Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Top Hat & Tails Corp Professional Chimney Services

4.7

(64) Verified Reviews

Founded 1987 • With Angi since January 2006

No License Required for Trade
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
Closed

Phone Number

Address

105 Belmohr St

Belleville, NJ 07109

www.tophattails.com

Description

We clean chimneys all year long, but the best time is at the end of the heating season. You don't have to wait weeks for an appointment, as in the fall, and if repairs are needed they can be completed in the spring and summer. Come that first chilly late summer or early fall evening you're all set to start....

Verified Reviews

4.7

(64) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

48

4

7

3

3

2

2

1

4

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.6

Read reviews by category

chimney sweep (58)chimney repair (15)HVAC Companies (7)fireplace services (5)chimney cap repair (5)masonry (1)
Showing 1-10 of 64 reviews
5.0

11/17/2021


N C.

Robert E. Harris - President of Top Hat & Tails Chimney Service is honest! I know that because he didn't give me a laundry list of things that I didn't need. As a matter of fact, Robert, Bob, didn't try to sell me anything. That was a first. Instead, Bob was straight-forward and gave me some really important tips. Again, no one else had ever done that. It's a relief to know there there is someone out there that you can trust.

Description of Work
Cleaning the chimney of a wood burning stove which is actually a slammer.

Category chimney sweep

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/16/2021

5.0

09/16/2021


vivian D.

Excellent. Bob and his assistant were prompt, courteous and obviously know what they are doing. Bob spoke candidly and agreed that I was in pretty good shape and the work that needed to be done could wait until the spring. He was reassuring and reasonable. Inspected both chimneys and took out the scam liner that had been placed 11 years ago. He made recommendations as to testing to be done and we both hope the draft tests well show no problems. There was no charge for what he did today...we will address charges to be expected after we know the draft test results. To be taken care of in the spring, 2022.

Description of Work
WE agreed to have work done in the spring...issues about the liner in my chimney and brought to my attention some other needs to repair the top of my chimneys and scam work done by others before Top Hat.

Category chimney sweep,heating & air conditioning/hvac,chimney caps,chimney repair

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/16/2021

5.0

02/18/2020


william K.

They were on-time and completed the work well and at the agreed upon pricing.

Description of Work
Clean chimney, check to see if operating properly.

Category chimney sweep

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/08/2020

5.0

12/11/2018


Kathryn B.

I cannot recommend Robert more highly! We hired him to clean our chimney, but after he carefully inspected it, he said we didn't really need it. He showed us a (free!) way to get rid of the smoke smell after a fire. What a great guy!

Description of Work
chimney cleaned

Category chimney sweep

Cost $85

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/11/2018

5.0

03/27/2018


CHERYL B.

They were fantastic! Arrived on time, were professional and courteous and cleaned up after themselves. I would hire them again.

Description of Work
Chimney Cleaning

Category chimney sweep

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/27/2018

5.0

03/27/2018


CHERYL B.

I would hire them again. They explain the situation and gave me options. I think they were very fair.

Description of Work
Chimney repair.

Category chimney caps,chimney repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/27/2018

5.0

10/27/2017


will C.

A+ service! Quick and efficient, just do the job right, cleaned up all the dirt in the Chimney and the furnace can run without any issue.

Description of Work
Clean the Chimney - a bird tried to build a nest in the Chimney and it dumped a lot of leaves and sticks into the Chimney, I tried contact several Chimney companies and none of them was willing to provide the service or give a reasonable price to figure out the issue - one of them (A-1 affordable, Inc 800-865-0053) tried to overcharge me with $1,100 to just diagnose the issue.

Category chimney sweep

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/27/2017

1.0

10/23/2017


Mary Pat C.

The man/ owner was punctual and pleasant. He alarmed with his opinion of the condition of the fireplace, chimney and furnace. I was frankly overwhelmed. It has been over two weeks and I have not received the written report. I had another certified inspector repeat the inspection and was told everything except the liner from the furnace was safe. It was a very different report. I was alarmed by the findings of the first inspection needlessly !!!

Description of Work
Chimney cleaning and inspection.

Category chimney sweep,heating & air conditioning/hvac,masonry,fireplaces

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 10/07/2017

5.0

09/13/2017


Julianne T.

These folks have been cleaning our chimneys for over 20 years, and we've never had a single problem. We look forward to seeing them each autumn!

Description of Work
chimney cleaning for furnace, hot water heater, woodstove, fireplace

Category chimney sweep

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/13/2017

4.0

09/01/2017


Ashwani V.

Very punctual, timely and extremely personable. Did a thorough job of the inspection. But his estimates of the cost to repair were way higher than we got elsewhere. In retrospect, for inspections, one should hire a firm that ONLY does inspections. Too much probability for conflict of interest, if the firm does both inspections and repairs.

Description of Work
Chimney and fireplace inspection.

Category chimney sweep,chimney caps,chimney repair,fireplaces

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/15/2017

Services Offered

Chimney sweeping, fireplace, gas burner, oil burner & wood stove, caps, waterproofing, flue relining, masonry repairs, dead animal removal & top mounted dampers.

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
No
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
Senior Discount
No
Warranties
Ask for details

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Top Hat & Tails Corp Professional Chimney Services

How is Top Hat & Tails Corp Professional Chimney Services overall rated?

Top Hat & Tails Corp Professional Chimney Services is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

What days are Top Hat & Tails Corp Professional Chimney Services open?

Top Hat & Tails Corp Professional Chimney Services is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

What payment options does Top Hat & Tails Corp Professional Chimney Services provide

Top Hat & Tails Corp Professional Chimney Services accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Does Top Hat & Tails Corp Professional Chimney Services offer free estimates?

No, Top Hat & Tails Corp Professional Chimney Services does not offer free project estimates.

Does Top Hat & Tails Corp Professional Chimney Services offer eco-friendly accreditations?

No, Top Hat & Tails Corp Professional Chimney Services does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Does Top Hat & Tails Corp Professional Chimney Services offer a senior discount?

No, Top Hat & Tails Corp Professional Chimney Services does not offer a senior discount.

Are warranties offered by Top Hat & Tails Corp Professional Chimney Services?

No, Top Hat & Tails Corp Professional Chimney Services does not offer warranties.

What services does Top Hat & Tails Corp Professional Chimney Services offer?

Top Hat & Tails Corp Professional Chimney Services offers the following services: Chimney sweeping, fireplace, gas burner, oil burner & wood stove, caps, waterproofing, flue relining, masonry repairs, dead animal removal & top mounted dampers.