Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Allied Van Lines

Founded 1969 • With Angi since April 2012

3.9

(136) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1 Parkview Plaza

OAKBROOK TERRACE, IL 60181

Description

Moving your goods across town or across the country is a major undertaking. Aallied Van Lines, located in MIchigan City, Indiana can help. We provide our customers with the best possible transportation & warehousing services available while ensuring customer satisfaction through consistent, controlled quality management. Submit a quote form today for a free estimate....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/20/2021


George S.

They provided a timely, professional estimate.

Description of Work
Already said it. Total weight expected 22,000 lbs. Above average quality furniture and articles.

Category moving companies

3.0

02/04/2018


Ellis H.

Several Items were damaged. The basic insurance of $0.60 per lb is for the weight of the item and not the entire shipment. It is essentially no insurance at all since even vegetables cost more than that. As a result they take no responsibility for damage.

Description of Work
move from New York to Atlanta

Category moving companies

4.0

08/14/2017


Philip C.

Very responsive and professional in the sales and move process but dealing with question on the final billing was painful. In the end the billing was correct but it took several follow up emails to get my questions answered. Also, labeling the context of each box could have been improved.

Description of Work
Move from Chicago to Tucson

Category moving companies

1.0

07/03/2017


Paul C S.

From beginning to end it was an expensive and total disaster. They lost our booking and when we called to confirm pickup in two weeks the situation turned into utter chaos. Everything was done on an "emergency" bases and nothing went as planned. They sent an estimator with an electronic clipboard out to give us the price. He went through EVERYTHING we had to move from both houses and we were told $11,000 to move. Once they had our belongings on the van that figure doubled and we had to make an immediate payment to have everything delivered as arranged or they would put everything in storage and charge us for that! When their packers came we were told we had to buy them lunch or they would not pack. When they actually did pack they packed everything including items we had put in the garbage, fittings from one of our old homes that should have stayed with the home and all our medications we had left out on a table to put in our vehicle and take with us but had stopped to handle yet another packing emergency they were having. When we returned to pick up the meds they were gone from the table and none of the packers would admit to packing them. We had to get emergency prescriptions issues and pay for the new supplies. They broke, stole, damaged, scraped, lost or just plain did not pack untold items. Before we left to move to our new home we walked around our old one after the packers had left and found all the wiring for our home theater system lying in a corner unpacked. They had literally taken them out of a box we had packed them in and thrown them across the room for some reason. After we unpacked at the other end of the move we found a number of items missing. We called the movers and were informed that a second smaller load was coming because they decided to split our load and take another smaller load along with our load. After the second load was dropped off there were still many boxes missing which they could not nor would not explain. Many items were damaged and broken, and only the threat of a lawsuit prompted any sort of a reply. In short NEVER use this company.

Description of Work
Moving contents of two households fro CT to one house in MO.

Category moving companies

5.0

01/18/2017


JOHN J.

They did a good job, they got me from West Virginia to Florida without tearing my stuff up so I guess they did good.

Description of Work
I use Allied Van Lines for moving services.

Category moving companies

5.0

11/23/2016


Vicki V.

I had one issue with them. The first driver that came out turned down the load. Said I wasn't ready and I had an issue with that. A week later a different driver came and he was perfect. He was very nice and accommodating. I guess it wasn't a driver that they normally use so I don't hold that against them.

Description of Work
Moving

Category moving companies

1.0

10/27/2016


Susan H.

We had a couple other moving bid from Birmingham to Albuquerque. We donated a sculpture to the Birmingham Civil Right Institute and we paid Allied $780 to crate it. We paid them $180 to drop off at the institute. They put our other things in storage because they didn't have a driver. They delivered 3 of our sculptures which were the wrong ones to the Institute. The contract delivery date was 6/20 - 6/25. They didn't show up until after 7/17 with a partial delivery. We missed a family wedding because we were expecting their delivery. We were suppose to be in Missouri for the wedding and they didn't show up. They kept giving new delivery dates. The 2 sculptures they had incorrectly delivered, still did not show up until 8/17! When they delivered, one of the sculptures was missing. 25,000 worth of items were missing or broken including a marble coffee table top that was smashed, an antique chest from 1870 - the marble top was broken in half. My silver chest with my Wallace grande baroque sterling silver flatware along with some heirloom family sterling silver flatware was also in the chest. Plus the chest was bought at Herod's in London was gone which was very special to me. That chest had been moved multiple times previously (about 10 cross country corporate moves from the 70's to 1998) and nothing had ever been lost or stolen. All together, we filed a $25,000.00 claim and they gave a check for $3700.00. They said we had not done a complete inventory the day we got the partial delivery. There were 2 men unloading along with the driver. Many of the boxes had lost their Allied numbers in the month they had them before delivery. There was no way for us to determine what was in the boxes. I listed the things I knew were missing, but added a note saying 'I won't know what else is missing until I go thru the boxes.' They held that against us. We spent $2500 in legal fees. Our attorney listed all the state consumer laws. We would have had to incurred thousands of dollars to take them to federal court. They denied the claim. In the contract, we had paid approx. $700 additional for no deductible $75,000 coverage of our property called 'extra care protection'. I wrote a letter to the holding company of the insurance for Allied. They replied with a check for $750 to cover our insurance cost - but nothing else. They had asked early on before things were packed and loaded; we had a choice to either pay with a credit card or a cashier's check. I wanted to use my American Express card and gave them the number and information. We were driving a few days before we were to meet them and I saw that my Amex had alerted me about a charge of $11800.00 charge. Allied took the money out of my account before the items were delivered without approval!

Description of Work
contracted for a cross country move from Birmingham, Alabama to Santa Fe, New Mexico.

Category moving companies

3.0

08/10/2015


Sylvia H.

Movers were very nice very careful few scratches on furniture. A month after we unpacked realized several things were missing. We paid extra for insurance and would not honor it and said we were uneligible. Said we had 90 days to turn any thing in. I emailed the list and they said they couldn't substantiate our claim. The amount was 1,400.00 we were asking for. We are now discovering more and more things that are missing :( Don't ever use Allied unless you don't care about losing you precious belongings! 9/10/15 - we continue to discover that more and more items are missing. :(

Description of Work
Moved and stored my belongings for a year and then delivered them.

Category moving companies

1.0

07/19/2015


Henry O.

Never use Allied van lines! We have moved over 10 times and never had such a terrible experience as we have had with Allied! Not only were many items of furniture broken but they have lost boxes, one of which holds my children's baby albums. They have also lost an antique high chair/baby stroller from the early 1900's that cannot be replaced as well as my husbands 200+ lb computer desk. How do you do this? Let me tell you. They had Coleman American who works for Allied pick up our belongings, take them to a warehouse several of which were not even tagged, unload them, then reloaded onto an Allied Van lines truck. The ratings for Coleman American are so poor many people say they would give them a 0 rating if possible. Now that things are lost and broken, Coleman American who is contracted by Allied does not want to return my husbands emails and or answer the questions he has asked, and no one has contacted us stating they were looking or cared about our things. We moved June 22nd. It is now July 19th. Really!!! These people could care less. Look online at the the Coleman American reviews. It will scare you. These people work with Allied, therefore since we contracted with Allied, we had no choice in Coleman American. Allied is responsible! Never use them! My next step if we do not receive service is to contact a friend of mine who is the investigative reporter for a local news station. I'm sure with moving season he will love this story. Pictures and all.

Description of Work
Moved our family from Nashville, TN to Raleigh, NC

Category moving companies

1.0

12/09/2014


Jose G.

It was not a pleasant experience. They collapsed my boxes, were consistently late, complained a lot about heavy boxes and many of our things arrived broken. I would never use them again and would never recommend them.

Description of Work
They moved us from FL to NJ.

Category moving companies

1.0

12/07/2014


Glen B.

Coleman American was Allied's agent for this move. Coleman severely underestimated the volume of possessions involved in this move. As a result we had a shortage of packers, they had to provide another truck and had to re-handle many of our items before final delivery. The packers mislabeled or failed to provide any labeling on most of the nearly 400 boxes in our move. Since a large part of our load was intended for long-term storage at our destination, there was mass confusion and delays during off-load while we tried to figure out what went where. It also required literally hundreds of extra labor hours to sort out and repack the mess so we could place the right boxes in long-term storage. Coleman loaded high-end my cast iron table saw in the rain and failed to dry it off before loading other items on top of the saw. As a result, it rusted during transit. Even though we purchased Allied's premium damage insurance they denied any responsibility. After we offloaded the first truck at our destination, Allied?s driver started joking with my son. He told he thought that we had it pretty good. Then he told my son that he should have a little brother and that he would be willing to try to get my wife (my son's mother) pregnant! My son was so shocked and embarrassed it took him two days to work up the courage to tell me. Both Allied Corporate and Coleman American were contacted about these issues immediately. In short, I received a generic email apology and promises to look into my complaints but never anything specific to the driver or the missing content labeling of the boxes. Coleman's GM didn't respond to several calls and emails. And after several months, they paid on a small part of my damage claim and chose to ignore the rest. In April of 2014, I contacted Allied?s President / Corporate offices in Indiana. After several promises to investigate etc., they succeeded in dragging the process out further with delayed responses, further requests for information I?d already provided, failures to return calls and emails? a repeat of the entire runaround. After nearly a year, and only after my persistent follow-ups, the offered me a mere $500 for ?inconvenience? compared to the versus thousands I spent undoing their mess. ignore their driver issue and my additional damage expense. So, in the end I told them to shove their $500.

Description of Work
Allied and their agent, Coleman American were used to move my household, a storage unit and the contents of an apartment from Orange County CA, to the midwest

Category moving companies

5.0

11/17/2014


Wayne M.

The driver was excellent, and supervised the crews in both locations during the loading and unloading.

Description of Work
I hired this company to help me move from California to Virginia.

Category moving companies

5.0

11/07/2014


David R.

I used Angie's List to select 5 top rated moving firms, then scheduled dates/times to meet with them to assess my household belongings and provide a detailed quotation. The sales rep, Larry, was exceptional. He clearly knows the moving business and put me at immediate ease with this moving project. After the site visit, he provided a "not to exceed" price quotation. He was my main contact and very understanding when I wanted to add some new appliances that I purchased in Orlando with a fair additional price. Leading up to the moving date, Larry or someone from his team were very thorough in giving us updates. As far as the move itself, it was stellar. Jermaine was the team lead and driver. Him and his assistance arrived at our house 1 day early to do some prepacking and assessment. While we had done a decent job of packing, they were very understanding and provided exceptional support during the prep time. They did a great job of disassembly and wrapping all furniture. They even took special care of my motorcycle. On moving day, Jermaine and his time arrived on time and worked hard all day. We had more stuff than we thought, but they packed it all safely and securely. The whole team worked hard all day and were done in about 8 to 9 hours. On arrival day in Houston, again, they arrived on time and did a great job. I purchased extra insurance for our items, just in case, but we had a couple of minor items get scratched, but nothing that a wood marker can't fix. I can't rave enough about Allied and not only do I recommend them, I will definitely consider using them again, if I make another move.

Description of Work
Move my household items and furniture from Orlando to Houston

Category moving companies

3.0

08/06/2014


Judy P.

The movers showed up two days early due to miscommunication with the office. They came back on the right day. The estimator was way off with the amount of items - even though he actually came and did a complete walk through. They worked hard loading, but I felt the items - especially boxes - could have been handled more carefully. The truck was not large enough. I had to go rent a uhaul to finish the loading. Then I had to drive it. only uhaul I could get was one I had to return back to the same place (not one way) which meant another four hour round trip plus mileage expenses. When they were unloading into storage, it appeared they were in a very big hurry, particularly at the end. We have since needed to pull out in totally rearrange two of our units to have any hope of organization. Heavy stuff had been loaded on top of light stuff. Things with clearly marked "this side up" were ignored. We have not yet unpacked - that will come next month - but I'm afraid of what I'm going to find. The guys working were very likeable - no foul language or inappropriate. I would say things could have been much worse, but also better. The biggest plus was a contracted move quote that they did not go over.

Description of Work
Loaded up a complete household, although no appliances and minimal large furniture. Delivered two hours away and unloaded into secure storage units.

Category moving companies

3.0

07/22/2014


Nicholas G.

The quality of the move was no better or worse than the average we have experienced in our many moves in the past. The problem is that when the salesman came to the house and estimated the cost of the move, he told us that what we were buying was based on the estimated weight. He pointed out that it was a good deal for us as the cost would not exceed the estimate and that if we moved less than what he estimated that we would pay less than the estimated amount. As we were moving to a smaller house we had told him that we were trying to get rid of some of our furniture before moving and with the prospect of saving money with every pound we didn't move, we got rid of a lot of stuff. When the shipment arrived at our new residence we asked what the load weighed and they said that they had not weighed it because it was a fixed price move. We called the company and the salesman told us that what he had sold us was a move based on actual weight - not to exceed what he had estimated. The next we knew was that the salesman had retired and the company said that the paperwork that was signed was for a fixed price move. Ask the sales person what happens if you end us shipping more weight then is estimated and what happens if you ship less weight. Perhaps you should ask the person who coordinates your move for the moving company and also the driver when he gets there...just in case you uncover a misunderstanding. The company gave us a small refund to soften the frustration we felt at being abused, but whether you are using this company or another one, get clarification from more than one person about what the deal really is.

Description of Work
We used Bailey's to move us from Colorado Springs to Ohio.

Category moving companies

1.0

07/16/2014


pete P.

P**** p**** p**** up set my wife wanted to get $900. today to hold a spot. We all know what this means.

Description of Work
nothing

Category moving companies

5.0

06/05/2014


Barbara M.

Their price was good and they did a good job for us.

Description of Work
I have used Allied Van Lines for moving.

Category moving companies

5.0

05/23/2014


Katherine B.

It was excellent. We had storage in Florida before they moved us here. It was perfect. The men who worked on the trucks were very, very careful, very efficient, very careful with my belongings. On both ends they were excellent.

Description of Work
I used Allied Van Lines Inc. for my move.

Category moving companies

1.0

03/10/2014


William H.

I used to move myself when I was younger, and there was a lot of stuff that they refused to move. Most of the movers were inexperienced - it appeared that they were day job workers. A lot of walls were damaged by the movers as well.They also didn't set up some of the items that needed to be set up.

Description of Work
They moved us inter state from one city to another.

Category moving companies

1.0

02/10/2014


Fiona W.

Working with the company was a horrible expierience. They cost so much money and we got unprofessional service. They treated us badly, they were 2 weeks late delivering our items, and then when the stuff finally showed up it was either lost or broken. Put in a claim for our lost and stolen items and the money they sent me wasn't enough to even replace one item. I will never use them again and I do not recommend that anyone else use them. Please do yourself a favor and find another company.

Description of Work
They were two weeks late delivering our belongings and didn't seem to feel bad about it, and on top of that they lost and broke lots of our belongings.

Category moving companies

5.0

01/21/2014


Adriana B.

They were fully professional even when I wasnt!|Then on move in day they arrived on time again, were helpful and professional, giving my furniture the care it deserves. |The office staff were responsive, helpful, and reassuring. |This is the third time I've used Berger Allied, in Dallas and in Southern California. All the drivers and the office contacts were the kind of people I would request again, which says good things about the way they hire their staff.

Description of Work
On pack up day, the team arrived on time, took meticulous time to pack all my stuff just so.

Category moving companies

3.0

12/31/2013


Robert C.

pack, storage in Houston, ship to San Diego, CA | |difficult dealing w/ agent in Houston, reluctant to provide local contact in SD. shipment arrived SD missing items and with moderate damage. claim took until 12/2013 to resolve. would definitely not recommend or use again! (more detailed report made online several time, but resulted only in error messages...)

Description of Work
.

Category moving companies

5.0

10/09/2013


warren F.

.The move went without a hitch. Walt and Pete, the driver and his helper, arrived exactly at the time as was set. They immediately went about their business doing an inventory of what was to be taken. Upon completion of the inventory, they proceeded to remove items to the van after which they proceeded to pack fragile items as had been agreed to. They ultimately had everything removed from the apartment. All of this was completed in a very timely fashion without any delay or hitches. We confirmed the date of arrival for the load and off they went. The total process from meeting with the agent for Allied to the unloading of all the items went very smoothly and really was much easier than I anticipated. I would highly recommend the services of Allied.

Description of Work
I met with the rep to discuss the details of moving furniture, etc. from Pennsylvania to South Carolina. The rep was very helpful in pointing out what needed to be done prior to the move by us and what then would be required during the move and afterwards. The move took place on 9/18/2013 without a hitch. The driver Walt made telephone contact to set up the time for packing.

Category moving companies

1.0

09/26/2013


Kimberly C.

Initially, Nicole, came to our house to give us an estimate. She estimated it at $1400. We told here that was more than we wanted to spend. She informed us that since we were doing most of the packing and that there were only bigger items it would not be the full amount. She said it would depend on the hours they spent moving. So we figured approximately 5 hours. At $150.00 per hour, total cost might be $750, max $1000. She guaranteed that it would not be as high as $1400 and insisted that we needed to sign the contract anyway. The movers showed up on time. There were four men. We packed everything that we could possible put in boxes. The only thing they had to move were bedroom furniture, kitchen table, buffet, etc. They told us in the morning that since we had so much packed, it would not take them too much time. They worked very slow, taking several breaks, and ensured that they would max out the time, so we therefore had to pay the $1400 fee. They also broke, scratched and nicked some of our furniture. The washer had to be moved up the steps, which were solid wood. They could not assure us that the wood would not be scratched and we should just buy touch up. We tried several to contact the owner and never received a call back. I would not recommend this company and will not use them for future moves!

Description of Work
They moved us out of our home in Vegas to a smaller town home 10 minutes away.

Category moving companies

3.0

09/21/2013


KIM R B.

I thought the packing crew was great. They worked quickly and efficiently and had the whole house (2 story, 3 bedroom, and full basement) packed up in 1 day. They were very courteous and answered all my questions. On day 2 they arrived and loaded the truck (twice) and took my things to their warehouse. They worked quickly and were done by 1pm on day 2. I had sprained my ankle in a fall the night before packing had begun and they were gracious enough to leave my comfortable chair and ottoman until the very last minute to load so I could elevate my foot. After that my experience went downhill. I had a contracted date range my things were to arrive in my new location (moved from Ohio to Oklahoma). I was told I had to be available easily during those days for arrival. I was available but they didn't arrive. They didn't contact me at all about an arrival time so I finally had to call (getting hold of my agent was not easy). She gave me an arrival date that was several days past my contracted date and also a date I could not be available since I was starting my new job. I had to tell them that was not acceptable and they had to make the driver work on a weekend to get it to me on my last available day. There was no explanation except they didn't have enough drivers. The crew that unloaded my truck to storage did a great job, were very careful with my belongings and packed them well in the storage units. Overall I feel like the crews they hire are very good and very competent. Communication and cooperation with the company itself could certainly improve. My only other complaint is that all small parts that result from taking apart beds etc. (bolts, screws, etc.) are put in a box and labeled "parts". I was told I would be given this box or know where it was on arrival at destination. That didn't happen and the driver just said "it's in there" - meaning somewhere in my storage units or in a bigger box. This was a problem as I wanted to use my twin bed at the location I am staying temporarily - expect I can't put the bed together without the parts. Problem! Also I had asked if my mattresses (3) would be wrapped and I was told yes. I didn't notice but "wrapping" 2 of them meant counting my very expensive bedbug covers would suffice and they were not re-wrapped. Those expensive covers are now torn and useless and my mattresses have been exposed to heavens knows what. Problem!

Description of Work
Berger packed up my entire house except for some previously stored tubs/totes in my basement storage room. They stored my things temporarily in their warehouse then moved it to storage units in my new location approximately 900 miles away.

Category moving companies

    Other local Pros in your area

    Good Move Movers

    Good Move Movers is a moving and storage company located in Elmhurst, Illinois. We specialize in local residential moving. We also have temperature controlled, fully licensed and insured warehouse. Our prices for local packing and moving are always competitive and our storage pricing is prorated per day. We also do overnight storage to accommodate closing days. All moving professionals must pass background checks.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Blankenship Movers Inc

    **PLEASE CLICK OUR SHOP BUTTON!!** ALL OF OUR DEALS ARE ALL INCLUSIVE WITH SHRINK WRAP, TAPE AND WARDROBE SERVICE!! When we started out, we wanted to streamline the moving process for clients in the Chicagoland area. We felt that the current local industry was inundated with way too many fees and charges and that customers came away feeling like they were being "nickel and dimed" for everything. What we found was that by building everything into a full service, simple quote system, with no additional fees, customers overwhelmingly responded with an unanimous thumbs up. Simple and stress free, easy to understand and easily meeting expectations. This has become our thumbprint. You will LOVE the way we move!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Great Chicago Movers LLC

    With over 5 years of Professional Moving experience, Great Chicago Movers LLC is the company to call for your in-state moving needs. Fully bonded and insured, we will make sure that your property is handled in a safe and professional manner. Please call us today! WE DO NOT DO OUT OF STATE MOVES.  

    Offers by Great Chicago Movers LLC on Angi
    Rentals - Trucks
    Taxi/Shuttle Service
    Auto Body Work
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Moving.

    Services Not Offered

    Movers, Moving, Moving Service, Long Distance Moving

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Allied Van Lines

    How is Allied Van Lines overall rated?

    Allied Van Lines is currently rated 3.9 overall out of 5.

    Does Allied Van Lines offer free estimates?

    No, Allied Van Lines does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Allied Van Lines offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Allied Van Lines does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Allied Van Lines offer a senior discount?

    No, Allied Van Lines does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Allied Van Lines?

    No, Allied Van Lines does not offer warranties.

    What services does Allied Van Lines offer?

    Allied Van Lines offers the following services: Moving.

    Are there any services Allied Van Lines does not offer?

    Movers, Moving, Moving Service, Long Distance Moving