Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Richard's Tree Service Inc.

Founded 2005 • With Angi since April 2011

Family owned and operated with 20+ years of experience providing our valued customer with professional, dependable, quality tree care at affordable prices. My family and I look forward to meeting your needs with prompt service.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
satisfaction
Senior Discount
10%
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.7

(27) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 27 reviews
Mick G.
1.0
10/18/2018
Corresponding with this owner for over 2 months. He would not meet me in person.. came over to my house when I was not home and got estimates. I wanted all trees and shrubs trimmed. He just gave me estimates for a couple of trees. I called him again to get estimates again. He finally gave me a correct estimate. Several weeks ago I asked him to schedule me. He never responded so I emailed him again. He said he would not accept job because he was going to work on hurricane areas. I know he was highly recommended by you. I will not contact him again.
Description of Work
Trees and shrubs trimmed
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

Yes it took 2 trips to do the estimate as I was not given all the info the first time and as I explained to you office hours are Monday- Friday 8-5. If you choose not to be available during those times, that is beyond my control. As you hired me to do the work, I believe the dissatisfaction with the bid process in your review is exaggerated due to you being upset that I had to cancel. I apologize I had to cancel the job as I was called away on a National Disaster, I as I also explained I am a FEMA contractor and there was a CAT 5 hurricane that wiped out an entire city and left 10's of thousands homeless. If you wish to give me an F for canceling your small trim job to go assist in rescue and recovery operations for the worst storm to hit the US in over 50 years, I'll gladly take it. Every bit of this was explained to you at the time and if you feel your job was more important than the dozens who lost their lives and the almost 100k people who lost everything including their homes, you are not someone I wish to work for!
Yvonne H.
5.0
06/07/2018
They did a great job
Description of Work
Shape, trim bushes & trees. Cut down bush
Category
lawn service, tree service
Matthew G.
5.0
08/06/2017
Richard provided a bid and the next day he had the tree removed. I was amazed by the crews teamwork and how fast and efficient the job got done. Stump removal also went great. Absolutely use these guys if you need a job done.
Description of Work
Cut down Tree
Category
tree service
Stace F.
5.0
07/24/2017
Very professional
Description of Work
Tree trimming
Category
tree service
Steven L.
5.0
04/19/2017
I called Richard's Tree Service to get an estimate on a Monday. He left the estimate for me on Tuesday for when I got home from work, I called him on Wednesday morning to accept the estimate and by Wednesday afternoon the tree was gone! That is OUTSTANDING. He made this very easy and was very professional to work with. I will definitely work with him again in the future.
Description of Work
I needed a pine tree cut down in my back yard, not a difficult job, but a nuisance tree for me and my neighbor.
Category
tree service
Amanda G.
5.0
03/05/2017
I have used Richard's Tree Service a few times, most recently to clean up a fallen tree and an overgrown area. I have always been very happy with the work performed. I would definitely use them as needed in the future.
Description of Work
Trim & clean up fallen trees
Category
tree service
Carolyn G.
1.0
11/13/2015
When I phoned Richard's Tree Service on 10/19/15 to request an estimate for removal of a tree in our yard, as well as the trimming of several shrubs, my call went to voicemail, where I was assured I would be called back. It has now been four weeks since I left that message, & I have received no reply at all. This is poor business practice. If his business was really that backed up, someone should have phoned to let us know that & given us some idea of when we might expect someone to come out & give us the estimate.
Description of Work
Never returned our call requesting a free estimate for tree removal & shrub trimming.
Category
lawn service, tree service

Service Provider Response

I'm sorry to have missed your call but there is no need to get nasty. If it were that important for you to speak with me, I'm not sure why you didn't call back knowing from the voicemail I was backed up? Also had you actually read the ad you would have known I do not service Sinclar County. While I have a crew that assists me is the actual cutting of trees, I have no managers,secretaries, supervisors, tax consultants, book keepers, shop mechanic, or estimators. I personally work on and oversee every job to assure the very best for my customers as well as all the above,16hrs a day 7 days a week for over 10yrs. All this along with trying to find time to be a father and husband, so if I mistakenly missed returning 1 call out of the 20 a day I get to someone who lives outside my service area and didn't take the time to read the ad, please forgive me. I truly hope people in your life don't judge you this harshly for simple mistakes. But I'm sure that won't happen, you surely never failed to return a call right?
James B.
5.0
07/18/2015
Richard and his crew were professional and quick in finishing the job we had them do. He even went as far as to provide us with as mulch of the wood chips as we wanted. Additionally, my wife asked him to cut logs in different sizes for some projects she wants to do (read: what she wants me to do). Richard did so free of charge! We would definitely recommend Richard's Tree Service to our friends! In fact, we saw them right across the street just recently.
Description of Work
We had Richard and his crew come out and and remove a large silver maple tree sometime in May.
Category
mulch, tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you sir, it was a pleasure working with you! I have been wondering how your wifes (read your) projects turned out? They sounded really cool. Please let us know if we can be of any help in the future, and thanks again for letting us serve you!
Paul K.
5.0
11/07/2014
Richard called me the next day after I left a message seeking a bid. He came a day later on Sunday afternoon and quoted me a price. I hired him on the spot with a handshake. I normally seek many bids on larger projects, but I had a good feeling about this. He and his team arrived early Monday as promised. The team did a terrific job on the project. Clean up is very important to me and I let Richard know that during the bid. You couldn't tell I had any work done, other than the nice looking trees, because the team thoroughly cleaned the entire job site. After the job was done, Richard pointed something out to me I never thought about. He accompanied me out to the street facing my house and pointed out how nice a home looks if all the tree aprons are at the same height throughout the entire landscape. He expertly trimmed all the trees on a very large lot where all the aprons, or start of the leaves and branches up if you will, were at the same height. A huge attention to detail I never thought of before and makes the curb appeal awesome. I will hire Richard and his team again!
Description of Work
Removed 1 medium size tree, about 30' tall. Heavily trimmed 3 Bradford Pears; all very large. Heavily trimmed 2 sizable ornamental trees; very large for the type of trees. Lightly trimmed 2 medium sized oaks. Heavily trimmed 2 very large bushes.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, tree service
Ralph M.
1.0
11/01/2014
Provider hired to take down tree on my property.Tree fell on the neighbors property causing damage to that property. Provider did nothing to correct his errors or pay compensation to the neighbor for damages caused by the provider. Provider's response to inquires were mean spirited and very unprofessional. Further, After submitting an initial bid and it was accepted, upon appearing on site he requested another bid which was almost double the original estimate.
Description of Work
Cut down tree
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

This is completely untrue! My initial bid was for 850 to "drop tree into the woods" that I was told belonged to the [member name removed] by [member name removed] with no mention of a property line. The estimate included a senior discount after which [member name removed] went to Angies List and purchased a Big Deal coupon that plainly states is not to be used with any other discount AND must be purchased prior to an estimate which I honored anyway. Upon arriving at the job [member name removed] decided some of the logs would be too large and asked about hauling the tree away which did infact double the price of the tree, and was the beginning of the [member name removed] trying to con me into doing the haul off for free. After completing the job and placing everything in the woods I was told their grandson wanted the fire wood and asked if I could cut some of the larger pieces up for him to move, which I agreed to do AT NO CHARGE when I told [member name removed] it would be a day or so till I could get back by to do that, she refused to pay me for the work I had done until I came back to cut up the few logs I was doing for free. When I went to cut up the logs as promised, the neighbor came out and asked when the tree would be removed from his property. At this point the neighbor notified me that "the woods" were not the [member name removed] property and having had property disputes with them in the past was quite certain they knew exactly where the property line lay. I told him I was only hired to put the tree on the ground and that I was told the [member name removed] grandson was doing the cleanup and if he had questions he should contact the [member name removed]. I was later contacted by [member name removed] and he threatened that if I did not do the haul off for free he would sue me for damages. I told him I was not my responsibility to survey his property line but would work with him on doing the haul off at a reduced price just to keep everyone happy and be done with the situation. At this point [member name removed] stated he was a retired judge and was quite sure with all his friends in the courts he would win a law suite, and threatened to have his wife commit perjury by saying she had told me from the beginning about the property line. At that point I ended all contact with the the [member name removed] and turned it all over to my insurance to handle. Having spoken to other contractors who have done work for the the [member name removed], it has become apparent that the [member name removed] make a habit of defrauding people and threatening lawsuits to get services cheap or free. I hope anyone seeking my services who reads this review will realize there are unethical homeowners just as there are contractors and will let my reputation speak for itself despite this particular review.
Kathleen S.
5.0
08/27/2014
I would give this company an A+ if I could. Richard came earlier to give me a quote of $650. Today, he and his team came to do the trimming. The first thing he did was have me walk with him around my entire yard so I could tell him exactly what I wanted trimmed. I'm very particular and only wanted certain branches trimmed and in some cases only part of the branch. I wanted to make sure my patio and other areas would still have shade. They did EXACTLY what I wanted them to do. They were very polite to work with. Very careful not to damage any of my hostas or dogwood trees in a large landscaped area under one of the large oak trees they were trimming. They cleaned up my yard as they went along. There was some debris on my patio, and I told them I would be glad to clean that up, and they said, no mam,that's our job. We have a sprinkler system and my husband marked some of the heads. We asked them to be careful. I don't think anyone could have been more careful or done a better job. Thanks
Description of Work
Richard's Tree Service trimmed 10 trees in my yard today.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, tree service
Mark H.
5.0
08/15/2014
Very well. Extremely happy wit the service.
Description of Work
Tree trimming and stump removal.
Category
tree service
Joan Z.
5.0
06/26/2014
I contacted Richard's tree service last week. They called me promptly and scheduled appointment for bid. I received bid on Monday June 23 and they called me on Tuesday June 24 and scheduled work for the next day. All work was done as I requested. They are very thorough and the results look quite professional. I am very pleased! Would recommend to everyone! My yard looks great. They trimmed all my trees and bushes. They cleared my entire yard of debris.Looks like a new yard!
Description of Work
trimmed trees and yard clearing
Category
lawn service, tree service
Anthony S.
5.0
06/23/2014
They were able to schedule the work within just a couple of days of me confirming I wanted the work done, after receiving bids from a few services in the area. The day the work was done they arrived on schedule and had a team of 5-6 people working. It was amazing to watch how proficient they were at the job. It was completed in just over 1 hour. I will definitely use this group next time I need tree trimming or removal.
Description of Work
Richard's tree service trimmed 5 trees and completely removed 1 large tree.
Category
tree service
Randolph M.
5.0
06/12/2014
My experience with them was pretty good. They did a good job for us. They did a thorough job and really the type of trees and how to trim them. They had a good experience of what not to do. They did a very thorough job and a very good job for a fair price.
Description of Work
.
Category
tree service
Richard S.
5.0
05/31/2014
Our yard slopes and runs into a small hallow. Richard had planned on driving his boom truck down to the lower part of the yard but was worried it might get stuck; it was a little damp from light rains a few days earlier. He and his crew removed all of the trees we had discussed and did an excellent job of cleaning up. I asked for the mulch clippings and was surprised to get a large truck load after the job was finished. I have a number of trees that will require trimming in the fall and informed Richard that we would be giving him a call. Tree trimming and removal is hard work especially in areas where a boom truck can not be used. Richard handled the situation on time and on the date agreed to. I will have no hesitation using him and his crew in the future. He certaintly appears to be a honest man that prides himself on doing a good job. I selected him based on reviews posted on Angie's List and was glad I did. He will get our future recommendations to family and friends.
Description of Work
Completely removed 4 trees and did a light trim on two other.
Category
mulch, tree service
Ginette S.
5.0
03/25/2014
Company arrived promptly at the time and on the date agreed upon. They brought all equipment including a cherry picker required to do the job. Part of the work to be done was rather tricky large tree branch removal as it stood close to roof and over large open deck. The rest of the job consisted of several large tree limbs to be removed from various trees on the lot, dead wood removal and also removing a branch which intruded on neighbor's lot. All the work was done to our satisfaction, all debris removed from the location. We are very happy with the service and will not hesitate to use this company if the need arises in the future and will recommend them to friends.
Description of Work
Remove and trim several trees on residential lot.
Category
tree service
Robert R.
5.0
01/01/2014
I was happy with what they had to say, but decided to do the work myself.
Description of Work
Richard's Tree Service came out and gave me and estimate
Category
tree service
Donna G.
5.0
11/07/2013
I had used Richard's tree service before. What impressed me most was his knowledge of the type of trees I had. The trees I have need to be thinned and trimmed every 2 to 3 years without destroying their shape and he did a great job then which was in 2011 and I had him come back out and he did a great job this year. He called to let me know what time he would be there. He was on time and he went over what he was going to do before he got started. After he finished he called me back out had me look everything over to make sure I was satisfied. I have priced 3 other tree companies and all of them were between 100 to 200 dollars more expensive. I also liked his personality he appears to be a hard and honest working man.
Description of Work
Thinned. trimmed and hauled away large limbs from 2 extra large pear shaped trees. Anyone can trim a tree however, I wanted to make sure the shape of my trees were not destroyed the trees look GREAT and they cleaned up area very well.
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind review [Member Name Removed], are always fun to talk to and a great to work with. I hope you and your family have a blessed holiday season!
Robert M.
5.0
10/04/2013
One of our largest trees on our property was overhanging our roof with several LARGE branches...since another smaller tree had smashe our porch roof and done considerable damage, I wanted to remove another hazard. My wife did not want the tree completely cut down so I contacted Richard and he said he'd trim it for safety. He showed up with the tools and equipment and did a fantastic job of trimming 2 trees and removed all evidence they were ever there. He even cleaned a part of the gutter that tree junk had started to grow in. Plus, he got on the roof and completely blew off all the tree remains. A FANTASTIC JOB. I could not recommend them higher.
Description of Work
beautifully trimmed a large tree overhanging our roof, removed the ground debris and cleaned the debris from our roof. Even cleaned the back gutter of tree debris
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you sir, it was a pleasure working with you!
Randolph M.
5.0
06/21/2013
Richard was right on schedule and brought skilled laborers with him. He gave us an estimate the day before and honored what he quoted. His group was quick, efficient, and cleaned up nicely after the job. Our trees look so much better and healthier! We will definitely use him again. He is an honest upfront guy.
Description of Work
Trimmed all our mature overgrown trees
Category
tree service
Dana L.
5.0
05/13/2013
Always professional and very patient with the changes I made. Quote was very competitive. Will absolutely use them again in the future. Response to information inquiry and appointment set up was quick. They worked efficiently, I was surprised how quickly they completed the scheduled services. Clean up was great.
Description of Work
One large, pine tree completely cut down, two pine trees trimmed and all debris removed.
Category
tree service
Carol H.
5.0
09/04/2012
These guys came in like gangbusters and did a bang-up job. The work was done quickly and efficiently and when they left the only sign that they'd been here was the missing trees.
Description of Work
I contracted Richard's Tree Service to cut back a limb on one tree and take down several more. While the crew was here I decided that I'd like a couple more trees taken down and they were very obliging.
Category
tree service
Terrance M.
5.0
05/29/2011
Although we chose to hire someone else I wanted to let everyone know of our experience. We contacted the vendor via Angie's List and they were very prompt in responding. They came out to the house and provided a quote to us immediately. They were professional and respectful throughout the process. I would certainly consider contacting them again.
Description of Work
They quoted a price for removal of a downed ash tree.
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

Having had some horrible experiences with customer service when dealing other companies, I know first hand the frustration one can go through in such situations. I always feel they don't need or appreciate my business. No business can survive without customers, so why not treat them with the respect and appreciation they deserve? I personally consider customer care & service a responsibility, not just a convenience. Thank you for considering us for all your tree care needs and I look forward to serving you in the future.
linda A.
5.0
04/21/2011
The service was good. Showed up on time, quoted me a decent price, very nice and courteous. Didn’t leave until I was satisfied and cleaned up well afterwards.
Description of Work
They trimmed four large trees.
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review and support. It was a pleasure serving you!

Phone

Address

1122 Prickett Ave

Edwardsville, IL 62025

Other Information

Services offered

Tree care, thinning, trimming, removal, topping, landscaping, stump grinding, light hauling, firewood & mulch. 24hr emergency service. Free estimates.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover

FAQ

Richard's Tree Service Inc. is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

Richard's Tree Service Inc. is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Saturday: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Richard's Tree Service Inc. accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Yes, Richard's Tree Service Inc. offers free project estimates.

No, Richard's Tree Service Inc. does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Richard's Tree Service Inc. does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Richard's Tree Service Inc. offers emergency services.

No, Richard's Tree Service Inc. does not offer warranties.

Richard's Tree Service Inc. offers the following services: Tree care, thinning, trimming, removal, topping, landscaping, stump grinding, light hauling, firewood & mulch. 24hr emergency service. Free estimates.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

All American Brush Removal

No reviews yet.

Angi Certified

All American Brush Removal

When you need professional tree care and brush removal services, call All American Brush Removal at (314) 226-2431. Our team specializes in complete tree care, bush care, and brush removal. We are available on short notice and for emergency services! Call us now at (314) 226-2431 for immediate assistance. We do free estimates and offer discounts for veterans and elders.  

Custom Cleaning Services

5.0

(8)

Angi Certified

Custom Cleaning Services

Here at CCS llc. we provide custom cleaning options that match your specific needs to fit your residence or your commercial property, or equipment! Get ahold of us today and see what Custom Cleaning Sevices LLC. can do for you!  

FC Home and Property Services

No reviews yet.

Angi Certified

FC Home and Property Services

We specialize in outdoor maintenance, pressure washing, lawn care, lawn work landscaping, fencing, and all things exterior, our goal is help you keep your life simple and let us do the hard work. We pride ourselves in doing the job well and once and don't leave until its done right. No matter what you need done on the exterior of your home there's no job to large. Call us today for a free estimate- we cant wait to shake hands and earn your business.