Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Henderson Building Group LLC

Founded 2008 • With Angi since March 2009

4.7

(15) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 1409

Cornelius, NC 28031

Description

Henderson Building Group is a family owned and operated custom home building and remodeling company. We specialize in kitchens, bathrooms, sunrooms, decks, screen porches, and pools. For Addtional information please call Brooks Henderson @ 704-201-1429 or visit our website www.hendersonbuildinggroup.com. We look forward to serving you!...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
4.0

07/27/2017


BRAD G.

We weren't very happy about the price. We bought a new system from them two years ago and it's a carrier, supposed to be one of the best and we had problems with it. I think this would be our third year with it and every year we've had to have them out for it. It's not their fault but we still had to pay for the services and stuff so it's still costing us money. There's one guy that we don't like at all, he doesn't seem to know what he's doing but the other guy that comes out he's pretty good so its kind of a mixed thing. They sent us an email for the bill and it was two pages and I guess that could have been my husbands fault but he was told a certain price and then when it came time to pay, it was more than we thought but that kind of didn't make us happy in the beginning and then we've had to have them out every single year with problems.

Description of Work
They provided maintenance service on new heating and ac unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

07/27/2017


BRAD G.

.

Description of Work
.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

05/18/2016


Matt M.

Description of Work
Sent them an inquiry about a bathroom addition and received no response.

Category remodeling

2.0

04/30/2016


Debbie A.

Exactly two weeks later, I received an email, not a phone call. The email stated that he was too busy and unfortunately could not bid the job. Of course I responded in frustration and explained my disappointment in him for making me wait two weeks for the estimate and then sending me an email he was just too busy. If he was so busy, he could have very easily declined the initial meeting, however he wasted our time making us wait and never bidding the job.

Description of Work
Contacted contractor late March for an estimate. It was explained to me that he was taking vacation the following week and could not see us until the first week of April. They had good references so we decided to wait. We mad an appointment for April 6th. Needed to get an estimate for full front remodel of house siding & stone. Installation of 35 windows along with replacing the front door etc. Contractor showed up on 4/6 and came out to the house. Brooks seemed very knowledgeable and shared his thoughts and ideas. Stated he would be back within two weeks with an estimate for the job. We had no issue with the 2 weeks since we wanted to compare estimates.

Category remodeling

5.0

06/17/2015


Carrie S.

.

Description of Work
.

Category decks, remodeling, roofing, fireplaces, outdoor kitchens

2.0

05/21/2015


James R.

This contractor was supposed to come out to give an estimate. After being late, I called and they had not brought my phone number to contact and had not bothered to look up my address. So after I waited for them and had scheduled several days in advance, I was told I lived too far out. This is the 4th contractor that has failed to respond or show up off of Angie's List. I'm really wondering why I paid for this service. I've had much better luck on Craigslist.

Description of Work
Nothing.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed], we apologize we were unable to look at your project due to the proximity of the job to our location. We strive to ensure that we are able to provide our clients the best service while remaining within your budget and the ability to manage the project to ensure it is completed on time and to both of our expectations. Due to the location of your job, we felt strongly that none of those would be accomplished. While we respect your right to offer your opinion, it appears your frustration lies with Angie's List rather than us since your review does not reflect our work or the type of work that we do. We wish you success with your project.

5.0

02/05/2014


Ann S.

I called Brooks Henderson from his listing on Angie's List after extensive research on contractors in the area. He answered the phone himself with my first call, and I met with him within a day or two. He was attentive to our vision for the basement and told us what would have to happen to get it there. Brooks had a VERY detailed proposal for us within a week. We chose HBG over two other contractors because of his professionalism, the proposal that told us exactly what we would get, and because he agreed to put in a whole HVAC system for the area and put the plumbing in as we wanted. I called a couple of his references, and they highly recommended him. We started the project in late October, and HBG was finished on January 22. The estimated time to complete the project was 10-12 weeks, and HBG finished the project right within this timeframe. Brooks was extremely efficient in running our project. He had someone doing something every day except a couple days here and there. His work teams work hard, enjoy what they do, and get along great with Brooks. Everyone cleaned up after every work day. We kept a photo log of the entire process, and never had trouble getting photos because of construction equipment or rubble. Brooks was there every day to open up for the crews and kept us involved and informed of everything that was going on, and if there needed to be an adjustment or change. He even spread straw along the construction crew path from the driveway to the basement door to cut down on tracking mud inside! The carpenter, Matt, that Brooks used was fantastic. He framed the entire area, put in the doors and hardware, baseboards and door and window trim. He left the area very clean after every work day. The HVAC team did a wonderful job hiding all the ductwork for the basement AND first floor heat and A/C! Soffits were placed with aesthetics in mind. We needed two soffits in the theater room, and the team made sure they looked balanced and like part of the architecture of the room. We did not use a designer for the project, but made all choices ourselves. Brooks gave us allowances for flooring, tile, cabinetry, a rock wall we asked for, and plumbing fixtures. He told us upfront that his allowances were mid-range in price, so we would know what to expect. He was patient with us in making our choices and worked closely with us if we needed guidance. If we needed to ask for additional work to be done, Brooks made it happen, quickly recalculated costs for us and instructed his crew on the added work. I would highly recommend using Brooks Henderson as a general contractor. He's good at his job and a good guy, too!

Description of Work
We hired Brooks Henderson with Henderson Building Group to be our general contractor on a project to finish out our basement with a theater room, office, full bathroom with tiled in shower, kitchenette and a billiard room. The total finished area was about 1300 square feet, with two unfinished areas for storage, mechanical and workshop. The plumbing, electrical wiring and HVAC work was extensive. Our home has a concrete basement foundation, and there was no existing plumbing for the basement before the project was started. Brooks' plumbing crew had to cut through the slab across the whole basement to place plumbing in our desired areas. There was extensive electrical work done as there was little there previously. The HVAC crew, MTB Mechanical, moved the entire trunk line for the first floor from one side of the staircase to the other side into the workroom area to free up ceiling space, then installed a separate HVAC system just for the basement with a heat pump. HBG matched the window and door casings to our upstairs, as well as the baseboards and doors. The bathroom was finished out with a fully tiled shower with ceramic tile floor. A ceramic tile area was also installed in front of the kitchenette. We had a LOT of lighting installed, cans, ceiling lights, sconces, a chandelier, and fluorescents in the unfinished areas. We used a big box store for the carpet and the kitchenette and bathroom cabinets and countertops. The project was about like building a small house from a shell.

Category ceramic tile, electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, home remodeling, doors, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

[member's name removed], Thank you for the wonderful review. It has truly been a pleasure getting to know you and working with you on this project. I hope you enjoy many years of movies and pool in your new basement. Brooks

5.0

01/10/2014


Vicki H.

Our project turned out even better than we had hoped! We interviewed 3 Angie's ?A? list builders and while HBG's quote was not the least expensive, it was by far the most professional, clearly detailing all costs, materials, and work to be done. We felt comfortable with the price and with Brooks Henderson. The project was estimated to take 6 to 8 weeks, and to our pleasant surprise, it was completed in six! Brooks, his team and subs were a pleasure to work with and made the project an enjoyable experience. All steps were planned and scheduled before any work began. The work area was left neat and orderly at the end of each day. Brooks was on site at least once or twice daily. He kept the project on track and informed us of what would be happening and when. Any minor problems or necessary changes were explained immediately and options discussed. His great crew, Matt & Rob, were skilled, punctual, professional, detail oriented and hardworking. We love our new sunroom and deck! We happily recommend Henderson Building Group and look forward to using them on any future project.

Description of Work
Added a new sunroom to our home and replaced an existing wood deck ~ Sunroom included: Eze-breeze "windows" / Porcelain tile floor / Skylights / Recessed lighting / Electrical outlets / Fan / Gable roof / Beadboard ceiling / Storm door / Railings / Painting / Gutters Deck replacement included: Demolition of old deck and stairs / New AZEK decking, post sleeves and rail caps / Afco aluminum balusters and gate / Painted wood lattice and gate below porch and deck

Category decks, handyman service, remodeling, home builders, woodworking, sunrooms

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member names removed], it was a pleasure working with you! We look forward to the opportunity to work with you in the future.

5.0

08/27/2013


tim j M.

We just used them and we were very satisfied. It was within the last 30 days. I don't recall the final price. The owner was here every morning and during the course of the day. He was very conscientious. He had the appropriate subcontractors. I have recommended them to friends.

Description of Work
I used Henderson Building Group. They replaced siding. They did painting. They fixed the chimney. They replaced the gutters and the boxing around the house.

Category handyman service, masonry, remodeling, home builders, house painters

5.0

10/19/2012


Michael Z.

I interviewed 8 contractors for this project and ended up hiring Henderson Building Group. This was a great decision - the project could not have gone smoother and I attribute that to Brooks Henderson. When he first came to look at the house he was far more detailed and thorough in his assessment than most of the others. He spent plenty of time considering the situation, asked excellent questions, and requested to come back several times with experts before providing his estimate and recommendations. Brooks provided a very thorough proposal document with detailed sections for each component of the job, costs associated with each, a very realistic timeframe, and a payment schedule based on various completion points. His price came in right in the middle of all of the estimates, which is what I look for. I took several weeks to review and consider my top 3 options - during this time Brooks was consistent in his follow up, always helpful with questions and explanations, and never at all pushy. After hiring Brooks, he was so professional in his explanation and handling of the contract and provided copies of his insurance, etc. Unlike many contractors, Brooks is completely honest, never tries to hide anything, and does everything by the book. He handled the permit process and work began on the date we had agreed on...and he finished right on schedule. Brooks was always present to make sure work was on schedule and being done properly. He was the first person here in the morning and the last person to leave and lock up in the evening. He truly I understands how a large project can disrupt your life, and made every effort to minimize that - blocked off work site from rest of house, cleaned up every day, doors were locked when I was gone, and always asked for permission before scheduling work in evenings or on weekends. He was also very friendly and respectful of my family, which goes a long way for me. Every project brings unavoidable surprises that nobody can predict, including mine. Brooks was straightforward and honest when this happened and quickly offered fair solutions to keep things on track. Brooks consistently provided written documentation of work progress, payments, and change orders. I could go on all day about how smooth this project was and how pleased I am with the final result. I will hire Brooks again and do not hesitate to recommend his services to anyone looking for a good contractor. Brooks is an honest man who will treat you and your project with respect. He is a true professional in every aspect and delivers a phenomenal end product. Thanks Brooks!

Description of Work
Total renovation of the lower level of my home, including: - Opening up the space by removing a load-bearing wall and replacing it with steel beam. - Leveling of floors throughout the space with new sub floor in bedrooms/hallway and self-leveling concrete in existing living area. - New tile flooring and carpeting in bedrooms. - New custom wet bar. - Total redo of existing full bathroom. - New doors, hardware, trim, and paint throughout. - Updated electrical and lighting ; whole house wired for indoor/outdoor speakers - New drywall installation and repairs to existing. - Re-routing of existing plumbing to work with new layout. This project required a significant amount of skilled labor due to a very odd layout (part of space was previously a garage), very uneven floors throughout, demolition and replacement of load bearing wall, reworking of electrical and plumbing, and large new tile installation, etc. The scope of this project took 9 weeks from start to completion.

Category carpet installation, ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, doors, mudjacking

Service Provider Response

Thank you Member for hiring Henderson Building Group to complete your home renovation project. It was a pleasure to work with you and to get to know your family. I am sure you will create many lasting memories in you new basement! Please keep in touch! Sincerely, Brooks Henderson

5.0

08/01/2011


joe D.

Quick to schedule and estimate came in fast. Brooks didn't have the lowest quote, but I felt confident that he would do a great job, which he did. Will definitely have him bid on projects down the road. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Excellent work. Rebuilt large front staircase, re floored and steps with tiger-wood, replaced rear porch steps and railings, replaced rotten wood behind gutter, jacked up sinking rear porch and built new masonry columns for support, repainted lots of trim, railings and rear porch floors.

Category decks, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, masonry, remodeling, house painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you member! You are a pleasure to work with. I look forward to working with you again in the future.

5.0

06/14/2011


Matt L.

Everything turned out great. They were extremely responsive, very frie4ndly, and came in under budget. I was very happy with them.

Description of Work
They did a bathroom renovation.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

11/09/2010


MARK A.

Brooks was excellent to work with. He often took care of issues that as was going to discuss with him before I asked. We had some delay on materials which held up the job- but he communicated with me well and got things finished up. If I have any additional needs down the road, Brooks will be my first call. My impression is that Brooks in most interested in major projects such as Kitchen remodels etc, but is willing to do smaller jobs as time permits. Although I put B for price, that is more because I hate to spend money than any reflection on Brooks, I got my moneys worth.

Description of Work
Replaced deck and screened in porch, painted and replaced some trim

Category decks, remodeling, house painters

5.0

09/03/2010


NANCY S.

We had used their services in the past too. They did an excellent job. Mr. Henderson was constantly directing things and overseeing it. He was monitoring the progress and quality throughout. He was making sure that we got an excellent result. He used professional craftsmen for every phase of work that he was doing. He kept us very well informed about the schedule and how things were proceeding relative to that schedule. We had a good contract upfront and he stuck to that completely. We were living here while they were doing the remodeling work. He made sure that the rest of the house was protected and not disturbed. He kept the work area clean. He just did an outstanding job. The people who worked for him were all professional, well trained and highly skilled at what they were doing. I wouldn?t hesitate to use him again. His quote was very competitive compared to the others from whom I received estimates. I would recommend him to others and I would tell people to consider him as the top choice. I would definitely use his services in the future too.

Description of Work
We used the services of Henderson Building Group for a major remodeling of our kitchen, living room and our dining room in the beginning of 2010. They did a complete tear out and changed the kitchen a little bit. They installed all new cabinets, added an additional lighting, new appliances, granite and walnut countertops. They also installed hardwood floors throughout the kitchen, living room and dining room. They textured the ceilings that were scraped off. They removed a built-in cabinet from the living room and added a new built-in to a different part of that room. They did the main highlights.

Category custom cabinets, countertops, handyman service, hardwood floor, lighting, remodeling, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

03/16/2009


NANCY S.

They did their work very well. We got a very good result, and we were extremely pleased. The owner, Henderson, worked with us and helped us. He was very attentive to all the details. He ensured that we got what we wanted. He was always available and responsive. He was here on site overseeing what was done every step of the way.

Description of Work
They turned a screen porch into a sun room.

Category remodeling, sunrooms

    Other local Pros in your area

    Artistic Colors Painting

    We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in painting services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

    Dry Pro Foundation and Crawlspace Specialists

    Dry Pro Foundation and Crawlspace Specialists, founded in 1999, is a subsidiary of Groundworks, a family of companies that offers superior, proven solutions for your foundation repair, structural repair, crawl space encapsulation, dehumidification, and concrete leveling needs. They are a full-service company specializing in residential and commercial foundation repair, waterproofing and concrete repair solutions in the greater Charlotte, North Carolina area and parts of South Carolina. Dry Pro is a recognized accredited member of the Better Business Bureau and devotes its years of experience, industry knowledge and specialized training to help customers protect their homes or commercial buildings from water damage, concrete sinking, and foundation failure.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Tar Heel Basement Systems

    Tar Heel Basement Systems, founded in 2003, is a subsidiary of Groundworks, a family of companies that offers superior, proven solutions for your foundation repair, structural repair, crawl space encapsulation, dehumidification, and concrete leveling needs. Serving North Carolina High Country, Winston-Salem and parts of southwest Virginia, they currently maintain offices in Raleigh and Winston Salem. Tar Heel is a recognized accredited member of the Better Business Bureau and devotes its years of experience, industry knowledge and specialized training to help customers protect their homes or commercial buildings from water damage, concrete sinking, and foundation failure.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Tar Heel Basement Systems on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Additions, sun rooms, kitchen & bathroom remodeling, decks, basement remodeling & home building.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Henderson Building Group LLC

    How is Henderson Building Group LLC overall rated?

    Henderson Building Group LLC is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Henderson Building Group LLC open?

    Henderson Building Group LLC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Henderson Building Group LLC provide

    Henderson Building Group LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Henderson Building Group LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, Henderson Building Group LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does Henderson Building Group LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Henderson Building Group LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Henderson Building Group LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, Henderson Building Group LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Henderson Building Group LLC offer emergency services?

    Yes, Henderson Building Group LLC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Henderson Building Group LLC?

    Yes, Henderson Building Group LLC offers warranties.

    What services does Henderson Building Group LLC offer?

    Henderson Building Group LLC offers the following services: Additions, sun rooms, kitchen & bathroom remodeling, decks, basement remodeling & home building.