Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Welsh Roofing Co LLC

5.0

(80) Verified Reviews

Founded 1983 • With Angi since September 2005

Licensed
Trade License Number
24633
Trade License Locale
Maryland
Trade License Authority
Maryland: General
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

1113 Hawlings Rd

BROOKEVILLE, MD 20833

www.welshroofingcompany.com

Description

Your home and its improvement may be the biggest investment you'll ever make, and you'll want to do everything possible to protect that investment. Welsh Roofing understands that the last thing you want to worry about is a leaky roof. Welsh Roofing has been helping families keep their investment in secure shape for over 30 years. The secret to our success is and always will be "quality workmanship" and "a guarantee of satisfaction"....

Verified Reviews

5.0

(80) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

78

4

0

3

1

2

0

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

roofing (77)gutter repair (16)skylight installation (7)siding companies (4)
Showing 1-25 of 80 reviews
5.0

04/29/2019


timothy W.

The estimate: Greg Welsh came out on time and did a thorough physical inspection of the roof. He gave a detailed explanation of the leak I had and the condition of the roof. He repaired the leak while here but said no charge if we replaced the roof which we were leaning toward doing before he came out. The estimate given was more than fair, straight forward, truthful, experienced, knowledgeable, and friendly without any overblown jibber jabber. He said he would come by the day of the job to check on things. No money changed hands at this time. Just a job promised to be done and payment promised when it was done. The job: Welsh came out and beat the time frame promised. I requested, if possible, an earlier date and they came through. Not expected, but pleasantly surprised. They arrived early in the morning as expected. An entire crew (like 6-8 guys including the owner) of workers started by laying tarps around the entire outside of the house to catch debris. Many big trucks danced around to perform different tasks such as loading roof material, taking away debris, etc. Greg Welsh came by as promised to check on the job. All that was discussed was done and I checked the boxes. The underlayment of Winterguard, the drip edge, the lifetime shingles in Burnt Sienna, the swift start shingles and hip and ridge shingles to enhance wind resistance to 130mph. 9 pieces of plywood were needed to replace wood that was delaminating and damaged by water. They had plenty on hand to keep the job moving. At around 1 or 2pm they had completed the entire job and cleaned up like it never happened except of course that the roof was beautiful and new. Impression: If everyone operated on the level that this company does, i.e. straight forward honesty, integrity, skill, knowledge, experience, efficiency, the world would certainly be a better place. We can really say it was a joy to have hired Welsh for our roofing job from start to finish. They make it so simple and straight forward it's unreal that you can actually get someone that operates like you can only dream of. Many thanks to Welsh and crew!

Description of Work
Remove and replace shingle roof

Category roofing

Cost $15,155

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/10/2019

Images

Review for Welsh Roofing Co LLC - 1113 Hawlings Rd, BROOKEVILLE, MD - 37852254

+5 More

5.0

04/12/2019


Michael H.

It went well, the tech arrived and confirmed what was to be done and the pricing. He made a quick trip to get some supplies and then got the work done right away.

Description of Work
I needed the rake fascia metal replaced on one side of my house

Category roofing

Cost $375

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/29/2019

5.0

03/21/2019


Zak S.

Welsh Roofing installed my new 2,400 square foot roof on March 20, 2019. I found them first in Howard County's Best Pick Report, and then cross-referenced with Angie's List. I got two other estimates, and Welsh was the least expensive. I dealt exclusively with Jack for the entire project. He came out and provided the initial estimate and was onsite for the majority of the installation. Jack was a pleasure to deal with. He responded quickly to my questions and worked with me to schedule the install at a time convenient for me. Jack and his 5-man crew showed up on-time at 7AM and began to strip the roof. Everything around the perimeter of the house was covered to protect from falling debris — shrubs, air conditioner, deck. Deck and patio furniture were moved out of the way. The shingles were delivered and craned onto the roof by 9AM. They worked throughout the day. The roof was installed, site cleaned up, and everyone gone by 4PM. No damage to the lawn, landscaping, or any other part of the house. The project went exactly as it was promised. I am completely satisfied. I would use Welsh again, and would recommend them to others.

Description of Work
New roof - 2,400 square feet

Category roofing

Cost $8,975

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/20/2019

Images

Review for Welsh Roofing Co LLC - 1113 Hawlings Rd, BROOKEVILLE, MD - 37773528
5.0

12/14/2018


Ralph and Patricia S.

They're outstanding! Very professional, prompt, quality of work all surpasses what we expected and I have nothing but praise for them. I will highly recommend and use them, again.

Description of Work
Complete Roof Replacement

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/14/2018

5.0

12/11/2018


Louis F.

They did a great job. They were prompt and he knew his stuff. He explained the options and helped us decide what kind of roof we wanted. He was very accommodating with scheduling when the roof went on. They cleaned up well and I couldn't be happier. I would highly recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
They replaced the roof and skylights on my home. They also replaced the gutters.

Category gutter repair,roofing,skylights

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/21/2018

5.0

11/26/2018


Gene J.

It perfect. Everything was done by email. They did a great job. I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Power Roof vent

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/16/2018

5.0

11/18/2018


Kathleen S.

A roof leak was discovered in August, made several calls to roofers only to be told they either were only doing repairs for existing customers or not at all, finally found Welsh through friends. Welsh came out the next day to assess the leak and recommended a stop gap repair until the roof could be replaced. The repair was done quickly. There were no signs of it leaking after the repair. The roof was replaced by Welsh as soon as they had an opening 2 months later. We got several other estimates that were much higher for the exact same shingles and scheduling further out. The work was all done in one day, we had a Certainteed shingle system installed. It looks good and we no longer hear the rain on the roof and there are no signs of leaking. Not being roof experts, we can't know for sure about the quality but there are lots of warranties from both Welsh and Certainteed. Overall, it was a good experience. The company is very busy and having some office support would help with communication.

Description of Work
Roof repaired and later, replaced

Category roofing

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/18/2018

Images

Review for Welsh Roofing Co LLC - 1113 Hawlings Rd, BROOKEVILLE, MD - 37560084
5.0

11/16/2018


Tai & Nina N.

The service was great. They did a great job and we are very happy.

Description of Work
They replaced our roof

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/15/2018

5.0

11/16/2018


Mrs. M.

They are excellent. They really work with their customer. They were able to sit me in timely. They were very honest, professional and they cleaned up well. I would recommend them.

Description of Work
They replaced my roof.

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/25/2018

5.0

11/07/2018


Peggy B.

I was very satisfied with it. He did the job and came back and make sure everything was okay. I would definitely recommend him because he was very pleasant. It was a fair price.

Description of Work
I had a new roof, new attic, and new skylight put on.

Category roofing,skylights

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/28/2018

5.0

11/06/2018


Mark E.

Job went well. The came out on such short notice. during a storm

Description of Work
Roof repair

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/15/2018

5.0

10/26/2018


Nick M.

It was great. We were really happy with the work. They were able to do it right away, cleaned up well afterwards, easy to communicate with. We haven't had any issues and I've recommended them to other people.

Description of Work
Complete roof installation.

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/07/2018

5.0

10/24/2018


Mr. H.

It went very well. The owner jack came by and gave me a price, I had already checked around and he was willing to match my price. they showed up the next day to start work, in under 24 hours. They showed up on time and did a good job.

Description of Work
They replaced a 25 year old roof

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/01/2018

5.0

10/24/2018


Ilene T.

They did an amazing job and they had a great team of people. I would definitely use them again and I am already recommending them to others.

Description of Work
They replaced the roof on my house.

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/04/2018

5.0

07/12/2018


Francesco P.

I hired Welsh roofing after getting about 1/2 dozen estimates and doing a pretty detailed search on provider background. They were not the cheapest I found but they were on the more competitive end of the spectrum. They also provided the best value in that I found that they provided detailed quotes that specified exactly what was to be done and with what materials. I also liked the fact that they were the only contractor who went on the roof to make the estimate and there was no attempt (like there was with some others) to sell me new siding or new gutters. The day of the installation there was a chance of afternoon showers and they came right on time and got right to work. I was home the whole time they installed and I was impressed by how fast they worked and it appeared to me that they were very attentive in laying the new felt/edging etc and in the installation of the shingles. After they finished they cleaned everything up including going over my sidewalk and drive way with a magnet. I was really impressed with them, I will certainly look to use them again.

Description of Work
Roof Replacement

Category roofing

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/09/2018

5.0

06/03/2018


Joan S.

I selected 5 roofers from Consumers Checkbook in my area with good reviews and received proposals from 4 of them. (Did not reach the 5th one.) Welsh was the lowest. A normal rule of thumb is to reject the highest and lowest, but I read all the reviews on Welsh on Angie's List and decided to go with him. He also seemed friendly and easy to talk to. (I dealt with Greg, the father.) All the contractors recommended the same product: CertainTeed's Integrity roof system. They disagreed about the best underlayment, and after researching underlayments, I decided that the pros and cons of each were too difficult to figure out, so I decided to use whichever one each contractor recommended. Welsh prefers CertainTeed's Roofer's Select felt. One consideration was that Welsh uses a dump truck rather than a dumpster, which might damage the driveway. My driveway has brick pavers and there is an adjoining flagstone patio. When the shingles were delivered, Welsh made sure that the truck driver did not place his outriggers (the things that stabilize the crane) on the pavers or flagstone. He and his crew arrived before 7:00 am and worked until almost 6:00 pm, completing the job in one day. I have an upper-middle-class sized house. I'm reaffirming Welsh's top ratings on Angie's List. A word of advice: Stay away from any contractor that insists on both spouses being present when providing the estimate. That tells you they are all about high pressure sales and will pressure you into signing for an inflated price without getting competitive bids. The previous year, I had made 2 appointments through salesmen which were later cancelled after someone in charge called and was unable to persuade me that both spouses must be present. None of the 4 contractors that gave me proposals this year cared about whether my spouse would be present.

Description of Work
Roof Replacement

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/12/2018

5.0

05/16/2018


Eugene L.

Excellent! Welsh Roofing has been in business for 30+ years and have known them entire time as neighbors and family have been using them. Finally had opportunity to use them as I needed my 24 year old roof replaced. Approximately 4 years ago, when my roof was 20 years old, had Welsh Roofing come provide an estimate. They did BUT also told me my roof was in fine shape and the shingles used were 25 year shingles and didn't really need to be replaced yet. Honesty is rare nowadays. How many contractors would turn away work? The quality of Welsh Roofing's work on my roof was impeccable. In addition to the speed (they got everything done, including cleaning the yard of any debris, within 1 day. Additionally, they brought these massive plastic tarps to cover all my yard ornamentals and other plants so that no debris would hit or get caught in them as they removed the old roof. Would definitely recommend Welsh Roofing to anyone.

Description of Work
Replace roof

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/07/2018

5.0

05/08/2018


Katherine C.

I cannot say enough nice things. They squeezed me in when I needed help asap even though what I needed was not that expensive. They did a good job.

Description of Work
Part of my roof blew off

Category roofing

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/20/2018

5.0

04/03/2018


Mark P.

Outstanding. Everything went as discussed prior to work. They were on time and did a very professional job. Would definitely recommend them to others!

Description of Work
Roof replacement

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/19/2018

5.0

02/21/2018


Sharon C.

We used Mr. Welsh years ago for a roofing job, and they did a great job. Several of my neighbors have used Welsh Roofing as we well. We recently had him out to the house to give us his opinion on our gutters and downspout. He spent a considerable amount of time looking things over and informed us that all is well and nothing needed to be replaced. We wanted to pay him for his time, but he would not accept any money. Very professional, knows roofing inside and out, and I would not hesitate to recommend this family-owned company.

Description of Work
Gutters and Downspouts

Category roofing

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/21/2018

5.0

12/12/2017


Erin R.

Very well, work done, all debris removed.

Description of Work
Complete roof replacement.

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/12/2017

5.0

10/05/2017


Colleen H.

Welsh Roofing gave me a new roof in one day. I got a fair, no-nonsense quote, that was lower than most and offered the same quality product as the others. Jack Welsh made sure he had enough crew to finish with plenty of time to spare - they arrived on time and worked from 7 am - 4 pm, including prep and cleanup time. I highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
A new roof.

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/02/2017

5.0

09/02/2017


ron M.

I had this work done about 3 months ago and I am delighted with the results. This is a 1954 rambler. Architectural singles were installed. Took about 7 hours. The owner, Jack Welsh, was onsite and worked and supervised the whole job. I used the roof replacement as an opportunity to add some blown in insulation to a section of an addition what was not otherwise accessible. They removed some planks in the roof for me and I was able to blow in the insulation that was needed. Jack Welsh was kind enough to help me with that and I am very appreciative. Welsh Roofing did a fantastic job and cleaned up completely after themselves. Let's talk price. I got 3 estimates. If you get an estimate from a "home improvement company" it's going to cost you. My first estimate was from a company in PA that had their salesman drive down to Silver Spring, MD to give me a presentation that lasted several hours. Their estimate was for $12,000. My second estimate was from Power Home Group, and again the presentation was several hours. Their estimate was for $22,000. Before they left the house the $22,000 had come down to $16,000. A week later they called to let me know the "sales manager would be in the area" and wanted to talk to me to see if they could get the price a bit lower. I declined. Jack Welsh came out, walked the roof, and after that spent 30 minutes with me letting me know what my options were. Cost was less than $6,000. Welsh Roofing did all that I needed and I have a roof that will be good for 25-30 years. I am very happy. Thank you Jack. Welsh Roofing is a small business that concentrates on Roofing. They provide quality work for a great price. I VERY highly recommend Welsh Roofing.

Description of Work
Roof shingles replaced on 1954 rambler

Category roofing

Cost $5,980

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes