Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Top Hat & Tails Corp Professional Chimney Services

Founded 1987 • With Angi since January 2006

We clean chimneys all year long, but the best time is at the end of the heating season. You don't have to wait weeks for an appointment, as in the fall, and if repairs are needed they can be completed in the spring and summer. Come that first chilly late summer or early fall evening you're all set to start.

Verified Reviews

4.7

(64) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 64 reviews
N C.
5.0
11/17/2021
Robert E. Harris - President of Top Hat & Tails Chimney Service is honest! I know that because he didn't give me a laundry list of things that I didn't need. As a matter of fact, Robert, Bob, didn't try to sell me anything. That was a first. Instead, Bob was straight-forward and gave me some really important tips. Again, no one else had ever done that. It's a relief to know there there is someone out there that you can trust.
Description of Work
Cleaning the chimney of a wood burning stove which is actually a slammer.
Category
chimney sweep
vivian D.
5.0
09/16/2021
Excellent. Bob and his assistant were prompt, courteous and obviously know what they are doing. Bob spoke candidly and agreed that I was in pretty good shape and the work that needed to be done could wait until the spring. He was reassuring and reasonable. Inspected both chimneys and took out the scam liner that had been placed 11 years ago. He made recommendations as to testing to be done and we both hope the draft tests well show no problems. There was no charge for what he did today...we will address charges to be expected after we know the draft test results. To be taken care of in the spring, 2022.
Description of Work
WE agreed to have work done in the spring...issues about the liner in my chimney and brought to my attention some other needs to repair the top of my chimneys and scam work done by others before Top Hat.
Category
chimney sweep, heating & air conditioning/hvac, chimney caps, chimney repair
william K.
5.0
02/18/2020
They were on-time and completed the work well and at the agreed upon pricing.
Description of Work
Clean chimney, check to see if operating properly.
Category
chimney sweep
Kathryn B.
5.0
12/11/2018
I cannot recommend Robert more highly! We hired him to clean our chimney, but after he carefully inspected it, he said we didn't really need it. He showed us a (free!) way to get rid of the smoke smell after a fire. What a great guy!
Description of Work
chimney cleaned
Category
chimney sweep
CHERYL B.
5.0
03/27/2018
They were fantastic! Arrived on time, were professional and courteous and cleaned up after themselves. I would hire them again.
Description of Work
Chimney Cleaning
Category
chimney sweep
CHERYL B.
5.0
03/27/2018
I would hire them again. They explain the situation and gave me options. I think they were very fair.
Description of Work
Chimney repair.
Category
chimney caps, chimney repair
will C.
5.0
10/27/2017
A+ service! Quick and efficient, just do the job right, cleaned up all the dirt in the Chimney and the furnace can run without any issue.
Description of Work
Clean the Chimney - a bird tried to build a nest in the Chimney and it dumped a lot of leaves and sticks into the Chimney, I tried contact several Chimney companies and none of them was willing to provide the service or give a reasonable price to figure out the issue - one of them (A-1 affordable, Inc 800-865-0053) tried to overcharge me with $1,100 to just diagnose the issue.
Category
chimney sweep
Mary Pat C.
1.0
10/23/2017
The man/ owner was punctual and pleasant. He alarmed with his opinion of the condition of the fireplace, chimney and furnace. I was frankly overwhelmed. It has been over two weeks and I have not received the written report. I had another certified inspector repeat the inspection and was told everything except the liner from the furnace was safe. It was a very different report. I was alarmed by the findings of the first inspection needlessly !!!
Description of Work
Chimney cleaning and inspection.
Category
chimney sweep, heating & air conditioning/hvac, masonry, fireplaces
Julianne T.
5.0
09/13/2017
These folks have been cleaning our chimneys for over 20 years, and we've never had a single problem. We look forward to seeing them each autumn!
Description of Work
chimney cleaning for furnace, hot water heater, woodstove, fireplace
Category
chimney sweep
Ashwani V.
4.0
09/01/2017
Very punctual, timely and extremely personable. Did a thorough job of the inspection. But his estimates of the cost to repair were way higher than we got elsewhere. In retrospect, for inspections, one should hire a firm that ONLY does inspections. Too much probability for conflict of interest, if the firm does both inspections and repairs.
Description of Work
Chimney and fireplace inspection.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair, fireplaces
Chris N.
5.0
05/17/2016
Bob was very helpful trying to figure out the problem with our flue and cap. He used a camera to take pictures of every thing so that he could show us the exact problems we had. I felt very comfortable that the repairs were really needed and in fact after that, our problems disappeared. Best of all he had the parts he needed in his truck to fix it right then and there. He arrived on time and got straight to work with his assistant. Very happy with the service provided.
Description of Work
Inspected chimney and repaired cap on top.
Category
chimney repair
Mimi C.
5.0
12/18/2015
No nonsense, got it done, did a great job and we'll call again next year. Don't remember the exact date but sometime in the summer. The cost is approximate but not more than $100.00. I may have used a coupon so it was likely less.
Description of Work
Cleaned the chimney and did an inspection.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair
Patrick C.
5.0
12/07/2015
Overall service was good. Bob the owner was very approachable and answered all questions and leaned a lot about my chimney
Description of Work
Clean and inspected chimney
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair
Christopher W.
2.0
11/24/2015
This service started of good. Showed up on time and did a thorough inspection of chimney and heating system. Took pictures via camera in the chimney the detailed problems inside.? Where this service failed is that its been 7 weeks and I have not received a report that I can use to start repairs. I have emailed and called frequently and there has been no response. ?To make matters worse, he hit on my wife and asked for donuts that were sitting on the counter.? I would never recommend or utilize this service again. ?It was a wasted $119.00.
Description of Work
Inspected and cleaned chimney.
Category
chimney sweep, heating & air conditioning/hvac, chimney repair
deborah M.
5.0
10/24/2015
Our furnace was not functioning properly and we were told to check the flue. ?The weather was turning cooler and we called Bob at Top Hat and Tails. ?The next day he found time in his busy schedule to show up at 8a.m. on a Saturday morning to check out the gas flue. He did a cleaning of the flue and educated us on some issues that might be causing the heating problem. He stayed to do a sweep of our fireplace. ?We were pleased with the work and would certainly use his services again
Description of Work
Gas flue sweep and fireplace sweep.
Category
chimney sweep, heating & air conditioning/hvac, fireplaces
Cheryl L.
3.0
03/13/2015
He had done a very thorough job with our inspection last October. He said he would get back to us with the thorough report of the inspection. It has been several months and I have not received it. We were interested in discussing the repair work with him, but there has been no follow up. I tried to contact him in November or December, but he has still not followed up with us.
Description of Work
I contacted them for a report on a chimney inspection.
Category
chimney repair
Sue N.
5.0
03/10/2015
Bob (I think) was very nice, explained everything and answered all questions. We had a cheaper estimate from a company we also felt good about, and so we went that route. I'd call again if we ever needed additional work.
Description of Work
Evaluation of the flues and estimate to shore up loose work at the chimney top. Provided information on converting back to wood burning from a gas kit. Level 1 or 2 inspection (forget which, but it's when they use mirrors and/or cameras to look all the way up and down the flue(s).
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair
Michael P.
5.0
02/17/2015
These guys are great. They show up on time, they clean the chimney, they advise on any prospective issues, they leave no mess. I don't recall what they cost, but I did not feel it was unreasonable.
Description of Work
Cleaned out our chimney before the cold weather season. We use our fireplace a lot.
Category
chimney sweep
Gary G.
5.0
01/05/2015
Our furnace repairman determined that the blockage needed to be removed before they could restart the heat. Other chimney service providers told us of a wait for several days which would've meant no heat in January. Top Hat & Tails was able to come at moment's notice - that was the first gold star. The 2011 repair of the chimney by another vendor had been improperly done and created blockage much greater than I could imagine - Bob, the owner worked inside and outside in freezing temperatures, removing bag after bag after bag of soot - another gold star. He worked tirelessly and effectively for over 4 hours to get the problem resolved and the chimney back in working order, ready to go in just over 5 hours from my first call - how good does it get? All the while, I was given updates on their progress, the work he was doing and why they were doing it. Finally, after a thorough clean-up, Bob once again reviewed the work and the welcome results. AND for above and beyond service, he showed me yet another furnace issue, not related to the chimney, that I should (and will) be attending to. Who bothers to think about their chimney except when there's a problem? I can guarantee that I will use his service on an annual maintenance basis - I could not be more pleased with this company and its service, and he has well earned my trust and my loyalty.
Description of Work
The chimney from two furnaces was blocked and sending soot into the basement.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair
martha Y.
4.0
11/07/2014
I purchased a deal with them, when I called them, they informed me that they do not service my area.
Description of Work
.
Category
chimney sweep
Michael C.
3.0
10/30/2014
The day fo the service was fine. He swept the chimney and performed the inspection. There are a lot of problems with my chimney and I know we need to get them repaired. The inspection and sweep was to get an estimate and get a better idea of what needed to be done. He did his inspection pointed out some problems and said he would get us an estimate soon. It took more than two weeks to get a copy of the estimate and he promised he would provide photos of the problems as well. He never provided the photos and has not responded to additional requests for the photos. I had some questions about the estimate and after he responded to the first one, he has not responded since. This is a complicated and expensive project and I am trying to compare multiple opinions on what work should and shouldn't be done. He stopped replying to my questions so I guess he doesn't need the work -- which is a shame for him because he probably would have gotten the contract. He was very polite and professional, but I need someone who is responsive to do a project this large.
Description of Work
We got a level 2 inspection and sweep of our chimney through an Angie's list deal. We cleaned the chimney and provided an estimate for additional work.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair
Ingrid N.
3.0
10/21/2014
After taking a copy of the previous estimate and pictures, waited for a reply. It took over 2 months, and I had to call them regularly to ask. He mentioned along the way, possibility of relining the fireplace flue. The initial work was less than $4500 including the oil flue. While I was never able to get a detailed estimate, the new estimate for increasing the chimney height, the relining of the fireplace flue, was $14800 to 15100. It was never clarified despite several requests to provide details by project. Further, it was not clear in any description attached if this was all in addition to the oil flue reline costs and the waterproofing. My best takeaway seemed that these new costs were in addition to the costs of 3200 for oil flue, and 1875 for waterproofing - waterproofing increased from 625 when first estimated for doing to roof line, to 1875 to do all the way down to ground( as I could best make out). This would then mean that the total work they were proposing was just under $20k. When I attempted to ask him to break down the costs, and help explain why so expensive and what was actually necessary - he basically said he has changed how he does business. So it was all or nothing, without really taking time to explain. We basically agreed that it seemed best for us not to do business together. It was not entirely clear how someone who does not have $20k available would proceed, or ever really well understood whether any of this is truly a safety concern. I did not have any other bids to compare, so its possible its in range others may estimate. However, I think the larger concern raised is the lack of responsiveness or follow through. Its possible that since early on I stated I needed to prioritize the work based on what I could afford to spend, that the company did not want to do projects for less than this amount of money. I was prepared to do work for up to $5k, based on the earlier proposal, maybe slight increases. The larger concern became whether could rely on this company to deliver any work on an acceptable timeframe, at least at this current time.
Description of Work
Had used Top hat and tails for regular chimney sweep for a number of years. We at one point got an estimate for some proposed work, including relining of oil flue. Several years past, and called them back to ask to proceed to do work, do they need to reestimate. Had pictures from previous work. They came by on a timely basis, and re- reviewed the chimney.
Category
chimney sweep, fireplaces
Lindsey D.
2.0
09/29/2014
I was supposed to get in touch with me by Friday, but he didn't until Sunday evening, through the Angie's List message center. He said it would be $199 and didn't give an explanation as to why it would cost more. That rubbed me the wrong way. Something seems off, and I'm pursuing a refund.
Description of Work
I bought a Big Deal for $175 Level 2 Chimney Inspection.
Category
fireplaces
Clinton L.
5.0
09/27/2014
Quick, clean and efficient. Definitely go with them again in the future.
Description of Work
Cleaning and Class II Inspection.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair
Rob G.
5.0
08/11/2014
I called these guys this morning, and they managed to have an opening to help me today, within two hours, actually. They were punctual and responsive and did a bang up job sweeping my chimney. The owner, Bob, was very sociable and chatty and in general a delight to work with. He raised the bar for contractors. All other businesses pale in comparison. I also asked him for quotes on chimney caps, which he said he'd get to me later, but overall Bob and his team were great!
Description of Work
Chimney Sweep
Category
chimney sweep, chimney caps

Other local Pros in your area

Encore Services

With over 7 years of professional decking, hardscaping and masonry experience, here to help you design and or install what you need or are dreaming about.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Ryan & Son Chimneys

As an industry leader Bill Ryan has served on Boards of Directors for the past 17 years and is a Nationwide instructor of Chimney Inspections, chimney repair and chimney related technical classes. Ryan and Son Chimneys is a full service chimney company specializing in Chimney inspection (level 1, 2 and 3) chimney and fireplace restoration, chimney liners, caps, repairs, installations. Fireplace, wood and pellet stove installations. Pellet, gas and wood appliance service. Consulting, expert witness and hearth and chimney design services.  

Angi Certified

Micciche & Son

Owner operated family owned masonry & paving company, for over 30 years ,focused on servicing Passaic, Bergen, Essex and Hudson counties. Honored to have 2014 & 2016 Super Service Award  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

105 Belmohr St

Belleville, NJ 07109

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
No License Required for Trade
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Top Hat & Tails Corp Professional Chimney Services is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

Top Hat & Tails Corp Professional Chimney Services is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

Top Hat & Tails Corp Professional Chimney Services accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

No, Top Hat & Tails Corp Professional Chimney Services does not offer free project estimates.

No, Top Hat & Tails Corp Professional Chimney Services does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Top Hat & Tails Corp Professional Chimney Services does not offer a senior discount.

No, Top Hat & Tails Corp Professional Chimney Services does not offer warranties.

Top Hat & Tails Corp Professional Chimney Services offers the following services: Chimney sweeping, fireplace, gas burner, oil burner & wood stove, caps, waterproofing, flue relining, masonry repairs, dead animal removal & top mounted dampers.