Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

H T Strenger Plumbing Co

Founded 1911 • With Angi since August 2002

4.8

(107) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

28915 N Herky Dr #101

Lake Bluff, IL 60044

Description

We are a full service plumbing contractor that has been established and servicing the local area since 1911. We strive to provide outstanding services while maintaining absolute satisfaction. We employ uniformed licensed plumbers who are experienced in the aspects of the plumbing trade. Our staff is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Pleasing our customers is our number one goal, and we take pride in achieving that goal on a regular basis. We provide fully stocked service trucks and strive to complete your project in the first trip to your house. We are EPA licensed for sewer root control, and hold a septic license for septic field and tank repair/replacement. Sewer maintenance and rodding, along with free camera inspections is our specialty. Given the opportunity, H.T. Strenger, Inc. will provide you with the quality and respect you need and deserve in a plumbing contractor. Our customers consist of a wide variety of cliental, including academia and the private sector (industrial and residential) in all surrounding communities. New Angie’s list customers, mention this ad and receive $25.00 off your first service call. If you should have any questions or comments, or need further information, please feel free to contact us. if (BADGEBOX) BADGEBOX.PlaceBadge();CHICAGO plumbing...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/23/2021


Kathy L.

Excellent service. Tyler was my plumber. He was early, polite, friendly, and thoughtful. He asked how I wanted things done with every change that was going to happen as a result of the new faucet. He showed me pictures from under the sink (to make sure I understood what he was doing.) When I initially called this company, the person who answered the phone was friendly and polite. I would definitely use this company again.

Description of Work
Installed new kitchen faucet in old sink

Category appliance repair, plumbing

5.0

02/11/2021


Patricia B.

Went very well, he did a very good job, was reasonable regarding price and was very quick!

Description of Work
Repair leaky toilet

Category plumbing

5.0

05/15/2020


Trev K.

Tyler showed up before his appointment time and was very nice and professional. We had flooding in our basement and needed our sump pumps assessed to determine what went wrong. We received very trustworthy advice and decided to go for the most upgrade we could in order to try to ensure this doesn’t happen again. Tyler will be installing new commercial sump pumps next week.

Description of Work
Sump pump inspection

Category plumbing, water damage restoration, wells

5.0

03/26/2020


Mary M.

Surveyed the situation, made a recommendation, and did the work efficiently and successfully. Wore face mask, gloves and booties even though he wasn’t sick, so I felt very protected from virus.

Description of Work
Drain rodded and disposal replaced

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank You [Member Name Removed] - We are prepared and we are taking proper safety precautions to limit any exposure to protect our clients and our technicians. It was our pleasure to service your plumbing situation and we are always ready to service any of your plumbing projects in the future. Best Regards - H.T. STRENGER.
5.0

11/12/2019


Patricia M.

Very courteous, prompt, and professional service. Brad from H.T. Strenger figured out the source of the leak, fixed it quickly, and explained the parts we could order to replace an old faucet and shower assembly and drain on our vintage tub that have been giving us problems for years. This was the second time we hired H.T. Strenger to fix plumbing issues in our 1920s house, and we have been very pleased with their work.

Description of Work
Repaired leaking overflow on cast-iron tub

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank You for the Kind Review and using our Services. We appreciate your Business.
5.0

06/11/2019


frank M.

Company was very responsive with scheduling worker to come to my house within two days. Brad did a very good job in moving the pipes in an efficient time, and cleaned up nicely. Company is solid because they charge by the hour which is $164 plus a small service fee, and parts. Many plumbing companies charge an outrageous flat fee and where plumber is compensated with excess commissions! HT Strenger is not the cheapest cheapest out there, but solid and fair. i will use again.

Description of Work
Reworking and moving bathroom water inflow pipes

Category plumbing

5.0

05/23/2018


MARK R.

Water under kitchen sink appeared while I was House sitting for my son. Being from St. Louis, I didn’t know a soul in Libertyville. I vetted HT through Angie’s list. The woman who answered was so empathetic of my situation. She told me exactly what the charges would be and their policy over the phone. She then arranged a two hour window for the service to be done. Plumber showed up two hours before schedule...WOW that NEVER happens! He was friendly, efficient, and personable. Job was done in a flash with everything cleaned up. Gabe, the plumber, couldn’t have been more courteous and helpful. Yes, I would DEFINITELY hire again.

Description of Work
Fix leak under kitchen sink and replace with new faucet

Category plumbing

5.0

04/27/2018


Mary Beth T.

Always a great experience with H.T. Strenger. Brad was respectful and courteous, and he performed all the work I requested quickly and professionally. He explained his findings and made specific recommendations for future maintenance. Even though our back-up sump battery is five years old, because it tested well he didn't recommend replacement at this time. I appreciate the fact that he put our finances ahead of his own profit. The office staff was friendly and helpful when I called to schedule the appointment, and accommodated my schedule. I heartily recommend H.T. Strenger!

Description of Work
checked toilet for possible leak; checked sump pump and back-up battery; gave estimate for water heater replacement

Category plumbing, water heater repair, wells

5.0

03/22/2018


Dean U.

Work was done quickly and correctly.

Description of Work
Rebuild toilet

Category plumbing

5.0

01/24/2018


Stephen E.

Jim was prompt and friendly. He was able to solve the problem in a little under an hour. First he used a 2" auger to bore a hole through the roots in the sewer line and pull some of them back out. This got the water/sewage flowing again. Then he used a larger auger to open up the opening and push the rest of the roots out into the main city sewer line. He also gave me some advice on how to control the root issue with some preventative maintenance down the road. I was originally quoted $197 for the first half hour and $66 per 15 minutes thereafter, but Jim ended up giving me a special discount that made it a bit cheaper. He also gave me a discounted estimate if I want to add an external cleanout down the road. Thanks Jim!

Description of Work
We have had a slow draining sewer for a few weeks (and off and on for a few years). I was able to pull out a root ball by myself, but it didn't solve the problem. In fact a few days later it fully clogged up, and my power auger snapped (I had lent it out to a friend and it came back with kinks in it). Time for professional help.

Category sewer cleaning

5.0

12/20/2017


Bonnie F.

It went well. They were able to provide me estimates over the phone with information on the ejector pumps. They charge by the hour and cost of the pump and any other material. They came in around the estimate that was quoted on the phone.

Description of Work
Replace an ejector pump

Category plumbing

5.0

12/04/2017


Al J.

HT Strenger in conjunction with a septic tank service cleaned the sewer basin and rodded out the sewer lines to two buildings. The line to one building was nearly blocked completely but they were able to break through and remove the blockage. Without immediate attention, the line would have become totally blocked. This would have required digging up and replacing the line.

Description of Work
Our facility serves as the research and development for a clay mineral company. Years of clay and waste had accumulated in our sewer basin. The city notified us that the basin must be cleaned out to insure flow and prevent total blockage.

Category sewer cleaning, drain cleaning

5.0

12/01/2017


scott B.

Very timely. Not quick, but methodical and neat. Toilet was installed, and old toilet was picked up by another member of the staff within half an hour.

Description of Work
Every aspect of the work was explained to us in detail. Plumber went out of his way to show us his work.

Category plumbing

5.0

08/28/2017


LISA P.

....................................

Description of Work
............................................................................

Category plumbing

5.0

07/18/2017


Shannon M.

He was excellent. He is truly a good serviceman. He worked around my schedule and my job, so that was good.

Description of Work
Installed a new water heater. He had come back out and replace it as it was leaking.

Category water heater repair

5.0

06/06/2017


THEODORE & ALENE S.

Extremely responsive, helpful & efficient. Gabriel was terrific. Passed inspection!!

Description of Work
Rerouted sump pump ejection in order to be code compliant. Most cost efficient solution.

Category plumbing

5.0

06/06/2017


THEODORE & ALENE S.

Very well. Strenger was by far the most reasonable. Gabe worked efficiently to complete the task and it passed the city inspection. We were on a timeline and they worked within our constraints. We would use them again!!

Description of Work
Sump Pump revision to meet code.

Category plumbing

5.0

06/02/2017


JAMES B.

Very professional, very timely good quality

Description of Work
NEW HOSE BIB

Category plumbing

5.0

05/22/2017


Michael K.

Prompt and friendly service executed without a hitch.

Description of Work
Cleared a clogged sump pump and downspout yard drain using with their hydrojet approach.

Category plumbing, drain pipe, drain cleaning

5.0

12/12/2016


Anthony M.

All is working well but was a bit pricey.

Description of Work
We had water from the shower backing up in the toilet downstairs. It was determined that the sewer needed to be rodded. 4 months prior the sewer was rodded by the Scottish Plumber who I would not recommend.

Category plumbing, sewer cleaning

5.0

11/01/2016


Elizabeth B.

Staff is courteous and professional. They are very good about explaining the process and and recommending solutions. There were some issues with damage to our underground sprinkler system. Given the scope of the project, they tried their best to minimize damage and repair the system as needed even though contract (which we were aware of) stated that they aren't responsible for damage.

Description of Work
Installation of overhead sewer, storm water connection and new sump pump system. Also performed routine plumbing maintenance.

Category plumbing, septic tank, wells, drain pipe, drain cleaning

5.0

01/03/2016


Nicole O.

Jesse and Corey with HT Strenger were great. On-time, professional and efficient. We will definitely use them next time we have any plumbing concern.

Description of Work
Cleared a sewer line clog.

Category plumbing, sewer cleaning, drain cleaning

5.0

11/30/2015


LAUREN K.

The man who came out was resourceful, persistent, informative and generous. The upstairs bathroom sink was stopped up; it has a plunger that is not removable (American Standard!), and very difficult to clean out. He took time, came up with a way, cleaned it perfectly, made maintenance suggestions and checked out my laundry sink too. All very positive.

Description of Work
unclogged bathroom sink, checked other sinks.

Category plumbing

5.0

08/04/2015


Robert M.

Overall very happy with the service - responsive, on-time, efficient and good value vs. other quote

Description of Work
Repaired leak and installed new kitchen sink faucet

Category plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

06/21/2015


ARLENE W.

Jim, the man who a few weeks earlier had given me the estimate, arrived a 8AM as scheduled. He and his apprentice Tim went directly to work digging down to the steel pipe exiting the rear of my ranch house. They went to the trouble of laying down tarps on the surrounding gavel on which to pile the dirt from the hole they were digging. They cut out a section of the old pipe and constructed the clean out connection. Before putting the stack and cap on, Jim ran a snake thru the line out to the main sewer to see if there was any root infestation. Amazingly there wasn't tho I live in a heavily treed neighborhood. They then completed building the clean-out and replaced all the dirt and then gravel that was originally there. Left the area looking exactly as they'd found it. Jim is a truly good guy who's work reflects his straight forward and confident personality. I'd hire this company and this man to work for me anytime I need plumbing work. The quality of the work and the more than fair price has me as a loyal follower.

Description of Work
Installed a clean-out on my sewer line.

Category plumbing, sewer cleaning, drain cleaning

    Other local Pros in your area

    Toptec Heating, Cooling, Plumbing & Electrical, Inc.

    We are a full service mechanical contractor providing complete system solutions for commercial, industrial, and residential applications. We look "beyond the box" to the whole HVAC/R system to provide the latest energy-saving solutions. We offer 24-hour emergency service after business hours a live operator will answer your call and dispatch one of our technicians to you. Our goal is simple-your satisfaction. We take pride in our business and you will notice the difference, from the moment we answer the phone to the time our technician leaves your home. We are listed with the Better Business Bureau and Angie's List and are also top recognized contractors with Lennox. Additional phone - (847) 362-0262. Additional DBAs - Top Tec Heating & Cooling, Toptec Heating & Cooling Inc. Cost is determined by the job.  

    Offers by Toptec Heating, Cooling, Plumbing & Electrical, Inc. on Angi
    Mr. Handyman of Grayslake

    We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service. Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    ZeroMold of Chicagoland

    Call today for all your mold remediation and water and smoke damage needs!  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    058-135641
    Trade License Locale
    IL
    Trade License Authority
    Illinois: Plumbers
    Trade License Expiration
    04/30/2023
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Excavating, gas leak repair, handymen, plumbing & drain cleaning.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about H T Strenger Plumbing Co

    How is H T Strenger Plumbing Co overall rated?

    H T Strenger Plumbing Co is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are H T Strenger Plumbing Co open?

    H T Strenger Plumbing Co is open:

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does H T Strenger Plumbing Co provide

    H T Strenger Plumbing Co accepts the following forms of payment: American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

    Does H T Strenger Plumbing Co offer free estimates?

    No, H T Strenger Plumbing Co does not offer free project estimates.

    Does H T Strenger Plumbing Co offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, H T Strenger Plumbing Co does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does H T Strenger Plumbing Co offer a senior discount?

    No, H T Strenger Plumbing Co does not offer a senior discount.

    Does H T Strenger Plumbing Co offer emergency services?

    Yes, H T Strenger Plumbing Co offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by H T Strenger Plumbing Co?

    Yes, H T Strenger Plumbing Co offers warranties.

    What services does H T Strenger Plumbing Co offer?

    H T Strenger Plumbing Co offers the following services: Excavating, gas leak repair, handymen, plumbing & drain cleaning.