Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Freedom Fence and Deck Inc

4.9

(235) Verified Reviews

Founded 2002 • With Angi since February 2011

Business Highlights

Women Owned & OperatedWomen Owned & Operated
Veteran Owned & OperatedVeteran Owned & Operated
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask
Licensed
Trade License Number
87413
Trade License Locale
Maryland
Trade License Authority
Maryland: General
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

414 A Back River Neck Rd

Essex, MD 21221

http://www.freedomfenceanddeck.com
COVID-19 Update
We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.
Holmes

Holmes

decks & porches202021236
Deck,porch,patio

Description

Freedom Fence and Deck specializes in affordable top quality maintenance free decks and fences. We are an owner operated company with zero complaints. We also have earned a A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau. We offer a limited Lifetime Warranty on all our work. Angie's List has awarded us the Super Service Award three years in a row....
Holmes project
Holmes

decks & porches

202021236
Mcnuttle project
Mcnuttle

decks & porches

202021228
Collins project
Collins

decks & porches

202021015

Verified Reviews

4.9

(235) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

207

4

12

3

6

2

2

1

7

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

fence company (211)decks & porches (43)driveway gate installation (27)dog fencing (12)deck cleaning (6)garage building (5)home remodeling (2)woodworking (2)Patios (4)hardscaping (4)drain pipe installation (1)tile installation (1)
Showing 1-10 of 235 reviews
5.0

04/28/2022


Kim G.

Freedom Fence and Deck built us a beautiful 6ft privacy fence. We had and old chain link fence which was removed by them as well. The process was quick, clean, and smooth. From our first meeting with Jim, for an estimate, to completion of our project, it was less than a month. Jim answered all of our questions and made us feel at ease. Brent got us scheduled quickly. The men that came out to do the project were pleasant, quick, and cleaned up the yard when the work was done. Steve was on sight multiple times to answer any questions we had as well as to look over the work that was being done. We could not be more pleased with the service and fence that we got. Everyone at Freedom Fence and Deck has been wonderful to work with. If we should need anything in the future, I would call them right away.

Description of Work
Replacement of chain link fence with a wooden privacy fence

Category fencing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/26/2022

5.0

03/19/2021


Thomas B.

Freedom Fence and Deck will always be our go to company for any fencing needs! This was our second time using them and just like our first fence install they did not disappoint. From their super knowledgeable sales team (Brian), to their install team, and even their owners (Steve), they all played a part into why they are Maryland’s #1 Fence and Deck company. We had nearly 500 feet of fence installed (50% on a severe slope) and not only did they do an amazing job but they were able to complete everything in just two days. If you’re looking for a reliable company that ensures every project (big or small) is finished to perfection, I would highly recommend checking them out.

Description of Work
Fence Install

Category fencing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/08/2021

Images

Review for Freedom Fence and Deck Inc - 414 A Back River Neck Rd, Essex, MD - 39256602

+1 More

3.0

02/23/2021


Irene L.

Representative was very friendly and made an appointment to come to our home to put together an estimate. He was very knowledgeable about fencing, materials, etc. I was impressed with the sample materials that he brought to demonstrate the quality of their product. He also explained that, since they do things the right way, their company's estimate would undoubtedly be higher than the others I would receive. Fair enough--I appreciated being told upfront. I also understand that you get what you pay for. But, everything in life is a cost-benefit analysis. After assuring the rep we would be in contact once we made a decision, he stated that he definitely would not be hassling me to pressure me into going with his company. As it turns out, of the many companies that I reached out to, this rep kept badgering me with more and more messages. Other companies might send one or two follow up emails, but this guy was persistent! Even after gently informing him that it is simply not in our budget (their quote was $3700 more than two of the lower bids we received), he would still send messages telling me how our fence wouldn't last since we are going with a subpar company. I have no doubt they do excellent work, but they also need to respect that customers are going to request multiple quotes and not everyone is able to go with their company

Description of Work
Fencing the backyard

Category fencing

Work Completed On 02/23/2021

5.0

02/11/2021


Jim B.

Great experience from start to finish. Estimator was on time and knowledgeable. The office staff was very helpful for all my questions. The crew was friendly, professional and speedy. Would recommend 100% .

Description of Work
Deck on back of the house

Category decks

Cost $7,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/11/2021

5.0

01/19/2021


Jeff L.

Brian came and gave to give us an estimate on a deck replacement. The project ended up not being a fit for his company since we are interested in a roof deck. However, he was extremely knowledgeable and professional - including being upfront about what they could and couldn’t do for us. I’d certainly contact them again for future projects since I was extremely impressed from talking with them.

Description of Work
Deck replacement

Category decks

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/19/2021

1.0

10/18/2020


Mike P.

Did not go at all, they replied that they do not do repair only do deck design and build. Did not bother to give any sort of estimate.

Description of Work
replace decking, add stairs, stair rail, sand off writing on lumber, stain and clean up after words.

Category decks,deck cleaning

Work Completed On 10/18/2020

3.0

08/19/2020


Mark G.

Didn't hire , their estimate was double what other companies were

Description of Work
Deck and fence

Category decks,fencing

Work Completed On 08/19/2020

5.0

08/19/2020


J Paul R.

We had a very difficult jobsite. LOT of rock. On a slope. It took a while for them to get here (good companies are always busy!). Worth the wait. Crew arrived on time, worked clean, finished up on schedule and as expected. Quality was fantastic (higher grade boards, better concrete, set posts then come back the next day to do the main part b/c the posts need to set up). The owner visited the job site on the day they started and the day they finished. Really impressive commitment to the process. Every piece of this - from the sales guy to the billing to the crew was outstanding. Extremely pleased and would hire these guys again without any hesitation.

Description of Work
150' of fencing with one gate

Category fencing,dog fence

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/27/2020

Images

Review for Freedom Fence and Deck Inc - 414 A Back River Neck Rd, Essex, MD - 38809629
5.0

07/13/2020


Pamela D.

It went well, the wait for an installation date seemed a little long but that was due to thing being shut down due to the outbreak of the Coronavirus. But when they called they came out the next day, and they did an excellent job!

Description of Work
White pvc vinyl privacy fence installed.

Category fencing

Cost $4,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/09/2020

Images

Review for Freedom Fence and Deck Inc - 414 A Back River Neck Rd, Essex, MD - 38713743

+2 More

5.0

06/25/2020


Courtney C.

6 foot privacy fence for small 100 hours gf

Description of Work
Excellent! We are so pleased with our new privacy fence! It’s beautiful and just what we wanted! The best cost, product, salespeople and website out of at least 4 other fencing companies we received estimates from. Hired them in May. Extended wait time to schedule installation due to Covid restrictions. So, job was scheduled for June. The crew was courteous when they arrived first thing and worked incredibly fast and efficient! We watched from our kitchen. They started at about 8:45 and were finished before 2:00pm. We now have the privacy to enjoy our garden in the city like we have always wanted. Definitely recommend. Thank you!

Category fencing

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/08/1970

Services Offered

Decks. Fences. Pavers. Screened room. Additions.

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
MasterCard, Check, Visa, American Express, Financing Available
Senior Discount
10%
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Freedom Fence and Deck Inc

How is Freedom Fence and Deck Inc overall rated?

Freedom Fence and Deck Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

What days are Freedom Fence and Deck Inc open?

Freedom Fence and Deck Inc is open:

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

What payment options does Freedom Fence and Deck Inc provide

Freedom Fence and Deck Inc accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Check, Visa, American Express, Financing Available

Does Freedom Fence and Deck Inc offer free estimates?

Yes, Freedom Fence and Deck Inc offers free project estimates.

Does Freedom Fence and Deck Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

No, Freedom Fence and Deck Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Does Freedom Fence and Deck Inc offer a senior discount?

No, Freedom Fence and Deck Inc does not offer a senior discount.

Does Freedom Fence and Deck Inc offer emergency services?

Yes, Freedom Fence and Deck Inc offers emergency services.

Are warranties offered by Freedom Fence and Deck Inc?

Yes, Freedom Fence and Deck Inc offers warranties.

What services does Freedom Fence and Deck Inc offer?

Freedom Fence and Deck Inc offers the following services: Decks. Fences. Pavers. Screened room. Additions.