customers do really have their facts straight. We're not rated A-plus by the BBB and A rated by Angie's list by accident.
5.0

06/03/2014


Gerald L.

The crew was puntual, professional and worked extremly hard. This was a steep city roof that you would think could take a a week but they had it done in 2.5 days. Clean up was fast and pretty through although i did need to point out a couple of spots they missed. The great part about that is they listened and took care of it. The other lesson there is that even the best can benefit from another set of eyes. Definitly recommend

Description of Work
Complete roof tear off and replace. Also repaired siding around windows

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

We appreciate the kind words by [member name removed]. It was a pleasure being able to handle his roof and gutter replacement.
5.0

05/07/2014


David D.

Exceptional job and service!!!

Description of Work
Tear off 3 layers of roof.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your kind words about our work as you were a pleasure to do business with. We look forward to helping with any future home improvement needs you have.
5.0

05/05/2014


Carlo G.

The team of six was here bright and early (7 AM) Monday morning and immediately went to work removing the old shingles. A storm was due in later that day and they worked as if they knew they needed to finish before the storm hit. They did, although a couple of guys were still on the garage roof placing shingles when it did hit. They were 90% done on the garage when the rains came, but it was waterproof at this time and they finished placing the last few shingles in the rain. They were fast, efficient and it does not appear quality suffered because of this. They did wait until the next day when the rain was less intense to clean up, which was fine with me. I did not expect them to do their clean up in driving rain, and it was also late in the day. Brian came by the next morning and discussed their actions with me of which I was very satisfied at that time. They were very workman like and very responsible and professional. I would definitely recommend them to anyone who is considering reroofing their home.

Description of Work
Complete tear off of double shingle (two layers) roof and replacement of roof (shingles, etc.)

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

We appreciate [member name removed] response and we're glad we were able to help him with his needs.
5.0

12/20/2013


Roger C.

They put on a new roof, it was a complete tearoff and some sheeting. A working forman was on the job and kept me informed of everything they were doing. I was impressed with their work ethic and professionalism. The price was very competative.

Description of Work
.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure working with you and we appreciate your kind words. We would be more than happy to help with other projects in the future.
5.0

11/25/2013


KATIE O.

Dave and Brian were on time... arrived as they said they would, materials were delivered on time...including the dumpster! The workers were EARLY each day! They were as tiddy as they could be, cleaning up as they went along, finishing up cleaning each night before they left. The foreman, Doug, was there to oversee the crew and answer any questions we had. Dave and Brian also checked in to be sure we didn't have any questions or concerns. We watched a lot of what they did and found that their workmanship "underneath" was as good as the work that did show...a beautiful new roof and vents. We are very happy with the results! We will look to have them take on additional work as they do all types of work...remodeling, painting, repairs, etc. Very happy with the Cameron Home Improvement Group!

Description of Work
Complete tear off of all roof materials on a ranch house, garage and shed, then replaced damaged decking, installed water shield, all new everything! They removed box vents and installed new ridge vents. Installed Lifetime architectural shingles. Everything was cleaned up and taken away.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

This homeowner was a pleasure to work with and we're glad she feels the same way about us. It's always great to hear when a client is more than satisfied with a project, and look forward to helping with future ones.
5.0

11/09/2013


Judy B.

Dave Cameron put a new roof on our home. He charged us $4000.00 less than 2 other estimates, used all of the same top grade products and installation specs. His crew were punctual, professional, and cleaned up. They replaced the roof in one day and it's been fine. Cameron did everything he said he would and it's been excellent! No problems after more than a year.

Description of Work
I used Cameron Home Improvement Group Inc.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

It's great to hear when our clients are so satisfied because we simply did exactly what we say we would. Our professionalism and ability to consistently meet or exceed standards is what separates us from the competition. We'd love to help with future projects.
5.0

10/27/2013


Eva W.

My neighbor recommended Cameron to me after having her roof done - all the houses in our development are that age, and my house is one of the last getting the roof redone. She had warned me however that she had problems with the cleanup being incomplete; she did make a point of saying that when she called to complain the problem was rectified to her satisfaction. David Cameron came out to do the estimate on my house, and the price was lower than other estimates I got. They were clear in their instructions for preparation (having the driveway clear for the dumpster), showed up when they said they would, did the job efficiently, and cleaned up properly. There were no problems whatsoever from start to finish. How many times can you really say that about working with contractors?

Description of Work
Tear off and replacement of a portion of roof that needed repair

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

The last two sentences she stated is exactly how we differentiate ourselves from the competition. We simply work in a manner that's considered standard if it were a different industry, but exceptional in ours. As this was initially a partial job, the homeowner recently asked us back to complete the project in entirety. There's no better compliment than our previous clients choosing us again in the future.
5.0

07/23/2013


David P.

Overall excellent in all respects. Honored last years estimate, owner was very responsive in communications, polite and affable. Crew was same. They did not use our in-home bathroom, nor did they smoke on our property, nor did they leave lunch/personal garbage laying around after they left. Great clean up, hardly found any nails. Some other roof debris found in trees and laying around property, but probably within acceptable range for most. For the detail oriented there were some things they could have done better with drip edge application, cutting. When they tore off roof on garage the debris dropped into garage and layered everything in garage...a big mess that I had to clean up. I havent looked in my attic yet to see if same thing occurred from house tear off. I thought the price was very fair, as I had 4 layers of asphalt roofing PLUS cedar shakes to remove, and as mentioned above, they really cleaned up nicely. I paid $8500 and I had estimates above $10,000, but those were from larger fancier companies with more overhead. I would recommend this company as a great value in the residential roof replacement category.

Description of Work
roof tear off and replacement

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

It's great to hear that another satisfied client found us excellent in all respects. We'd be more than happy to help with future projects.
5.0

07/15/2013


Daniel G.

Arrived on time, did the job in one day as promised. Cleaned up afterward. No surprises.

Description of Work
Roof

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

The homeowner stated exactly why we succeed in our industry: no surprises. It was a pleasure working with them and we'd be more than happy to in the future on other projects.
1.0

06/19/2013


Patricia T.

At first things seemed fine until I noticed over the past year water stains on my basement wall. Apparently water has been trickling between the walls and stains on my ceilings, I have been in contact with the owner and find him dishonest. I have had three contractors and an inspector tell me issues with the workmanship. However the owner claims his foreman found nothing wrong at all. It was recently determined that they forgot to use caulk and this was the cause of the leaks. I now have ceiling that needs repainting and a roof that needs repairs. The owner said he will come back and caulk, but is not responsible for the repainting of my ceilings.I will be pursuing this matter legally, but find it disappointing and unprofessional of a business with a good rating with the BBB. I have updated them as well of this experience. I hope this helps prevent another consumer from this headache that simply could have been avoided if caulk was used. I did mention it was in the contract. So now I have a leaky roof and ceiling in need of painting as a result of using this company.

Description of Work
I paid for a re-roof in 6/2011 as this was over a single layer of shingles.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

This customer filed a formal complaint with the BBB, with which I have an A-Plus rating with. The BBB sided with us stating we took reasonable actions to help out this customer. We even agreed to meet with an engineer friend of hers to review the situation but she refused. We had performed a re-roof (roof over) on her house. The problem she was having was a wall flashing issue. There's no way for us to fix/compromise her wall flashing without doing a complete tear-off on her roof. We are not rated A-Plus by the BBB because we do poor work. I wish things had worked out different. I offered to repair her flashing issue at cost but she wanted it for free.
4.0

04/28/2013


Michael D.

Dave showed up on time and spent a great deal of time telling me about his company. I was very impressed. Dave explained the product he would use and showed me some samples. Dave the e-mailed me the quote which was less than the other quote I had. But it did not use all GAF material so the warranty was not as good. I felt the warranty would be a good selling point in the future an worth the extra money. I would definitely call Dave in the future for other work should the need arise.

Description of Work
Estimate on complete tear off and reroof entire house and garage.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

The homeowner preferred to go with a roofing contractor who charged $2,000.00 more than we quoted for a more enhanced manufacturer's warranty. We were using the same shingles as the other contractor.
5.0

12/17/2012


Anne S.

The crew was courteous and punctual. The owner originally said it would be a 2 day job which impressed me. Work was delayed by 2 weeks due to the Sandy storm. When the work was started, the crew was split between my roof and completing a previous job elsewhere so it ended up being 3 days. The amount of debris surrounding the house was monumental and I was OK with them just cleaning up the driveway and walkway after each day. The days are pretty short in November so it was understandable to just concentrate on getting the roof finished instead of taking an hour of precious daylight to pick up each day. They were done after dark on the 3rd day and did a great job on the clean-up. We got a price break for paying by check and allowing a sign in the yard afterwards (which they still haven't put up....maybe they're waiting for spring).

Description of Work
-Gave a detailed estimate and stuck to it -Required 4 layers of tear offs and some repair work -Had more insulation blown in before closing the roof back in -Finished in 3 days

Category insulation, roofing

Service Provider Response

We appreciate the strong review and understanding for late cleanup due to it being November. Unfortunately we're not rated an A in every category even though we're rated an A overall. We'll continue to do our best to exceed expectations in each area.
5.0

11/14/2012


Juan C. C.

Following an Energy audit I called several contractors to address some of the issued raised by the inspection. Initially I was going to do work on the roof and got a few estimates for that job but after careful consideration I decided to address the insulation issues first. Dave sent an insulation expert to assess my needs and gave me a fair estimate for the job. Once I agreed on the estimate we fixed the date and the crew (two people) came to do the work. While the job was done properly their craftmanship was not as good as I expected, screws missing, holes not cut precisely, etc. (I am an aeromodeler and woodworker.) Also, they did not clean up as thoroughly as I expected (some debris were left outside and some insulation inside.) I contacted Dave to raise my concerns and he was quick in responding and addressing most of them.

Description of Work
Added insulation to attics and installed soffits for ventilation (my house did not have any soffits)

Category insulation, roofing

Service Provider Response

The homeowner was great to work with and we're glad he thinks so highly of us. He recently contacted us and signed an estimate to do another project, which is the best compliment we can receive. It's a pleasure to work with him again.
4.0

10/30/2012


Marti P.

Very prompt in contacting us when we left a message. Came out right away and provided a quote within 24 hours. We accepted the quote within 48 hours. It took them a little while to actually schedule the job, but once they did they arrive promptly and had the job done in one day. They cleaned up all debris. We are happy with the work. The new roof withstood hurricane Sandy.

Description of Work
Re-roof main part of home. Complete tear-off of Garage and area between home and garage.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

I'm not sure what the customer was hoping for. We provided an estimate on 9/13/12, she signed a contract on 9/27/12 and her roof was completed 10/12/12. That's about as fast as we could do it.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Top Notch Drywall & Plaster

    We are a family owned and operated business. Our experience was brought down from 3 generations. We specialize in ceiling and wall repairs including water damage, stress cracks, sagging plaster. **Drywall service also offered*** attics, basements or additions,FINISHING OF THE DRYWALL ONLY. "You hang it and we will do the finishing"  

    Angi Certified

    Mulcahy Ceilings and Drywall

    Matthew Mulcahy is a ceiling and drywall contractor specializing in textured finishing and repair work of all kinds; but especially to water-damaged ceilings and walls. Matt will be happy to discuss projects anywhere in the Greater Rochester region; and he will travel to jobs anywhere in Monroe County.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Keithas

    We specialize in handyman services, home repairs, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, Check, Visa, Financing Available, Discover
    Senior Discount
    3%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Interior Remodeling - Bathroom, Kitchen, Basement. Exterior Remodeling - Additions, Roofing, Siding, Replacement Windows, Decks

    Services Not Offered

    Please Inquire

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Cameron Home Improvement Group Inc

    How is Cameron Home Improvement Group Inc overall rated?

    Cameron Home Improvement Group Inc is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Cameron Home Improvement Group Inc open?

    Cameron Home Improvement Group Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Cameron Home Improvement Group Inc provide

    Cameron Home Improvement Group Inc accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Check, Visa, Financing Available, Discover

    Does Cameron Home Improvement Group Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Cameron Home Improvement Group Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Cameron Home Improvement Group Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Cameron Home Improvement Group Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Cameron Home Improvement Group Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Cameron Home Improvement Group Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Cameron Home Improvement Group Inc?

    Yes, Cameron Home Improvement Group Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Cameron Home Improvement Group Inc offer?

    Cameron Home Improvement Group Inc offers the following services: Interior Remodeling - Bathroom, Kitchen, Basement. Exterior Remodeling - Additions, Roofing, Siding, Replacement Windows, Decks

    Are there any services Cameron Home Improvement Group Inc does not offer?

    Please Inquire