Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

NY State Solar

Founded 2015 • With Angi since September 2018

5.0

(14) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

132 W 31ST ST

New York, NY 10001

Description

NY State Solar has an established reputation for stellar client service within the renewable energy sector. Our photovoltaic systems are custom designed and built by NY State Solar’s talented team members based on the parameters of your home and follow the strictest standards for quality in the business. We are North American Board of Certified Energy Practitioners® (NABCEP®) Certified, and have been designated as a NYSERDA Quality Solar Installer as well. Thousands of your friends and neighbors are satisfied NY State Solar customers, and we are looking to help even more people go green and save on their energy bills!...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/02/2020


Peter C.

We are very happy with our solar energy system and highly recommend NY State Solar, especially our project manager Milan Milosevic. At the time of this writing, our electric bill for September 2019 (our first full month) was the connection charge of $13.83 which was $367 in 2018. We didn’t expect this all the time, but it was a great start. For the period from 9/1/2019 to 1/31/2020, there was a 77% decrease in usage and 69% savings in cost. This yielded of decrease of approximately $1,118 for this 5-month period over the same period 12 months ago ($1,663 to $544). It was proposed to us that the system would produce 52% of our total usage minimum over 12 months. We are at 77% of total usage for the past five months and we are heading towards the higher production days of spring and summer. Milan walk us through the entire process, explain all the details, and was always available for questions. We were told ahead of time what to expect and was never caught off guard. We were presented with all costs including the tax credits (both Federal and NY State) we would receive, what options we had, and the costs of those options. Milan made visits to our home when Hytech Solar (the installation contractor) replaced the roof and install all the equipment. He still checks on us regularly to this day and makes sure we are satisfied and on track with the tax credits and provided the required forms necessary. As a retired licensed professional engineer and construction project manager for 34 years, I think in my professional opinion that Hytech Solar performed top quality work. Not only was the work high quality, but all involved took my suggestions in the design so that the aesthetics of the house was not compromised. The contractor also efficiently cleaned-up and protected the site from damage. This also shows that NY State Solar expects high quality work from their contractors. The only downside is that all costs are paid up front and had to put our trust in NY State Solar that the right job would be done. However, it paid off. The right job was engineered and installed to get the most from the sunlight available. If your interested in solar energy, I highly recommend NY State Solar and ask for Milan Milosevic. You should also do it now as the tax credits have gone down in 2020.

Description of Work
Install Solar Energy System

Category solar panels

5.0

03/11/2019


Chris C.

Jason Hawes of NY State Solar was, and is, most helpful in explaining the system and financial options. Saw the project through from beginning to end. As I come up with questions, he continues to answer promptly and be of great help..,

Description of Work
Design and install solar panel system

Category solar panels

5.0

02/21/2019


Hudsen C.

I had a great experience with new York state solar. Joseph Hawes did an absolute bang up job explaining the program to us and we were sold as soon as Joseph told us about all the money we would save.

Description of Work
We got solar panels

Category solar panels

5.0

01/09/2019


Robert T.

Joseph took care of everything and explained everything clearly. Very pleasant experience.

Description of Work
Solar panels

Category solar panels

5.0

10/29/2018


Philip G.

Excellent. Me. Franklin was the best person to deal with.

Description of Work
Solar panels on my roof by New York State solar

Category solar panels

5.0

10/27/2018


Lori M.

Very prompt very professional. Our salesman Franklin Cussmsno was thorough and reassuring.

Description of Work
Installed solar panels

Category solar panels

5.0

10/25/2018


Paul R.

NY State Solar and especially Matt McAuliffe have been exceptional in explaining, planning, estimating financial impacts and monitoring the progress of our solar project. Essentially, NYS Solar provides a vehicle to access the best solar installation companies and assures a fair competitive price. NYS Solar’s relationship with NYSERDA was a key factor in making the application and approval process go very smoothly. Matt McAuliffe is a real professional who knows his business; and his honesty and passion for renewable energy expansion was key in my confidence in making the decision to install our solar system.

Description of Work
Solar energy project planning, decision and installation

Category solar panels

5.0

10/24/2018


Dan M.

We now have solar. We now understand how the whole process works. Franklin has been a pleasure to work with. And as I told Franklin I don’t like salesmen. I also told him I was going to give him a hard time. It took it all gracefully. I would not want Franklin to write a review on me but I would recommend him a hundred times over.

Description of Work
Franklin was a salesman for us for a solar Co. He was and still is very professional very knowledgeable. Franklin answers texts immediately Franklin has been a gem. Very happy with him

Category solar panels

5.0

10/24/2018


Melaine B.

It went very well. The process was quick and easy. We didn’t need to do much of anything. Our rep was incredible and always great about getting back to us when we had questions about anything

Description of Work
Installation of solars

Category solar panels

5.0

10/23/2018


David B.

The company was great but Franklin Cusma our sales rep to this day is still one of the nicest people I’ve ever met He was so good actually that we’ve developed a friendship and he always returns messages immediately when we have questions. I’ve referred him to numerous people already. He’s is the epitome of a gentleman

Description of Work
Solar panels put on our roof

Category lighting,solar panels

    Other local Pros in your area

    Laurelton Electric

    "Let Our Family Work for Yours” At Laurelton Electric we specialize in electrical repairs and generator services for residential, industrial and retail customers 24 hours per day 7 days per week. Our dispatch offices service Manhatten, Brooklyn, The Bronx, Queens, Nassau ,Westchester and beyond” since 1935. We are 3rd Generation family owned and operated, Licensed, Bonded, and Insured, and offer FREE estimates. Our work is 100% guaranteed and maintenance contracts are also available.  

    Nooks Electrical

    If you suspect that your electrical system could potentially be damaged, call Nooks Electrical right away and we will send a knowledgeable electrician your way. With our help, we will be able to identify the exact issue that is preventing your system from functioning properly. We work on anything from generators and light installation to electrical panel repair. Needless to say, our work has provided customers with electrifying satisfaction. Whether you need electrical repair service or complete home rewiring, we have the experience and expertise to solve your electrical issues quickly. We strive to respond to our customers quickly, so they are sure to get reliable commercial or residential electrical services when they need it. Our highly qualified electrical services serve the residents in Queens, NY. Contact Nooks Electrical for outstanding residential or commercial electrical services today!  

    PK & Altman Electric

    Family owned and operated for two generations. We've completed over 90,000 high-end residential, commercial and retail electrical projects. We are fully licensed and insured. Our expert electricians are ready to serve the New York City area. ________________________________ *RESIDENTIAL SERVICES* Circuit breaker panels, High-end kitchen and bath renovations. Replacement/installation of outlets, fixtures, switches, etc. Indoor and outdoor lighting. Sconce, chandelier, pendant lights, ceiling fixtures, track lighting installation. We are very experienced in installing luxury/designer lighting (Apparatus, Bec Brittain, Allied Maker, etc.)________________________________ *COMMERCIAL SERVICES* include increasing power. upgrade service. install dedicated lines. violations removal. emergency and backup lighting systems. sensor lighting. outside lighting, outlet installations. maintenance contracts ________________________________ *RETAIL SERVICES* include showcase lighting. relamping, ballast replacements.  

    Business Highlights

    LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
    Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
    Wears MaskWears Mask
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    WC-33666-H21
    Trade License Locale
    New York
    Trade License Authority
    Westchester County Department of Consumer Affairs
    Trade License Expiration
    02/22/2023
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available, Check
    Senior Discount
    no
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    NY State Solar offers residential and commercial solar systems.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about NY State Solar

    How is NY State Solar overall rated?

    NY State Solar is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are NY State Solar open?

    NY State Solar is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does NY State Solar provide

    NY State Solar accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available, Check

    Does NY State Solar offer free estimates?

    Yes, NY State Solar offers free project estimates.

    Does NY State Solar offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, NY State Solar offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does NY State Solar offer a senior discount?

    No, NY State Solar does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by NY State Solar?

    Yes, NY State Solar offers warranties.

    What services does NY State Solar offer?

    NY State Solar offers the following services: NY State Solar offers residential and commercial solar systems.