Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Empire State Plumbing Inc

Founded 2006 • With Angi since June 2008

4.5

(32) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3725 US-20

Nassau, NY 12123

Description

We offer 24 hour Emergency Services on all of your plumbing needs, which means our telephone is answered 24 hours a day. Our trucks are fully stocked to save you time and money. We only install quality products and guarantee all of our work. Whether you have a faucet that you need repaired or a new

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/16/2021


David K.

They were excellent. Very fair. They did not charge us for the visit.

Description of Work
water purifier and fixed pump in basement

Category plumbing

5.0

08/10/2018


Christine V.

I was most impressed with my first experience using Empire State Plumbing Inc. We needed a 50 gallon electric hot water heater replaced the day before the Fourth of July. I called that morning and spoke with Tom, the owner. After a discussion about my requirements Tom said he would check on the availability of the water heater and get back to me that morning. He called back less than a half hour later and quoted me a price which included installation of the new commercial grade water heater and removal of the old unit. The price was reasonable and I agreed to proceed with the installation. To my surprise and delight he was able to come over that same day at a time I was available. By 2 PM that same day I had hot water again. Tom and his helper Pat were courteous, prompt, and professional. What more could you ask for?

Description of Work
kinderhook@gmail.com

Category plumbing, water heater repair

5.0

09/05/2015


Kayla O.

Our natural gas hot water heater stopped working and required replacement due to defects and damage to the tank and vent. Apparently, for the type of hot water heater that was installed in out home prior to us buying the house (improperly and damaged I might add), consumers cannot buy parts on their own. We called Empire State Pluming base on a recommendation of a coworker. They squeezed us in on a Friday afternoon before a holiday weekend. Tom and Rick arrived on time and made quick work of removing and installing a new hot water heater. We could not be more impressed and satisfied with the service that we received. No more shopping around for a plumber for me. I will be calling Empire State Plumbing for all my plumbing issues in the future. I would absolutely recommend them to everyone without any reservations whatsoever.

Description of Work
Replaced Hot Water Heater

Category plumbing, water heater repair

3.0

04/24/2015


Shealeen M.

Two junior employees were sent to do what was a fairly small job - the repair of a bathroom shower faucet (the handles had broken). They misidentified the main shut-off valve for the water, using a secondary shut-off instead. They then informed me that the shut-off wasn't working and that they would need to put in emergency sharkbite valves to do the work. After they had done this, the head plumber / owner arrived and immediately identified the proper shut-off, used it, and admitted that the valves were unnecessary. He finished up the work his men had begun. He then proceeded to charge me for the labor and parts that were unnecessary. To make matters worse, I recently had a new plumber come to do some work and he discovered that these unnecessary valves had not been put in straight and that they have begun to slowly leak water into my ceiling and insulation. The head plumber was quick and capable in the work that he did (it did not hold up well, but I suspect that was because the fixture was 30 years old). However, when his men made mistakes he should have 1) not charged the customer for them and 2) checked their other work. He would not be my first choice for a plumber in the future.

Description of Work
Repair of broken faucet

Category plumbing

2.0

03/02/2015


Monty Y.

Called them on a recommendation. The total service call took all of 40 minutes and they charged me for a $60 diagnostic fee, a $125/hr. labor fee and $70 for the part plus tax. I consider the diagnostic fee and labor fee double dipping. They also arrived about 2 hours late. Please note that I told them on their arrival that the problem was either the thermostat or the relay. They a,so incorrectly wired the thermostat on the first try.

Description of Work
Replace a thermostat

Category plumbing

5.0

01/30/2015


Crystal P.

I have used Empire State Plumbing on multiple occasions, both at my house and my rental property. Most times Josh is the tech that arrives. I have had great service from them. They are responsive to emergencies and their prices are fair. They are always willing to give me all my options and the costs associated with each. I have not had a bad experience yet.

Description of Work
I have used Empire State Plumbing for sump pump clean out and to replace corroded pipes.

Category plumbing, wells

5.0

10/24/2014


Diane K.

This provider went to Home Depot and good a free replacement tank for me since it was still under warranty. I was only charged for the installation. He called a company to remove the water for me. He also installed my water line for town water.

Description of Work
replaced water heater; called company to remove water from cellar since tank had leaked and done damage to cellar and contents

Category plumbing

5.0

06/18/2014


Emily T.

I would recommend this company to anyone. Tom and team were great to work with and really worked to get our system back up and running quickly.

Description of Work
We had come home from a vacation to find our grinder pump was not working and we couldn't flush toilets, take showers etc. Called Empire and they came right over the same day, built a temporary solution for us and then came back on Tuesday to put in the new pump. These guys were great and a huge life saver!

Category plumbing, wells

1.0

05/15/2014


Daniel R.

I cannot speak to the quality of the work that Empire Plumbing does as they never showed up for their appointment. I read previous reviews that they do not get the best ratings for punctuality. I was not concerned as I imagine they run into all sorts of delays throughout their day dealing with plumbing issues. So when they were 30 minutes late I didn't think much of it. Then an hour went by and I started to get annoyed as I hadn't even gotten a phone call letting my know they would be late. At 1 hour and 15 minutes late I called the office. The office was closed. However on the positive side they had a service for emergency calls and they did promptly call me back. Turns out he didn't even know he had an appointment. He said it was on his calendar but he didn't notice it and the girl that had taken the appointment never mentioned it to him. Unfortunately for them, you only get to make a first impression once. If they miss the first appointment I don't have confidence that future appointments will be remembered. So, I will take my business elsewhere.....

Description of Work
I was scheduled for an estimate for plumbing and air conditioning issues in our home.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

Service Provider Response

Please accept my sincerest apology for failing to show up for the appointment. Being the business owner and estimator takes me all over the Capital District and some times in areas where there is poor no cellular service. Our calendar is viewed via our smart phones and is sometimes unreliable. None the less, I missed your appointment and lost your business. Worse yet, I've gotten the worst possible review on the best possible website. If there is anything I can do to make this up to you I will be happy to do so. If you are willing to give me a second chance, please contact my office to discuss this matter. I will do whatever it takes to win your confidence. Sincerely, Tom Darling, Owner
5.0

05/01/2014


Michael B.

We found that the trap in our sewer line had a hole in it causing an unsanitary condition with a very unpleasant odor. The trap was encased in cement under the basement floor and the scope of the work required a professional. I could not fathom how such work would be done and the time frame required for completion. I did realize that this needed immediate attention so I checked Angies List for local plumbers. I called Empire State Plumbing and within 15 minutes Tom Darling returned my phone call at 12:30pm. By 1:30 Pm he was at my door and inspected the area, explained how he would fix the problem, gave me a quote of $900. My wife was shocked by the price but I agreed immediately as I expected a quote well over $1000 and a time estimate of several days. Tom said that he could fix the problem today, but he would have to return to his shop to get the needed tools, including a jackhammer. He returned in about an hour and then began working. The guy works like a madman, but a very skilled madman. I was amazed at how quickly he cut out the floor. From start to finish the entire project took less than 5 hours. We spoke on several occasions as I checked on his progress but that did not stop him from working as we were talking. I was in awe that one person could do what he did in that amount of time. He earned every penny of the $900 with his experience level and work ethic. And he left the area cleaner than it was when he arrived. My brother and I had been diagnosing the problem, and trying to find a solution, and we made a mess before he became involved. I feel very lucky that I chose his business and will keep his business card handy for the future.

Description of Work
replaced a sewer pipe trap that had a hole, needed to jack hammer cement basement floor and cut the cast iron trap out, replaced with PVC trap

Category plumbing

5.0

03/27/2014


Robert .

They are awesome. Their price is fair, they are knowledgeable and fast. They improved the efficiency of our boiler in our apartment building. That was good. He even repaired the previous providers work. He is a great boiler guy.

Description of Work
I used Empire State Plumbing, Inc

Category water heater repair

5.0

01/31/2014


Robert W.

Very responsive and punctual, works with owners to save some money on parts.

Description of Work
new Bathtub fixtures

Category plumbing

5.0

12/29/2013


Karl O.

Emergency repair on frozen leaking water pipes - same day (emergency) service provided and restored heat to the home. Great Job

Description of Work
.

Category plumbing

5.0

11/08/2013


Brad A.

Tom did a site visit and provided us an estimate within 48 hours. Tom knows his craft and the local ordinances in Albany too. His proposal for the work was preferred over a previous proposal we had done by another area contractor. He followed up via email after we were slow to respond. Tom was always available on phone and email and responsive to our questions. He also provided us with suggestions on where to find and have our radiator painted. When we were ready to move forward he stopped by with contract (he was very flexible - as we had to reschedule this to later in the evening). Tom also took care of the local permitting, going to City Hall and meeting with the inspectors. He and his crew arrived on time and they were all polite and professional. They cleaned up at the end of the work days and again after the project was complete. They even worked beyond their normal time in order to get the project to the finish line. Not only does the system look great, it performs beyond expectation. They team did all the little things too which makes a big difference and less stressful as homeowners. We are thrilled by the system, the work, and the people. We know who we'll call when we need any plumbing work.

Description of Work
Install new combination tankless water heater and boiler. Removed existing boiler. Installed radiator. Removed old existing baseboard heater.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair

5.0

09/02/2013


Sarah-Marie C.

Tom was quick to return my call for an estimate, provided the best overall guidance in where to run the necessary piping, and fit us into the schedule very quickly. He was not the most prompt but he did call to say he would be late, and gave us 100% when he was on the job. He was personable, respectful, and efficient. He was also not the cheapest plumber, but was very knowledgeable and offered the best scenario based on the mechanics of our home and our future updates. This made his work the most valuable of the three estimates we received and a no brainer when it came time to schedule the work.

Description of Work
Plumbed in hot/cold water, and installed a drain and venting

Category plumbing

5.0

04/03/2013


Jerry J.

They did a good job, I would recommend them.

Description of Work
I purchased a big deal for a GAS Furnace or Boiler Check.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/01/2012


Kylesha D.

They came on, found the leak on the inside of the house, made sure they were replacing the existing equipment with like equipment ( my spigot was frost free), and replaced it. I had a leaky pipe in the basement and they looked at that then tightened / cleaned it up at no additional charge.

Description of Work
Empire State Plumbing came in, on-time and replaced the leaky spigot with a frost free model just like the one I had. They even tightened up a leaky water valve at no additional cost.

Category plumbing

3.0

11/09/2012


Dare A.

He was professional very business like. The work was not done satisfactorily.

Description of Work
This was a Big Deal for furnace checkup. They replaced a valve. The pilot light is now going out and never did prior to them coming.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

2.0

09/17/2012


Pui Man Y.

Late and did not check their work before leaving.

Description of Work
I scheduled for an outdoor spigot change at 9am. About 10 minutes after 9am, I got a call that they were stuck in traffic. They arrived about an hour later. They were quick and finish in about half an hour. Everything looked good until I attached my garden hose and turned the new faucet open. Water started spurting out around the control handle and into my face. I was very upset. Apparently the packing nut, which prevent water from leading past the stem shaft, was loose. They should have checked that before leaving. In response to the response from Empire State Plumbing: the spigot leaked, nothing to do with the hose. I paid for installation of a working spigot, not one that leaks and spray in my face. Never having a problem with certain parts does not excuse a professional from checking his work before he leaves. As for the tardiness, you should called before the appointed time to report a expected lateness, not afterward; we all have cell phones now.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Member, Please accept my apology for the issue with the spigot. I only connect a customer's hose onto the new spigot if one was connected when I arrived. I have never had a problem with a loose packing nut on a brand new spigot. I will be sure to check that in the future. As for being late, it is difficult to know exactly how long a repair will take until I get to a customer's home and sometimes the customer will ask to have additional work performed while I'm there. Furthermore, the work on the twin bridges really put me behind schedule.
5.0

07/28/2012


Christopher D.

We had several pin hole sized leaks that turned into nail hole sized leaks in the water line as it comes into the house. It got really bad, as usual on a Sunday. I called first thing Monday when they opened at 8:00 a.m. and he was here within 3 hours and began the repair. He cleaned up the water with a shop vac, not only replaced the pipes, but rerouted them so that I could now reach the shut off valves that were previously unreachable behind the water softener and brine tank. It was his idea, not mine. I am grateful that he was thinking, just not doing. Cleaned up too. Hard to tell I ever had a pool of water in the basement. If you want quality and are fine paying for it, call this company. I will again. And he didn't go really slow to increase the labor charge like another plumber I used.He stayed in touch with his cell phone, giving me a courtesy call just before he arrived (as scheduled). I honestly could not ask for more!

Description of Work
We had several pin hole sized leaks that turned into nail hole sized leaks in the water line as it comes into the house. It got really bad, as usual on a Sunday. I called first thing Monday when they opened at 8:00 a.m. and he was here within 3 hours and began the repair. He cleaned up the water with a shop vac, not only replaced the pipes, but rerouted them so that I could now reach the shut off valves that were previously unreachable behind the water softener and brine tank. It was his idea, not mine. I am grateful that he was thinking, just not doing. Cleaned up too. Hard to tell I ever had a pool of water in the basement. If you want quality and are fine paying for it, call this company. I will again. And he didn't go really slow to increase the labor charge like another plumber I used.He stayed in touch with his cell phone, giving me a courtesy call just before he arrived (as scheduled). I honestly could not ask for more!

Category plumbing

3.0

06/01/2012


Meg I.

Although there was some initial delay in getting a printed formal contract (unreturned phone calls, incorrect contract was emailed), the actual work completed went well. They arrived on time and began work immediately. I was responsible for the demo of the previous shower and all associated carpentry work to frame for the new tub but they assisted in laying the piece of subfloor that needed to be fit around the new drain that they installed. The work involved cutting a hole in my living room ceiling to access the drain because there was no other access panel. Although I knew this was likely, I don't believe Tom even mentioned it during the estimate process. They located the water shut off valves without any trouble and were able to turn them off even though the handle was previously broken off. Both were very pleasant and professional and willing to answer the many questions that I had about the work being done. The job took approximately 6 hours to complete from start to finish. Unfortunately, the drain to the tub does not work because the drain lever isn't long enough (fault of the drain manufacturer/depth of the tub - not the plumber) but this wasn't discovered until the very end of the job when it was too late to do anything about. Update: (10/08/2012) It has been approximately 4.5 months since the work was completed and the caulk that was installed has failed and caused a water leak along the edge of the tub onto the drywall (see attached pictures). This should never have happened if the caulk was installed properly. In addition, I have spoken to several people (including those in the field) who have all advised the drain lever issue as described in the initial review (not long enough) should have been addressed at the time it was installed. They all advised that an experienced plumber would have known how to fix the problem (attaching a small turnbuckle to extend the length which I learned by calling the manufacturer). Due to these problems, I can no longer recommend Empire Plumbing and will not use them again in the future.

Description of Work
Tom and Josh installed a tub and wall surround for me. which included a mortar base for the tub to sit in. They did all associated plumbing work to have it hooked up, including new drain, valve, etc. In addition, they installed the shower/tub faucet trim.

Category plumbing, home remodeling

5.0

04/26/2012


Cynthia P.

We knew that the pipe was broken somewhere near the kitchen sink. When we ran a lot of water in the sink, water backed-up through the floor and saturated the carpet to the left of the cabinet with the sink in it. We later discovered it had been going on for a while before we noticed it as the damage to the carpet was extensive. Empire Plumbing was the third plummer we called to give an estimate. The owner Tom arrived with his apprentice/assistant Josh. They were confident, knowlegeable, and professional, and said they could do the job by drilling under the cabinets. They gave us a verbal estimate of $2,600 that would cover up to 4-5 feet of breaking up the slab AND they would repair the slab. Tom said if they discovered that the whole pipe was rotted and needed to dig further, the cost would go up and he would discuss that with us ahead of time. He also found a small leak in the hot water pipe under the sink that he said he would fix. We scheduled the appointment at that time. Both Tom and Josh arrived at the scheduled time. I was a little surprised/worried to learn that Josh would be the primary person doing the job as I liked the idea of the owner being the one taking the lead. Tom assured me that he had full confidence in Josh and that he would be in and out to check on things. Well, he was right. Josh was hard working, skilled, professional and extremely polite. And true to his word, Tom was in and out throughout the job checking on things and helping. Tom works like a whirlwind, they both do. As it turns out the break in the pipe went in an unexpected direction. They had to move the refrigerator and break up the slab underneath and under a closet to repair the full section of broken pipe. It was a lot of hard, manual labor. Josh broke up the slab with a large jackhammer, ended up removing and putting back together the end cabinet and then must have lifted and mixed eight small bags of cement in the slab repair which was done perfectly. They even resecured the carpet. They explained everything to us at each step of the way, and with my Angie's discount, came in under estimate at just over $2,550. I would strongly recommend Empire Plumbing again. This was a major unexpected expense for us and their quick response, knowlege and professionalism was so appreciated. In retrospect I should have asked for a written estimate. However, the invoice was very detailed and I was able to use that to give to my insurance company who paid to replace some of the carpet.

Description of Work
We had a pipe break somewhere in the concrete slab that our house sits on (no basement); the work entailed drilling through the slab, finding break, fixing it, and putting slab back together.

Category plumbing

5.0

03/16/2012


Carroll J.

It went well. Not cheap, the quality of work was very good.

Description of Work
repaired leaking toilet and installed two new toilets.

Category plumbing

4.0

11/21/2011


Bruce C.

They came right away. The guy worked very efficiently and did an excellent job. He solved the problem but it was very expensive. For this type of thing I want the work done well. They were very expensive but they did a very good job. I would probably use them again.

Description of Work
I used Empire State Plumbing because my pump was sucking a lot of air. There was a lot of air coming out with the water and it was not working well at all.

Category plumbing, wells

1.0

09/22/2011


Kathleen C.

His office called me at 9:00 am, after I had already taken the day off from work to be available to get the plumbing work done, to tell me he needed to cancel because he had another job that he needed to attend to. I explained I needed the work done that day, especially since it had cost me a day of work. The office checked back with Tom, and then she called me back saying he indicated he needed to wait for an inspector at another job site (clearly not an emergency call), and therefore no one would complete the work I had scheduled. No other appointment (for example for a time later in the day) or compensation for my time was offered. This was very inconvenient for me, disappointing, and costly since it required me to schedule a second day off to get the work done. by someone else. I have had work done by Tom in the past and thought he did a good job, although his labor cost is rather high. He always had, in the past, shown up when he said he would. Canceling the morning the job was supposed to be done is unprofessional and shows a lack of respect for the customer. If his office had called the day before to reschedule it would have saved me serious inconvenience. This situation reflects poor planning at a minimum. I will not use Empire Plumbing again since I now consider them to be unreliable and unconcerned with customer satisfaction.

Description of Work
Tom was scheduled to come to my home at noon to replace a toilet and some bath and shower fixtures. He estimated the cost would be between $425-$550.

Category plumbing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Advanced Flooring N.Y. LLC

    We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Call or click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Five Star General Masonry

    Family owned and operated with 30+ years of experience. There is no job too small! Military / Senior discounts.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    All Trades Plumbing and Construction

    Visit our website to see over 325, "5 star", certified, and detailed reviews... https://pro.homeadvisor.com/ratings/................................................................................................................................................... Small local company, big time service. We strive to do the best work we can, with quality long lasting parts, at a lower price than the big boy competitors. We specialize in WATER HEATERS, drain clearing, and water sanatizing and filtration. For 35 years we have been helping home owners add value to their homes. The wave of the future is clean water. We install the highest quality, no-salt, little maintenance, whole house filtration units. Protect your home and your family by getting this done today!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing Available, Visa
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Plumbing

    Services Not Offered

    Water well drilling, septic tank pumping, septic system installation. HVAC

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Empire State Plumbing Inc

    How is Empire State Plumbing Inc overall rated?

    Empire State Plumbing Inc is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Empire State Plumbing Inc open?

    Empire State Plumbing Inc is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does Empire State Plumbing Inc provide

    Empire State Plumbing Inc accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing Available, Visa

    Does Empire State Plumbing Inc offer free estimates?

    No, Empire State Plumbing Inc does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Empire State Plumbing Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Empire State Plumbing Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Empire State Plumbing Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Empire State Plumbing Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Empire State Plumbing Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Empire State Plumbing Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Empire State Plumbing Inc?

    Yes, Empire State Plumbing Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Empire State Plumbing Inc offer?

    Empire State Plumbing Inc offers the following services: Plumbing

    Are there any services Empire State Plumbing Inc does not offer?

    Water well drilling, septic tank pumping, septic system installation. HVAC