Organizing Options of Illinois

Founded 2009 • With Angi since March 2013

We are estate liquidators servicing Chicago, it's suburbs and Northern Indiana! We Advise, Organize, Donate & Sell Your Stuff. Whether it's the passing of a loved one, the changing needs of an aging parent, or just moving to a smaller home, we can help you manage your belongings so they aren't managing you. Running your Estate/House Sale is just one service we have to offer. We provide customized organizing strategies and downsizing solutions that best fit your needs.

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(45) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 45 reviews
JOHN M.
5.0
05/24/2020
I was overwhelmed! I had my own stuff, plus stuff from my parents home that I inherited. OMG, the STUFF! Antiques, silver, books out the whazoo. What to do! Mara came in, quickly surveyed the scene and laid out a game plan. Using her recommended vendors, I did most of the work, but she handled things I knew nothing about - like how to shed silverware and antiques. What mover to use. Who was the most dependable junk hauler. A few months later, I moved. Still with too much stuff, but that was my fault. Mara is a gem and a delightful lady. Just call her and REST EASY. Her fees are very reasonable.
Description of Work
Moving out of state after living in one city for 50 years!
Category
home & garage organization, antiques, auction services, home staging

Service Provider Response

Thank you for sharing your story and posting your review. It was both an honor and a pleasure to work with you on your downsizing and moving project. We are all thrilled that you are happily resettled and enjoying your new home. Please stay safe and healthy.
Philip G.
5.0
04/03/2020
Mara at organizing options gave me great advice for our situation. She was extremely helpful.
Description of Work
Estate sale options consultation
Category
auction services

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words. Wishing you and your family all the best as you proceed with your next steps. Stay safe and healthy!
consuelo S.
5.0
04/17/2019
We highly recommend Mara and the crew. The challenge of cleaning out my mother-in-law's home in order to get it ready for sale seemed insurmountable so we called Mara. She walked through the home with us, gave us her expert comments as to what she would sell, donate and trash. She guided us through the whole process, and completed the task very quickly once we hired her. The 4 bedroom, 2.5 bath home with a basement and garage full of stuff is now completely empty except for a few pieces of furniture for staging. We were stunned to see what she and the crew was able to accomplish. Thank you Mara!
Description of Work
Clearing out an elderly person's home
Category
home & garage organization, auction services, home staging

Service Provider Response

We were honored to assist your family with this project. Thank you for choosing us to assist you and thank you for sharing your experience. We are grateful for your kind words and wish you and your family all the best as you move forward.
ELLEN S.
5.0
03/01/2019
Mara couldn't have been better. She was with me every step of the way through an emotional and overwhelming project. First, she assessed what we had and determined what could be auctioned, what could be sold, and what should be donated. She packed up dishes, silver, knick knacks, etc etc. She identified furniture she thought could be sold and arranged to have that picked up by an auction house and a dealer. She is very knowledgeable about what there is a market for, and what there isn't. She removed all the objects she thought she could get auctioned/sold and took them to the appropriate dealers. Then she arranged for junk removers to come and dispose of the rest. They junk removers were very careful and courteous and planned on taking our things to Goodwill. She took her commission from the money we made through auctions and sales. I felt like I had a partner every step of the way, and would not hesitate for a minute to recommend her and use her company again. For the work and effort she put in, I felt her commission was very reasonable.
Description of Work
Help in clearing out my father's apartment after he passed away.
Category
home & garage organization, auction services

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] and [Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience working with us. It was a sincere pleasure to assist your family with this project. Sending all our best to your family. Mara
P B.
5.0
09/18/2017
We were looking for a medium-sized agency: One large enough to be efficient, but not so large that it's difficult to track progress or where items are going. Mara and her team were the perfect match for us. They were efficient, cleaning the entire house in only 5 days. This was a very large task. It was managed expediciously and well worth the cost. Due to distance, Mara kept us informed of every transaction and donation via email, phone calls and texts. She sought our input multiple times to ensure that items went where we wanted them to go. We were so pleased with the resources (buyers and charities) they had available so that there were no transportation costs for moving those items offsite. The team seemed to adopt our family and were very sensitive to family history and items. They were also sensitive to the items that could be sold or donated, so nothing that could be used again was recycled or trashed. Mara and her team has our complete admiration for their trustworthiness and honesty, transparency, and congeniality! We wish her much continued success and many cumulosic days! Phil and Ruth
Description of Work
This was a 2-1/2 story house with a full basement that had been in the family for nearly 100 years and the last 15 was occupied by a bachelor hoarder. Only paths through the entire house remained. We needed the entire house cleaned out and broom-ready and we were trying to deal with this from 500 miles away.
Category
auction services

Service Provider Response

We were so happy to be a part of your family's historical clean-out and thank you sincerely for choosing us to assist you with this very large task. Finding so many new, appreciative homes for the items that you were not retaining was both fun and rewarding. It was wonderful working with your family and getting to know you all. Thank you so much!
Nicholas C.
5.0
06/07/2017
Mara took great care and detail in tackling my issue, even considering we did not strike a deal to work together. I would highly recommend working with Mara for your estate needs.
Description of Work
I needed to have my mother's estate liquidated. There aren't many items there, so we were not able to do business together. However, she made very helpful referrals to more specific buyers that would likely pay for my more valuable items.
Category
auction services

Service Provider Response

We appreciate you taking the time to review us and are very hopeful that the resources we suggested for you can help with the estate items you inherited. Thank you for your very kind words. Wishing you all the best and hope your burdens are much lighter in the near future.
Ellen P.
5.0
05/29/2017
The whole team from Organizing Options was wonderful to work with during the process of cleaning out my sister's apartment. I am not from the Chicago area and without their help it would have taken much longer to get her apartment emptied. They arranged for haulers to take away the donations and refuse. They personally took away hazardous materials and disposed of electronics. Mara arranged for buyers to come in and look at the items I had for sale. My sister lived in an apartment two floors up with no elevator and all items had to be carried out down two twisting flights of stairs. Mara even took a bucket of change to turn in for cash, she also went and exchanged some foreign currency my sister had. Mara was very knowledgeable about buyers and because my sister had many books related to her work she told me about a company that would come and take/buy those books. The staff that Mara brought in were extremely hard workers. I was amazed at the amount of work they got done in a very sort time. My sister had a large two bedroom apartment with many closets, bookshelves and cupboards. Everything was sorted and gone thru during 3 - 4 work days over the course of a two week period. The whole team was very sensitive to my feelings during this difficult time. Mara stayed in constant touch with me to keep me informed about buyers, haulers and work dates. By the time we were finished with my sister's apartement I felt like I had made new friends and hated to see them go. I highly recommend this company if you have the need to clean out or organize a home. The cost is going to very according to the size of your project. I paid $75.00 per worker per hour. When items were sold the money went to the company, the money brought in was split 60/40 with the 40% going to Organizing Options. My 60% was subtracted from the money I owed the company. Mara kept good records of the money brought in and went over where we were each time she was at the apartment. I felt the price I paid was very fair given the amount of work that was done.
Description of Work
My sister had passed away and I needed help organizing and cleaning out her apartment.
Category
home & garage organization

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your detailed review and kind words. It was a pleasure for all of us to work with you and your sister on this liquidation project. It was also a pleasure to get to know your family. In the face of this large, daunting and very personal project you all persevered and were instrumental to the success of the clean out. We were thrilled to bring in appreciative buyers - you had many items that will go on to grace the homes of happy new owners. Wishing you and your family all the best!
Brittany B.
5.0
11/12/2016
My family had a great experience with Organizing Options! Working with Mara and Brett was a positive experience from start to finish. They were professional, fast, thorough, honest and best of all, they were extremely kind and pleasant throughout the duration of the project. Our family member's home was in hoarder's condition and Organizing Options managed to clear it in 2 days and that was no easy task! Mara & Brett kept us fully informed and updated along the way and never hesitated to answer any of our questions or address any concerns. They found a solution that worked best for our situation and gave their best effort to clearing and selling the estate's contents in record time. They also kept our budget top of mind which gave me full confidence that they really did have our family's best interest in mind. Organizing Options is truly a family company that takes pride in taking great care of other families! We could not have done this without them. If you are looking for an honest company that demonstrates hard work and respect for a reasonable price, look no further!
Description of Work
I needed to have a family member's estate cleaned out so that the family could sell it. The home was packed full of 40 years worth of belongings and was too overwhelming of a task for the family to handle.
Category
home & garage organization, auction services

Service Provider Response

We were honored to be chosen by your family to clear out your relative's home. We completely understand the demanding task of coordinating the respectful removal and donation of cherished items while identifying as many sale-able items as possible. We were also so pleased to be able to lower the cost of this large liquidation project because of the amount of items we sold on your behalf. Thank you for your confidence and support during this process. We are thrilled that you can now move forward unencumbered.
Cindi P.
5.0
11/06/2016
Mara and her crew showed up on time and jumped into the work immediately. I'm a very organized person and I was impressed by how organized Mara was...as well as her crew. They were efficient, compassionate, fast and worked really hard to clear the house out in less than a day. They did their best to sell as many items as possible, both to the buyer who came to the house and to outside buyers through Mara's contacts and on Craigslist.
Description of Work
My sister was in hospice and I needed to clean out her house in preparation for sale. I lived out of state and wasn't able to spend the time needed to do the job myself. I called Mara and she spent a lot of time on the phone with me, explaining their service. My sister's house wasn't really in their work area but she was willing to work with me. Instead of doing an estate sale which would require a lot of time and many strangers in the house, I elected to sell what we could to a buyer Mara works with and sell other items on Craigslist through her company. The balance of my sister's possessions would be donated to charity (they came to the house) or trashed in the dump (the charity took care of that too).
Category
auction services

Service Provider Response

Thank you for posting a review of our work together. We know we came into your life during a very stressful time. But, working together with you onsite to clear the home in a respectful manner hopefully eased your out of state burden. You were such a bonus and helped us get this done more expediently. Thank you for choosing us to assist you - it was our pleasure to work with you!
Sherri S.
5.0
10/19/2016
I contacted the company to see if they would be able to run an estate sale auction. Mara and I spoke. I gave her some information, for which she wanted to review and get back to me. She called me back within an hour. Informed me based on her schedule they were unable to help. Since our schedules would not match up she did the next best thing, gave another company's name and phone that might be able to. Mara then proceed to tell me if they could not help, to call her back she would see what she could do. This is a company that I will keep their number handy for my future needs or my family and friends needs. I know that I would have enjoyed working with them.
Description of Work
Estate Sale for downsizing purposes
Category
auction services

Service Provider Response

Thank you for writing about your experience with our company. It was a pleasure to talk with you and strategize solutions to best fit your needs. We sincerely wish you all the best with your next steps. And, the feeling is mutual, thank you for your very kind words.
Ashlee M.
5.0
10/12/2016
The first time I used Mara and her team was when my mother passed away leaving me a house filled with two households worth of stuff. Mara was able to assess my needs and work within my parameters for what I wanted (needed to clear the basement so that I could finish it). She was not only able to clear the whole basement within a week but also able to sell several peices that were worth a sum of money that I didn't want to keep but didn't know what to do with. She was efficient and caring. She did a spectacular job and the only reason why I have her come back is my life gets so busy that occasionally I need a refresher. I would wholeheartedly recommend this team for any and all of your needs!
Description of Work
Mara and her team have worked with me several times in the past. In this particular instance I was having a bit of trouble keeping everything organized due to my busy schedule.
Category
home & garage organization

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our company. Working with you throughout the years has been our pleasure. We've appreciated the opportunity to make your space work for you in a more streamlined manner. You have been such a pleasure to serve. Again, our thanks for choosing us and for reviewing our work together.
Judy F.
5.0
10/01/2016
Finding Mara and Organizing Options of Illinois was a blessing for us. In January of 2016 my step father passed away leaving my Mom alone with an estate to settle and chemo treatments to finish. My husband and I live 4+ hours away, out of state, and were making weekly trips to help out. My step father was a man of many interests and the large ranch house and full attic were completely stuffed with the many things that he saved and collected throughout his 50+ years of living there. After Mom gave away what she wanted we moved her and her things to our home. We now needed someone to come in and sell, donate, recycle and dispose of everything in the house and attic so that the house could be sold. I contacted Mara and all aspects of the job were discussed and agreed upon in advance. There were no surprises. This was all done through email, phone, pictures and texts. Mara and her team were wonderful! We mailed her a key to the house and she took it from there. Her team accomplished in 4 days what we had been working on for 6 months and had barely made a dent. They worked tirelessly in less than ideal circumstances; high heat and no air conditioning. The attic was over 100 degrees! This was a large complex project and it was handled expertly from start to finish. Mara even dropped off a found cable box at Comcast. We highly recommend Mara and her crew at Organizing Options! Mara was extremely professional and kind. She was a true pleasure to work with. We could not have done it without her and her team! Sincerely, Judy, Lew & Charlene (mom)
Description of Work
House Clean Out/Hoarding
Category
home & garage organization

Service Provider Response

Thank you for reviewing us and our work together. It was sincerely a pleasure for us to assist your family with this project. We were thrilled to have the opportunity to share so many of your step father's unique collections with very interested buyers. Now many others are enjoying those pieces, as he did. And, the many items donated will benefit so many others in need. Again, our thanks for choosing us to assist you. Wishing you and your family all the best with many less burdens!!
Laura K.
2.0
09/12/2016
I will regret for the rest of my life that I chose the fast route of clearing out my in-laws' house when I hired Organizing Options. For my family's needs and temperament, I would have been better served by the single-person professional organizer who had been recommended by a friend. I chose Organizing Options because of its great rating on Angie's List and because I was lured by the siren call of a quick fix. Based on the reviews, their methods have been well-regarded by others, but my experience left me with sadness, anger, and embarrassment. As a person who cares about sustainable living in a community of like-minded individuals, before my experience with Organizing Options it had been incomprehensible that people--especially professionals--would throw recyclables into a dumpster. By hiring Organizing Options I contributed to depositing significant amounts of paper, electronics, and textiles to a landfill. I am so sorry I let it happen. It should be a no-brainer to place paper in an appropriate recycling bin and take electronics to any of the regularly scheduled collection events in the area. In my community, the Public Works department regularly partners with the Epilepsy Foundation to collect old clothing, other textiles, shoes, belts, hats, bags, etc., to be repurposed. So basic recycling wasn't followed. Even worse, my list of instructions was ignored. I had been asked to mark with tape the items we wanted, but the reason I had sought professional assistance was because sorting and identifying what we wanted to keep (or give to people or organizations we knew would want them) was overwhelming. My in-laws kept everything, and the four-level house was full. As we got closer to the cleanout date, I started to just make a list of categories and certain specific items to keep whether they were taped or not. How I wish I had made a longer list and insisted on the opportunity to review it personally with each of the on-site staff members, instead of relying on their leadership to give instructions. Rather than taking charge of my situation, I opened myself to assistance and let the Organizing Options leader and his team ram through the house in a frenzy, doing what they do--looking for items that may interest their preferred antique dealer, offering items to their preferred charity, taking items for themselves to "sell," and throwing everything else in a dumpster. They claimed that items throughout the house were mildewed, but this was definitely not true of items on the main two levels. Many items just suffered from dustiness, while many had been packed in boxes, dust-free, for years. Organizing Options filled 2 large dumpsters (the kind that are taller than a person, that you enter from a door on one end), while representatives of a "charity in the city" drove off with a full moving truck plus a trailer loaded with metal recyclables. There were instances when staff brought specific items to my attention, and I typically didn't want them, but that didn't mean I didn't care what happened to them. I am haunted by the knowledge that after the charity had left, serviceable items that I said I didn't want went to the dumpster. I wish I would have stopped their process and taken the time to consider where items should or could go. Most of the items in the house were disposed of without my seeing what happened to them. I am haunted by the fact that antique furniture, baby clothes and many, many dishes and other treasures from all sides of my husband's family tree were things that in the swirl of the cleanout day are just gone. The fast "cleanout" was a mistake. We needed help organizing. Surely a good deal of things would have still gone to the landfill, but I am pretty sure that at least a dumpster full of items could have gone to other places--recycling, friends and neighbors, extended family members, or our preferred charities. For example, there were many, many fabrics, papers and other odds and ends that were the kinds of things that people buy at a local rummage/estate sale held three times per month by a local charity, The Economy Shop in Oak Park. Art postcards that I had begun placing in a box in the kitchen disappeared, and when I asked about them, a staff member said, "nobody wants those, so I 'eighty-sixed' them." I looked at him in amazement and decided to let it go at the time, but it still bothers me. We are a family of artists, with neighbors and friends who are artists. The postcards were new and un-faded, and the Economy Shop could have sold those cards to someone who would have been thrilled to have them, or my art-loving son could have incorporated them into a project. I myself go to the Economy Shop looking for odds and ends for Halloween costumes and other projects. There were so many people buzzing around that it wasn't possible to keep track of what everyone was doing. At some point, on top of a pile of garbage bags filled with "donations," I noticed a box and bag of cleaning supplies that I had previously stashed in a bathroom closet, which I had designated on my list as off-limits. I went to that room, and the person there said he had cleaned it out but left things he thought we would want. I saved part of that situation, but there were many little episodes like this that cannot be reversed. There were big things too--like how the leader of the crew offered clay masks made by my artist mother-in-law to the antique dealer. I didn't even get the opportunity to see most of the haul taken for $225 by the antique dealer (the leader said we needed to accept "wholesale" prices), but I saw those masks on a table and pulled them off (after they were paid for by the dealer but before the dealer's people came to pick them up). When I turned to the guy in charge, I learned that he found the masks in a box in the attic. (Art works were supposed to be off-limits.) I later learned that he threw the rest of the box of masks away, claiming that they were broken. What I needed was assistance with segregating items so I and my husband could review and make informed decisions about where things would go. I paid over $5,000 (including $70/person per hour over 8 hours) to raid my house and make decisions that were not in keeping with our sensibilities. I remind myself that it's only stuff and it could have been lost to natural disaster. I appreciate that Mara of Organizing Options has been talking with me and feels badly about what happened with our "cleanout." Our conversations have helped my moods for those particular times, but my anger remains, and I am working through it. Expressing an honest review of my experience is important in this process.
Description of Work
Organizing and distributing the contents of a 4-level house. 9/30/2016 follow-up: In the weeks before our scheduled "cleanout" Mara instructed me to stop donating when I had described how I was organizing donations for our local charities (something I am accustomed to doing in order to support income tax charitable deductions that I make regularly). During our pre-cleanout communications, Mara was vague about her "valued" vendors, etc., including the charity that she said was always responsive, showing up whenever she called. Starting with the mostly illegible tax receipt from the charity that was provided via Mara, I tried tracking down the charity in order to get a clear receipt and information about what happened to our items, much less a thank you letter. I learned that the "charity" lost its charitable status with the state several years ago, and its corporate status has been involuntarily dissolved. It hardly makes sense to me that there are rave reviews about Organizing Options on Angie's List when my experience went so wrong. But, it was also the case that Organizing Options was NOT accustomed to doing "cleanouts" for property owners who were on site or who had an interest in keeping anything. I guess other reviewers didn't see or care how sausage was made. The Organizing Options contract and process gave us the impression that we had given them control of the house, that they should decide what happens. We often felt like interlopers. For example, when my husband attempted to engage the antique dealer who was moving through the house, my husband was taken aside by the OO leader and scolded about not getting in the way of the antique dealer. I had only become aware of the antique dealer's presence shortly before he left, and when an OO staff member gave me a $275 check from the antique dealer after the dealer had left I asked if I could see what he bought. I was shown two tables of items. They avoided telling me that there were large items throughout the house, including in the basement that Mara's response [to the earlier part of my review] implies had nothing salvageable. Some time later, after the dealer's people had picked up items, I was called to the basement to answer a question and noticed that a certain desk was gone. It had been listed in my instructions as something we wanted to keep. My reaction of hardly being able to focus on anything else did get the OO group to stop what they were doing and get in touch with Mara (who was not on site that day) about getting the desk back. The antique dealer's people returned the desk the following day, but meanwhile OO charged me $50 to buy the desk back. The antique dealer and OO staff members kept referring to the desk as having a damaged leg . . . but then why did they want it? Probably because it's a substantial piece of arts and crafts furniture with Mackintosh styling, something that's worth a whole lot more than $50. Although I subsequently asked for and received a list of what was taken by the antique dealer, the list provided general categories, leaving me to never know what it actually was they took. Same with items the staff members took. I don't know if the "cleanout" industry is all the same, but my experience is that it's a racket built on self-dealing. They get people to pay them a substantial hourly rate while they look for stuff they want for themselves and their friends. My initial inquiry with OO was to ask about organizing for an estate sale. Mara asked for photos of the rooms and responded that it would be a cleanout situation, not appropriate for an estate sale. But if the name of the business is Organizing Options, where is the middle ground? I was railroaded into their cleanout process when what I needed was help organizing.
Category
home & garage organization, auction services

Service Provider Response

We were contracted by the client to assist with a full house clean-out to be done so the client could move forward rehabbing the home. We sold all sale-ables, donated appropriate items and dumpsters were used for items rejected by the charity pickup (due mostly to sanitary issues and poor condition of items). Client was onsite for the entire process, was frequently consulted, but did not instruct us to alter the general course of action. It was our understanding that items were already reviewed by client prior to the start of our work. We regret that this client is unhappy, that is never our goal.
Sherlynn H.
5.0
07/09/2016
The did it in a day. A day! They were organized. They were quick. They completely cleared the house. They had a dumpster there. They had organizations that took donations. They had a buyer for all my mom's kitschy belongings. They clearly knew what they were doing. And they were fun and made the difficult job of liquidating my mom's house bearable. I highly recommend Organizing options.
Description of Work
My sister and I needed to clean out my mother's house in Illinois after she passed away. It was a daunting task. My mom had lived there since 1972. She wasn't a hoarder, but dear lord in heaven, she had a lot of STUFF. We both live in California and we had scheduled a week to fly back to Illinois and get it done. The more I thought about the logistics of doing it, the more it overwhelmed. My probate attorney suggested an organizing company and I checked Angie's List and Organizing Options popped up at the top. There's a reason for that. They were WONDERFUL. After several conference calls, we were set to go.
Category
auction services

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our company. We are so appreciative that you chose us to assist you. And we appreciate your kind words. Wishing you and your family all the best with your next steps!
5.0
06/25/2016
Mara came into my life at a very difficult time for me. My mother had just passed and had purchased a house from a family member the year before (along with all of the stuff from that household). She was able to help me clean out the basement which had about three households worth of stuff. We accomplished this task well before our projected timeline, saving me both time and money. She was able to find value in a majority of the things that I didn't want or need as well as hauling away anything else. Mara was not just an organizer for me though, she helped me through this difficult time after losing my mother and was able to coach me through the purging process with so much caring and nurturing. I value that just as much as the organizing. I have worked with Mara several times since then and again it has been wonderful. She had been able to get my place into the shape that I wanted and with my needs in mind. She really tries to put into place plans that will work for the client and long term organizational systems that meet the needs and goals of the people she works with. I cannot say enough great things about Mara and her crew.
Description of Work
The first time I worked with Mara and her crew, we were cleaning out my basement with had about three households worth of stuff. She was able to sell pretty much everything and took care of all of the rest of the stuff that needed to go. The next couple of times that I worked with Mara we were organizing my new apartment and putting together multiple organization systems.
Category
home & garage organization
Ruta K.
5.0
05/25/2016
After my mom passed and my father moved in with me out of state, I was left with a large 3 bedroom condo in Illinois to deal with. I needed to get it ready to be sold and it was full of furniture and stuff that my dad no longer wanted or needed. I found Organizing Options of Illinois on Angie's List and contacted them. Mara was so helpful and knowledgeable on what needed to be done that I had them come to the condo to provide me with a quote. We scheduled a day for the cleanout. Brett and his crew arrived ontime and had everything prearranged and coordinated with their workers, trucks and dumpster. They started working and did not stop until the job was done. It was amazing to watch. I felt so relieved that this problem was being handled by professionals who knew what they were doing and not just by me. Their experience showed and they cared. After they were done I did not find any damage anywhere and everything was broom clean. I strongly reccommend Organizing Options of Illinois to anyone needing help with a cleanout issue. You will not be sorry and your money will be very well spent. Brett stayed in contact with me from the first call until after the job was finished, making sure that I knew what was happening and making sure that everything was problem free. I would not hesitate to hire them again. Ruta Kozinski
Description of Work
Cleaned out a 3 bedroom condo, garage and storage room.
Category
home & garage organization

Service Provider Response

Thank you for sharing your experience! We were honored to assist your family and wish you all the best going forward.
Franklyn G.
5.0
03/21/2016
Four generations of my family have lived and died in that house over the last 53 years. My mothers health has forced us to move her into a senior apartment complex and try to condense and clean out 53 years of flotsam and jetsum and cherished memories. I could not do it on my own, I needed help, and Mara and her team provided it. It was not cheap, but it was worth every penny. In one day the antiques had been sold, donations made and everything else disposed of. My wife and I could not have done that in a month. Less than a week from their start the house was ready to put on the market and Mara and her team treated us in a kind and transparent manner. I would recommend them without reservation to anyone who needed help like this. One item of note: the weekend before they started my mother asked us to get her ruby ring. She said she had hidden it inside an antique cup in the buffet. We searched and searched but did not find it and were certain it was lost forever. The evening of the first day Mara's team lead called us to give a status update and told us that they had found a ruby ring in a vase and put it aside for us. THAT is professionalism and caring. I would imagine it would be easy to pocket such treasures as they are found, but the team on site put family photos, paperwork and anything they felt would be important to retain in boxes for us to take later. I feel indebted to these good people for their kindness and ethic. You will have a hard time finding anyone better. Cheaper? Maybe. There are lots of "we haul junk" folks popping up these days, but safer? More trustworthy? More transparent? I would think not. --Frank Garland
Description of Work
Cleaned out my mothers house, broom clean, so that we could prepare it for sale.
Category
auction services, home staging

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind and comprehensive review. You painted such a perfect picture of the work we do and we greatly appreciate you explaining the care we take when we are on premises. We are thrilled that your heirloom has been found and returned and that you can now move forward and enjoy your family without the burden of this project. With our sincere thanks for taking the time to share your personal story.
Dave R.
5.0
01/29/2016
Mara took care of everything and made the project super easy. She was reasonably priced and was great to work with. I highly recommend her.
Description of Work
Mara helped me clean out and donate items from a relative's apartment that passed away.
Category
home & garage organization

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review us and thank you for choosing us to assist you. We were so pleased to help you with this small project and wish you all the best going forward.
Audrey B.
5.0
08/31/2015
We needed to clean out a family members house. After trying to accomplish this on our own for over a year we were at wits end. In 2 days they made it painless and our lives stress free Many thanks to Mara, Brad and Brett.
Description of Work
Cleaned out house to get it ready to sell.
Category
auction services

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure to work on this project for your family. We are thrilled that you are now able to list the house for sale and we expect a sale will be imminent. Thank you for choosing us to assist you. Wishing you all the best!
JANET C.
5.0
05/21/2015
Every company should be this pleasant, fair, sensitive, transparent, and efficient. The contents of my mother's house included not only her estate but everything that her children had left behind when they moved away. This was a four bedroom home with an attic, basement, and garage. Furniture, clothing, kitchen items, knickknacks, tools, toys books, records, and general detritus acquired over the years needed to be moved out as the house was being sold - too massive a project for the remaining family. Although I could have hired a trash hauler to take everything to the dumpster, there was much in the house that deserved a second life. Mara was the perfect person for this task. She was very knowledgeable as to what could be sold, charities who might be interested in donations, and only as a final resort what needed to be thrown away. In addition to her extensive knowledge of the industry and her contacts, she was very sensitive to the feelings of the family who were seeing their childhood possessions dispersed. We were left with a feeling of confidence that some of the family things would find a good home. She and her company completed the job in two days and left the house broom clean. This was one of the few times where, as a consumer, I was sure that I had chosen the right person for the job. If you use this company, you won't be sorry. As they say in Australia, "no worries."
Description of Work
Handled the liquidation of residential house contents with complete removal of all items. Mara handled the sale, donation, or removal of everything in the house.
Category
auction services

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your comprehensive review of our experience together. You were such a pleasure to work for: understanding, supportive and lovely. We are hoping that this helped ease your family's burden a bit.
RONALD L.
5.0
03/03/2015
I had, in passing, mentioned to a friend that I was likely going to have to dispose of the contents of my parent's condo sometime soon as my step-father was quite ill. She mentioned she had a friend that does that kind of work (although had never personally used this service) and gave me Mara's information. I met with Mara while the condo was being prepared for sale and was impressed with her honesty, knowledge and advice. I did my homework and contacted other firms for comparison and came to the conclusion that Mara was my best choice and I was not disappointed. Once the condo went up for sale, it sold quickly. Mara was ready to go in an instant. She listened to all my concerns and wishes and went over and above. Much had already been removed, but she brought in some buyers who took some items prior to the final clean out. The day before the move out, Mara and her staff came in and packed up everything and got it ready for donation or disposal. Additionally, she found a wonderful charity that carefully took everything that remained and left the place absolutely clean (even vacuumed the hallway). I never once felt that my interests and wishes were not being honored and Mara was always sensitive to the fact that this was an estate sale and respected the emotional attachments that existed. At the end, I felt like I had a friend at my side, helping me to navigate all the details. I would recommend Mara to anyone and only regret that I had not brought her on earlier to help me clear out the items that I ended up bringing to my own home.
Description of Work
Organized the removal of the contents of my parent's sold condo.
Category
auction services, home staging

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about our work together. It was a pleasure to assist you on this project and getting to know you was a bonus. Wishing you and your family all the best!
DOUGLAS S.
5.0
01/30/2015
I had my first meeting with Mara in November of 2014 and we toured the house together. We were not able to proceed for awhile as there were some issues that needed to be addressed first and Mara and I met again in January of 2015. Once Mara actually started on the project, it took a total of 2 weeks for everything to be completed. Mara sold everything from the furniture to books and vinyl records and whatever did not sell was donated to a charity. Whatever was left was disposed of and the house was left clean and in ready-to-move-in condition by Mara and her crew. The sales were limited, for the most part, to dealers with whom Mara has dealt with previously so there never was a crowd of people trampling through the house. Mara is very caring and compassionate but is also very focused and efficient. I would highly recommend Organizing Options to anyone who finds themselves in a situation in which they have to dispose of a property that needs to be emptied of its contents first. I cannot say enough good things about Mara and our experience with her. This has been a very stressful time for us and having someone like Mara handle this situation in the way that she did was very helpful and very comforting. She is truly gifted and I hope that she will continue to provide these services for a long time.
Description of Work
Emptied a 3-bedroom house of everything through sales, donations and hauling away the remainder
Category
home & garage organization, auction services

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the very kind words! And, thank you for sharing your liquidation experience and how we handled that for you. I was thrilled that we were able to sell so many of the vintage items in the home which allowed us to cover almost all of your liquidation and refuse expenses. It has been a pleasure to work with you on this project. Best of luck with your next steps.
Steven W.
5.0
12/28/2014
Mara and her Organizing Options team came to my rescue in a very troubled time. After my Great Aunt passed away and I took on the duties of running the Estate, I faced the overwhelming task of cleaning out her South Chicago building when I live on the other side of the country in Los Angeles. To add to the complexity, she was a very severe hoarder. I unfortunately mean that the building was filled, nearly floor to ceiling, with everything imaginable. I had no idea how to take care of this from afar. It was really daunting, as I wanted to respect my Aunt's home and memory, but the situation needed someone skilled enough to differentiate junk from an antique - I did not just want to trash everything. I wrote to Organizing Options, and from the very first response they were respectful and professional. We quickly arranged a site inspection at the property through a friend who had keys. They immediately realized that this was an extreme situation and would take a great deal of resources. After an initial bid that was completely acceptable, but above my budget range, they worked with me to adjust the work timetable and I adjusted the scope of the job. The started work within a week of receiving a down payment. After 3 days, and 8 industrial-sized dumpsters were filled, the Organizing Options team over-delivered on an extremely demanding job. As other reviewers have detailed, they brought in specialty resources to clean up the property responsibly - from scrap metal guys to vintage clothing and antiques buyers - the team provided me with an inventory of items and the sales prices of the items. I do want to stress that this is NOT a low-priced service. The care and professionalism that this crew delivers is in line with the cost of their professional services. I am sorry to say, but those of you who have very little or no estate budget should not look for this type of service - unfortunately, it is not a charity service. Again, they are reasonable paid for their high-quality work. I am forever grateful to this great team - their communication was fantastic (emails, calls, photos) - I felt as if I was aware of every step of the project as it was happening. This was really a gift, considering I was thousands of miles away. They did not shy away from a challenging job that many companies would have easily passed on - and they did their work with pride, and with amazing respect to my Aunt's memory and my family. I have lost a great deal of my close family, and I am so sorry that I didn't have a service like this when I had to clean out other houses. This team has such grace, and they really understand the meaning of being a partner to you through a very emotional time. I feel that Mara and her crew are actually better suited to normal, non-hoarding, situations - many of their services are actually more valuable when a loved one's home is in a "normal" condition, but a family doesn't know where to start - they can best help in that situation.
Description of Work
After my Great Aunt passed away, Organizing Options worked 3 days with a crew cleaning out three floors of her building for the Estate.
Category
home & garage organization, auction services

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind and comprehensive review our services and your clean out project. It was our pleasure to assist you and we all appreciate you writing about the experience. Wishing you a happy and healthy new year!
Karen S.
5.0
10/20/2014
This company knows how to meet a customer's need and at the same time exceed their expectations. I thought clearing out almost 40 years of the hoaded contents of a house was an overwhelming task. Not for Organizing Options of ILL. They expertise at identifying items that can be sold and have a large network of buyers. They identified and sold things I would have thrown out. For items that weren't salable they had their charity connection come pick them up on site and leave a detailed list of contributions for tax purposes. They had a dumpster on site for trash and it was removed promptly. Hazardous items were disposed of legally. Some of the contents were being shipped to family out of state and they even took care of getting them packed and shipped. Plus they were tidy about how they left the premises. I was kept informed prior to the job about what to expect and when. During the job I was kept informed about where they were in the process. Afterwards I was kept informed about the sales. Any time I had questions they were promptly and pleasantly answered. What any customer should appreciate about this company is their flexibility to perform whatever kinds of tasks the customer wants them to do in order to accomplish the end goal. Their team works like a well oiled machine and the overwhelming job was done in one day and came in under budget. There was a lot of logistics involved with getting dumpsters, buyers, help ect. on site when they were needed and everything went really smooth. YOU CAN"T GO WRONG BY USING THIS COMPANY.
Description of Work
Completely cleared the contents of a house that was part of an estate for which I am the administrator. They sold what was salable, arranged for the rest to be donated or properly disposed of.
Category
home & garage organization, auction services

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], thank you for your very kind words and for your comprehensive review. We were so pleased to assist you with your liquidation and were also so appreciative that you entrusted us with your very important project. As the estate administrator we are aware of the importance of the tasks that you hired us to perform. Thank you, again, for entrusting us with your project.
melinda G.
5.0
09/13/2014
Organizing options of illinois and Mara was a god-send for me. I was a bit skeptical about using a company without a personal recommendation but after seeking out 4 other companies---Mara had her team /contacts were all that I needed and at a competitive financial outcome. After the unexpected death of my mother, I was left to empty her apartment and get rid of everything. Mara was the only company willing to come and see the unit and look at things---most other companies wanted photos to see how valuable the items and job would be to them. She traveld 25 miles to my home. Mara offered me a variety of options on how to empty the unit and dispose of everything. She was thorough, complete , fair and honest about everything. Her compassion for the process and how difficult it is to let go on a loved one's belongings made the process easier. Her's was a no pressure approach and just plain honest advise- I really appreciated this. I had no idea how much money I would make and as we often forget- it is costly just to pack up and take things elsewhere- even if to charity. I only made enough to cover my expenses - plus a bonus of $1000.00- but after a lot of leg work and research-- no other company would have done any better. All of the companies I contacted told me that I had less than $15,000 of items and that an on-site estate sale would not be profitable and a real wear and tear on me and my home. Most companies were even unwiling to deal and with and help me but mara was not only willing to assist me in the completion of my project- she made it a lot easier. She offered me many options- from doing all the work herself to a shared process that saved me a bit of money. I like the personal approach I got from mara as well as the completeness of her services and would highly recommend the services of organizing options of Illinois and Mara to any one.
Description of Work
help me empty my mothers apartment after her death- sell, donate and remove everything from 2 bedroom apartment
Category
auction services

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your very kind words and for your comprehensive and thoughtful review about our work together. It was a pleasure working with you throughout this process. I'm so pleased that this burden has been lifted. Best!

Phone

Address

5111 Brummel St

Skokie, IL 60077

Service Categories

Real Estate Auctions
Antiques

Other Information

Services offered

Estate liquidation, estate sales, donation coordination, refuse removal, home staging, downsizing guidance, hoarding solutions, space planning, organizing, moving strategies, loose market item valuations & appraisal coordination.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
PayPal

FAQ

Organizing Options of Illinois is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

Organizing Options of Illinois is open:

Sunday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Organizing Options of Illinois accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal

Yes, Organizing Options of Illinois offers free project estimates.

Yes, Organizing Options of Illinois offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Organizing Options of Illinois does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Organizing Options of Illinois offers warranties.

Organizing Options of Illinois offers the following services: Estate liquidation, estate sales, donation coordination, refuse removal, home staging, downsizing guidance, hoarding solutions, space planning, organizing, moving strategies, loose market item valuations & appraisal coordination.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Montalbano Inc

Angi Certified

Montalbano Inc

Please note the phone number given is a masked number and not allowed to accept texts or direct calls. To do so please call 708-409-5100 or 708-774-1946 or email mark@montalbanofurniture.com. Since 1923, we manufacture, refinishing, restoration, reupholstering, custom furniture & sales, bent glass, beveled mirrors & leather tops, & caning. Come and see our restored antiques, antique reproductions, and genuine Capodimonte lamps and giftware from Italy. Solve your heirloom and antique problems with complete restoration. We do not fix, repair or reupholster motion furniture or recliners as well as upholstery, spring, and leather repairs. Bring back the original character of your old masterpieces. Period furniture is our specialty, but not our limitation. Removers and strippers can damage the luster and character of the wood. At Montalbano these are never used. Instead we use a specially formulated thinner to completely dissolve the old finish as if it never existed. The item is then taken apart as necessary, re-glued, repaired, completely hand sanded and prepared for its new twelve step finish which is second to none. We are specialists in water, fire and insurance work. We offer free factory estimates and home estimates are available. Pickup and delivery is available. Our other services offered include; leather replacement and bent glass doors, caning as well as expert reupholstering with our 10,000 piece fabric gallery. Directions:Take 25th Avenue to the side street going west by the corner with the Bearing Company on the North and our white delivery truck on the South. Continue West 2 blocks all the way to the railroad tracks. Then turn left going South and follow the rail road tracks all the way to the middle of the back side of the building, where you will see our entrance door to our factory and warehouse.