Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Polar Shades, Inc.

Founded 1995 • With Angi since May 2006

4.7

(26) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5520 Stephanie St

Las Vegas, NV 89122

Description

Polar Shades is an industry leader for providing the ultimate in interior or exterior sun control products, including awnings, shades and retractable screen doors....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
4.0

05/16/2017


Garrett H.

did great job but though worker agreed to dispose of old screen door, he left without taking it....maybe he just forgot?

Description of Work
replace patio screen door with retractable screen door

Category window treatments, doors

5.0

04/10/2017


James A.

Excellent. Arrived promptly on time. Did an excellent job and cleaned up.

Description of Work
Solar shade installed on front window.

Category window treatments

5.0

10/19/2015


Thomas W.

Great product and service. Price was very good.

Description of Work
Built/installed solar shades

Category window treatments, solar panels

5.0

06/17/2015


Sandy P.

We were VERY pleased with Chris,the salesperson; Matt, the installation Manager; and the installation crew. They were one time and very professional. Although the shades are not cheap, they are of the highest quality. We liked the first 5 shades so much that we ordered a 6th one 10 days later. We looked at another shade provider before Polar Shades. And, Polar Shades was a little more reasonable in price and their quality was MUCH BETTER. The 6th shades fabric was a tiny bit too wide and was rubbing on the track. We called Polar Shades and Matt came the very next day and took the shade back and had it fixed and re-installed it the next day.....that is QUALITY CUSTOMER SERVICE! We would definitely use them again and will recommend them to all our friends and neighbors.

Description of Work
Installed 5 patio shades, then an add'l one 4 weeks later.

Category window treatments

5.0

05/23/2015


Jeff C.

Chris Baker was our sales representative and Jeannie in the showroom were both very helpful along with the installation supervisor, Matt. The installation crew, Jake and Tad were extremely professional and on task while on our property. A few minor issues after initial installation arose and we made Jake aware and he returned later and corrected all issues with no questions asked. All their staff were extremely accomodating and provided great customer service from start to finish.

Description of Work
Installed three retractable motorized sun shades.

Category window treatments

5.0

03/25/2015


Jerry T.

The installers showed up on time and removed my old shade. The shade automatically extends or retracts depending on signals it gets from an external solar/wind sensor that sends its signals wirelessly. I have a large window that is 104" by 88". I noticed that the new sensor that they were going to install seemed to be the same one I had currently on the house so I asked them if I could just keep my old sensor. They said sure if it worked they would just deduct the cost of the sensor from my payment. Sure enough the old sensor still worked with the new shade so they deducted $530 for the cost of the new sensor which I didn't need. My old shade quit working a month ago and apparently the motor in the shades last between 10 to 15 years depending on usage. The previous owners installed the shade without a cover so the motor was exposed to the sun and elements which probably led to its end of operation. My new shade has a housing which the shade retracts into. The housing hides the roller and motor and protects it too. The installers had to rewire my new motor since electrical standards had changed since my old shade was installed. They had to add a junction box on the exterior and routed the wires through that. They had a little trouble installing the guides using the long wood screws but overall I was satisfied with the quality of the product and installation. The shade extends in the morning as soon as the sun hits the sensor and when the sun goes behind the house and stops hitting the sensor the shade retracts and the beautiful view is there. You can still see through the shades when they extend even though they stop 90% of light. Also, I chose not to buy a new remote control because they wanted to charge me $100 for it. My old remote works fine with the new shade.

Description of Work
Removed old sun shade from exterior and replaced with new cassette, housing, fabric, guides and electrical wiring.

Category window treatments, solar panels

5.0

11/07/2014


Nada D.

They arrived on time, delivered the materials and installed them without problem.

Description of Work
Installed sunscreens

Category window treatments

5.0

10/13/2014


Gerald T.

we have used then three times to install both outside screens and inside screens. Best service and products for the money. Very professional.

Description of Work
Installed outside shade screens on patio

Category window treatments

5.0

08/16/2014


Jerry B.

The first visit was to take measurements and select materials. At the pointed time the shade was installed. The shade and it's hardware are high quality, though a bit pricy. Over all I got a good product from professionals.

Description of Work
Installed a shade between a patio pillar and the house to shade the patio and add privacy.

Category window treatments

5.0

08/13/2014


Bob C.

They showed up on time. the installers were fantastic. Katherine who was sales rep was the best. We had just moved to Vegas and Katherine was no nonsense. She did whatever she could to get price down. She was available anytime we called. Out of all the trades people we had work done with they were by far the best. Who needs to buy Lutron remote blinds when Polar are at least 50% cheaper and just as good. They are the real deal.

Description of Work
installed electric blinds throughout hone

Category window treatments

3.0

03/15/2014


TJ K.

first salesperson showed up on time and wrote bid. product and material appeared to be good quality. I contacted salesperson by email and voicemail 3 times over the next week with intent to buy. after getting no response we stopped in their showroom and started from the beginning with a new salesperson. this person demonstrated the product, gave us a bid and scheduled a visit the next day to measure and close the deal. before Leaving I asked for the warranty information in writing. I was given a copy of the sales contract. the warranty information is on the back of the contract. if you are thinking of buying from this company you need to read this closely. you will find language implying they are not liable for any damage caused by them during installation. you will also find that the electronic and shade material are only warranted by the manufacturer and not polar shade. the contract expressly states the polar shade warranty does not cover any labor. worst case they break something on your house during installation and they don't fix it and next week the motor or shade material fail. they will get you the replacement part but you have to pay for installation. i am not saying this would happen only the language in the contract implies it could happen. my comments are based on my understanding of the contract. i am not a lawyer. when I asked the sales person to clarify or correct my understanding they offered no different interpretation of the contract language. in closing I thought the product looked good and high quality. the sales experience was marginal and the warranty language was a deal killer for me.

Description of Work
provided bid for a 10 x 6 motorized exterior shade.

Category decks, window treatments

Service Provider Response

(member name), I am very sorry you clearly misinterpreted our warranty which is the strongest in the industry. Our warranty covers the shade's hardware for the life of the shade, 10 years on motors, and 10+ years on the fabric depending upon the fabric selected. A warranty card is provided with every shade purchased; however, since you didn't purchase a shade from us, you are probably not familiar with this information. Our labor warranty is 1 year, as we cannot control how or when the shade is used or possibly left down in storm conditions. We are a licensed contractor with electrical and awning classifications, which the majority of other companies do not carry. I also do not understand how you interpreted that if we were to break something during installation we do not repair or replace the item as Polar Shades, Inc. stands behind every one of their products and customers; otherwise, we would not have been in business for 20+ years. I am sure all companies you do business with would appreciate you calling the office for clarification on your questions, rather than misinterpreting our warranty and then posting an inaccurate description on social media. Regards, Steve Mevius President, Polar Shades, Inc.
5.0

11/03/2013


Nani L.

Fabulous. From Kevin the sales rep to Jeff and the rest of the installation crew everything was efficient and seamless. We discussed various options with Kevin when he made his sales call and took measurements. Our back patio can get quite gusty winds at time so we wanted something that would be hardy and secure. We have pop outs on the drywall posts but they were able to cut into it to secure the metal track. The install was absolutely perfect, we are delighted. They even removed the inexpensive shades we had purchased that just weren't doing the job. I want to add that it was a pleasure to work with Polar Shades, Inc. A year ago we had a salesman from another shade company come to our home to discuss ideas and give us an estimate. Their price was over twice that of Polar Shades and their salesman was extremely arrogant. Angie's list helped us to find a company that others had been happy with.

Description of Work
Installed two retractable motorized shades on our west facing patio.

Category window treatments

5.0

11/02/2013


Marcea R.

Made an appointment easily and promptly over the phone. Kevin arrived on time at my home, and was extremely courteous and eager to help with ideas to solve our privacy problem using polar shade products. In the end, I decided to go with another company for an interior window treatment, and not do an exterior shade. But will definitely keep this company in mind if another project comes up.

Description of Work
Quoted for an exterior patio solar shade

Category window treatments

5.0

07/25/2013


Debra S.

I had been seeking a solution to create a bird-friendly room on my outdoor patio. The patio is enclosed on two sides with two columned sides open to the back yard. My property has a premium view which I did not wish to obscure in any way. The Home Magazine featured some products such as Drop Shades so I called them to inquire about different products. After several calls I was able to reach Sean for product discussion, but he never came through with an actual visit. Polar Shades had great reviews, so I called and asked for Catherine because she was named favorably in several reviews. A week went by with no call back from the company so I called again. This time I requested anyone who was interested in my business to come out and sell me some shades. Dave called back promptly and came out before the end of the day and wrote up my order. He was very thorough in educating me with available products to satisfy my needs. He let me follow him back to the showroom to see a product demo of the retractable Titan tuff-screen zipper shades I ordered. He also showed me the shop in production so that I could appreciate the custom work that would be done for my shades. Unfortunately, I placed my order at the peak of their busy season and needed to wait nearly a month before installation. I should mention that I made a minor $325 purchase of a retractable patio sliding screen to replace one that was damaged. After a few weeks of waiting, this screen was installed and works well. Yesterday, Matt and Jason came out to install my custom zipper shades. The only way to explain this fabulous product is to view the video I made when the men were finished with my install. This is a very impressive and a very practical solution to create a screened in patio when I want to let my birds out. Otherwise, I can keep the shades up and keep the patio open anytime I want with a motorized remote control. Make sure and view the short video! The installation was meticulous and the men cleaned up afterward. The installers were both electricians so my motorized unit was actually hardwired with a cord coming from the power source. I asked if the white cord was able to be painted so that I might try to match it to the stucco. Instantly, they proceed to mask and properly paint the cord so that it now matches. I was more than impressed that they took the extra time to add the final touch to make me satisfied with my new indoor/outdoor room. Please see the photos and video because I am unable to convey in words just how amazing this finished product has turned out. My only disappointment is that I had to wait a week for a salesman to respond and then another month for my order to be installed. I wish that I had known about this amazing product before. 3/20/15 UPDATE: My $325 purchase of a retractable patio sliding screen on July 2013 was to replace one that was damaged. After a couple house guests have walked through the screen damaging it, I was prepared to have to replace it. I called Polar Shades and they had their company called "All Seasons Retractable Screens" call and come out. To my surprise, they repaired the screen FREE OF CHARGE! Just wanted to report the good customer service. Good thing I called just before their busy season goes into full swing. Polar Shades is a great company and All Seasons is another extension of them.

Description of Work
Custom fabrication and installation of 2 motorized retractable shades costing $3300 plus $325 purchase and install of a retractable patio sliding screen.

Category window treatments

5.0

06/07/2013


John C.

We wanted to replace our existing sun shades with motorized ones. Contacted Polar (Dave S) who came out the same day to discuss options. He subsequently returned and we placed an order (after getting an additional estimate) qnd wrote up a contract. and scheduled us for measurement. Matt came a few days later and was excellent with his suggestions and ideas to minimize any wiring showing. A few weeks later Matt and a helper returned for the install. Everything went smoothly and the shades have been up for a week or two now and work wonderfully. Would defintely use Polar again.

Description of Work
Replaced Exterior solar sun shades

Category window treatments

5.0

11/23/2012


Randy B.

They were good to work with during the bid process and the installation. I have had some repair work done in 2010 and their responsiveness was slow. However this year in 2012 there was some other repair to happen and they responded immediately. They have really imporved in this area. I needed a part and because my system is now an older system they gave me the part at no charge from their inventory. I would recommend this company as you can see I have used them several times.

Description of Work
Polar shades first installed 5 polar shades in our west facing back side of our home in early 2005. They are set up with Wind and sun sensors to go up and down. In late 2005 they built a Lean-to porch roof that we parked our 30 foot travel trailer under. This was attached to the east side of our house. We then had 5 drop shades installed that were also on Sun & wind sensors to hide the trailer. They also installed two sliding Screens at our front door and back door.

Category awnings, decks, replacement windows, window treatments

5.0

08/04/2011


Donna S.

The experience we had with Polar Shades was top notch from the time we contacted them all the way through installation. We called for an appointment for a measurement and estimate, and Catherine scheduled the appointment the same week we called. Catherine came right on time, and presented very thoroughly all our choices of screens, trim, controls. etc. She went outside and measured, and then we all sat down to decide exactly what we wanted. She was completely professional and very knowledgeable. There was not one question she could not answer. Since I had already been through the estimate process with 2 other companies and was not satisfied either with their product, their ability to supply specific answers, or the estimated cost---when Catherine arrived, I had already made a list of questions I needed answered. I was amazed---by the time she went through all the information, she had answered every single question I had listed---I didn't even have to ask any more. None of the other companies or representatives gave as thorough a presentation or showed an ability to cover everything you would want to know before choosing their company in such a concise presentation. The estimate was very reasonable, and we decided to go with Polar Shades that very meeting. We paid our 1/2 down and scheduled the installation. One of the special services Polar Shades provided was that Catherine took care of all the picture taking, forms, and presentation to our HOA to get approval for our adding the drop shades. She attended the HOA meeting for us. She appeared at the door before the installation with our approval from the HOA, and all we had to do was sign. What a great Extra! A few days before the installation, Catherine called and said her boss had upgraded the screens to Elite because of the width of each screen and because of the wind we experience here--another instance that showed this company is very concerned about their customers and willing to go the extra mile to be sure the customer is satisfied with their product for a long time. On installation day, Catherine made a trip to our home to give us the HOA approval, and the installers arrived right on time, did their work in a timely manner, showed us how to operate the controls and left. They cleaned up any material they had left and made sure we had no further questions before they left. I have to say in the 5 years we have owned our home, and in all the improvements we have made, Polar Shades was the easiest to work with. Everyone we dealt with from the owner, to the representative Catherine, to the installers were just perfectly professional, always on time, and the icing on the cake-----always seemed eager to go the extra mile to be sure we were satisfied. If you need solar screens or outside drop shades like we ordered, I would highly recommend Polar Shades. They are the best!

Description of Work
Polar Shades installed 2 drop screens with remote control for our west facing patio. Before the screens were installed, the patio was virtually useless from about 1:00 till sundown, especially in the summer. We were hoping to be able to use our patio at least a little more than we had been able to. The drop shades installed far exceeded our expectations! They have provided wonderful shade during the afternoons while still allowing us to view our backyard at the same time. Because of the remote control, we can lower the shades a little at a time as the sun goes down. We can raise and lower the 2 shades with one button. The patio is shady and much cooler, and the inside of the house is cooler as well. I am sure it will make a difference in our energy bill. I had hoped that the shades would improve our use of the patio, which it definitely has---but did not realize that it would improve the inside living area as well. Because of the shades, there is no afternoon sun glare, so our living area is cooler--most of the afternoon, I can leave the window blinds open and just ease the drop shades down as the sun goes down. The screens are beautiful, well installed. and are the best investment we have made for our home in a long time. If you want high quality screens with a quite reasonable price, good service, and professionalism, I would highly recommend using Polar Shades!

Category decks, replacement windows, window treatments, accountant, solar panels

4.0

08/26/2010


Ron & Connie M.

There was a glitch in the specifics of how I wanted the shade installed, because of the sales person's failure to be precise on the original order. But after the mis-communication and having to wait an additional week to have the shade installed, I am more than satisfied with the polar shade. A good installation and I like the looks and preformance of the product. It was worth the wait to get the polar shade installed the way I had originally requested.

Description of Work
Be sure to to ask questions of how the installation is to be done when the sales person makes the initial visit to your home/business. I told the sales person that I did not want the tracks for the shade mounted on the top of either side of the window frame, instead, I wanted the tracks mounted next to the window frame on each side of the window. The sales person assured me that my request could/would be done. A date was set for the installers to come to my house for the precise measurements. When the installers came to take measurements, I assumed that they would take the measurements based on the conversation I had had with the sales representative. My mistake, never assume anything when it comes to installers/sub-contractors. When the day of the installation came I asked the installers, before they started the job, if they understood that the shade was to be installed beside the window frame on either side of the window? - They were not the same people whom had taken the measurements.- I was informed that the measurements were taken for installation on top of the side frame of the window on either side. I told these fellows that I had been very specific of how I wanted the shade installed with the sales person before placing the order and paying 1/2 the total fee. They appologized for the mistake, the sales person did not write down the specifics of how I wanted the shade installed on the original order sheet. The install would be delayed until the following week, another shade would have to be manufactured, but would be given priority status. - That was acceptable to me.

Category window treatments

2.0

03/16/2010


Marianne & Arnie H.

The shade is great, like having it. Don't understand why they have a problem finding my name in their data base. Please do give them my name, I want to get this taken care of. Told the gal I would be forced to put this on Angies list cause was getting no where with her. Will write a great review when this problem is taken care of.

Description of Work
Purchased a solar shade from this company. The above is a guess on the install date & price of shade. Everytime I would call the gal answering would tell me I wasn't in their system. Gave her a gentlemens name who would then get on the phone & help me out. They made my shade & installed it, they were paid by my credit card. The paperwork on this is in an antique dresser drawer that is locked & lock is broken. I picked this company for a reason. My shade needs servicing now. Of course due to whatever internal problem there is the gal answering the phone says they didn't make my shade. I can no longer find his name. Can someone please help me!

Category window treatments

5.0

11/02/2009


GARY M.

They are superb. I give them all A’s for their services. I will continue to use until I run out of windows.

Description of Work
Polar Shades Sun Control installed a power roller shade in my home. I have used them multiple times in the past.

Category window treatments

3.0

04/21/2008


William F.

Salesman, Don was very professional and polite although new at the time. I had spoken with the owner, Steve, prior to Don coming out. Steve made a great telephone presentation. The installation and professionalism was not up to my standard. The first install, seemed to be done by a new guy, as evidenced by the fact that Polar Shades had to come back out and reinstall, after the track the shade base frame ran in, pulled loose from the mounting. It blew the creditability of the first installer that told me the noise the window unit made was "normal". I ordered after the original sale a wind meter and sun controller in Aug of 07, which was back ordered. To this day I have not been contacted. I had a problem with the alignment which allowed wind damage to occur, contributed to by poor quality of the base frame (weight). They charged me $101 to repair an $11 part WITHOUT informing me I would have to pay for it (non-warranty) prior to the repair or service call. Owner non responsive, General Manager, too.

Description of Work
Installation of motorized solar shades on one window and one patio opening.

Category solar panels

5.0

06/27/2007


Roberta K.

Jamie arrived on schedule. He measured the door frame from all sides. Went to his truck and cut the material to size. Installation was performed without a hitch. All work from time of arrival to completion was about 1 hour.

Description of Work
Measured and installed a 7' inside retractable screen door to the patio area.

Category window treatments

5.0

04/04/2007


REBECCA S.

After the estimate and our decision to proceed, Polar Shades sent out a project supervisor to re-measure and check for electrical access. We had to wait for the fabrication of our shades, but each unit is custom fit. On the day of installation, they were on time. Unfortunately, they had to put up with some other workers in our yard, but they did a great job. The shades are one of the best investments in our house. One shade is about 20 feet across and shows no seams. They are on remote control and easy to operate.

Description of Work
I initially called Polar Shades for an estimate to add motorized shade to my west-facing patio. The sales rep was very informative, courteous, and pleasant to work with. He actually suggested that I get a bid from the competitor as well. After seeing the competitor and then visiting the Polar Shades showroom, I was sold. My husband and I actually upgraded the fabric.

Category window treatments

4.0

10/30/2006


TRACY W.

Sales person came out and showed pictures and described how they would be installed. Installers came out and they were not the right size and had to be returned for refitting. Next set of installers came out and identified that the location of installation as described by the sales person would not work on the hollow alumawood cover. Therefore, they had to be installed in a different location that caused the length to be incorrect based on original measurements. The shades billow out when fully extended and do not provide 100% coverage of the patio based on new location. They were professionally installed and they appear very nice. They provide nice shade for areas of coverage with noted difference between being in the up position and being fully extended. The company has agreed to consider alternative options to reduce the billowing problem and is working with me on the issue of length.

Description of Work
Installed polar shades on external Elwood patio between each of the pillars. Five dark brown, manually adjusted shades were installed.

Category window treatments

5.0

05/15/2006

Polar Shades Sun Control matched the color scheme of the shades perfectly. We appreciated that. They showed up on time and did a great job of installing the shutters. The men themselves had great communication with us. We are more than satisfied with the work that they did. The price was very reasonable for all the work that they did.

Description of Work
They installed 12 shutters on the outside of my home. The material that they used was aluminum but looked like wood grain. They also poured an extension of concrete on our patio.

Category concrete repair, window treatments

    Other local Pros in your area

    Jag Tax Management

    JAG Tax Management and Financial Services has 35 years in the tax industry. We settle your tax debt for the least possible amount and get you back on track with the IRS and State so that levies and garnishments don't interfere with your life. We're #1 at getting the best resolutions, whether it be back taxes, payroll, un-filed taxes, etc. You name it, we handle it when it comes to taxes of financial services. So stop stressing and call us now.  

    Royal Flush Concrete

    Integrity is the foundation of our business. We have built long-standing relationships with our customers and vendors through hard work, dedication and honesty. We've layered that with a full range of quality products and services, as well as one of the finest quality control programs in the industry. All those combined have set us apart from our competition. At Royal Flush Concrete, we set high standards for ourselves, and our employees. Our managers are expected to lead by example and to maintain an attitude of professionalism at all times. We feel strongly that well-trained, highly motivated employees are our company’s greatest assets. That is why we seek out people who wish to grow along with us and share in our high moral and business standards. We reward employees who hold integrity, safety and customer satisfaction above all else. We take the responsibility of managing this Company very seriously, as many people depend on our success. We continually seek out opportunities to expand our markets, products, and services while increasing profitability. Since starting our business in 1998, we’ve continued to grow and to give back to the communities and people who have supported us over the years. Bottom line: Here at Royal Flush Concrete we plan for the future to ensure the longevity of the company, for the benefit of all.  

    All Inclusive Concrete Systems LLC

    With over 30 years of experience in concrete we are the BEST choice for all your concrete needs in the Las Vegas area. We are a licensed, bonded and insured contractor and we stand by our work. We give 10% Military and Senior discount. Give us a call for a FREE estimate and see what we can do for you!  

    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    interior shades, exterior shades, retractable screen doors, retractable awnings, sun control

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Polar Shades, Inc.

    How is Polar Shades, Inc. overall rated?

    Polar Shades, Inc. is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Polar Shades, Inc. open?

    Polar Shades, Inc. is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does Polar Shades, Inc. provide

    Polar Shades, Inc. accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Polar Shades, Inc. offer free estimates?

    Yes, Polar Shades, Inc. offers free project estimates.

    Does Polar Shades, Inc. offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Polar Shades, Inc. offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Polar Shades, Inc. offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Polar Shades, Inc. offers a 5% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Polar Shades, Inc.?

    Yes, Polar Shades, Inc. offers warranties.

    What services does Polar Shades, Inc. offer?

    Polar Shades, Inc. offers the following services: interior shades, exterior shades, retractable screen doors, retractable awnings, sun control