Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Barton Carpets & Floor Covering

Founded 1994 • With Angi since January 2006

Family Owned Business. Financing Available to those who qualify.

Verified Reviews

3.8

(17) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-17 of 17 reviews
Kelly O.
5.0
04/21/2015
Free estimate and as we were unsure if we wanted an area tiled or not, they allowed us to keep both the carpet samples and a ring of tile/linoleum samples. We ended up doing the tile ourselves, as the price for that was fairly high, and it was nice to have the carpet sample (a large sample, not a tiny one) to take to the store when picking tile and grout. The price and quality of the carpet and pad was great. They didn't push us into the most expensive one, made suggestions based on our lifestyle, family makeup, and location where it was to be laid. When the time came for installation, they were quick and professional. Highly recommend this company!
Description of Work
Living room, foyer, stairs, and upstairs hallway carpets
Category
carpet installation, ceramic tile, flooring contractor
Kevin W.
1.0
07/16/2014
This has been a terrible experience and continues to be a problem. The floor needed to be leveled prior to installation. I ripped the old floor out myself and showed the salesman exactly the issue with leveling. He assured me that it was no problem and everything would be fine. After the floor was installed, it was like a springboard right in the middle of the room because no effort was made to level it. Additionally, the molding between rooms was incredibly sloppy and lasted only a couple of days. Rather than install a proper molding, the installer laid a flat strip of something with globs of glue in an effort to hold it down. It lasted a couple of days before it came up entirely and was never functional. We expressed our concerns and they came out again in an effort to fix the problem. The floor was less springy but still not acceptable. If a laminate was not appropriate for this floor, they should have said so from the beginning. If it is appropriate, they should be able to install it correctly Also on the second visit, they replaced the molding with something that looks trash picked. It came right up and was a flat piece of molding glued over a gap i the floor. It looks like a piece of T molding that was ripped up somewhere else and recycled. We now how some options. I can move my furniture for a third time and see if they can finally fix it on the third attempt. Or we were offered a carpet that we would have to pay for. Neither seems viable. I think at this point my only recourse is to hire a floor installer who knows what they are doing to fix it, and then take Barton to court for the cost of repairs. Our family has used them a few time in the past with good results, this has been a disaster and we will definitely never use them again.
Description of Work
Attempted to install a laminate floor
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

I object to what is being said by [member name removed]. In the beginning the salesman, John Foyle, who is a class A salesman went to the job and the carpet was still down over top of the concrete, so we were unable to see the condition of the concrete in the Family Room. When our laminate installer Dave went out to the job the carpet was pulled up and the floor was exposed. He spoke to [member name removed] and called the store to let us know that there was a slight elevation in the floor that was less than an 8th of an inch between two concrete slabs. At this time, it was explained to [member name removed] that the whole floor would need to be leveled to make it a perfect installation. Some springyness in the floor is not uncommon with laminate flooring due to laminate being a flexible product and sub-floors have various pitches throughout the room. The area they are speaking of is next to a closet, not in the middle of the room. Soon as we were notified of the issue we sent our installer to the home and he spent 3 hours ripping up the flooring and patching a 2x10 concrete area, which improved the floor by over 50%. We are willing to come back out anytime to make this floor better. We are willing to reinstall the floor, if the customer gets the concrete leveled out, prior to reinstalling the laminate. The springyness is within industry standards. The [member name removed] have been pushing for new carpet, and not allowing us to try and correct the problem that was not created by us, but created by the unlevel concrete that they were aware of before installation began. As for the molding, the 1st molding did not stick due to the area it was installed in, which had oil stains and didn't allow the liquid nail to cure properly, and the 2nd molding was a new ordered piece, but if they would like us to change it out, we can do that. We do appreciate you and your family and hope that you allow us to resolve this laminate issue, requesting a free carpet is unacceptable. Barton Carpets Management
STEVEN V.
5.0
06/26/2014
I needed carpet for three rooms and stairs; and vinyl in the bathroom. Price and quality were my biggest concern. I shopped around at four different flooring places and each sales person had their own spiel as to why they had the best quality. I learned a lot (maybe too much) and found that quality was all pretty similar depending on what you wanted to spend. In the end, Barton?s Carpet beat the price of the three others. Their staff was very nice and easy to deal with also. I didn?t feel pressured, which I liked. The owner, John, was very hands on. Tom, the installer, came with his crew and they seemed very knowledgeable. Tom even helped with an additional little flooring issue. The whole install process was fairly quick, smooth, and very clean. Most importantly, the floors looked great when completed. For the price, I would definitely recommend Barton?s Carpet.
Description of Work
Removed and installed new carpet.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Hello [member name removed], Thank you very much for taking your time to provide us with your honest feedback. We are glad that we were able to assist you through the experience of purchasing new flooring. The owner of Barton Carpets, John Barton, has been in the business for over 30 years and is very knowledgable. Tom is also someone that has been doing great work for us ever since we've been in business. We will let Tom know about the wonderful feedback you had for him! Thanks, Barton Carpets Management
Jeanette N.
5.0
06/24/2014
I have been a Customer of Barton Carpets before. I first had carpet put in my home. Jerry showed up at my home first thing in the morning and had the job completed before lunch. Carpet is still in great shape and I was so pleased with this company from my past experience so I decided to go back to Barton's for some hardwood for my living room and vinyl for my kitchen. The salesperson, Joe, was absolutely great. He helped me decide from so many choices. They came out to my house to measure and advised what would work well with all my animals and foot traffic. I shopped around and was happy to find out they were the best price for the goods I picked out. Didn't hurt they have been the most friendly to me neither. Everything was scheduled and I was told they would be there in the morning the day of the install. The guys showed up early and completed the hardwood and vinyl within two days. The installers were gentlemen and the job turned out great!! I recommend them because they completed a great job and they understood what I wanted from the beginning. I am also a realist, I understand that every company may have an issue every now and then but they have handled everything with nothing but professionalism. Thanks everyone for another job well done. See you next year when I start my makeover of the basement.
Description of Work
Installed Hardwood in my living room and vinyl in my kitchen.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Hello, We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your honest feedback. We take a lot of pride in what we do and always love to hear positive results in our work. Our staff is a very knowledgable in this business. Also, yes mistakes are made once in awhile BUT if one is made and brought to our attention we will do everything and anything in our power to make it right. Its comforting to know people understand that. Thanks again for your time. Best, Barton Carpets Management
Dan P.
5.0
06/10/2014
The experience my wife I had with Barton's was completely stress ree and simple. We worked with a sales lady who helped us pick out the perfect carpet for our living room and bed rooms. This is something that we have been stressing about for months but with the help of Barton's we were able to get things done quickly and efficiently. They showed up when they said they were going to and had the rooms installed in no time without any mess or complaints. We had gotten estimates from a few other stores and Barton's was able to beat any of their prices. We are thankful for the Barton Carpets team! We couldn't be happier with how it turned out.ngton ave.
Description of Work
I bought carpet from Barton's and they installed it.
Category
carpet installation

Service Provider Response

Hello [removed member name], Barton Carpets would like to thank you for the positive feedback from the job we did. The sales woman that assisted you was Carolyn who has been selling for over 20 years. Were glad the job came out just as you wanted and was a nice experience for you. Hope to see you both again in the future! Thanks, Barton Carpets Management
Ronda U.
3.0
02/26/2014
The sales person who sold us the carpet was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Unfortunately, the carpet installers were not very professional. One of them complained about having to work the entire time he was in my house. They were also sloppy in that they didn't bother to trim the seam properly or trim the ends around doorways and walls. The sales person came to my house the next day and sent the installers back to correct the problems. Again, the installer complained about having to do his job making me very uncomfortable. They did fix everything and the carpet looks great. I would use Barton again only if they didn't send the same installers.
Description of Work
.
Category
carpet installation

Service Provider Response

Hello [member name removed], We are very sorry about the experience you had with the installers. We have had a meeting with the crew that went to your house and this will not happen again in the future (to any job that this crew does). Thank you for giving us the chance again to make your carpet right. We will never leave a job undone and a customer unsatisfied. Next time you use our business again we will be sure to impress you! Best, Barton Carpets Management
Heather K.
1.0
11/20/2013
We hired Barton flooring in Bellmawr, NJ to install 2 floors in our house and carpet on 2 stair cases. The first floor was hardwood in the bedroom and a luxury vinyl floor in our basement totaling over 960 square feet. The job was supposed to take 2 days total for both floors. Since we were installing hardwoods we needed to floors to be dropped off several days before the install so the wood could acclimate to our house. We went into the store about 2 weeks before the install date to get that scheduled but they couldn't schedule the hardwood delivery at the store and said they would call us. We gave them specific dates and times we could be home to accept the delivery and they ended up calling the Friday before and picking a day and time that nobody could be home to let them in and they could not accommodate the later time in the evening. So we cleaned off our porch so they could at least deliver the wood and we had to carry the 23 boxes of hardwood upstairs into the room for them. On the first day the installers showed up and told us we owe more money because they had to level the floor which we had pointed out to the owner who quoted us and he assured us everything would be fine. The installers were obviously an and quot;outsourcedand quot; company because their van had Long Branch, NJ on the side. They showed up around 9:30 barely did any work and had lunch and then around 2pm they said they brought the wrong size nail gun and they were leaving for the day. We had to call Barton again to have them find out what was going on. The owner had to stop by and tell the installers not to leave. During the phone call with the owner he assured us that the job would be done in the two days that he told us. They decided to work on the vinyl floor but had to prep the floor first. When doing some demolishing in the basement there was a complete disregard of the dust it was creating. There was a thick layer of dust throughout the house that took hours to clean once they left for the day. It was so bad that our kids couldn't be in the house and had to sleep somewhere else that night. The second day the installers promised to come at 8 am but arrived about 9:15 am. We were also told 3 installers would come to make up for the lost time the day before but only 2 ended up coming. Also that same day the owner asked if he could take one of the installers from our house because they had a floor emergency somewhere else. They promised the guy that left would return later that day but he never did come back. We demanded the owner show up on the job site and supervise the job even though he did not think that was necessary. Upon reviewing the basement floor we determined that the quality of the install was very subpar. On the third day (Saturday) we were told the installers would show up anywhere between 8-8:30am, at 9:30am we called the store asking where the installers were. The person at the store called the installers and called back saying that there was a new crew coming and they would be there in 15 mins. One installer showed up at 9:45 and was the same guy that was at the house the other 2 days. We asked him not to continue on the vinyl floor but to just focus on finishing the hardwoods so that we could at least get our clothing back from the attic where we stored it because it was only going to take one day to do the bedroom which included the walk in closet that we dismantled all the shelving and no place for the clothing. Around 11am the installer said he had to leave to go get another guy and would be back in 10 mins. The two of them showed back up about 45 mins after the first installer left. We spoke with the owner about the dust in the house and he did have someone come wipe down our walls. The owner also agreed that they vinyl floor install was subpar and he had one guy uninstall the floor. The told us the reason it didn't look good was because the installers were best at installing hardwoods but not vinyl floors. So why did he send them to install vinyl floors?!?! Later he told me that he never said that....but by this point he lied and messed up so many times that we were over the company, the installers and the process in general. Finally the hardwood was completed after 3 days and many headaches! We told the owner we would contact him later after we figured out what we wanted to do about the vinyl floor and carpet. He called us several times the next day while we were at work. We decided that we didn't want them to install anything else in our house so we bought the rest of the materials and found someone else to install them. The last and best part of this horrible process was they said they would deliver the carpet and next day....do you think they did that? No! We had to call them again and finally after 6 pm they delivered the carpet and the guy that delivered it called us by the incorrect name. As he was leaving he said, make sure you call the store to get the carpet installed. What?!?! If this review doesn't make you want to run screaming then I don't know what will! Only use this company if you have a lot of time to deal with lack of communication, headaches and subpar installation!
Description of Work
Provider was to install hardwood flooring in the master suite, install luxury vinyl tiles in the basement and install carpeting on two sets of stairs.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Barton Carpets is very sorry for any inconvience this job has caused to you & your family. We have been in business for over 22 years & have provided service for over 3500 customers per year. Generally all of our customers are satisified, however there are times that the delivery is not as smooth as it should be, and for this we are sorry. In the case of your job, the salesperson had some serious unexpected medical conditions that took her off of this job & away from work for a few months. The installers we choose for your job are talented hardworking clean and professional, but they experienced diffuculty at various stages of your job, which we did resolve and correct. The owner, John Barton, made it a priority to resolve the issues concerning your job. Once the issues on the job began, the owner came out to the job serveral times to resolve any issues. Again we are truly sorry and would like to apologize for any issues or inconvience this has caused you & your family
Ida T.
5.0
04/26/2012
Excellent Job, Welll done.
Description of Work
4/26/2012 I called Barton Carpets several weeks ago, requesting that I needed my carpets upstairs stretched, They had Kevin call me right after that, and we set up and appoiintment for Kevin & Brian to come out & do my carpets. They came out on Tuesday, they did such a wonderful job, and worked so hard to get the carpets to look nice. After they were done, they asked for for the vacuuum, to clean the rugs after they were done. I would stongly recommend them to anyone. They were wonderful and very professional.
Category
carpet installation
Jack M.
5.0
01/25/2012
Great Job. Would recommend to a friend and will use this company again.
Description of Work
Carpet cleaning
Category
carpet cleaners
Marjorie L.
1.0
01/24/2012
NEVER responded to initial email requesting service.
Description of Work
No services performed since they NEVER responded to my email.
Category
carpet cleaners

Service Provider Response

Hi. I am sorry we have not respond to your email, we have not received the an email request from. If you still need you are still in need of services please contact me @ (856) 933-3500. I apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you.
Vicki K.
5.0
10/15/2011
The lady I met for the initial meeting took the time and was very thorough. She walked around and showed me all the floor stuff. The gentleman that came out to do all the measuring was just as friendly. Their attitudes and customer service was outstanding. I plan to use them again.
Description of Work
I used Barton Carpets & Floor Covering.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor
Ernest P.
5.0
06/08/2011
They're prices are excellent. The best in the area. Service is excellent and will answer every questions.
Description of Work
Carpet install.
Category
carpet cleaners
Dean R.
1.0
03/02/2009
We contracted with Barton Carpets in July 2008 to install hardwood flooring in our home, and as of now -- March 2009, the job is still not completed. The quality of the flooring is awful. Within two weeks of installation of the floors, they were completely marked up from a 17 lb. dog and a 65 lb. 10 yr. old dog that lays around. We specifically asked how the flooring would hold up with the dogs and were told we wouldn't have any problems. The floor has nail holes all over the place, and the stairs were never completed correctly. The color was totally off, and instead of replacing them with the right stained planks, they keep taking off the originals and restaining and renailing them, and as of now, they are still not installed. Each step has no less than 14 holes in it. They just can't seem to get the job right. They make promises to repair, and don't keep the promises. The manufacturer does not want to honor the warranty. Despite the fact that Barton Carpets got their money a long, long time ago (they finance), we still don't have our floors done correctly. In addition, I ordered custom area rugs at least 6 weeks ago, and have never heard a word about them and don't have them, even though I put a deposit on them. I will probably never see them. I never wanted rugs to start with ... that's what I was trying to get away from, but now Bartons tells me I have to have them to protect my floors that I paid $10,000 for, and then another $800 to cover my new floors with rugs I don't want. My husband accidently moved our bed upstairs and it left a huge dent in the hardwood floor. In addition, my moulding is broken, heater vents were never replaced correctly and I'm going to have to seek relief legally to get my floors redone. Barton Carpets is VERY nonresponsive. The sales manager constantly says he will call me right back and never does. It just goes on and on with them, and I never dreamed when I agreed to spend $10,000 that eight months later I would still not have my floors done.
Description of Work
New Mannington hardwood flooring throughout the house, new hardwood stairs and new carpet in the basement.
Category
hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

2 years ago this transaction was made whole in 2009. The problem was resolved and all parties were made satisfied.The job period of dissatisfaction spanned 3 months, but 2 of those months the customer was unavailable (due to work and vacation) so we could not correct the situation. A few points to be made, because Barton Carpets is a quality company that delivers honest, reliable, professional service everyday and backs it up. To begin with the customer chose a wood floor over a laminate floor even though we did suggest a laminate floor would be better with the dogs. 2nd, the step issue was created by the dogs going up & down the steps after we had installed them the first time. But still, we took the time to go out and make corrections. In the end, we replaced the steps with new treads and they look wonderful. We also addressed any other minor issues that the customer had. And finally, we decided to give the customer all monies back, compliments of Barton Carpets, for any aggravation we may have caused them. And to this day they still have ownership of a beautiful wood floor.
5.0
01/27/2006
THEY DID AN EXCELLENT JOB, THEY WARE VERY CLEAN, AND FINISHED EVERYTHING NEATLY WITH MEDAL STRIPS ALONG THE OUTSIDE. THEY CAME ON TIME AND THE DATE SCHEDULED. I WAS VERY PLEASED.
Description of Work
REMOVED OLD CARPET, AND INSTALLED A SIXTY FIVE YARD NEW CARPET ALSO INSTALLED FOAM UNDERNEATH.
Category
flooring contractor
4.0
01/26/2006
THE EXPERIENCE WAS GREAT. I RECEIVED A LOT OF HELP PICKING OUR THE FLOOR. THEY WERE VERY HELPFUL. THE WRONG FLOOR CAME IN THE FIRST TIME and THEY MADE A SPECIAL TRIP TO GET ME THE CORRECT FLOOR ON TIME. THE OVERALL QUALITY OF WORK WAS GREAT.
Description of Work
LAMINATE FLOOR INSTALLED IN MY KITCHEN, FOYER, & DINING ROOM. ALSO WE HAD A SUB-FLOOR PUT DOWN FIRST.
Category
flooring contractor
4.0
01/26/2006
I WAS VERY PLEASED WITH THE WORK! THEY WERE CLEAN (MEANING, AFTER THE INSTALLATION, THEY CLEANED UP AFTER THEMSELVES). GOOD JOB, ALSO, ON MY STEPS.
Description of Work
HAD OLD CARPET REMOVED & NEW CARPET INSTALLED.
Category
carpet installation
GUS G.
3.0
01/02/2006
The sales person inside the store was good. He was very nice and new his business. The installation was done by a few young men who were not very professional.
Description of Work
Went into store and talked with sales person to pick out carpet. Talked with sales person to get price for installation. Filled out credit application and set up for installation of carpet and padding in three bedrooms
Category
carpet installation

Other local Pros in your area

Floor Coverings International Cherry Hill

Floor Coverings International proudly serves homes and businesses throughout South Jersey & Bucks County PA. We provide an innovative and efficient approach to designing, buying, and installing the flooring products that our clients rely upon. We stock a vast array of flooring in our warehouse as well. We are a full service "one-stop" company. We will provide and install your flooring. We do not install materials purchased elsewhere because when you purchase from us, we not only back the manufacturers warranty, but we guarantee our installation! We do not offer repair services.  

Angi Certified

Delaware Valley Carpet Cleaning

In 1987, Joe Stark purchased his first professional carpet cleaning franchise. Over the next few years he expanded his carpet cleaning company to include 7 franchises which were all open 7 days a week. Joe made the decision to downsize in 1993. No longer employing others, he was able to clean for each client personally, ensuring a job well done. During this time of change, Joe, along with a team of chemists, developed his world-famous Proprietary Citrus cleaning solution, which is now known as "The Citrus Carpet Cleaner". Joe Stark (the owner) does all cleaning personally. All work comes with an Iron Clad 100% Money Back Guarantee. Cleaning products are Organic and Eco-Friendly. We are rated A+ and Accredited with the Better Business Bureau.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

Aladdin's contracting

We are willing to go beyond our clients expectations for there amazing loving home. We believe in working with our home owners and taking care of there projects with love and passion.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Phone

Address

47 W Browning Rd

Bellmawr, NJ 08031

Other Information

Payment options

Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Check
Financing Available
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Barton Carpets & Floor Covering is currently rated 3.8 overall out of 5.

Barton Carpets & Floor Covering is open:

Sunday: 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM

Monday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Saturday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 AM

Barton Carpets & Floor Covering accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing Available

Yes, Barton Carpets & Floor Covering offers free project estimates.

Yes, Barton Carpets & Floor Covering offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Barton Carpets & Floor Covering does not offer a senior discount.

No, Barton Carpets & Floor Covering does not offer warranties.

Barton Carpets & Floor Covering offers the following services: Area rugs. Laminate floors. Carpeting. Specialty floors. Ceramic/porcelain. Vinyl/resilient. Cushion/padding. Wood flooring. Fibers/treatments. Flooring accessories. Installation materials. Carpet cleaning.