Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

Please call for more details.
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

The Slevin Group Inc

Founded 2001 • With Angi since May 2012

4.6

(12) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

715 Spruce Street

Boonton, NJ 07005

Description

The Slevin Group Inc is a landscaping company located in Morris County, NJ capable of completing any of your landscaping needs. We have all types of landscaping equipment to complete any landscaping job of any scale. Visit our website at slevingroupnj.com ...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/29/2020


JERI F.

Overall went well. Bill and his team showed up and performed the work in a timely and professional fashion. Highly recommend!

Description of Work
Landscape and patio repair project. Created new lawn area and planting beds. Power-washed and repaired stone patios.

Category fencing,hardscaping

5.0

06/26/2020


David O.

beautiful...best my backyard has looked in years!

Description of Work
repair pavers and build new path, add paver curb to outline edge of multiple 'shrub beds', design and plant new landscape around pool/waterfall

Category fencing,landscaping,lawn service,hardscaping

5.0

05/19/2020


Sal U.

very good job. clean & neat.

Description of Work
plantings

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

We thoroughly enjoyed working with you on this project and are happy to know you are pleased. We look forward to a continued relationship.
5.0

02/19/2019


Cheryl B.

Excellent! They were on time and professional. They improved the house's curb appeal by providing screening and privacy as well. It was an excellent design concept that was well implemented.

Description of Work
They did fall a clean up, gutter cleaning and general property maintenance for winter. They also have done landscaping.

Category landscaping

5.0

02/14/2019


Stefan R.

It was great they do a great job.

Description of Work
Landscaping

Category hardscaping

5.0

02/08/2019


Lura H.

They do a great job, 8 or 9 years work on our property and we are a long time customer, they also do landscaping works, spring clean up for us in the past. will be having again this springtime. Price was fair on annual service.

Description of Work
Full yard clean up including gutters

Category landscaping,lawn service

5.0

02/07/2019


Mark D.

Excellent work, they were able to solve my drainage problems, and did a lot of landscaping works for me as well. I hoped for a better price and they are quite pricey but for the quality of work it was fair.

Description of Work
Drainage Issues and landscaping works on my yard.

Category landscaping,drain cleaning

5.0

02/07/2019


Tony E.

They did a great job, they did it on time, with quality, kept me updated, and asked what i prefer before the do some additional works. compared to everybody, they do more work for less charge. always reachable.

Description of Work
Fix the whole backyard, put in 2 scenic stones in the yard. Did the lighting and major landscaping project.

Category landscaping,outdoor lighting

1.0

10/22/2014


Sarah C.

The entire engagement with The Slevin Group was plagued by poor communication, significant inconsistencies between proposed and completed work product, and sub-standard work. The owner, Bill Slevin, repeatedly promised things his company did not deliver. On multiple occasions, The Slevin Group charged our credit card for work we didn't approve and kept monies that were pre-paid for projects they were unable to complete. Unfortunately, we have had to hire other contractors to correct or replace the work performed by The Slevin Group. Some of the specifics: On multiple occasions, The Slevin Group charged our credit card for work we didn't approve and kept monies that were pre-paid for projects they didn't complete. The contractor negligently installed a concrete sidewalk and driveway apron, twice. After the first attempt, the owner promised to correct the work. However, the second time the work was performed actually came out worse than the first time. Among the many issues, several sections of concrete had raised edges that presented a tripping hazard as well as widespread cracking and crumbling of the new concrete. Also, the driveway apron was installed at a steep enough angle that cars bottomed out entering the driveway - our SUV was barely able to clear the driveway opening. We were forced to hire a third party, at a greater expense, to replace the work performed by The Slevin Group. During the third replacement, the new contractor found critical problems including the lack of a proper base for the concrete. The Slevin Group did not return money which had been paid for the sidewalk work they were unable to complete. The Slevin Group also failed to complete various parts of contracted landscaping work despite being paid in full. The Slevin Group did not fill in top soil and re-seed the yard as specified in our agreement. The Slevin Group failed to remove tree roots and similar items specified in our agreement. We've had this reviewed by other contractors and have received estimates that average $2500 to complete this work. Similarly, The Slevin Group failed to complete hardscaping work despite being paid in full. Included in this work was the replacement of cap stones on a retaining wall they modified. The contractor told us on two separate occassions exactly how the wall would be restored, but failed to complete the work as promised. The retaining wall was left as an unsightly zig-zag. We have received estimates that average $500 to replace these cap stones and complete the work. The Slevin Group charged our credit card for debris removal that they had twice unambiguously said in writing that there would be and quot;no chargeand quot; for. In a separate instance, they tried to bill us to remove old fencing despite that item being explicitly listed in our contract as a and quot;no chargeand quot; item. When they were unsuccessful getting money form us on this item, they then tried to bill our neighbor for the same item. Lastly, the Slevin Group billed us for tree work that we had not agreed to, nor approved The Slevin Group to perform. We had asked for an estimate on the work, but never approved The Slevin Group to do it, opting to use another tree service that was already doing work on our property. The Slevin Group invoiced us for over $500 with a discount that made the total approximately $425. This total was over four times higher than the amount estimated. The owner, Bill Slevin, has repeatedly misled us and failed to follow-though on the work he has promised verbally and in writing. I would strongly caution others before using this company.

Description of Work
We contracted with The Slevin Group to do a variety of landscaping and hardscaping projects for our property. The work included regrading a back yard, the modification of a retaining wall, the installation of a patio, the removal and installation of a concrete walkway, and soil filling and grass seeding. Ultimately, The Slevin Group was unable to satisfactorilly complete a number of the items.

Category lawn service

Service Provider Response

Unfortunately not every job is my best. The customer was reimbursed. We have both moved on.
5.0

08/17/2012


Chester G.

Overall things went very well and the quality of the work as great. The owner Bill is reasonable and really listened to what I wanted, doing everything he could to make things look nice without cutting corners.

Description of Work
My entire front lawn was renovated. Numerous large boulders, trees, and tree stumps were removed. Fill dirt was brought in and my front lawn was leveled out and new grass planted.

Category landscaping,lawn service,tree service

4.0

06/18/2012


teddy T.

The story is simple.I was searching for a great landscaping company and I found one!Quality is top notch.Even when mistakes are made or happen, the owner Bill is willing to do anything to solve the challenge. In one instance, there was ivy planted, and it was accidemtally removed, because workers thought it was an invasive weed.Once I notified Bill of the mistake, he had beaitiful climbing hydrangeas put in place of the existing ivy.It wasn't the same ivy, it was better. I totally trust Bill and his advise.

Description of Work
Monthly landscaping maintenance contract since summer 2011Spring/Fall Clean-upsBluestone walkway replaced/repaired in Oct 2011Snow removal contract in 2011 & 2012

Category landscaping,lawn service,tree service

5.0

05/10/2012


Walter B.

We started the process obtaining four estimates for a refreshening of our front landscaping as well as for a Spring and Fall Clean up with weekly maintenance.We chose The Slevin Group because we felt like the owner, Bill, really listened to our needs and vision for the property and was very intereactive in making recommendations for where some shrubs and plants might be better transplanted on other parts of the proeprty. Their annual contract for the spring/fall clean up with weekly lawn maintenance was very competative in price. The crew was out the day we were told they would be out and they worked really hard. The crew was very informative and sought our opinion on certain things. The entire landscaping looks amazing and we get compliments on it all the time. The weekly lawn maintenance, the crew is SO meticulous. They take the time to do things right. The office manager, Beth, just could not be happier with the level of communication. I get random emails regarding the weather, updates on that week's lawn service if the weather hasnt't been cooperating, etc. Look forward to a great year with them!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!

Description of Work
Spring Cleanup, removal of designated shrubs, transplanting of designated shrubs/plants, furnish and installation of perennials, installation and furnishing of Hydrangea's, addition of a railroad tie to the driveway, furnishing and installation of mulch for the entire property, clean and paint the lamp post in the front yard, Spring and Fall Clean up with weekly maintenance annual contract.

Category landscaping,lawn service

    Other local Pros in your area

    Century Masonry & Waterproofing

    Water control, drain systems, sump pumps, battery back-up pumps, crawl space encapsulation & wall repair. Additional email - centurywaterproofing@yahoo.com. Additional email - Centurywaterproofng@embarqmail.com  

    Sea Pine Restoration LLC

    Owner operated contracting business specializing in pavers, baths, kitchens, basements, rental/turnover, painting and vinyl plank flooring. Remodeling single family, multi family and commercial projects since 1995. Serving Morris, Passaic and Bergen counties. We work with your design ideas and provide cost/benefit consulting with regard to materials, time and resale value of your project. We are licensed and fully insured.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Roy Targia Masonry

    Roy got his start over 25 years ago as a member of the local Masons Union. He quickly rose through the ranks demonstrating his abilities as a craftsman as a masonry contractor. Although working in the Union was both rewarding and a decent living, Roy wanted to work on more creative projects. Such projects were not presented to him through his local union shop. Eventually his creative spirit won over his practical side, and he left the Union behind to strike out on his own as a small business owner. Roy and his clients quickly realized his ability as an old world mason with an eye for detail. Targia strives to attain old-world craftsmanship through the application of new-world methods, implementing both technology and technique to meet the client’s needs. In this, the foundation of our philosophy is born “The most important foundation we build is the relationships with our clients”. His ability to manage projects and to over deliver time and time again, is how Roy Targia Masonry and Custom Outdoor Living has been able to build a thriving masonry business in New Jersey. Masonry contractor New Jersey contact masonrybyroy.com. There is no job too big or too small for Targia’s team. Additional DBA - RoyTargiaMasonry.com.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    13VH06266200
    Trade License Locale
    New Jersey
    Trade License Authority
    Division of Consumer Affairs
    Trade License Expiration
    03/31/2022
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Residential and commercial land design and maintenance, lawn care & landscaping including pavers, wall, tree, drainage, ponds, patios, fencing & lighting. Commercial Snow Removal, plowing, shoveling, snow hauling, ice control.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about The Slevin Group Inc

    How is The Slevin Group Inc overall rated?

    The Slevin Group Inc is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are The Slevin Group Inc open?

    The Slevin Group Inc is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does The Slevin Group Inc provide

    The Slevin Group Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does The Slevin Group Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, The Slevin Group Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does The Slevin Group Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, The Slevin Group Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does The Slevin Group Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, The Slevin Group Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by The Slevin Group Inc?

    No, The Slevin Group Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does The Slevin Group Inc offer?

    The Slevin Group Inc offers the following services: Residential and commercial land design and maintenance, lawn care & landscaping including pavers, wall, tree, drainage, ponds, patios, fencing & lighting. Commercial Snow Removal, plowing, shoveling, snow hauling, ice control.

    Are there any services The Slevin Group Inc does not offer?

    Ask for details.