Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

EXPERT HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING

Founded 1988 • With Angi since February 2009

Expert Heating and Air Conditioning is a full service heating and air conditioning company specializing in residential and commercial service, repair and installation. As a family owned and operated business serving DuPage County and the surrounding areas for over 25 years, we take great pride in the fact that we are not so big that you are treated as just another job on the order board or too small to provide you with the level of service you desire. Our goal is to provide you with quality craftsmanship and the best value. As a family owned and operated business, we understand the comfort of your family comes first.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

3.3

(19) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews
Lawrence L.
1.0
08/09/2016
A few years back, I have a new heating and air conditioning system installed by Expert Heating and Air Conditioning with 10 years warranty in parts and labors. Abviously, the warranty on a duely signed contract meant nothing to them. Since then my air conditioner has broken down numerous times. Each time I have to pay the repair cost out of pocket. I am documenting these cost and eventually will take Expert Heating and Air Conditining as well as it's owners to court to help them understand the legal obligations of a duely signed contract. Before I signed the contract, Expert Heating and Air Conditioning reprented themslves as A+ rating on Angies' List and SBA - all are big fat lies. Please take time check out credentials before you hire. I am still waiting for the remaining prepaid anuual maintenant services as specified on the signed contract.
Description of Work
Air Conditioning repairs
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Lawrence L.
1.0
08/09/2016
This company service is completely suck!!!
Description of Work
When I had my heating and air conditioning set up, I signed a contract with 10 years warranty on labors and parts. Since then I have numerous issues with the system and this company completely ignored the warranty clauses on the contract.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
thomas M.
1.0
11/23/2015
had issues in the past wanted to give them one more chance 2 service charges because they didn't have the part very unprofessional l
Description of Work
Replaced second stage switch
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], Your wife was sent a check on 12/18/2015 for a refund of $129 for the additional service charge. This check was cashed on 12/28/15. We sent a letter apologizing for the mistake. We would have appreciated you contacting us with your issue.
John B.
1.0
01/13/2015
It?s been a nightmare. They worked on an AC this summer. Then the furnace wouldn?t shut off the right way, since a motor was stuck, right before Christmas. They came out on a Saturday morning since it was 68 degrees and we?d set it to 73 degrees. I shut it off and thought it would reset when it turned on, but when I did that, the whole thing happened again. They said it was $119 for the diagnosis. If it?s more than that, there could be more time and materials. They said to buy a new thermostat. They didn?t do anything, just told us what to do. They also charged $179 and my 92-year-old mother paid it without asking. Next morning, the same problem even after I changed the thermostat. No one answered in the morning or afternoon. They called back Monday afternoon. I?d already bought a limit switch at the hardware store for $50, which didn?t take care of it. They said it could be my main control board or panel or some other things. They said it was $170 to take care of the control panel. I asked for credit from my last visit, but they said no. They said it could be a lot of things. I didn't want to hire them when they weren't sure and overcharged my elderly mother last time. I bought a part they recommended on Tuesday for $275 and installed it, and things were working fine. My mom was getting ready to have everyone over for Christmas. I called Four Seasons who charged $85 on Christmas Eve at 4 pm to do a complete diagnosis. He said the control board was the issue. I figured I?d do the installation myself since I?d just bought it the day before, or call someone who could help me. He said it wasn?t the thermostat and explained why. Lo and behold, everything has been working since then and I didn?t even do the installation. Maybe they jiggled a wire or something that fixed the connections inside the furnace. I stopped the payment on the $179. They called me and said I owed that plus $30 for a stopped check. I told them they tied me up for 4 days before Christmas and bought a bunch of expensive parts. If they?d given me the right diagnosis none of this would have happened. The owner wouldn?t budge. I called back later and the receptionist swore at me and called me a freak. Now an attorney is calling me. It?s not the money, it?s the principle. They misdiagnosed the problem and wasted our time. They didn't do anything for us at all.
Description of Work
I'd used them for AC this summer and called them out here in December for a furnace problem.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Upon calling our office, all customers are made aware of the diagnostic fee to come out. Other companies may call this a "trip charge". It's a the charge for the technician to drive to your location, come inside and spend time looking thru your system to let you know the issue. At that point, the technician will go over the issue, parts needed, if that is the case and any additional labor required. As far as we are concerned, you have provided paragraphs of nonsense. The air conditioner at your home was replaced in the summer and had nothing to do with the issues with your Furnace. The fact that you were tampering with numerous parts of your Furnace and intricate wiring of a thermostat makes our diagnosis invalid after our departure. Our technician spent over and hour at your home to provide you with a complete diagnosis. Our records show you chose to purchase the part yourself. So you were charged for the "trip fee" as well as a discounted rate for an hour of diagnosis. Upon cancelling your check, we incurred charges and you were called three times by our office and given the opportunity to send us payment. This is when we turn our collections over to an agency, so you will continue to get calls. Furthermore, NO elderly persons at your location have been involved in any part this transaction. Finally, any labor warranty on your air conditioner purchase from the summer of 2014 is now void. Have a nice day.
Terry S.
5.0
12/18/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Very thorough, fast and professional. Replaced other things unrelated to furnace that needed without further charge.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Lawrence L.
1.0
06/16/2014
As of today, June, 16, 2014, I am still waiting for the technician from AAA Expert Heating & Air Conditioning come to perform the annual maintenance of my heating and air condition system which I prepaid from a previously signed contract. I my opinion, the AAA Expert Heating & Air Conditioning only interested in low balling and all kind of promises such as annual maintenance service, warranty of labor & parts etc.. just to get the up front money and has no interest to fulfill any obligation of a legally signed contract. I have previously registered my complain of this company to the office of Consumer Fraud Department of the Illinois Attorney General Office as well as Better Business Bureau.
Description of Work
Annual maintenance of heating and air conditioning system.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], Your issue is from 2008. Give it up. Numerous visits to your home SEVEN YEARS AGO documented a loud motor that still worked and your Furnace provided heat. Everything was working fine. You have reached a dead end at every agency you attempted to report us to, as they have in hand the paperwork from the manufacturer that we provided you. American Standard would not and will not replace this part until is breaks. You've been told this every time your had us out (free of charge)! A part that makes a loud noise does not qualify for warranty replacement until it breaks! All you are doing all these years later is cutting and pasting the same review for us every chance you get. Oh, and you are waiting for us to perform annual maintenance to your system? Pick up the phone and call us. Angies List - this is nonsense, please remove this from our page.
Shirley G.
5.0
05/16/2014
Overall experience with Service Experts Heating & Air Conditioning was good, they were again little bit on pricy sides and that is the only thing and we have got some discounts. The air-conditioner was installed last year and everything works really good. They installed the air-conditioner and humidifier and they put in new air filter in too.
Description of Work
Service Experts Heating & Air Conditioning installed the air-conditioner, humidifier, and an air filter in.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Lawrence L.
1.0
05/19/2013
On June 27, 2012, a service technician of AAA Expert Heating & Air Conditioning came to my home to perform an annual tune up on my the heating & air conditioning system. During the service call I complainted that the annual service should be performed right after the winter each year and no later that the end of March. This annual tune up service worth appproximately about $150.00 but it should be free for 5 years from the original contract signed on 06/30/2009. Now, in the midle of May, AAA Expert Heating & Air Conditioning still unable and unwilling to perform the annual tune up of my heating and air conditioning system as part of the contractual obligation based on the original contract signed when the system was installed. I give an F overall rating for AAA Expert Heating & Air Conditioning alse based on my past experience in dealing with this company which was extremely difficult. My personal experience is AAA Expert Heating & Air Conditioning only interested in my upfront money and made promisses on a signed contract which they have no intention to fulfill whatsoever. Also, AAA Expert Heating & Air Conditioning claimed (in writing) in the past that they occasionally called me concerning the annual tune up service and I did not returned their call. This is totally untrue and therefore I no longer have any confidence in AAA Heating and Air Conditioning and can't recommend their service to anyone at any level.
Description of Work
Heating & Air Conditioning
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

ANGIES LIST - PLEASE LOOK THRU OUR PAGE, HOW MANY TIMES ARE YOU GOING TO ALLOW THIS GUY TO POST THE SAME NONSENSE? NOTHING IS CONSISTENT
GARY G.
5.0
12/16/2012
The company dispatched a Furnace Technician and they arrived within the window that was provided when the appointment was set. They called before arriving to make sure of the directions and let us know when they would be arriving. On arriving, they cleaned and inspected the furnace. It appeared to be working without any issues, but when we discussed the problem, they thought there might be a sensor that was going bad. Fortunately they had a generic sensor in ther parts (it was rather expensive for a generic unit, but the factory part was a little more expensive and not available). Faced with the cost of another service call and the cost of the part, I opt'ed to use the generic model. The technician wasn't sure this would fix the problem, but felt this was the best guess and had a highy likelihood. It seems to have cured the problem, though we have had a few instances when we did have the wind up but no "pitch" that caused concern during thos blustery days in November. Overall pleased with the service, we will continuse to work with them.
Description of Work
Annual Winter Furnace clean and check was needed to begin the new season. We have had intermitant problems with the unit stareting to "wind up" and then shutting down.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Lawrence L.
1.0
07/11/2012
On June 30, 2009, I signed a contract with AAA Expert Heating & Air Conditioning located at 2474 Wisconsin Avenue, Downers Grove, Illinois 60515 to installed a new heating and air conditioning system. The duly signed contract clearly stated the ten year warranty on all parts and labor as well as three years free maaintence agreement. Soon afte the system was installed, the air conditioning started making excesive intermittent loud zapping noises. The zapping noises were loud enough to wake me up in the middle of the niiight. After numerous complaint, on May 11, 2011, a technician of the AAA Expert Heating and Air Conditiong named Mike came to check on the air conditioning unit. Mike confirmed the the loud nzapping noises were came for the air conditioning unit but unable to identified the specific defected parts that csuse the problem. Even the original signed contract clearlt stated that all parts and labor are warranty for ten years, I still was charged $120.00 for the service call. On that same day, I spoke the Joe Kaslli, the president of the AAA Expert Heating & Air Conditioning. Joe said that the company would replace any defected parts only if I can identifed the defected parts for him. On June 27, 2012, another licensed technician of AAA Expert Heating & Air Conditioning name Kevin G.came out to performced the regular maintence service. Kevin identifed the excesive loud zapping noises were caused by the "contactor - low stage" of the air conditioning unit and recomended in writing on the service ticket that the part needed to be ordered and replaced in order to fix the loud zapping noises. On July 9, 2012 (fourteen days after the recomendation for repair from the AAA Expert technician), I called to follow up. And agian, I got the same stupit excuse from Larry Kasallis, a co-owner of the AAA Expert Heating & Air Conditioning. Larry firat said the the parts are no longer under warranty sicne there were no prove of scheduled annual maintenance . However, after I mentioned that I have records for the scheduled maintanace for the last three years from his own company, Larry said that the Part is not specifically warranty by the manufactory. On July 10, 2012, I hired an independent third party licensed technician to look into the problem. To my surprise, the technician pointed out to me that the model unit identification of the air conditioning installed is not the same model unit is not the same model unit stated on the original signed contract. In addition, not only the wrong model unit was installed, the installed unit was actually manufactory in 2003 and was not in 2009 as the company's president, Joe Kasallis originally represented. In light of the above facts and evidences, I believe that AAA Expert Heating and Air Conditioning willingly committed consumer fraud and unfair business practive. I currently am consulting these issues with the Illinois Attorney General Office of Lis Medigan. I reserve all rights to fully resolve these issues in the court of law.
Description of Work
A Expert Heating & Air Conditioning installed a new Heating and air conditioning system for my home in July 30, 2009 with 10 year warranty of all parts and labor in according with a duly signed contract date June 30, 2009. Unfortunately, different parts of the air conditioning unit become defective soon after installation. The air conditioning unit making loud intermittent noise when it runs on automatic mode. The president and owner of the AAA Expert Heating and Air Conditioning used stupid excuses to avoid the responsibility to repair the defected parts of the air conditioning unit under the 10 years parts and labor warranty agreement as clearly stated on the duly signed contract dated June 30, 2009. Stupid excuses are exempled as follow. (1) We would replace any defected parts only if you can prove they are defected.own (2) After AAA Expert Heating & Air Conditioning's own licensed technician identified the defected parts the the excuse was: The parts are not under warranty since there were no prove of regular scheduled maintenance service. (3) After I showed records of regular scheduled maintenance service then the next excuse was: We only warranty the parts relating to producing cool air and nothing else such as parts producing excessive noises. (4) We do not warranty the specific parts and you have to deal with the manufactory directly liked calling them for the parts!!!! (5) etc.etc..etc...... AAA Experrt Heating & Air Conditioning seems only interest in the upfront payment. You will have to deal with their attitutes should any follow up repairs are needed. Avoid this so called AAA Expert at all costs.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

ANGIES LIST - PLEASE LOOK THRU OUR PAGE, HOW MANY TIMES ARE YOU GOING TO ALLOW THIS GUY TO POST THE SAME NONSENSE? NOTHING IS CONSISTENT Clearly, if he didn't get anywhere w/Lisa Madigan then his claims are not worth posting here
Shirlee C.
5.0
03/29/2012
The overall experience was excellent.
Description of Work
AAA Expert Heating & Air Conditioning fixed a problem with my cooling.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Heidi R.
5.0
12/28/2011
They were very considerate and prompt. They wore booties when they came in , they cleaned up after themselves, and they didn't take too long.
Description of Work
They replaced my furnace and air conditioner.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Carla H.
5.0
12/19/2011
They were able to come out right away and installed it quickly. We thought the price was very quickly. They were in and out and very professional. They even showed me the problem and called the part company with me listening to hear so I knew they weren't trying to be dishonest and tell me I needed something I didn't.
Description of Work
They installed a new furnace.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
DAVID M.
5.0
07/26/2011
The air conditioner died on one of the hottest days of summer. AAA Expert came out the next morning and got it running again, although they warned that it was a temporary fix and their recommendation was to replace the entire system. The service tech gave very detailed explanations and showed me all the parts with problems. We agreed to replace the system. Later that day, they called to say they could fit us in immediately which was a nice surprise. Works great.
Description of Work
Air conditioner and coil were replaced
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Kim J.
5.0
01/14/2011
The furnace stopped working on Sunday, Jan 2. We called AAA Expert and Brian the technician arrived a few hours later. After examining the furnace he discovered the flame sensor needed to be replaced and two of the drain hoses had rotted through causing water to run onto the control printed circuit board. He replaced the two hoses, dried off the PCB, and got the flame sensor to work until a new one could be ordered. He also suggested that the furnace be cleaned and the Honeywell air cleaner be replaced by a different filter. He returned on Wednesday the 5th to complete the repair, do the cleaning and bring a new replacement filter. All the work was done in a timely and professional manner. We would not hesitate to use AAA Expert again.
Description of Work
Cleaned and checked the furnace. Replaced the flame sensor. Repaired and replaced leaky drain hoses. Replaced filter.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Ray M.
2.0
01/07/2011
Overall OK. House is comfortably warm thanks to variable fan and gas valve. Have had to have two service calls in first four months, but not sure what the issue is, whether installation, or product quality. Whatever the cause, AAA has been responsive. Had to wait a long time for the rebate from Lennox, but, again, not sure whether that was anything AAA could have helped with. Updated as of 4/2012 after viewing owner's response to my first review: The real issue with this company is the attitude of the owner who seems to want the business on the front end but makes it difficult to get full satisfaction after the payment is made. The first posting to Angies List does not fully explain the extent of issue we have had nor the attitude that was displayed to us by the owner. We have had to have two thermostat/controllers replaced in the first year of use. We have had numerous service calls because we could not adjust the humitidy to desired levels [within normal parameters] and we had a 6-8 degree differential between our levels, when the old system was never more than two degrees. We also had to system warning messages [without heat] when the winds blew pretty hard. If you read the owner's response below, he states we had "personal comfort issues" when, in point of fact we had real performance issues because he had not installed the humidifier using hot water, which I was told to do by the Lennox factory [and which AAA grudgingly did while threatening to charge us to do so] and because we could not drive down the humidity in summer to within 10 points of the setting on the humidistat. His attitude is always one of that we were complaining unnecessarily and we wanted something for nothing. All we wanted was what he promised the performance would be when he pitched us. It finally to a factory Lennox man to make the necessary adjustments, while the AAA man just stood around. The house is now dead right on for humidity summer or winter and the differential between levels is normally 2 or maybe three degrees on extreme days. If you look at Joe's comments below, he gives his attitude away. He says that my comments "should not be considered an intelligent review of AAA..." Of course, he is insulting me by saying that I am not intelligent. That attitude should leave you to avoid this installer at all costs. Please remember, buying a furnace/AC is far more than the manufacturer. My experience proves to me that the best equipment's performance can be compromised by less than stellar installation expertise and dedication to the fine tuning needed for today's complex systems. Buyer beware. Updated as of 1/2016: Had to have warranty work done on our Lennox furnace. Upon being referred to Lennox's top rated installer in the area by Lennox themselves, Pro Temp of Burr Ridge, their technician found rusting inside the furnace due to a faulty and incorrectly matched coupling between metal and plastic pipe. It is obvious that this company's technicians, not being help accountable to professional standards, tried to make the jury rig approach work with lots of putty. I mean, after all, how would I as the homeowner know that this was just one more piece of evidence of the schlock outfit this is. Avoid Expert (what a joke!) at all costs. And, again, if you view the owner's pugnacious response to my original post, you get the picture of how they do business.
Description of Work
Installed new top of the line Lennox furnace, air conditioner, humidifier, and air cleaner.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

AAA Expert has satisfied customer's numerous requests for personal humidity preference. All trip charges were waived to adjust humidity levels to customers preference. Upon each visit a copy of the service ticket was left with the customer explaining action taken by AAA Expert technician. Lennox product failed upon start-up and was immediately replaced by AAA Expert at no charge to the customer. As far as Lennox rebate, customer was phoned on Friday, October 1st and December, 6th. During both phone calls it was explained that the rebates are processed through a third party redemption center and take six to eight weeks for processing. AAA Expert provided complete follow-up to the customer on the technical issues, personal comfort issues and rebate concerns. Responses of "not sure what the issue was" or "not sure if AAA could have helped" should not be included in a review nor considered an intelligent review of AAA Expert.
RICK M.
5.0
10/25/2010
They were excellent. They did the work very well. I was sure of what I needed and they delivered it without any cleft. They did not out sell anything to me and did not push anything that I did not want. They did their work correctly. Their price was better than other service providers that I took quotes from.
Description of Work
I used the services of AAA Expert Heating and Air Conditioning on 24th April 2010. Their services included installation of a new furnace for my house.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Dennis W.
4.0
10/25/2010
It was a good experience. I just chose to go with another company. AAA Expert gave me a better price, but I was already contracted with the other provider and already had delivery and everything scheduled. I went to the other contractor and told them that this bid was significantly lower, and they ended up pretty much matching the price. I told AAA Expert, that I had given my word to the other contractor and that I was going to keep my word since they were pretty much going to match the price. It was nothing against AAA Expert, and if they other company had not done what they did, I would have went with AAA Expert. He was here the same day that I called to tell him that I had already hired the other company. He wanted me to give him a shot at the job, so I told him if he could come out that morning and he told me he couldn't be there that morning, but he was there at 1 o'clock that afternoon.
Description of Work
AAA Expert Heating and Air Conditioning gave me an estimate for a total air conditioning and heating replacement.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

It appears this customer was very pleased with the immediate responsiveness of AAA Expert, with the efficiency and INITIAL lower price of AAA Expert. AAA Expert spent the time to come to the customer knowing upfront they were only using AAA Expert to get a lower price from the 1st contractor they were alreay contracted with. Why would the rating not be an "A"? The other contractor came down only after AAA Expert showed the installation could be done for less. What rating did this contractor receive?
Mark R.
5.0
06/11/2010
Everything went very well. They're a very confident, professional organization. Alot of heating and air conditioning companies are 5 or 6 people. This company is a larger company and they have a lot more training and knowledge.
Description of Work
They put in a new heating and air conditioning unit in my home.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Other local Pros in your area

OC Restoration

Whether you need emergency flood damage restoration or top-to-bottom home cleaning, you can trust OC Restoration's professionals to make your house feel like home again. We have the training, experience, and equipment to quickly get your home looking its best. Our residential and commercial services include the following: Water Damage Restoration, Fire Damage Restoration, Mold Remediation, Storm Damage Restoration, Cleaning Services, and more.  

Angi Certified

Energy Services Air Conditioning & Heating Co

At Energy Services Air Conditioning, Heating & Electrical, we go beyond the level of service you expect, and deliver the exceptional results you deserve. From routine system maintenance, to emergency repair, equipment upgrades and complete system install, our goal is to bring more expertise, resources, and professionalism to every job than any other HVAC service provider in Naperville, Aurora, Geneva, St. Charles & Wheaton IL. We offer flexible solutions for spaces large and small, customizing our designs to meet your exact needs, and providing the most cutting-edge products on the market. Cost is determined by the job. Additional Phones: (630) 969-1400, (630) 687-1383, (630) 420-2275. Fax: (630) 420-2096 DBA: GFI Heating & Cooling. Senior Discount: $5.00  

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

G & R Heating & Air

We are a family owned and operated company, specializing in heating and cooling services, installs, repairs, and more! We personally care for each customer like our own family. We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all of the services we offer below and call -- or-- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Phone

Address

5241 Thatcher Road

Downers Grove, IL 60515

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
Financing Available
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

EXPERT HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING is currently rated 3.3 overall out of 5.

EXPERT HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING is open:

Sunday: 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Monday: 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Tuesday: 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Wednesday: 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Thursday: 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Friday: 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Saturday: 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

EXPERT HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

Yes, EXPERT HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING offers free project estimates.

Yes, EXPERT HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, EXPERT HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, EXPERT HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING offers emergency services.

Yes, EXPERT HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING offers warranties.

EXPERT HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING offers the following services: Furnace Repair and Cleaning, Boiler Repair and Cleaning, Duct Cleaning, Hot Water Heaters, Pumps, Tankless Water Heaters, Air Cleaners, Humidifiers, Energy Efficiency, Clean Indoor Air, Emergency Service, 24 Hour Service