Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Harder Services, Inc

Founded 1922 • With Angi since June 2010

4.3

(19) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

63 Jerusalem Ave

Hempstead, NY 11550

Description

We have been serving Long Island and New York City since 1922. If you are interested in one or more of the services that we provide, please visit our website at www.HarderServicesInc.com and fill out the contact form. Thank you!

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Laura G.
1.0
01/17/2017
PSE&G hired Harder Services to clip back some branches of trees that were hitting the electrical wires in our backyards. It was specific to certain streets in Garden City. We were not notified of their arrival - the Harder tree guys showed up in my yard, didn't alert me to their presence, and proceeded to cut off entire huge branches off of my three main trees in my backyard. They completely hacked up my neighbor's tree. There was no concern with regard to aesthetics, it was a total hack job. I asked the Harder tree employees to stop what they were doing because they were about to hack off two large branches of my tree. They got down off of the tree while I called PSE&G. One of the Harder employees that was working in my neighbor's yard came into my yard and began harassing me. I told him that we had just contracted with Harder Services in November to trim all of the branches of the trees in our yard, at a cost of more than $650. He told me I was full of sh*t, that they were going to continue their work as planned, and I had nothing to say about it. I asked him repeatedly to leave, I informed him that I was on the phone with a manager from PSE&G, and he laughed in my face and called his foreman over and told him to get back up in the tree. I then told him that I was going to call the police, he laughed at me again, and said, "go ahead, that cop is going to tell me that I have the right to do whatever I want." And then he continued to laugh and got in my face. So I hung up with PSE&G and then called the police department. When the officer arrived, he agreed that it looked like the trees had been hacked haphazardly, and that they had removed branches that didn't need to be removed. The officer called one of the worker's over, and I explained to the worker that we had just had all of the trees in our yard trimmed in November, and the worker, who wound up being a foreman, said that whoever did the trimming of our trees did it completely wrong and deadened the particular branches that they had trimmed. When I told the foreman that it had been Harder Services who did the work, he just sheepishly smiled and said, "sorry." The foreman agreed to return this morning to trim the remaining branches that were close to the electrical wires in the back and said he would work with me before he removed anything. He did not show up this morning and multiple calls to Hank at Harder Services were not returned.
Description of Work
Cut huge branches off of our trees without authorization.
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

Hi - We apologize that you are unhappy with the work that was performed in your area, however it sounds more like your complaint is with PSEG and their trim specifications. It sounds like you did not read the letter that was sent out by PSEG well in advance of our work in your area, nor did you read the orange door hanger that was left on your front door on January 11th, 2 days before we worked in your area. You say that we worked without your "authorization" and that you would not hire us again. To be clear, we were not hired by you to work on your trees, in this instance. Your "authorization" is not required in this case, as we are performing a public service at the behest of the local utility. We are working for PSEG to trim private and municipal trees away from their electrical equipment. We admit that the work is not always pretty, but it is for your benefit. We have been told that as high as 90% of momentary outages (when your lights flicker, blink or are completely off for sometimes as long as a minute) during periods of high winds and rain are caused by tree branches. These momentary outages can cause extensive damage to household items like TV's and computer equipment, and can even cause house fires. The purpose of PSEG's tree trim program, for which we are a contractor, is to help reduce these instances of momentary outages by clearing branches growing from someone else's trees from a specified area around the PSEG's equipment. All of us contractors that perform this work for PSEG have the same trim specifications and are held to the same standards. Our crews do a great job of performing the work safely and efficiently, exactly the way the utility wants it done. What may make the work more noticeable now is that when PSEG took over management of the utility system on Long Island from National Grid in 2014, the trim specifications were expanded to include a greater area around the conductors. They brought their specifications from their highly successful utility tree trim program in New Jersey to Long Island for the benefit of Long Island residents. Part of the reason that they were hired by LIPA is that they felt that National Grid's specifications were not as effective because they did not trim enough. The utility's goal - and by extension, our goal - is to do our best to insure that your power stays on, at all times. We have been performing this work for our local utility on Long Island for over 30 years, and from our experience, we feel that this current program offers the highest chance for successfully significantly reducing momentary outages, and preventing major storm outages caused by tree-related damage. What makes our job increasingly difficult is when homeowners react to our presence in an extreme way, often screaming and cursing at, and verbally (and even sometimes physically) assaulting our crew members as they are trying to perform their jobs. Over the years, while the vast majority of our homeowner interactions are calm, peaceful and educational for both our crew, supervisors and the homeowners, our crew members have been attacked, threatened by homeowners with guns and otherwise treated with great disrespect by rude homeowners. When we are approached by a homeowner in a calm manner, any of our crew members are happy to engage that homeowner and answer whatever questions or concerns they may have. If the concerns are not being properly addressed, then a supervisor can be contacted or the homeowner can call our office number that is located on any one of our vehicles, and a supervisor can be dispatched to the location immediately to continue the conversation with the homeowner, as long as that homeowner is willing to have a calm discussion. As it was reported to me, this interaction with our crew began with a woman, who appeared to be the homeowner, yelling and cursing at the crew. A supervisor was called by the crew foreman and when he arrived, he was greeted by this woman with the hostile comment, "Do you think I'm going to be any nicer to you than I was to these f*cking guys?" When the supervisor attempted to discuss the situation with the homeowner by asking her to walk over to the tree to look at the work, the homeowner refused to move because it appeared that her cell phone was plugged into a charger in an outdoor socket. All attempts to clarify and explain the situation to the homeowner were met with extreme hostility and a refusal to have a calm conversation. This homeowner's threat to call the police was met with encouragement from our supervisor because we know that the local police departments understand the work that we must do and also understand that some homeowner's refuse to accept that their permission is not required for the work that we do. Unbeknownst to this homeowner, earlier in the week, while working around the block from this location, an angry homeowner ran out of her house, jumped into one of our bucket trucks and shut the truck off, trapping our trimmer up near the wires and creating an extremely dangerous situation. The police were contacted by both the homeowner and our crew, brought the homeowner inside her house and stayed present, directing us to complete our work while they made sure the homeowner would not cause any more problems. They gave us the option, but we declined to press charges for trespassing and reckless endangerment, among other things. We are not interested in getting into prolonged battles with homeowners. We much prefer to be able to perform our work without incident and move on. It is my understanding that we were unable to complete our work in your yard. No crews were scheduled to return to your yard and no messages from you were received at our office or by Hank Harder on either Monday 1/16/17 or Tuesday 1/17/17. Given the way the situation played out, we are awaiting coordination between our PSEG supervisor, PSEG corporate security and the Garden City Police Department to assist us with completing our work. Until such time as we can arrange for any combination of the aforementioned groups of people to accompany us, we will not be returning to your property to complete our work because we feel that doing so without the proper protection would be putting our crew members into an unnecessarily hazardous situation. If you have any questions about PSEG's utility tree trim program, please feel free to call the customer service number on your bill and someone would be happy to discuss your concerns with you. If you would like to contact me personally to discuss the situation, I again offer you the option and encourage you to call me - (516) 481-8800 x13. -Jack
SUSAN M.
4.0
10/29/2015
unknown
Description of Work
I requested an estimate to trim a dead limb from my tree. They also included in the estimate to "elevate" the tree. It took quite some time for them to do the work (a few weeks), but it was not an emergency, so I was OK with that. When the workers arrived, they explained elevate meant to trim off some end branches that I thought would make the tree look too bare; so they agreed to what I actually had wanted; to trim the tree back from the house so that the branches are not too close to the roofing.
Category
tree service
John H.
4.0
09/29/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Was my gardener / lanscaper for about 10 years - the relationship became stale - with the fact being that familiarity breeds complacency and which in turn results in being taken for granted.
Category
landscaping, tree service
Norman T.
1.0
07/26/2015
Horribly. Agent Orange would have been a better choice. The trees in the neighborhood are ruined and there is nothing to be done. It is heartbreaking. Beautiful old trees are destroyed and this incompetent horrible company is being paid by PSEG to do more damage.
Description of Work
Harder did the tree trimming for PSEG in East Rockaway. They butchered our trees and many others in the neighborhood. They left little more than trunks of what were beautiful trees. We have had trimmings throughout our many years here but have never seen the destruction that this company left. Our yard and neighborhood are forever damaged, and when these poor trees die (they have only a few branches left) it will cost us thousands of dollars to take them down.
Category
tree service
Peter R.
1.0
09/17/2014
Finally last month, I got the owner on the phone. He apologized and volunteered that they weren't good at getting back to their customers, saying that my job had been put off because it was relatively small and they had been focusing on the bigger ones. He promised that Harder would send a crew to my house within the week to do the work. Then, nothing. Once again they ignored my messages and failed to return my calls. 5 months in, the work still isn't done and I will need to contact another company. For any business, but especially for a small service company, one of the most important aspects of its reputation is how it keeps its promises. Harder Services might do a good job if there's enough money in it to make the work enticing but in my experience, it's all about the money for them. Other than when the time comes to write the check, it seems that the customer is a minor irritant. Don't count on Harder to keep its word. Be warned.
Description of Work
Provided an estimate in April for replacing shrubbery on my property - then never scheduled the work and ignored my follow up calls for several months.
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] - We apologize for the handling of your situation. Unfortunately, at the beginning of this year, we found ourselves in a situation in which we had large commercial projects started at the end of 2013 that were interrupted by the weather and way behind schedule by the time we were able to get back into them in early 2014, plus projects that were originally scheduled for early 2014 that needed our attention. At the time, prior to your signing a contract with us, our only option was to focus our available manpower on these projects to get them completed. These projects tend to span several months. Regardless, that was our issue and should not have been made yours. You should never have been made to feel like your job didn't matter to us. We value all of our customers and appreciate every opportunity to gain new ones. Obviously, we lost that opportunity in this case because your situation was poorly handled on our end, and our communication with you was severely lacking. We will be addressing this scheduling/communication issue and work to improve ourselves so that it will not happen again. If you have a need for any more tree or landscaping work in the future, and would be so gracious as to give us another opportunity to earn your business, please feel free to contact us directly at ContactUs@HarderServicesInc.com and I would be happy to offer you a 10% discount on a future project. Again, please accept our apologies, and we appreciate you bringing this situation to our attention so that we can use it to address issues and improve our business.
Charlie D.
3.0
06/29/2014
I had another company from Angies list give me a $2600 estimate and did the work in a day. They were very professional and I thanked them for there estimate however, they were very over priced. Another company gave me a $7100 estimate but I went with the third company ($2600).
Description of Work
Provider came an gave en estimate to remove a large maple tree, grind to grade and removal of three smaller trees, $6700 (+/-)a few dollars.
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

Charlie - I apologize that you did not find our pricing acceptable, however, you say that you received another estimate that was very similar to ours. In our defense, I would not consider our estimate to be "over-priced," in this case. It appears to me as though you received 2 estimates from 2 reputable businesses that were only a couple hundred dollars apart, and 1 drastically low estimate from someone who most likely uses cheap day labor that is paid in cash and is probably not properly licensed and insured. I can't fault your desire to pay the cheapest price, but our crews are trained, experienced, supervised and properly equipped, not only with the tools and equipment to do the job correctly, safely and efficiently, but the necessary and legally required personal safety equipment. Our business is licensed and fully insured to protect both ourselves and you, the homeowner, should anything happen while we are working on your property, and our pricing reflects that. Should you have a need for any more tree or landscaping work in the future, we would appreciate the opportunity to win your business. Our estimates are always free.
Renee K.
5.0
06/16/2014
All the lines are clear. There are some small branches still close to the utility pole. I was told that this was LIPA's responsibility because of the transformer on the pole. He cut the branches back to the trunk at the joints so no damage was done to my neighbors tree. All lower branches were removed so the lines of the tree are clean. No doughnut hole through the branches as is too often done. Looks good. The cut branches were removed. No damage was done to any surrounding bushes. The yard was left clean. The workmen were friendly and cooperative. Easy to work with.
Description of Work
Cleared my neighbor's tree branches from the utility lines leading to my house.
Category
tree service
Fredric M.
5.0
08/16/2013
Workers were friendly and helpful.
Description of Work
Removed trees, trimmed trees and ground stumps. They made a tree which was damaged by te hurricane look good.
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review! We always appreciate positive feedback from our customers.
Anthony S.
5.0
07/22/2013
Went well. they protected surrounding growth and cleaned up everything.
Description of Work
removed large tree limbs
Category
landscaping, tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the great review! We appreciate you rating our work!
COLLEEN T.
5.0
05/21/2013
They did excellent work and are coming back to do more work soon!
Description of Work
They cut two trees down and trimmed two other trees.
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

[removed member name]- Thanks for your positive review! We appreciate the feedback!
COLLEEN T.
5.0
01/14/2013
It was the first time we had used them. They scheduled us even when they were busy after the hurricane. They did a great job and their price was half of what another bid was.
Description of Work
They cut down a tree.
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for contacting Harder Services! We appreciate the positive feedback!
Richard B.
5.0
06/10/2012
It went well.
Description of Work
Their price was average (I had several companies provide an estimate). They did exactly what I asked them to do, but I was glad I was there when they arrived, as there was some confusion about which trees I wanted removed. I would certainly recommend them.
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for using our company! We appreciate the positive feedback. We always try to keep the confusion to a minimum, but I'm glad everything worked out.
John U.
5.0
06/04/2012
It went well; they did a good job. They were a little delayed in the service so for punctuality I would give them a B but everything else is an A.
Description of Work
Harder Services Inc did a spring clean up and will do ongoing maintenance like lawn and grass cutting. It is for multiple properties.
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you for using our company. We always appreciate positive feedback! We do our best to stay on schedule, but inclement weather can often disrupt our services. We will make sure to do a better job keeping to our promised schedule in the future. Thanks!
valerie D.
4.0
05/19/2012
They did a good job. They cleaned up pretty well afterwards. We will use them again in the future.
Description of Work
We've had Harder Tree Svc Inc for a while to do tree service for us. We had our tree trimmed in the front yard. We've been using them on and off for years.
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the positive feedback and thanks for using our company!
ARI K.
5.0
03/05/2012
They are excellent and I would recommend them to anyone. The proprieter, Hank, is extremely honest and thorough. He spent a lot of time going through stuff with me. They were very clean, efficient, and gave me advice that saved me money in the long term instead of spending money on things I did not need.
Description of Work
They removed two trees a few years ago, and they have been back a number of times for tree trimming.
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

Thanks for using Harder Services! We appreciate the positive feedback. We take great pride in treating customers with the respect and honesty that you deserve. That is one of the things that has helped keep our business and family name synonymous with satisfaction for over 90 years.
Elliot H.
5.0
09/15/2011
Contacted Harder; they esxamined the trees and concluded that they were dying and dangerous. They provided a written estimate and performed the service a few weeks later. Removed the trees and cleaned the yard.
Description of Work
Tree removal' grinding of tree stump to below ground level.
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

Thanks for using our company and thanks for the positive review!
Edmund P.
5.0
06/30/2011
They were very good. They charged me $1830.33 for their service. They got back to me right away. They were professional and clean. They cleaned up after a tree fell on my house and it was very well done. They had the correct liability insurance and workmen's compensation. That was something which was very important to me. The tree removal was very good and it's very important that you have that insurance. I would definitely use their services in the future too.
Description of Work
I used Harder Services Inc. in the middle of May for tree removal and they also cleaned up after a tree fell on my house.
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the positive review and thanks for using Harder Services! Providing homeowners with the peace-of-mind of knowing that we are properly licensed and insured helps to set us apart from some of our competition. Thanks!
Kathy S.
5.0
06/14/2011
It went very well. They are very professional, and they have all the right equipment. I like them.
Description of Work
They performed tree trimming services.
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your positive review and thanks for calling Harder!
ALI M.
5.0
09/13/2006
Their bid was a little bit too high. We found a company that was about $400 dollars cheaper than this one. This company was also not going to chop the wood into smaller pieces.
Description of Work
I had an estimate on tree removal and trimming of the trees.
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for contacting us and giving us an opportunity to discuss your work with you. We look forward to another opportunity to service your tree or landscaping needs.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Starkie Brothers Landscaping Inc

    Award Winning Landscape Plantings, Construction & Masonry Designs for Over 40 Years! Our special talent is in developing our clients' visions - adding a spark of creativity to develop functional, high quality exterior living spaces. Our horticulturists, designers and architects insure that your landscape project will be a living, growing investment. Starkie Brothers grows 30 acres of ornamental trees and shrubs on the North Fork of Long Island. As commercial growers, we offer our clients several important benefits- better prices, high quality, and hearty Long Island Grown plants. WE DESIGN IT! WE PLANT IT! WE BUILD IT! WE GUARANTEE IT! Landscape Plantings...Design & Installation...Stone Veneer...BBQ's, Outdoor Kitchens, Pizza Ovens, Fireplaces, & Fire Pits...Poolside & Accents, Pergolas, Pavilions, & Gazebo's...Masonry Entrances, Driveways, Walks, Patios, Pools & Spas. Residential & Commercial - Licensed & Insured  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Carl Bongiorno & Sons, Inc

    Landscape Design and all phases of Masonry work  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Anthony Losito & Son Landscape Construction Corp

    ANTHONY LOSITO and Son Landscaping and Home Improvements, Corp, We offer Affordable prices and do Quality Work. We are in business on Long lsland for 30 years!!! That is correct, I am in business here on Long Island for 30 years, I am not a fly by night newcomer. I have a good reputation , from when I was a kid working with my dad, Paul Losito, in the early 80's. We have 5 full time employees right now and if we need additonal employees to complete a job I have several part time employees that I also utilize. Payment arrangement can be made. I take credit cards, Mastercard and Visa, personal checks, cashier checks, paypal and of course cash. We always run special promotions, right now we are running a summer special SAVE $2000 off any job over $15,000, with signed contract. Seniors and Military DIscounts also, cannot be combined with any other offers, I give 10% off any job to all Seniors over 65 and Military people, senior or Military personnel MUST live in the place of residence where work is being performed. Financing available for victums of huricane Sandy.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    We are a full-service tree and landscaping business. Family-owned and operated for over 90 years, we are capable of handling all aspects of landscaping and tree care for both residential and commercial properties. Our services include: tree pruning, tree removal, tree cabling, storm damage clean-up, landscape installation, landscape maintenance, fertilization, integrated pest management, stump grinding/removal, holiday light installation and more.

    Services Not Offered

    Sprinkler systems, snow plowing/removal.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Harder Services, Inc

    How is Harder Services, Inc overall rated?

    Harder Services, Inc is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are Harder Services, Inc open?

    Harder Services, Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Harder Services, Inc provide

    Harder Services, Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Harder Services, Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Harder Services, Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Harder Services, Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Harder Services, Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Harder Services, Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Harder Services, Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Harder Services, Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Harder Services, Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Harder Services, Inc?

    Yes, Harder Services, Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Harder Services, Inc offer?

    Harder Services, Inc offers the following services: We are a full-service tree and landscaping business. Family-owned and operated for over 90 years, we are capable of handling all aspects of landscaping and tree care for both residential and commercial properties. Our services include: tree pruning, tree removal, tree cabling, storm damage clean-up, landscape installation, landscape maintenance, fertilization, integrated pest management, stump grinding/removal, holiday light installation and more.

    Are there any services Harder Services, Inc does not offer?

    Sprinkler systems, snow plowing/removal.