The Water Specialist Inc

4.8

(103) Verified Reviews

Founded 1976 • With Angi since September 2008

Angi certified badge

Awards & Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020

Licensing

Licensed
  • Trade License Number
  • 3975-B, 2796-A, 4030-B, 4027-B, 2876-A
  • Trade License Locale
  • North Carolina
  • Trade License Authority
  • Well Contractor Certification Board
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Saturday
Closed

Company Contact

608 Cornerstone Ct

Hillsborough, NC 27278

Description

The Water Specialist has served the triangle and surrounding areas by providing water well maintenance and rehabilitation, well pump repair and replacement, water well and septic inspection, and water treatment since 1976. Because of his passion and ability to evolve in the growing community around him, Ray Sparrow, a 3rd generation plumber, started his business with the hopes of providing unparalleled service and education to customers. Since then the company has grown and employs over 24 full-time employees. Jim Sparrow holds licenses as a NC Well Contractor, NC Licensed Plumber, NC Electrical Contractor, NC Septic Inspector, Installer, and Pumper. While Jim has spent most of his career working in and around the contracting business in various forms, the last 15 years have been dedicated to The Water Specialist. He believes in continuing the legacy of his father, Ray Sparrow, by meeting the needs of the community through a professional staff, 24 hour service, and the reputation of an established and reputable company....

Verified Reviews

4.8

(103) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

90

4

6

3

3

2

3

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8
Read reviews by category
well & water pump repair (76)water softeners (35)plumbers (29)septic tank service (7)HVAC Companies (3)water heaters (2)
Showing 1-10 of 103 reviews
5.0

11/16/2020

Response was prompt and professional.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
repair well head and replace pump after delivery truck backed over our well

CATEGORY wells

COST $6,200

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 11/12/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for the great review! Sincerely, Jim Sparrow
5.0

10/14/2020

Samuel was excellent. Prompt, respectful, professional, informative and very helpful in explaining everything. I would certainly have him service our home systems again anytime. Great job

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Service our whole house system (salt tank system and filter) and RO check

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac,plumbing,water softeners,wells

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 09/08/2020

5.0

09/25/2020

Great Service. Kind, professional & knowledgeable. Put my mind at ease

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Maintenance

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac,water softeners,wells

COST $139

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 09/24/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

So glad we could help you out. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review! Take Care, Jim
5.0

09/15/2020

Sam and Randy came over the same day my appointment was made. They did a thorough diagnosis and resolved the problem. Very knowledgable, friendly, and provided good and useful information. Recommended.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Problem with water pressure

CATEGORY plumbing

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 09/14/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you! We appreciate you leaving us a great reveiw! Jim Sparrow
5.0

08/24/2020

We discovered a large leak in our crawl space late on a Saturday afternoon. I contacted the Water Specialist and left a message. Within 15 minutes I received a call back and scheduled a plumber to come to our house immediately. He diagnosed the problem and quickly fixed the leak. Problem solved - easy and affordable fix.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Pipe leak over the weekend

CATEGORY plumbing

COST $260

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 08/22/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for the positive review! I will pass this along to everyone here. Glad to have been able to help you out. Jim Sparrow
5.0

06/02/2020

They are the best ! We had a repair that required a return visit on a Saturday that was made by a Supervisor with his family!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Service water system

CATEGORY water softeners

COST $400

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 06/02/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

We appreciate your continued support. Thank you for the great review! Jim Sparrow
5.0

03/25/2020

Very well. Work followed estimate and was competed as scheduled.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Replace water holding tank and related plumbing

CATEGORY plumbing,wells

COST $850

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 03/23/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you very much! We appreciate you taking the time to leave this review! We look forward to working with you in the future. Jim Sparrow
5.0

02/11/2020

The tech came out and was very knowledgeable and friendly. They fixed my problem in a timely manner. Couldn't be happier with the work provided.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
was having issues with smell and taste of water

CATEGORY water softeners,wells

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 01/28/2020

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you. Happy to help! Jim Sparrow
5.0

01/10/2020

Walter and his crew arrived when they said they would, only 2 hours after I called. About an hour later, after a quick diagnosis, my new pump, pipes, wires, pressure switch, and filter were up and running.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Replace failing well pump

CATEGORY wells

COST $2,300

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 12/09/2019

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank You! We are very grateful that you took the time to leave us a positive review. We look forward to working with you more in the future! Sincerely, Jim Sparrow
5.0

11/07/2019

Service always goes well. The service people are professional yet friendly. They do a thorough job each time. We are very satisfied.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Regular water treatment (purification, filtration, softening) service.

CATEGORY water softeners,wells

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 11/06/2019

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review! Jim Sparrow

Services Offered

Well & septic inspections. Water testing. Water treatment systems for taste, odor & stain removal. Flow restoration on low flow wells. Well hydro flushing. Well liners & abandonment. Ultra violet lights for bacteria treatment. Water softener. Iron removal. Acid neutralizer. Reverse osmosis installation & repair. Submersible well pumps. General plumbing repairs. Tankless water heaters. Hand operated pumps.

Services Not Offered

Well drilling. New construction plumbing.

General Information
Free Estimates
No
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa, PayPal
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes