Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Classic Metal Roofs LLC

Founded 2004 • With Angi since October 2006

4.6

(37) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

264 Gleasondale Rd

Stow, MA 01775

Description

Classic Metal Roofs LLC is an exclusive dealer of Classic Metal Roofing Systems, Inc, for all our metal shingle profiles, which has been in business for over 34 years, and is considered the leader in metal shingle roofing. We also supply and install Englert Inc, standing seam aluminum roofing

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

08/19/2021


John F.

I've thought long time about writing this review and have put it off until now. I don't think I've ever written a negative review of any work, workers, or company that I've hired to work on our house before. In fact, Classic Metal Roofs started out by doing good work. The workers arrived early each day, worked hard, and didn't seem to need much in the way of managing or looking after. It turned out that our house would require additional work and material--10k worth of particle board to reinforce the roof that they'd put over it. That made since as our house is old and no doubt the existing materials under the old asphalt shingles had degraded a lot over the years. We'd only owned the house for about six years when we hired them. They called us, told us why we needed the reinforcement, what it would cost, and we agreed. That was all great. My only complaint about the installation of the roof itself--and this is a small complaint, given the way the workers managed themselves and finished the job--was that it might have been nice to have a manager come out at the end of the job and look over the roof with me simply to confirm that the job was complete and nothing more needed to be done. After all, the job was expensive--about 65k. And as an owner, I would have felt better knowing that "the boss" had looked at the work his employees had done and decided that it was up to his standards. I also wonder to this day if such an inspection might have caught the hazardous problems that we would soon experience and prevented both damage to our property, expense, and stress. Finally, however, the problem--a dangerous problem--didn't have to do with the quality of materials or the way the job was done. My complaints have nothing to do with the workers. The danger of the new roof was not immediately apparent. We had to wait for winter and heavy snow to learn that, in certain spots around the house, huge amounts of snow fell from our third story house. While this wasn't a problem in places where people and property couldn't be damaged, it turned out to be a real threat in a large spot in our driveway where we parked, entered and exited our car, and walked several times a day when coming and going from our house. Just how dangerous this problem turned out to be wouldn't be clear until March 2017, when a wet snowstorm dumped over a foot of snow in about 24 hours. The next morning, the snow fell from its usual place and directly onto the hood of our nearly new Subaru Forester--a big, sturdy vehicle. That said, the windshield shattered and, more worrying, the hood and side fenders were dented and so badly damaged that they had to be replaced. In all, the damage amounted to more than 4k. Our cost was a $500 deductible. While this incident was scary (the snow could have fallen on a person--a neighbor or a member of our family) and expensive, the utter lack of communication from Classic Metal Roofs that followed was truly maddening. After talking to my insurance company, I emailed Bryan Rusch, the salesperson at Classic Metal Roofs, who’d initially visited us and sold us on the company and its product. He responded right away, cc-ing a senior partner, Mike Gonet. I sent them photographs of the problem spot of the roof and a detailed description of the damage the snow had caused to the car and what it cost to fix it. But my main concern, as I explained in detail in my email, was the danger this issue presented to people, who, as I also explained, walked and stood in this spot several times a day because it was in the path leading into and out of the most commonly used exit and entrance of our house. What followed my email to Bryan and Mike Gonet were many weeks of silence. I didn’t think much about it, however, because it was spring. Winter and the prospect of snowstorms were now months away. The last thing I wanted to do in June and July was to chase down a roofing company to put up snow breaks in a spot that badly needed them. (That said, I had sent numerous emails already and no one responded or said that they would send workers or a manager out to look at our roof.) But then fall came and I began to send more emails. Bryan apologized and cc-ed Mike again. More silence came from Mike. My email history for this first snow incident (there would be a second!) was long and spans more messages than I can count when I look at them in my inbox. The frustration and anger I felt when writing yet another message is hard to describe here. I also called Mike’s phone (Bryan gave me the number) but Mike never answered and never called me back. To shorten the story, however, I’ll just say that finally, in March 2018, a full year and almost a full winter after the incident, the company sent a truck out and they put two additional rows of snow breaks where there were already two existing rows. The workers didn’t seem to know if this was a good solution and there was no manager or contractor present to direct them or give me an idea of whether they had done something that could resolve the problem. But as we would find out that winter, they had not solved the problem. What was worse, a few days after the workers put the snow breaks up, we received a very prompt invoice via email (the company didn’t spare any time with the bill!) for $475. That was maddening because in our view the problem and incident had been caused by a lack of adequate snow breaks to begin with—and in an area that was absolutely crucial to protect people and property. Mike Gonet, the senior partner, who was cc-ed on all my email correspondences with Bryan Rusch, never contacted me, talked to me, or asked me about the problem. It goes without saying that he never (to my knowledge) came out to inspect the job that his workers did, ether initially, when they’d finished putting up the roof in 2015, or later, when they put more snow breaks on in 2017. It’s hard not to see a serious oversight problem here. And, of course, it never should have taken me nearly a year of sending emails and calling to get them to come out and put up a few snow breaks. In any case, I sent an email to Bryan regarding the $475 invoice, told him that we felt the problem was their responsibility and that we had already had to pay $500 deductible to get 4k of damage fixed on our Subaru. He told us that the billing department would consider our situation. I’m relieved to report that we never heard from the billing department again and we did not pay the invoice. Unfortunately, the problem wasn’t entirely resolved. The following winter, we started to see that large amounts (if, thankfully, less than before) of snow continued to fall in this area. I didn’t have the resolve to contact the company about this, I’ll admit. Our solution was simply to avoid this area, park as far away from it as we could (only possible when one car was in the driveway!) and remember to avoid or walk around this area when snow was on the roof—not a solution for friends and others who accessed our house at this entrance and who wouldn’t have known about the problem. It was worrying and not a smart way to deal with a problem that could be dangerous. But we lived with it until we had a second incident in February 2021. This time the damage was to our new Rav 4 Hybrid, which sustained a large dent from falling snow early in the morning after a storm, before we could move the car away from the danger spot. It was clearly inevitable that this would happen again. The only solution was not to park cars in our driveway. But we live in Boston, where parking is precious and extremely expensive, which means that you can’t simply leave a driveway empty. While the damage was much less extensive and we paid to have the dent repaired out of pocket, this incident meant that we needed to address the problem again. I sent an email the day after the second incident to Bryan. He got back to me the same day, once again forwarding my message to Mike Gonet, where it died and never got responded to. I waited weeks, dreading sending yet another email. But I did, cc-ing Mike, and asking Bryan for Mike’s phone number. In short, everything that happened the first time around happened again. I called Mike several times, leaving my cell number (which I had already given him over email) and never heard back from him. While Bryan was responsive, he could do nothing for me. In the end, while I don’t want to complain about him, I also don’t wonder why he didn’t contact Mike directly himself. He never wrote an email, cc-ing me, to Mike pointing out the fact that my problem needed to be addressed. Of course, if Mike is a senior partner, perhaps Bryan found himself in an untenable situation. In any case, this small company clearly has communication and management issues. Finally, after hearing nothing from Mike, I gave up on the company and hired a separate contractor. They sent roofers out yesterday and we paid several hundred dollars for them to tell me that, in fact, the snow breaks that had been put up WOULD NOT fix the problem. Instead, we needed to put up a large metal guard in front of the gutter, which, together with the existing breaks, should vastly improve our situation. It’s now August, which means I can’t report whether this solution will work. But I can, at least, say with some confidence that a person with seeming expertise gave me his professional opinion and a solution that he thinks will work. Classic Metal Roofs never put this kind of effort into solving a dangerous and potentially life-threatening issue. Once again, I hate writing a review like this. I like having a metal roof, knowing that the material is more sustainable than most and should last a very long time. That’s wonderful. But we’ve owned our home since 2003 and didn’t have the roof put on until 2015. In all those years, we never had issues with dangerous amounts of snow and ice falling from our asphalt shingles. This is a long message, I know. But I do hope that anyone with a metal roof who reads this would report on their experience with snow and ice. I hope we’re an exception—and not a rule—because I do think products that last are better for our environment, even if the initial expense is high. My hope now is that the new fix works and that we don’t have to continue to worry about the dangerous situation that heavy snowfall has caused in an area of our house that we and others use on a regular basis. Finally, however, while I like this product—and wouldn’t dissuade anyone from considering it—I could not recommend Classic Metal Roofs. Their treatment of us has been discouraging and, finally, disrespectful. It’s also cost us a fair amount of money. This is not to say that their employees aren’t excellent workers and good people. But the management seems to be a problem. But I can say a person with expertise gave me his professional opinion and a solution that he thinks will work. Classic Metal Roofs never put this kind of effort into solving a dangerous and potentially life-threatening issue.

Description of Work
A new roof metal roof was put on our house.

Category contractors, roofing

5.0

09/03/2019


Eugene O.

Hi Folks, For me, it’s usually difficult to post a review; as you want to be honest, impartial and “step-lightly” around any negative issues or concerns. This review was a total opposite, as the roof replacement on my home is impeccable and the craftsmanship displayed by Classic Metal Roofs is beyond reproach. I have to admit to some trepidation and anxiety around a roof replacement, as it’s not something you undertake frequently. Compounded by wanting to try a metal roof and knowing little about them or their nuances. I had heard both positive and negative anecdotes on their use. I did an internet search for metal roof installers in my area and the first listing was for Classic Metal Roofs. What immediately caught my eye, was 28 Customer Reviews – all 5 Stars! Certainly, this was a good baseline to start my research from. It didn’t take long to realize that the majority of their competitors were not as highly regarded. I then went to the Classic Metal Roofs website and spent considerable time reading and watching the various articles and videos. I came away knowing that a metal roof was something I wanted; but was assuming that it had to be very expensive – purely based on how wonderful all the finished roofs looked. I phoned the Classic Metal Roofs office and spoke with Mike Gonet; we arranged to meet to discuss my options and review his materials. Mike’s overviews were very informative as well as the roof materials themselves; which I could hold and gauge their qualities. The roof options were at first a bit overwhelming as there were a multitude of choices for patterns and colors. Mike quickly provided cost quotes for the two types of roofs I was interested in. I was shocked at first with the price of the two options. But after a bit of number crunching and assuming replacing multiple asphalt roofs over the home’s lifetime; it made financial sense to go with a metal roof. We were scheduled for an end of September replacement; but Mike contacted me in late August informing me of a schedule opening. Mike communicated all necessary information and timetables about the project. Work began on August 21, and it was immediately apparent that they had a defined, effective process to remove the old asphalt shingles. They also had some innovative removal equipment, which was essentially a motorized, movable dumpster that could lift itself to the roofs edge at just about any angle. This allowed for a very quick process and minimized the amount of shingle debris that reached the ground. Project Foreman Tom and Team Members, AJ, Adam and others I didn’t formally meet, had the old roof stripped and prepped for the new roof in two days! They were meticulous in cleaning the area after each day and were concerned always about the condition of my property. Alex and Vlad(and Tom on one day) began installing the metal roof on the third day. Again, it was evident that they were Professional and knowledgeable in their craft. Over the next 3 days, they transformed our home and I couldn’t be more pleased. The quality of the roofing materials and attachments is top-notch. The finished project is beyond what I had expected; both in beauty and quality. The craftsmanship is apparent when looking closely at the various seams, cut-angles and roof lines. It is definitely worth the time and money, as I now have roof warranted for 100 years; that looks wonderful, is more thermally efficient and provides great peace of mind to a homeowner. Thanks again Mike and the Classic Metal Roofs Team for providing Us with exceptional Service and Quality! Best Regards, Gene Otenti Jr.

Description of Work
A Metal Roof Replacement

Category roofing

4.0

10/30/2017


Andrew W.

The work was amazing. The crews were friendly, professional, and the quality of the work was top shelf. The communication with the crew and foremen was clear and wonderful. Vlad, Tom, “Jay Bird”, Charlie, Pedro and the rest of the crew were respectful and easy to work with. However, our contact at CMR was very difficult to get a hold of, was extremely unclear about scheduling and rarely responded to my emails/calls. The lack of communication was very unprofessional, particularly when you are dropping 40k for a new roof. The work was amazing and we love the new roof but the experience was not ideal.

Description of Work
Had old roof removed and a new standing seam metal roof installed.

Category roofing

1.0

08/23/2017


Gordon F.

Was told 3-4 days to complete. They showed up a week later than promised. I received the draft report 2 weeks later than promised, littered with typos , I called the owner of the company who initially refused to speak to me or schedule a time to talk. Over a month later, I still do not have a final, signed report nor a timeline when I will receive one. I was also told someone would come to repair my roof the following week. That was two weeks ago and after dozens of calls, texts and messages to 3 different people in the company I'm now being told they cannot give me a date at all. I would advise anyone to stay away from metal roofs. They are expensive, it seems impossible to find a good installer and if it goes poorly - which ours did - you've spent tens of thousands for the privilege of having thousands in property damage your homeowner's insurance will not cover. And good look finding someone to repair the roof. Not worth the risk in my opinion unless you enjoy having a lawyer on retainer.

Description of Work
I paid upfront for a report of my leaking roof by another company. I was also told someone would come to repair my roof the following week.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

We never dealt with a person named [Member Name Removed] We dealt with [Member Name Removed]. This person met with our consultant when she first looked at metal roofing some time ago. She went with another company because their price was "much less". After the roof was installed, it started leaking right away. She eventually called our company to do a roof inspection because she wanted to bring a lawsuit against the company that did the installation (Advanced Metal Roofing, Brentwood, NH). We told her we would be there as soon as we had someone in the area. When we did get there about 2 weeks later, we inspected the roof and collected our fee for doing so at the time of the visit. She asked us for an estimate to fix the problems. We supplied this person with an emailed report from our company with the problems that we found. We supplied her with an estimate for the cost of what it would be to do the repair. At no time did we say we would do the repair. We said we would supply her with an estimated cost of the repair because she was suing the roofing company that did the installation. Part of the repair involved a lower roof that was completely damaged due to lack of snow retention. She wanted to remove that roof and install asphalt on that roof. Not only did we never agree to do the repair, we are a metal roof company; we do not do asphalt at all. If she had hired us to begin with rather than go with the "much less" price, she would have gotten a top quality installation by our own employees and not a sub-contractor, which is what she received. Now she's angry because she wants us to fix someone else's mess and we are booked up for several months. Our advice is to be sure to do your due diligence before hiring a metal roofing contractor. Our company is an open book and we invite you to do your due diligence.
5.0

07/28/2016


Peter W.

In searching for a contractor they appeared to be by far the most experienced with metal, and that impression was borne out by their performance. Their website is very informative, and the local customers that they gave as references were highly satisfied and the results looked good. They were severely backlogged, but when the project was done the crew was excellent. They fully understood every aspect of what they were doing, planned the activities well, and worked with great care to get the details right. They showed up early every day and worked long hours while minimizing disruption of our lives. They kept the area neat, went to some trouble to avoid damaging our plantings, and cleaned up very well at the end of the job. The workers were friendly and communicated well about what they were doing and what to expect.

Description of Work
Replacing a large asphalt shingle roof with standing-seam metal over a cold roof.

Category roofing

5.0

01/31/2015


William J.

What can I say other than Mike Gonet is the best! We had a major exterior renovation project, including installation of new metal shingle roof on the house and standing seam on the porch. In addition to the new roof, our general contractor removed the old siding, wrapped the entire house, and installed new cedar shingle siding. Mike and his crew worked with our general contractor to coordinate activities as the contractor worked his way around the house. We ran behind schedule with the overall project, and Mike worked with us to see that as soon as we were ready for his crew he was there. We had a difficult section of porch roof and Tom, Mike's crew chief, came up with an excellent solution to handle the problem. In addition to the house and porch roof, we had two bump-outs roofed in copper. Mike's speciality metal crew member did an outstanding job and his work has drawn favorable comments from neighbors and contractors alike. The bump-outs are truly a work of art. The overall project was modified as we progressed with the roofing portion. Being an 100 year old house, we quickly discovered that the house roof deck was old and rotted. Mike installed new plywood decking on the house. We also decided to use Ice and Water over the entire roof, including the porch. Originally, the bump-outs were to be standing seam. Mike suggested to use copper instead. We are so happy with the result. Throughout the project Mike was always available to take my call. He worked with me and the general contractor to solve problems and to make suggestions as the project progressed. His crew always showed up on time and worked in a very professional manner. The work site was always clean and safe. We can't say enough on how happy we are with how the new roof has performed so far. We are already seeing major improvements in the energy bills and the level of comfort in the house. I definitely feel that we made the right choice in choosing a metal roof from Mike Gonet at Classic Metal Roofs.

Description of Work
Install new metal shingle roof on house and standing seam on porch

Category contractors, roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you!
5.0

03/03/2014


Robert L.

I was in touch with them two weeks ago, but we had to postpone because the roof was covered with snow. They were willing to come out but I declined and said wait until we get the thaw. The cost of it will be about thirty seven thousand. The fellow drove out there and did a complete measurement of the house. He was meticulous about it and then we met him again, and he gave us the final numbers. I have fourteen skylights so it was not a straight forward deal, plus I have to have a chimney cut through so there are some specifics about my particular roof that is going to be intricate for them. The fellow took all the time I needed and it was fine. I am waiting for the pudding- the proof is in the pudding. The fellow was on time for the appointment. He got back within a short time, any questions he gave me a call. Very responsive. Everything they done so far has been right there, in terms of calling for appointments and calling for scheduling issues and trying to find ways to get around this weather issue. Every three or four days is just another weather event, more snow, freezing cold, we just have to have a little sunshine come. Maybe some of Al Gore's global warming would help. Professionalism is good, I mean this is the quote stage. The quote stage is fine. I knew what I was getting into. I knew I was going to spend more money because I wanted aluminium. I wanted something good. I am sixty four and I don't want to be doing this when I am eighty five.

Description of Work
Classic Metal Roofs came out and gave me a quote on a new roof.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank You!
5.0

11/20/2013


Arthur A.

This is the third roof we have had done on the two houses we have owned and it was, by far, the best and only totally positive experience we have had with a roofing company. We were kept fully informed at all stages of scheduling and work, the workers were friendly, clean and courteous and the finished product is beautiful and fully weather tight.

Description of Work
Stripped old roofs, repaired damage, installed new aluminum shingles, two skylights and flashed stone chimney.

Category roofing, skylights

Service Provider Response

Thank you!
5.0

10/22/2013


Jennifer W.

This was an excellent experience from start to finish. Mike showed up on time, talked to us about himself and the company, discussed the project, and answered any questions we had. He provided a quote on-site, and left us plenty of materials to read. The cost of a metal roof was right in the ballpark of our expectations - right around 20k. We obtained a number of quotes for this work - I'll detail those, and mention why we went with Mike. 1) Composite Shingles with 40 year warranty - the quote for these shingles was MORE than the quote for metal. In checking out their "warranties", I found tons of examples with the vendor pro-rating warranties, or finding reasons to not honor them. When I reviewed the same warranty for Mike's metal roof, it was 50 years, transferable, and not pro-rated (in other words, 50 years means 50 years). Right there, Mike was more affordable, offered a better product, and had better warranties. 2) Other Metal Roofers - got quotes for coated metal standing seam. Their coated standing seam was around 17k, but there were a few things I didn't like about it. Namely, there is no coating where they cut the metal, thus allowing rust on the edges. Their warranties were also not as good. 3) Finally, we had Mike Gonet out. We had hiked to an 80 year old plane crash the week before, and I was struck by how perfect the aluminum appeared after decades of harsh weather, whereas the steel landing gear was almost totally deteriorated. Since Mike offered an aluminum roof, we had his company out. We went with Mike because we really wanted a shingled roof, and he offered a top quality aluminum shingle roof. The price was good, not great... but then again, I found problems in the products that all of the more affordable roofers were using. I would later learn that Mike's crew is worth every penny. I also liked Mike because he was the only roofer that didn't try to sell me something I didn't need. I have very small soffits, and a finished attic... therefore, I have no ridge vent or soffit vents. Every single roofer tried to tack on extra charges for cutting soffit vents and a ridge vent... even after I pointed out that my attic was finished, and the extra "ventilation" would actually do nothing. When I mentioned this to Mike, he agreed with my take that the soffit/ridge ventilation system would be ineffective in my house, and not worth the money. The biggest problem with not having this ventilation is the propensity for ice dams... but with a metal roof, that is a total non-issue (snow melts FAST on metal). Mike called the day before to let me know they'd be starting. At 6:30 the next morning, the roofers were onsite. They worked sun-up to sun-down each day until the task was finished. Not only did they do a great job on the roof, they also patched up some holes in my wood siding at no additional cost (and I didn't even ask them to do this - they just did it). I never once I had to point anything out to them, never had to stress about anything, and never once worried about the job they were doing. From day 1, the workers were extremely professional, courteous, and their years of experience was obvious at every turn. The roofers didn't even use my bathroom, opting instead to go to the gas station on the corner just so they wouldn't be a bother. I've had contract work done several times, and I always find people who cut corners, or find something that I didn't like that needs correction. Mike Gonet's crew is the FIRST TIME I've ever had a crew do anything 100% right the first time. After the job was done, the "good price" seemed much better to me. There is no way any other company has people as good as Mike Gonet's crew. I've never seen a crew with so much skill and professionalism, and I've never felt so comfortable leaving my home in another persons' care. If you're in the market for a metal roof, you owe it to yourself to have a talk with Mike Gonet. He might not give you the most affordable quote, but I can assure you that you will never hire a more capable and professional crew. They are worth every friggin' penny, and their products really are the best thing you can put on your roof.

Description of Work
Provider bleached the mold and algae off of our single-layer asphalt shingle roof, installed a water barrier, then installed an aluminum oxford shingle metal roof in a deep charcoal.

Category roofing, roof cleaning

5.0

10/01/2013


Adriaan L.

They did a great job. We wanted a metal roof, both for green reasons and to make our finished attic a bit cooler. Classic metal roofs had the best reviews of the various metal roof installers we researched. We decided to use the opportunity to add insulation above the sheathing, which meant they constructed a fake roof above the existing roof since the attic was finished and there wasn't any room to add more insulation without taking out all the drywall. We talked to a few regular asphalt roofers and they had never heard of this; classic metal roofs were experienced with this and did a great job. They installed in March despite a large, late snowstorm in the middle of the work; they were not bothered by it and it all worked out fine, but to prevent anxiety I wish we had done it a little later in the season. They forgot to do a small portion of the agreed work (close up some vents), and when I pointed this out to them they sent someone over to do it without any hassle. We've had the roof now for a little over 6 months and are very happy with it. It looks great on our traditional brick colonial, and the finished attic was much, much cooler this past summer. It's a big decision to go with metal because of the cost (you can find many articles about all the pros and cons of metal vs. asphalt on the web), but if you do decide to go with a metal roof Classic Metal Roofs is a great installer for the Boston area.

Description of Work
Tore off old asphalt roof; installed above-roof foam board insulation; added above-sheathing ventilation; installed metal roof shingles.

Category insulation, roofing

2.0

09/27/2013


Monica C.

The consultation went well but the installation was a nightmare. The installers used the wrong nails and then tried to say it was "normal" to have nails sticking 2 inches past the boards. We had to have those parts of the roof re-done and then had to have a painter patch the holes and paint over the damage. The company still charged us for additional work. They were awful to work with and very unprofessional. Mistakes happen, but they should have admitted they made a mistake, taken responsibility right away, and fixed the damage. We eventually ended up with a good roof but it was not worth the extra time, money or stress.

Description of Work
Install of new roof

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

This client came to us through a promotional ad coupon . The cost of the roof was discounted through the promotion by 30%. The installation and this promotion was for a GAF asphalt "Timberline HD" roof not a metal roof. The project was a cottage style house with 2 foot overhangs on the gable ends and eaves. The over hangs where the nail came through were 3/4 ' thick roof sheathing. The crew leader for what ever reason used a "normal" roof attachment and the nails went through the sheathing. Normally this is acceptable because they are not seen. On this house they were seen and the crew leader should have seen it. He was made aware of it before going to the site. When the homeowner contacted us about the problem we sent the crew leader back out to the site in less than 5 days to take care of the issue. This was, of course at no cost to the home owner. We also contacted our painter to go out and look at the "damage". This amounted to filling in the several nail holes on each overhang around the roof. We of course paid for that without hesitation. As far as the comments are concerned about us being unprofessional, I really am at a loss. We responded right away, I recommended a painter which she hired. So she must have trusted our judgment. The roof came out very nicely and would invite anyone to go a look at it. She had many leaks before we did the roof and the project was done in the summer of 20012. We have had some very bad weather since and no complaints about leaking were ever received. In fact she admits that "We eventually ended up with a good roof" The eventually was less than days after the original job was completed. Granted the nail holes being filled and the extra paint job ( that had nothing to do with us) that she wanted done didn't get done get done until 10 months later because she could not schedule a time to meet with the painter. ( That had nothing to do with the installation of the roof) Once the painter filled the nail holes, at our expense, she paid the balance on the roof, 11 months after we installed it. There was disciplinary action taken on the crew leader.
4.0

08/29/2013


Arthur A.

Estimator one hour late for appointment but was very informative and professional when he arrived.

Description of Work
Preliminary estimate

Category roofing

5.0

08/08/2013


Linda O.

Excellent-from the first meeting with the Owner of Classic Metal Roofs LLC , Mike to the completed job. Mike explained everything about his company at the first meeting and told us about his crew (who were all very well mannered and very polite.) The job started when he said it would and was detained because of heavy rains but they worked the following Sunday to get the job done. The crew cleaned up the yard every day at the end of the workday. The crew were very respectful and polite and were very professional in their work. The completed job looks terrific and we were so happy that we had learned about Classic Metal Roofs from Angie's List. We were having some other carpentry work done in the interior of the home at the same time and the Carpenter was very impressed with the workmanship of the crew that he asked Mike for a sample of the material because he had a couple of customers who live on the coast, who are always having him replace roof shingles that he was going to talk to them about installing a Classic Metal Roof. We are very glad that we went with Classic Metal Roofs LLC and would highly recommend them to anyone who might be looking for a lifetime roof and never have to worry again about replacing your roof. Also, Mike gave us a list of about 25 houses that he had completed and the telephone numbers of the owners, if we wanted to contact them. Every person we called was completely satisfied and would recommend Classic Metal Roofs without hesitation.

Description of Work
Installed Oxford slate metal shingle roof and removed and replaced 4 skylights.

Category roofing, skylights

5.0

05/29/2013


PETER C.

Very well . No complaints Would use agian61 Reservoir St. Boylston, Ma. 01505

Description of Work
new metal roof

Category roofing

5.0

11/13/2012


Jim C.

We are very pleased with the work. They spent extra time each day,plus worked on Sunday (at no extra cost), to make sure the work was completed before the storm "Sandy" hit our area. After the storm they came back to inspect the roof and make sure there were no problems. While Classic Metal Roofs did not have lowest bid of the job, the quality of their work, materials and the relationship with the customers is outstanding.

Description of Work
They worked on both the roof and gutters. Their estimate for the work was right on target for both repairs and constructions. The two roofs (main part of the house and the addition) were in good conditions so no repairs were needed. They placed the new roof over top of the old, which helped reduced the cost and waste. The original builder of the house we learned during this work cut corners with flashing and vapor barriers. The Classic Metal Roofs people made the needed repairs all within budget, plus did touch up painting. The work on the gutter needed only minor repairs and clean-out. Gutter guards were also added.

Category gutter cleaning, gutter repair, roofing

5.0

05/03/2012


Gabrielle G.

Our existing asphalt roof was 29 years old and although it wasn't leaking, we knew we were pushing our luck if we didn't replace it. I received some asphalt quotes (all in the neighborhood of $15k) but with only a 10-15 yr guarantee, I knew we'd be spending another $15-30k on roofs in our lifetime. I decided to consider metal roofs and called Mike for a quote. He was extremely knowledgeable and patient and we didn't feel pushed for a sale at all. Mike was upfront about the cost of the roof, but it was actually less than I had expected. He gave us a list of reference homes so I could see the product in person and was pleasantly surprised to see several homes in my town. Beautiful, lifetime guaranteed roofs and a local company to boot. I was sold. The roof crew was very hard working and respectful of our property. They worked 8-10 hours a day and cleaned up the site at the end of each day. The entire job was completed within 5 days. We are very pleased with the roof and our experience with Classic Metal Roofs. I highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
The project entailed a metal roof installation over existing asphalt roof for colonial style home (approx 3000 square feet). Our original roof was in good condition, so they were able to lay the new roof directly over the old one. Nonworking solar panels were removed, a dryer vent and gutter covers were added. Flashing around 2 chimneys was replaced. Snow breaks were added across the front of the house and over the back porch. They also installed soffit baffles in the attic to improve air circulation.

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

05/03/2012


Paul L.

Classic Metal Roofs was clearly the best of the three competitors I called for bids on the job. The others were very bad for followup and responsiveness after their initial free visits, but not Classic. Calls are returned the same day. The manager, Mike Gonet, has long experience in the business. He visited my house twice before work began, the second time to have a lively talk with my other contractors about coordinating their deck-building work and to figure out the best placement of the door opening onto the deck to allow sufficient flashing below. Mike was at all times courteous and willing to explain the product and the installation procedure, and let me examine material samples. He was willing to step out of windows onto my bays to have a good close look at the condition of the rake of my roof. The work was done by two different crews of three each, first one for the membrane roofing, then the other for the main aluminum roof. There was a week's hiatus in between. A large dumpster was dropped off in my driveway for the duration, then retrieved by a third party service. It was one inconvenience I had to bear. I did have to go over my grounds and pick up a few nails and shingle fragments from the grass when all was over -- nobody is perfect. The workers were competent and well mannered at all times. There was one day's delay because of difficulties at another customer's site needing more help -- but Mike was apologetic and the work was made up on weekend. In short all went smoothly and close to schedule. Of course the price is a multiple of what you would pay for asphalt roofing, but that's for an even larger multiple of longevity, and increased summer comfort and lessened cooling bills. And forget all worry about ice dams! The warranty is transferrable to future owners, which should factor into selling price. In all, the value for money is certainly high. I am a very satisfied customer.

Description of Work
My house has about 12 squares of roof area at a 45 degree (12) pitch, with two valleys, plus three small low pitch roofs. Classic Metal Roofs covered the pitched roof with aluminum shingles and the flat roofs with membrane. Metal shingles don't work for low pitches. The main roof also has metal snow guards, needed to arrest the sudden slides which still sometimes do happen, noisily. Some shingle replacement was needed where flashing of the flat roofs met outer walls. Lead chimney flashings were removed and replaced (aluminum doesn't play nicely with other metals). My ridge cap is ventless. I requested white coating -- untraditional, but great for keeping the house cool in summer. The old layer of asphalt shingle on the main roof did not require stripping, so it remains underneath, and should not affect the thermal gains from sunlight now that it is covered. When I tested with an infrared thermometer, my roof was 37 DEGREES F COOLER than the neighbor's roof on hot summer days! I found more useful information on Classic's web site than at the competitors, about measurements of the thermal properties of the coatings of the shingles. The pigments are designed to reflect the IR frequencies where over half of the energy of the solar spectrum is. There is more to coolness than just the visible color. The job was complicated by coordinating their work with another contractor who built me a new wooden roof deck over the largest of the flat roofs. The other contractor needed to demolish old structures, then the membrane needed installing by Classic, then the deck building proceeded. Classic was accommodating with the scheduling.

Category roofing

5.0

04/19/2012


Samantha M.

We previously had an asphalt roof and had problems with damming that caused damage on the inside of our house. We already decided to get a metal roof even before speaking with Classic Metal Roofs. We knew that metal roofs were more durable, longer lasting and a better overall value than asphalt roofs. So we did our research and came across Classic Metal Roofs, LLC on Angie's List and based on the positive reviews, decided to give them a call. From the very beginning, including the sales pitch, everyone was very courteous, punctual and professional. Mike Gonet did an excellent job explaining exactly what we could expect with the project and even had an impressive slide show showing previous projects that included every color and style of roof they offer, so it was easy to picture what the shingles would look like on our house. The guys doing the work were super punctual and friendly. These are some burly guys and they take their work seriously! They would show up around 7:30 am and work all day (something we haven't experienced very much with our other renovation projects). Our job was done in 3 days (1,500 sq ft). Also, during the project they noticed that our bathroom exhaust vent was not properly installed and moisture had gotten between the vinyl siding and original wood siding underneath the vinyl. For a small extra charge they fixed the problem by removing the moldy siding, then they matched & replaced the vinyl siding in that area and PROPERLY installed our bathroom vent. We couldn't be happier with the way it turned out. We haven't had much of a winter, but the few inches we did get after the roof was installed did give us a taste of how the roof performs. Maybe someday I'll get used to the rumbling sound of the snow sliding off, but hey, we'll never have to use a snow rake again -- and we'll never have to replace our roof again :)

Description of Work
They stripped the current asphalt shingles (2 layers) down to the decking boards. Some of the decking was rotted so they replaced the boards, then added the super tough waterproof membrane and then affixed metal Oxford shingles & trim to the roof line. We also had snow breaks installed above all the entry points.

Category contractors, roofing, siding

2.0

02/17/2012


Jeff C.

the company was semi-responsive in returning my telephone calls. I found the at home, in person estimate to be pushy, the salesman was clearly employing sales tactics to try and make me feel uncomfortable, attempting to make "sweat it out." then after wards probably called me six times in the week following the estimate trying to get an answer out of me as to whether I wanted to use his company.

Description of Work
initial telephone calls, in person estimate and follow up telephone calls.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Our policy is not to push people into a sale on one call. We work as consultants not sale people. A lifetime metal roof is a big investment and one needs time to do research and think about it before making a decision. We provide many tools for folks to check out our company. We want our clients to take time and investigate. We always follow up with clients by email first and then a phone call a week to ten days later. If thorough research is done, one will find that our pricing is in line with the type and quality of product that we sell and the quality of installation that we do. Metal roofing is a broad product category and many people end up with agricultural roofs or companies that have little or no experience installing a metal roof. We treat people the way we want to be treated period.
5.0

02/15/2012


Mason W.

The old roof was put wrongly. The original sheet was put wrongly so we went ahead with the metal roof. They are very professional. They have good people working for them. They are couple of guys who work and one particular guy who did a nice job. The sales persons are very knowledgeable and honest. They are not very cheap.

Description of Work
I used the services of Classic Metal Roofs LLC for roofing. I last used them in December 2011.

Category roofing

5.0

07/17/2011


Zoe L.

We found the company online. Mike, the owner, came by for the estimate. We had originally considered a standing ridge roof, but Mike advised a metal shake-style roof to fit in with our traditional house. (And it was cheaper.) Mike and his crew were wonderful. He would call and let us know who and how many workers would be there the next day, and what they would be doing. Every member of the crew was friendly and courteous. They were able to work around the snow schedule, including shoveling the roof to complete the work after a small snow shower. Very happy with the results, and no more ice dams.

Description of Work
Removed old roof, including removing debris Replaced sheathing Installed a new aluminum roof. Finished the day before we had 6-8" of snow. It was lovely to hear the snow slide off of the roof.

Category roofing

5.0

07/14/2011


JUDITH & GARY Y.

We are pleased with the work performed and the professionalism of the people who work for Classical Metal Roofs.

Description of Work
We used Classical Metal Roofs twice. The first time was about 5 or 6 years ago putting on a rubber roof onto of our two-car garage. To this day it is still in good working condition. The second job was performed last year in June 2010 putting on a new layer of roofing on the roof on the second floor of our home.

Category roofing

4.0

07/11/2011


Ernest S.

Everything went ok with this company. The roof is working fine. I did think there prices were a little on the high side though. I would use this company again.

Description of Work
They installed a metal roof on my porch.

Category roofing

5.0

07/11/2011


Alan D W.

Everything went great. They were the best company I have ever worked with. The crew was very professional and cleaned up after themselves each day. They were a little pricey but it was really worth it. The quality of the work is excellent. I always get complaints on how good my roof looks. I would highly recommend using this company to anyone and would use again.

Description of Work
They installed a metal roof for me.

Category roofing

5.0

07/08/2011


William B.

Everything went great. I didn’t have any problems with company. The crew was very friendly and professional. They were very easy to deal with. I would use this company again if needed.

Description of Work
They replaced our roof for us.

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Levi Gutter Solutions

    Levi Gutter Solutions is a local business that is family owned and operated. Levi Gutter Solutions started its journey in 2009 with the aim to provide its clients with the best service possible. It is important to take care of the gutters in your home or property as any leaks can be devastating. Levi Gutter Solutions helps homeowners to take care of their gutters, be it repairing them, cleaning them or getting new ones installed. Our clients are recommended to get their gutters cleaned at least twice a year although our yearly maintenance includes four-maintenance checks a year.  

    Angi Certified

    A-Z Cleaning Services

    Specializing in Gutter Cleaning, Window Cleaning and Pressure Washing, locally owned and operated A to Z Cleaning Services is your one stop shop for all of your cleaning needs. With an emphasis on customer service, our mission is always to ensure the satisfaction of our customers, offering excellent work, punctual and always using the best products on the market. The A to Z team is highly qualified and equipped with safety equipment so that our clients can rest assured that we take all measures to ensure that our work is always carried out under all the safety regulations of the State of Massachusetts. Contact us today and be amazed by our services. We look forward to earning your business! www.azcleaningservicesma.com  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    DaBella - Boston

    Roofing, Siding and Windows  

    Angi Certified

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Metal Roofing Services

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Classic Metal Roofs LLC

    How is Classic Metal Roofs LLC overall rated?

    Classic Metal Roofs LLC is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Classic Metal Roofs LLC open?

    Classic Metal Roofs LLC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Classic Metal Roofs LLC provide

    Classic Metal Roofs LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Financing Available

    Does Classic Metal Roofs LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, Classic Metal Roofs LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does Classic Metal Roofs LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Classic Metal Roofs LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Classic Metal Roofs LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, Classic Metal Roofs LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Classic Metal Roofs LLC?

    Yes, Classic Metal Roofs LLC offers warranties.

    What services does Classic Metal Roofs LLC offer?

    Classic Metal Roofs LLC offers the following services: Metal Roofing Services