Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

ACCOMPLISHED CHIMNEY

Founded 2004 • With Angi since September 2006

10 employees, all exteriror work, and coupons as advertising.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

3.6

(35) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 35 reviews
Diane W.
4.0
12/20/2017
They did a very nice job but could have cleaned up better. The lawn was a little torn up and several large pieces of debris were left behind. Otherwise I would have graded A all the way!
Description of Work
They rebuilt chimney and installed a new thermocrete liner.
Category
chimney repair
Robert Z.
4.0
06/02/2017
Well enough. Since it was the roof there were paint or stucco stains on a hidden part you can't see the window repair had to be done twice. And cleanup could have been done better. After tearing off roof I needed them to come back twice to magnet rake any nails or metal debris.
Description of Work
Chimney and roof repair, stucco repair / patching and window frame fix
Category
gutter repair, roofing, chimney repair, stucco
Leena K.
1.0
04/12/2017
A few years back, we had a new roof done on the house, and the previous roofer tried to fix the leak in our skylight, but it was still leaking. So we contacted Accomplished Chimney, and they gave us an estimate of $1000. They came out and they went up and started stripping the shingles, and then came back down and upped the cost to $3800. We felt cornered because they had already started the work and everything, and we felt like we had no options, and there wasn't really a good reason for it. We asked to lower it to $3600, and they were able to complete the work at that price. Now there are new leaks that extended out from the original leak. He is now saying he will need to switch out the skylight since they didn't fix the problem. When he was first there, we asked him if that was what we needed to do in the first place, and he talked us out of that saying that there was no need to switch it out and that we needed to redo the roof. It's upsetting because they upped the price of the roofing, which it turns out we did not need to have done. So they did some more work to see if they would be able to fix it, and he said that if it didn't work, we would need to replace the skylight. It turns out that that did not work either. We had another roofing company out to take a look, and they told us that they did not need to replace the roof, and that it should not have been that expensive as well. I also realized afterwards that they did not get a permit, which they would have needed in our county.
Description of Work
There was a leak in our skylight above our master bathroom. Accomplished Chimney installed a new roof, but did not fix the problem.
Category
roofing
Jo G.
5.0
02/17/2017
We had a chimney when we bought the house 25 years ago. After a long time of not using it, we found we couldn't get a good fire going. It smoked into the house, and nearly ruined a new floor we had just put in. We realized that in order to sell our home we would have to offer a functioning, modernized fireplace that worked. Through a coupon advertisement, we found this company and they came right away, gave an estimate and came the very next day to start the repair. The crew was very polite and professional, and aside from the racket of pulling out the old lining from the chimney, were very unobtrusive. They cleaned thoroughly before they left, which was expected but a relief. The second day was spent laying the new bricks and sealing the area. I am happy with their work so far. They left the fireplace ready to use in a couple of days. I will edit this and let you know more when we light our first fire. It is a relief to know that we are now ready to add to the value of the house, not take it away, thanks to this company. We would recommend.
Description of Work
Our chimney was not used for a few years, due to illness and other stuff. We couldn't get a good fire going, smoked out the house, and needed a repair. It was a major repair, and we knew we had to do it to add value to our home.
Category
chimney repair
Sandra S.
2.0
04/15/2016
This company was great about coming right when I called, doing an inspection and providing an estimate. I wasn't initially intending to have them do work that day but they convinced me I needed it and I agreed to a $5-6K job. VERY quickly the job became an 'emergency' and they used fear to upsell me to a $12K total. Next thing I knew, they apparently hadn't realized that the chimneys needed a special kind of lining - not optional, so the job became $17K. After that they tried to pressure-sell me on some basement work and a new roof, for about $24K+, brining the total over $40K. I did not do the basement work or the roof. The company reps are sexist in the way they communicate - saying things like "if you don't believe me go up the ladder and check it out on the roof yourself". It felt like I was being fleeced the whole time. I felt like they got me (us) in with a small number, but conveniently didn't realize all of the 'emergency' upgrades that the job would require. They may have been telling the truth about the condition of the chimneys and urgency - I have no way to know. In the positive, the chimney work was fast and does look high quality from the outside. I would not use this company to do the roof (which I refused), even if I do need it as urgently as they suggest. I would rather deal with someone who treats me with a little more respect and transparency. It would have made a big difference if they offered to let me get other quotes after the job started to grow - but this felt like a part of their strategy (not to). The workers were playing around outside and throwing snowballs at each other on ladders my house - causing another service person who was here to reprimand them for nearly breaking a window.
Description of Work
I invited them out to look at the condition of my roof and chimneys for a new home purchase. I needed a letter certifying the condition for my insurance company. From the get go they used scare tactics to sell me a $6K chimney repair on-the-spot. Fine. They ended up upselling me from there. (see below)
Category
roofing, chimney repair, roof cleaning
John M.
1.0
10/09/2014
When they came out they quoted the job at $6900. I told them I thought that was too expensive. They said they would lower the cost if I paid cash. I paid $5200 for them to replace the liner in my chimney, repair the cracks, replace the top, and fix a few bricks. I have since talked to several other chimney companies who informed me I was ripped off all 4 other companies have quoted $2400 to no more than $3500 for the same work. I should have known better when they asked for cash. I feel like the work was done properly but I still feel ripped off! I should have checked with Angie's List before I hired them.
Description of Work
They put in a new liner and filled in all the cracks in the chimney. Also replaced the top of the chimney. They also replaced some bricks on the front of the house.
Category
masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair

Service Provider Response

I wonder if the companies that quoted you these prices gave estimates over the phone. I have heard of companies that give quotes over the phone only to give a different price once they go out to the customer. Our company gives free verbal estimates with no obligation and we encourage customers to get other estimates before we sign the contract/start the work. Our technician had agreed on a price with you for the work to be done which included several items. We applied for a permit with the town and did all of the work correctly. We follow through with our work and apply for all of the necessary paperwork. I am not sure that other companies do the same.
catherine V.
2.0
09/19/2014
The original estimate was $3500.00 to re-apply stucco finish to our front porch and foundation. Once the job was started, the contractor said that our front porch was crumbling on both sides and that the cheeks needed to be replaced. The estimate rose to $7700.00. In the process of cutting granite slabs for the top of these cheeks, an large chunk was accidentally cut out of the stone. This was left like that and cemented on. It is very noticeable. The stucco job was sloppy- so many bare spots. Stucco was spilled on siding, top of steps and left that way. The workers left garbage and cigarette butts on lawn and in my garden. When they left, they handed me a bucket of stucco mix and told me to use it to touch up the spots. I called to complain and they sent workers back. They filled in some bare spots but not all. They left the stains. The finish is irregular at the seams. There are still bare spots. They did not replace the damaged granite. They wanted to return but I did not want them near my house again. They were given one chance to improve the job and failed. On top of all this the supervisor had the audacity to tell me that our chimney looked like it needed work. Not by Accomplished Chimney that's for sure!
Description of Work
applied stucco to foundation and front porch
Category
chimney repair, stucco, foundation repair

Service Provider Response

We had sent the technician and the crew back out to resolve any issues that you had with the work. The technician had left with the understanding that you were happy with the work and that any issues you had were resolved. You gave our technician no indication that your were still unsatisfied. We had tried to reach you several times by phone and email to follow up however there was no response back. We stand by our work and would have liked to have been given the chance to resolve this matter.
Paula L.
2.0
06/30/2014
He showed up late and was very unpleasant to work with. He fixed most of the problems, but not all of them. Incomplete job, and very expensive.
Description of Work
.
Category
chimney repair

Service Provider Response

I have pulled up your information in our system, and the date listed on the contract was 5/5/2010. So much time has passed in between, so I was surprised to see this review now. We are a small family owned and operated company and we stand by our work. If you would have contacted our office with your issues/concerns, we would have sent the technician back out to rectify any issues that you had with the work.
gregory A.
5.0
06/18/2014
I was in a situation where I needed the chimney for venting my new gas furnace. I was told my chimney needed $3000 in work in order for the furnace to be usable. Accomplished came in and told me the truth and saved me a lot of money. They are my new best friends I will always trust them and reccomend them
Description of Work
They saved me. Accomplished came in and inspected my Chimney and let me know it did not need any work. They also provided a certificate of proof and saved me around $3000 that the other company was rushing me into
Category
chimney repair
Charles B.
5.0
03/06/2014
They were fantastic. I've recommended them to friends and they have all been happy with them too. They actually went to a friend of ours that had a leak in her roof during an ice storm and it was night and pouring. They were up on her roof and fixing it in the dark. That is how we got their name, from that friend. Then I've since recommended them to other people. I think the price was fair. We have had the most miserable winter and we've had not a single problem with our roof or our chimney.
Description of Work
We have used Accomplished Chimney. They did roofing for us and they did chimney repair.
Category
roofing, chimney repair
Matthew M.
5.0
02/05/2014
That in itself is worthy of an A, especially for the price (lowest of 4 quotes). Only minor things I experienced were 1) a lack of communication around the dumpster - just came to pick it up one day, leaving anything not inside the dumpster but still part of the job, e.g. excess bricks and scaffolding wood, 2) general cleanliness was poor - I am still picking up pieces of the demo from around my yard, 3) one of the workers left dirty hand marks on the basement stairwell and 4) the strapping used to support the vent to the chimney seems as basic as you can get. However, these were minor relative to the actual work.
Description of Work
The end result is a professional job well done for a new roof and chimney that passed all inspections and has withstood the pounding this winter.
Category
roofing, chimney repair
robert H.
1.0
12/15/2013
RIPPED US OFF AND SWINDLED US OUT OF 14 GRAND 11/2005
Description of Work
I used Accomplished Chimney.
Category
chimney repair
Ann-Marie M.
3.0
09/22/2013
They arrived on time and gave the interior of the firebox and chimney a look. They did not go onto the roof or inspect the chimney further. I was told that they would need to remove existing bricks and rebuild the firebox, also add a chimney liner. Total cost was given ORALLY at $2,800.00. I do not appreciate ORAL estimates, as it has been my experience that when the work is completed, the bill then is significantly higher. In this case, the ORAL estimate was out of the ball park. I had 2 other firms come in, and both were in the $500 range.
Description of Work
I called for an estimate on chimney/firebox repair. We just bought a home & the home inspector strongly advised us to have the firebox looked at & repaired/repointed. I was told when making the appointment that an ORAL estimate only would be provided.
Category
chimney repair
Gail S.
1.0
06/12/2013
My gutters started overflowing during a storm ,the same day I received the valpak coupons with an $50.00 coupon for gutter cleaning (for average house) by Accomplished chimney.roofing.gutter. Well, I had to wait 4 days despite coupon saying 24/7 service. They did come as scheduled. The first thing and quot;Boband quot; says to me is my front gutters are not sloped correctly and need repair! I told him they're fine, and asked how much for gutter cleaning. Bob looked at my house and said $85.00 to clean my two gutters. When I showed him the coupon he said my town has no average size houses. I asked if the gutter cleaning would include cleaning the roof right above the gutter, as you could see lots of debris. Bob said to me and quot;what do you want, your roof cleaned or gutters cleanedand quot; I stated it seems to me it should be cleaned along with gutters, as its just going to wash into gutters with next storm. Bob said he'll check to see if worked has a broom. I asked, doesn't he have a blower?. Well, turns out the worker had a blower, and did blow the mess off the roof. I was stuck so I ok'd the job. This man was rude and obviously looking to jack my bill up. I'll never call them again
Description of Work
Clean gutters
Category
gutter cleaning, chimney repair
Richard V.
1.0
06/03/2013
I saw an advertisement for $29.99 chimney cleaning. I called to get a quote to remove a dead animal from chimney. Although I didn't expect to pay $30, I expected something in the range of $100 or so. They quoted me $390. When I showed him a coupon on the advertisement for $100 off, he changed his price to $490. I told him I wasn't interested.
Description of Work
Upped his price by $100 when presented with a $100 off coupon.
Category
chimney sweep
Kim W.
3.0
05/06/2013
Thought the price was a little high.
Description of Work
They came to my house for an estimate, were very nice, but $500.00 for a chimney cleaning and cement chimney cap is a little much. No detailed estimate, just a price written on a business card.
Category
chimney repair
Kenneth L.
1.0
04/18/2013
Initially the job went well, but once a call was made to attempt to make repairs under the contract the abuse and lies began.
Description of Work
Accomplished Chimney quoted me a price post Sandy to had a new layer of shingles onto my house. Of course they were nice over the phone and smoothed talked me into signing the contract. The roof does look great, but they did not install the shingles right at two locations (near the gutters) that allows birds to fly in and out of the roof and attic without a care in the world. The roof has been on for 4 months and I am experiencing problems. They even sub contracted the work out! So the company that I hired is not the company I got company I paid for! They claim that there was rotting previously but his sub contractor never brought this to my attention (even though I was home all day) and previously did not have a issue with the problem. I gave them a B for responsiveness cause I believed that coming in 4 days was perfectly acceptable since it was not a catastrophic failure. But when the service men showed up he was abusive by screaming, cursing and refused to do any warranty work. He even threaten me that he would beat me up if I filled a complaint with the BBB/Angie's List (Police report made). Overall they are a group of lairs and thiefs. It is sad that they are still in business and that people get duped every day from them! The company has a whole is horrible! As a newer home owner and naive about the way contractors operate I ended up getting myself screwed. Not only did I have to deal with significant damage post Sandy, I now have a roof that although new, has problems. Do yourself the favor and save the headache and move onto another roofer!
Category
gutter repair, roofing
Kathleen R.
5.0
04/10/2013
The company showed up exactly when they said they would bright and early and ready to work. They worked very very hard all day until the job was done. Took a very short lunch and then right back to work! Hard workes! After rip off began they noticed a lot of bad wood had to be replaced (I know it was due to me prolonging the roofing job). The owner came himself to give me the update and was very nice and courteous. Wanted to check with me to make sure it was ok to continue. I can't say enough of the company and the professionalism they showed during the time they were at my house. Cleaned up nicely. I would recommend (and have) to anyone.
Description of Work
Three layers of shingles ripped off and a lot of bad wood replaced. Also changed from an attic fan to a ridge vent. Also a new chimney rebuilt (old one was broken at roof line).
Category
roofing, chimney repair
DIANE K.
5.0
02/20/2012
I was completely satisfied with the services I received from Accomplished. They arrived on time and even called to let me know they would be a little early. They explained everything to me.. step by step. They completed the work in the estimated amount of time. They followed up with all the paperwork.. building permits and inspections. And they were over $1700 less than another company from whom we received and estimate.. and that was for less services.
Description of Work
We had a chimney repaired due to damage from a lightning strike. We also had a new flue installed and a gutter replaced.
Category
gutter repair, roofing, chimney repair
Christine W.
5.0
12/29/2011
I was satisfied with that, but then I had smoke coming back into my house when I put the fireplace on. I called them yesterday, and they will be coming out today to take a look. I think they will stand by their service. They are very attentive and the quality of their work is great. It looks good.
Description of Work
I used Accomplished Chimney to put two flues in my chimneys; one where the gas of a furnace is and one for my fireplace. They also put on new caps and they replaced one chimney and built it up and brought the other one up to code.
Category
chimney caps, chimney repair
Richard K.
1.0
08/16/2011
They gave us a price and did the work and when they were finished they told us of another problem they encounterd and it would cost $1,000 more to fix we agreed and then they hit us not with a $1,000 extra cost fee but a $3,400 extra cost fee!!! They lied to us and left a mess behind for us to clean up. The yard was left a mess as was the basement from oil residue. We stopped the payment on the check and willdeal with them in court. I highlt advise you find another company to do your work. On top of all of this one or more of the workers took a bunch of tomatoes we had sitting on our picnic table to ripen in the sun, nothing like adding insult to injury!!! DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!! We are also sending a complaint to the BBB. I don't know any other way to say anymore here on them.
Description of Work
They gave us a price and did the work and when they were finished they told us of another problem they encounterd and it would cost $1,000 more to fix we agreed and then they hit us not with a $1,000 extra cost fee but a $3,400 extra cost fee!!! They lied to us and left a mess behind for us to clean up. The yard was left a mess as was the basement from oil residue. We stopped the payment on the check and willdeal with them in court. I highlt advise you find another company to do your work. On top of all of this one or more of the workers took a bunch of tomatoes we had sitting on our picnic table to ripen in the sun, nothing like adding insult to injury!!! DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!! We are also sending a complaint to the BBB. The fixed cracks in the chimney and put in a new liner that was all they were supposed to do!!!! In all they expected a total of almost $5000.00 fo t this!!!! I don't think so!!!! They are LIARS!!!!!
Category
chimney repair
Pamela G.
4.0
06/17/2011
I believe I got a good price. They did a good job. They were on time and punctual.
Description of Work
I had a turkey vulture stuck in my chimney. The leg was sticking out of my chimney. They ended up doing chimney work for me after further inspection. They also did overlay roofing work
Category
roofing, chimney repair
Richard C.
4.0
03/21/2011
The owner is a very nice guy and they get back to your right away, but I feel like some of the work definitely could have been avoided.
Description of Work
I live in a 1890 house and we had a chimney that was leaking. They came and repointed it, that didn't work, so then they capped it, that didn't work, and finally we realized that the bricks were just too old. Finally they came and removed the chimney that didn't operate and covered it with the roof. That didn't work either. They came and fixed it for free. They later installed gutters, but only one guy came out to do the work on the whole house. They weren't installed right the first time, but they did come out and fix it at no charge.
Category
gutter repair, chimney caps, chimney repair
Naomi Magdalena C.
4.0
06/07/2010
Fast assessment but did not offer to do all that was required and did charge me a big number. They did not provide a quote with detailed work just gave me a card with a number with nothing that explained what was included in the work.
Description of Work
Chimney repair, lining and connection of boiler and water heater according to code.
Category
chimney caps, chimney repair
Joseph K.
3.0
03/28/2010
Work was finished in less than an hour. After I could see what was actually done, I just did not feel the price was justified.
Description of Work
reinstall exsiting chimney cap by cementing it on, repoint cement around top few rows of brick on chimney, silicon and tar sealer applied to joint of roof.
Category
roofing, chimney caps, chimney repair

Other local Pros in your area

Classical Pavers

Classical Pavers serves both New Jersey and New York in the Tri-state area. We are masonry contractor company that specializes in the installation of outdoor living areas including paver driveways, walkways, patios, steps, stoops, retaining walls, culture stone, and fire pits. We are fully insured.  

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Ryan & Son Chimneys

As an industry leader Bill Ryan has served on Boards of Directors for the past 17 years and is a Nationwide instructor of Chimney Inspections, chimney repair and chimney related technical classes. Ryan and Son Chimneys is a full service chimney company specializing in Chimney inspection (level 1, 2 and 3) chimney and fireplace restoration, chimney liners, caps, repairs, installations. Fireplace, wood and pellet stove installations. Pellet, gas and wood appliance service. Consulting, expert witness and hearth and chimney design services.  

Angi Certified

Approved Chimney LLC

Approved Chimney was established by Vick Jakupi to provide outstanding service to both residential and commercial clients with all their chimney needs. Starting out more than 11 years ago his experience and expertise has earned him the credentials from CSIA (Chimney Safety institute of America). Acquiring the proper licenses and certifications has put his business at the highest level in chimney services. At Approved Chimney we believe in the highest customer satisfaction when concerning all chimney needs. From the annual sweeping to the most enhanced relining or rebuilding of chimneys in New Jersey area. All of our technicians are trained and Certified Liner installers and work closely with the home owners in understanding of step by step procedures of the work taking place.  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

960 Belmont Ave Ste 5

North Haledon, NJ 07508

Other Information

Services Offered

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

ACCOMPLISHED CHIMNEY is currently rated 3.6 overall out of 5.

ACCOMPLISHED CHIMNEY is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

ACCOMPLISHED CHIMNEY accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Yes, ACCOMPLISHED CHIMNEY offers free project estimates.

No, ACCOMPLISHED CHIMNEY does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, ACCOMPLISHED CHIMNEY offers emergency services.

Yes, ACCOMPLISHED CHIMNEY offers warranties.

ACCOMPLISHED CHIMNEY offers the following services: CHIMNEY REPAIR, CAPPING, CLEANING, ROOFING, GUTTER REPAIR AND REPLACEMENT