Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Runnemede Plumbing Heating Cooling & Electric

Founded 1948 • With Angi since January 2006

We have been in business for over 65 years. We offer tax rebates and credits on installations of new heating and cooling units. We do not charge per hour, we charge per job. There is a $149 emergency fee for after hours service. Residential only. Additional EMail Addresses: lori@thebigredr.com, kevin@thebigredr.com. Additional DBA - Runnemede Heating Co.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
No
Warranties
No
Senior Discount
10%
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.1

(61) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 61 reviews
PHILLIP G C.
5.0
08/13/2018
Mark arrived as scheduled and had the needed parts on his truck. Replaced the broken line and made several improvements That were necessary.
Description of Work
Leak in my outdoor water line was causing the basement to flood.
Category
plumbing
Amanda K.
5.0
12/23/2017
Runnemede has been the only bright spot in a bad situation with heater and electric problems in a condo that we just bought. They were very thorough, professional, and actually cared about getting to the heart of the problem and figuring out how to fix it. They spent time and diagnosed the problems correctly, that an earlier contractor had not. They are prompt, provide quality services, and take time explaining everything.
Description of Work
No heat in our condo. Electric wiring and HVAC.
Category
electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac
Grace Worthington W.
1.0
10/12/2017
Buyer beware. I was charged $249 for approximately 30 mins of work (that's from the time the technician arrived until he left). In my mind, that equates to $500/hr fee. Even if I factored in a half hour for driving time, it would still be $250/hr fee. The owner/manager justified this rate by quoting me the costs of running a business - insurance, trucks, and salaries, but how is this any different or unique from other reputable plumbing companies? He didn't seem overly concerned that I will not be a repeat customer. I guess when you've fleeced one already, you don't need them to come back.
Description of Work
Service a tankless water heater
Category
water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review. We apologize if you feel that the time Mark spent over three visits to repair one of your three Navien tankless water heaters was not worth the $249 you were charged and you were not happy with your technician. We certainly understand that owning a home and the up keep on it can get expensive at times. We feel that our prices are in line with other "reputable" plumbing companies. It is unfortunate that you feel you were fleeced. We always give all of our customers up front pricing and get an approval signature before work starts and parts are ordered. We feel that is a fair way to run our business for both us and the homeowner. If this was not the case during your service call, please let us know. We also encourage you to contact the company that installed the units. When we install a piece of equipment in someone's home, we cover the equipment for both parts AND labor. That may be the case with your units. If so, we encourage you to contact them to see if the $249 can be recouped. We are sorry that you feel your repeat business is not wanted as we appreciate all of the homeowners that continue to use our company. So much so, we have refunded your $250 for the inconvenience and have yet to receive an update of your review stating so (as of 3/23/18). Either way, thank you for your time and your business.
curtis B.
5.0
05/16/2017
Great service. Plus I appreciate the fact that they did not try to oversell the problem.
Description of Work
Had a very slow leak from a second floor bathroom. Runnemede can in and identified the problem, fixed the leak and repair the ceiling within an hour.
Category
plumbing
Laura G.
5.0
04/20/2017
Everyone has been wonderful. Excellent customer service. Goes above and beyond to accommodate customer.
Description of Work
Water heated replaced.
Category
plumbing
HAROLD J.
5.0
01/27/2017
They arrived promptly, assessed the situation and corrected problem quickly!
Description of Work
having a Problem with my Garbage Disposal
Category
plumbing
ANNETTE L.
1.0
01/27/2017
He wrote up an order for that to be done to cost $876.00 dollars with a 2yr. warranty. I politely asked him to leave my home. I'm not going to get ripped off today.
Description of Work
I needed an electrical outlet in the garage and two outlets no longer working to be checked out.
Category
electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

We apologize for not responding to your request within the budget you were looking to spend. The work you were looking to have performed was extensive and required a licensed and experienced electrician. We hope you are able to find a company that is able to fit your needs and budget.
Diane W.
2.0
01/07/2017
I called on Saturday morning. No plumbers available today.
Description of Work
Water heater replacement
Category
plumbing, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

We are sorry we were not able to help you with your project. We look forward to helping you in the future.
Robert W.
5.0
10/24/2016
They called the day after I accepted the offer online and made an appointment. The office called to tell me that the plumber was on his way. He arrived on time and made the repairs quickly. Very good price.
Description of Work
Had outdoor hose faucet replaced.
Category
plumbing
JAMES C.
5.0
09/24/2016
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Description of Work
kitchen faucet installed
Category
plumbing
HAROLD J.
5.0
09/03/2016
Minor Matter of Adjusting Trip Switch
Description of Work
Issues with Garbage Disposal
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing
Usha M.
4.0
08/12/2016
It went well as far as the removal of the old toile and the installation of the new one is concerned. I had bought a $ 99/- from Angie's List for this precise job. But the details on the coupon suggested that the service provider could possibly arrange for toilets at a discount. This turned out not to be the case. In addition, the plumber and his assistant did not take the trouble to ensure that they didn't track dirt over the carpeting on the staircase and the hallway. I also found Kevin, who I think runs the business, to be a little inflexible. It is possible that they are very, very busy, and that there are never any open slots but he does not even try to be a little obliging and tell me that he'll see if he can fit me in sooner than we had originally arranged.
Description of Work
Remove an old toilet and install a new one.
Category
plumbing
Margaret C.
5.0
08/12/2016
THEY DID A GREAT JOB AND I WILL USE THEM AGAIN IF I NEED THEM.
Description of Work
INSTALL A NEW TOILET
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing
Diane W.
5.0
07/19/2016
I had a very recent issue, where my last two water bills were progressively higher. I called the water company, and they told me that I may have a leak that needed to be checked. I was happy to see that this popped up right when I needed it! I called the company right away, which was on a Saturday, and was surprised to hear that their regular hours included Saturday. They gave me a four hour window for a week and a half later, they gave me an appointment that fit within my work schedule. They arrived well within the time window they gave me. Jeff was my plumber. He didn't find any leaks, and he did a very thorough check. He was very knowledgeable with answers about some additional questions that I had, and I felt that this deal was very worth it!
Description of Work
I purchased a deal from this service provider.
Category
plumbing
P Charles C.
5.0
06/22/2016
They contacted me within 24 hours to schedule and the serviceman arrived within the first 30 minutes of the 4 hour window. He was very friendly and able to diagnose and fix the problems I had. I also asked him some other general questions I needed answers to. Would use them again.
Description of Work
Purchased a $59 1 hour diagnostic review from Angies Deal.
Category
plumbing
Ronald G.
5.0
05/10/2016
They came out promptly, were very courteous on the phone and in person, and did the job very welll. Would definitely hire them again.
Description of Work
Capped a gas line and unhooked washer hoses. Very simple and quick job but I didn't want to mess with the gas line myself.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Removed Member Name]. It was a pleasure to work with you.
Ralph C.
5.0
10/12/2015
I use Runnemede Plumbing. I used them about two months ago. It was 2 hours of work and some crazy number for it. They are fairly expensive.
Description of Work
They did plumbing service. They installed a battery back up on the sump pump.
Category
electrician, plumbing, wells
John C.
3.0
03/16/2015
Had a monthly service agreement with company which was 9.95 a month which involved check ups for system had issue with air conditioner in sept of 2013 air conditioner lost all freon called company for service and technician came out and said that all freon was lost to refill it would cost 1000 dollars and that it would probably lose freon again and that the probability of finding leak could be a gamble that they might not find so he advise to get a new system which would probably be 6000 to 8000 I said I will get other estimates thank god I did found a private contractor who was confident he could find leak repairs and freon cost 900 runnamede heating and air condition in my opinion over charges consumers would not recommend
Description of Work
Service air conditioner and heater
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Jay F.
5.0
10/03/2014
I first used Runnemede when getting bids for a new gas furnace. Chris was very responsive in offering alternatives and explaining things.Their price was reasonable and I selected them. The work took longer than expected but not because of any delay on their part; the job was just complicated. Since then I have signed up for a service contract and used them for various plumbing repairs.All of their employees are professional and responsive. Arrive when promised, very careful with my house and the job, work done right. Kevin, the service manager, or Lori, in the office, often call to follow up to make sure things were right. One big advantage is that they work into the evening at no extra charge, which makes it easier to fit into my work schedule. Highly recommended.
Description of Work
I have used them for a variety of plumbing and heating jobs -- installation fo a new gas furnace and hot water heater, replacement of faucets, toilet repair.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking your time to let other people know about your experiences. We appreciate your kind words and recommendation!
Joann G.
4.0
07/15/2014
It seemed like everything they did, it never was like perfect. Not never but a lot of time it was never right and they charge so much money. I really noticed a difference when another company came out. They charge you a lot and it seemed like everything they, not everything, but most the things they did, it just never..I know my husband fixed a lot of stuff and he was no licensed plumber, licensed electrician. His work lasted a lot longer than what they do and you are paying them top dollar. I pay that monthly fee with them so they do, if it's an emergency within about 2 hours, 3 hours even if there is some kind of bad weather so they are very good with that. The fella Kevin, he is the most, I mean he just listens, he is the most respectful guy. He really, really is good. If they come out for their regular inspections they are right on time and then with emergencies, they are here within, they come out here and I know how bad it can be. Matter of fact, the last time I had a problem with the sump pump I called somebody else and them. I never heard from the other people and they actually called me, Kevin, and said that, when the guy would be on his way and it was a Sunday. So, they were good about that. He did, anything that had to be done, he was real good about, call back if anything is wrong I'll come back, and he did. But when you get it done you want to have it done right the first time. That's probably not his fault that's the guys that did it. You know with them, what it is, is they come out here and they look for things to do. That's what I didn't like about it. Like if they come out for their yearly inspection it's like they look for things to be done that don't really have to be done. I think that's what bugged me most about them. They weren't really good about cleaning up. Like if they soldiered there would be stuff on the floor and I'd be cleaning that up afterwards. They would come in with their little booties like they were all clean, not to dirty anything up, but they weren't real good about cleaning up after themselves. The guys that come out to the house always really polite. A matter of fact some of them say, boy you are really helpful. They probably want to say, leave me alone lady. Like things, like the last time with the sump pump. I showed them exactly where it was outside and he goes, oh man you are really a big help. Because they would've been out there looking for it. I had it all ready for them. Like when they come, I show them exactly where everything is so they're not hunting around for everything.
Description of Work
.
Category
electrician, plumbing
Mark B.
2.0
05/10/2014
We used this service for many years after first moving to the area. They offered an annual 'preferred' level of service and we signed up for it. It turned out that it only covered inspections and it was about twice as expensive as regular charges by other companies. There were always additional charges after each inspection, too. We finally dropped them when they failed after five attempts to fix a simple leak in an outside water faucet that they installed. At the same time they offered us a $1000 discount as a preferred customer to replace a hot water heater. The total estimate, with the discount, was $4999. Absurd. They were very unprofessional and harassed us with calls and pressure sales tactics for about a week before we told them to never contact us again.
Description of Work
The estimate to replace a hot water heater, with a 'preferred customer' discount of $1000, was still $5000. This amount of money was absurd for a hot water heater.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

I'm sorry, but I don't understand what has prompted this previous customer to comment on such an old issue now. We have had no contact with this customer since 2006. All of the technicians that worked on their house are no longer working with our company. As a matter of fact, the management of the company has also changed in this time period. Our current service manager was not here then and neither was our office staff. Our preferred service contract is $12.95 a month for heat and air conditioning and 8.95 each for electrical and plumbing. I don't know of another company who charges less than that; but we honor coupons from other area companies. I am not sure what water heater he is talking about since I don't see anything in our records showing a quote of $4999; but perhaps it was for a tankless water heater which are more expensive than other water heaters. Our prices include everything - taking out the old equipment, disposing of the old equipment, getting necessary permits, all supplies required to do the job and the hourly rate of a licensed professional. Other than that, it is difficult to speak to the allegations in this review as it is an 8-year-old issue. Almost every employee here is different, including the managing owner, now than in 2006. I'm sorry you had such a bad experience 8 years ago that you felt the need to address it now; but as I said I wasn't here at that time and there is no one here that I can ask about it.
Lauren C.
5.0
05/09/2014
Overall, the technician (Mark) was very friendly and helpful. He installed a new hose spigot outside, and related plumbing inside, which was not an easy task given the small indoor working space in the area of that plumbing. My husband and I are very happy to now have a working spigot that gives us ample water pressure to run a sprinkler in the backyard.
Description of Work
Installed a new outdoor hose spigot
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
JEFFREY W.
2.0
03/27/2014
When asked, was told that none of the cost would be applied to repairs. Would not recommend in an emergency.
Description of Work
After advising of an emergency heater failure (no heater in sub-freezing temps with yet another snowstorm heading in), was given an appointment to have a service person 'look' at it.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

I tried to look up your address and name in our computer and you were not in there. We do have a $69 dispatch fee and if it is an emergency service (after 8pm or on a Sunday or Holiday) it would be $149 for the dispatch fee. This fee is to cover the travel and technicians time to get to your home. You are only charged this fee if he gets to your home and you decide to not have any work done. If you do decide to have the work done by our technician after he has diagnosed the problem, then the dispatch fee (the $69) is waived. If it was an emergency, you would be charged the $149 regardless because we need to call a technician in from home and that fee goes to the tech for coming in for an emergency call that couldn't wait for normal hours of 8am-8pm Monday through Saturday. I'm sorry I couldn't speak directly to your issue since you are not in our computer under that address or name. Perhaps you called from a different address? Or perhaps you have confused our company with another one?
Lauren C.
5.0
02/05/2014
The dispatcher called to see if the tech could come earlier than the scheduled window of time, and I was happy to accommodate. Frank was very pleasant and conducted a thorough inspection of the furnace, and recommended a fix for a problem we have been having due to what I learned was an improper installation by the prior homeowner. He wore covers over his shoes coming into my house, and left his work area neat and clean. I would definitely recommend this company.
Description of Work
Routine maintenance and inspection of our furnace
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the positive review. I will make sure Frank sees your kind words. For taking the time out to review us, I will be mailing you out a coupon for follow-up service. If you have any questions, please give me a call or email me at Lori@thebigredr.com
Gracia C.
5.0
01/15/2014
My husband and I were very pleased with the work done by Runnemede Plumbing. They were responsive and professional. The work was done accurately for a fair price. The job took two days total. The work involved was replacing our sewer line from the house to the curb but our sewer line actually runs under our driveway which is sloped. So the job was a bit more complicated than a normal dig up. They had no problems figuring out what needed to be done and completed the work without difficulty.
Description of Work
Dig and replace sewer line from house to curb.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for posting a review of our company. Mark and the Mohrfields are happy you liked their work and we all think you are pleasant customers and are happy we could have helped with your sewer work. We hope you think of us in the future for any of your other home services needs.

Phone

Address

39 N Black Horse Pike

Runnemede, NJ 08078

Other Information

Services offered

Heating & Air Conditioning, Plumbing, Electrical, Maintenance, & Repair.

Services not offered

Oil Heat, Pools, Sprinkler Systems, Chimneys, & Wells.

Payment options

Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Check
Financing

FAQ

Runnemede Plumbing Heating Cooling & Electric is currently rated 4.1 overall out of 5.

Runnemede Plumbing Heating Cooling & Electric is open:

Monday: 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday: 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday: 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Runnemede Plumbing Heating Cooling & Electric accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing

No, Runnemede Plumbing Heating Cooling & Electric does not offer free project estimates.

Yes, Runnemede Plumbing Heating Cooling & Electric offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Runnemede Plumbing Heating Cooling & Electric offers a 10% senior discount.

Yes, Runnemede Plumbing Heating Cooling & Electric offers emergency services.

No, Runnemede Plumbing Heating Cooling & Electric does not offer warranties.

Runnemede Plumbing Heating Cooling & Electric offers the following services: Heating & Air Conditioning, Plumbing, Electrical, Maintenance, & Repair.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

We are a professional handyman service (and so much more) that has 4 full time employees. We have been family owned for over 21 years offering high quality service and your complete satisfaction. *GIFT CARDS AVAILABLE* Call Steve or Rose 856-727-0528  

Climate Mechanics LLC

5.0

(47)

Angi Certified

Climate Mechanics LLC

Climate Mechanics, LLC, is not happy with a finished HVAC project, until you are happy! We look forward to bringing our quality of work and excellence to your home. We always respond quickly to your requests, always price reasonably, and the work performed is of the highest caliber. Find out more about us at www.climatemechanics.com  

Family owned business with 28 years experience. Reliable, honest, fast service with 24 hour response. Fully trained Service and Installation Technicians. Bob's priority is keeping our customers happy, comfortable and safe. Our Technicians can solve any HVAC issues or concerns; from repair and maintenance services, to Installation of new heating and cooling systems and accessories, including thermostats, whole house humidifiers and dryer vent cleanings. We are Nest Pros, PSEG HVAC Instant Rebate Participating Contractor, Trane Comfort Specialists. All makes and models of HVAC systems can be installed, serviced or maintained. We accept cash, checks, MC, Visa & Discover. Financing available.