Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A STEP BEYOND

Founded 1996 • With Angi since June 2010

4.9

(8) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6532 Tall Oaks Trl

Charlotte, NC 28210

Description

ASB...Custom Carpentry & Remodeling offers more than 25 years of experience in the Custom Construction and Remodeling field....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/14/2014


Jeanne D.

Everything went well. The gentleman showed on time, had a reasonable price, and was very friendly.

Description of Work
He provided an estimate for installing a door.

Category doors

5.0

02/14/2013


LARRY L.

.

Description of Work
.

Category plumbing

5.0

02/12/2013


Rodney P.

We contacted multiple companies prior to closing to solicit bids. We wanted to begin the repairs immediately after moving in. Not only did A Step Beyond provide us a competitve bid, theirs was the only one that provided the line item detail we requested. Additionally, Kevin proved to be extremely professional, engaging, knowledgeable, and responsive. We'll most certainly use A Step Beyond on future home improvement and repair needs.

Description of Work
10 year old home purchased in January 2013. There were several structural issues with the roofing, attic, floor support structure,bathroom showers and toilets, deck etc. Kevin repaired/replaced the following (list not all inclusive): Foundation Walls, Columns, Piers (1) Piers not in contact with the floor framing system. (2) Caulk/seal all pipe penetrations in the foundation and exterior walls (3) Anchor strap/bolt embedded properly (4) Fully engaged anchor bolts along the front wall and front porch. Roof Structure / Framing (1) In attic replaced missing supports for the purlin braces along the left and right side roof slopes and the rear gable end wall ( 2nd floor accesses) and installed them at no more than maximum spacing of 4 feet on center along the purlin brace. Flashing Installed visible kick-out flashing at the bottom junctions of the lower roof slopes and house cladding to prevent water penetration per the siding manufacturer specifications Trim Replaced damaged trim(s) : balcony door. applied caulk/seal door, window, and exterior trims where needed Deck, Deck Rails Ensured at the ends of the deck interior girder properly supported with ledger strips or joist hanger Repaired balcony rails that were loose and unsafe. Steps, Step Rails Installed missing rails along the side of the decks steps that when missing can and may allow step- through or fall through Garage Walls Repaired/replaced loose framing along the garage door walls. Roof Coverings Repaired nail back-out in some of the shingles to prevent damage to the shingles and make the roof be prone to leaks. Water Service Pipe Addressed absence of relief arch where the pipe exits/enters the foundation wall and properly sealed the plumbing pipe relief arches on both sides of the foundation wall to prevent water intrusion Water Heater System Addressed water heater that was not in a plumb / level position Toilet(s) Repaired toilet tank leaks Sinks / Traps Adjusted sink drain plugs for proper function Floors Addressed/eliminated floor "squeaks at entry to master bedroom Attic Evenly distributed insulation in the attic area Venting Systems (Kitchens, Baths and Laundry) Repaiered drip loops in the dryer vent to prevent obstructions in the vent posing a potential fire hazard.

Category decks, handyman service, plumbing, home builders, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

10/02/2012


Anne H.

Very good company. No complaints. Would absolutely recommend. Reasonable pricing too.

Description of Work
Replaced the downspout and gutters to be wider.

Category gutter repair

5.0

09/09/2012


Susan B.

He gave us an estimate in a timely fashion and worked on the project in heat and rain. I would recommend him to anyone.

Description of Work
I know a good bit about construction, since my Father owned a construction company when I was growing up. Kevin Schodorf / “A Step Beyond” is incredible, helpful, considerate, and does great work. We had water damage and damage from the way our house was built. He had to do all kinds of things to help us. For example, he had to replace windows all over the house, fix termite damage, strip 20 year old wallpaper in a bathroom and repaint it/repair walls, fix drain spouts, and replace outside boards, damaged from termites. When I saw what the bathroom walls looked like after the old wallpaper was stripped, I didn’t think anyone could fix it. I came home from work the next day and walked into the bathroom. It was AMAZING. He did such a good job that it looked like I was in someone else’s bathroom! He is also considerate of your personal needs. When I was at work, he did his job AND made sure my dog did not get out. If you are a pet owner, that is a big deal. Bottom line: reasonable prices, considerate about personal needs, and expert work in all kinds of construction problems and areas.

Category siding, home builders, woodworking

4.0

05/30/2012


Roberta K.

They were fine. We didn't let them drill through our back splash tile so we have a lot of wires in our cabinets. He put rope lights up on top. He did a great job putting the can lights in over our bar and on the other side of our Great Room.

Description of Work
They put some electrical lights in for us in our home.

Category electrician, lighting

5.0

05/29/2012


Donna D.

It is great. He is very clean, meticulous and trust worthy. He finds a way to work within my budget if needed. He will work with your schedule.

Description of Work
He has done all kinds of things for me; carpentry, plumbing, electrical, he even built a fence. He does a lot of odd and ends things for me.

Category electrician, fencing, plumbing, woodworking

5.0

12/20/2011


Sam T.

Provided references who spoke well of Kevin and the work he had done for them. One reference even offered to 'hunt Kevin down' should he fail to do the job well. A material deposit was required for this job due to the large amount of material required.Miguel (employee) worked alone completing the entire job himself. He arrived on time each day and let me know when he was not going to be able to come due to attending a function at his child's school. His work was better than those who originally installed the siding on my house and garage. He cleaned up at the end of each day and again after completion of this job. When the job was completed, Kevin and I did a walk-around to review the workmanship before I made the final payment. Kevin guaranteed the workmanship for 2 years.

Description of Work
Replaced all of the vinyl siding including 'J' channel as needed, on my house and detached garage.

Category siding, home builders

    Other local Pros in your area

    Gutter World

    Gutter World has been in business for over 14 years , with offices in three states NC, SC, and OH. The company is built on family values and integrity. We offer quality service at an affordable price. Contact us today about an estimate! 5% discount offered to Military and Seniors.  

    Offers by Gutter World on Angi
    The Brothers That Just Do Gutters

    The Brothers That Just Do Gutters is a fully insured, locally owned and operated. The company was established in 1999. From the beginning, the focus and determination was to create a five-star experience in the home residential and commercial remodeling construction industry. We are committed to our employees and clients throughout every phase of the solution. Call today for a free experience of getting a solution for your gutter or guard project.  

    MyNewFloor.com

    A premier flooring company in the Carolinas, MyNewFloor.com was founded by a talented, design savvy professional with 15 years of experience in designing and installing a variety of flooring products. Our company is built on the principles of honesty, quality, craftsmanship, and a sincere effort to provide 100% customer satisfaction! You can be sure that only our professional, knowledgeable and experienced installers will complete all the work for you. We do not sub-contract any of our projects.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by MyNewFloor.com on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Complete remodel and renovation services.

    Services Not Offered

    HVAC

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A STEP BEYOND

    How is A STEP BEYOND overall rated?

    A STEP BEYOND is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are A STEP BEYOND open?

    A STEP BEYOND is open:

    Sunday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does A STEP BEYOND provide

    A STEP BEYOND accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does A STEP BEYOND offer free estimates?

    Yes, A STEP BEYOND offers free project estimates.

    Does A STEP BEYOND offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, A STEP BEYOND offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does A STEP BEYOND offer a senior discount?

    No, A STEP BEYOND does not offer a senior discount.

    Does A STEP BEYOND offer emergency services?

    Yes, A STEP BEYOND offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by A STEP BEYOND?

    Yes, A STEP BEYOND offers warranties.

    What services does A STEP BEYOND offer?

    A STEP BEYOND offers the following services: Complete remodel and renovation services.

    Are there any services A STEP BEYOND does not offer?

    HVAC