Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Certified Inc

4.9

(879) Verified Reviews

Founded 1984 • With Angi since March 2005

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021

Business Highlights

Veteran Owned & OperatedVeteran Owned & Operated
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Wears MaskWears Mask
Licensed
Trade License Number
MD46336 / VA2705132510
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

9520 BERGER RD

Columbia, MD 21046

http://certifiedinc.com
COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We complete exterior work only (No need to enter home)
We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.
Roof Project in Columbia Maryland!

Roof Project in Columbia Maryland!

roofing202221046
The customer called in early March, we replaced the roof about 2 weeks after initially meeting with him and his wife.

Description

Repairs only for pre-existing roof customers. No repair of roofs installed by other companies. Conveniently located in Highland, Maryland, and Vienna, Virginia. Locally family owned & operated. Award winning. For the past 30 years, Certified Inc. has offered the Washington DC Metropolitan area the highest quality workmanship and unmatched level of expertise in specialty metal, shingle, slate, cedar shake, and flat roofing installation. Ask us about a HAIL DAMAGE inspection for $39.95. Certified Inc. is known for its skilled craftsmen and their attention to detail. All of the professional roofers, estimators, and project managers have completed thousands of hours of training from the largest manufacturers of roofing products. We strive for 100% satisfaction. The training and certifications we earned allow us to live up to this goal. We are confident we will far exceed your expectations on your next roofing, siding, window, or gutter project. Certified Inc. fabricates its own sheet metal, flashings, custom gutters, standing seam metal pans, and any other roof related accessory needed for the completion of a new roof. Although we have completed many large commercial, industrial, religious and educational projects, the majority of our work is the installation of new & replacement roofs on residential homes. Certified Inc. does not perform repairs to roofs, siding, windows, or gutters. Licensed in MD, DC, and VA....

Verified Reviews

4.9

(879) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

786

4

57

3

20

2

4

1

12

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

roofing (837)gutter repair (168)skylight installation (77)siding companies (66)general contractors (24)window replacement (20)gutter cleaning (11)chimney repair (9)insulation (8)electrician (8)handyman (6)awnings (5)
Showing 1-25 of 879 reviews
5.0

08/20/2021


Jaime J.

This company is Amazing! My husband and I needed to replace our 20 year old roof. We had heard so many great things about Certified, Inc., and their great customer service and quality of work; so we called. The crew was so friendly and knowledgeable and before they left they made sure the yard was completely cleaned up and that we were happy with the installation. I would recommend this company to anyone..they are no pressure, they took the time explain everything and they are honest! Thank you so much..I love my roof!

Description of Work
Roof replaced

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/02/2021

5.0

03/04/2021


Joan N.

This was my second roofing experience with Certified --- and I would use them again, as needed, because I was completely satisfied just like the first time! "Jay" was good at assessing the job and pricing it out. Javier and his assistant were especially courteous, efficient and good at cleaning up the yard afterward. I would whole-heartedly recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
Roofing over single-story breakfast room.

Category roofing

Cost $2,430

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/24/2021

5.0

02/09/2021


Lindsay M.

Certified Inc. is fabulous. They replaced the roof of our 3-unit condo building about 5 years ago and did a great job. So this past fall, when we had an unrelated leak due to a hole in one of our gutters, we knew just who to call. Jay from Certified took special care in ensuring that they did a thorough inspection and didn't quote us for unnecessary work. In fact, he even looked through old company records and discovered that Certified had done work on our gutter 6 or 7 years ago -- work that pre-dated all of the current owners of the building and that none of us were aware of. As a result, he said that all work on the gutter, and all repairs to the ceiling that was damaged by the leak, would be covered under the warranty for that prior job. They came and completed the work without any hassle and we didn't have to pay a cent. Certified is a stand up company and we recommend them highly.

Description of Work
Patching hole in gutter, repairing damage to ceiling from leak

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/27/2021

5.0

01/14/2021


Michael F.

I received my quote from Jay who was obviously very knowledgeable and less of a salesman than the representatives of other companies. The quote he gave me was middle of the pack, but was given on an actual signable contract detailing the whole process. This was in sharp contrast due to other quotes (e.g. a handwritten number on a blank piece of paper, or a basic $X for this shingle, $Y for this shingle). The quote also included quotes for all the options (new gutters, new skylights, etc.) which I didn't ask for but were nice to have. I ended up getting the skylights replaced anyway. Jay was also responsive to questions I had when another company began bargaining to get my business. They eventually made a very comparable offer, but the peace of mind of having a contract and the lack of salesmanship made me choose Certified. I got the quote just before Christmas due to signs of a leak appearing on a ceiling. The holidays are an awkward time to get work done, and I was worried that I would be waiting a long time, but I received notice on the first Monday after the holiday break that the materials would be delivered the next day and work would begin the day after that. The work took about a day and a half, with the workers showing up promptly at 7:30 AM both days, right when they said they would. They worked quickly but to my eyes everything was done by the book. Only time will tell with a roof. They cleaned up afterwards, and I have not found any nails or other metal bits, just a few pieces of old shingle and some plastic. The roof and flashing look good, and all points in the contract were completed. My only complaint is that there appear to be two different sizes of flashing used, and there is one long run where the two different sizes meet that doesn't look great aesthetically (though they are connected via a silicone caulk, so I don't worry about the functionality). There could be a reason for this that I don't know about.

Description of Work
Roof replacement

Category roofing,skylights

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/06/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to communicate about your experience of replacing your roof. It is our pleasure to know that you are satisfied with the work that was performed and the professionalism of our teams. We appreciate the feedback. Please call us again if you have another roofing, siding, gutter or window project. You will get the same level of service.
5.0

01/12/2021


Clare M.

Sales agent was VERY thorough in explanation of roofing materials and venting system, installation and warranties for the product. He did a complete inspection of roof, inside attic and outside. The receptionist was also very responsive in setting up the appointments for roof an gutter installation. Roof looks great!

Description of Work
New roof, gutters replaced

Category gutter repair,roofing,drain pipe

Cost $7,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/23/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to communicate about your experience of replacing your roof. It is our pleasure to know that you are satisfied with the work that was performed and the professionalism of our teams. We appreciate the feedback. Please call us again if you have another roofing, siding, gutter or window project. You will get the same level of service.
5.0

12/28/2020


Michael Z.

My house had a built-up roof at the end of its serviceable life and an aging skylight. I consulted several roofers experienced in flat roofs and opted for Certified because Tom, the owner, and Steve were extremely knowledgeable and direct and the quote was competitive. They explained the options, recommended TPO, and explained its advantages over the alternatives. Tom and Steve were subsequently very patient with me, answering all of my questions over a couple calls and honoring the price in their original proposal despite my lengthy procrastination. While I didn’t observe the work itself, the estimate was a one-day project but the work team ended up coming back for a few hours on a second day, by which I infer they were attentive to doing the job right.

Description of Work
Residential flat roof replacement

Category roofing,skylights

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/03/2020

5.0

11/21/2020


Charles M.

I highly recommend Certified, Inc., Columbia, Maryland for any roof projects. They worked on my house in October, 2020, and installed a beautiful, EcoStar synthetic slate on my house's 6600 square foot roofing area. The workmen were very prompt everyday, showing up to work at 0730. The foreman answered all my questions and was very receptive to any requests. He managed his team in a professional manner and the team worked together overcoming any difficulties. They cleaned the site after they finished each day, and prepared the site for any possible weather situations. The owner of Certified, Inc. visited the work site daily and also answered all the questions. He did not expect any payment until the project was finished and I was satisfied. It was a superb job. I would highly recommend Certified, Inc. for any roofing projects.

Description of Work
Replaced the roof with EcoStar synthetic slate

Category roofing

Cost $89,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/16/2020

5.0

11/13/2020


Victoria P.

When I needed a new roof replaced, I received quotes from 3 different companies. All 3 provided similar pricing, but Certified Inc gave the most detailed pricing and was the only company that has special training and certification from CertainTeed. The crew did an excellent job and I appreciated the thorough clean up of all debris after the job was completed. Would recommend.

Description of Work
Roof and skylights replaced.

Category roofing,skylights

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/22/2020

5.0

11/02/2020


andrea L.

The work was started as promised and completed on time. The contractor kept us informed of the project and did an excellent job. I would highly recommend this company for their professionalism, communication and keeping us under our budget!

Description of Work
Metal roof for stable

Category awnings,roofing

Cost $6,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/27/2020

5.0

10/14/2020


Timothy F.

Tom, Steve and the whole team at Certified were terrific. We needed to replace our roof before installing a solar array, and they got the job done in record time without skimping on quality or professionalism. The new roof looks great and I would definitely recommend them to anyone in the DMV.

Description of Work
Full roof replacement

Category gutter repair,roofing

Cost $8,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/25/2020

5.0

08/24/2020


Tracy P.

This project was handled exceptionally well by the experts at Certified. Tom Keehn responded very quickly and He quickly impressed me as an honest man who was there to do the job right. I received three proposals and Certified’s price was very competitive. Based upon my confidence in Tom Keehn (and the company’s excellent reviews) I selected them for the job. Scheduling was quick and exactly as promised. The foreman of the job was very experienced and an excellent communicator. Just as we were told, the job took about a day and a half. Upon completion, they cleaned up our property so it looked better than it had when they arrived. This is an excellent company. If you need a new roof, I highly recommend that you contact Tom Keehn at Certified. They will not disappoint.

Description of Work
New roof installation

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/22/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to communicate about your experience of replacing your roof. It is our pleasure to know that you are satisfied both with the work that was performed and the effort to clean up when the project was finished. We appreciate the feedback. Please call us again if you have another roofing, siding, gutter or window project. You will get the same level of service.
5.0

08/24/2020


Robert T.

They exceeded my expectations. I thought I would schedule it and it would get done a few months later. Instead, they replaced the roof the following week and the windows a few weeks after that. The work they did looks great. The roof was completed the same day as were the windows. The crews were on time and were very professional.

Description of Work
Roof replacement and window replacement

Category roofing,replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/22/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to communicate about your experience of replacing your roof and windows. It is our pleasure to know that you are satisfied with the work that was performed and the professionalism of our teams. We appreciate the feedback. Please call us again if you have another roofing, siding, gutter or window project. You will get the same level of service.
5.0

07/02/2020


Rachel A.

Certified replaced our roof and installed two new skylights. The experience from the initial consultation to the final outcome was top shelf--and the quote highly competitive. Some highlights of the job included a detailed quote with several options to make value comparisons across multiple bids easier, a detailed description of the work to be done and an explanation of how, responsive answers to follow-up questions, CERTAINTEED's five-star warranty, and an attentive and professional crew that took care of my property as if it where their own house. This was a big job that spanned two days. The crew arrived on time, worked efficiently yet with care, and cleaned up the site before leaving on both days. The foreman consulted w/me before and during the job, taking special care to place the skylights right where I wanted them and to keep the interior of that room clean. I would not hesitate to recommend this company to friends or colleagues. From the owner (who came out to meet me) right down to the crew, the Certified team was a class act.

Description of Work
Roof replacement and skylight installation

Category roofing,skylights

Cost $17,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/02/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to communicate about your experience of replacing your roof. It is our pleasure to know that you are satisfied both with the work that was performed and the effort to clean up when the project was finished. We appreciate the feedback. Please call us again if you have another roofing, siding, gutter or window project. You will get the same level of service.
5.0

06/02/2020


Kayla N.

Certified Inc. replaced my 80 year old metal flat roof with a new TPO roof in May 2020. When getting an estimate from Certified, Tom explained the process and the recommended roofing system in great detail. He also responded to my follow up questions quickly. After doing some research on different roofing systems, I decided to go with the TPO roof for it's environmental friendly qualities. The team who replaced my roof worked quickly and did a good job of cleaning up after they completed the work. I received pictures of the roof after the work was completed. Every staff person I came into contact with was friendly. Only time will tell me the overall quality of the roof/work done. But I can say I am pleased with the process of getting my roof installed with Certified, Inc.

Description of Work
Flat Roof Replacement

Category awnings,roofing

Cost $9,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/26/2020

Images

Review for Certified Inc - 9520 BERGER RD, Columbia, MD - 38616714

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to communicate about your experience of replacing your roof. It is our pleasure to know that you are satisfied with the work that was performed and thank you for adding the photo of when the project was finished. We appreciate the feedback. Please call us again if you have another roofing, siding, gutter or window project. You will get the same level of service.
5.0

05/28/2020


Travis W.

It was a great experience working with them

Description of Work
replace roof

Category awnings,roofing

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/28/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to communicate about your experience of replacing your roof. It is our pleasure to know that you are satisfied with the work that was performed. We appreciate the feedback. Please call us again if you have another roofing, siding, gutter or window project. You will get the same level of service.
5.0

05/22/2020


Melisa R.

Steve was very personable and his crew was on time, efficient, and professional. I would definitely recommend this company for their roofing expertise.

Description of Work
Roof replacement

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/19/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to communicate about your experience of replacing your roof. It is our pleasure to know that you are satisfied with the work that was performed. We appreciate the feedback. Please call us again if you have another roofing, siding, gutter or window project. You will get the same level of service.
5.0

04/03/2020


mary M.

All went smoothly from the time we contacted Certified through the roof replacement being completed. Owner, Tom Keehn was great to work with. Everything went as expected; materials delivered on time, work completed day scheduled (in even in less time than anticipated), professional and job well done. A pleased customer.

Description of Work
Roof replacement and gutter guards installed

Category gutter repair,roofing

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/31/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to communicate about your experience of replacing your roof. It is our pleasure to know that you are satisfied both with the work that was performed and the effort to be prompt with our scheduling. We appreciate the feedback. Please call us again if you have another roofing, siding, gutter or window project. You will get the same level of service.
5.0

03/21/2020


Aishu A.

Overall very happy with the work they have done. The crew arrived on time and was very professional and efficient. The foreman was very thorough and kept us informed every step of the way. The office manager was also helpful and responded to my questions in a timely manner.

Description of Work
Replacing roof

Category roofing

Cost $11,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/18/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to communicate about your experience of replacing your roof. It is our pleasure to know that you are satisfied both with the work that was performed and the effort to be prompt with our communication. We appreciate the feedback. Please call us again if you have another roofing, siding, gutter or window project. You will get the same level of service.
5.0

03/20/2020


Stewart S.

The entire process from getting a competitive quote from Tom to having the new roof and gutters installed was very professional. Showed up when scheduled and completed project one day early. Great communication throughout the project and Certified Inc. is one of the few contractors that qualify for Certainteed's 5-Star, 50-Year Warranty. We have already recommended Certified, Inc. to others in our neighborhood looking to replace their roofs.

Description of Work
Installed new roof and gutters

Category gutter repair,roofing

Cost $16,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/16/2020

Images

Review for Certified Inc - 9520 BERGER RD, Columbia, MD - 38454292

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to communicate about your experience of replacing your roof. It is our pleasure to know that you are satisfied both with the work that was performed and the effort to communicate effectively from start to finish. We appreciate the feedback. Please call us again if you have another roofing, siding, gutter or window project. You will get the same level of service.
5.0

02/28/2020


Helen B.

Fantastic! Great service.Professional and courteous. They cleaned up everyday...would highly recommend!

Description of Work
New shake roof

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/20/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to communicate about your experience of replacing your roof. It is our pleasure to know that you are satisfied both with the work that was performed and the effort to clean up when the project was finished. We appreciate the feedback. Please call us again if you have another roofing, siding, gutter or window project. You will get the same level of service.
5.0

01/07/2020


Jan P.

Everything went as well as could be expected. Responsive crew.

Description of Work
replacement roof

Category roofing

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/07/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to communicate about your experience of replacing your roof. An "A" grade illustrates that you are satisfied with the work which is such a pleasure to know. We appreciate the feedback. Please call us again if you have another roofing, siding, gutter or window project. You will get the same level of service.
5.0

12/30/2019


Won C.

Overall, Certified Incorporated did an excellent job of removing and replacing three different parts of the roof, including some new gutters, of a very old row-house in Washington DC: the mansard, porch roof, and garage roof. For this work I give Certified an “A” overall. It took Certified about 5 work days to complete this work. Despite some setbacks and delays due to rain, very cold weather, and the Christmas holidays, Tom, Javier, and his crew scheduled these work days efficiently to complete the job as quickly as possible taking into consideration the impact of weather on the installation of the different roofs. (Apparently TPO roofs are recommended to be installed in weather above 40-50 degrees.) Given the winter weather conditions, Certified got the job done within about a week of its original scheduled completion date. In addition, I appreciated that Certified does not take any deposit or payment until they complete their job to the customer’s satisfaction, which demonstrates that Certified is dedicated to completing its work quickly and confident about the quality of service it provides. I highly recommend Certified for high quality professional roofing work. On the mansard roof, Certified’s Javier led the work (with Orlando), completely pulling out all of the old shingles down to the wood and replacing the rotted wood on the dormers and around the gutters. Javier was amazing—I now call him Superman: he worked in very difficult situations and extreme cold weather from 8:45am to about 5-6pm (after sundown) to get the job done meticulously in three days with short breaks for lunch. The mansard roof and dormers are better than what I expected. In addition to the high quality shingles, they carefully added a winter guard below the shingles and flashings on the dormers and along the outer walls. I feel very confident about the integrity of the mansard roof and all of the gutters of my row-house. When the work was completed each day, all of the roofing materials and debris were placed neatly in a pile, which Certified hauled away when it completed all of the work. On the garage and porch roof, Certified recommended the TPO roofing system. This work was delayed a few days due to cold weather, until we had weather that was in the 40s and 50s, which went into the holiday season—Certified’s crew worked on Christmas Eve to install the TPO roof and the day after Christmas to put in the gutters. One issue that arose was that during this period the main foreman for TPO roofing was on vacation, which was an issue since 9 members of the crew seemed to show up without any obvious manager and I had a hard time finding someone who would communicate the work they were doing and issues that may arise. This caused problems on my old porch roof since the TPO roof was installed on top of my old gutters, which were supposed to be replaced—I think it would have been easier to pull out the old gutters when the old roof was taken out and when the old gutters were exposed. On the next work day the crew that came in to put in the new gutters had some difficulty pulling out the old gutters around the porch roof that had probably been there for a 100 years and now also had to deal with the drip edge on top and the delicate rafters below. That said, this is an old house and probably a unique situation and I called Tom to raise these concerns and he did respond by sending over Javier to discuss the impact on the porch roof. Certified managed to do an excellent job putting in new gutters after a painstaking effort to remove the old gutters. I thought the gutter installers were very skilled in their craft. Ultimately, I was very satisfied with the professional work that Certified employees provided and I highly recommend Certified for shingles, roofing, and gutters.

Description of Work
Replacing and repairing the Mansard, porch roof, garage roof, and gutters

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/18/2019