Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

The Deck Dude LLC

Founded 1997 • With Angi since June 2013

4.0

(14) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

330 diamond ave se

Grand Rapids, MI 49506

Description

The Deck Dude LLC is a family run business with over 20 years of experience in all trades. We like to advertise in decks 1st because every one loves their deck! We are available for many different tasks. Our customers tend to use us for many years. We strive to meet your budget while exceeding your expectations! Mention you saw us on Angie's List for a special promotion!...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

01/21/2022


Justin S.

First the Pros: --The Deck Dude can build a beautiful deck. They have an eye for design and overall exhibit good workmanship. When meeting in person they are pleasant enough to work with. The Cons: --Be prepared for some rather extensive project management to get the job done, a fair share of unprofessionalism (particularly in texts and voicemails), multiple no-shows after you rearrange your own schedule to meet, and a project that just might not get completed. --Whatever you do, make sure you withhold a substantial amount of the final payment pending the final walk through and completion of open issues. We made the mistake of bending to the Deck Dude’s repeated requests for cash and left too little for him to bother getting the job done. As a result, our project which started in Nov 2018 is still uncomplete more than three years later. This, with multiple attempts to schedule the wrap up, only to be met with no-shows after commitments had been made. We are left with a mostly complete deck, save for the following: --A $2,600 LED lighting system that never worked --Posts and light fixtures that were never screwed down --Railings that are unsecured and keep springing up --Spongy areas of the deck, including troughs and warped boards. Some of this is due to areas that were never screwed down and framing with joists that exceed the 16.5—17 inches on center that Azek recommends in their installation guides. --Holes with missing plugs In short, be prepared to spend extra money hiring a professional builder to finish the Deck Dude’s work. Note: I alerted the Deck Dude on numerous occasions that I would be filing a complaint with the BBB and posting candid reviews if our issues weren’t resolved. No response to voicemails, texts, and emails.

Description of Work
Deck Build

Category decks

2.0

12/07/2017


Gayla E.

Once he finally showed up--took from August until November before the work was started--everything was fine except he failed to replace a horizontal handrail that had been there previously. Kept putting me off on replacing it until the end of May. Still not done. Reference Western Michigan BBB Complaint Case# 37074011 for complete details. I filed this complaint after he threatened to sue ME for harassment AND wanted $300 to replace just this one board!

Description of Work
Replace rotted boards on back porch & steps; also add a step to raise porch closer to back door threshold.

Category contractors,decks

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you for your comment, we are sorry to hear that you had a less than pleasant experience with The Deck Dude. In this field, as in many lines of construction, there is typically a waiting period before a project can be started. We try our best to maintain open communication with customers if there are any changes to the scheduled start date , understandably so that may yet be frustrating. The handrail that you requested to be replaced was not a part of the original estimate given. A service tech was also sent out on two seperate occassions to replace the preexisting board, unfortunately he received no communication back to actually replace it. We are sorry to hear that you feel the quote given to replace said handrail was to high for your liking, we do have a base service charge for work being done though.
5.0

05/12/2017


Terrance W.

Jonathan is clearly passionate about his craft—that's why I hired him. He walked me through an inspection of his own pointing out technical flaws with the existing build. He gave me a quote right there, and I gave him a downpayment. Contractors like the Deck Dudes are usually in high demand, so it's good to call them in the off-season and try to get on the spring and summer schedules. The small crew worked through the rain and cold to finish the deck in early May. Jon was really responsive, keeping me posted via text messages and phone calls. They did a beautiful job and structurally reinforced the deck as well. I'll enjoy this beautiful and safe deck for years to come.

Description of Work
I had a crumbling deck on our 90s ranch house. Our home inspector suggested the repairs as the staircase was becoming unstable and dangerous, and the rest of the wood deck was splitting and generally in bad shape.

Category decks,deck cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the positive review! Quality is extremely important to us here at The Deck Dude!
5.0

04/08/2017


Heather W.

Jon and his crew were communicative and listened to what I wanted to do with the deck. He offered a very competitive price. Completed the project in a few days. I am very pleased with how it has held up over the past year. I will be using the Deck Dude for a ramp project this summer as I am so pleased with how things went summer.

Description of Work
Deck on front of my house.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the review! It was a pleasure doing business with you and look forward to assisting in any future projects.
5.0

12/26/2015


Debra E.

'It went great. We are so happy with the deck Jon built!.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much! Love working with you. I look forward to seeing you this spring to do a free check up on the deck. Thanks again
5.0

10/14/2015


David M.

I contacted John (The Deck Dude) about helping me design my deck. I wanted to build the deck myself but wanted a professional to design the deck for me which I would purchase the design for a fee. John was very responsive after several companies said they were unwilling to help me. He came over a few days later and we plotted out the dimensions of my deck, sat down and ran through a rough outline. Upon him receiving my payment, he organized the material list, all I had to do was call Home Depot and pay for the materials. Once the lumber was delivered, John came over and laid out the deck plans with spray paint so I could start digging out the holes for the supports. He walked me through the next couple of steps over the phone. John came back in person and help me for over and hour with the next steps. He showed me how to replicate what we did together. From there the deck came together very quickly. Its now complete and we absolutely lover it! I would recommend the Deck Dude to others not only for decks but and general home improvement odds and ends!

Description of Work
John worked with me to design my deck plans and my material list.

Category decks,handyman service,deck cleaning,house painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you. Let me know if there is anything else i can do to help.
5.0

08/19/2015


Laura K.

It went really well. Within days of my initial call, John came to our home and spent over an hour with my husband and and I discussing what we wanted, our time frame and our budget. We received quotes from several contractors and felt John was the best fit for our job. Once we made our decision, he came back to meet with us a second time to finalize the design and pick up a check for half the cost he had quoted. He showed up as scheduled with his crew of two other men and finished our deck in just over a week. I was super impressed with how courteous they all were, and how hard they worked. They spent several very long days even working through lots of rain to finish the job on time. These were all guys I was happy to have at our home. John communicated with us throughout the project and asked questions on our preferences for finish certain areas. He even took it in stride when I accidentally wrote his check for the wrong amount. There were a few design details that were not done perfectly that he later fixed without question. He was great to work with and did a good job at a fair price. I would use him again anytime.

Description of Work
John removed our original, small 10 x 12 deck that had no stairs. He then designed and built a new deck that was 3 times larger with stairs and all new railings. He also built a new platform at our garage entrance.

Category decks,deck cleaning

Service Provider Response

We had a blast working with your family! Thank you for a Great review! Please let me know if there is anything I can do any time for you and your family!
5.0

06/12/2015


jonathan C.

AWSOME! Great communication! All the guys where Pro's! We had to make some changes during the build and Jon from the deck dude made it very easy. They really went out of the way to make sure we where happy. We have already passed his name along to one of our family members to have a deck similar to ours built, and the deck dude gave us a free Deck cleaning service in the spring for the referral.

Description of Work
400+ square foot deck!!

Category decks,deck cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the review! It was a pleasure to do business with you.
5.0

07/30/2014


Lori E.

Description of Work
They removed the old deck, removed the concrete stairs under the deck and replaced it with a brand new, unattached deck. When they built stairs they built them so that they are able to be moved so I can clean the area unimpeded. The stairs are solid, as is the deck. | |It looks amazing and they delivered as promised. I would use them again in a heartbeat.

Category decks,deck cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the work [Removed member name], we loved working with you. Please let me know if there is anything else we can do for you.
5.0

07/27/2013


Kelly E.

Everything went smoothly and professionally. He communicated well and got the job done quickly.

Description of Work
Deck cleaning and staining

Category deck cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the positive review! We really appreciate it and look forward to any future projects we may assist you with.

    Other local Pros in your area

    JMS

    We specialize in handyman services, home repairs, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Jorge B

    As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Archer Tree Service

    Safety is the target at Archer Tree Service. Surrounding that target is a desire to help, deeply rooted from a "Down to Earth" work platform that is subject to change only in the direction of the customer. We primarily deal with Tree Trimming and Removals and offer FREE ESTIMATES!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Satisfaction

    Services Offered

    The Deck Dude has 23+ years of experience in the Trade. New deck construction, old deck restoration, new porch construction and old porch/deck restoration, power-washing, sealing, staining, painting and most other carpentry/restoration related fields. We offer all types of services. From Handy man to full remodels and additions.

    Services Not Offered

    We are smart enough to "Know what we don't know" and have no problem referring some one too you if we cant do your project. After this long we have a lot of good hard working folks in our rolodex that we have worked with and have no problem sharing their info so you can get your job done

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about The Deck Dude LLC

    How is The Deck Dude LLC overall rated?

    The Deck Dude LLC is currently rated 4.1 overall out of 5.

    What days are The Deck Dude LLC open?

    The Deck Dude LLC is open:

    Monday: 5:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Tuesday: 5:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Wednesday: 5:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    What payment options does The Deck Dude LLC provide

    The Deck Dude LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does The Deck Dude LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, The Deck Dude LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does The Deck Dude LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, The Deck Dude LLC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does The Deck Dude LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, The Deck Dude LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Does The Deck Dude LLC offer emergency services?

    Yes, The Deck Dude LLC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by The Deck Dude LLC?

    No, The Deck Dude LLC does not offer warranties.

    What services does The Deck Dude LLC offer?

    The Deck Dude LLC offers the following services: The Deck Dude has 23+ years of experience in the Trade. New deck construction, old deck restoration, new porch construction and old porch/deck restoration, power-washing, sealing, staining, painting and most other carpentry/restoration related fields. We offer all types of services. From Handy man to full remodels and additions.

    Are there any services The Deck Dude LLC does not offer?

    We are smart enough to "Know what we don't know" and have no problem referring some one too you if we cant do your project. After this long we have a lot of good hard working folks in our rolodex that we have worked with and have no problem sharing their info so you can get your job done