Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Affordable Home Services

Founded 1947 • With Angi since June 2010

4.7

(76) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

140 Arlington Ave

Clifton, NJ 07011

Description

Affordable Home Services is a family owned and operated company for three generations specializing in roofing, siding and windows replacements, kitchens, bathrooms and additions. We accept all major credit cards.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

05/16/2022


Mary L.

A small flat roof was replaced on the extension of my house in November, 2018 as well as a roof on our shed. At the end of 2021 the house roof leaked through the high hats in the ceiling. I tried to contact the contractor with no success and had to hire another contractor to make repairs. Recently, we experienced more leaks. Two separate contractors have informed me that the material used to replace the roof was outdated and poorly installed. The roof is only 3.5 years old and needs to be replaced again.

Description of Work
Replace a flat roof and shed roof

Category custom cabinets, roofing

2.0

11/03/2021


Medhat M.

Everything went great, except they disappeared after they took the money. There guys left the remaining building material on my driveway and the didn’t put back part of my fence which they removed to put the siding also I aske to correct part of the gutter and the didn’t put one of my backyard fixtures.Texted Ritch there salesman No response at all though he read my massages,called the main office explained everything the lady who answered the phone told me she will let the owner Jeff call me back which he didn’t.Called again after 2days the lady put me on hold twice then she said that Jeff the owner will call me in 5 minutes. They mentioned verbally that they are giving me LIFE TIME Warranty!!!!? It’s a Month now trying to contact them to finish 3 little things wondering how they will honor the Warranty.

Description of Work
Roof, gutter and siding change

Category custom cabinets, gutter repair, roofing, siding

5.0

01/23/2021


Frank P.

Very well pleased. Had a new kitchen installed by Affordable Home Services last year, and we were so happy with the work that we hired them to return to put in replacement windows upstairs. Jim explained options, price, and timeline. His workers were polite and efficient and did not leave any mess. We would use them again and are happy to be able to recommend them.

Description of Work
Replacement windows

Category replacement windows

5.0

05/30/2020


Elizabeth S.

In December of 2019 we had just finished up the architectural plans for a new addition on our home. In the plans, there were several major updates: a 2-story addition with a family room on the first floor (including a wood-burning fireplace), massive his and hers walk-in closets on the second floor (connected to the master bedroom), a completely renovated and reimagined master bathroom, a two-level deck with the upper level being covered and the roof line of the new addition flowing into the roof over the deck, and a built-in gasline grill. It was a beautiful set of plans, but not without its challenges, especially around orchestrating the various heights for the two-level deck and family room (as it has French doors that exit out onto the deck). Our architect gave us recommendations for a couple of general contractors including Jim Federle of Affordable Home Services (AHS). Upon speaking with Jim, I was immediately impressed with his prompt response and how quickly he was able to come out and walk through our plans. Although it was during the holidays, he promised a quick turnaround on an estimate and had it to us within a few days, clearly taking time over a weekend to put the numbers together. He proved to have a very thorough understanding of the work we needed to do and was already giving recommendations and opinions on various options. I will admit that the estimate was a bit higher than we were initially expecting. But Jim worked with us to bring it down with a combination of simplifying our chimney/fireplace plans as well as giving a little on the price. With that said, once he came back with the slightly modified price, he stuck with it, which I greatly respect, because it proves that he and his son, John, had given it a lot of thought and were confident in their understanding of the work. One of the key differentiators that led us to ultimately select Jim and AHS was that as we went through the contract negotiations, everything we asked about was included in that price. As Jim explained: it would be "turnkey". Whereas the other organization we were considering had exceptions and exclusions, including some big pieces that would definitely have made it more costly than Jim's quote by the time everything was said and done. Another related differentiator was Jim's total confidence in the work, what it entailed, how long it would take (12 weeks), and his group's ability to do it. Although the first iteration of the contract may not have had as many line items around scope, the reason wasn't because they didn't think of it, but because everything truly was included. No matter what I asked, the answer was: "of course". And then to allay any concerns, AHS was more than happy to add all of those details into the contract. The third differentiator was that it seemed AHS was ready to roll with the project as soon as we were ready to make a decision. That combined with how responsive they were already within the estimate/contract process is super important, because it was a clear indicator of how the project would likely go during the actual work. This fast response time was the case throughout our project. The final differentiator, and probably the most important, is my husband and I really liked Jim. He struck us as genuine, personable, friendly, confident, and super knowledgeable/experienced. We wanted to work with him. When we spoke with one of his references who said her project was finished exactly on time and budget, and had glowing remarks about AHS, that sealed the deal for us. True to their word, the moment the contract was signed in mid January, they got to work, starting with our town's building department. Things got a bit hung up there for a few weeks (to no fault of Jim's, that's just how small town government goes, in fact, his dogged attention likely got things going faster than they ordinarily would have). On Feb 24th, our permits came through and literally the next day the crew was here breaking ground (an unseasonably warm winter has its benefits). This project ran like a well-oiled machine. All of the moving parts were perfectly orchestrated and that is a feat in and of itself as there were so many different specialists that had to be involved. Jose and the foundation crew moved fast, and Vargas and the framing crew moved even faster. The roofing/siding team was in and out so quickly that if you blinked you would have missed them. Pedro and the indoor/finishing team are versatile artists: from the drywall, to the painting, to the trim, to the hardwood, to the tile work, to placing the beautiful stone veneer on our fireplace and grill. John, Jim's son, built out the custom closets to match my grand vision exactly (without having to buy an expensive closet system!). Andy the electrician and Richie and George the plumbers rounded out the cast and were super efficient in their work. These different groups moved in and out seamlessly with rarely a day when work wasn't being executed. The commitment to excellence was clear and Jim exemplified that himself, showing up himself almost every morning to check in. He made recommendations that likely cost him more (like herringbone designs for our Trex decking and angled wood floors), because he knew it would look awesome. He noticed when something perhaps wasn't exactly right (things I didn't even notice) and made sure his team tweaked them. He never said no to any of our selections and the options we felt strongly about, even though some of those again were probably more costly than initially estimated, from the premium Trex decking, to the granite on the grill top and bathroom counter, to the exquisite authentic restored barnwood fireplace mantel. On top of that, he went clearly above and beyond when he brought the excavator back just to move a boulder in our yard further from the deck so it would look better, and agreed to have his team paint our hallway and stairwell (which was not at all part of the initial plans). They also brought in a truckload of top soil and seed for the yard around the deck, which wasn't something I had thought to ask about including. All proving a true commitment to making our home perfect. In return, I tried to be as easy as possible and not picky with everything else and trusting him on tile, cabinets, fixtures, etc, hopefully allowing him to balance out costs. The work officially finished on May 18, 2020 which was exactly 12 weeks and it was 100% turnkey, just as Jim promised, without costing a dime extra. No job is without its challenges, and this one had a whopper thrown in, when the COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic erupted right smack in the middle of this project. We were about 4 weeks in, with gaping holes in our bedroom, bathroom and kitchen, when the world essentially shut down. By sheer willpower, Jim and AHS did not skip a beat. There were some dicey weeks when we weren't sure if work might be forced to stop and obviously we all (workers, Jim, my husband and I and our 4 year old daughter), and our families, were nervous, worried about health and what would happen. When the town building inspectors stopped being able to come into homes, Jim had already built up enough good will with them and convinced them to approve work via video and pictures! We hadn't intended to live through the construction in our home, but going to live with family was no longer an option. It was difficult for us to be learning/working from home in the renovation chaos, and rarely being able to leave the house (with nowhere to go!). But we sort of all got through it together, and figured out how to socially distance while keeping the project going. Jim basically became our closest friend during that time, as he and the crews were the only people we saw in-person for weeks. I'd hear him roll up some days on his motorcycle and knew that I could look forward to a good conversation. Ironically, my parents had been doing their own renovation in March (just a bathroom) with a different contractor. Their bathroom work stopped and is still yet to be completed. The fact that Jim and AHS were able to finish this work on time and budget during a worldwide crisis speaks volumes. Needless to say, I highly recommend Jim and Affordable Home Services! We are thrilled with the outcome of our project, and it was worth every penny. We will definitely be using them again and look forward to having Jim and his family over for a BBQ once we are all allowed to congregate again.

Description of Work
Two story addition, two-level porch and deck, bathroom remodel

Category decks, drywall, electrician, hardwood floor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, insulation, landscaping, lighting, masonry, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, siding, replacement windows, fireplaces, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

1.0

03/18/2020


Donna P.

Called 7 times emailed nothing sent They were supposed to drive by and send quote. Nothing sent

Description of Work
New roof needed

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] I am Jim Federle owner of affordable home services Of North Jersey Jersey LLC. We have no Record of any emails or phone calls from you requesting an estimate for your roof project. As there are many companies called affordable you may have us confused with someone else. If you would like to speak to me personally you can call my cellphone @ 973 768 3432. REGARDS Jim
5.0

10/24/2019


Christine G.

The best company to work with. Jim and his crew were fantastic. The quality and workmanship of all the staff were phenomenal. And, the prices were reasonable. What more could you ask for? Seriously, we couldn't be happier with the process from start to finish. Affordable Home Services is now our go to company for any home services we need.

Description of Work
House resided

Category gutter repair, masonry, siding

1.0

10/23/2019


La Vern D.

1. Did not show up on time. So we felt that they would not be on time to do the job. 2. Before even coming, or giving a Quote, I was quiz on whether I needed financial assistance I felt some kind away about this questioning. This was very unprofessional.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodeling

Category home remodeling

1.0

09/21/2019


Virginia B.

Estimator cancelled appointment 2 hours before he was due to arrive. Apparently he was not willing to drive the 45 minutes to the house to give us a quote for possible window replacement unless we were willing to accept his quote at the time of his visit. He told me that it was too far a drive for him to come just to give a quote and not get the business. Shameful. Stay away.

Description of Work
Possible Window Replacement

Category replacement windows

1.0

05/20/2019


Nora R.

WASTED MY TIME!!! John came on time on Friday AM, spent about an hour+ to estimate scope of work and left stating that I will receive a quote in a couple of days. A few days later i called/texted asking for the quote. The response was that I will get it by the end of the day and this was it. Gone with the wind! No response whatsoever after that even though I tried to follow up again and again. No quote! I mean these guys must be super busy to throw the jobs out of the window like that! I had the whole 2 bdrm apartment and the front siding of 2 story house. If this is too small of a job for the company, you should advertise it properly and say it right away that you don’t take jobs less than 100K. I don’t care that you came to the job site, spent your time, gas, etc. I care for MY time! You wasted it! If you have no interest in making money, then at least don’t waste people’s time! I’m glad that the relationship ended before it even started, no need to work with irresponsible so called professionals that I have to chase after

Description of Work
Full renovation and siding

Category drywall, insulation, remodeling, siding, replacement windows, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], thanks for sharing your feedback. We’re sorry your experience didn’t match your expectations. It was an uncommon instance and we’ll do better. Please feel free reach out to Andrea 973-473-4830 with any further comments, concerns, or suggestions you wish to share. We would love to make things right if you give us another chance.
5.0

01/13/2019


Ethel M.

From the beginning Jim the owner was very helpful and accommodating . He explained in detail what needs to be done. His workmen came and spend whole day removing the old roof and they did an awesome job on it finished it all in a day and the clean up was awesome!! You dont any single old shingles anywhere!! Highly recommended

Description of Work
Replace whole roof with brand new roof.

Category roofing

5.0

10/22/2018


Janeth C.

The owner Jim and his son John were very polite and answered all my questions. John came out to my home and gave me an estimate onsite to redo my roof and to install new gutters, it took me a while to make a final decision. Jim was very patient with me and once I hired them he made sure the work was completed in a timely matter. Their crew worked fast and efficiently, they left my property cleaned as if they were never there. I’m recommending all my friends and family to affordable home services, I will definitely use them again for future projects!!

Description of Work
Brand new roof and gutters

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

10/10/2018


paul B.

I was given their name by several co-workers. I called Jim Federle and made an appointment and and at the agreed time and date his son John arrived. After the opening pleasantries Jim measured the home and did a thorough inspection and immediately gave me a price. The estimate was the best one I had received. I had several other reviews but I was impressed with attention and punctuality is important to me and this company was hitting those marks. We had Mother Nature change our date but on the day the weather cleared the men arrived again right on time and worked like demons. Affordable also used the top grade material as some of my friends noticed. The best thing about Affordable was the quality of the work, a firm grasp of punctuality and more importantly their honesty. Jim and John told me that my cost would probably be less than the estimate and it was. I look forward to doing business with them in the future.

Description of Work
Roof replacement

Category roofing, replacement windows

5.0

10/02/2018


anthony j L.

Great service, prompt, professional and completed in 2 days including clean up. also replaced 2 squirrel cages and repaired 2 chimneys

Description of Work
New roof, including rip-off, 2 layers of shingles,

Category drywall, gutter repair, remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, chimney repair, home remodeling

1.0

09/15/2018


Richard L.

Two service people responded to inquiry, made appointment, BOTH NEVER SHOWED OR CALLED

Description of Work
Roof leak around chimney

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], I'm sorry for your bad experience but i think you have us confused with someone else. There our a few companies that use the name Affordable. Had you called our company we would have told you we don't do roof repairs.Again I'm sorry for your bad experience,but i was not our company. Regards Jim
5.0

07/06/2018


Thomas C.

Worked with Ron on the estimate and all ongoing correspondence. He was professional and very honest/transparent. Gave me "what if" situation and impact on the price. Seemed to sincerely try to save money where he could. Did a few "extras" at no cost, Very easy to work with, delivered exactly what they promised, were very clean and efficient - no finding nails in driveway, etc. for weeks afterwards. I would highly recommend them for a roofing or siding project.

Description of Work
Roof replacement

Category roofing

5.0

04/02/2018


Michael G.

What an absolute pleasure to work with Affordable Home Services. This was my first major home improvement project and it was an excellent experience thanks to John and his team. They committed to getting the job done by a date and held that commitment. Their attention to detail was impeccable and they were able to make recommendations and suggestions on some of the trim that my wife and I absolutely love! There was no nickel and diming, they held to their estimate and did a quality job. I will absolutely use them in the future.

Description of Work
Siding, Gutters & Screen Room Repair

Category decks, gutter repair, siding

5.0

08/14/2017


WIJHEHAR P.

They were very prompt. They are very professional and very good. They gave me a full detailed break down. They were a little expensive. If the price was right I would use them.

Description of Work
They gave me an estimate for kitchen redesign.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review. Hopefully we can help you when you need one of our services in the future.
5.0

07/27/2017


Dena D.

They were extremely responsive to questions & concerns. Addressed concerns right away and to our satisfaction. Hard working and honest. Quality work and great attitude.

Description of Work
Siding, replacement windows and door

Category siding, replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review Ms. [Member Name Removed], glad that you liked our service. It was our pleasure.
5.0

05/19/2017


Darren L.

Everything went well, my roof turned out great.

Description of Work
Affordable replaced our roof. Everything was done as agreed in a day and a half. This is the second time I've used Affordable. A first class operation, I plan on using them again in the future.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed], it was our pleasure working with you!
5.0

05/08/2017


Debbie C.

They did a great job. They were efficient, timely and the job was done well.

Description of Work
They replaced my roof and installed a new one.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]. It was our pleasure!
5.0

03/23/2017


william P.

Everything stood out about their service. I think it was a fair price. I had a sense of confidence about the guy right away. He did exactly what he said he was going to do. One of the difficulties of the job was that it was in a first floor slab, and it had to go through the bedroom. He had to dig through the cement floor with a jackhammer to put in brand new, rough plumbing. He did it with minimum interruption. There was no dirt on the floor in the bedroom. They cleaned up every night after they left. I could just go on and on.

Description of Work
They installed a brand new bathroom.

Category home remodeling

5.0

03/16/2017


Pat P.

They were excellent. It took one day and they cleaned everything up. It was a great transaction with no problems. The quality of the roof was excellent. They were on time and responsive. I would absolutely use them again.

Description of Work
They did our roof.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you Mr. [Member Name Removed], we are glad everything met your standards, it was a pleasure working with you!
5.0

03/01/2017


mary O.

It was beautiful! They did a beautiful job. I can't say enough about them. All the workers, builders, techs, and plumbers they had in were very professional. I worked with Ron. He was very good with me, ordering the materials and being here when they said they were going to be. They cleaned up beautifully! I really can't say enough nice things about the job! They gave me a window of 2-3 weeks, and the job took exactly three weeks. They started on Feb 7th and finished on Feb 27th. I even had the inspectors in and out. I would most highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
They remodeled my bathroom.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your review [Member Name Removed], it was our pleasure working with you!
5.0

01/31/2017


Darren L.

The project turned out great. Affordable handles everything. They ordered and installed the cabinets and dealt directly with all of the sub contractors. Many general contractors want you to deal with some of the sub contractors for a job like this, Affordable handled everything. They run a first class operation, take their work seriously and are very good craftsman. I will definitely use them again in the future.

Description of Work
Our kitchen cabinets and countertops were replaced. The electrical was re-done, the ceiling was replaced and the room was painted.

Category contractors, electrician, plumbing, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you again Mr. [Member Name Removed], we appreciate your business and as always it was our pleasure!
5.0

06/29/2016


vineet K.

Jim did renovation for our house in 2014 and service was great. Again we hired Jim for remodeling as we wanted a family room. Initially our plan was to convert the attached garage to a living room. Jim suggested adding room to the other side while retaining the garage. We are so thankful to his idea that now we have our garage and a beautiful family room which can be easily accessed from our living room. Jim worked closely with town to get approval from zoning and got all the permits. Work moved at a nice pace and finally everything came out so beautiful. Addition looks like it was always part of the house. We are so happy with the hard work and dedication of Jim’s team. Now we have a big family room ready for summer.

Description of Work
Add a family room

Category remodeling, replacement windows

    Other local Pros in your area

    Micciche & Son

    Owner operated family owned masonry & paving company, for over 30 years ,focused on servicing Passaic, Bergen, Essex and Hudson counties. Honored to have 2014 & 2016 Super Service Award  

    The Magnifies Landscaping

    The Magnifies Landscaping is a professional landscaping service provider in Bloomfield, NJ with more than 30 years of experience. Call and schedule an appointment today! We serve in Bloomfield, NJ, Silver Lake NJ; Rutherford Borough NJ; Harrison Town NJ; North Arlington Borough NJ; Nutley Township NJ; and the surrounding areas. Landscaping, Landscaper, Landscaping Companies, Professional Landscaping, Landscaping Contractor Lawn Care Service, Landscaping Lighting Service, Lawn Service, Lawn Company For more information visit our website: https://themagnifieslandscaping.com/  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    13VH08315300
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, MasterCard, Visa, American Express, Financing Available, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Home improvements, renovations & remodeling, roofing replacement, windows replacement, siding replacement and insulation

    Services Not Offered

    Roofing Repairs, Siding Repairs, or Window Repairs

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Affordable Home Services

    How is Affordable Home Services overall rated?

    Affordable Home Services is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Affordable Home Services open?

    Affordable Home Services is open:

    Sunday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 AM

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    What payment options does Affordable Home Services provide

    Affordable Home Services accepts the following forms of payment: Check, MasterCard, Visa, American Express, Financing Available, Discover

    Does Affordable Home Services offer free estimates?

    Yes, Affordable Home Services offers free project estimates.

    Does Affordable Home Services offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Affordable Home Services offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Affordable Home Services offer a senior discount?

    No, Affordable Home Services does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Affordable Home Services offer emergency services?

    Yes, Affordable Home Services offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Affordable Home Services?

    Yes, Affordable Home Services offers warranties.

    What services does Affordable Home Services offer?

    Affordable Home Services offers the following services: Home improvements, renovations & remodeling, roofing replacement, windows replacement, siding replacement and insulation

    Are there any services Affordable Home Services does not offer?

    Roofing Repairs, Siding Repairs, or Window Repairs