Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Action Repair Service Inc

Founded 1989 • With Angi since August 2008

4.0

(37) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

29 Bedell St

Freeport, NY 11520

Description

For over 20 years, Action Repair Service has been servicing, repairing, selling and installing home apliances and commercial appliances on Long Island, Nassau and Suffolk Counties and Queens. We take pride in the knowledge that our customers are satisfied with our services and we thank you for your continued patronage. There is no job too small or large for our appliance repair Long Island technicians. We take pride in the knowledge that our customers are satisfied with our services and we thank you for your continued patronage. There is no job too small or large for our appliance repair Long Island technicians. With our 7 days a week, 24 hour emergency service, you can be assured that you will speak to a live operator who will listen to your needs and expedite your call to the appropriate technician....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

11/18/2019


Qian Z.

This company is the same company as action repair which also shows up on angies list and has a rating of F. I gave them a rating of C which was too nice. and how that i found that they created another profile, my rating is F. Read my review for action repair. I will also contact angies list to find out why the same company have two profiles. Horrible! First of all, their diagnostic were more than other places i called. But i went with them because they can come sooner. The guy told me the bearing on my machine was broken, and he can tighten it. It should make the burning smell go away. However, after the machine was "fixed" everything worked exactly the same. The total cost was 180 dollars including the diagnostics. This guy Rick told me that he could apply this amount if i get a new machine with them. They want to charge me $1000 for the machine including delivery, removal and hook up. I found the same model at PC Richards and sons for $600, plus $50 for delivery, removal and hooking up the new machine. Another reason why i did not buy the new machine is because they told me that i had to buy the same machine but P.C Richard said that I could buy any machine and the hook up the same. This made me wonder about their integrity or their competency. Once they got your business, their costumer service really takes a dive. They have this take it a leave it attitude, and does not care about my satisfaction, the fact that i was out almost $200 and my machine is exactly the same. When I was speaking to them on the phone, i could hear someone yelling, screaming bloody murder on the background. I told Rick point blank that i was not satisfied and that i will write a bad review, his response "eh" This is not the kind of business that i want to associate with in the future. Do yourselves and favor and call around, wait a little longer for another company to come fix your machines.

Description of Work
repair a washing machine.

Category appliance repair, small appliance repair

Service Provider Response

This is Danny the tech for D&M. The only person that services Nassau county. It’s either me or another tech named Manny. We are sorry you had a bad experience but it definitely wasn’t us who went. If there’s a company using our name, please let us know.
3.0

11/09/2019


Qian Z.

First of all, their diagnostic were more than other places i called. But i went with them because they can come sooner. The guy told me the bearing on my machine was broken, and he can tighten it. It should make the burning smell go away. However, after the machine was "fixed" everything worked exactly the same. The total cost was 180 dollars including the diagnostics. This guy Rick told me that he could apply this amount if i get a new machine with them. They want to charge me $1000 for the machine including delivery, removal and hook up. I found the same model at PC Richards and sons for $600, plus $50 for delivery, removal and hooking up the new machine. Once they got your business, their costumer service really takes a dive. They have this take it a leave it attitude, and does not care about my satisfaction, the fact that i was out almost $200 and my machine is exactly the same. When I was speaking to them on the phone, i could hear someone yelling, screaming bloody murder on the background. This is not the kind of business that i want to associate with in the future. Do yourselves and favor and call around, wait a little longer for another company to come fix your machines.

Description of Work
repair a washing machine

Category small appliance repair

1.0

03/04/2019


Abran V.

I usually never take the time to give bad reviews to businesses, but this time I believe it is needed. I called Action Repair Service to look at my washer. The technician (Joe) came in and said the problem was the main control board and that it will cost $485 to fix it. As a result, I decided to pay him the $85 for the diagnostic and not do any work. After some additional research, I figured out on my own that the issue was the water intake valve, and not the main control board. After changing the water intake valve, the washer is working perfectly fine now. Action Repair Service gave me the wrong diagnostic and was looking to charge me $485 for it. When I called their office to get a refund, I spoke to Rick, the office manager, who basically said to me that I was paying for the technician coming to my house to give me "a" diagnostic, regardless of whether it is right or wrong. I believe businesses need to stand behind their work, and that starts by giving the correct diagnostic. This business either doesn't know how to diagnose appliances or they simply tell you something more expensive is wrong to rip you off. Had I decided to do the work, they would have changed the wrong part and then would probably have told me that something else was wrong to take more money from me. I would recommend you avoid this business at all cost.

Description of Work
Washer Repair

Category appliance repair

1.0

02/26/2017


Daniel L.

Worst experience ever. After Sean recommended that the stove top be replaced, he said his company was able to do it. I told him I was interested and so he took some measurements and said someone would be in contact with me. I paid $119.48 for this visit, no work was done except some measurements and telling me I need a new stove. I was then contacted by Rick, who gave me 2 options on a stovetop, one that cost ~800 and another one from General Electric that cost ~900. I wasn't given the model #, so I was unable to price shop online. I chose the more expensive model after Ricks recommendation of General Electrics superior reliability. So they put the order in, charged me $600 to put the order in and get the process started, and then contacted me when it arrived. They sent Sean again to deliver and install it on 2/21/17. Sean tells me that I need new plumbing and new electrical work and that this is something his company doesn't do, but he does on his own on the side. Specifically he said I need to replace all the old pipes and need 2 separate valves installed (1 for the stove, 1 for the oven), and I need a new electrical outlet under the stove. He says he can do the extra work if I pay him $200 cash on the side. I told him I negotiated with Rick on a price for delivery and installation. Sean tells me, "I don't know what you guys talked about, but I can't install it because you need new plumbing and electrical and I can do it if you pay me $200." I said, "I'll think about it". Sean drops in the new stove top, leaving it unplugged and the gas shut off and said the jobs complete and how do I want to pay the remaining balance of $359.16. In hindsight I shouldn't have paid since the job wasn't finished, but for some reason, I told them to just charge the rest on my credit card they had on file. So up til now, I have paid a total of $1078.64. My gas is still shut off and my stove isn't even plugged in. At this point, I just wanted to get this ordeal over with, so before Sean left, I said I'd pay him the $200 to finish the installation. There wasn't enough time on that day so he said he could come tomorrow. I asked what time he had available since it was such short notice and that I would work around him. He would not give me a time slot. He instead asked me what time worked for me and I said 11AM. He said that 11AM works for him. So now it's 2/22/17, 11AM, and Sean doesn't show up. At 2PM, he still hasn't shown or called, so I call him and he tells me he's on another job. I ask for an estimated time he can get to me by and he says around 5PM. 5PM rolls around and he doesn't show. Or call. I call him again at 6PM and he says he's on his way to another job, that he doesn't know when he'll be done, but that he'll know a definite time within an hour and he guarantees to call me by 7PM. 7PM rolls around and he doesn't show. Or call. I'm so annoyed at this point and I call him at 7:30PM and just cancel the job. I've been waiting 9hrs for this guy and he doesn't even have the courtesy to call me once. Had he told me the day before that he has other appointments and that I'd be his last priority, I would've been okay with it instead of taking off of work the entire day for no reason. He calls me back 30min later apologizing and says he can still come tonight. I'm livid at this point and tell him that there's no way he's coming at 9PM and waking all my neighbors. I said he can come tomorrow at 11AM or don't come at all. He says he'll be here between 11AM - 11:30AM. So now it's 2/23/17, 11AM, Sean hasn't arrived. 11:24AM, I get a phonecall from Sean saying he's running late and that he'll be here in 15minutes. 11:40AM, Sean still isn't here. 12PM, he finally arrives and gets to "work". He doesn't install an electrical outlet like he said he would. Instead he drills a hole into my dishwasher compartment and runs the cord from the stove in there in such a way that I can't even put the shelf that was originally there to hold my post and pans. He said he would install new pipes and put in 2 valves. As far as I can tell, the pipes are all original and only 1 valve is visible that I'm sure came with the stove I ordered. Besides plugging the stove into some outlet through the hole he drilled, I'm sure all he did was turn on the gas without replacing any pipes or installing any valves. He showed me that the stove turns on, I pay him $200 in cash, and he leaves. So in total I paid $1278.64 for the job. A simple price search of the stove on google shows that it costs $399.99. Obviously I expect to pay an installation and delivery fee, but ~$900 seems excessive. The photos say it all. I can no longer have a shelf below my stove for pots and pans. The pipes are original. There are not 2 valves like Sean said he would install. Notice on the 2nd receipt on 2/21/17, under Nature of Service, it says INSTALL, which was never done. I don't know if Sean is just a rogue employee or if this is just the basic practices of the company to scam its customers. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY

Description of Work
There was a gas leak from my stove top. The fire department came and shut off the gas. I told my super about the gas leak and he was the one that gave me the number to Action Repair Service. In hindsight, I should've used Angieslist, but I just wanted the gas leak to be solved ASAP. They sent Sean and he determined that the stove is too old and needed to be replaced.

Category appliance repair

5.0

07/15/2016


Wade J.

They came on time, quickly fixed my air conditioner. They even gave us a senior discount. Thanks!

Description of Work
Broken thru wall air conditioner

Category appliance repair, heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

06/22/2016


Terry R.

HORRIBLE!!!!!! Absolutely one of the worst experiences with a service repair company I have ever encountered.. After six (6) visits within a two week period to fix a malfunctioning relay, it is still not fixed and after their last visit our A/C now is not working. We are worse off that we were before they came out. Waited all day for them to come back for yet a seventh (7th) visit and repair what they broke only to learn that the tech went home early and were not coming and would be out tomorrow.. Well, just received a call from who I presume is the owner who informed me to call someone else... That's how they do business... Do yourselves a favor and save yourself time and money and don't call Action Repair, CALL SOMEONE ELSE..........

Description of Work
Made things worse than before they came out.

Category appliance repair, heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

11/24/2015


Les S.

The part keeps failing. The amount they are charging me for labor ($250) is very high on a part that is covered by warranty.

Description of Work
They installed and repair a part on my stove.

Category appliance repair

4.0

11/30/2014


martin K.

Repair went fine, techs new their stuff diagnosed and fixed problem. Left a bit of a mess but not a big deal

Description of Work
replaced water pressure valve and flushed system for heating

Category appliance repair, heating & air conditioning/hvac

2.0

10/24/2014


Stuart S.

they repaired the stove last year for 475.00. I can't believe I got ripped so badly. The same part failed 10 months later. I called for warranty service. I was told the part was covered, but had to pay 85.00 labor. The tech was supposed to be there before 1pm. Finally arrived by 3pm. Now he wants 175.00 for labor. Twenty minutes work and a twenty dollar part. At least the repair tech Joe dropped the price to 150.00. It was 85.00 if I didn't want it fixed. The part only costs 20.00 on Amazon! Man did these people rip me off. I will never use them for anything again. If you use them expect to pay through the nose.

Description of Work
changed the broiler igniters under warranty.

Category appliance repair

5.0

10/06/2014


Peter R.

Repair technician and assistant came to our house promptly, were knowlegeable, courteous and professional. They answered our questions fully and explained the mistakes made by a previously engaged repair company.

Description of Work
Installed part into Garland stove.

Category appliance repair

5.0

10/02/2014


joseph M.

They let me know what part I needed for my refrigerator to work, ordered it for me, and when they left it started working again so I cancelled.

Description of Work
Came out to check up on my refrigerator issues

Category appliance repair

5.0

06/03/2014


Constance G.

It wound up not being broken, but a problem because of PSEG. The technician (Bob) was able to determine that problem and he was right. I have used them 3 times and have always been happy. I would definitely use them again

Description of Work
Came to fix my dryer.

Category appliance repair

5.0

03/29/2014


eleanor F.

I don't recall but it was a fair price.

Description of Work
Sub Zero Freezer repair and before that wine cooler repair.

Category appliance repair

5.0

03/23/2014


Thomas F.

Everything went well. The service tech had the part but there does not seem to be a structure in terms of pricing. The part and installation was $280.00. The repair took one hour. The tech could tell me the hourly rate or the price of the part. Good job but need to work on pricing.

Description of Work
Repair to dryer

Category appliance repair

4.0

09/28/2013


Theodore L.

It worked ok for almost a week, then the ignition of the burners became somewhat intermittent again. They came back right away but checked it and tried again and then explained that the parts would be costly and the retaining screws were frozen and would also make the job harder and with parts and labor going to be too much I should replace the gas range.

Description of Work
Cleaned burners on stove.

Category appliance repair

1.0

09/17/2013


MILAN V.

They worked on it for an hour and did fix the problem. He told me upfront he thought there would be parts needed replaced. There were 3 very small pieces of plastic that were replaced but no major parts. I asked the technician what the hourly rate for the service was and he told me there was no hourly rate they charge per job. I called the company and they also could not give me a price breakdown as to why I was charged so much. I feel they way over charged me and there is no explanation I am getting from them.

Description of Work
They came out to repair my washing mashing.

Category appliance repair

5.0

08/09/2013


SUSAN H.

Earlier this summer, living with a broken air conditioner AND a broken microwave had finally become impossible. Hot and hungry, I finally made an appointment in hopes of resolving both problems. I picked up the phone, skeptical that anyone would be able to help me that weekend (as it was a holiday weekend), but much to my surprise- I was able to schedule an appointment for that Saturday! The person I spoke with took all of my information and details regarding the appliances. She was very friendly and made a great first impression. The afternoon of the appointment, one of the technicians called to notify me that he and his partner would be to my house in about a half hour. (Note: this call and their arrival was well within the appointment time frame I was given.) When the two gentlemen arrived, they were friendly and immediately got to work. One dealt with the microwave while the other turned his attention to the air conditioner. When the problem with the former was determined, the tech filled me in on all the details and called to get me all the info re: replacement parts. As the fix was going to be far more expensive than the cost of the microwave itself, I decided that I would most likely choose to replace the unit instead. The technician then explained to me the next steps I should take, what to look for, etc, and then went to work helping his partner. As it turns out, the air conditioner (despite both of their best efforts) had some pretty serious- and expensive- issues too. It was going to require a part that they did not have on hand, and even if they did, it would not be cheap. To help me in making my decision, the techs (again) informed of my options and answered all my (numerous) questions. With their help, I was confident that my decision was an informed one. Long story short: I am going to replace the unit. However, before leaving that afternoon, the guys were able to rig the air conditioner to work temporarily and I have been able to use it in this modified fashion ever since. (And I received a phone call Monday with even more info about the situation!) TL; DR- This company, and its employees, are an absolute pleasure to deal with. I'm certain I will use them in the future for other repairs, and would recommend them highly to anyone. They really do go way above and beyond. Thank you!

Description of Work
I scheduled the appointment for assistance with an air conditioner that would not turn on and a broken microwave.

Category appliance repair

5.0

06/20/2013


Edward C.

For years...we had used Conlor Appliance Repair, which [as I was advised] has now merged into this company. We've always been happy with Conlor, etc. so I was a little nervous about "the new guy on the block." The tech arrived...listened intently to our ranting about the malfunctioning fridge...helped me clear the freezer of 20# of meat + various containers and ice cubes...and started doing what he needed to do. Long story short...the ultimate diagnosis was that I had set the freezer temp too high and that froze the [lower] refrigerator section unit so it wasn't working properly. He reduced the freezer temp indicator from 10 to 3...and...lo and behold...IT'S FIXED...and this is a 23 year old Maytag "top freezer unit." This man (about in his 50's...pleasant demeanor) knew his stuff...We originally talked about other possibilities...repacing things, etc....and we originally agreed it might be cheaper/make more sense to just get a new unit. As he said..."Let's just try this and see what happens! Then if you need a new unit...you'll know." Well, we took his advice...and the temperature of the fridge part went down to about 38-40 in about 24 hours...and it's working fine...after my blunder. He could have said anything..."Ummmm...needs a new compressor....etc." He did not. He was a man of integrity and knowledge, etc. a rare find thsee days. I hope that all of Action's techs are that way. I'd have no hesitation in using their service again.

Description of Work
"Da Providuh" checked out our refrigerator/freezer, diagnosed the problem, honored the coupon and we paid only the service charge minus the $20 coupon.

Category appliance repair

5.0

06/10/2013


LISA M.

I called at about 1:00pm. They arrived at approx 1:30 pm. Took Microwave with them. Had a call before day's end with details of necessary repairs and cost. Gave go-ahead. Microwave was delivered back to us before start of business the next morning! Amazing service - - really!

Description of Work
Commercial Microwave repair

Category appliance repair

5.0

05/21/2013


Richard M.

They arrived on time and and did the work very quickly and efficiently. The first part they installed burned out, and they came back and replaced the very next day and it's been working great since.

Description of Work
They repaired my dryer.

Category appliance repair

3.0

01/09/2013


Joseph M.

Action Repair Service was unable to work on our washing machine dur to age. They did refer me to someone who could it. That person reponded quickly and the machine was repaired.

Description of Work
Action Repair Service was unable to work on our washing machine dur to age. They did refer me to someone who could repair it. It was repaired.

Category small appliance repair

5.0

10/13/2012


VIRGINIA P.

They were great, came right away. The even fixed something else without extra charge.

Description of Work
I hired them to change the washer inside my washing machine and also a hose was replaced.

Category appliance repair

5.0

10/09/2012


Chantal M.

The person was very professional and nice. He had to come several times because he ordered a part and he came at the time he said he would come.

Description of Work
We have used Action Repair Service Inc for our refrigerator.

Category appliance repair

4.0

10/02/2012


James B.

I went to the local PC Richard appliance store and paid $250.00 for the same model that Action Repair wanted $565.00 for. I brought the Microwave home in my car and my Son-in-law helped me install it in less that 20 minutes. I wouldn't deal with Action Repair again .I knew I had a problem when I let them take it away. Usually 1 tech shows up to make a repair, but 2 they are taking it away,without testing anything. I think Action Repair is a scammer.

Description of Work
Problem with Microwave oven not functioning. Action sent 2 men who stated it had to go into the shop, no repair was attempted at this time. The following Monday 08/20/2012 Action called staed that the repair would be roughly $430.00 but since they had it apart they should change another part. This brought the total to $565.00 but they would return my original service charge. I told them the Microwave wasn't worth that amount of money. They offered to sell me another Microwave for $565 installed and would return my original service charge.

Category appliance repair

5.0

09/30/2012


Ray O.

the repairman did a very good job,yes i will use them again

Description of Work
the bruner on the dryer was not working properly

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Thanks we appreciate the positive comments.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Universe Home Services

    Since 1954, Universe Home Services has been proudly serving the Nassau County community and customers throughout the entire region. With Universe Home Services, one call solves it all! Their highly trained technicians offer everything from heating and air conditioning to plumbing to appliance repair and electrical services on Long Island and beyond. Whether you’re dealing with an inefficient heating system, a noisy air conditioner, clogged toilet, broken dishwasher, or outdated electrical service panel, you can get the fast, affordable service you need with Universe Home Services. They go above and beyond to ensure that you’re completely satisfied with the quality of their work, offering service guarantees and parts and labor guarantees on new HVAC installations. As a family owned and operated company, Universe Home Services believes in top-quality customer service. They always treat you and your property with respect, working quickly, cleanly, and efficiently to minimize your inconvenience and leave your home in pristine condition. With more than 60 years of experience under their belt, and a commitment to unmatched quality, honesty, and expertise, Universe Home Services is the trusted name for heating, air conditioning, electrical, plumbing, and appliance repair on Long Island and beyond! Call today!  

    Gold Star Plumbing

    Gold Star Plumbing, Heating, Cooling delivers Service That's Out of This World to homeowners on Long Island. From our technical expertise to our customer-focused solutions, from our business processes to the service we provide – we push ourselves daily to be measurably better than we were the day before. When we launched our business in 2010, we had a dictionary’s worth of ideas for our company name. At the end of the day, we chose “Gold Star.” Not as a self-applied pat on the back, but as a constant reminder to ourselves about the kind of service we wanted and expected to deliver. “For Service That's Out of This World” is more than a saying for us – it’s the standard by which we measure every thought, word, and action, and it’s the only acceptable standard by which we interact with customers and conduct our business. No matter how much we grow, we never lose sight of what is most important: your needs! Your ongoing loyalty, support and positive feedback is the backbone of our continued success and growth, one project at a time. From our upfront and transparent pricing on all plumbing, heating, cooling and drain cleaning quotes to our 100% satisfaction guarantee, you’ll know you made a smart decision in choosing Gold Star Service! What Makes Us Truly Unique Choose Gold Star Plumbing, Heating, Cooling today and you’ll receive: Five star, Out of this World service from the moment you first call to the moment we leave your home…and everything in between Upfront, transparent pricing 100% satisfaction guaranteed Live voices on the other end of the phone, both day and night 30 to 60 minute (you choose) advanced notice before we arrive, no waiting for us Respect for your home and property Peace of mind, in knowing we’re fully licensed and insured Services We Offer We offer a wide range of home services to homeowners from Nassau to Suffolk (and all areas in between) including: Plumbing Heating Cooling Drain Cleaning Sewer Replacement  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Gold Star Plumbing on Angi
    MSD Heating & Cooling

    NOTE I M SORRY FOR ALL , WE NOT DOING ANY TYPE OF PLUMBING, WORK. OIL FURNACE,OIL BOILER , OIL HOT WATER HEATER, WE ARE DOING GAS FURNACE, AND HEAT PUMP SYSTEM HEATING AND AIR CONDITIONING.THAT'S ALL , WE DONT DO BASEBOARD, RADIANT,ANY OIL APPLIANCE OR PLUMBING WORK . THANKS FOR UNDERSTANDING. MSD Heating and Cooling is now offering free estimates for all AC replacements and new installations. We have been in the business for over 18 years and we've been lucky enough to learn a thing or two over those years. We've even worked hard to make sure that our staff knows the most up-to-date information about all of your heating and cooling needs. Keeping you cool and warm is our goal!  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for Details

    Services Offered

    Heating, Air Conditioning, Refrigeration, Home Appliance, Commercial Kitchen Equipment, Maintenance Checks, & New Equipment Installation

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Action Repair Service Inc

    How is Action Repair Service Inc overall rated?

    Action Repair Service Inc is currently rated 4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Action Repair Service Inc open?

    Action Repair Service Inc is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Action Repair Service Inc provide

    Action Repair Service Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Action Repair Service Inc offer free estimates?

    No, Action Repair Service Inc does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Action Repair Service Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Action Repair Service Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Action Repair Service Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Action Repair Service Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Action Repair Service Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Action Repair Service Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Action Repair Service Inc?

    No, Action Repair Service Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Action Repair Service Inc offer?

    Action Repair Service Inc offers the following services: Heating, Air Conditioning, Refrigeration, Home Appliance, Commercial Kitchen Equipment, Maintenance Checks, & New Equipment Installation