Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

United Exteriors

Founded 1996 • With Angi since September 2010

Having peace of mind about your home improvement project, is what we care about. Our home is to most of us our biggest investment in time and money. GREAT VALUE = quality work, clear and timely communication, courteous service. Call us at United Exteriors, ask to speak with Josh or Mark. We have installed more quality roofs in the Hudson Valley than anyone else. Let us help you get the most VALUE out of your next home improvement project. Joshua Pendergraft-Smith founded United Exteriors in 1996 while attending the College of Charleston. Nearly 20 years later he is still at the helm with craftsmen who have grown with the business; growth based on quality work, clear and timely communication, courteous service, = GREAT VALUE. This is not a job for me this is my passion. Tidbit – All contractors should do a day before walk thru and a final walk thru. To make sure you know what your getting and how the process should work. So the question is: On the last project you had done on your home did they provide that type of Service?

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

4.6

(42) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 42 reviews
Diane D.
1.0
08/15/2018
Second time I had an appointment for an estimate for roof replacement. No call no show. Would not even bother with this company.
Description of Work
Roof replacement
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], I apologize greatly for this lack of professionalism on our part. I as the owner take full responsibility for my staffs actions. We should have been upfront with you and told you that you were just too far away for us to service. Your residence is about an hour away from us. Our service area is at max 40 minutes. I will discuss with the office staff so that this does not happen again. I sincerely wish u good luck in finding someone closer to your area. Sincerely Joshua S. Owner of United Exteriors
Carol R.
5.0
05/06/2017
I received five proposals and was happy that I choose United Exteriors to replace my leaking roof. Josh walked me through the entire process making a large home improvement a breeze. Josh and his office staff were available for my questions and made sure that nothing was missed. The best surprise was the entire job was accomplished in one day, including replacing wood, while other contractors said it would take two days or even five days. The roofers were excellent and they tented the house, not to damage the siding. The truck they used to take away the trash was not a dumpster, that would damage my driveway. Cleanup was excellent. I can not say enough about a job well done. Thank you Josh and United Exteriors.
Description of Work
Roof replaced, including wood.
Category
roofing
Lisa T.
1.0
03/27/2016
I early August 2015, I was looking to buy a house. I hired United Exteriors to come and look at the roof and provide me with their professional opinion as to the roof's condition. I thought it would be best to have people in that did roofs every day, as they would be the experts, especially since home inspectors do not usually climb on top of the roof to take a look. In my opinion, the roof is the most important thing on the house, and of course I wanted to make sure it was in prime shape. In fact, I explained to the worker when he arrived how important his findings were, and that the roof was one of the deciding factors in purchasing this house. He climbed up and took a look. He said that while the roof was not necessarily "pretty," it was fine, and that I should not anticipate any issues. He explained that United Exteriors would have used different materials, but any issues were superficial. Based on this professional opinion, I went ahead with the purchase of the house, feeling secure in that the roof had no issues based on what I was told by United Exteriors after the roof inspection. Fast forward to early January 2016 when I noticed one morning that a large piece of tar paper had blown off my roof. Looking up, I saw there was a whole sheet blowing in the wind from the top of my barn-shaped roof. I immediately called several roofers to come and take a look, feeling that I should not call for United Exteriors' opinion since they said it was fine to begin with. The verdict? The roof was definitely not fine, and had not been since its installation. I was told that any professional should have been able to see that the incorrect materials were used, and that they were improperly installed. I hired another company to replace that roof. That's right - it did not just need repairs, it needed an ENTIRE REPLACEMENT. It was a mess, with water damage and wood rot. I love my house, but had I known I'd be replacing the roof less than six months after closing, the actions I would have taken before closing would have been very different. The purchase of my home was one of the most important decisions of my life, and United Exteriors' professional opinion was a major factor in that decision. I paid them for this service believing I was getting practical, informed advice about the roof's condition. Instead I got a headache.
Description of Work
United Exteriors was paid to give their professional opinion about a roof's condition BEFORE purchasing a house.
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for bring this to my attention. I am the CEO of United Exteriors and take this complaint very seriously. Please let me review the details over the next couple of days. And I will respond once I have all the facts. I will also try reaching out to you directly. I want my company to be the very best at what we do. When one of our customers has a bad experience, no matter what the circumstances is I want us to LEARN and handle it better the next time. So again thank you for bringing this to my attention. Joshua Smith CEO
Robert D.
4.0
12/13/2015
At first it went ok. The 2 gentlemen are the backbone of the crew. Mark is a good however he seems to short order the amount of siding needed for the job. I say this due to a comment made were he fell short on another job.He ran short on the front side of our house and waited 2 weeks for the siding, due to a holiday. My take is buy an extra at todays price and use it later and this will keep the customer happy and the company makes a little more $ )Bottom line is you have to like Mark, he is not trying to rip you off, he is a good man.) Our home looks great at the end and that is what counts!
Description of Work
siding & shutters
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

[Removed Member Name] , Thank you so much. Your comments are taken to heart. And I agree with your assessment of the situation. We need to order a little bit more. Thank you for being so understanding. Your house really did turn out beautifully. Thank you for being repeat customers of United Exteriors, I promise if next time we do any work for you or for anyone for that matter we will order a "lil extra". I will also pass your words on to the guys. They appreciate the feedback. They take a lot of pride in their work. Joshua Smith CEO
william F.
1.0
09/29/2015
On 9/15 I called to have provider give an estimate. On 9/16 Mark came out, inspected the roof and said he would get back to me on 9/21 with an estimate ( I was away until the 20th). On 9/22 still no estimate. I called again and Mark said he had been busy and would have an estimate to me by the end of the day. Now a week later and still no estimate, nothing.
Description of Work
Nothing
Category
roofing
Kathleen M.
3.0
07/29/2015
Fixed initial leak so we thought, but a few days later after a heavy storm some water is still coming in through the same spot. We have sent a handful of emails indicating such and text messages to Mark to fix this issue and no response. We finally made a called to the main office and left a message with secretary for Mark and we have still yet get a response. I'm assuming once full payment is made the company no longer cares for our/your business. We are very disappointed in the way the company has handled us a customers.
Description of Work
Fixed leak in roof valley
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

( members name removed), I want to apologize but I think you have the wrong company. I am the owner of United Exteriors and we went through all of our estimates and jobs done and your name does not show up. I also googled your address and it is showing up as a apartment complex with no valleys. Please call my office directly I would like to get to the bottom of this. Sorry that you are having such a bad experience.
John G.
5.0
06/24/2015
Had an excellent experience with United Exteriors. I got 3 estimates and United Exteriors was right in the middle. Mark was there for us whenever we had a question, the crew worked hard and did a great job, they were also very reasonable when it came to replacing any rotted wood they found and provided photo and video evidence of any issues and addressed them with me prior to them fixing it. They left the jobsite neat and clean and were very respectful and courteous. I would highly recommend them.
Description of Work
Installed a new roof
Category
roofing
Ninamarie C.
5.0
03/26/2015
We initially chose United Exteriors because after meeting with Mark we were impressed by the level of professionalism, knowledge, and friendliness of he and the company. We were presented with every bit of information we needed to make a decision and he was able to explain everything and answer any questions seamlessly. He showed us all the options and colors available and made things so easy for us. He had a contract that spelled out everything that they were to do, all materials to be used, all stipulations, and the cost. Again, very professional and thorough. I have never in my life dealt with a more seamless, professional, and easy contractor in my life. I'm serious. I think start to finish it probably took us 20-30 minutes from the time he got there to the second we signed contracts and were finished. They started a week later on schedule and were done in ONE day. I'm not joking, the entire roof including clean up was completed in a day. We got home and it looked beautiful. No mess, no debris. Mark came back shortly after the work was completed to check it out and make sure it was done to our satisfaction and we paid the balance. That's it; simple, easy, and PAINLESS. Couldn't be happier with this company and with our roof. It looks great. And let me say, after a long, snowy winter, our roof looks as great as it did when they first installed it. No leaks =).
Description of Work
Complete removal and reinstall of our roof. We also had several pieces of molded plywood under the roof that needed to be replaced.
Category
roofing
Steven L.
5.0
03/12/2015
It was great they were professional.
Description of Work
$99 for a Roof Tune-Up and $100 Repair
Category
roofing
JOSEPH S.
5.0
08/05/2014
JUST THE KIND OF COMPANY I WANTED TO DEAL WITH, ORGANIZED AND EXPERIENCED FROM THE PROFESSIONAL PROPOSAL, INSTALLATION AND ABILITY TO ACCEPT THE PROPOSAL AND PAY ONLINE. PRICES IN KEEPING WITH MY BUDGET AND CLOSE ENOUGH TO THE COMPETITION, (LEGAL COMPETITION) EVERYTHING CLEANED UP AS IF THEY HAD NOT BEEN THERE EXCEPT FOR THE NEW MATERIALS INSTALLED.
Description of Work
RE-ROOFED WHOLE HOUSE AND PROVIDED AND INSTALLED 5 REPLACEMENT WINDOWS AND ALSO A REPLACEMENT PATIO DOOR
Category
roofing, replacement windows, doors
Elizabeth N.
5.0
07/25/2014
Crew arrived on July 22nd early in a.m., removed old shingles on home and garage. Replaced old shingles with new ones and the crew worked long and hard. Work was completed same day, and all debris was removed. Mark Eveland was the United Exteriors Sales Manager that we met with and he was very professional, reliable and got things done in a timely manner.
Description of Work
Replaced entire roof on home and garage.
Category
roofing
stacy F.
5.0
07/21/2014
They were professional and checked in on us before we secure them and while doing the roof they called me. They sent email asking if I was happy with the work or if we have any questions or concerns. They took care of couple of things that were not related to the roof itself. They did some extras above and beyond of what they said they will do. They were really nice. The owners of the company came and checked on their people working. They talked to me for awhile and even it was done they came back and followed it up. They were really nice and professional. I would recommend them to people.
Description of Work
United Exteriors replaced my roof.
Category
roofing
Daniel N.
5.0
07/20/2014
We were very pleased with the price and service provided by United Exteriors. While our roof was being replaced, the workers emailed us pictures to show us the progress. The pictures helped us see the wood under the shingles, which was a great concern to us. I especially liked dealing with their professionalism, and timely responses to our questions.
Description of Work
Roof Shingle replacement.
Category
roofing
john B.
5.0
07/02/2014
Arrived onatime, did a workmanlike job, flashed properly with the right materials for the job, all phases done correctly. Cleanup perfect. I would certainly recommend this company without reservation, all people I dealt with were courteous and had our best interest. Well pleased
Description of Work
Flashed chimney
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review let us know if there is anything we can do in the future to be awarded future business. Have a great day and enjoy your summer. JWS
anthony F.
5.0
05/20/2014
From the Quote from Marc, the excellent work crew, the conclusion by Joshua (paid the final bill) everything was done quickly and very professionally. Everyone was very friendly and courteous. The bill was as quoted, and less than others on angies list. Joshua did not just take the money and run, but remained a while to visit .A nice touch. Nice to meet a contractor who is interested in more than just money. I would not hesitate to recommend United Exteriors.
Description of Work
replaced some bad plywood, shingled garage-porch
Category
decks, roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much, Don't hesitate to call if you need anything. We need more people like you in this world. ;) Wish you and your family all the best.
Peter S.
5.0
05/16/2014
We had a leaking skylight and didn't know if it needed repair or replacement. We did have one skylight replaced, but the other two were checked and we were told they were fine for now. Luckily, the new skylight was put in right before a big rainstorm and it worked well.
Description of Work
Checked the roof , three skylights, and replaced a skylight.
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you[member name removed]. Let us know if there is anything we can do for you in the future. You both have a lovely home, I wish you both the best enjoy your summer.
Keith S.
5.0
05/15/2014
Everything went great! I would highly recommend them to anyone!
Description of Work
I purchased a big deal for a roof tune-up. **Actual work date not provided
Category
roofing
Christine B.
5.0
01/23/2014
We've had them here before for another job.
Description of Work
Removed a bad portion of the house roof, replaced a rafter and rebuilt that portion of the roof like new. We have had United Exteriors here before on a different job. They are prompt, friendly, very thorough group of workers. When finished, the clean up was great - no pieces of shingles, wood scraps, nails - nothing in the yard around the work site. We would recommend them to anyone, anytime.
Category
roofing
Alexander W.
5.0
01/18/2014
I basically needed the entire outside of the house redone. Josh came out with options on what I could get. After a few email exchanges I had a quote in my inbox. I also asked them if they could help drill a hole for the dryer exhaust through a brick wall and they added this for free. The job was done in phases over about 2 months due to the number of different work items that needed to be done. About halfway through the project, I met with Josh and Mark the construction manager. They answered questions I had and took down some requests for the remainder of the work. They also pointed out that one of the doors I wanted to replace was a nonstandard size, so they cut the opening a little larger so I could get a larger standard door put in at a lower price. This was better than I had hoped. They also upgraded my basement windows for free when they found out that the windows they spec'd out did not come in the size needed. The workers were very quick and cleaned up everything. At the end I did a final walkthrough, and sent them a few minor issues. They came back within 2 days and remedied all the issues. This company is very professional and can be trusted to do what they say. They were very responsive to any request I had throughout the project and at the end. You can do business with them and feel confident that they will do the job right.
Description of Work
I had United Exteriors replace the siding, soffits, gutters, windows, doors, and add a layer of foam board to the outside of the house.
Category
gutter repair, roofing, siding, replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for letting us show you what we can do. Joshua Smith
Eleanor L.
5.0
01/14/2014
They have done 2 projects for us. Two skylights and roof repair in back of house. One skylight and roof repair in front of house. Proposals were sent in a timely matter and clearly stated the work to be done. Projects were done on time. Workers were professional and neat. Great clean up. New skylights are great. New shingles used for repairs look exactly as old shingles. Would use them again.
Description of Work
Installed skylights and repaired roof
Category
roofing, skylights

Service Provider Response

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you!
Karen S.
2.0
11/03/2013
I agreed to the contract since the price seemed fair for the estimated work. I also made payment in full since I had used the contractor for a previous roof repair that had been excellent at a fair price. The workers arrived as scheduled and took twenty minutes to make the repair. It seemed that all was set right with the door but I took issue with having been charged $600 for twenty minutes work. I complained to the contractor who paid a visit and said the repair was done per the contract. I really didn't have much recourse since I signed the contract and paid upfront. They were essentially telling me to stuff it, they did what was agreed and I paid an exorbitant price for it. I feel they scammed me, the first repair went well and when I used them again they suckered me in and overcharged. I would never use them again nor would I ever recommend them.
Description of Work
The frame of the rear door to the deck had somehow shifted and the contractor provided an estimate of $600 to remove the door and frame, inspect and repair any damage, recaulk as needed and reinstall the door.
Category
doors

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed] I am sorry that you are unhappy with the quality of work that we preformed. We do have a minimum charge. That minimum includes the cost of fuel, labor, maintenance, and overhead. Sometimes when we preform work we estimate that the work will take x amount of time to do it in. When a job runs longer that expected we do not go to the homeowners and ask them to pay additional costs. As the owner of my own home I do understand wanting to pay for what you feel is a fair amount of work done. Please give me a call to discuss 845-549-0788. so that we can hopefully continue our relationship. I feel that it is important to build long lasting relationships with all of my customers. I will wait for your call.
Jessie F.
4.0
07/29/2013
They failed to replace on of the rotted sheets of plywood. Once we called, they promptly came back and corrected the problem.
Description of Work
Install new roof
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], Thank you for your review. We appreciate you pointing out to us what we missed, and we are glad that we were able to come back asap to fix. Feel free to give us a call for any other work that we can help you with. Since your review we have worked very hard to improve our work orders to keep this from happening. Thank you again hope to talk to you soon on your next home improvement project. Joshua Smith Owner
Kathy W.
4.0
07/18/2013
They were initially very responsive and arrived for the initial appointment on time. The price was good and I decided to hire them but had to follow up with them several times for an appointment for the repair after the deposit was paid.
Description of Work
Repair roof.
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

[Removed member name], Thank you for the review. We are improving our processes everyday. And continue to work very hard on getting better. Please feel free to call me personally on the next project that you have. I want to make sure that everything goes extremely well for you. Thank you again for using United and writing a review.
Diane P.
5.0
03/15/2013
I had United Exteriors LLC come out after Hurricane Sandy. They seemed to give me a very good quote, and they didn't tell me I needed a whole new roof. They said the roof had a lot of durability left in it. The roof was new in 2003 or 4, and the original company said I needed a new roof. Which is why I went with a different company for the repair.
Description of Work
United Exteriors LLC repaired my roof.
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank - You [removed member name], For the review let us know if we can help you out with anything coming up in the future. We wish you and your family all the best. Joshua Smith Owner
william M.
5.0
02/04/2013
I called Ultimare on Saturday morning to get an estimate to replace a few shingles and was advised how much their minimum charge would be assuming only one area needed to be replaced. I called back at around noon to give them the go ahead to come over and make the repair. They told me they could have it done that very day and would be by around 3 pm to take care of it. I left the house to take care of a few errands and returned at around 2:45 to find the Ultimate team pulling out of my driveway with the job already done. As there was snow in the forecast i was very pleased to have the roof repaired before the snow arrived.
Description of Work
Several shingles were blown off of our roof while we we were away last week and i called Ultimate to give me an estimate for replacing them.
Category
roofing

Other local Pros in your area

D M Ring Contracting LLC

No Metal Roof Work: $500 OFF Roof Replacements for ALL Angie's List Members! See our Deals: Shingled, wood shake, and flat roofing specialists. We don't offer repairs. D M RING CONTRACTING, LLC was developed to provide the very best quality products and installation to the consumer. Our team consists of certified, highly skilled and motivated tradesmen; with core goals of ensuring a standardized and quality job is achieved every time. A wonderful experience is what we seek. When our company starts a job, it is worked at appropriate labor levels from start to finish, with no "Job Jumping" in between, satisfaction guaranteed. We have some wonderful references right down the street, who you can speak with and would welcome you to view our work.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

Rivers Edge Home Renovation

Here at Rivers Edge Home Renovation, we are a locally owned and operated company that values honesty and integrity and treats your home as if it were our own. We offer a variety of quality home improvement services such as Roofing, Siding, Gutter Repair & Replacement, Window Installation, Door Installation, and much more. You will find us to be competitively priced with close attention to the details of each and every project that we are involved with. We look forward to building lasting relationships and guarantee your satisfaction!  

Angi Certified

Hudson Valley Windows & Siding

Hudson Valley Windows & Siding is a family owned business since 1986. We believe in using only the finest products available today. We also believe that even with the best products, a job is only as good as the installation. This is why all of our installers are factory trained and certified. One thing we offer which you won't find almost anywhere else is, that the owner of our company is present during all installations. This is to ensure you receive the quality job that you were promised from start to finish.  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

45 Osborne Hill Rd

Fishkill, NY 12524

Other Information

Services Offered

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Visa
MasterCard
Check
PayPal
Financing
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

United Exteriors is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

United Exteriors is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 1:00 PM

United Exteriors accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Check, PayPal, Financing

Yes, United Exteriors offers free project estimates.

Yes, United Exteriors offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, United Exteriors offers emergency services.

Yes, United Exteriors offers warranties.

United Exteriors offers the following services: Roofing - Asphalt Shingles, Metal, Slate, Clay Tile, Copper, EPDM, TPO, & Torchdown, Siding - Insulated Vinyl, Vinyl, Hardie Siding, Windows & Doors, Decks, & Skylights.