Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Empire State Moving

4.8

(566) Verified Reviews

Founded 1979 • With Angi since February 2006

Antiques
Licensed
Trade License Number
39PC00115400
Trade License Locale
NEW JERSEY
Trade License Authority
Division of Consumer Affairs
Trade License Expiration
09/30/2017
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

1480 Sheridan Blvd

Bronx, NY 10459

http://www.empirestatemoving.com

Description

Empire State Moving is an A+ Rated New York Moving and Storage Company that operates city-wide, nation-wide and world wide. We are family owned and operated since 1979. Our seasoned and friendly staff provides old-fashioned, excellent service. We provide moving and storage for households and offices for everything from household goods and office furniture to high-valued artwork and high tech electronics from antiques and pianos to cars. Additional phone number - (212) 254-8188....

Verified Reviews

4.8

(566) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

502

4

41

3

8

2

7

1

8

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

movers (561)storage unit (36)piano movers (13)
Showing 1-25 of 566 reviews
5.0

08/09/2019


Khoi L.

I first use Moving Men 5 years ago, and they were the perfect movers. Since then Moving Men has merged with Empire State Movers, and when I hired them again last week, it was just like the first time. A perfect move. The men arrived on time, were courteous and extremely hard working. They didn't miss a beat. I felt in really good hands. I will use them again for my next move. By the way, the quoted me a fair price. A different company, who has a similarly high number of positive reviews here on Angie's List, quoted me a price that was DOUBLE what Empire State quoted me. Wow

Description of Work
moving job (7.5 hours)

Category moving companies

Cost $1,775

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/27/2019

5.0

09/05/2017


Nathan W.

Great. The crew hustled all day. They disassembled and reassembled three beds, a dining room table, and a kitchen table. Everything was wrapped with real care. The setup in the new apartment went amazingly quickly - it felt like 1/2 the time of the morning. Everything was placed just where I asked, saving me a ton of time. They didn't charge me for a minute they weren't working. In the end, I wished I had them move more stuff, as it took me agonizingly longer. Would definitely use again.

Description of Work
I moved from one apartment building in a co-op to another. I asked Moving Man to handle all the furniture and rugs. I moved most of the boxes and smaller odd shaped items myself.

Category moving companies

Cost $1,650

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/29/2017

5.0

08/16/2017


Aleksandra K.

It went well, but the price listed at the end of the work was double of our quote. At the end, the company lowered the price, but it was still about 25% more than the original quote.

Description of Work
Packing and moving.

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/23/2017

5.0

07/25/2017


susan B.

2nd time hired and just as good! Moved 30 blocks and three flights of stairs. Fast fair and professional

Description of Work
2nd time hired and just as good! Moved 30 blocks and three flights of stairs. Fast fair and professional

Category moving companies

Cost $750

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/08/2017

4.0

07/12/2017


Aleksandra K.

It was fine. The estimate was one price, and the actual price was quite different. It was way more than twenty percent. We had to talk to them again. Way more than we had expected. It was way more for the actual price, than the estimate. They were on time, they were polite, they work according, and they knew what they were doing. The price was the issue. They quoted us one thing, and it turned out completely different. To tell a customer that they do charge per hour. We thought the quote was the quote, but that was not the case. To be completely countable for the driving distance. Why did it take them to get to Princeton three hours from Manhattan. It takes an hour to an hour and a half to get there. They settled initially, but we paid $2000 more than we were. I am not happy about the price. That is what they charge per hour, per box, fine. They need to have complete disclosure to the customer. That was an estimated bid, but twenty more boxes would cost you that. None of that was disclosed. They were good. With the exception of the drive. We could use them, but now I know what to ask for, and do a bit more research, and get someone to guarantee the quote, and not estimate the charge, and not guessing what they charge.

Description of Work
They packed, and they moved us the next day.

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/22/2017

5.0

06/21/2017


Alex R.

It went perfectly. Made the entire day so easy.

Description of Work
College move up to Albany.

Category moving companies

Cost $1,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/02/2017

5.0

04/12/2017


Ian B.

I would definitely use Moving Man again. The crew showed up 15 minutes and was extremely professional and helpful during the entire process. I was worried that the flat hourly fee would disincentivize efficiency, but that was not the case at all. Packing of the items as well as preparing the larger items to be moved took a couple of hours. Nothing was broken during the process. Once we arrived at the new apartment, the crew took the time to unpack some of the larger items as well as assemble certain furniture and the bed. Moving Man was easy to deal with from the beginning of the process, and the crew was wonderful. A+ all around.

Description of Work
Moved a one-bedroom apartment from one location in Manhattan to another location in Manhattan. Services included packing, moving, unpacking and basic assembly.

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/07/2017

5.0

02/27/2017


Howard L.

I had oversized the job. The crew showed up and realized there wasn't that much to do. They were able to reassign one of the crew members to another job so that I wouldn't have to pay for him. They were very conscientious about cost minimizing the amount of packing material. Overall my best experiences with movers.

Description of Work
I needed to move from a small studio in Manhattan to NJ.

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/23/2017

4.0

02/17/2017


Josh C.

Nothing was broken and they did what they said. There was a little bit of a scare where they were like, ?oh yea, we might not be able to have it there the next day!? ?We would actually deliver it in 3 days from now, because it is a long-distance move!? That?s not what I was promised at the start. I had to call like 2 people. He called the guy and the guy was like, ?well, I?m not sure we can make it!? So, there was a discrepancy between the official office and the driver I was working with. It was frustrating! We have a baby and we don?t have a crib in our house, that?s an issue. It ended up getting worked out, but I had to put more effort into to it than I should have, and it was during a stressful time. The quality of the work was good. That was a miscommunication and it was eventually was resolved. If it would have been there when they had promised, then that would have been a much better score than a ?B?. Would use again, because of the 3 or 4 quotes I got, they were the far best quote. So, I will take some of those concessions for $1,500.

Description of Work
We used Moving Man. They re-packed up most of our house. They packed up electronics and mirrors and loaded all the boxes that we previously packed in New York. Then they drove down the following day and delivered out boxes to Virginia.

Category moving companies

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2016

5.0

02/08/2017


Carol F.

Great-took 2 weeks to arrive but I was aware of that when Vladimir close to estimate job.

Description of Work
Made 4 steps-very good-organized & professional.

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/12/2017

5.0

01/10/2017


Reinhold G.

Crew was on time, courteous, careful.

Description of Work
Packing, crating, loading, unloading; partial unpacking of boxes for residential move.

Category moving companies

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/24/2016

5.0

12/13/2016


Ellen B.

Absolutely fantastic! From the get go, the staff at the office was professional and friendly and they immediately took all my calls with follow up questions. This move was a two day process. On both days the men who showed up were on time to the minute. They were friendly, efficient, professional and got down to work. And they were incredibly careful with our belongings - Not one thing scratched, damaged or broken. They also helped break down a 6 piece wall unit and then helped re-installed it at the new place. I would absolutely hire these guys again, and would recommend them to anyone who asks.

Description of Work
Mine was a 3 way move. Some things were moved from my old apartment to my new apartment and from my old apartment to my second property and some things were moved from my second property to my new apartment.

Category moving companies

Cost $2,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/09/2016

5.0

12/01/2016


Simon G.

Excellent, very fast and efficient.

Description of Work
Move apartment contents to new building.

Category moving companies

Cost $1,435

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/25/2016

5.0

12/01/2016


Sylvia H.

This service overall was excellent. Koren, Caners and Framo was professional, efficient and very comfort with my belongings.

Description of Work
Moved apartments.

Category moving companies

Cost $2,220

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/19/2016

5.0

11/17/2016


Tracy B.

It was a fab experience and all of the guys were beyond helpful & terrific.

Description of Work
Moved, helped pack , wrapped everything perfect!

Category moving companies

Cost $3,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/17/2016

5.0

11/17/2016


Josh C.

Did a great job! Treated by belongings better than I as I appreciate their thoroughness and care.

Description of Work
Picked up my belong by 3 ( 2 bedroom apartment).

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/30/2016

5.0

11/17/2016


Jessica P.

Great work overall. Professional staff.

Description of Work
Moving service. Dismantled bed frame & reassembly pack & move large glass.

Category moving companies

Cost $1,218

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/28/2016

5.0

11/15/2016


Merrie F.

Fantastic- wonderful firm and people.

Description of Work
Moving from an apt to a coop.

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/27/2009

5.0

10/31/2016


Merrie F.

Wonderful, excellent, marvelous, helpful!! Moving is by definition a difficult and emotional task. Moving Man was helpful, provided good suggestions, punctual, nice and completed the move well from an apartment to a co-op (with many rules on moving). I have recommended them to everyone I know who is moving in the past 7 years. The pricing was better than any other companies.

Description of Work
packing and moving.

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/27/2016

1.0

10/26/2016


Moe G.

The estimator named "Vlad" came down right away. He was was there the next day. He spent over two hours going through every drawer and closet in the house. We would not taking any furniture, only contents. We were also taking certain pictures they were on the wall. He wrote an extremely detailed estimate totaling $6700. He estimated the weight of the contents of the drawers and closets, books and kitchen pots pans and utensils. The weight was estimated at 4000 pounds, or two tons. This included the packing of everything. Because they were rated highly on Angie's list, my wife signed off on everything. Because I am disabled, I want to hire a high rated company that could do everything, since I could really do nothing to help. I spoke to friends who moved down to Florida, and they paid roughly the same about as I was told. After they loaded everything, I asked "Kelby", the guy that was running the job what he thought of the amount of boxes and the weight. He said it seemed to be about right. The amount of the boxes and the weight was about 4000 pounds. About two weeks later, "Vlad" the estimator called up and said the price was way off the estimate. He said it would be about $2000 more and that the weight was almost won ton or 2000 pounds more then he thought. Because he had a high rating on Angie's list, I didn't call anyone else for estimates which I should have. Anyway without paying upfront, they would not release my property, so I was forced to pay the additional money. What are you did do, Was a agree to take an additional $700 off the price, but it still cost substantially more.

Description of Work
I moved from Woodmere New York to Miami Beach.

Category moving companies

Cost $8,770

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 10/26/2016

Service Provider Response

I don’t dispute the member’s account of the overall F grade he slapped on our company for his recent move with us. Vladimir a 20-year veteran of our company did provide the member with a complete cost estimate of his pack and move from Long Island, New York to Miami, Florida. For this he rates us an F for Price. And Kelby a top driver and foreman dedicated seven days of packing, loading, driving to Florida, unloading, and driving from Florida to the member, our customer. For this he rates us a C for Quality. And upon the member’s request he did receive precise appointments for day and time of loading in Long Island and the day and time of unloading in Miami. For this he rates us an A for Punctuality and Responsiveness. I do want to call into question the F grade for Professionalism. When a customer complains about the cost overrun on his moving bill during one phone call with us. And when we respond by applying a $700 adjustment to his bill within twenty minutes of his one phone call to us. And our customer accepts the adjustment. I think our Professionalism is not an F, but a C or better. And when you add the $700 price adjustment to the benefit of $38,900 Full Replacement Value Protection with zero deductible received at no cost by the member (a $420 savings due to his Angie’s List membership), the total savings received by the customer is $1120. To me this is not an F-rated experience. We listen very closely to our customers at Moving Man, Inc. And we work very hard at Moving Man, Inc. to meet their needs. Sometimes, despite our best efforts, we are not successful. We apologize again for failing his expectations. And we thank the member again for using our services. Jon Stout, General Manager. Vladimir Melikhovski, Certified Moving Consultant. Kelby Velazquez, WVL certified Driver and Foreman.
5.0

10/24/2016


Marguerite M.

Excellent! Very hard working & professional. Jose L. Jose D, Ramiro, Fernando were a pleasure to work with. I would recommend the Moving Man Inc.

Description of Work
Move furniture from apt to house.

Category moving companies

Cost $1,117.5

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/20/2016

5.0

10/24/2016


James B.

Fantastic - extremely helpful, friendly, and prompt. Would use again.

Description of Work
Packing and moving from stairs to 2BK.

Category moving companies

Cost $1,257

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/30/2016

5.0

10/07/2016


Chun K.

Very good group of guys. Always a smile and professional. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Moving.

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/31/2016